Security Service Federal Credit Union (SSFCU) Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2017
ssFU
Anonymous Account Holder

If you love being transferred from clueless rep to clueless rep to clueless rep to another clueless rep, being talked down to, long lines at the branches, websites from 1991 using systems from 1974, having better luck finding a leprechaun than a helpful and caring MSR, then look no further, SSFCU is the credit union for you. For the rest of us, we will be at institutions that focus on member service more than growing just to grow, and building new, larger corporate headquarters every 10 years. 

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
It sucks. Terrible customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

They are the wrost bank I have ever banked with. Switching as soon as possible. 

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Poor Customer service
Ssfcu Account Holder

They are so rude.. make you feel stupid for wasting there time answering your call.

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
"Upgraded" to Power Protected Checking
CodeWhiskey Account Holder

My checking account was recently upgraded to a Power Protected Checking Account. I didn't voluntarily upgrade to this and only noticed it when I spotted a $6 fee on my account statement. While the upgraded account has some interesting features, I don't use my debit card enough to make it worth the fee. 

- With $0.10 cash back per transaction it would take 60 uses per month to cover the fee. 

- The mobile phone coverage is a nice feature (up to $250) but I already have AppleCare. 

- They advertise "High Interest" on this account, but as far as I'm concerned it's a joke (0.05-0.50%); want to earn interest throw your money in a good savings account. 

- Track your Credit Score, yeah I have 4 credit cards that do that for free.

- ID Theft Expense Reimbursement/Identity Protection is what put me on the fence on this one. But in the end, I don't think it's worth the $6.00 fee for my uses. I use credit cards because they provide additional protection that regular checking accounts do not.

2 out of 5 stars. I was going to give 4 stars, but I don't appreciate the auto "upgrade" of my checking account. Otherwise, I've had nothing but good experiences with this credit union. I've been with them for several years with no issues. They've provided great customer service and respond to my online messages within 24 hours. However, I'm worried this recent change is a sign that this credit union is turning into a traditional bank.

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Terrible customer service and charge forEVERYTHIN
aleanneb Account Holder

Worst banking experience I have ever had.

more ...
Jun 11, 2017
Crafty. READ EVERY WORD OF FINE PRINT
Anonymous Account Holder

They've repeatedly screwed me on transactions in the past forcing me to pay OD fees that were, in fact, not of my fault.

BTW, if you don't read the fine print, they'llplae LIENS on you car after it's paid off if you owe other debts to them!

more ...
May 25, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

You have to be very careful with your accounts on Security Service they are committing fraud.  They try to explain their transactions to you by phone so they can cover up their fraud.  I have been trying to remedy the situation for more than 2 weeks even talking to the manger herself Mrs Franklin.  She and her employees claim their do not understand their own statements and that is the reason why they cannot apply the correct amount to my statement.  Be aware check your loans and bank statements and as hard as you try it is going to be almost impossible to recover your money.  I am sure my account is only one of many. I cannot even imagine how much money under the water they are making.  Very fraudulent!

more ...
May 23, 2017
Used to be good... not anymore
Anonymous Account Holder

They started charging everyone $6.00 out of the blue for a program i didn't sign up for. The problem was that this was on a dormant account with $2.00 in it, and had not been touched for over 3 years. I was hit with fees and penalties, mgmt did not waive all of them and forced me to pay up or have my credit ruined. This was a blatant money grab, caution be aware and bank elsewhere

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Great Credit Union
ccoceangirl Account Holder

I have been with this credit union for almost 3 decades and they have always taken care of me.

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Your money is not secure
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank allows for you to get account info just by entering 4 digits into the automated system phone line.  No security code asked, no other forms of identifiers asked, just 4 digits.  When i brought this to the attention of management they originally said this didn't sound right.  I proved to them that it is true and they said they would look into it.   Got a call back saying this is the way it is designed and within reasonable risk according to the risk management department.  Wow.  They are taking reasonable risk with the privacy of my account?? Time to take my banking business elsewhere.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2017

You can change your access code, it's the last option. Hope this helps.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations