OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
2305 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 07, 2017
Good for debt consolidation
Brittandlewis Borrower

I am very happy I got the loan, it helped me pay off 3 high balances I had on cards. However be aware when you are actually in office and going through the loan terms etc. They added on roadside assistance and health insurance without making it known that I am getting charged for this. I had them remove it as I already have both. I am getting this loan to help me out with my debt, not add more to it. So be aware and make sure they aren't charging you for something that you don't want. Other than that I so far have had a good experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 10, 2017
Criminal
Cat746 Borrower

Make this your last resort and pay it off as quickly as possible. Really...THIS SHOULD BE YOUR LAST RESORT. I borrowed $3,000 in October and requested a pay-off in January...it was $4,387. How is this possible??? They sold me insurance that I cancelled, they refunded the entire cost of the insurance but they still added the cost insurance coverage to the loan. Watch this...the cost of insurance is amoritzed over the life of the loan but if you cancel they send you the entire amount...trickery. I asked for written documentation of this practice, there is none and they are not willing to provide any.  Please, use this as your LAST resort and decline ALL insurance coverage. This should really be illegal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 25, 2017
Quick and Easy
GoDiddy32 Borrower

My family was hit with a terrible loss and I  had less then a week to come up with funeral cost. The staff at One Main was helpful and courteous. I was approved the same day and walked out with the check in hand. 

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Hassle-free, informative
mildawg667 Borrower

The application process was easy-or rather the same as any other loan application process would be.  When approved, I was given so many options to help my situation, and given information above and beyond what I had expected from a company.  Their website has so much detailed information about credit:  How it works, what to do to improve it, and so much more.  Also, each time I've had to call the branch for a question or whatever it was, I've always gotten the best customer service from each and every one of them.  I feel they go above the standard, and this company is wonderful!

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Helped when needed
Swiftbeatz Borrower

Both reps were extremely helpful and upfront. Offered other additional services, but wasn't pressured into obtaining them. 

Overall pretty decent.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Fast and Easy
banshee0005 Borrower

The people are great. They get you in and out!!  Fast and friendly!!!

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
LadeeDream Borrower

Process was super easy. CSRs were awesome. A word of advice to borrowers, especially those complaining, dont borrow more than you can afford.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Jul 23, 2017

Take forever to get back with you and with a 690 fico was still turned down what a waste of a pull on my credit.

 
Jul 22, 2017
Desperate for money then yea
Anthony11b Borrower

The rates are high so dont get greedy if you do not need it don't take it

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
This loan was approved in minutes.
cdenny57 Borrower

The interest rate is a very high rate.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 22, 2017

How high?

 
Jul 21, 2017
personal
Carey65 Borrower

Very easy to apply, and very quick to get my loan.. Very friendly and personable. I would recommend One Main to my friends.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.