OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars
845 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2019
Predatory Loan so Pay off Fast
NobodysFool99 Borrower

This loan is Predatory. If you don't plan on paying it off in 6 or less months, don't get it. If you are falling into some lump sum within that time, then go for it. I did.

It was so funny. As soon as I went online and paid the entire balance off, a representative called me immediately, like if it was any of her business, and asked me how did I pay it off. Lol. I told her I ran an escort service. You should have heard the silence! Point is, pay of early or pay a couple hundred more than the amount owed each month to get that balance down. Don't pay the minimum. That's what they are banking on. Be smart....like me!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 01, 2019
The Interest is a Killer
Ghostofalegend Borrower

If they explained the interest rate propely and the repayment Math upfront they would lose alot of business. Their interest rate is a daily interest rate so if you took a loan of 10,000. at a interest of 25% and lets say your monthly payment is to be $250. When you make your monthly payment $212 goes towards your interest and $38 goes towards your balance. The only way to get out of your loans fast with this company is to never miss a payment and always pay more than your standard monthly payments. The loan math is [Loan Amount] (APR%/365)X{days between payments} = interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 17, 2020
High Interest as well as origin fee
Zenbender Borrower

I suspect few people will be able to use a loan like this and come out ahead. Few situations will be benefit from a loan like this, but in cases like mine it was useful. Easy process, and if you have an explicit purpose with a quick secured exit plan I would recommend this company.

more ...
Jan 16, 2020
Zztophat76 Borrower

Don't use this company no matter what if it's a secured loan they will lie do you get you nothing what you need tell your payments are 200 and in six months you're over $800 and they keep adding fees no matter how much or how far ahead you get your  loan never decreases so they can take the car from you without issue 

more ...
Jan 14, 2020
AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE!!!!!
BW1979 Borrower

MY REP WAS AMAZING...FRIENDLY, PROFESSIONAL, AND HAD IT NOT BEEN FOR HER, I MOST LIKELY WOULD HAVE NOT DONE MY LOAN....SHE IS WHAT MADE THE DIFFERENCE FOR ME!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 15, 2020

Who paid you to say that? Unless you work for the company..

 
Jan 14, 2020
Very simple and easy.
johnnychas Borrower

From submission of info for credit check until answet was literally minutes.

more ...
Jan 14, 2020
Crooks being crooks

Rip off ,,Interest rates should be illegal but banks own the world sssoooo screw them

more ...
Jan 08, 2020
Dear lord pay it off QUICK

Got approved but it took a LOT to get there. Surprised they didn't ask for my daughter and son's DNA and hair samples as part of the process. They will dig through your bank account and request proof for everything. Interest was ROBBERY. I got the loan initially to build credit but I ended up paying it off QUICK because of the 100% interest. Be careful with your money. OneMain should be a LAST RESORT. But honestly next time, I would rather borrow from the MOB.

more ...
Jan 10, 2020

If you don't mind me asking, what was your credit score when they approved you? CK has suggested them to me with good approval odds, and I would love to use this as a debt consolidation loan to pay off some other things quickly. But I don't want the hit to my score if I'm not going to be approved.

 
Jan 10, 2020

Right !

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.