OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.4 out of 5 stars
689 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2019
Predatory Loan so Pay off Fast
NobodysFool99 Borrower

This loan is Predatory. If you don't plan on paying it off in 6 or less months, don't get it. If you are falling into some lump sum within that time, then go for it. I did.

It was so funny. As soon as I went online and paid the entire balance off, a representative called me immediately, like if it was any of her business, and asked me how did I pay it off. Lol. I told her I ran an escort service. You should have heard the silence! Point is, pay of early or pay a couple hundred more than the amount owed each month to get that balance down. Don't pay the minimum. That's what they are banking on. Be smart....like me!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 01, 2019
The Interest is a Killer
Ghostofalegend Borrower

If they explained the interest rate propely and the repayment Math upfront they would lose alot of business. Their interest rate is a daily interest rate so if you took a loan of 10,000. at a interest of 25% and lets say your monthly payment is to be $250. When you make your monthly payment $212 goes towards your interest and $38 goes towards your balance. The only way to get out of your loans fast with this company is to never miss a payment and always pay more than your standard monthly payments. The loan math is [Loan Amount] (APR%/365)X{days between payments} = interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 08, 2020
It was fast and professional
MissJayne Borrower

One Main Financial is a great company and easy to work with

more ...
Apr 07, 2020
Best loan experience I've ever had
CowboyBen Borrower

I brought in the paperwork they requested and in 15 minutes I was approved for $3000 more than I ask for. This allowed me to pay off even more debt and save me another$138/mo. Do I approve? YES!

more ...
Apr 07, 2020
musicman214 Borrower

The loan officer was very professional especially in these times. I really appreciated it. 

more ...
Apr 05, 2020
Friendly service, no pressure.
Pauly2187 Borrower

The rep was very friendly and knowledgeable. Process was relatively quick.

more ...
Apr 05, 2020

The interest rate will destroy you. Don't do it unless you can pay it off in six months.

more ...
Apr 04, 2020
I should have never got this loan.
JDG1973 Borrower

They kill you with intrest, it's like the never ending loan. Getting a loan with them is easy and they are nice, like a bunch of loan sharks. My experience and opinion is getting a loan with One Main Financial is as bad, if not worse than taking a loan or cash advance on a credit card.

more ...
Apr 01, 2020
Live saving loan with excellent service
whiteyinsac Borrower

My daughter had to transfer colleges due to an abusive coach she had so last minute we had to move her out of her apartment in Arkansas and move her to Mississippi. This was all so last minute and things took more time than expected, i ended up missing 3 weeks of work and exhausted all of my funds on the move, etc. I had to take a loan out to cover bills and the only loan I found in haste was a horrible loan at about 300% interest. I had been paying faithfully on the loan for about 7 months and I owed more than what I borrowed due to the interest.

I looked to see if I could refinance and was so thankful to see I could with One Main Financial. My loan officer Danielle had no judgement, treated me as a professional and with the utmost respect and got me what I needed to get rid of this loan and start making progressive payments to finally erradicate the debt. Although I'm sorry for so much lost time I feel so much better paying One Main as they are truly out to help the individual!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.