LendUp Personal Loans

3.7 out of 5 stars
168 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 06, 2016
Update after over a year using LendUp
Anonymous Borrower

I'm going to start out by saying I've literally NEVER needed these loans. I've solely taken them out for over a year to work my way up the LendUp "ladder" so to speak. I started out taking monthly $250 loans, and ALWAYS repaid them on time. Each time you repay your loan, you get more points and work your way up to lesser rates & longer terms of repayment. I can't complain whatsoever. The whole reason I wanted to reach the Platinum level that I have is for the simple fact that fast cash in the event of an emergency is no longer easily available NOR cheap these days. If I ever find myself in a financial bind.. Whether it be myself or for someone else... I now have $1,250.00 of available cash credit that is deposited straight into my account the following business day. I use it all the time and have never had any issues in either received my deposited loans into my account nor in repayment. I've even contacted customer service a couple of times for simple questions, and each time I've gotten to speak to a rep. I will admit the wait times are long, but it could have been that the site was undergoing technical difficulties that day. I like that it takes me less than one minute to agree to have the loan deposited into my account the following business day.. There really is no ongoing process after you've made an account and have successfully confirmed your bank information. I don't have to get an expensive and risky title loan, or really deal with anyone in the event I need cash. Recently, I actually needed the clutch replaced on one of our cars, and we like to buy clutch kits from an independent local manufacturer that only accepts cash. As soon as we noted the clutch was a problem on my lunch hour one day, I signed into my LendUp account and in less than 2 minutes had agreed to the terms of receiving $700 the following day. Next morning... There it was. We had our clutch, and had the option to repay our loan in installments of $130.00 per month. No penalties if you repay early, and if anything, you are charged a lesser rate than for your initial term! Recently, I received an email from them that I was overcharged interest on a loan I had paid back early, and they informed me they'd be crediting my account $36.00, AND THEY DID! It was in the account the following day. What I will also admit to is that since reaching platinum level, I've had the option of LendUp reporting my repayments to the credit bureaus, which I declined (yes, it's an option you can select or decline!). I opted not to because I've read it's reported as a credit card rather than an installment loan... So it's like being approved for a $1,000 credit card and immediately maxing it out prior to receiving it, and repaying it slowly. HIGH utilization on top of hard inquiries. Don't do LendUp to build credit... More so for fast available emergency cash that you are SURE you'll be able to afford to repay. Just my 2 cents!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 23, 2016
Not worth it
artamuse4444444 Borrower

I borrowed and paid for some months and climbed the ladder where i got way past $1000. in total debt paid off but they have yet to report my proactive positive payments. I will not be seeking to continue doing business with them. I just felt misled and misdirected by CreditKarma as well for pointing me in their direction. Truth be told I am learning that if I can make LendUp payments than I can make a schedule to pay off the bad marks in my credit report. Lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 18, 2017
Very poor option...try everyother option
Anonymous Borrower

I innocently applied for a 900 loan. My payments are $530 a month for 9.5 months. 30% interest.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
LENDUP'S LOAN PROCESS SUCKS!
tweemz Borrower

I have been a Prime Lendup customer for over two years and have reached the top level of credit.  The problem is their dysfunctional site and tech team that can't seem to fix the application process.  It took five years for them to finally get a call in number where an actual live person answers the phone, but today I am livid.  I paid off my $1,000 loan so I could borrow again and all I could get was Application Error over and over.  Had I known the system has not been working for over two weeks and a loan can't be completed, I would have never paid it off, now I am without enough funds in my account to pay off a couple of cards.  I wanted to get an extra $400 to pay off something.  The supervisor kept giving me double-talk and telling me it's not my fault.  Of course it isn't my fault.   Lendup has an obligation to alert its customers of a malfunctioning site instead of sending a link stating the customer is paid in full and can apply for a new loan.  This is really Unconscionably BAD SERVICE AND THERE IS NO EXCUSE BECAUSE IT CONTINUALLY HAPPENS....I HOPE YOU SEE THIS SASHA ORLOFF!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 10, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for being a valued customer. We have identified a technical issue and are working diligently resolve it as soon as possible. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

 
Mar 07, 2017
Easy approval
Anonymous Borrower

Easy way to get money quick

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
1st loan was good, but 2nd, was bad
Anonymous Borrower

I had 490 at first loan,pay back earlier, now I'm trying to get a new loan for $500 but they will give me $120, that's backward!

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
tboy1883 Borrower

LendUP has been FANTASTIC!  I recommend them to ANYBODY

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Perfect timing
JonazMom Borrower

I applied and was worried my credit would hinder their decision. They approved me and it's been over a year, I take loans out when needed. Everything you borrow has an interest rate, but thankfully theirs is reasonable. It's a business, and they run it accordingly.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Unacceptable
Anonymous Borrower

My account was also double debited. They refunded the double debit but have yet to refund me a charge incurred. Won't answer back my emails either. Beware.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 10, 2017

We sincerely apologize for this technical issue that resulted last month. We can assure you we are working toward a solution and ensure this won't happen again. We appreciate your patience. If you would like to speak with someone directly regarding this matter please feel free to call us at 855-252-6387.

 
Jan 25, 2017
Had issues
sharla345 Borrower

I had several loans that were very convenient and the process very simple however my most recent experience has not been good at all. They double debited my account for the loan payoff and then never changed the loan dashboard from   processing to paid making getting another loan impossible. Forget customer service because you only get generic email replies to any issues you have and no help. Beware. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 27, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We had a technical issue this week which caused the experience you described. We value your loyalty as a LendUp customer and sincerely apologize for the situation. We are working hard to resolve the issue and ensure it won't happen again. We greatly appreciate your patience.

 
Jan 25, 2017
Good in the beginning
Anonymous Borrower

I had several loans and all went well until the last one 1/2017 when they drafted my account twice for the payoff. They did refund the money later but when I tried to apply for another loan as they promise you can as soon as your last payment clears the bank I have been unable to do so because the dashboard is still saying the funds need to clear(they did days ago and this is verified with them and my bank) so I can't get another loan and they can't seem to fix the seemingly simple problem. Beware. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 27, 2017

Thank you for being a loyal LendUp customer; we appreciate the feedback. We sincerely apologize for the technical issue that resulted in the experience you described. We are working hard to resolve the issue and ensure it won't happen again. We greatly appreciate your patience.

 
Jan 25, 2017
Good in the beginning
Anonymous Borrower

I had several loans and all went well until the last one 1/2017 when they drafted my account twice for the payoff. They did refund the money later but when I tried to apply for another loan as they promise you can as soon as your last payment clears the bank I have been unable to do so because the dashboard is still saying the funds need to clear(they did days ago and this is verified with them and my bank) so I can't get another loan and they can't seem to fix the seemingly simple problem. Beware. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.