Credit One Bank Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
938 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 14, 2016
Do Your Homework and It Will Help
jcoreyw Cardholder

None of us would have this card, or be thinking about applying for this card, if we didn't need it.  So, that being said, of course this card is going to come with fees and high interest rates that other cards don't have for people with better credit.  Our goal is to obtain better credit, and in doing so there is a cost.  I read all terms and conditions before applying for the card.  I realized there was no grace period for interest accruing and I also realized I would have to immediately pay the annual fee of $75 after activating the card.  I also undestand that the next annual fee would be billed in installments.  All this I accepted before EVEN applying.  A lot of headaches could have been avoided if people would just read the terms and conditions before applying.  So, now my person opinion of the card.

1.)  The card will help raise your credit score if you pay on time and keep your utilization low.  I use mine only to pay Netflix and Hulu each month and then PIF.  The interest is next to nothing.  If you go out and max your card out and only pay the minimum payment, then undestand that your going to be paying a lot in interest and you won't be helping your score.  Use the card responsibly and it can work in your favor.

2.)  I've had no issues paying online.  As soon as the statement cuts I send a payment.  I don't wait until the last week or the LAST day - that's just crazy.  I understand that some people may not be able to do that based on when payday is - but understand the gamble you're taking by waiting until the last minute.  Also, there are a lot of people upset over the express payment fee.  Why?  I never pay that fee because I make a standard payment which is FREE.  The only reason anyone would need to use express payment is if they're hard up for the funds to be available faster in which case you're relying too much on the card.  Pay way ahead of time using the standard payment option and you can avoid the fee and relax.

3.)  I look at the annual fee as a penalty for my faulty use of credit in the past.  As with everything else, there is a cost.  The card will help to improve my credit which will allow me to obtain credit in the future without such fees.  But, in the meantime this is the sacrifice that I have to make to get where I need to be.  Again, all this was described in the terms and conditions before even applying for the card so this shouldn't come as a shock to anyone.  Do your research and READ everything before you apply for anything and you will avoid surprises. 

4.)  I called customer service shortly after activating my card to ask when the statment cut date was and when the first payment would be do.  I found the agent to be helpful and we both understood each other fine.  The customer service department does seem to be outsourced.  A lot of of other companies do this as well.  I know Wells Fargo has a call center in the Phillipines.  This isn't an issue for me, but it could be for some people.     

Use the card responsibly by keeping utlization low and PIF each month and it will work in your favor.  Hope this helps.  Good luck to everyone out there trying to do that right thing!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 18, 2013
Aweful Card - Good Results
Anonymous Cardholder

I (like so many other young adults), screwed up my credit in my early 20's. Thus, when I was ready to rebuild my credit I made sure to read the fine print on the Credit One card agreement. I was fully aware of the $75.00 fee and the unreasonably high APR. My plan was to keep the account in good standing for a year, get better credit lines from more reputable companies, then cancel it.

I oped to open an account and get an additional card for my then fiance. This was pretty stupid because he didn't need it and they charged me an additional $20 for it. Nonetheless, I paid my $95 initial fee in full and continued  to use my card modestly for 12 months. My credit line was $400, I kept the balance below 30% and I ALWAYS paid the balance in full before it was due. In short, I basically micro-managed the account. Within 6 months, I was able to get an American Express card. About 5 months after that, I got a Capital One card. 

Here's what you need to know about Credit One:

* There are absolutely ZERO benefits or rewards points you can acquire. My American Express account already has 30,000 points that I can use for travel, dinners, hotels. etc. The only benefit to Credit One is that they report to the credit agencies which improves your credit score as long as you pay attention and pay on time.

* The initial fees and APR are really high and ridiculous. As a matter of fact, when my annual fees were approaching they tried to charge me another $20.00 for the additional card I had gotten for my fiance (now husband). However, when I called to dispute the charge they reversed it without having to argue with anyone. He never used the card. As a matter of fact, he never even activated it. I just found it annoying that they tried to charge me anyway.

* There is no customer service option when you call. FYI, you have to press 0 or you'll never talk to anyone. I've read a lot of reviews that say the customer service people are rude. I actually found the reps pretty helpful. Sure, they try to get you off the phone ASAP, but I've never had to haggle or argue with anyone. 

* It takes them a few days to post payments. Therefor, I always made a "Standard Payment" which takes a couple of days to process. They have an "Express Payment" option which clears the same day, but I believe they charge for that. I never did it because I felt it was a rip off. Just make sure to pay attention to your payment date. It would have been nice to schedule a payment with a specific payment date instead.

* When I was eligible for a credit line increase, they wanted to charge me $15 if I accepted the offer! Are you freakin kidding me?!

Finally, when I cancelled the card they tried to get me to stay by offering me a "discounted percentage rate of 18% for 6 months". I found this a little insulting because I had been a great customer for a year. When the rep asked me why I was cancelling my account, I told her it was mainly due to the annual fees. It would have been nice if they offered to waive it to keep my business. Either way, I'm glad to have gotten rid on the card!

Bottom line: Its a fairly easy way to rebuild your credit. Pay attention to the fees, use the card conservatively, make your payments on time and cancel it as soon as you qualify for better lines of credit!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 23, 2017
Lilmrscasey Cardholder

Absolutely love the card but hate that when u call to check balance all someone has to do is type in the last 4 or ur social and the card number and can get all ur info. So ur pretty much screwed if someone steals ur wallet with ur cod and ss

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
jdmpink Cardholder

I HAD CREDIT ONE A FEW YEARS AGO. I INITIALLY OPENED THE CARD DURING A TIME MY FAMILY WAS GOING THROUGH MEDICAL ISSUES. I RECEIVED A LETTER IN THE MAIL TO CONTACT THEM OR BE SENT TO COLLECTIONS. I CALLED THEM THE NEXT DAY AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT THEY HAD ALREADY SENT ME TO COLLECTIONS AND MARKED MY ACCOUNT AS A CHARGE OFF. I DISPUTED THIS ON MY CREDIT REPORT AND IT WAS FULLY REMOVED. I RECENTLY DECIDED TO GIVE THIS COMPANY ANOTHER CHANCE EVEN THOUGH THEY WERE UNWILLING TO HELP ME AFTER SENDING ME TO COLLECTION THE DAY I RECEIVED MY LETTER IN THE MAIL. I CHECKED MY PRE-APPROVAL AND THEY DENIED ME AS EVER BEING THEIR CUSTOMER AGAIN DUE TO A CHARGE OFF. THIS DOES NOT SHOW UP ANYWHERE ON MY CREDIT RECORD AND I HAVE CREDIT CARDS WITH 3 OTHER COMPANIES. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND CAPITAL ONE I HAVE USED THEM FOR YEARS AS WELL AND THEY HAVE REALLY GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE ANYTIME I HAVE AN ISSUE. CREDIT ONE BANK SEEMS TO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS OR IF CUSTOMERS ARE ATTEMPTING TO CHOOSE THEM FOR A SECOND TIME AFTER THEY TREATED THEM HORRIBLY.  

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
jdmpink Cardholder

I HAD THIS CARD A FEW YEARS AGO. CREDIT ONE NOTIFIED ME THAT I NEEDED TO CONTACT THEM BEFORE SENDING ME TO COLLECTION. I CALLED BACK THE NEXT DAY AFTER RECEIVING THE LETTER. THEY HAD ALREADY SENT ME TO COLLECTIONS AND MARKED IT AS A CHARGE OFF. I DISPUTED THIS ON MY CREDIT REPORT AND IT ULTIMATELY WAS REMOVED. I RECENTLY DECIDED TO GIVE CREDIT ONE ANOTHER CHANCE HOWEVER THEY STILL HAVE ME IN THEIR SYSTEM AS HAVING A CHARGE OFF AND SAID THEY COULD NEVER ACCEPT ME AS A CUSTOMER AGAIN. I HAVE NO RECORDS OF IT REPORTED ON MY CREDIT REPORT AND I ALSO HAVE CREDIT CARDS WITH 3 OTHER COMPANIES. I HIGHLY SUGGEST CAPITAL ONE INSTEAD. ANYTIME I HAVE EVER HAD AN ISSUE THEY ALWAYS PROVIDE THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE. CREDIT ONE SEEMS TO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS AND/OR ACCEPTING RETURNING CUSTOMERS.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Worst company ever. Do they own credit k
Jupiter277 Cardholder

