Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
778 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 14, 2016
Do Your Homework and It Will Help
jcoreyw Cardholder

None of us would have this card, or be thinking about applying for this card, if we didn't need it.  So, that being said, of course this card is going to come with fees and high interest rates that other cards don't have for people with better credit.  Our goal is to obtain better credit, and in doing so there is a cost.  I read all terms and conditions before applying for the card.  I realized there was no grace period for interest accruing and I also realized I would have to immediately pay the annual fee of $75 after activating the card.  I also undestand that the next annual fee would be billed in installments.  All this I accepted before EVEN applying.  A lot of headaches could have been avoided if people would just read the terms and conditions before applying.  So, now my person opinion of the card.

1.)  The card will help raise your credit score if you pay on time and keep your utilization low.  I use mine only to pay Netflix and Hulu each month and then PIF.  The interest is next to nothing.  If you go out and max your card out and only pay the minimum payment, then undestand that your going to be paying a lot in interest and you won't be helping your score.  Use the card responsibly and it can work in your favor.

2.)  I've had no issues paying online.  As soon as the statement cuts I send a payment.  I don't wait until the last week or the LAST day - that's just crazy.  I understand that some people may not be able to do that based on when payday is - but understand the gamble you're taking by waiting until the last minute.  Also, there are a lot of people upset over the express payment fee.  Why?  I never pay that fee because I make a standard payment which is FREE.  The only reason anyone would need to use express payment is if they're hard up for the funds to be available faster in which case you're relying too much on the card.  Pay way ahead of time using the standard payment option and you can avoid the fee and relax.

3.)  I look at the annual fee as a penalty for my faulty use of credit in the past.  As with everything else, there is a cost.  The card will help to improve my credit which will allow me to obtain credit in the future without such fees.  But, in the meantime this is the sacrifice that I have to make to get where I need to be.  Again, all this was described in the terms and conditions before even applying for the card so this shouldn't come as a shock to anyone.  Do your research and READ everything before you apply for anything and you will avoid surprises. 

4.)  I called customer service shortly after activating my card to ask when the statment cut date was and when the first payment would be do.  I found the agent to be helpful and we both understood each other fine.  The customer service department does seem to be outsourced.  A lot of of other companies do this as well.  I know Wells Fargo has a call center in the Phillipines.  This isn't an issue for me, but it could be for some people.     

Use the card responsibly by keeping utlization low and PIF each month and it will work in your favor.  Hope this helps.  Good luck to everyone out there trying to do that right thing!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 01, 2016
Not the best, not the worst
jared858 Cardholder

I decided to write a review after reading some of the negative reviews on here. Is this card a good card? No. Is the company kind of sleazy? Yes. Do you have any other options? If so, why would you take this card?

This card was the first unsecured card to send me an offer. I knew it was terrible. I read the fine print (something half these reviewers don't seem to bother doing). I read the reviews of the card to know what I was getting into. But, I wanted to reestablish my credit, and didn't see a lot of other options. Capital One and American Express weren't exactly trying to woo my business. So, I got a little card with a $300 limit. Paid to have the limit increased and now have a $900 limit. I paid my bill early every month, and after a year, made sure to pay the monthly fee when it hit my account. I have better cards now, my credit score went up 100 points, and life is getting better. Did I know I was getting screwed with fees and high interest? Yes. Did I accept that as the price I had to pay for being irresponsible years ago? Absolutely. Get the card, read the rules and FOLLOW them, pay on time, and cancel the card once your credit improves enough to get a better card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 23, 2017
Good for credit building
pistol22cal Cardholder

Ive never had a single issue with this card at all.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Worst creditcard
JoelRosenberg Cardholder

Paid my bill express, they promise you hte funds the next business day. Its now been 3 days and i still cant see the funds avaiable. Hoverver, they were still quck to charge me with the express fee. (it has now happened 2 times in a row. They are very missleading

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
misleading & horrible.
curses421 Cardholder

Look up the company before dealing with this card.  The only reason I got it was because I thought it was another one from Capital One, which I have (and love).... obviously something I should have caught, but the font & name are "coincidentally" just like Capital One.  They charge you astronomical fees for paying your bill online, and if you don't pay it 10 days or so before it's due, there's an additional "rush" fee to get your payment there on time.  The whole thing is just ridiculous.  I cut up the card and got rid of it and am in the process of paying off the rest of it & got locked out of my online account... I have no way to access my own account without having the physical card in front of me, even after talking to customer service and verifying my account information & personal information.  Since I've gotten the card it's been nothing but bad customer service and excessive fees for basic services.  I can't wait to get done with them and deal with reputable companies only.  STAY AWAY!

