Life Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Monumental Life Insurance

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Policyholder Ratings
1.5 5

Reviews (12)

Add Review
Mar 03, 2016
Terrbile service
Anonymous Policyholder

I was signed up through my bank without permission. I requested to be cancelled after paying for a service that I did not want. I also requested a refund of the money owed. The policy was canceled, but when I called to get the refund, I was told I would not get one. How is this possible? I never agreed to the service and after taking out too much money per month. i think they should pay back.

Any suggestion?

more ...
Oct 31, 2015
Father had AD&D paid out, easy process!!
Anonymous Policyholder

If you are claiming a legit straight forward accidental death then you will not have any problems collecting from Monumental Life. I plan to get my own policy through them. 

more ...
Aug 18, 2015
Anonymous Policyholder

If you are purchasing this policy as a "death benefit" or for funeral expenses RUN!! Uou are wasting your time and you may as well burn your money. I found an insurance policy from Monumental amoung my Mother's things after she passed. I called Monument claims to state that she passed and we want to cash in the policy to pay for funeral , burial expenses and other expenses as part of her death.  I was told that this was going to be a "rigorous process" and that it will take 7-10 days for them to EMAIL or snail MAIL my claim forms.. then it would take another  3- 6 months after I filled out the claim forms JUST to research the policy and her medical records????... As well, my Mom overpaid premiums because the life insurance company took out auto pay premiums from her checking for the policy after her death date.  I asked if we could at least get that refunded up front. I was told that these are also "researched" and not paid out until the final rendering... this makes it sound as if that isnt going to be paid out either.  WARNING!!! If you have a policy in place, you may want to cancel it and pay your premium elsewhere.. if your loved one has PASSED AWAY,,, get an attorney... you can pay them pro bono when the premium is paid out.    THIS IS THE LAST COMPANY I WOULD EVER CONSIDER TO USE FOR LIFE INSURANCE OR DEATH BENEFIT.  For the moderator, you may certainly verify my identity and the validity of my claim here. 

more ...
Feb 09, 2015
Stay away from this company!
Anonymous Policyholder

These people do not know what they're doing!! We lost our daughter on 12/12/14 and have been fighting to get her full amount. We lost her due to an accident and after having to send them all the information they still put her down as a natural death. As soon as I finally get all this straightened out I'm dropping them and going to a different company!

more ...
Jan 06, 2015
LOLITA12345987 Policyholder

This is the absolute worst insurance company I have ever dealt with.  Unfortunately I've had a lot of experience dealing with life insurance companies.  They are doing everything they can to avoid paying this claim, including making my greiving family do the foot work for them. They insist that we get a police report for my nephew's death.  The Sheriff Dept told us that they do not understand why the insurance company will not call themselves as they will get a more detailed report and will get it a lot quicker than we would.

They do not allow you to speak with the Examiner, which is keyword for finding a reason to not pay the claim.  It has been four months and we have been getting the run-around from them.  They are called Monumental Life AKA Transamerica Premier Life Insurance Company.

I am now getting the California Insurance Dept involved.  These people are straight up crooks.  The agent is untrustworthy as well.  She has been taking advantage of my elderly father for years!    They deserve zero stars!!!!!

Get your state INsurance Dept involved as soon as possible.

more ...
Nov 14, 2014
How about No Star!
Anonymous Policyholder

This Company is beyond description, never do anything they say they will, lie and lie. Do yourself a favor and avoid Monumental and TransAmerica. Over twenty nine years paying on a whole life policy and now they changed it to a term.

more ...
Nov 10, 2014
Will not pay benefits
Anonymous Policyholder

My mother in law died within two years of taking out this policy.  She died of an illness disclosed on the application.  Yet, they are doing everything in their power to keep from paying out the insurance.  It's been six months, they have made my father in law jump through hoops for months and yet, still, after he had done all they have asked, still they will not pay out the death benefit.  I have dealt with plenty of life insurance companies and have never dealt with the level of incompetence I have seen here.  DO NOT BUY INSURANCE FROM MONUMENTAL.   You would be better off burning your money in the fireplace.

more ...
Jul 31, 2014
Anonymous Policyholder

First, they sent an agent to visit my mother after my Father's death.  Never got back to her and I told my Mother at that time they were crooks.  Now, it's five years later.  My Mother has now died and after almost exactly the same time lapse after her death the company wrote to me as an "heir."

They provided me lots of forms asking for my e-mail address, ss#, relationships and all their info, etc.  I will not be complying with their wishes but will ask one of my attorney sons to handle it.

more ...
May 07, 2014
Slow paying claims do not buy from them
Anonymous Policyholder

I have been waiting over 8 weeks and still the claim has not been processed.  the other Life Ins hav payed a month ago.  when I call all I get is I am sorry

more ...
Jan 10, 2014
Will not pay death benefits
Anonymous Policyholder

This company will rip you off.  Because my mother died within the 2 year period they are finding ever excuse not to pay.  Now they are saying that my mother has tried to cheat them by lying on the application. My mother never have lied or cheated anyone.  I plan on getting a lawyer to handle them.  In addition, I am contacting CBS, ABC, and NBC to see if they will do a show to make the American people aware of how Insurance Companies like Monumental Live also known as Transamerica Life Insurance Company will cheat you and your love ones.  I would not purchase toliet paper from these company.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this policy overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations