Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

TD Bank Personal Loans

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
1.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.


Reviews (24)

Add Review
Oct 03, 2016

I have a mortgage with TD bank, I'm thankful but they have the worst customer service ever!!!!!

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
Takes forever.

I have applied for 5k loan to consolidate debt, no one ever called back, what a joke.

more ...
Jul 30, 2016
avoid, if possible
Anonymous Borrower

I used to work for them, here's the inside scoop: they are cutting expenses meaning all of the support provided to their employees have been cut. Why? To meet the quarterly earnings target. It's pathetic. What your left with is well meaning new employees who know nothing and overworked people who know a lot but can't keep up with the files. Eventually most of the good people leave due to the bank's cheapness so this brain drain is getting worse, not better.  The produce is good but prepare for a terrible experience.

more ...
Jul 22, 2016
Pathetic Underwriting Department

I applied for a personal unsecured line of credit in the amount of $20,000. Unfortunately, they came back with a denial because they said I have a limited credit file even though my credit history spans back to 1995 (21 years old) along with a credit score of 763 and an annual income of $120,000. This is the most ludicrous and absurd decisioning I have ever come across in my entire life. It's blatantly obvious that TD Bank does not approve any loans/lines and is absolutely not interested in building client-relationships within the community period. I don't know how in the world the underwriting department is still actively functioning if their turning away business left, right, and center.

Word of advice, don't ever apply for any type of lending product with this pathetic bank.

more ...
Jul 16, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Applied for a $7000 unsecured personal loan on a Thursday night. The cash was in my account Saturday afternoon. I have a TD checking account, 7+ years same employer with direct deposit and 780 credit score. These factors likely contributed to the expeditious deposit. Excellent customer service.

more ...
Jan 20, 2016
Employment not long enough


I applied for a personal unsecured loan for $15,000 and expected the process to be expedited

in a timley manner as described on their website and in person at one of their local branches.

1) I never received any correspondence by mail, phone, or email of the decision after 2 to 10

business days as advertised.

2) I look over my credit extensivley to make sure I am making the right decision before allowing

anyone to pull a hard inquiry on my report. So while I met the criteria shown on the website (credit

score well over 680), consecutive work history over 7 years in the same field, and asking for

assistance from a local branch assistant manager to review my income and credit report to confirm I

am well below the 40% debt to income ratio, revolving debt under 30%, installment debt in good

standing (which they never bothered to review before initializing the application in question)....

none of this matters.

Apparently, what they don't tell you is that you HAVE to be working for your current employer for

at least 2 calander years to be eligible. I switched to a competitor just under a year ago because

it was more feasible for me, but I could have been jobless/ homeless before going to a different

employer and have been treated exactly the same. If this criteria would have been disclosed online

or in person, I would have simply siad to myself: "Right now isn't the time to do something like

this and I can save that hard inquiry for something I am very well eligible for". For TD Bank; it

appears that this criteria information is too sacred to share with the public and therefor

eliminating any possibility of conducting any business with this financial institution in the future.

Simply put, I can't argue that the criteria was not met on my behalf, I can accept that. What I don't

accept is the fact that this inquiry could have been avoided if TD Bank would have disclosed this vital

information on thier behalf online or in person to any of it's existing or possibly new future clients.

Disclosing all criteria for eligiblity should not pose any damaging threat, it will in fact have me

keep any family members or business associates from conducting any business with this financial

institution due to it's misleading/ deceiving practices while convincing them to explore other options.

If this is the kind of service I can expect from TD Bank (no communication regarding status of loan,

not communicating what factors play an important role when applying for a service, ect), I am

confident I can do better taking my business elsewhere.

Transmission of this complaint will be submitted to the BBB, social media outlets, and to the TD

Ombudsman's Office so that future applicants are aware before making such decisions without

being properly informed.

more ...
Dec 23, 2015

I went to TD bank for a home equity line of credit on a home I own outright. There is no mortgage! I have very good credit. No brainer, right? I got them over 19 documents immediately and then waited. XXXXXXX XXXXXX was the loan processor assigned to my case. I found that out only after going to a local branch because no one was getting back to me. XXXXXXX XXXXXX does not return phone calls. He even told me it was useless to speak to a supervisor and would not supply her name or contact info. Once I did find out who his supervisor was SHE DID NOT return calls. They continued to ask for the same documents over and over again with long waits in between -- Id call for an update since no one was contacting me and XXXXXXX would say - oh the underwriter said you need so and so. I'd supply it immediately and not hear back. I'd call and he wouldn't call back, I'd e mail and he wouldn't reply. I'd call XXXXXXX XXXX, his supervisor and she wouldn't return calls. This happened time and time again until this morning OVER 2 MONTHS into the process he called for another document I sent weeks ago - saying -the underwriter wont accept so-and-so. I told him I'd had enough and to withdraw my application. I am starting the process with someone else today. WHAT A WAIST OF TIME. Ignorance and incompetence at its worst! Mind you , I have no credit or income issues! Don't even get me started on the checking account they had me open to get a lower rate. Closed today as well. Also, always super long lines at the branch with only 2 of the 5 desks manned.

more ...
Dec 08, 2015
equity line of credit

into 4th month of processing with this bank. nothing but incompetance. no return calls and when you do get someone they deflect it to another dept. made a mistake going to this bank. credit scores are excellant we've done everything asked, jumped thru all the hoops and still no answer from these people. absolute mistake to use TD Bank. DO NOT USE THIS BANK!!!!!!! 

more ...
Oct 28, 2015
Waste of Time
Anonymous Borrower

"Lost" the first application. Second application still "processing". It has been two weeks. I called several times. The last time I called I gave them my S.S #, my adress, my date of birth. They would not respond because they wanted my sur name?!! I gave them my full name and they said they will not advise me because "It is not the way you filled out the application".  I don't know my own name???? I am moving my $ to another bank where they will appreciate my business.

Totally Bogus

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.