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Horrible Closing It
Eve2010 Cardholder

Get a secured card from a reputable place instead of this $300 card. The customer service staffs are clueless for the most part and so is the company from top to bottom it seem. A total waste of time and money avoid it at all costs. It will cost you and that is there only goal a quick gain. Capital One! Is the way to go. Credit Karma should not associate their great business with this company. 40% Rating accross the board speaks volume.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Dont honor verbal changes! Get N writing
Anonymous Cardholder

First off i spend 1k+ a month on the card. For 3+ years. I pay it off every month. So they make good money off  vendors and get paid by me every month.  I talked to them last year to upgrade my account and reverse the annual membership because i have excellent cretit and dont feel the need to pay annually anymore. We were all good upgraded and reversed. Now a year later there telling me theres no records of that taking place and that they cannot reverse the fee no matter what. So i cancelled. I mean really what a horrible way to honor your good customers.. i hope everyone else does the same!!! And good luck if u have-em..

Oh on another note i cancelled my other card last year whith them because they did not want to return money to me that was put as down as deposit (no credit at the time). it was THE ONLY way to get MY money back even though i had a better card with them and good credit.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Horrible

Run while you can. This company is a rip off and a scam if I ever seen one. They sneak a one time $75 processing fee of which is deducted from your initial credit balance and a bill is all ready prepared of $25 that you owe 2 weeks after getting card. There was no page of any sort on the application that explained this one time charge. Why should you pay them and they want your business? The call center customer service is horrible and disrespectful on every level possible. Mangers thinks it's ok to place you on mute and laugh. When informed that I would contact corporate Manger asked if I needed the number. Don't leave any business with this company.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017

Did you read the disclosure? The fee was clear and upfront. Always research before you apply

 
Feb 21, 2017

That's exactly what I was going to say. I received a "pre-approved" package from them and read every word. It clearly stated there is an annual fee involved in opening the account. I think this is how folks get messed up in the credit game ~ they don't read before they sign on the dotted line!

 
Feb 20, 2017
Terrible

This company is a rip off and a scam. STY A WAY. The customer service is horrible right down to the mangers. There is a $75 charge for opening the account. I be never heard, saw nor read any where on the application page that stated this charge. I was so miss treated and disrespected by the Manger yesterday. She thought it was funny to keep muting me and laughing while I voiced my concern. Explained to her that I would be contacting corporate and she asked if I needed the number. Would never do business with them again and hate I signed up.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Works for me
Jdavisbug Cardholder

Applied on feb 6th, card was mailed on the 10th i received on the 14th. I was approved for $400 limit, i read the disclosure and the terms very thoroughly to make sure i understood everything. The fees are all upfront....nothing is hidden. If you think there are hidden fees then obviously you didnt read well. These are the consequences we gotta pay for bad credit but it is worth rebuilding. Not to mention the online access is very easy. I usually use my credit card for everything and pay in full before the cut off date. My bill is on the 14th, report day to the bureaus is on the 17th. So i make sure i pay in full on the 12th to show that my UTI is low. I like this card and they report to all 3 credit bureaus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 21, 2017

Good luck!

 
Feb 19, 2017
Not a very good card
Anonymous Cardholder

I wouldn't apply for this card even if you don't use it you owe a monthly fee,you have to pay interest even if you pay your bill in full each month.i would strongly recommend cap one secured card before this one

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I regret applying for this credit. The worst customer service, I kept paying them without even using the card not even one time. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations