Nelnet Student Loans Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 26, 2018
Nelnet has my payments low & affordable
usuckbigtime Product User

I’ve keep my payments current from day 1 and Nelnet has helped me keep my payments low and affordable.   Whenever I’ve had a problem coming up with the payment, I’ve contact Nelnet before the payment was due and they helped me through.  Lost my job, no problem, no payments for 6 months. County declared a national disaster area, Nelnet contact me and asked if I need help!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 20, 2018
Thee worst, don't do business with them
tzecha Product User

All the other reviews are on point, dont do business with them. Corrupted and unethical practices.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Nov 30, 2018
Very Helpful
TMiller6787 Product User

I've had Nelnet for my student loans for maybe 8 years. Their website is very user friendly and easy to navigate. Whenever I've had a financial issue I just call customer service and they are so helpful. When I found out I was pregnant I just called Nelnet and they told me not to worry, they would just defer my payments for the next year. It was no hasle at all. Every time I've needed help or had questions I just call and they always find me a solution or an answer to my question in a speedy manner. You pay on your loans individually the way you want to. If you have one loan with a higher interest rate you can pay more on that loan than the others so that your payments don't pile up. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2018
Sarah2018 Product User

Customer reps are incompetent and not on the same page. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2018
Great Customer Service!
astebbins1 Product User

I’ve been current on my payments from the start and Nelnet has helped me keep my payments low and affordable.   Whenever I’ve had a problem coming up with the payment, I’ve contact Nelnet before the payment was due and they helped me through.

more ...
Oct 22, 2018
Nelnet is SUCH A SCAM!!!
BT1994 Product User

They will tell you to do a Forbearance, just for them to drop your credit scores 30-45 points, and then deny they ever did it. They WILL NOT get back to you through email, and apparantly their system isn't updated enough to know which ways they screwed you over. Stay far far away from Nelnet!

more ...
Oct 18, 2018
Great customer Service
dyinginsideslowly Product User

I got help from Jaimie in the customer service department. She was kind and patient and very helpful in providing me with a solution to each of my problems. Loans are never pleasent but at least this exchange was.

more ...
Sep 20, 2018
The Worst!
MeredithK79 Product User

I was forced into using Nelnet since they took over my previous loan servicer (ACS) and never made a late payment.  After a couple of years, I realized I was barely paying down the principal and all of my payments were going to interest.  Come to find out, the interest also is incurred from when you pay your student loan.  My payments were on the 14th of each month, but if I paid it before hand (which I always did), the interest starts accruing from the day you make your payment to the next month.  So if paid my payment on the 1st of March, my interest would start being accrued on that date until the 14th of the following month.  Completely ridiculous.  

more ...
Jul 19, 2018
maddygabbysmom Product User

Pay your student loan off as quick as you can.  Pay more than the minimum payment or you will be paying off student loans for almost as long as you pay for a home.

more ...
Apr 15, 2018
Helpful student loan company
Amylee115 Product User

Nelnet has worked with me on my federal student loans during difficult medical times. They helped me with forbearance issues and I never felt judged or belittled. 

more ...
Feb 26, 2018
Nelnet has my payments low & affordable
usuckbigtime Product User

I’ve keep my payments current from day 1 and Nelnet has helped me keep my payments low and affordable.   Whenever I’ve had a problem coming up with the payment, I’ve contact Nelnet before the payment was due and they helped me through.  Lost my job, no problem, no payments for 6 months. County declared a national disaster area, Nelnet contact me and asked if I need help!

more ...
Jan 31, 2018
Pain in my A$$
Anonymous Product User

I have been making my payments on time sore several years now, I have not changed anything on my account. When I went to sign in it said I had the wrong password! Which I can assure you it was the same password I’ve been putting in for about 6 years now! When I called they told me I didn’t have an account! And they I told them the account was under my mothers name, but my name is on it too cause she co-signed my loan! Ugh! Screw you nelnet!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations