Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

loanDepot

4.3 out of 5 stars
102 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 29, 2016
I received an excellent 3.5% refi loan.
Anonymous Borrower

I got an excellent refi loan with Loan Depot.  3.5% is an excellent fixed interest rate.  I will be saving close to $500 each month.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 05, 2016
Bait and switch!
Anonymous Borrower

I will keep my review straight to the point. I’ve been through a few refinances before but never have I had the most horrible, dreadful experience until I experience this refinance with LoanDepot!

From the start, I had two concerns and brought it up to my loan officer. 1) my appraised value of my home may not be high enough to meet the LTV in order to qualify for the 3.75% rate. 2) my concern about the negative reviews of LoanDepot. Mainly my concern that LoanDepot will take longer than 30 days to close. I was assured by my loan officer that 1) my home appraised value will be high enough for the LTV requirement. And 2) that LoanDepot will close my loan within 30 days. None of these promises happened at all! But that’s not the worst part of this experience. It really was a bait and switch gimmick played with me.

So I locked in my rate at 3.75%. My appraised value did come in lower than hoped for. Because I was under the LTV requirement, LoanDepot offered me pay PMI or choose “Lender Paid PMI” and take a rate increase at 3.875%. I ended up choosing the Lender Paid PMI and 3.875% option. I was totally fine with this option and not upset at all. I just wanted the ball rolling and move forward to closing.

Here starts the horrible experience. The entire process was LOOOONG with a capital “L”! Every document needed of me and my wife was provided within the same hour, every single document! We even got on the phone with our insurance company & HR department from our employers to make it a quick turn-around. We were prompt at providing everything LoanDepot requested of us. We made this loan process top priority and even took time away from our jobs to make sure everything was provided back to LoanDepot and timely manner. I expressed that we are serious about closing this loan within 30 days as promised. Sadly, the only time we would get any update from LoanDepot is when I had to either follow up by email or phone.

I started the loan process and locked in my rate on 10/21/2015. I signed on 12/24/2015! Keep in mind, this was due to my due diligence in constant follow ups!!. I figured this loan would have taken a lot longer than it did if I wasn’t constantly following up.

I got really taken advantage of and the bait and switch comes in because since the loan process took extremely long resulting in my lock rate expired, LoanDepot had to raise my rate from 3.875% to 4%. I was FURIOUS!! Why should me and my family be penalized and get charged more for being cooperative and prompt!?? Why should any customer be charged a higher rate when they did everything possible to move the loan process forward? LoanDepot should have acknowledge how slow they were moving and kept my original rate. There are records with every phone call and email that proves I was prompt and fast with everything asked of me. There should be an internal investigation done on this matter.

At this point, I’m so far into the loan process that I did not want to cancel. Additionally, no other lenders could have matched or beat the rate because I started the loan process on 10/21/2015 and by the time I looked into other lenders, the rates were higher than LoanDepot. I felt trapped like an innocent victim with no other option but LoanDepot. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 01, 2016
The person I spoke with didn't listen
discovering Borrower

I called numerous banking nd loaning institutions about a home equity loans options, interest rates, costs, etc.  This company is the only one who ran my credit without my permission, further applied for a personal loan on my behalf...without me asking for it, or applying for it.  This was done after I told him I wasn't interested.  It seems that he wanted to "sell" me a personal loan because he wouldn't make any money on a home loan because of statutory restrictions on the costs of the home equity here in TX.  Further, I believe he was upset because I ended up saying thank you, not interested and hanging up.I was treated as if I knew nothing about secured and unsecured credit.  I will be following up with Lending tree --they referred me to Loan Depot and filing for FCRA protections based on the actions of Loan Depots employee.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Refinance
Anonymous Borrower

First of all I find that these people are slightly incompetent. They have no clue what documents are required. They do not have checklist of documents required. If that is done in the first place, it would save time and money.There were instances they asked for periodic submission of documents including SSN, Green Card in colour. Although I had refinanced earlier twice, I never had to go through such experience where valuable time was lost not only for them but also for me. They even refused to record the conversations and refused to provide tel nos of their top managers and was threatened with no closing if I do not accept within one hour of documents being sent to my infolder. They have now taken over 50 days to close. 

They also said said since 2010 rules have changed and refused to provide any details. I am not sure whether rules are for their consumption or ours as customers.

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Refinance Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Everyone was very professional and nice.  The only complaint that I have is that at times there was a lack of communication about some of the fees involved.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
The easiest ever
Anonymous Borrower

Great customer service!

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
very smooth
Anonymous Borrower

The whole process was very smooth. Customer service was awesome. Kept us very informed during the entire process. Each step went according to plan. They were constantly sending surveys to ensure excellence.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Competitive rate and low closing cost
Anonymous Borrower

Managed to save significant amount of money by refinancing with LoanDepot where the closing costs very quite low and the interest rate is very competitive

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Great rate with some signing hiccups
Anonymous Borrower

Smooth application process and a great rate. Had to resign the entire loan package due to timing issues. 

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Refinanced with a better Interest Rate
Anonymous Borrower

I was getting 3.75% from a previous lender and loan depot refinanced my mortgage loan for 2.75% and No Out of Pocket costs.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Very happy with the process
Anonymous Borrower

Be a little patient, it will all be worth it.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations