LendUp Personal Loans Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
108 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 06, 2016
Update after over a year using LendUp
Anonymous Borrower

I'm going to start out by saying I've literally NEVER needed these loans. I've solely taken them out for over a year to work my way up the LendUp "ladder" so to speak. I started out taking monthly $250 loans, and ALWAYS repaid them on time. Each time you repay your loan, you get more points and work your way up to lesser rates & longer terms of repayment. I can't complain whatsoever. The whole reason I wanted to reach the Platinum level that I have is for the simple fact that fast cash in the event of an emergency is no longer easily available NOR cheap these days. If I ever find myself in a financial bind.. Whether it be myself or for someone else... I now have $1,250.00 of available cash credit that is deposited straight into my account the following business day. I use it all the time and have never had any issues in either received my deposited loans into my account nor in repayment. I've even contacted customer service a couple of times for simple questions, and each time I've gotten to speak to a rep. I will admit the wait times are long, but it could have been that the site was undergoing technical difficulties that day. I like that it takes me less than one minute to agree to have the loan deposited into my account the following business day.. There really is no ongoing process after you've made an account and have successfully confirmed your bank information. I don't have to get an expensive and risky title loan, or really deal with anyone in the event I need cash. Recently, I actually needed the clutch replaced on one of our cars, and we like to buy clutch kits from an independent local manufacturer that only accepts cash. As soon as we noted the clutch was a problem on my lunch hour one day, I signed into my LendUp account and in less than 2 minutes had agreed to the terms of receiving $700 the following day. Next morning... There it was. We had our clutch, and had the option to repay our loan in installments of $130.00 per month. No penalties if you repay early, and if anything, you are charged a lesser rate than for your initial term! Recently, I received an email from them that I was overcharged interest on a loan I had paid back early, and they informed me they'd be crediting my account $36.00, AND THEY DID! It was in the account the following day. What I will also admit to is that since reaching platinum level, I've had the option of LendUp reporting my repayments to the credit bureaus, which I declined (yes, it's an option you can select or decline!). I opted not to because I've read it's reported as a credit card rather than an installment loan... So it's like being approved for a $1,000 credit card and immediately maxing it out prior to receiving it, and repaying it slowly. HIGH utilization on top of hard inquiries. Don't do LendUp to build credit... More so for fast available emergency cash that you are SURE you'll be able to afford to repay. Just my 2 cents!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 23, 2016
Not worth it
artamuse4444444 Borrower

I borrowed and paid for some months and climbed the ladder where i got way past $1000. in total debt paid off but they have yet to report my proactive positive payments. I will not be seeking to continue doing business with them. I just felt misled and misdirected by CreditKarma as well for pointing me in their direction. Truth be told I am learning that if I can make LendUp payments than I can make a schedule to pay off the bad marks in my credit report. Lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 23, 2017
Great option for loans& credit reporting

Lendup is amazing and I love how you can earn points for better interest rates and i love how when you reach a certain level you can choose to have it report to the credit bureau, however what gets me upset is how they don't report each month well at least for mine it didn't. i had to get in contact with someone several times to address the issue so it could be resolved and finally they did something about it. I think it should be reported evey month but my first credit report loan didnt report all months just a few of them which is the reason why i rated them a 4 star but overall I love Lendup and still have an account with them.

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
DO NOT USE IF YOU PLAN ON BUYING A HOUSE
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE IF YOU PLAN ON GETTING FINANCED FOR A HOME. THESE FINANCE/INSTALLMENT ACCOUNTS ACTUALLY HURT YOUR CREDIT, SINCE THEY PULL YOUR CREDIT EVERY TIME YOU REFINANCE OR TAKE OUT A NEW LOAN CAUSING THE FICO SCORING SYSTEM TO DISPLAY A "DESPERATE" OR RISKY BORROWER. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 14, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and your interest in LendUp, and for giving us a chance to clarify some things about your experience. Our mission is to provide anyone with a path to better financial health. Please know that while we don't offer "refinancing" of our loans, we do enable borrowers to work with us on payment plans that best meet their needs. Additionally, we can assure you that we do not pull credit each time a customer takes out a new loan. Please reach out to us in a direct message if we can answer any additional questions; and for questions specifically related to your credit scores, we suggest you reach out to the bureaus directly.

 
May 22, 2017
Amazing!
Lauren11801 Borrower

I love love love lend up ! They help you when your in need! Way better then a cash advance because you can repay it every 30 days... you also can move up in points so overtime you will have a lower interest rate... Extensions are also available if needed for repayment time ! I only use when i just want a little extra cash or an emergency like car repair etc.. application process was so easy no need to fax or mail any documents.. Ive also never had to speak to a csr . Amazing place..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 30, 2017

We appreciate your feedback and for being a valued customer! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your journey to better financial health.

 
May 20, 2017
Love it but...
JoshB98 Borrower

I have been using LendUp for over a year. I am a prime member. The thing that annoys me is when I pay off my loan on payday (Thursday), I have to wait until Tuesday to reapply and Wednesday to receive the money. When I click on Check Payment Status, I always receive an error message. They really need to fix this so I won't have to wait three business days to get another loan. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 22, 2017

HI there! First off, thank you for being a loyal customer, we appreciate it! So glad to have you climbing the LendUp Ladder with us.

For faster processing, you can sign in to your LendUp account and choose “Pay Now” to enter your debit card details and pay your balance or call us at 1-855-2LENDUP. This must be done no later than 5 p.m. PT the business day before the loan is due. By paying with a debit card, there’s no processing time — so you can apply for another loan immediately (pending any state restrictions). Additional fees may apply.

 
May 15, 2017
Horrible Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

I have had many loans with Lendup and rarely encountered a problem.   The Prime interest rate is approx. 30%, but when rebuilding credit, that is to be expected.     I paid off my prime loan and was due a refund of 2 payments, and I have been emailing them for over a month with no resolution.    They are very good at giving you the run around via e-mail.    I can't reach anyone by phone.    Customer service is the worst!   You might check them out on BBB, the reviews are less than stellar.   There might be better options out there for you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 22, 2017

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with feedback, we truly appreciate it. For security reasons, we can’t discuss account matters here. Please call us at 855-253-6387, email help@lendup.com, or send a message using the Contact Us form after signing into your LendUp dashboard. We're open from M-F, 6am - 5pm PT. We want to make this right for you!

 
May 03, 2017
Not for Everyone
crack550 Borrower

I think that some people who wrote these bad reviews don't really get the concept. Of course interest rate isn't cheap, what did you expect?! They HAVE to profit! Everything is readable, easy to navigate and understand. I haven't had problems with the site or the service or even the terms. I can say however, it is pretty hard to change your bank info and phone number. They call you automated and you have to verify it but the thing that sucks is they call the number on file...which in my case is a old number that I no longer have...I'm happy to say I worked my way up to Platnium level just for the sake of having a loan that is easily accessbile. I think the terms are pretty fair, I really like how you can pay in payments.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 04, 2017

Thank you for being a loyal customer, we appreciate it! So glad to have you climbing the LendUp Ladder with us.

If you still need help on your account, please call us at 855-253-6387, email help@lendup.com, or send a message using the Contact Us form after signing into your LendUp dashboard. We're open from M-F, 6am - 5pm PT.

 
Mar 18, 2017
Very poor option...try everyother option
Anonymous Borrower

I innocently applied for a 900 loan. My payments are $530 a month for 9.5 months. 30% interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 28, 2017

Hi there. This doesn't sound like our loan product and we'd like to help you look into this further. For security reasons, we can’t discuss account matters here. Please call us 855-253-6387, email help@lendup.com, or send a message using the Contact Us form after signing into your LendUp dashboard. Thanks.

 
Mar 08, 2017
LENDUP'S LOAN PROCESS SUCKS!
tweemz Borrower

I have been a Prime Lendup customer for over two years and have reached the top level of credit.  The problem is their dysfunctional site and tech team that can't seem to fix the application process.  It took five years for them to finally get a call in number where an actual live person answers the phone, but today I am livid.  I paid off my $1,000 loan so I could borrow again and all I could get was Application Error over and over.  Had I known the system has not been working for over two weeks and a loan can't be completed, I would have never paid it off, now I am without enough funds in my account to pay off a couple of cards.  I wanted to get an extra $400 to pay off something.  The supervisor kept giving me double-talk and telling me it's not my fault.  Of course it isn't my fault.   Lendup has an obligation to alert its customers of a malfunctioning site instead of sending a link stating the customer is paid in full and can apply for a new loan.  This is really Unconscionably BAD SERVICE AND THERE IS NO EXCUSE BECAUSE IT CONTINUALLY HAPPENS....I HOPE YOU SEE THIS SASHA ORLOFF!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 10, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for being a valued customer. We have identified a technical issue and are working diligently resolve it as soon as possible. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

 
Mar 07, 2017
Easy approval
Anonymous Borrower

Easy way to get money quick

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
1st loan was good, but 2nd, was bad
Anonymous Borrower

I had 490 at first loan,pay back earlier, now I'm trying to get a new loan for $500 but they will give me $120, that's backward!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.