OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.3 out of 5 stars
530 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2019
Predatory Loan so Pay off Fast
NobodysFool99 Borrower

This loan is Predatory. If you don't plan on paying it off in 6 or less months, don't get it. If you are falling into some lump sum within that time, then go for it. I did.

It was so funny. As soon as I went online and paid the entire balance off, a representative called me immediately, like if it was any of her business, and asked me how did I pay it off. Lol. I told her I ran an escort service. You should have heard the silence! Point is, pay of early or pay a couple hundred more than the amount owed each month to get that balance down. Don't pay the minimum. That's what they are banking on. Be smart....like me!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 01, 2019
The Interest is a Killer
Ghostofalegend Borrower

If they explained the interest rate propely and the repayment Math upfront they would lose alot of business. Their interest rate is a daily interest rate so if you took a loan of 10,000. at a interest of 25% and lets say your monthly payment is to be $250. When you make your monthly payment $212 goes towards your interest and $38 goes towards your balance. The only way to get out of your loans fast with this company is to never miss a payment and always pay more than your standard monthly payments. The loan math is [Loan Amount] (APR%/365)X{days between payments} = interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 09, 2020
Don't blame them it's our faults
jmvette23 Borrower

1) Basically our faults to begin with. If we didn't have bad credit we wouldn't be here. We get what we deserve and if we applied we can't blame them we applied and to their terms. 2) They're a business out to make money. Yeah very high interest but they have to secure large amounts of money they dish out to us whom have need and it's risky for both but it takes two to tangle. I need a loan but willing to struggle until I get my points up over 700 currently at 647 and working on it. Just know you applied and they do what they do atop blaming them take responsibility it's our faults. Good luck to you all work on your credit. 🙏😊

more ...
Aug 03, 2020
Horrible horrible. Did I say horrible?
kurt3226 Borrower

Folks, do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY from this company. I mean, where do I begin? First and obvious the interest rate. It is ridiculous how much they charge in interest fees alone! Seriously, my credit score was not great, but not bad either 650 and they still charged me 33% interest. A joke!! Second, the customer service sucks. You can't get a straight answer when you ask about options. I had trouble making a payment on time for 1 month, and I asked for a deferment. One rep said, call us when it's closer to your payment due date and we can help you. I called 5 days before my due date and the lady who answered said I could not defer a payment. I explained another rep said I could. She basically said that he lied. Seriously?? You ask for a payoff amount, and they blowup your email and phone asking if you need more money...what?? I asked for the payoff amount not more money. Smh. I had to endure these guys for 1 year until I qualified for a loan through my credit union. Thank god. But folks, seriously stay away. Even if you are desperate. STAY. AWAY. 

more ...
Aug 02, 2020
Not a chance!

I considered this loan, because it would only be for the short term. However, after reading these comments (and some of the obviously cheesy attempts to counter with positive comments), I would never! Not even when I know I could pay it back in less than 4 months!

more ...
Aug 01, 2020
This was a loan to help me NOT HURT ME

Never borrow money from a loan shark, you will never get it paid, they told me after I made 14 payments and th we pandemic hit that I will never get this paid out. She also laugh at me when I told her I was no longer working, even though my job titl we is still a General Manager, she said well No, remember you don't have a job. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF EXCEPT FOR ONE SHE WAS ACTUALLY CONCERNED 😟. PROFESSIONAL THEIVES. HOW DARE THEM PUT ME DONT WHEN I HAVE WORKED AND PAID MY ALL MY LIFE, IM 56 AND CANT FIND A JOB AND THIS IS HOW THEY TREAT YOU. YOU CAN HAVE MY 2011 NISSAN, I WILL NEVER BORROW AGAIN, YOU DID NOT DISCLOSE THE INTEREST RATE. I NEED TO FILE A LAW SUIT FOR THE TILA ACT.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 04, 2020

Wow, that person will have nothing good come to them! That’s just evil how they treat people. Thanks, I will NEVER apply here

 
Jul 31, 2020
Great Service !!

Needed a loan to pull me out of a pinch. I had an approved loan very quickley. THANK YOU Springfield, Ohio office !!

more ...
Jul 30, 2020
Wish I Would Never Have Gotten This Loan
kalexander9 Borrower

I am currently paying this loan down. I applied because I needed a vehicle. It hasn't been a full year yet but, I am paying $7,500 back on a $2,500 loan. No way this should even be legal. If I had realized I would be paying back almost triple what I borrowed, I would have just went without a car and worked my way into buying one. I don't advise anyone to do this even if you are in dire need.

more ...
Jul 29, 2020
Grateful
BT83PVille Borrower

With a decent credit score and the title to your vehicle, you can secure a loan.

more ...
Jul 29, 2020
Run for nearest exit.... Scam
skydivs Borrower

This company is nothing more than a loan shark. I have a loan with them with extremely high interest rate. Horrible customer service. Wish I would have read the fine print. Horrible company. Would not recommend to an enemy!!!!

more ...
Jul 23, 2020
Arringtonjl Borrower

Process was fast and easy.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 01, 2020

Fast all right , So fast they rip you off and you don't even know it

 
Jul 21, 2020
stay away
amine28 Borrower

interest rate is so high i got 4000 loan for 48 months i end up paying 7900 after interest they use compound interest but they dont tell you do yourself a favor and run away.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.