Cannot get any assistance - unless you want more credit! No English speaking people. If you have ibogus charges good luck you will never get any assistance. Credit karma should remove this company from their site.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Very badddddd....
Anonymous Cardholder

Can someone tell how can cancel this credit card? I just spent 33.00 and now they are charging 115 dollars.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Worst credit card I own!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

This credit card is the worst credit card I own... First of all my credit dropped as soon as I got it... They charge me 99 cents for I don't know what every time... To get the card you have to pay $75.00  annual fee... But I mean worst credit card ever in the history of credit cards... I loveeeee capital one it's the best starter credit card you can have... Can't wait to pay them off to cut this card up into four pieces and throw it away...

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Worst bank ever!
Anonymous Cardholder

The bank called me and said that I was late when I made a payment. When I asked why it didn't go throught they rudely said "Because you did something wrong!" I have been told I can't do payments over the phone and they charge you for a payment to go through in 2 days when that is the normal timeline for other banks. Customer service is rude!

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Worst mistake of my life!
nemeanleo Cardholder

I got this card it was my first credit card ever. I was always scared about getting credit cards but decided to try this one because it was the first offer sent to me. Biggest mistake of my life. I honestly never tried applying for credit cards because I thought if I qualified they'd send me offers like this company did. I was wrong. But anyway this company harrassess you if you are late. Which I know being late is bad. But if you make arrangements it should stop those calls. I ran into some money troubles after my accident and called them to make arrangements and they still called me every day for that week multiple times a day.  I'm paying this card off and closing the account.  Getting an increase is a joke. I was never offered one but my sister was and they wanted to charge her for the increase. They were gonna increase it by 200 dollars but then charge 40 dollars to do it. I have capital one now and they are SOOOO much better. I earn rewards quicker and they don't harrass me like this company did. they have given me multiple increases and when I fell behind with bills they didn't charge me a late fee they worked with me and I've never had any problems with them. They are 10 times better than this company. So do yourself a favor and don't get this card. 

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
AVOID at all costs. find another card.
StNolly Cardholder

Customer service is only possible to be reached by their hidden number 855-306-4247 (only way to get a live person)

Their website does not offer any intuitive way to pay your bill unless you want to pay an extra $9.95

I called their support to make a payment and they said my bank will not work on their site so I can only pay Via postal service or money gram. they told me they do not accept any other way of payment for my account.

They seem to only want to talk to you if you say the word 'money' I tried calling sevral times and they kept transfering me to an automated system that does not work. after about the 20th (no joke) time calling I let them know "im just trying to pay a bill with money." after a 15 min hold they got me to a person who could  take payment

When making payments on their site they will often drop your payment and say they 'never received it' 

Very shady company and should not be in buisness for how poorly they treat their customers

The whole thing reminds me of the email scams about the prince from another country who needs to send gold bars to the states. but needs $200 deposit from you first.

more ...
Jun 12, 2017
AGGRAVATING
lovethemac Cardholder

IF YOU'RE WILLING TO JUST USE THIS CARD EXTREMELY RESPONSIBLY, BY THE BLACK LETTERS, MEANING 30% OR LESS, AND DEALING WITH THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER, AND THE WORST PAYMENT OPTIONS EVER. BE MY GUEST. BUT IM NOT STAYING LONG. THESE PEOPLE DONT RESPECT CUSTOMERS, THEY'RE JUST AT WORK. AND THEN THEY WAIT MONTHS UNTIL YOURE USING THE CARD TO ASK FOR VERIFICATION. SO YOU CAN BE AT THE MALL TRYING TO BUY SOMETHING CARD DECLINE FOR THE FIRST TIME, CARD SHUT OFF THEY HOLD ALL YOUR MONEY, DENY ALL PAYMENTS AND SAY SEND IN A ID. WITH ONE FAX MACHINE NUMBER BEING 7029575200 BEING TRYING TO SEND IT IN FOR A OVER A WEEK NOW. THEY CLAIM THEY HAVENT GOTTEN IT BY MAIL NITHER. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. AND THIS COMPANY HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT AN INCONVIENCE TO ME SINCE THEY SENT IT TO ME.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>