Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

LendUp Personal Loans

3.8 out of 5 stars
209 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 06, 2016
Update after over a year using LendUp
Anonymous Borrower

I'm going to start out by saying I've literally NEVER needed these loans. I've solely taken them out for over a year to work my way up the LendUp "ladder" so to speak. I started out taking monthly $250 loans, and ALWAYS repaid them on time. Each time you repay your loan, you get more points and work your way up to lesser rates & longer terms of repayment. I can't complain whatsoever. The whole reason I wanted to reach the Platinum level that I have is for the simple fact that fast cash in the event of an emergency is no longer easily available NOR cheap these days. If I ever find myself in a financial bind.. Whether it be myself or for someone else... I now have $1,250.00 of available cash credit that is deposited straight into my account the following business day. I use it all the time and have never had any issues in either received my deposited loans into my account nor in repayment. I've even contacted customer service a couple of times for simple questions, and each time I've gotten to speak to a rep. I will admit the wait times are long, but it could have been that the site was undergoing technical difficulties that day. I like that it takes me less than one minute to agree to have the loan deposited into my account the following business day.. There really is no ongoing process after you've made an account and have successfully confirmed your bank information. I don't have to get an expensive and risky title loan, or really deal with anyone in the event I need cash. Recently, I actually needed the clutch replaced on one of our cars, and we like to buy clutch kits from an independent local manufacturer that only accepts cash. As soon as we noted the clutch was a problem on my lunch hour one day, I signed into my LendUp account and in less than 2 minutes had agreed to the terms of receiving $700 the following day. Next morning... There it was. We had our clutch, and had the option to repay our loan in installments of $130.00 per month. No penalties if you repay early, and if anything, you are charged a lesser rate than for your initial term! Recently, I received an email from them that I was overcharged interest on a loan I had paid back early, and they informed me they'd be crediting my account $36.00, AND THEY DID! It was in the account the following day. What I will also admit to is that since reaching platinum level, I've had the option of LendUp reporting my repayments to the credit bureaus, which I declined (yes, it's an option you can select or decline!). I opted not to because I've read it's reported as a credit card rather than an installment loan... So it's like being approved for a $1,000 credit card and immediately maxing it out prior to receiving it, and repaying it slowly. HIGH utilization on top of hard inquiries. Don't do LendUp to build credit... More so for fast available emergency cash that you are SURE you'll be able to afford to repay. Just my 2 cents!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 18, 2016
Not the best way to build credit
capturedinprint Borrower

I guess I should have read the fine print, but I took out two loans and repaid very quickly, only to find out that you have to do this MANY more times before it shows up on your credit report. Not a good way to rebuild credit in the loan category! I wish Credit Karma would recommend better alternatives.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 28, 2016
Worked for me
ashleyf05 Borrower

I don't know why it's so hard for people to do some research before just applying for something, and then saying it's a rip-off. Lend up has been great for me.  I take out 350 and I pay back 375. At Pawn America I take out 330 and pay 375. Trust me Lend up is cheaper. Once you get to a certain status you have the option of reporting to your credit.  I did and my score went up.  It's on there every month as paid. I would recommend Lend up to anyone that needs a small loan and can't get any help from the big banks.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016

Hi Ashely

 
Nov 29, 2016

When I applied for a loan for $350 its says total payment back will be $1000? Do you know why this happened?

 
Nov 17, 2016
Great
Anonymous Borrower

The process is quick and easy and customer service is great. Referred by a coworker and I am glad she told me about them. Good for when you are in a crunch.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Couldnt get a loan
falcon21k Borrower

have a better computer or way to give these jackass people proof of your work. i tried a couple months. steady job, 4 years and over 30k and cant get a loan for a week. screw lendup.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 14, 2016

also how am I a borrower if I never got a loan cause you suck!

 
Nov 12, 2016
Wonderful
Barrett775 Borrower

I have used this service 2 times so far. Both times it has been quick and easy. They also have educational videos for you to watch. I suggest signing up for the educational videos alone.

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Great!
Anonymous Borrower

Great for when you don't have perfect credit but still want low interest and plenty of time to pay off!

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
There when you need them!!!!

I have been dealing with lend up for about a year. They provide great service for people like myself who have less than perfect credit! I have quickly moved up to a prime loan which is automatically reported to the big 3 CBs. If you make your payments on time and use your debit card if you need to you can take out another loan the same day! The rates are the best thing going as far as I'm concerned! You can't beat it! If your going to be a couple days late with your payment call and make arrangements. I Love Lend Up. They provide the best service and rates hands down!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
They are semi-inconsistent.
Anonymous Borrower

The loans are fine but the fact that you need a higher status to get credit reporting that isn't done by all states is saddening. If you're looking to get a loan just to improve credit history, this wouldn't be the place to outright start as their beginning loans don't offer that until platnum or gold if I remember correctly. Now there was a loan I missed one time and mind you it was paid off but then they try to deny future loans and then afterwards when you think it gets resolved and pay off the loan after the issue was resolved, they bring it up again. Yeah not using it again. It was okay but the downsides for states not all having the option of credit reporting plus the inconsistancy really deter me from continuing this lender. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Great for loans bad for customer service
Reznite1 Borrower

I have been with lend up for over a year and I haven't had a problem borrowing from them nor have they had a problem getting their payment from me. I recently filed for Chapter 7 bankruptcy and excluded lend up from my bankruptcy. They immediately suspended my account and I was paying my current loan back. I have tried to get a hold of them for over 2 months via email or phone call trying to get a status update on my account. They have yet to respond to either one. Lend up is great once you get approved and start paying your loans on time. When it comes to customer service at least for me it's impossible to get a hold of someone. Especially since we've been doing business so smoothly for over a year. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
pretty darn good
Anonymous Borrower

CAme right on on time when no one else woujld approve me,  I even referred several friends adn family members who were approved, now reports to my credit,  competive rates for people with bad credit like myself.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
No problems at all.
Anonymous Borrower

Not bad at all.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.