Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LendUp Personal Loans

3.7 out of 5 stars
180 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 06, 2016
Update after over a year using LendUp
Anonymous Borrower

I'm going to start out by saying I've literally NEVER needed these loans. I've solely taken them out for over a year to work my way up the LendUp "ladder" so to speak. I started out taking monthly $250 loans, and ALWAYS repaid them on time. Each time you repay your loan, you get more points and work your way up to lesser rates & longer terms of repayment. I can't complain whatsoever. The whole reason I wanted to reach the Platinum level that I have is for the simple fact that fast cash in the event of an emergency is no longer easily available NOR cheap these days. If I ever find myself in a financial bind.. Whether it be myself or for someone else... I now have $1,250.00 of available cash credit that is deposited straight into my account the following business day. I use it all the time and have never had any issues in either received my deposited loans into my account nor in repayment. I've even contacted customer service a couple of times for simple questions, and each time I've gotten to speak to a rep. I will admit the wait times are long, but it could have been that the site was undergoing technical difficulties that day. I like that it takes me less than one minute to agree to have the loan deposited into my account the following business day.. There really is no ongoing process after you've made an account and have successfully confirmed your bank information. I don't have to get an expensive and risky title loan, or really deal with anyone in the event I need cash. Recently, I actually needed the clutch replaced on one of our cars, and we like to buy clutch kits from an independent local manufacturer that only accepts cash. As soon as we noted the clutch was a problem on my lunch hour one day, I signed into my LendUp account and in less than 2 minutes had agreed to the terms of receiving $700 the following day. Next morning... There it was. We had our clutch, and had the option to repay our loan in installments of $130.00 per month. No penalties if you repay early, and if anything, you are charged a lesser rate than for your initial term! Recently, I received an email from them that I was overcharged interest on a loan I had paid back early, and they informed me they'd be crediting my account $36.00, AND THEY DID! It was in the account the following day. What I will also admit to is that since reaching platinum level, I've had the option of LendUp reporting my repayments to the credit bureaus, which I declined (yes, it's an option you can select or decline!). I opted not to because I've read it's reported as a credit card rather than an installment loan... So it's like being approved for a $1,000 credit card and immediately maxing it out prior to receiving it, and repaying it slowly. HIGH utilization on top of hard inquiries. Don't do LendUp to build credit... More so for fast available emergency cash that you are SURE you'll be able to afford to repay. Just my 2 cents!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 18, 2016
Not the best way to build credit
capturedinprint Borrower

I guess I should have read the fine print, but I took out two loans and repaid very quickly, only to find out that you have to do this MANY more times before it shows up on your credit report. Not a good way to rebuild credit in the loan category! I wish Credit Karma would recommend better alternatives.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 11, 2017
1st loan was good, but 2nd, was bad
Anonymous Borrower

I had 490 at first loan,pay back earlier, now I'm trying to get a new loan for $500 but they will give me $120, that's backward!

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
tboy1883 Borrower

LendUP has been FANTASTIC!  I recommend them to ANYBODY

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Perfect timing
JonazMom Borrower

I applied and was worried my credit would hinder their decision. They approved me and it's been over a year, I take loans out when needed. Everything you borrow has an interest rate, but thankfully theirs is reasonable. It's a business, and they run it accordingly.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Unacceptable
Anonymous Borrower

My account was also double debited. They refunded the double debit but have yet to refund me a charge incurred. Won't answer back my emails either. Beware.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 10, 2017

We sincerely apologize for this technical issue that resulted last month. We can assure you we are working toward a solution and ensure this won't happen again. We appreciate your patience. If you would like to speak with someone directly regarding this matter please feel free to call us at 855-252-6387.

 
Jan 25, 2017
Had issues
sharla345 Borrower

I had several loans that were very convenient and the process very simple however my most recent experience has not been good at all. They double debited my account for the loan payoff and then never changed the loan dashboard from   processing to paid making getting another loan impossible. Forget customer service because you only get generic email replies to any issues you have and no help. Beware. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 27, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We had a technical issue this week which caused the experience you described. We value your loyalty as a LendUp customer and sincerely apologize for the situation. We are working hard to resolve the issue and ensure it won't happen again. We greatly appreciate your patience.

 
Jan 25, 2017
Good in the beginning
Anonymous Borrower

I had several loans and all went well until the last one 1/2017 when they drafted my account twice for the payoff. They did refund the money later but when I tried to apply for another loan as they promise you can as soon as your last payment clears the bank I have been unable to do so because the dashboard is still saying the funds need to clear(they did days ago and this is verified with them and my bank) so I can't get another loan and they can't seem to fix the seemingly simple problem. Beware. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 27, 2017

Thank you for being a loyal LendUp customer; we appreciate the feedback. We sincerely apologize for the technical issue that resulted in the experience you described. We are working hard to resolve the issue and ensure it won't happen again. We greatly appreciate your patience.

 
Jan 25, 2017
Good in the beginning
Anonymous Borrower

I had several loans and all went well until the last one 1/2017 when they drafted my account twice for the payoff. They did refund the money later but when I tried to apply for another loan as they promise you can as soon as your last payment clears the bank I have been unable to do so because the dashboard is still saying the funds need to clear(they did days ago and this is verified with them and my bank) so I can't get another loan and they can't seem to fix the seemingly simple problem. Beware. 

more ...
Jan 22, 2017
Easy loans, bad customer service.
Anonymous Borrower

It is really easy to get a loan, as long as you have a verifiable bank account, residence, and income that will cover the amount of the loan each payday.  It's impossible to walk into a storefront, because they don't have one. Their main address is a UPS store! If you ask a question via e-mail, you have to PROVE you are who you say you are, by providing your SSN! The same goes for getting a call back. That's ridiculous, and a major customer service fail. It also takes over a week, for them to process your loan re-payment through automatic deduction from your checking account.  So, make sure you don't need another loan right away. They used to say they could add money to your debit card in as little as 15 minutes. That was only for a specific kinds of debit cards (like pre-paid Visa cards), and not the traditional card with chips. They also don't tell you how much the fee is, if you want to pay your loan off with your debit card!   Considering how rude, and invasive payday lenders like Check Center in Oakland are, LendUP is still the better option. Even with it's flaws.  Seriously, CheckCenter calls your bank every time, and they require  the person at your bank tell them over the phone how much your last 3 paychecks were! How lame is that? All the people that gave them such good reviews on YELP,  must work for them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 23, 2017

We're sorry you're frustrated, but it does sound like we could clarify some points for you. As we are an online, direct lender we do not have any brick-and-mortar locations. Further, we take customer security extremely seriously and do require the person we are speaking with to verify their identity. Give us a call at 855-253-6387 and we'd be happy to further discuss the other points you mentioned.

 
Jan 03, 2017
Installment loan
MsLGordon Borrower

As you move up their ladder they offer you higher lines with better terms. Never had a problem with the online process is so easy.

more ...
Dec 31, 2016
I like it but...
Kimicalz Borrower

Lendup is a great company. I use it whenever I really need a loan. My only issue is that when I click on "Check Payment Status", I enter my bank info and everything goes through but then I get an error message saying "An error has occurred. Check back later". This happens each time I try to clear my payment early. It's annoying. I hope they can fix this soon. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 10, 2017

If you're experiencing issues with LendUp, we'd love to help. If you haven't already, please send us a secure message by logging in to LendUp and using the Contact Us form. Thanks.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.