Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

loanDepot

4.3 out of 5 stars
102 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 03, 2016
Refinanced with a better Interest Rate
Anonymous Borrower

I was getting 3.75% from a previous lender and loan depot refinanced my mortgage loan for 2.75% and No Out of Pocket costs.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 02, 2016
Bait and switch - beware
Anonymous Borrower

Beware, they will bait you and promise you what ever you want. Then right when you are about to close they will switch it - and it will cost you. For me it went from 10% or 30K down to 20% and 60K down.

A week before you close you either give up the house you wanted and start again (most home owners will not wait another 30 days) or you pay their price.

Bamk of America may be a bit higher on their interest, but they will be very transparent and there will be no surtprises. I can not beleive the BBB endorses them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 14, 2017
Loan depot set me up with CENLAR sucks.
Anonymous Borrower

Had some trees fall on house during a wind storm.

Cenlar holding up the insurance money for no good reason. I've had to spend my saving to get house fixed even though my insurance company paid out for repairs

more ...
Jan 11, 2017
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!
Rgivens5 Borrower

They push thru your loan in 30 days but the first time you are late and fill out hardship papers they keep telling you it will be 30 days to review.. then they say you didn't send in the papers so I had to go to the post office and PROVE they picked up my papers.. 2 weeks later they FINALLY ADMIT we got your papers.. but oh you forgot to sign something.. so I send it back in again... they confirm they got .. then call back saying they didn't get it.. then after fussing with them they say sorry we found it.. THEN get a call again we don't have it again!! So after I call OVER 30 times... asking for supervisors to call me back which they Never did!  I request a in person meeting.. get a phone call and they say ok.. we have it all worked out. we will call you THEN the next week get a call saying oh your paperwork is about to expire tomorrow.. so I ask them to fax it to me and operator 3328 says I'm have to get permission to fax it to you and it will still be another 30 days to review your papers. - I said but you just said if it was to expire TOMORROW.. if you fax it to my desk now I will fill it out and resend it TODAY.. she said it's still going to be another 30 days to review it!  I GIVE UP!!  it's been 41 days since I started this "hardship request" and they have accomplised NOTHING TO HELP!  Wish I had never used this company and had my daughter use them for her house mortgage!  DO NOT USE THEM!!

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
The person I spoke with didn't listen
discovering Borrower

I called numerous banking nd loaning institutions about a home equity loans options, interest rates, costs, etc.  This company is the only one who ran my credit without my permission, further applied for a personal loan on my behalf...without me asking for it, or applying for it.  This was done after I told him I wasn't interested.  It seems that he wanted to "sell" me a personal loan because he wouldn't make any money on a home loan because of statutory restrictions on the costs of the home equity here in TX.  Further, I believe he was upset because I ended up saying thank you, not interested and hanging up.I was treated as if I knew nothing about secured and unsecured credit.  I will be following up with Lending tree --they referred me to Loan Depot and filing for FCRA protections based on the actions of Loan Depots employee.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Refinance
Anonymous Borrower

First of all I find that these people are slightly incompetent. They have no clue what documents are required. They do not have checklist of documents required. If that is done in the first place, it would save time and money.There were instances they asked for periodic submission of documents including SSN, Green Card in colour. Although I had refinanced earlier twice, I never had to go through such experience where valuable time was lost not only for them but also for me. They even refused to record the conversations and refused to provide tel nos of their top managers and was threatened with no closing if I do not accept within one hour of documents being sent to my infolder. They have now taken over 50 days to close. 

They also said said since 2010 rules have changed and refused to provide any details. I am not sure whether rules are for their consumption or ours as customers.

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Refinance Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Everyone was very professional and nice.  The only complaint that I have is that at times there was a lack of communication about some of the fees involved.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
The easiest ever
Anonymous Borrower

Great customer service!

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
very smooth
Anonymous Borrower

The whole process was very smooth. Customer service was awesome. Kept us very informed during the entire process. Each step went according to plan. They were constantly sending surveys to ensure excellence.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Competitive rate and low closing cost
Anonymous Borrower

Managed to save significant amount of money by refinancing with LoanDepot where the closing costs very quite low and the interest rate is very competitive

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Great rate with some signing hiccups
Anonymous Borrower

Smooth application process and a great rate. Had to resign the entire loan package due to timing issues. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations