Security Service Federal Credit Union (SSFCU)

2.2 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 19, 2014
SSFCU rocks!
alamomike Account Holder

Well, can't believe the not so good reviews I read here - BUT my experience has been great!

CS 680 (Transunion) got 3.8% rate for 72 months on new car loan. Everyone helpful, friendly and very professional.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 19, 2013
Personnel Not Trained Properly
jrdpc49 Account Holder

I am in the process of transferring out accounts with this credit union.  About the only positive I can relate is that their employees are friendly (most).  If you have a question about IRA's, auto loans, website issues, etc.  the call or visit to the branch is a waste of your time.  Like the person who had an auto loan, I agree that I don't have time to sit in a super small branch for 45 minutes or longer chit-chatting with the security guaard.   When I complained to a manager, not a supervisor, I was politely told their people are trained "a little bit on this and a little bit on that" well that's awfully nice, but that's not good enough for me.  What I find with call centers of various types is that the representatives have poor or no listening skills and it certainly is the case with this institution.  I've worked in call centers and you have to listen carefully why the customer, patient etc. is calling about and re-state it and address it.  Nothing will make a customer more furious than to spend minutes explaining their issue and get areply which   has nothing to do with it., especially after they have gone thru an aggravating automated system.  That's why I'm leaving this credit union and you know what?...they don't seem to care.  Bon Voyage!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 05, 2017
Great Credit Union
ccoceangirl Account Holder

I have been with this credit union for almost 3 decades and they have always taken care of me.

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Your money is not secure
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank allows for you to get account info just by entering 4 digits into the automated system phone line.  No security code asked, no other forms of identifiers asked, just 4 digits.  When i brought this to the attention of management they originally said this didn't sound right.  I proved to them that it is true and they said they would look into it.   Got a call back saying this is the way it is designed and within reasonable risk according to the risk management department.  Wow.  They are taking reasonable risk with the privacy of my account?? Time to take my banking business elsewhere.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
horrible online payment policies
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't ever cancel a payment with these guys and expect them to honor that. I cancelled a scheduled payment (in order to make it sooner), they e-mailed me the payment was cacelled. I then made the payment online (sooner, again) and they debited my checking account for two payments, Customer service is rivalled only by Comcast for pure head-banging futility. The upshot is it will take a week to get my money back and I have to jump through several hoops to fix their mistake. 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Great experiences
femmeraven Account Holder

Not only do I bank at this institution but I've also financed loans and have had credit cards with them for almost 10 years.  They have always been of great service when I had questions or needed help. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Took over 30 minutes on hold to speak to someone. They do not respond to online banking messages. Continued to draft money from my account and only randomly sent me statements. I would definitely recommend using a different bank for loans!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 28, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 19, 2016
opts you into paid programs w/ no apprvl
Anonymous Account Holder

Out of the blue, I received an email advising that they were opting me into a super protected checking program with out my permission.  At the very bottom they indicate this will charge me $6 a month for a program I never showed any interest in.  The only way to opt out of the program was to call or go into a branch.  If I would have overlooked the email, they would have automatically started charging me $6 for a program that I never wanted.  VERY SHADY.  When I called to complain, the service was less than helpful and had a 'we dont care" attitude.  I asked for their email address and I wrote a very concerned email regarding the issue, cc'd the senior VP, and of course, I've received no reply.

I'm in the process of finding another bank now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 22, 2016

I received the email but never responded. A week later I received a letter in the mail with more information. It does give you the option to opt out of the program. Just call them and let them know you don't want the protection part and you won't have the monthly fee.

 
Nov 30, 2016
They are slightly shady.
Anonymous Account Holder

Just keep an eye on your email. Sometimes they try to upgrade your account and just send you an email letting you know they're going to do so. The email is worded like you don't have the option to opt out. Just call them and tell them to put it back. They will always have free checking as an option.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Fees, Fees, Fees
TexasQT1 Account Holder

I had items clearing that there were funds to cover, then Groupon erroneously placed a pending charge on my account of $34, causing the other items to appear to OD the account, yet when the pending charge disappeared and the other items cleared my account, I still had a $7 balance, but they still charged me 3 overdraft fees of over $27!  I had a balance in the black and they refused to reverse the fees!  GOODBYE SSFCU!!!  They are a bunch of money hungry clowns, with very poor customer service skills.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
Very shady practices
Ekyle Account Holder

Beware, be very very wary of this Bank. 

1, They do no tlist on the online payment histor, nor on the monthly statementsy if an there is an upaid amount. Yet behind the scenes they tack on a "extension fee" for the upaid amount, which is als not listed any where on the online payment history, or on your monthly statements. 

2, When I inquired as to "Why a customer is not given any indication of an unpaid amoun gaining these extension fees, they could only respond with an answer about "how the system calculates it"   When I asked them, where a customer can see the unpaid amount and these fees, they're response "unfortunatey there is not a dedicated box for unpaid amounts. 

3, When I pointed out the flaw, and how it's causing a misrepresentation of what's actually due each month for the laon, their response was to offer me an alternate payment option for the fees.  And would add my "log my concern in regards to a future update" 

I really doubt this is the first someone has brough this to their attention, so my faith they will actually "update the system" is zero! Nor do I feel it's right to blindly charge people a fee when you're not many ANY attempt to make them aware it's happening, and just blaming it on "how the system calculates" yet not taking any responsiblity for this issue, nor offering to waive the fees. 

more ...
Aug 19, 2016
Horrible, do not finance with them
LillyBug1974 Account Holder

Worst customer service there is..... Paying off a loan should be easy, not painful! Total Loss department needs to be a total loss.... Was in a car accident and my car is totaled. It's been 3 months and their department has done nothing to get the insurance companies the information needed to finalize my claim. It's a daily battle!!! They lie, and think destroying credit is acceptable business processes!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations