GreenSky Personal Loans Reviews

GreenSky Personal Loans Reviews
1.1 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 12, 2020
Be very careful
Rita1992 Borrower

Most loans/credit cards don't start charging interest until your promotional interest free period is over. This company accumulates the interest while the principal is outstanding and as soon as your promotional period expires, you are hit with the interest that accumulated over the entire life of your loan. I set up auto pay to pay off my loan automatically so i never reviewed the statements and thank goodness i did a couple of months before the promo period expired, bc it was only then i realized my $2,250 loan which i owed $500 on principal would automatically increase by over $600. I paid it off and said "cancel" this evil loan!!! good riddance! i would suggest a diff alternative especially if you are in the position where you might not be able to pay off the full principal before your promo period expires.!!!

more ...
Jan 06, 2020
They force you to stay in debt
eveyboone Borrower

I didn't have much of a choice when I financed with Greensky. I was getting laser hair removal from Ideal-Image and Greensky is the financing company they use. I financed with them about 18 months ago. The original amount was $2,980. I am now only down to $2,130. after almost 2 years of paying $100 a month. when I logged into my account, I saw that Greensky is charging me a monthly $59 financing fee on top of my payments. So basically they make it so that you can never get out of debt with them. I'm just waiting to get my tax refund this year so I can pay them off and be done. I feel like I've been taken complete advantage of.

more ...
Jan 06, 2020
eveyboone Borrower

I didn't have much of a choice when I financed with Greensky. I was getting laser hair removal from Ideal-Image and Greensky is the financing company they use. I financed with them about 18 months ago. The original amount was $2,980. I am now only down to $2,130. after almost 2 years of paying $100 a month. when I logged into my account, I saw that Greensky is charging me a monthly $59 financing fee on top of my payments. So basically they make it so that you can never get out of debt with them. I'm just waiting to get my tax refund this year so I can pay them off and be done. I feel like I've been taken complete advantage of.

more ...
Jan 04, 2020
Very Convoluted procedures for payback
gigiliz Borrower

This type of account is totally different from most other loans. Even though it's interest free if you pay it in full by the deadline, they still charge you interest in case you do not meat the deadline.  The statements are nearly next to impossible to understand.  I paid off what was showing on their website, but then I'm told I indeed have a small overage credit.  But it will take up to 30 days for them to refund it.  Even though my final payment has cleared the bank.  

Find another way to finance your loan.  I do not recommend.  (and coincidentally, own $3000 worth of their stock!!!)

more ...
Dec 25, 2019
Be prepared to be nickel-and-dimed
jonnyd88 Borrower

Used them for a "0% interest loan for 12 months!" when financing a home improvement project. After a couple months, I found out they were charging a monthly "Finance Charge" that was almost $100. This amount was entirely independent of the remaining loan amount, meaning it went up even after I put money down on the loan.

I've never seen anything like that, it feels extremely scummy and I would never recommend anyone use GreenSky for any services after this.

more ...
Oct 30, 2019
Absolutely the Worst, hidden fees
EffGreenSky Borrower

Greensky charged me $86 dollars a month in "finance charges" with my loan. Completely hidden fee, in none of the paperwork I could find. Yes, it's technically 0 interest but the fees associated with it are something like 20% of what my monthly payment would be. Do not use unless you ABSOUTELY have to. Totally insane, I hope they go under and I hope all their higher ups go to jail.

more ...
Oct 12, 2019
meldridge99 Borrower

Where do i begin. This company continues to add interest charges during the promotional period so I never know what my true balance it. This is misleading and inaccurate information. Really sickening. I've asked the company to step up and show that they care about their customers: fix everyone's balance. They claim this is normal and it's on the customer to track their progress on their own. WRONG. Do what's morally right, GreenSky.

more ...
Aug 30, 2019
Run Away And Find Any Other Alternative

If you want a loan from a company that does not listen to its customers nor acts in their behalf with fraudulent service providers, does not communicate except to offer excuses, and does not fulfull any of its customer commitments, then this is the company for you.  Worst experience I have ever experienced, all due to a fraudulent provider that was obviously not vetted.  I have concerns about anyone offerring GreenSky financing to their customers, and will simply not do business with them.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
Terrible rate - be careful
ZhenyaW Borrower

I am giving this company three stars just because of the interest rate - it's almost predatory. I got a loan for a roof through them. No interest if paid within a year. I ended up paying for it a week before due date and currently my account shows zero owned. The interest accumulating for the year has been credited. I called customer service before making the payment to make sure I was all set up to pay the loan off and the person I spoke to was friendly and helpful. Again, I probably would not be as pleased if I weren't in the position to pay this loan off. But the insane interest rate is how you can pay none for a year. Unfortunately that's their business model so he careful.

more ...
Aug 19, 2019
Massive hidden charges. This is a trap a

Not only did they set up my auto pay to take out less then what was due and then threaten me after the very first month but the loan came with a 70$ a month finance charge. So your 100 a month payment is really 170. Applicant's beware as this was not shown on my paperwork until after it was approved.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.