Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

OneMain Financial Personal Loans

4.2 out of 5 stars
1386 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
High interest, but works for what it is.
Bodhistarr Borrower

I got a 4 year plan for a loan of $6400. The interest is front loaded and nearly the same as what I borrowed, making the loan close to 12k. They did need a car title. It is what it is. But my credit has gone up swiftly, and the monthly payments are more affordable than the credit cards I consolidated were. If you pay faster, the interest is lower. I didn't have other options, so, I can't complain. I may not entirely like the deal, but at least they offered one that worked.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 11, 2016
Nice people, easy loan, but bad deal
Anonymous Borrower

This company gave me a loan when i needed it but refused to lower the interest rate after I improved my credit score and was receiving offers from other places.  Don't borrow from them unless you are prepared to pay incredibly high interest rates.  When I borrowed from them, they didn't even apply anything to the principal until 4  months later.  I payed 290.00 and the interest was 290.00 for 4 months.  On the 5th month they applied 35.00 of this to the principal.  Shame on them for taking advantage of people who want to help themselves and shame on them for not changing their rates once my FICO went from 590 to over 700.  I took money out of my 401K and got rid of them. Beware!  Their practices should be illegal.  Oh and they definitely try to push all the extra insurance you don't need.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 03, 2016
Amazing people, very helpful and quick!
JcInTheAc Borrower

Really well run company. Worth a shot if you need cash now!

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
They where right up front with us.
rnobles1492 Borrower

My wife and I needed a little hlp with some home problems that we where having and my wife gave them a call and apply for a loan and in a day it was over and had the money the same day.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Easy process! GREAT company!
Foleymike81 Borrower

They work with you to make payments affordable! Easy loan process and GREAT customer service!

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Paying for wedding
Djlong Borrower

Easy to get and awesome people to work with. Awesome A+++++ 

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Paying off bills
PeggyA77 Borrower

I applied to pay off some bills that were taking alot of my pay wach week. The staff is friendly and takes there time to go over everything with you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

interest is like 36% interest kind of high

 
Dec 02, 2016
Consolidation
mercerva88 Borrower

We applied online to consolidate our credit card debt through One Main Financial. The office staff was always friendly and helpful when visit or call. The process was fast and easy, the staff took care of everything for us. Very pleased!!!

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Easy Process, Great Custpmer Service
lekirk21 Borrower

I am a second time customer with One Main Financial (previously SpringLeaf). The application process wasy extremely easy, and the customer service provided met all my expectations.

At a point in time when I was building my credit, I did view the interest rate extremely high than what I previously was accustomed to, but paying off the loan early alleviated the interest costs. I chose to utilize them a second time because of my great first time experience. 

Definitely take advantage of the rewards program! It only takes a few minutes out your time to read the pointers on budgeting, building credit, etc.

I am rating the application process as 4 stars due to the requirement to commute to the local office to sign of the loan paperwork.

-LK21

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 02, 2016
Good servicer with perks
cnb06c Borrower

The interest rate is a bit high, but waayyyy better than getting a payday loan. I would have liked if the process didn't require a trip to the branch (this was during the Springleaf time, so I'm not sure if this is still the case). The thing I love is earning points for gift cards. That has helped me get groceries for free and things from Amazon. Overall, I'd use them again if I needed the money. 

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Simple Process!
Ashieley Borrower

I recieved a loan the first time for $1,000 with an low-average credit score (low 600). Almost two years later, i applied for another loan and was approved for $4,000. My credit has also gone up about 60 points within this time frame. The application process was pretty qucik and so was the direct deposit of funds into my account. I would definitely recommend them!

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Personal Loan
dma141 Borrower

The process was quick and easy and the staff was friendly and helpful.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.