Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
648 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2016
Great card for rebuilding credit!
tutomut Cardholder

If you need or want to rebuild your credit, then this card will do just that. Yes the card has some high fees, yearly, which they charge monthly, and APR, but what do you expect. You either have bad or no credit, so of course there are going to be fees. You will get offered limit increases, for a fee. You can request an increase, for a fee. I've had zero problems with this card. Make all of  your payments and you're good to go. I have had this card for two years with a starting score of 499, now it's 720. Can't complain about that. 

After reading all the negative reviews, complaining about the fees, all I can say is, if you didn't mess up in the first place you wouldn't need this card. Poeplw seem to want everything for nothing. Zero interest for a year, low APR, No annual fee. How can someone expect that, the financial institution is taking a chance on your ability to pay, so why not charge fees. And for those who are complaining about late fees, for whatever the reason, that's your own fault. Don't pay late and you don't pay a fee. After all, that's probably  what got you bad credit in the first place. 

So over all, I would recommend this card to anyone who is serious about rebuilding their credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 01, 2016
Not the best, not the worst
jared858 Cardholder

I decided to write a review after reading some of the negative reviews on here. Is this card a good card? No. Is the company kind of sleazy? Yes. Do you have any other options? If so, why would you take this card?

This card was the first unsecured card to send me an offer. I knew it was terrible. I read the fine print (something half these reviewers don't seem to bother doing). I read the reviews of the card to know what I was getting into. But, I wanted to reestablish my credit, and didn't see a lot of other options. Capital One and American Express weren't exactly trying to woo my business. So, I got a little card with a $300 limit. Paid to have the limit increased and now have a $900 limit. I paid my bill early every month, and after a year, made sure to pay the monthly fee when it hit my account. I have better cards now, my credit score went up 100 points, and life is getting better. Did I know I was getting screwed with fees and high interest? Yes. Did I accept that as the price I had to pay for being irresponsible years ago? Absolutely. Get the card, read the rules and FOLLOW them, pay on time, and cancel the card once your credit improves enough to get a better card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 05, 2016
The WORST customer service experience.
pavilamedina Cardholder

Their system state their shcedule of withdrawal and posting with 0 accuracy. It says they will be posting in your account in 5 business days it takes up to 10, also it says they will be taking the funds in 3 to 5 business days from your account they take it in 2 or one. They close the account without notification, and you find out by calling them over the phone, because they blocked the ability to submit payments, moreover, they demand that you give your personal information over the phone, thus they can bill you the balance and interest which the closed account will accrued even though it has been close by them.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Poor service, good to rebuild credit
Zyr Cardholder

I ditched this card when the annual fee was assessed and they charged interest on their own fee! Customer service must be outsourced overseas because their reps are barely intelligible. 

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
wouldn't let me close account
rahhonda Cardholder

Due to outlandish charges and a lack of customer service, I wanted my account closed. I had contacted them when someone was fraudulently charging Spokeo to my card and Credit ONe refused to take action other than to reissue me a new card. They said it was my fault for not noticing sooner!

I finally had enough of their shenanigans and called to close my account.  They passed my call from one person to another. One of the agents actually started yelling at me. I asked for a supervisor. They did everything they could so I didn't close my account. I finally asked, "What government agency do I need to contact in order to have my account closed?" They did not want to close my account and were trying to tell me that the charges were going to continue. I said I understood that but no longer wanted this card. I could not believe they were argumentative and irate with me. Finally I got the supervisor I demanded who agreed to close my account.  AVOID THIS CARD AT ALL COSTS PEOPLE!  This was like dealing with a GANG

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
I HATE THIS CARD
SherellS Cardholder

IM SO TIRED OF THIS **** CARD!! THEY ARE THE ONLY CREDIT COMPANY I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH . MAKING A PAYMENT IS A PAIN IN THE A**.. THEY HAVE A DUE DATE THAT U NEED TO MAKE A PAYMENT AND WEN U PAY IT IT TAKES LIKE 5 DAYS TO COMES OUT YOUR ACCOUNT.. THE MONEY THEN IF U GET APPROVED FOR $400 U ONLY CAN SPEND $300 BUT HAVE TO PAY $400 BACK THEN U GET THE WHOLE $400 AFTER U PAY THEM BACK..

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Fees, fees, and more fees! Very shady
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for about a year, and am currently on the phone waiting to speak with a customer service representative to close my account. Even after paying off my balance in full, I was charged additional interest. After complaining about the extra interest charged and requesting to close my account, the customer service rep issued me a $20 credit and refunded the interest. I have not used the card since, but about a week ago, I started receiving phone calls from an unknown 1-800 number. They didn't leave any voice messages, so I assumed it was a telemarketer. After about 15 phone calls, I decided to call the number back, and it turned out to be Credit One. I spoke to a customer service rep who said I was 9 days late on paying for my $24 annual fee (a fee I WAS NOT notified about). On TOP OF THAT, I was told I would be charged a $9 processing fee to pay off the balance. So I ended up paying $33 just to be able to close the account. Also, every time I've called customer service, the connection is terrible and you can barely understand what the person is saying. Stear clear. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Too Many Fees
Anonymous Cardholder

The fees are high and before you even get to use your card you have to pay the yearly fee. There is no way to set up automatic PMT's which makes it inconvinent and if you want your payment to get taken out right away theres an additonal fee. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Just Awful
Anonymous Cardholder

The customer service call center is useless, the company itself is so bad that it takes 2 weeks or more for funds to become availalbe after posting a payment and they reguarly close/cancel or issue new cards without any notice. I have had nothing but problems with this company and would not reccommend it to anyone trying to establish or build credit. 

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Amazing!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for credit one bank credit card. So far I love it! I always pay my bills on time. Must of the time I pay 3 times a month; because I want to continue using it. I got approved for $300 credit limit at first. I can't wait for them to increase my credit limit. Im always paying ahead. If you are having trouble with your credit, go on their website and apply; it wouldn't hurt to give it a shot. Remember to pay on time and what do you expect, when it comes to the APR rates and interests; when it comes to rebuilding your credit. With this credit card it has improve my credit. Last but not least, the customer service are very nice and haven't had any problems with them. Thank you credit one bank.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Charge too many fees.
Anonymous Cardholder

If you want to pay a lot of fees and $8.25 a month just to use the card then go ahead and open an account with this company. They also charge you other hidden fees that they add through out the year. I can not wait to finish paying this card off and be done with this company.  They have been nice in forgiving a late payment since it had never happened before, but overall I feel like they charge too many fees. 

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
Worst card out there!! Fees&More fees!!
RbaronM Cardholder

The fees are hidden as you cannot access anything online. It is always unavailable when the fees increase. They tell you they have sent you the updated policies and you never receive them in the mail. Meanwhile all these charges appear on your card. Paid mine off and tried to close account. The next day after balance showed zero, more fees magically appeared. Happened in November this year. However my annual fee is in April. Debated on phone to no avail. I have requested for my account to be closed once again after another zero balance. Hopefully it works this time. We will see.........      My humble advice is to avoid this card at all costs.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations