Nelnet Student Loans Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 25, 2017
Simple & Straight to the Point
GenevaJA Product User

I have had my student loans with Nelnet for over 4 years. Easy to make a payment, lots of little tools to show you the layout of your accounts. No complaints!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 08, 2017
They have a system to keep you in debt
goobers87 Product User

Their autopay takes any additional payments past the minimum amount and instead of paying towards the principal, applies the payment towards future months' payments, therefore extending out your next payment due date. This only happens until you reach 24 months in advance, at which point they stop applying auto payments towards the loan altogether. If you want to keep paying down the loan, you have to process payments manually. There is no notification on their part that they are no longer applying autopayments towards that loan group. They make it as difficult as possible for you to pay off a loan ahead of time so that they can collect as much interest as possible. Its all a system to keep you accruing interest as long as they can. Not sure how people that work there can sleep at night, its terrible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Oct 31, 2017
LIARS!
Anonymous Product User

Complete LIARS!!!! Told me one amount and when I would need to pay and then I got an email less than a month later with a different amount. I called and the supervisor said she could do nothing about it. Requested all transcripts so that I can give to my attorney for further investigation. They add interest charges and inform you at the last minute! 

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Bait and Switch Scam
Afoonah Product User

They LIE about rate - I met ALL criteria for offered low rate (autopayment enrolled on time and no missed payment) and they increased my interest rate! Also they DO NOT ACCEPT PRINCIPAL PAYMENTS!!!!!! Scam artists and LIARS! Horrible company.

more ...
Sep 06, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Sep 06, 2017

TERRIBLE BAIT SWITCH, KNOWN FEES, BOGUS CHARGES. SCUM.

 
Sep 06, 2017

Unknown FEES!

 
Jun 08, 2017
They have a system to keep you in debt
goobers87 Product User

Their autopay takes any additional payments past the minimum amount and instead of paying towards the principal, applies the payment towards future months' payments, therefore extending out your next payment due date. This only happens until you reach 24 months in advance, at which point they stop applying auto payments towards the loan altogether. If you want to keep paying down the loan, you have to process payments manually. There is no notification on their part that they are no longer applying autopayments towards that loan group. They make it as difficult as possible for you to pay off a loan ahead of time so that they can collect as much interest as possible. Its all a system to keep you accruing interest as long as they can. Not sure how people that work there can sleep at night, its terrible.

more ...
May 31, 2017
They lie and are not honest and upfront.
Anonymous Product User

Before I took their subsidized loans I contacted them to confirm they are interest and payment free the first six months and was advised that they were.  Apparently one group of subsidized loans were not interest free and not only did they fail to disclose that but 30 days before I was to start paying interest they failed to notify me the interest on the loans were to go into effect.  They couldn't give me a valid reason why they never notified me in writing of the change or were not honest when I spoke to them on the telephone.  Stay away from these dishonest thieves.  They are praying on young, innocent college students.

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Student Loan
Anonymous Product User

I was very pleased with customer service and gentleman that handle my acct was exceptional, wish I could remember his name to rate him. 

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Anonymous Product User

Customer service very poor. I was transferred from department to department after long wait times to begin with, then they still did not send me the information I requested so I could file my taxes.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Simple & Straight to the Point
GenevaJA Product User

I have had my student loans with Nelnet for over 4 years. Easy to make a payment, lots of little tools to show you the layout of your accounts. No complaints!

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Toss up
Anonymous Product User

The loan is easy to get, but when it's said and done your left with a lot of debt... Just got my first bill due and it's over $600 a month.. How do they expect that??

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Organized
Anonymous Product User

Nelnet does a great job of notifying you of upcoming payments and keeping you in the loop. Nelnet also provides useful resources on paying back loans. 

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Product User

Work with you according to financial situation.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations