Home Equity Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Home Equity

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
1.5 5

Reviews (18)

Add Review
Aug 19, 2016
Indifferent extortionists

Spent a month applying for. HELOC. We have 84% equity, credit scores of 825, 22 years spotless record on our mortgage with Chase (and prepaying principal to boot). A million dollars in retirement savings. We have a car loan of under $9K at 0% and a small balance on a credit card. The rub? Self employed income that looks low because as a business we pay ourselves lower salaries and pour our money into the biz and retirement. So our debt to income ratio is higher than they'd like but none of these other factors count for anything. They counter offered half of what we asked for and insisted we move our zero-percent loan into the HELOC. So for the privilege of borrowing from them we can have our finances micromanaged and our interest free loan made into an interest bearing loan? No thanks  

Chase has no idea how to assess risk or serve customers. That's why Jamie Dimon got a 25 billion dollar bailout. The reps talk out of both sides of their mouths and repeat policies robotically. It almost feels as if they get incentives for driving good customers away. 

i am choosing to liquidate investments to pay for home improvements before given them a dime. I'll also be working to pay off what remains of our mortgage as quickly as possible to be free of them forever. They are disloyal, predatory, and dumb. 

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Apply for this was a nightmare

802 credit score. Own $450k condo free and clear. Six digit income and denied $100k equity line after 2 months of delays and hoops. Unreal. Shamefully unfathomable

more ...
Jan 17, 2016
House Loan
tbdc Borrower

Extremely easy process customer service is great. I will use them again. From start to end everything went so smooth.

more ...
Sep 20, 2014
Do Not Even Bother
Anonymous Borrower

Worst expierence with a bank in our lives.  Found out they tell everyone that you are pre-approved.  They give you an agent at a phone number and extension.  You send them all your information and hear nothing back.  With a credit score of 781 and more than enough equity in our house and having been with Chase for over 30 years one would think it's a no brainer.  You don't hear anything for weeks so you call.  Your agent says "oh, we need this one more piece of information to be sent in".  You don't hear anything again for weeks so you call again.  Your agent says the same thing.  This goes on and on and on.  Then we call and get told that they sent a letter and it came back as undeliverable to our address.  We tell them that can't be true, we get all of our other mail.  They say that they can't give us a home equity loan because of that and then we get the rejection letter in the mail.  Oh yah, THAT letter makes it.  Don't know what game they are playing, maybe they are just gathering information to update data bases and to sell, but they are not interested in giving you a home equity loan.  It was such a nasty experience we are moving our banking, home loan and credit cards to Wells Fargo Bank now.

more ...
Jan 02, 2015

Be Careful with Wells Fargo, they are no better!

Jul 09, 2015

sorry to hear it,
but wells fargo is like jumping from the frying pan to the fire

Aug 27, 2014
chase changed loan terms on last day

Chase offered me a fixed rate home equity loan 2 months ago. Had one with them before. Like others here, average FICO is 817. Spent two months jumping through hoops and at the very last moment they said they only offer variable interest loans. Even the Bank Officer who made me the original quote is aghast at this change of the rules of the game. Two months of wasted time. Have sent letters of protest up the corporate ladder but know I stand no chance of winning. Am going to sever all ties with them once I get a new account elsewhere and successfully have automatic deposits to them in place at new bank. Absolute betrayal and probably illegal but am not going to pound my head against the. Time to move on. 

more ...
May 09, 2014
Waste of time

 800 plus credit score  $330'000 appraisal (theirs)  $200,000 plus income and after 52 days they offered $115,000 credit line provided we use all but $10,000 of it to pay off  our two cars and motor home which is the only debt we have. When we started out they told us we were good for $230,000

more ...
Apr 25, 2014
Anonymous Borrower

Not flexible at all. Very disapointed.

more ...
Mar 18, 2014
I also found chase is not good bank t

my home mortgage on Chase bank they littrally 'Chase' always; they delibratrly bring down my credit score after start my mortgage to preven to open other credit cards normally if you own asset credit score should increase; I found they play very unfair way of dealing all the time with my credit score to block loan options from others. I don't know how they manage to do that!!! Don't deal with them

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations