Earnest Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Oct 16, 2017
Definitely Recommend
mshem Product User

What I love about Earnest is their transparancy. I looked into a ton of refinance companies before deciding on Earnest and my decision came down to 1) They have very competetive rates. 2) There were no hidden loops to jump through or hidden eligability requirements once you got into the application process that I dealt with with other companies  3) The app is concise and easy to use. Another great benefit with Earnest is that every so often you can refinance with them internally without a hard pull on your credit report. Its an awesome feature if your credit is improving or if their rates improve. With Earnest I am saving about $11,000 and reduced my loan term by about 2 years. I definitely recommend!

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
User-friendly and low rates.
laureliz Product User

I shopped a lot of refinancing options, and I liked the user-friendly application process and the low rates Earnest had to offer.

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
Lifesaving
Anonymous Product User

It’s a no-brainer

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Refinance
Thanks12323 Product User

Very easy and clear process. Saved me almost 2% on two loans, that is a ot when talking about compound interest.  Now my loans are also in one place, one payment.  I am going to place my referral link below ( we should both earn a $200 referral, not sure how long it will stay active). Thanks. https://www.earnest.com/invite/ryan3948

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Product User

What a great experience it was dealing with this company. I never thought the process would be so simple. Thank you Earnest!

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Easy, user friendly - great support
mbs80 Product User

Had a positive experience. Initially was rejected because of a miscommunication. Reached out, spoke to a friendly human who understood the issue and solved the problem. I'm a fan. Very responsive - like dealing with a 21st century business that cares about its customers.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Easy process; Great product!
cstaff721 Product User

I wish I had refinanced sooner! Overall, the process with Earnest was super easy and very clear. I loved being able to select the exact amount I can pay each month and get the best possible rate for that time frame. Overall I'm saving over $2500 and paying off my loans more than 2 years ahead of my previous provider's schedule. 

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Great experience all around!
Anonymous Product User

I've had nothing but positive experiences since refinancing my loans with Earnest. Their customer service staff is very helpful, professional, and timely in their responses. The application process requires a lot of documentation but it is worth it for the rates that they offer and NO FEES! I like the fact that you can choose your payment amount and corresponding interest rate. I would highly recommend using Earnest to get rid of your debt!

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Great rate, great service!
LazzleDazzle Product User

I've refinanced with Earnest twice now.  Best interface of the lenders I've worked with.  Easy application process, good rate.  Look forward to paying my loan with Earnest.

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
Lowest rates, super easy application
Anonymous Product User

Earnest gave me the lowest rates (vs Sofi, DRB) and had the easiest application process out there. I did not have to scan anything or procure pdfs from each financial institution. The tech-enabled process made the entire experience pleasant. 

To give you a sense of my rates, I originally had a 15 year 6.49% loan from Sofi (!!). It was reduced to 5.07%, 9.7  years with Earnest! After a year, I refinanced to 4.07%, 7.5 years. After another year, I got it down to 3.49%, <5 years. All this while keeping my monthly amount nearly the same. What helps is that Earnest has a bi-weekly payment option which accelerates the principal payment. 

I also love that it's so easy to change your monthly or bi-weekly payments through the website. Every now and then I'll pay a little extra and Earnest makes it super easy to do so. 

I'm Earnest's biggest fan!

more ...
Aug 30, 2017
Student loan refinance
Anonymous Product User

I was hesitant to leave my federal loans and go with a private company but Earnest made my decision super easy. I lowered my interest rate and was able to knock 6 years off my debt plan! They offered a referral bonus and when I had questions I called and had a person on the line in less than a minute. They were super helpful and completely knowledgeable about the process even with my weird questions. Sofi offered a slightly lower rate but how estate I'm happy I went with earnest.

more ...
Aug 27, 2017
Easy!
Anonymous Product User

So mad at myself for waiting 3 years after college to refinance! I checked out a lot of different sites and got the best rates from Earnest. I had a lot of different loans ranging from 4-12%. I'm now at 3.89% across the board and I don't feel as stressed out about my student loan debt as I know exactly how much interest is going to accumulate and what payments are going to be every month for the next 6 years. The whole process was very easy.

more ...
Aug 21, 2017
Refinance student loans
Anonymous Product User

Very easy process, got better rates than other lenders. 

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
Better than SoFi even with a higher rate
Anonymous Product User

Earnest offered a slightly higher rate than I received from SoFi. However, Earnest offers a biweekly automatic payment option vs SoFi's standard monthly autopay. The biweekly autopay option ends up saving you money in the long run. I completed my application and waited about a week while I was deciding which lender to go with. In that time, Earnest offered a $300 credit if I went with them. This helped solidify my decision.

The one downside to Earnest was that I received a higher rate when I submitted my full app vs my initial interest rate. I was told that the initial rate is almost never the same as what is offered with the full application. This struck me as a bait and switch but I admit I understand more details come from the full application. Still, I didn't think that my application worse.

Regardless, in my situation it made sense to go with a slightly higher rate with Earnest which would end up being a slightly lower rate than SoFi because of the biweekly autopay option. The $300 credit was icing on the cake!

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Product User

I was able to refinance my previously co-signed loans through Earnest without needing a cosigner. My interest rate was nearly cut in half from what it had been. It was a painless process, and it was very easy to apply. Nice to know that my good credit score and how I manage money was a big part how they decided on my interest rate. They gave me the best interest rate with the APR being 1-2% lower than every other place I applied (over 12 companies). Nice to choose my exact monthly payments and interest rates. Application process was a breeze. They needed the least amount of documentation between all of the other places I applied. Would highly recommended.

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Good process, great rates!
Anonymous Product User

Used Earnest to refinance $95k in federal loans from law school. Was able to cut my APR from 7.5% to just above 5. They use a great web platform to make the application easier and faster than a traditional bank. Checked around before completing my application and saw some complain about time to disburse payoff amounts. I can only say that my payoff amount was received in 7 days. I'd recommend Earnest to anyone looking to take advantage of lower rates, especially if they had the misfortune of taking out student loans when rates were far higher. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
Easy process and flexible terms
bacillusx Product User

This was by far the easiest process I went through for refinancing my student loans, and I'm quite happy with the results and the flexibility of  the repayment options and available terms.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
Student loan refi
Anonymous Product User

Exceeded my expectations on all levels.  Really easy application process, able to process everything quickly, and customer service is always extremely helpful when I call.  Plus they offered the best rates and extra options/flexibiltiy to save even more money on my student loans.  Would highly recommend.  

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
Very efficient
Anonymous Product User

I was worried at first about everything being completely online, but the team at Earnest put my mind at ease. This was a great decision! 

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Fast, easy funding on a re-finance!
Anonymous Product User

Re-financed a portion of a huge federally funded loan that I re-fi'd. Had a small balance left over at a VERY high federal rate. Earnest approved me for less than half!! Huge savings.  Loan funded quickly. Website interface is user friendly. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
incompetent
Anonymous Product User

First off, it took 1.5 months to fund my loan due to their finance department being backed up. Secondly, this company does not have the "capabilites" to apply additional payments to the principal portion. Some servicers make you allocate but this servicer doesn't even allow you to. I have found no help from customer service. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Great customer service and great rates
VeronicaBu Product User

Saved myself some cash as well as there aren't any fees for additional payments.

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Exactly What I Was Looking For
Anonymous Product User

Earnest has exceeded my expectations in every way. Not only did they offer me the lowest rate for refinancing my student loans, but the customer service blew me away. Beyond that, they are very flexible and accomodating with the loan repayment terms. Everything about the whole refinancing process thus far has been suprisingly painless. I would absolutely recommend Earnest to anyone else who is looking to refinance student loans and save serious money (I'm going to save at least $13,000!).

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Excellent Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Product User

The application process was super easy and was very intuitive - no need to even call customer service, but it's great too! The scale tool is very helpful in seeing how varying monthly payment amounts affect interest, total paid, and term length. The whole process was painless and fast - I was pre-approved in minutes and was able to sign my documents all online with no fuss. Just waiting for finalization from my original lender and everything will be good to go.

If you're debating it, just apply with Earnest. They're great!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations