Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank®

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
2.0 5
Write a Review

About Credit Karma

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 18, 2014

It is what it is
Helpful to 41 out of 42 people

I got this card about 16months ago when my fico was about 530, got approved for 300, then 450, then 600 now 750.  Yes they charge u 22.95 for every increase, yes they charge their annual fee in annoying monthly payments of 8.25 probably hoping u miss a payment so they can hit u with the late fee.  My score is now 594 just got approved for cap one quicksilver for 300.  This card is about rebuilding credit ive never dealt with the cust service, i make about 200 a month of purchases and sometimes make multiple payments on purchases.  They do report to all 3 bureaus and it is accurate.  Its helped me get my score up and yes when i hit about 700 ill probably cancel it as i get better cards with lesser fees in the meantime if i asked u would u pay me 99 bucks if i could get your fico score up 50points in a year u probably would if you looking at this review, well thats what this card can do.  All the negative reviews are from stupid people not reading, yes express payments they charge, standard ones are free they take maybe 4 biz days and no your available credit isnt available til after it processes so maybe a week in total.  Everything is in writing people just have to learn to read and they then wont get u with all these hidden charges.

Read More

stevez33's review was:    

 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Mar 18, 2013

Aweful Card - Good Results
Helpful to 48 out of 52 people

I (like so many other young adults), screwed up my credit in my early 20's. Thus, when I was ready to rebuild my credit I made sure to read the fine print on the Credit One card agreement. I was fully aware of the $75.00 fee and the unreasonably high APR. My plan was to keep the account in good standing for a year, get better credit lines from more reputable companies, then cancel it.

I oped to open an account and get an additional card for my then fiance. This was pretty stupid because he didn't need it and they charged me an additional $20 for it. Nonetheless, I paid my $95 initial fee in full and continued  to use my card modestly for 12 months. My credit line was $400, I kept the balance below 30% and I ALWAYS paid the balance in full before it was due. In short, I basically micro-managed the account. Within 6 months, I was able to get an American Express card. About 5 months after that, I got a Capital One card. 

Here's what you need to know about Credit One:

* There are absolutely ZERO benefits or rewards points you can acquire. My American Express account already has 30,000 points that I can use for travel, dinners, hotels. etc. The only benefit to Credit One is that they report to the credit agencies which improves your credit score as long as you pay attention and pay on time.

* The initial fees and APR are really high and ridiculous. As a matter of fact, when my annual fees were approaching they tried to charge me another $20.00 for the additional card I had gotten for my fiance (now husband). However, when I called to dispute the charge they reversed it without having to argue with anyone. He never used the card. As a matter of fact, he never even activated it. I just found it annoying that they tried to charge me anyway.

* There is no customer service option when you call. FYI, you have to press 0 or you'll never talk to anyone. I've read a lot of reviews that say the customer service people are rude. I actually found the reps pretty helpful. Sure, they try to get you off the phone ASAP, but I've never had to haggle or argue with anyone. 

* It takes them a few days to post payments. Therefor, I always made a "Standard Payment" which takes a couple of days to process. They have an "Express Payment" option which clears the same day, but I believe they charge for that. I never did it because I felt it was a rip off. Just make sure to pay attention to your payment date. It would have been nice to schedule a payment with a specific payment date instead.

* When I was eligible for a credit line increase, they wanted to charge me $15 if I accepted the offer! Are you freakin kidding me?!

Finally, when I cancelled the card they tried to get me to stay by offering me a "discounted percentage rate of 18% for 6 months". I found this a little insulting because I had been a great customer for a year. When the rep asked me why I was cancelling my account, I told her it was mainly due to the annual fees. It would have been nice if they offered to waive it to keep my business. Either way, I'm glad to have gotten rid on the card!

Bottom line: Its a fairly easy way to rebuild your credit. Pay attention to the fees, use the card conservatively, make your payments on time and cancel it as soon as you qualify for better lines of credit!

Read More
 

Reviews (335)

Feb 26, 2015

Notso generous with credit line increase

I got this card last summer with a low credit score & was approved for $300. I was thinking "yay yipee!" meh. Not so much. Started out at $300, they increased my credit to $500 right away...and 7 months later..........still $500, even though I always pay ontime, more than the minimum payment and its at a low balance. My credit is now in the upper 600's so I'm about ready to just say good bye credit one, you're boring. Thanks for the credit score increases,  memories, that's all its good for. Don't expect any credit line increases from these people, even if you hit the CL button over the phone, it never works.

Read More

Snoreborezzzz's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 26, 2015

Good to Rebuild
Helpful to 0 out of 1 people

I got a solicitation in the mail, got approved for 300 right away. They will charge the annual fee on your first statement so be on the lookout. Their website is pretty easy to navigate and payments normally take about a day or so to be withdrawn from your account and posted. I haven't dealt with their customer service people so I can't really comment. My score has improved significantly, I have been rebuilding for about a year. My advice would be to pay it off each month to avoid the interest, and use it responsibly

Read More

lynnskd007's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 24, 2015

This credit card is a sham

I can't make payments online easily it's like they don't want me to pay the card off

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 24, 2015

Harassing Calls Event When Bill is Paid

A recent fee from CreditOne pushed me over the limit on my card.  After making a payment for double the minimum plus the amount over I figured I am set at least until I make another larger payment next week as I am fast tracking paying off this card.  I get a call this morning from someone who of course speaks broken english demanding a payment (my bill isn't due until 2/27 today is 2/24.).  I tell her I have made a payment just this morning via the website to which she demands verification.  I can understand that their system hasn't updated so I login and confirm the payment she then double checks to confirm.  She proceeds to say thank you for making the payment, but let's go ahead and pay the entire card balance now.  I tell her I am not prepared to do this (please note this card has always been paid on time and has only on one other occasion been over the limit.) She then proceeds to get more agressive and this starts to sound more and more like an agressive collection call even though my account is in good standing.  My recommendation to you is if you are building credit as I was when I first got this card seriously consider other options.  I am not privilaged enough to be able to pay off an entire balance when I am forced to use a card as an emergency backup, but I always make at least double the minimum payment.  This doesn't seem quite good enough for CreditOne.  Their practices are less than professional.

Read More

iraadams's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 18, 2015

It's a rebuilder card

Credit One has helped me get to where I am today, I now have Amex Everday, Chase Freedom, Discover It and Barclay accounts just recently opened, mostly due to them giving me a chance to prove myself. Will be closing the card soon even though it's one of my oldest accounts, but the associated fees are a bit much. 

Read More

thecreditlearner's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 12, 2015

Poor Flexibility in reporting scores
Helpful to 0 out of 1 people

I needed to rescore for a few points for a mortgage loan and they refused to update the credit bureau specifically transunion.  They aren't flexible, refuse to listen or work the client.  They have no direct customer service line and almost always transferred to India.  Try explaining mortgage processes to Indian Customer service.  The worst of the worst customer service by far.

Read More

gpalomar's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 09, 2015

It's helping me build my credit!
Helpful to 3 out of 3 people

I don't write reviews, but after reading so many negative ones I decided to step in. I have this card and it has helped me build my credit. I don't really know the exact fees I pay, but I've never made a late payment and my limited went up from $300 to $600 in the last 7 months. I recommend this card for everyone, like me, who messed up their credit and are trying to rebuild it.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 09, 2015

Worst Service To Expect

Stay away from Credit One Bank !!! They will make calls to you 2-3 Days prior to a payment due date to demand a payment to be paid. I was called last month by Credit One on January 26th to make a payment for the January 28th Due Date. After I told them I made the payment online, they try to solicit me by asking for my Credit Card Number, Full 9-Digit Social Security Number, Name, Address, Primary Phone Number and Secondary Phone Number (Mandatory according to the Representative), Date of Birth etc. I told the rep that I agree to only give the last 4 of my Social as I'm required to by law for security purposes. They persist on you to make an additional payment after you already made the payment. Also, their Credit Score reported on their website have major inaccuracies as compared to the actual Credit Score I receive each month from the 3 Major Bureaus and also my FICO Score. Credit One reported my score to be 498 when I received my Credit Scores directly from the 3 Bureaus, they all reflected a score of Equifax: 683 Experian: 662 Transunion: 679  FICO: 684. When I called Credit One, they were unable to help me after questioning them of the inaccuracies in the scores. Once I pay off this credit card at the end of the month, I'm going to close it.

Read More

ajb62787's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 09, 2015

Worst card ever

This credit card company withdrawed payments from my bank without my authorization. I called and filed a fraud and I hear nothing. I called again to check the status and nobody could give me any explanation and any reference number. I requested to close the account and asked for a confirmation email and the operator said this company dont send anything via email.

I have no idea when my case will be closed and have my money back.

The worst card ever.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 09, 2015

Good Overall Card
Helpful to 4 out of 4 people

I've probably had this card for about a year and went from a $300 limit up to an $800 limit. If you're complaining that you have bad credit, you're complaining about the fees, and you're complainging about the APR, then  DON'T PUT YOURSELF IN THAT PLACE TO BEGIN WITH. I know I made mistakes and I took what I did and am turning it into a possitive thing. I never needed the credit aspect of the card, I make more than enough to not have to charge things, but I got this to help build my credit for getting a mortgage in a couple of years. No, this isn't the only thing I am doing to build my credit, but seriously all the bad reviews on this card are from ignorant people who expected more than what they put themselves in.

Read More
  View 1 Reply Write A Reply |

Feb 21, 2015

I could'nt have said it better,I have two of their cards and I don't have any problems. It's all about reading the terms and conditions!

amforbes480's reply was:    

 

Add Your Review Of Credit One Bank®

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Company Overview

Credit One Bank is one of the leading issuers of Visa credit cards specifically for consumers who need to establish or rebuild their credit. Through Credit One Bank’s website, consumers can get pre-qualified or apply for a credit card without affecting their credit score. Consumers can also look over credit card offerings and check the status of their credit card application. Once consumers become cardholders, they can manage their account online through 24/7 online account access, sign up for email and text alert notifications, and also design and customize their card with the Design My Card lab online. Cardholders' payment records are reported to the three major credit bureaus. Customer service is available in an online help center, by mail, and over the phone.

Credit One Bank is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Approval Odds

Credit One Bank®

Search All Cards