Upstart Personal Loans Reviews

Upstart Personal Loans Reviews
4.9 out of 5 stars
406 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 09, 2020
Path to Debt-free life
JenniferClem Borrower

I have ignored pre-screened personal loan offers for years, but couldn't pass up this opportunity to consolidate my cc debt into a single payment to become debt-free in 3 short years.  Trying the snowball method to pay off my debt has not worked well for me in the past, so I am looking forward to paying balances in full and closing accounts to avoid obtaining future additional debt.  I was expecting this loan process to take 3-5 business days, but had my loan approval in about an hour after uploading my requested documentation online.  Excellent, transparent loan process.  I would highly recommend Upstart to others looking to get out of high-interest credit card debt.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 25, 2019
Misleading approval.
ingalls71 Borrower

With multiple emails they lead me to believe the loan was approved and only required a simple 5 minute "verification" call, only to tell me that my info could not be verified and subsiquently denying my application. Nothing changed on my credit report but they denied the application and didn't tell me what I needed to do. 1 star for leading me to believe I had been approved and not working through.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 27, 2020
I had an excellent experience with Upsta
cMcD15 Borrower

From start to finish, Upstart was amazing to work with. The application was far and easy, and the user interface on their website is hands down the best I've seen from lender/bank. No extra hidden fees or interest and everything is easily accessible if you have any questions. Would recommend this lender to anyone looking for a personal loan.

more ...
May 26, 2020
Helped me when I was in a tight spot...
Jaxder Borrower

They helped me when I was in a tight spot, I needed to get out from under my credit card debt. As soon as I took their loan my credit score jumped up. But the monthlys were too high and the interest rate was also really high...luckily with my improved credit score I was able to apply for a better loan and now I'm on the road to zero debt. 

5 stars for helping me
-1 star because the rates were pretty bad.

more ...
May 20, 2020
Fast Approval, Great Rates!
jmow9691 Borrower

I got this loan to consilidate my credit card debt (and buy some new gear)! One monthly payment, GREAT customer services (super responsive and helpful with a deferrment plan during the beginning of COVID-19, and I ended up being able to pay it off a few months early. If I ever need another loan, Upstart is my first choice!!!

more ...
May 19, 2020
Best loan experience I've ever had

Very easy process to apply, good terms based on my history at the time, many easy payoff options and terrific communicating. I couldn't be happier with the process and want to move another loan over to them, once this pandemic is over and I restart working :(

more ...
May 06, 2020
Very convenient and fast approval!
slmax79 Borrower

Upstart was a great experience for me. I paid off early but overall it was a very convenient process. I split my payment in two (personal preference) and the website allowed it which was very helpful. 

more ...
May 01, 2020
My First Loan

Nov 2019 I took out loan with Upstart, the process was extremely easy and smooth. I love how they broke everything down where you can understand it especially since this was my first loan ever. I love their website from the color to it being easy to understand and so easy to work. I like that they respond to emails sometimes I didn't want to call, when I did call I never encountered a rude person everyone was helpful. If I ever wanted another loan I would use Upstart again for sure. Thank you Upstart, you guys are forever stuck with me now.

more ...
May 01, 2020
Fair and consistent policies
payemae Borrower

Upstart is great at reminding the borrower when payments are due and making them easily adjustable when needed.

more ...
Apr 28, 2020
lovemaine2 Borrower

ease of application, funds immediately in account, no penalty for early pay off

more ...
Apr 28, 2020
pay off credit card debt
lovemaine2 Borrower

ease of application, immediate transfer of funds to my account, no penalty for early pay off

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.