Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

OneMain Financial Personal Loans

4.2 out of 5 stars
1656 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
High interest, but works for what it is.
Bodhistarr Borrower

I got a 4 year plan for a loan of $6400. The interest is front loaded and nearly the same as what I borrowed, making the loan close to 12k. They did need a car title. It is what it is. But my credit has gone up swiftly, and the monthly payments are more affordable than the credit cards I consolidated were. If you pay faster, the interest is lower. I didn't have other options, so, I can't complain. I may not entirely like the deal, but at least they offered one that worked.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 10, 2017
Criminal
Cat746 Borrower

Make this your last resort and pay it off as quickly as possible. Really...THIS SHOULD BE YOUR LAST RESORT. I borrowed $3,000 in October and requested a pay-off in January...it was $4,387. How is this possible??? They sold me insurance that I cancelled, they refunded the entire cost of the insurance but they still added the cost insurance coverage to the loan. Watch this...the cost of insurance is amoritzed over the life of the loan but if you cancel they send you the entire amount...trickery. I asked for written documentation of this practice, there is none and they are not willing to provide any.  Please, use this as your LAST resort and decline ALL insurance coverage. This should really be illegal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 14, 2017
Easy process, high interest rates.
reginapaugh Borrower

Process was easy, approved instantly and got the money the same day. Staff was nice and knowledgeable. Interest rates were high. Good option for someone trying to rebuild their credit and cannot get approved for a traditional loan.

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
OneMain & Veronica are terrific! A+
geowel1 Borrower

Great & very professional experience. Veronica Rosales was terrific. Highly recommended.  Five stars all the way. 

George W.

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
Very helpful when you need money
amykalish70 Borrower

The application process is easy. The staff in my local office is awesome. They are very professional and helpful if you fall behind.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 12, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Jan 11, 2017
Disappointed in process
linzlaz Borrower

I don't think I'm any different than anyone else that applies for a loan. They need one. And like others as I rebuild my credit attaining a traditional loan is not an option. I applied for a loan and was approved. The calls kept coming from them and leaving a message is what they always did. Calling them back is near impossible and leaving a message is a joke. The way they determine your loan is net income and they use such a algorithm that you'll never figure it out. Like other reviews they immediately sell you on a secured loan using your car title. I consider these guys predatory lenders and based on my experience I will report their lending practices. 

more ...
Jan 11, 2017
Just okay
mandy1005 Borrower

They can be overpriced on the interest so be careful when using them. They do however make the process very quick and easy

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Rip off: Buyer BE WARE
Anonymous Borrower

The interest rates are extremely high. Loan never seems to get paid off. They prey on the disadvantage. 

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Criminal
Cat746 Borrower

Make this your last resort and pay it off as quickly as possible. Really...THIS SHOULD BE YOUR LAST RESORT. I borrowed $3,000 in October and requested a pay-off in January...it was $4,387. How is this possible??? They sold me insurance that I cancelled, they refunded the entire cost of the insurance but they still added the cost insurance coverage to the loan. Watch this...the cost of insurance is amoritzed over the life of the loan but if you cancel they send you the entire amount...trickery. I asked for written documentation of this practice, there is none and they are not willing to provide any.  Please, use this as your LAST resort and decline ALL insurance coverage. This should really be illegal.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Easy!

Everything about this is easy, i applied and was approved all in the same day. I have refinanced twice, and have never had a problem with them! Highly recommend!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 10, 2017

Did you have good or bad credit?

 
Jan 09, 2017
Good
mary040610 Borrower

One Main has always been the company I chose because they are understanding my needs and there when life happens!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.