Nelnet Student Loans

3.8 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 15, 2016
Discharged my Loans
LaShunta77 Product User

True there is quite a bit of paperwork, but it was all worth it at the end of the day. I'm currently considered disabled and unable to return to work. They assisted me with getting my loans discharged and paid in full. Thank you Nelnet for your help. You guys were great!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 31, 2016
DISABLED AND TOO MUCH PAPERWORK
Anonymous Product User

THIS COMPANY CONTACTS ME TWICE A YEAR FOR MY DISABILITY LEVEL. NOTHING CHANGES MY DOCTOR HAS EVEN TOLD THEM SO.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
Anonymous Product User

Customer service very poor. I was transferred from department to department after long wait times to begin with, then they still did not send me the information I requested so I could file my taxes.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Simple & Straight to the Point
GenevaJA Product User

I have had my student loans with Nelnet for over 4 years. Easy to make a payment, lots of little tools to show you the layout of your accounts. No complaints!

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Toss up
Anonymous Product User

The loan is easy to get, but when it's said and done your left with a lot of debt... Just got my first bill due and it's over $600 a month.. How do they expect that??

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Organized
Anonymous Product User

Nelnet does a great job of notifying you of upcoming payments and keeping you in the loop. Nelnet also provides useful resources on paying back loans. 

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Product User

Work with you according to financial situation.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
DISABLED AND TOO MUCH PAPERWORK
Anonymous Product User

THIS COMPANY CONTACTS ME TWICE A YEAR FOR MY DISABILITY LEVEL. NOTHING CHANGES MY DOCTOR HAS EVEN TOLD THEM SO.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2016

good

 
Oct 24, 2016
Consolidated student loans
Anonymous Product User

Every year I need to send in paystubs and updated paperwork in regards to my employment. They are resonable  and I've had great customer service from them. When I first started payments they deferred my loans for  6 months since i was in the process of consolidating my student loans.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
EXCELLENT
Anonymous Product User

I AM DISABLED AND I AM GRATEFUL FOR THE DISMISSAL OF MY FORMER LOAN DEBT. I WAS TREATED WITH KINDNESS AND RESPECT FOR THE ENTIRE THREE YEARS OF MONITORING.

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Class Action Suit against Priv Loans
joshandles Product User

https://topclassactions.com/lawsuit-settlements/lawsuit-news/342601-investigation-illegal-private-student-loan-collection-efforts-bankruptcy/?utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=913%20Newsletter&utm_content=913%20Newsletter+CID_122e88c0596231e6c6838ff256e19623&utm_source=Campaign%20Monitor&utm_term=Link%20httpstopclassactionscomlawsuit-settlementslawsuit-news342601-investigation-illegal-private-student-loan-collection-efforts-bankruptcy

more ...
Jul 28, 2016
Get your paper work together
Anonymous Product User

Discharged my loans due to my disiblity issue,just be prepared to  produce any paper work they may request.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations