State Employees' Credit Union (SECU) Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 01, 2013
happy
smutty Account Holder

always the best in all departments been with them over 41 years,plan to keep them

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 27, 2016
sucks!
Anonymous Account Holder

DONT EVER USE THEIR ATM FOR DEPOSTS!

Their ATM jammed mid-deposit. I called. THey said someone was on their was to clear the jam, they'd balance the machine and I would have my funds available in a few HOURS. (I was on my way shopping and now couldnt go). They never made the funds available. I called and talked to 4 people who gave me the runaround-should have been deposited when machine was balanced. Money will be held until NEXT WEEK. I have NO money, and no one cares. It is on "hold" until next week. I can't grocery shop to feed my family.No one I spoke to on the phone cared at all that the only money I have is tied up due to their mistake. One rep said it happens regularly-WHAT? How can they hold MY money so my kids have to starve until next week? I'll be leaving this institution.

Prior to this we were going to buy a home-called THREE times to get the ball rolling. Each time we were told they'd get back to us. They never did. Customer service is awful. Family member did get a loan through them, loan person gave wrong information and they had to come up with thousands more at closing due to inept employee-was a manager too! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 04, 2017
They are okay....
Anonymous Account Holder

DON'T move from North Carolina and expect to keep your accounts with them.  They have no mobile app for depositing checks, you can't apply for loans unless you live in a state that shares a boarder with NC, they constantly fail to mail you a new debt card after yours expires etc.....trust me I would close the account if I didn't have to drive to NC to do it (note this is what i was told over the phone by one of their CSRS) so I keep little money in the account and have them mail me paper statements each month.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Great service and Rates
Anonymous Account Holder

Great service all around and rates that cannot be beat.  I have never had a bad experience despite going to over a dozen different branches.  

more ...
May 01, 2017
Best Bank I've Ever Been a Member Of
Anonymous Account Holder

I used to work for a different bank.  I applied for a $500 revolving line of credit to help build my credit score.  They denied me, even though I worked for them and my account with them was always in good standing.  A month later, I went to State Employees Credit Union, who I also banked with and applied for a vehicle loan.  They approved me on the spot and I bought a brand new vehicle.  Fast forward a few months and I have a new vehicle, mortgage, and credit card with State Employees.  They were very helpful and expeditious with my requests.  Not to mention that they have the best interest rates around, whether you're borrowing money from them or growing your own money in their accounts.  I absolutely love them and don't have any intentions of ever leaving.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 22, 2017

Do you mind if I ask what your credit score was upon approval?

 
Apr 05, 2017
Poor training
Anonymous Account Holder

I banked here for 10 years. I had a request to transfer funds from money market to retirement account. I asked to sign in to see a personal assistant, as i have done at other branches.

I was told to go to a teller. It took 30 !! minutes to do this, then told the account was DORMANT and needed manager over ride. Waited 5 more minutes, told it was dormant with no activity over 1 year. Well, ROTHS, usually get only one deposit annually around tax time. Lovely teller, but new. She made 3 calls to central agency to know what to do.  I asked to see manager. He said it is hard to keep staff (there were 7 tellers and only 2 working on a quiet day) and I said she had not been trained well if it took this long. He said that is just life and that they would forget if they only did one every month or so. I suggested a manual to read. He just emphasized patience. I was late to another appointment.  I closed the account because of his disrespect. He has the gall to ask "What is your job." Is that his concern?

They lost several people's investments because of poor training and lousy management.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Whole bag of nope right here
ravynfire79 Account Holder

I was looking for flexible ATM options after moving, my previous financial instution din't have any near me. Getting access to a closer ATM is about all I gained. I had constant issues with fees. First time lesson learned: they take forever to post transactions. They will sit as "pending" for about 3 days, then they'll disappear and the money back in your account until they post that night. So if you happen to log into the app to quickly check your balance while at Walmart, don't believe what your phone tells you. Lesson 2: If you're someone who lives paycheck to paycheck (I'm supporting a family of four on my own, doing what I can - as are many!) Lesson 1 can be a real issue. At my previous institution transactions were instantly displayed, deducted from your available balance, and stayed that way until the payment finally posted. Making it easy for us day-by-dayers to easily keep track of available funds. Now I'm not horrible at math, but occassionally will be off by $1-2 while calculating in my head at the grocery store. Trying to do so with two kids chattering on is a bit challenging, to be fair. Fees are like rabbits, they multiply quickly and before you know it you're overrun. In my short time with them I accquired about $200 in fees - all from a miscalculation of under $1 based on a balance supplied by SECU which was not entirely accurate. 

Now up until that point I had totally taken the blame for my mistakes. An expensive, and unfortunate, learning curve - but I had it down. That is until my debit card number was compromised and I had nearly $200 in fraudulent charges post to my account. Of course, on the same day I had a scheduled bill payment to post. Despite my immediately notifiing SECU of the issue the payment posted, was denied, and I was charged an NSF fee. Now one might think that this point that SECU would be accomodating, or possibly even be concerned that my account had been compromised. Well, don't hold your breath! It took them four business days to finally give me a "provisional" credit after submitting their fraudulent form. I was finally able to convince them to reverse the NSF fee, which I was told was done "at a courtesy, and would be the last time they could extend this courtesy for the next 12 months". Fine way to treat someone who's been the victim of fraud, huh? On the morning of the fourth day I received an email that they would be attempting to post the returned payment again - even though they had yet to credit back the funds stolen. I immediately replied back to the BillPay department, and CC'd the Customer Service department explaining the situation and expressing my concerns that I would be charged yet another NSF fee. Thankfully the "provisional" credit and the BillPay payment both posted that night, so there was no issue. I was pretty fed up at that point, then the next morning I received an email response from both departments. NEITHER response addressed the specific concern regarding incurring another NSF fee. Further, they instructed me to complete the fraud form - which I'd already done, obvious given the "provisional" credit on my account.

Final lesson: They don't seem to actually care about their customers. I've NEVER had an experience like this before, and I have sadly had my card number compromised in the past. SECU didn't take it seriously at all, and seemed all too eager to take advantage of the situation. 

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
pynki29 Account Holder

I LOVE SECU!!!! I have nothing bad to say about this credit union.  Awesome customer service! if anyone says anything bad about SECU they have issues 

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
I LOVE MY BANK!
Sam14eva Account Holder

I have been with SECU over a year now. I started out with a salary advance loan and built my credit through that. They have coached me financially and i am so grateful!!

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
sucks!
Anonymous Account Holder

DONT EVER USE THEIR ATM FOR DEPOSTS!

Their ATM jammed mid-deposit. I called. THey said someone was on their was to clear the jam, they'd balance the machine and I would have my funds available in a few HOURS. (I was on my way shopping and now couldnt go). They never made the funds available. I called and talked to 4 people who gave me the runaround-should have been deposited when machine was balanced. Money will be held until NEXT WEEK. I have NO money, and no one cares. It is on "hold" until next week. I can't grocery shop to feed my family.No one I spoke to on the phone cared at all that the only money I have is tied up due to their mistake. One rep said it happens regularly-WHAT? How can they hold MY money so my kids have to starve until next week? I'll be leaving this institution.

Prior to this we were going to buy a home-called THREE times to get the ball rolling. Each time we were told they'd get back to us. They never did. Customer service is awful. Family member did get a loan through them, loan person gave wrong information and they had to come up with thousands more at closing due to inept employee-was a manager too! 

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Easy to use, online access, and great loan options for someone starting over with not so great credit history.  Don't mess up a relationship with this bank. They are life savers but please know that if you screw them you will have no one else to run to. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations