Earnest Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
Better than SoFi even with a higher rate
Anonymous Product User

Earnest offered a slightly higher rate than I received from SoFi. However, Earnest offers a biweekly automatic payment option vs SoFi's standard monthly autopay. The biweekly autopay option ends up saving you money in the long run. I completed my application and waited about a week while I was deciding which lender to go with. In that time, Earnest offered a $300 credit if I went with them. This helped solidify my decision.

The one downside to Earnest was that I received a higher rate when I submitted my full app vs my initial interest rate. I was told that the initial rate is almost never the same as what is offered with the full application. This struck me as a bait and switch but I admit I understand more details come from the full application. Still, I didn't think that my application worse.

Regardless, in my situation it made sense to go with a slightly higher rate with Earnest which would end up being a slightly lower rate than SoFi because of the biweekly autopay option. The $300 credit was icing on the cake!

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Product User

I was able to refinance my previously co-signed loans through Earnest without needing a cosigner. My interest rate was nearly cut in half from what it had been. It was a painless process, and it was very easy to apply. Nice to know that my good credit score and how I manage money was a big part how they decided on my interest rate. They gave me the best interest rate with the APR being 1-2% lower than every other place I applied (over 12 companies). Nice to choose my exact monthly payments and interest rates. Application process was a breeze. They needed the least amount of documentation between all of the other places I applied. Would highly recommended.

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Good process, great rates!
Anonymous Product User

Used Earnest to refinance $95k in federal loans from law school. Was able to cut my APR from 7.5% to just above 5. They use a great web platform to make the application easier and faster than a traditional bank. Checked around before completing my application and saw some complain about time to disburse payoff amounts. I can only say that my payoff amount was received in 7 days. I'd recommend Earnest to anyone looking to take advantage of lower rates, especially if they had the misfortune of taking out student loans when rates were far higher. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
Easy process and flexible terms
bacillusx Product User

This was by far the easiest process I went through for refinancing my student loans, and I'm quite happy with the results and the flexibility of  the repayment options and available terms.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
Student loan refi
Anonymous Product User

Exceeded my expectations on all levels.  Really easy application process, able to process everything quickly, and customer service is always extremely helpful when I call.  Plus they offered the best rates and extra options/flexibiltiy to save even more money on my student loans.  Would highly recommend.  

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
Very efficient
Anonymous Product User

I was worried at first about everything being completely online, but the team at Earnest put my mind at ease. This was a great decision! 

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Fast, easy funding on a re-finance!
Anonymous Product User

Re-financed a portion of a huge federally funded loan that I re-fi'd. Had a small balance left over at a VERY high federal rate. Earnest approved me for less than half!! Huge savings.  Loan funded quickly. Website interface is user friendly. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
incompetent
Anonymous Product User

First off, it took 1.5 months to fund my loan due to their finance department being backed up. Secondly, this company does not have the "capabilites" to apply additional payments to the principal portion. Some servicers make you allocate but this servicer doesn't even allow you to. I have found no help from customer service. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Great customer service and great rates
VeronicaBu Product User

Saved myself some cash as well as there aren't any fees for additional payments.

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Exactly What I Was Looking For
Anonymous Product User

Earnest has exceeded my expectations in every way. Not only did they offer me the lowest rate for refinancing my student loans, but the customer service blew me away. Beyond that, they are very flexible and accomodating with the loan repayment terms. Everything about the whole refinancing process thus far has been suprisingly painless. I would absolutely recommend Earnest to anyone else who is looking to refinance student loans and save serious money (I'm going to save at least $13,000!).

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Excellent Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Product User

The application process was super easy and was very intuitive - no need to even call customer service, but it's great too! The scale tool is very helpful in seeing how varying monthly payment amounts affect interest, total paid, and term length. The whole process was painless and fast - I was pre-approved in minutes and was able to sign my documents all online with no fuss. Just waiting for finalization from my original lender and everything will be good to go.

If you're debating it, just apply with Earnest. They're great!

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Student loan refinancing
Anonymous Product User

They offered me a better rate than other refi companies, and the process was painless and quick

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Super helpful and overall amazing
Anonymous Product User

I looked at a lot of different places while trying to refinance my student loans, but Earnest definitely stood out. The customer support was super helpful and quick to respond through email, text and phone calls. They also offered by far the greatest rates, and a customizable plan. I'm actually really excited to be a customer here knowing that if I have any trouble down the road there are wonderful people and a great customer support team that I can work with.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
This is how a company should operate!
Anonymous Product User

I was approved for a consolidation loan for my student loans. They offered the best rates compared with other companies and the ability to choose the exact term or payment you want is awesome! The customer service agents I spoke with were extremely helpful! I'm awaiting the disbursement to my previous lender so I'm still early in the process with Earnest but so far I absolutely LOVE the way they do business! I highly recommend them to anyone! Also, I'm not a robot or a fake review and I wasn't paid to write this. Really, you can trust me I promise! :D

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Everything feels built for the consumer
Anonymous Product User

Earnest was the only company that would refinance my student loans from an international MBA program (a well known one, too).  Every other company simply stated they couldn't based on a list of eligible schools they took as a given, without any additional thought.  But the Earnest team took the time to discover my school was actually eligible and made it happen.  

The ability to customize your payment and repayment period is fantastic.  I could maximize the amount I can afford on a monthly basis without overcommitting by picking the monthly payment down to the nearest $5 --- all easily seen on your screen.  

more ...
Nov 24, 2016
Easy
MagyarPeter Product User

Apain free application process and quick decision made. Nice!

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Great Product + Customer Service!
keeks1485 Product User

The process of refinancing my sudent loans was smooth and seamless.  Adding various bank accounts and other information may seem a little invasive to some, but I prefer it.  It was super easy, and they needed this information to do a thorough job in qualifying me for the best rate.  I called their customer service line, and the representative was very helpful, answering all of my questions.  I have an 835 FICO score, and I felt like I was rewarded for that when I was quickly approved for my loan (earlier than anticipated), and received a great rate (4.17% fixed)!  Their website and app are super intuitive and user friendly.  Everything is so sleek and performs well.  I like the option of being able to make an extra payment and change my autopay schedule and amount.  I don't anticipate having to use it, but it's also nice to have the option of skipping a payment, if needed.  I would absolutely recommend Earnest to anyone looking to save money by refinancing their student loans!!

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
Gr8 customer service and easy process
Anonymous Product User

Applied for refinancing my loans thru earnest and sofi, even after submitting all required docs, sofi keep asking me additional docs, I got tired and withdrew my application. Applying with earnest was easy and convenient. Apart from that easy to contact em via text. Thank you earnest. 

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Anonymous Product User

Earnest has been fantastic so far in communication, customer service, and ensuring that the application went as smoothly as possible for me. They're great and I highly recommend them!

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
Great rate, easy to apply!
jpearson1973 Product User

Customer service was excellent.  Nice people too

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Very easy and gave me a great rate
Anonymous Product User

Great!

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Refinancing made simple
Anonymous Product User

Straightforward website design with friendly customer service

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Hassle Free, Low Rate
abrick Product User

Application is entirely online, and by far the most simple process I have ever been through. Student loan refinance rates are the best around and managing the payments is a breeze. Very satisfied, and plan on coming back to finance future endevors.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Best refinance option
TheBoat2014 Product User

Earnest was not only easy to work with by immediately responding by email and text message, but they are also extremely fair; they offered me the lowest loan rate by far, and based it on my responsible credit history, not the amount of it. I really appreciate their style, and am happy to have them as my new loan servicer.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations