Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
490 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2016
Great card for rebuilding credit!
tutomut Cardholder

If you need or want to rebuild your credit, then this card will do just that. Yes the card has some high fees, yearly, which they charge monthly, and APR, but what do you expect. You either have bad or no credit, so of course there are going to be fees. You will get offered limit increases, for a fee. You can request an increase, for a fee. I've had zero problems with this card. Make all of  your payments and you're good to go. I have had this card for two years with a starting score of 499, now it's 720. Can't complain about that. 

After reading all the negative reviews, complaining about the fees, all I can say is, if you didn't mess up in the first place you wouldn't need this card. Poeplw seem to want everything for nothing. Zero interest for a year, low APR, No annual fee. How can someone expect that, the financial institution is taking a chance on your ability to pay, so why not charge fees. And for those who are complaining about late fees, for whatever the reason, that's your own fault. Don't pay late and you don't pay a fee. After all, that's probably  what got you bad credit in the first place. 

So over all, I would recommend this card to anyone who is serious about rebuilding their credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 01, 2016
Not the best, not the worst
jared858 Cardholder

I decided to write a review after reading some of the negative reviews on here. Is this card a good card? No. Is the company kind of sleazy? Yes. Do you have any other options? If so, why would you take this card?

This card was the first unsecured card to send me an offer. I knew it was terrible. I read the fine print (something half these reviewers don't seem to bother doing). I read the reviews of the card to know what I was getting into. But, I wanted to reestablish my credit, and didn't see a lot of other options. Capital One and American Express weren't exactly trying to woo my business. So, I got a little card with a $300 limit. Paid to have the limit increased and now have a $900 limit. I paid my bill early every month, and after a year, made sure to pay the monthly fee when it hit my account. I have better cards now, my credit score went up 100 points, and life is getting better. Did I know I was getting screwed with fees and high interest? Yes. Did I accept that as the price I had to pay for being irresponsible years ago? Absolutely. Get the card, read the rules and FOLLOW them, pay on time, and cancel the card once your credit improves enough to get a better card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 27, 2016
bebaacire Cardholder

This card is OK. I agree with other comments as far as "it is what it is." What can you expect from creditors that offer you credit when you are trying to build it. I will say that their customer service is horrible. But again, it is what it is. Haven't had any issues. As long as you pay your bill at least a week before you're due date you should be fine. Also, when I over paid, I called and requested a credit balance refund and they sent the check within a week with no questions asked. So far, so good.

more ...
Aug 26, 2016
NO PROTECTIONS OF A REAL CREDIT CARD

My Credit One account was compromised.  While I have never been to Switzerland, my Credit One credit card has.  CreditOne has NO SECURITY department and unlike a real credit card, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE IF SOMEONE STEALS OR USES YOUR ACCOUNT.  And here is the kicker, I have kept two of these CreditOne cards for emergencies for a few years now.  Their yearly fee is excessive, their interest rate is excessive, one card was used one time to charge $6 at a local supermarket.  And even though, my credit cards have never been used overseas, out of state or on the internet, Credit One allowed a fraudulent charge of $233 for a Railroad ticket in Switzerland to post to my account.  And when I called to advise them of the issue, Credit One was willing to cancel the one card but they refuse to close either account.  I have another $2000 in open credit, the account has been compromised and they refuse to close my accounts.  And...  I am being told that while I may dispute the charge, I am still responsible for payment.....  This is not a real bank and this is not a real credit card.  IT CARRIES NONE OFTHE PROTECTIONS OF A REAL CREDIT CARD.  Its not really a scam but its no really a credit card either.  It is an accident waiting to happen.

more ...
Aug 26, 2016
You will regret it
som3Mitch Cardholder

There is application fee, annual fee, late fee, APR fees that are ALL way too high. Why not just flush your Miley down the toilet because at least you'll get use by wiping your behind. With Credit One you'll feel like you are wiping their behinds with your money, and your own behind will be bare and I wiped. That's how I felt, just saying

more ...
Aug 24, 2016
Fees for everything!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Annual fee every month plus interest charge higher than other credit cards.

more ...
Aug 24, 2016
SickKick Cardholder

Considering using this card to rebuild your credit?  Save yourself the effort and just open your wallet and throw your money out the window.   Otherwise you're going to be victimized by fraud.  Shame on Credit Karma for soliciting this card as an option to people that need help.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
they lie...
Anonymous Cardholder

They lie to you about raising yur credit limit.. I was told it would take one year before they raise yur credit limit.. I never missed a payment and always paid 3 or times more than the minimum payment.. Since my credit score went up I was approved for a 2 Capital One cards... Now Credit One declined my credit increase cause I have 2 other cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 25, 2016

Interesting. They gave me an increase after my first payment and I didn't even ask.

 
Aug 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Bad credit card.   

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
FRAUDS!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I received my card in the mail after waiting for nearly 3 weeks.  I activated the card and used it a few times in person. Then the next day I went to use the card and it was declined. There was $240.46 in fraudulent activity  from JC Penny.com. I told them to flag it as fraud.   I also called JC penny and they were able to cancel the transaction. The person(s) who used my card used my billing address and name but a different shipping address so they flagged the purchase anyway.  The next day, I got a notification that my account was over the credit limit by 105.00. I called Credit one and they said a purchase for USPS.com was made for $96.87 WTH how is that possible if you flagged my card already and were issuing me a new one? I should have heeded all the negative reviews. IF YOU ARE READING THIS DO NOT APPLY FOR  A CARD WITH THEM. IT IS NOT WORTH IT!  YOU WILL BE IN A FAR WORSE POSITION.  They also say it takes 60 days for their investigation. Really 60 days??????  Please please please do not be so desperate to build your credit using these guys!!  You will regret it. Listen to those of us who have had issues. Their overall rating is 1 star. 

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
great card no issues at all!
Anonymous Cardholder

Yes the fees are high and they do charge you the annual fee after  card activiation.  But if you pay on time using the free standard payment and keep a low balance to no balance this card is for you. I've called customer service multiple times and had no issues whatsoever, in fact they were very polite and helpful. This bank gave me a chance and so far so good, also they've increased my credit limit from $400 to $600 just after one statement automatically. Be smart about charging and paying off and there will be no issues.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations