Nelnet Student Loans Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 30, 2018
Very Helpful
TMiller6787 Product User

I've had Nelnet for my student loans for maybe 8 years. Their website is very user friendly and easy to navigate. Whenever I've had a financial issue I just call customer service and they are so helpful. When I found out I was pregnant I just called Nelnet and they told me not to worry, they would just defer my payments for the next year. It was no hasle at all. Every time I've needed help or had questions I just call and they always find me a solution or an answer to my question in a speedy manner. You pay on your loans individually the way you want to. If you have one loan with a higher interest rate you can pay more on that loan than the others so that your payments don't pile up. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 22, 2018
Nelnet is SUCH A SCAM!!!
BT1994 Product User

They will tell you to do a Forbearance, just for them to drop your credit scores 30-45 points, and then deny they ever did it. They WILL NOT get back to you through email, and apparantly their system isn't updated enough to know which ways they screwed you over. Stay far far away from Nelnet!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Apr 13, 2019
Horrible service, RUDE EMPLOYEES
Srh02 Product User

I wanted to pay the remainder of my entire student loan off. I contacted customer service and asked to be transferred to the right department (wherever I needed to go to talk to someone to pay it off). The Lady on the phone said "sure i'll help you out".. She wasn't helpful, she was rude, made me feel embarrassed about my job right out of college and the amount of my monthly payments.. And then FINALLY after all of this back and forth conversation, she says with an attitude "you need to be transferred I can't help you with this!". Oh my goodness. I don't remember her name but I'm willing to find out and post it everywhere when I get the chance.. Like was she bothered that I was able to have my loan paid off? Either way it's none of her business. I have never had anyone be this rude to me. It's not an enjoyable to be in debt and she made it even worse.

more ...
Mar 20, 2019
Describe? SCAM!
live70 Product User

I'm in school and I have been fighting with them for the past 3 months because they say I'm not in school. My loans have entered the grace period. Finally, two of my loans got approve for an IN-school deferment, the rest got approved for a REGULAR deferment. OH NOT TO MENTION, THEY SAID I LOST MY GRACE PERIOD & MY SUBSIDISED LOANS WILL CONTINUE TO ACCRUE INSTEST ON THE LOANS THAT HAVE A REGULAR DEFERMENT. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM.

more ...
Jan 07, 2019
Federal Student Loan
TommyJS68 Product User

Pleased with the service of my loan. Tax documents are quickly available each year.

more ...
Nov 30, 2018
Very Helpful
TMiller6787 Product User

I've had Nelnet for my student loans for maybe 8 years. Their website is very user friendly and easy to navigate. Whenever I've had a financial issue I just call customer service and they are so helpful. When I found out I was pregnant I just called Nelnet and they told me not to worry, they would just defer my payments for the next year. It was no hasle at all. Every time I've needed help or had questions I just call and they always find me a solution or an answer to my question in a speedy manner. You pay on your loans individually the way you want to. If you have one loan with a higher interest rate you can pay more on that loan than the others so that your payments don't pile up. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2018
Sarah2018 Product User

Customer reps are incompetent and not on the same page. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2018
Great Customer Service!
astebbins1 Product User

I’ve been current on my payments from the start and Nelnet has helped me keep my payments low and affordable.   Whenever I’ve had a problem coming up with the payment, I’ve contact Nelnet before the payment was due and they helped me through.

more ...
Oct 22, 2018
Nelnet is SUCH A SCAM!!!
BT1994 Product User

They will tell you to do a Forbearance, just for them to drop your credit scores 30-45 points, and then deny they ever did it. They WILL NOT get back to you through email, and apparantly their system isn't updated enough to know which ways they screwed you over. Stay far far away from Nelnet!

more ...
Oct 18, 2018
Great customer Service
dyinginsideslowly Product User

I got help from Jaimie in the customer service department. She was kind and patient and very helpful in providing me with a solution to each of my problems. Loans are never pleasent but at least this exchange was.

more ...
Sep 20, 2018
The Worst!
MeredithK79 Product User

I was forced into using Nelnet since they took over my previous loan servicer (ACS) and never made a late payment.  After a couple of years, I realized I was barely paying down the principal and all of my payments were going to interest.  Come to find out, the interest also is incurred from when you pay your student loan.  My payments were on the 14th of each month, but if I paid it before hand (which I always did), the interest starts accruing from the day you make your payment to the next month.  So if paid my payment on the 1st of March, my interest would start being accrued on that date until the 14th of the following month.  Completely ridiculous.  

more ...
Jul 19, 2018
maddygabbysmom Product User

Pay your student loan off as quick as you can.  Pay more than the minimum payment or you will be paying off student loans for almost as long as you pay for a home.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations