Security Service Federal Credit Union (SSFCU) Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 07, 2017
Terrible customer service and charge forEVERYTHIN
aleanneb Account Holder

Worst banking experience I have ever had.

more ...
Jun 11, 2017
Crafty. READ EVERY WORD OF FINE PRINT
Anonymous Account Holder

They've repeatedly screwed me on transactions in the past forcing me to pay OD fees that were, in fact, not of my fault.

BTW, if you don't read the fine print, they'llplae LIENS on you car after it's paid off if you owe other debts to them!

more ...
May 25, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

You have to be very careful with your accounts on Security Service they are committing fraud.  They try to explain their transactions to you by phone so they can cover up their fraud.  I have been trying to remedy the situation for more than 2 weeks even talking to the manger herself Mrs Franklin.  She and her employees claim their do not understand their own statements and that is the reason why they cannot apply the correct amount to my statement.  Be aware check your loans and bank statements and as hard as you try it is going to be almost impossible to recover your money.  I am sure my account is only one of many. I cannot even imagine how much money under the water they are making.  Very fraudulent!

more ...
May 23, 2017
Used to be good... not anymore
Anonymous Account Holder

They started charging everyone $6.00 out of the blue for a program i didn't sign up for. The problem was that this was on a dormant account with $2.00 in it, and had not been touched for over 3 years. I was hit with fees and penalties, mgmt did not waive all of them and forced me to pay up or have my credit ruined. This was a blatant money grab, caution be aware and bank elsewhere

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Great Credit Union
ccoceangirl Account Holder

I have been with this credit union for almost 3 decades and they have always taken care of me.

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Your money is not secure
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank allows for you to get account info just by entering 4 digits into the automated system phone line.  No security code asked, no other forms of identifiers asked, just 4 digits.  When i brought this to the attention of management they originally said this didn't sound right.  I proved to them that it is true and they said they would look into it.   Got a call back saying this is the way it is designed and within reasonable risk according to the risk management department.  Wow.  They are taking reasonable risk with the privacy of my account?? Time to take my banking business elsewhere.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
horrible online payment policies
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't ever cancel a payment with these guys and expect them to honor that. I cancelled a scheduled payment (in order to make it sooner), they e-mailed me the payment was cacelled. I then made the payment online (sooner, again) and they debited my checking account for two payments, Customer service is rivalled only by Comcast for pure head-banging futility. The upshot is it will take a week to get my money back and I have to jump through several hoops to fix their mistake. 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Great experiences
femmeraven Account Holder

Not only do I bank at this institution but I've also financed loans and have had credit cards with them for almost 10 years.  They have always been of great service when I had questions or needed help. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Took over 30 minutes on hold to speak to someone. They do not respond to online banking messages. Continued to draft money from my account and only randomly sent me statements. I would definitely recommend using a different bank for loans!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 28, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 19, 2016
opts you into paid programs w/ no apprvl
Anonymous Account Holder

Out of the blue, I received an email advising that they were opting me into a super protected checking program with out my permission.  At the very bottom they indicate this will charge me $6 a month for a program I never showed any interest in.  The only way to opt out of the program was to call or go into a branch.  If I would have overlooked the email, they would have automatically started charging me $6 for a program that I never wanted.  VERY SHADY.  When I called to complain, the service was less than helpful and had a 'we dont care" attitude.  I asked for their email address and I wrote a very concerned email regarding the issue, cc'd the senior VP, and of course, I've received no reply.

I'm in the process of finding another bank now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 22, 2016

I received the email but never responded. A week later I received a letter in the mail with more information. It does give you the option to opt out of the program. Just call them and let them know you don't want the protection part and you won't have the monthly fee.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations