Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
556 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2016
Great card for rebuilding credit!
tutomut Cardholder

If you need or want to rebuild your credit, then this card will do just that. Yes the card has some high fees, yearly, which they charge monthly, and APR, but what do you expect. You either have bad or no credit, so of course there are going to be fees. You will get offered limit increases, for a fee. You can request an increase, for a fee. I've had zero problems with this card. Make all of  your payments and you're good to go. I have had this card for two years with a starting score of 499, now it's 720. Can't complain about that. 

After reading all the negative reviews, complaining about the fees, all I can say is, if you didn't mess up in the first place you wouldn't need this card. Poeplw seem to want everything for nothing. Zero interest for a year, low APR, No annual fee. How can someone expect that, the financial institution is taking a chance on your ability to pay, so why not charge fees. And for those who are complaining about late fees, for whatever the reason, that's your own fault. Don't pay late and you don't pay a fee. After all, that's probably  what got you bad credit in the first place. 

So over all, I would recommend this card to anyone who is serious about rebuilding their credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 01, 2016
Not the best, not the worst
jared858 Cardholder

I decided to write a review after reading some of the negative reviews on here. Is this card a good card? No. Is the company kind of sleazy? Yes. Do you have any other options? If so, why would you take this card?

This card was the first unsecured card to send me an offer. I knew it was terrible. I read the fine print (something half these reviewers don't seem to bother doing). I read the reviews of the card to know what I was getting into. But, I wanted to reestablish my credit, and didn't see a lot of other options. Capital One and American Express weren't exactly trying to woo my business. So, I got a little card with a $300 limit. Paid to have the limit increased and now have a $900 limit. I paid my bill early every month, and after a year, made sure to pay the monthly fee when it hit my account. I have better cards now, my credit score went up 100 points, and life is getting better. Did I know I was getting screwed with fees and high interest? Yes. Did I accept that as the price I had to pay for being irresponsible years ago? Absolutely. Get the card, read the rules and FOLLOW them, pay on time, and cancel the card once your credit improves enough to get a better card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 30, 2016
Worthless, horrible service, crappy rate
Anonymous Cardholder

I initially got this card to rebuild credit after I was in an accident without medical insurance and was forced to file BK. Honestly, I regret it. I should have just done secured cards with my bank. They WILL block your card AND your online access due to "potential fraud". Doesn't sound like a big deal until they do it right before you need to make a payment and then want to charge you an extra $20 to make a payment on the phone. ABSURD. I wouldn't wish this card or this company on my worst enemy. Quite literally the worst customer service I've ever experienced in my life. 

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible can't even make a payment plus constantly trying to charge you a fee they should be investigated!

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
Don"t GET IT EVEN IF YOUR DESPERATE
kalarkin Cardholder

THis card is worthless!!!!!

I have great credit. I applied for this card when I recieved an internet invitation. I did'nt know it was a "2nd cahnce card". I didn't need a second chance. I just wanted another credit card so I applied. After being approved and only for a 600.00 credit line I was disgusted!!! When I called CS, it was then I learned it was classed as a "2nd chance card". I asked CS why this was not disclosed during the application and was told "we have no obligation to tell anyone". So what it boils down to is people seeking credit cards who have great credit can be sucked into this credit line unknowingly.

I have cancelled my card and when doing so was offered a 1000.00 credit line in order to keep me as a customer. I declined and told them I have cards with 3000 to 5500 limits and they just couldn't compete with that.

Bewarte who you are applying to for credit. And remember your 600.00 credit line is not 600.00 usable credit. Only 30% of that amount is usable before it NEGATIVLEY affects your credit score. The credit system is a game. NO mater what your credit line is only 30% is usable in any instance. It does not matter whether your card is from Chase, Cap one, Wells or any of the number of SUB PRIME lenders, 30 % is 30 %. 

Do your homework or get screwed......

They are counting on people who DON'T do the research!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
Worst company ever
Anonymous Cardholder

The customer service sucks they promise you a settlement and when you call back to pay the remaining balance they will say what settlement are you talking about. They will harass you all day all night worst credit card ever. Please read the fine prints your card can be closed and still accumulate daily charges, which is stupid.

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
Worthless
tarapartthings Cardholder

My account was compromised and CS told me someone logged into my account and used my bank info on file to pay off the card (likely to get the balance freed in order to make purchases). Went through the replacement steps, but they continually told me that the account would not longer be accessible online. Complete lie. The account was accessible under my existing user name and password almost the whole time. I tried changing the password, but the website would not let me. So, I called CS again to be told the same lie, that the account wasn't accessible. I assured them it was and begged for them to change the password. They refused. They said it shouldn't be a problem if someone else is accessing my info through my account...!!! Ask for a manager call...never happened. Only got attention when I posted to social media. Talked to someone in social media who then turned around and changed the whole story of how the account wasn't compromised and that the payment was from a check, not an online payment. These people cannot get their stories straight and they cannot be trusted. My experience seems to be pretty common looking at social media. I should have known better.

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
This is the worst card ever!!!
antonella1292 Cardholder

First off, The people that they have as customer service are the worst. I asked them various times to stop calling me at all times, i even cursed them out. One they are not following the law, you can sue them for harrasment for how many times they call you. Two i asked them to close my account various times and all i see is the balance getting higher and higher because they have not closed the account !!! They are the worse, they will make your credit worse then what it was to begin with if you are planning on working on your credit with this company. 

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
GAWWWD AWFUL! To the SHREDDDER!
rhanlin4kids Cardholder

This is one of those hardship interest rates - even if you pay your billing early ( More than 7 days ) it doesnt not go towards your monthly payment. So you get a late charge....now you are over your limit....add a fee.....so you call customer service on their error....we wont take off the late fees until your paid up and under the limit....WHICH YOU PUT ME OVER YOU DOPES! Save your self the fustration and throw your money in the streets, the homeless could use it more than this company!

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
TERRIBLE! HORRIBLE!! AWFUL!!!
sboone77 Cardholder

They are not recommended at all for anyone seeking to establish or re-establish credit. They mark you delinquent after 5 days late and will suspend use of the card even if funds are available. They have an outrageous processing fee to make a payment over the phone or for an expedited payment. Paying on the card doesn't automatically release the funds to you, you have to wait for 5 days. All of the negative reviews are VERY true. I typically don't write reviews but this one is just that bad and I hope they go bankrupt and are forced to close all accounts. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
Really?
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid off my Credit One MC last month the first week of the month.

In the past 5 days, I have bben getting 6 or more calls a day including a Sunday about my account.

I was not sure who was constantly calling me so I called the number back today. It was Credit one bank!

They said I had $22 due in interest fees after paying my card off....of cousre the woman I was speaking too sounded like a call center in India. I was completely shocked that they were hounding me about a $22 interest fee that was not even close to amonth due. Im glad I paid this card off! I just shredded it and will never use again. Credit One , you just lost a good customer!!

more ...
Sep 24, 2016
I have it, it's okay.
Beyizzer Cardholder

The biggest thing for me is the lack of an app, there's no app, so i gotta open my browser in my phone to get a balance.  They do say one is coming soon though.  I've been making payments, my credit score has been going up each week.  I've never had to call customer service, so I wont rate customer service.  Application was fast for me, my girlfriend is still waiting on hers for weeks, first they got the address wrong, and now they got it right but i don't know what's going on with hers.  mine came in the mail, i maxed it (don't do that till you read about utilization) and now i'm just making 2 or 3 extra payments a month to get my utilization down, but yeah overall good experience.  I haven't had a credit card since I was a teen, wish I had gotten something like this sooner.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations