Nelnet Student Loans Reviews

Nelnet Student Loans Reviews
2.2 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 17, 2019
Kind and Knowledgeable Customer Service
Azmona Product User

Nelnet & their customer service made my loan repayment so easy. They explained my options and the processes very thoroughly and answered any questions I had, and did so with kindness. I had a couple issues during repayment, and as long as I called Nelnet and explained my situation they always helped me and made sure I never defaulted on my loans. Thank you Nelnet!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 16, 2018
Sarah2018 Product User

Customer reps are incompetent and not on the same page. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Sep 08, 2019
Avoid!
NewEnglandGuy Product User

This is a disfunctional  company. They mistakeingly consoladated  all of my sub and unsubed loans into unsubed. I did not notice this until about two years after the consoladation when I was calculating interest. I have about 30k in subed and only about 4 in unsubed. Trying to get them to fix this 6 mistake took almost six months and hundreds of hours of time dealing the the US Dept of Education  and many other bureaucrats. In the end they had to adjust over 2 thousand dollars worh of interest payments but only did so because thier mistate had to be explained by an out side agency. No credit damage but probaly spent more man hours than the adjustment was worth. I can't speak for the application process so i'm leaving that neutral. 

more ...
Aug 12, 2019
Please read!!
singled02 Product User

I was mislead to think that because I was going to gradschool that my loans would be sent into differment status. 2 weeks before the start of the semester my credit score was dropped literally 150 points from a 680. The initial rep had given me incorrect and misleading information. He left no notes on my account. I called to fix the situation and Veda team id # 37893 explained the reason. I understood when she went in to debth about the situation. However the representative's miscommunication for the initial issue was still showing on my credit report. She told me that "Nelnet does not do removals or participate in "goodwill policy"". Which was confusing because the last 2 reps said that they did, but it is not valid for my situation. I asked her if she could verify if it was because my situaition was agency error or is it something that Nelnet does not participate in at all. She said that it was something they can not do at all regardless of anyone's situation. 

I felt like I was being lied to and judged. Also that noone wanted to claim responsibility for the misinformaition given to me. I had no problem paying what I owed if I was not given the wrong information. I now fear that because of this major drop in my credit score a personal loan is no longer an option for my payment to continue my education. All of my hardwork is being tarnished because of miscommunication and someone refusing to accept responsibility.

more ...
Jul 28, 2019
Loan refinance
WRM123 Product User

Scum of the earth. This scammers, increased our interest rates twice in as many months. We strugled to pay off higher interest loans to lower how much they are ripping us off for, once we did, they increased the rate of the lowwer interest loans to screws even more. A blood sucking system and slime companies that take full advantage

more ...
Jul 17, 2019
Kind and Knowledgeable Customer Service
Azmona Product User

Nelnet & their customer service made my loan repayment so easy. They explained my options and the processes very thoroughly and answered any questions I had, and did so with kindness. I had a couple issues during repayment, and as long as I called Nelnet and explained my situation they always helped me and made sure I never defaulted on my loans. Thank you Nelnet!

more ...
Apr 13, 2019
Horrible service, RUDE EMPLOYEES
Srh02 Product User

I wanted to pay the remainder of my entire student loan off. I contacted customer service and asked to be transferred to the right department (wherever I needed to go to talk to someone to pay it off). The Lady on the phone said "sure i'll help you out".. She wasn't helpful, she was rude, made me feel embarrassed about my job right out of college and the amount of my monthly payments.. And then FINALLY after all of this back and forth conversation, she says with an attitude "you need to be transferred I can't help you with this!". Oh my goodness. I don't remember her name but I'm willing to find out and post it everywhere when I get the chance.. Like was she bothered that I was able to have my loan paid off? Either way it's none of her business. I have never had anyone be this rude to me. It's not an enjoyable to be in debt and she made it even worse.

more ...
Mar 20, 2019
Describe? SCAM!
live70 Product User

I'm in school and I have been fighting with them for the past 3 months because they say I'm not in school. My loans have entered the grace period. Finally, two of my loans got approve for an IN-school deferment, the rest got approved for a REGULAR deferment. OH NOT TO MENTION, THEY SAID I LOST MY GRACE PERIOD & MY SUBSIDISED LOANS WILL CONTINUE TO ACCRUE INSTEST ON THE LOANS THAT HAVE A REGULAR DEFERMENT. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM.

more ...
Jan 07, 2019
Federal Student Loan
TommyJS68 Product User

Pleased with the service of my loan. Tax documents are quickly available each year.

more ...
Nov 30, 2018
Very Helpful
TMiller6787 Product User

I've had Nelnet for my student loans for maybe 8 years. Their website is very user friendly and easy to navigate. Whenever I've had a financial issue I just call customer service and they are so helpful. When I found out I was pregnant I just called Nelnet and they told me not to worry, they would just defer my payments for the next year. It was no hasle at all. Every time I've needed help or had questions I just call and they always find me a solution or an answer to my question in a speedy manner. You pay on your loans individually the way you want to. If you have one loan with a higher interest rate you can pay more on that loan than the others so that your payments don't pile up. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2018
Sarah2018 Product User

Customer reps are incompetent and not on the same page. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations