loanDepot

4.1 out of 5 stars
106 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 03, 2016
Refinanced with a better Interest Rate
Anonymous Borrower

I was getting 3.75% from a previous lender and loan depot refinanced my mortgage loan for 2.75% and No Out of Pocket costs.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 19, 2016
Long Process & Awful Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

Our Loan Officer was the worst!  Emails went unanswered when trying to find out the status of our refinance.  No phone calls received after she would tell us "I'll call you shortly to discuss".  Trying to get any information from her was like pulling teeth.  While we have finally closed on our loan, the whole process took far too long. Hopefully I won't have to refinance in the future, but if I do, I will not be coming back to LoanDepot.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 08, 2017
Run!
Anonymous Borrower

Do not even look at this company. After closing you will understand. This company doesn't even know how to make a payment from your escrow account to make a payments to your insurance company. Customore service top notch bad. RUN!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Refinance
Anonymous Borrower

Told once I had refinanced, if I ever refinanced again I would never be charged any fees..Additionaly I wanted my PMI insurance removed as the loan value was well below (met the 20% requirement) the market value of the house. Told that the entire PMI inaurance could not ne removed.. what a load of.. ..What a suprise when I went to refinance again.... firstly they said they are not sure why I was paying a partial PMI payment and refinancing would cost me 8000 in fees . The left hand has no idea what the right hand is doing ..What a absolute useless entity !!

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
misleading
Anonymous Borrower

misleading

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
horrible experience

This is the worst company we have ever delt with. They pulled a credit report twice before the loan closed damaging our credit score.It took 3 and half months to close. We had to give them the same documentation multiple times. The closing time had to be changed because they did not deliver in a timely manner. Terrible!!!! Do Not Go There

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Stay Away. Costs changed at closing
Anonymous Borrower

Loan took forever to close and when we got close to signing the costs changed. Also they said they will service my loan when come to find out CENLAR owns it now.

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Loan depot set me up with CENLAR sucks.
Anonymous Borrower

Had some trees fall on house during a wind storm.

Cenlar holding up the insurance money for no good reason. I've had to spend my saving to get house fixed even though my insurance company paid out for repairs

more ...
Jan 11, 2017
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!
Rgivens5 Borrower

They push thru your loan in 30 days but the first time you are late and fill out hardship papers they keep telling you it will be 30 days to review.. then they say you didn't send in the papers so I had to go to the post office and PROVE they picked up my papers.. 2 weeks later they FINALLY ADMIT we got your papers.. but oh you forgot to sign something.. so I send it back in again... they confirm they got .. then call back saying they didn't get it.. then after fussing with them they say sorry we found it.. THEN get a call again we don't have it again!! So after I call OVER 30 times... asking for supervisors to call me back which they Never did!  I request a in person meeting.. get a phone call and they say ok.. we have it all worked out. we will call you THEN the next week get a call saying oh your paperwork is about to expire tomorrow.. so I ask them to fax it to me and operator 3328 says I'm have to get permission to fax it to you and it will still be another 30 days to review your papers. - I said but you just said if it was to expire TOMORROW.. if you fax it to my desk now I will fill it out and resend it TODAY.. she said it's still going to be another 30 days to review it!  I GIVE UP!!  it's been 41 days since I started this "hardship request" and they have accomplised NOTHING TO HELP!  Wish I had never used this company and had my daughter use them for her house mortgage!  DO NOT USE THEM!!

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
The person I spoke with didn't listen
discovering Borrower

I called numerous banking nd loaning institutions about a home equity loans options, interest rates, costs, etc.  This company is the only one who ran my credit without my permission, further applied for a personal loan on my behalf...without me asking for it, or applying for it.  This was done after I told him I wasn't interested.  It seems that he wanted to "sell" me a personal loan because he wouldn't make any money on a home loan because of statutory restrictions on the costs of the home equity here in TX.  Further, I believe he was upset because I ended up saying thank you, not interested and hanging up.I was treated as if I knew nothing about secured and unsecured credit.  I will be following up with Lending tree --they referred me to Loan Depot and filing for FCRA protections based on the actions of Loan Depots employee.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Refinance
Anonymous Borrower

First of all I find that these people are slightly incompetent. They have no clue what documents are required. They do not have checklist of documents required. If that is done in the first place, it would save time and money.There were instances they asked for periodic submission of documents including SSN, Green Card in colour. Although I had refinanced earlier twice, I never had to go through such experience where valuable time was lost not only for them but also for me. They even refused to record the conversations and refused to provide tel nos of their top managers and was threatened with no closing if I do not accept within one hour of documents being sent to my infolder. They have now taken over 50 days to close. 

They also said said since 2010 rules have changed and refused to provide any details. I am not sure whether rules are for their consumption or ours as customers.

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Refinance Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Everyone was very professional and nice.  The only complaint that I have is that at times there was a lack of communication about some of the fees involved.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations