Nelnet Student Loans Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 15, 2016
Discharged my Loans
LaShunta77 Product User

True there is quite a bit of paperwork, but it was all worth it at the end of the day. I'm currently considered disabled and unable to return to work. They assisted me with getting my loans discharged and paid in full. Thank you Nelnet for your help. You guys were great!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 31, 2016
DISABLED AND TOO MUCH PAPERWORK
Anonymous Product User

THIS COMPANY CONTACTS ME TWICE A YEAR FOR MY DISABILITY LEVEL. NOTHING CHANGES MY DOCTOR HAS EVEN TOLD THEM SO.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Jun 08, 2017
They have a system to keep you in debt
goobers87 Product User

Their autopay takes any additional payments past the minimum amount and instead of paying towards the principal, applies the payment towards future months' payments, therefore extending out your next payment due date. This only happens until you reach 24 months in advance, at which point they stop applying auto payments towards the loan altogether. If you want to keep paying down the loan, you have to process payments manually. There is no notification on their part that they are no longer applying autopayments towards that loan group. They make it as difficult as possible for you to pay off a loan ahead of time so that they can collect as much interest as possible. Its all a system to keep you accruing interest as long as they can. Not sure how people that work there can sleep at night, its terrible.

more ...
May 31, 2017
They lie and are not honest and upfront.
Anonymous Product User

Before I took their subsidized loans I contacted them to confirm they are interest and payment free the first six months and was advised that they were.  Apparently one group of subsidized loans were not interest free and not only did they fail to disclose that but 30 days before I was to start paying interest they failed to notify me the interest on the loans were to go into effect.  They couldn't give me a valid reason why they never notified me in writing of the change or were not honest when I spoke to them on the telephone.  Stay away from these dishonest thieves.  They are praying on young, innocent college students.

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Student Loan
Anonymous Product User

I was very pleased with customer service and gentleman that handle my acct was exceptional, wish I could remember his name to rate him. 

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Anonymous Product User

Customer service very poor. I was transferred from department to department after long wait times to begin with, then they still did not send me the information I requested so I could file my taxes.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Simple & Straight to the Point
GenevaJA Product User

I have had my student loans with Nelnet for over 4 years. Easy to make a payment, lots of little tools to show you the layout of your accounts. No complaints!

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Toss up
Anonymous Product User

The loan is easy to get, but when it's said and done your left with a lot of debt... Just got my first bill due and it's over $600 a month.. How do they expect that??

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Organized
Anonymous Product User

Nelnet does a great job of notifying you of upcoming payments and keeping you in the loop. Nelnet also provides useful resources on paying back loans. 

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Product User

Work with you according to financial situation.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
DISABLED AND TOO MUCH PAPERWORK
Anonymous Product User

THIS COMPANY CONTACTS ME TWICE A YEAR FOR MY DISABILITY LEVEL. NOTHING CHANGES MY DOCTOR HAS EVEN TOLD THEM SO.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2016

good

 
Oct 24, 2016
Consolidated student loans
Anonymous Product User

Every year I need to send in paystubs and updated paperwork in regards to my employment. They are resonable  and I've had great customer service from them. When I first started payments they deferred my loans for  6 months since i was in the process of consolidating my student loans.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations