OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
2148 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 07, 2017
Good for debt consolidation
Brittandlewis Borrower

I am very happy I got the loan, it helped me pay off 3 high balances I had on cards. However be aware when you are actually in office and going through the loan terms etc. They added on roadside assistance and health insurance without making it known that I am getting charged for this. I had them remove it as I already have both. I am getting this loan to help me out with my debt, not add more to it. So be aware and make sure they aren't charging you for something that you don't want. Other than that I so far have had a good experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 10, 2017
Criminal
Cat746 Borrower

Make this your last resort and pay it off as quickly as possible. Really...THIS SHOULD BE YOUR LAST RESORT. I borrowed $3,000 in October and requested a pay-off in January...it was $4,387. How is this possible??? They sold me insurance that I cancelled, they refunded the entire cost of the insurance but they still added the cost insurance coverage to the loan. Watch this...the cost of insurance is amoritzed over the life of the loan but if you cancel they send you the entire amount...trickery. I asked for written documentation of this practice, there is none and they are not willing to provide any.  Please, use this as your LAST resort and decline ALL insurance coverage. This should really be illegal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 19, 2017
Easy, Fast, Great Service
tashada Borrower

They are by far the most professional and caring people to do business with.  I have had done business with them on several occasions and would recommend them to anyone.  They go above and beyond!

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Simple
Anonymous Borrower

Quick approval

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Great place too do bussiness with!!!
Anonymous Borrower

Very easy going.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
You think your paying off debt
outlawrosie Borrower

but they report to your credit report the principal plus future interest.  I borrowed $5000, but show I owe $9000.  I can't get a loan to pay off because this overstates my debt ratio.  This should be illegal.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
The easiest loan we ever received
Anonymous Borrower

one of the best ways to be able to keep some of your income by lowering total money going out

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
loan was easy to get when i wanted help.
Anonymous Borrower

interest is high, but you can pay off any time you want to

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Financial rape.
Concerned4u Borrower

They are jyst trying to get over on you any chance they get. They offered me a "promotional" interest rate to get me to sign. What they forgot to tell me was it was only good for one month before the rate changed to the max it could go. DO NOT GO HERE!!!! RUNNN!!!

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Financial rape.
Anonymous Borrower

They are jyst trying to get over on you any chance they get. They offered me a "promotional" interest rate to get me to sign. What they forgot to tell me was it was only good for one month before the rate changed to the max it could go. DO NOT GO HERE!!!! RUNNN!!!

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

quick friendly service

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.