Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

State Employees' Credit Union (SECU)

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 26, 2011

I love this credit union.  The customer service is fantastic, friendly and efficient.  Nobody "passes the buck and/or blame" like you see at big banks. If there is something a teller doesn't know, they'll find someone in the bank, in person, who does.  Then again, you can always email them and get answers that way quickly too.  There are tons of branches all over NC.  If you're not in NC, the only fees I've encountered using another ATM, is the ATM provider's fee.  The maintence fees are low ($1/month) and they've got alot of flexible loan programs.   The website is great.  Not only the typically account access, but access to things like kelly blue book and tax info.  Just an overall great place!

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 24, 2013
Worked @ SECU
Anonymous Account Holder

This credit union as a fantastic reputation but it has a horrible culture and treats its employees terrible.  I had ZERO of***es in nine months employed, and had great relationships with the members but was constantly treated HORRIBLE by my supervisor.  

The credit union claims to care about what is best for the members but really only cares about money.  In branch meeting we were constantly told to push products in order to improve the bottom line regardless of whether or not they members needed the service or even benefited from the service.  

more ...

Reviews (36)

Add Review
Aug 27, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder


Their ATM jammed mid-deposit. I called. THey said someone was on their was to clear the jam, they'd balance the machine and I would have my funds available in a few HOURS. (I was on my way shopping and now couldnt go). They never made the funds available. I called and talked to 4 people who gave me the runaround-should have been deposited when machine was balanced. Money will be held until NEXT WEEK. I have NO money, and no one cares. It is on "hold" until next week. I can't grocery shop to feed my family.No one I spoke to on the phone cared at all that the only money I have is tied up due to their mistake. One rep said it happens regularly-WHAT? How can they hold MY money so my kids have to starve until next week? I'll be leaving this institution.

Prior to this we were going to buy a home-called THREE times to get the ball rolling. Each time we were told they'd get back to us. They never did. Customer service is awful. Family member did get a loan through them, loan person gave wrong information and they had to come up with thousands more at closing due to inept employee-was a manager too! 

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Easy to use, online access, and great loan options for someone starting over with not so great credit history.  Don't mess up a relationship with this bank. They are life savers but please know that if you screw them you will have no one else to run to. 

more ...
Jun 27, 2016
Just as bad as a regular bank smh
Anonymous Account Holder

Long lines at the bank, in the drive thru, at the ATM.... Takes forever for charges to post, CSR are not helpful at all. I put a stop payment on a check I post dated for 2 weeks later, the company withdrew the funds early, completely ruining my account balance and SECU did nothing to stop it after I called multiple times BEFORE the check posted and tried a Stop Payment. Bank with a normal bank. SECU is not worth it...

more ...
Jun 25, 2016
Excellent, Flexible, Understanding Bank
Cormac2016 Account Holder

I recently emigrated from Europe. This means that according to the credit agencies, I have no credit history. Noone would lend to me; I couldn't even get a phone!

Secu just asked me for proof of employment, and now have provided me a good Credit Card (at less than 10% Interest), and I'm about to sign contracts on a Mortgage too!

Only "Problem" is that they only appear to report to Equifax, so now my TransUnion and Equifax reports are quite different. 

I still can't get a phone ... but my banking needs are met!

(Bizarrely my US-Citizen wife - who doesn't have an Income - was approved for both phones immediately ... I wonder who they think is paying the bill ??? )

more ...
Jun 02, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Love being a member. Great customer service. They seem to really care.

more ...
May 12, 2016
North Carolina State Credit Union
Mtngrown72 Account Holder

We've been with NCSECU for almost 20 years. They're amazing! I'll never go back to a regular bank.

more ...
May 02, 2016
Mila1207 Account Holder

Secu gave me a second chance with my banking needs. I had bad credit history but Secu still allowed me to prove myself. Now I'm driving a used car at 4.75%!! I am forever a SECU Member...

more ...
Dec 01, 2015
Great except for one thing
dnelms44 Account Holder

I have been a member for years and they provide exceptional service. The reason I only gave 4 stars instead of 5 is their unwillingness to add Apple Pay!!

more ...
Dec 26, 2015

They're adding it within a couple months, they couldn't get the deal with apple hammered out

Nov 14, 2015
Only about their bottom line.
zoessewing Account Holder

Terrible experience after 14 years of membership. They claim to work with out when

you get laid off by the state, but that is just a lie to get you to call and tell

them when you will pay them. They send letters claiming they want to help you in this

difficult time, but it is just a bait and switch. Thankfully I got hired back on and

we are leaving this "credit union" and are enrolled in a traditional real credit


more ...
Sep 03, 2015
This bank is terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I recenlty was party to one of their mortgage officers who was not helpful, seemed unknowledgeable and was not very pleasant to work with.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations