Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Grow Financial Federal Credit Union

2.7 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2016
Perfect service and customer relations
Anonymous Account Holder

Never any problems. Service is excellent. Moved my money from a bank to this credit union and have had no regrets. I'll never go back to a bank again. Great credit card interest rate 7.4%. Friendly tellers who recognise me on a first name basis. No long lines. I only wish there were more branches.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 30, 2016
Terrible all around, aviod!
tmarie94 Account Holder

Grow was the worst loan experience I've had in my life. I had to deal with them for 3 years for my previous car loan and nothing was good. The customer service I received can't even be classified as "service". Everyone I talked to was rude and didn't listen to any of my concerns, which there was a decent amount due to their poor service. Also, even if you spend 3 years making on time payments, they won't help you with anything you may possibly need.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2016
Terrible all around, aviod!
tmarie94 Account Holder

Grow was the worst loan experience I've had in my life. I had to deal with them for 3 years for my previous car loan and nothing was good. The customer service I received can't even be classified as "service". Everyone I talked to was rude and didn't listen to any of my concerns, which there was a decent amount due to their poor service. Also, even if you spend 3 years making on time payments, they won't help you with anything you may possibly need.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Great products and services
Anonymous Account Holder

this credit union offers many services for my auto loan including paying from another institution, unlike many others that have mentioned having an issue. the online option saves your info after the first time a successful payment goes through, I originally used this option before I decided to move my entire account over. I also opened a checking account and moved all my money from another local credit union that didn't offer as many ATMs or as good of rates on their checking.

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
Grow Financial = Disorganized
boymetgirl80013 Account Holder

We have an auto loan, established through a dealer, and provided our insurance info and reported the lender info to our insurance company, months later we received a letter stating that forced placed insurance had been placed and 3k added to our loan...WHAT?  I called and waited for 3-5 minutes that lasted thirty-five minutes or more on several occasions.  I supposedly got multiple letters, which I did not receive one, and they should have said they should have called but not one They are terrible, disorganized, and very unhelpful.  Their issues go far beyond what I could list here but I am refinancing to drop them as a lender, they are the worst!

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Running a Racket?
Anonymous Account Holder

We applied for Homestead Exemption as fast as possible and it has taken this Credit Union over 7 months (still in process) to fix my mortgage.  My tax bill is exponentially higher than it should be (which Homestead should take care of) and this incorrect, increased tax bill increases my mortgage $350+ per month than what my mortgage should be.  This correction of this overpayment has "been in process" for 7 months resulting in 7 months of overpayment on my part ($2500).  They are making money off the interest in my overpayment AND if they do this stunt to enough poor saps, they make a pretty penny--GREAT RACKET GROW!  I'll keep calling and emailing weekly until you fix this.  

more ...
Jul 01, 2016
I have been vwry satisfied.
cmilagros51 Account Holder

Grow Fiancial has always been there for me.  I refinanced my car loan through them at a much lower interest rate.  I have been with then over 10 years with no complaints.

more ...
Jul 01, 2016
I have been vwry satisfied.
Anonymous Account Holder

Grow Fiancial has always been there for me.  I refinanced my car loan through them at a much lower interest rate.  I have been with then over 10 years with no complaints.

more ...
Jun 19, 2016
I'm stuck with it.
lanos99se Account Holder

The dealership gave my loan to Grow Financial. I didn't have a lot of choice due to time constraints. Had to travel for work. Come to find out this "Credit Union" has many dirty tricks to put you in default.  They make it hard to pay your payment each month by charging $10 for phone payments. There is no clear explaination of what mailing address to use to mail in payments so I could set up automatic payments through my own Credit Union or other provider like Intuit. They have no means of setting up autopay from an outside bank. And while you can make online payments for free you must enter your account and routing numbers for each payment. This is nearly impossible on a mobile device unless you carry all of your bank info with you. You may as well wear it on a T-shirt. The security would be comparaible. You can, however, set up automatic transfers to the savings account attached to your loan and then set up automatic payments to your loan from that account. But then your money is tied up in transfers for as much as 10 days. Over the course of the loan you'll lose a lot of earned interest and benifits associated with keeping a high daliy balance in your checking account. Also, like many others, I was sent a letter demanding proof of insurance or they would triple my monthly payment. The first letter I recived was a "final notice" with only four days to comply. Luckily, I was aware of this scam beforehand and was able to meet it head on. Many others were not so lucky. Nevermind the fact a dealer will not let you drive off in the car without insurance and it is their responsibility to set up the financing correctly. But they can't even do that because Grow Financial is only capable of supplying a single P.O. Box address for their multi-state operation. So, here I sit, late on my payment, with $5000+ in my "Bill Money" account, because my payment didn't post by the due date. I don't understand how all of my other bills can handle autopay and do it in a timely manner but these guys can't even cant count money during holidays and weekends. They do not operate in my state at all and I don't know why I ended up here. In the process of getting refinance with a more modern local Credit Union.

more ...
Jun 11, 2016
Perfect service and customer relations
Anonymous Account Holder

Never any problems. Service is excellent. Moved my money from a bank to this credit union and have had no regrets. I'll never go back to a bank again. Great credit card interest rate 7.4%. Friendly tellers who recognise me on a first name basis. No long lines. I only wish there were more branches.

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
Worst experience!
FarukhA Account Holder

Grow Financial uses unfair practice to keep their customers.  On 4/19/2016 we contacted Grow Financial customer support line at (800) 839-6328 to pay off her auto loan. We were advised that because she has several different payment methods (one of which is a credit card that is not in her name) she has to visit one of the branches. On 4/20/2016, we contacted the closest branch to confirm that we will be able to pay off the loan with a credit card and several other payment methods. She also confirmed the hours of operation. Because we are located approximately 100 miles away from the branch we decided to make sure that we will be able to achieve everything that we are planning to do, which is to pay off the auto loan. On 4/21/2016, before heading towards the branch, I called myself to that branch who confirmed that we will be able to pay with the credit card and two debit cards. When we arrived to the branch however, the teller told us that my credit card was declined. While I was outside to contact my bank to figure out the issue, the teller processed both of the other payments without even asking neither me, nor her, whether we want to proceed with the payments, even though one of them was declined. When I reached my bank, I was advised that the payment did not go through because Grow Financial tried to process it as cash advance. The teller Grow Financial tried to charge $5000 on my credit card as cash advance without even notifying me about it and without asking my permission to do so. When I asked her why is she processing it as cash advance, she said that they don't have pin pad terminals in their branch and that they can only process it as a cash advance. Who processes credit cards as a cash advance? Who pays $5000 as a cash advance with 30% apr and a bunch of fees? This is by far the most ridiculous thing that I had to deal with when it comes to financial institutions. I will never be a Grow Financial customer and I would not recommend that to anyone.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations