Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

OneMain Financial Personal Loans

4.2 out of 5 stars
1739 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
High interest, but works for what it is.
Bodhistarr Borrower

I got a 4 year plan for a loan of $6400. The interest is front loaded and nearly the same as what I borrowed, making the loan close to 12k. They did need a car title. It is what it is. But my credit has gone up swiftly, and the monthly payments are more affordable than the credit cards I consolidated were. If you pay faster, the interest is lower. I didn't have other options, so, I can't complain. I may not entirely like the deal, but at least they offered one that worked.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 10, 2017
Criminal
Cat746 Borrower

Make this your last resort and pay it off as quickly as possible. Really...THIS SHOULD BE YOUR LAST RESORT. I borrowed $3,000 in October and requested a pay-off in January...it was $4,387. How is this possible??? They sold me insurance that I cancelled, they refunded the entire cost of the insurance but they still added the cost insurance coverage to the loan. Watch this...the cost of insurance is amoritzed over the life of the loan but if you cancel they send you the entire amount...trickery. I asked for written documentation of this practice, there is none and they are not willing to provide any.  Please, use this as your LAST resort and decline ALL insurance coverage. This should really be illegal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 22, 2017
Personal loan to help consolidate debt.
stretchyman Borrower

OneMain worked with me to get a personal loan that I desperately needed. They were friendly, patient, and did their best to get me as much help as they could. I highly recommend them. 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Fast cash
Anonymous Borrower

Easy money when you're in a pinch but high interest.. but I'm good with it.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Great customer service
Anonymous Borrower

This is a great company with no pressure to increase costs with things like added insurance. 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Quick easy process. People are great.
rocketpilot Borrower

The interest is high but you can add alittle money easch month to your payment and reduce that significantly, just like any other loan. I am glad to pay the higher interest rate for the quick freindly service and approval. Big difference from doing buisness with a traditional bank.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Consolidation
Anonymous Borrower

Great to pay off all your bills and get one payment each month.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Fast and Profesional
Anonymous Borrower

They work really hard to get you a loan. The service is fast, ppl are friendly and helpful and they r very profesional!

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Easy-Fast Approval
KJP317 Borrower

I applied and was denied - added my BF as a cosigner and was approved. They didnt ask for a million documents to prove yourself, just the basics - ID, and a paystub.. and verbally gave my address history, and work history. The interest rate is at 26%, but I plan to pay it off quickly, (payment is $148/monthly for 40 months). My loan was deposited the next morning after I signed my papers... they do offer alot of insurances (Auto-Life-disability) for extra but I declined all...due to reading other people's reviews on not taking them. The whole process was simple, and I would definitely reccomend them to someone else with not so hot credit seeking a Fast Loan!  

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Quick and Easy!!
Anonymous Borrower

It was easy to apply online. Results know right away. Once approved, within a day, I was in the office signing docs and picking up my check. The only part I didn't like was all the paperwork you have to fill out but it is nothing unexpected.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Expensive
Anonymous Borrower

It's been a trap. One consolidation loan after another without learning lesson. Great company to deal with though, no issues.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.