Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 18, 2014
It is what it is
stevez33 Cardholder

I got this card about 16months ago when my fico was about 530, got approved for 300, then 450, then 600 now 750.  Yes they charge u 22.95 for every increase, yes they charge their annual fee in annoying monthly payments of 8.25 probably hoping u miss a payment so they can hit u with the late fee.  My score is now 594 just got approved for cap one quicksilver for 300.  This card is about rebuilding credit ive never dealt with the cust service, i make about 200 a month of purchases and sometimes make multiple payments on purchases.  They do report to all 3 bureaus and it is accurate.  Its helped me get my score up and yes when i hit about 700 ill probably cancel it as i get better cards with lesser fees in the meantime if i asked u would u pay me 99 bucks if i could get your fico score up 50points in a year u probably would if you looking at this review, well thats what this card can do.  All the negative reviews are from stupid people not reading, yes express payments they charge, standard ones are free they take maybe 4 biz days and no your available credit isnt available til after it processes so maybe a week in total.  Everything is in writing people just have to learn to read and they then wont get u with all these hidden charges.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 18, 2013
Aweful Card - Good Results
Anonymous Cardholder

I (like so many other young adults), screwed up my credit in my early 20's. Thus, when I was ready to rebuild my credit I made sure to read the fine print on the Credit One card agreement. I was fully aware of the $75.00 fee and the unreasonably high APR. My plan was to keep the account in good standing for a year, get better credit lines from more reputable companies, then cancel it.

I oped to open an account and get an additional card for my then fiance. This was pretty stupid because he didn't need it and they charged me an additional $20 for it. Nonetheless, I paid my $95 initial fee in full and continued  to use my card modestly for 12 months. My credit line was $400, I kept the balance below 30% and I ALWAYS paid the balance in full before it was due. In short, I basically micro-managed the account. Within 6 months, I was able to get an American Express card. About 5 months after that, I got a Capital One card. 

Here's what you need to know about Credit One:

* There are absolutely ZERO benefits or rewards points you can acquire. My American Express account already has 30,000 points that I can use for travel, dinners, hotels. etc. The only benefit to Credit One is that they report to the credit agencies which improves your credit score as long as you pay attention and pay on time.

* The initial fees and APR are really high and ridiculous. As a matter of fact, when my annual fees were approaching they tried to charge me another $20.00 for the additional card I had gotten for my fiance (now husband). However, when I called to dispute the charge they reversed it without having to argue with anyone. He never used the card. As a matter of fact, he never even activated it. I just found it annoying that they tried to charge me anyway.

* There is no customer service option when you call. FYI, you have to press 0 or you'll never talk to anyone. I've read a lot of reviews that say the customer service people are rude. I actually found the reps pretty helpful. Sure, they try to get you off the phone ASAP, but I've never had to haggle or argue with anyone. 

* It takes them a few days to post payments. Therefor, I always made a "Standard Payment" which takes a couple of days to process. They have an "Express Payment" option which clears the same day, but I believe they charge for that. I never did it because I felt it was a rip off. Just make sure to pay attention to your payment date. It would have been nice to schedule a payment with a specific payment date instead.

* When I was eligible for a credit line increase, they wanted to charge me $15 if I accepted the offer! Are you freakin kidding me?!

Finally, when I cancelled the card they tried to get me to stay by offering me a "discounted percentage rate of 18% for 6 months". I found this a little insulting because I had been a great customer for a year. When the rep asked me why I was cancelling my account, I told her it was mainly due to the annual fees. It would have been nice if they offered to waive it to keep my business. Either way, I'm glad to have gotten rid on the card!

Bottom line: Its a fairly easy way to rebuild your credit. Pay attention to the fees, use the card conservatively, make your payments on time and cancel it as soon as you qualify for better lines of credit!

more ...
 

Reviews (858)

Add Review
Jul 26, 2016
Awesome
MC919 Cardholder

Credit One sent me an offer for their card With of course a high interest rate and fees. Since I'm re-building my credit I took a chance. I've had this card since February and in a few months of paying on time and prior to the due date I've received 2 credit increases. I'm happy with the customer services and they report to the Credit Agencies. I'm looking forward to my APR being lowered and additional credit line increases. 

more ...
Jul 26, 2016
WeirdBeard1972 Cardholder

Yep. There's a lot of fees and the APR is high and blah, blah, blah. I got this card after a bankruptcy. By using it sparingly and paying on time I've built my credit score up from a Chapter 11 Bankruptcy to a 716. Say what you will but this card kicks *** if used properly. A lot of the negative reviews sound like situations that could have been avoided by reading the user agreement and paying on time.

more ...
Jul 26, 2016
Warning Do not get this Card
dontdocapitalone Cardholder

You have been nicely warned , they charge your card even if do not use it tell you late for late charges , Worst credit card ever

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Horible customer service
chrisb22 Cardholder

DO NOT get the card and think you will ever get quality customer service. The fees for this card are outrageous and never pay after 5pm on the due date or its late and when it is late they start calling rite away. They call night and day 20 times a day and this is not an exageration they start the morning you are late and continue calling no matter how many times you tell them you had already paid and it has not posted on the account.

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
loan sharks with a legal license
Anonymous Cardholder

stay away unless you desperately need a credit card. i have never seen a card where you pay for a credit line increase, if granted one after a year and then you still pay 24.99 interest for it. A loan shark will give you a better rate on your money and they speak ENGLISH unlike customer service at this bank.

more ...
Jul 24, 2016
Almost as good as the AmEx Platinum
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for about 3 months and since then, my life has changed. I am growing hair in funny places and my credit score has gone from 84 to 92. I have such a high credit limit I don't know what to spend it all on. I am probably going to buy a Mercedes SUV. The low interest rate of 22% is great because I only have to pay the minimum amount each month and I'll have it paid off in 37 years. No problem. I wish it gave me access to the Centurion Lounge, that is the only thing I miss about having the Platinum AmEx. Other than that, it's all good.

more ...
Jul 24, 2016
Good when you purchase things.
Anonymous Cardholder

I agree with others about all the negative feedback. Credit one online is full of ****. I have to change my password every time I want to pay a bill. Then when I do it keeps saying wrong password or user name. So I wait for like 5min and it still say the same thing. And they want to charge you for everything. I'm 25 and this is the worst card I have. After I'm done paying it off, I'm cutting it up and telling them to cut me off. They FOUL!!!

more ...
Jul 22, 2016
trying to build my credit
Anonymous

so i reacived this capital one credit pre approved letter never heard of them but omg i should of read all this horribel reviews before saying yes to it.,,,i really hope i dont go through no hell when i use it or even try to close it if i get horible customer service :( fingers crossed!

more ...
Jul 22, 2016
trying to build my credit
Anonymous

so i reacived this capital one credit pre approved letter never heard of them but omg i should of read all this horribel reviews before saying yes to it.,,,i really hope i dont go through no hell when i use it or even try to close it if i get horible customer service :( fingers crossed!

more ...
Jul 21, 2016
Wors card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

Want an advice...?do not apply for this credit card ..they have the worst customer service, they add to your card extras..you Will never now but you will be over your credit card limit..and their bank statements ,takes litteraly months to get one..and still doesn't show where you've been over..plus when you call them to see where your money are they hung up on you..I hate this bank..is the worst experience I had with a credit card.oh and don't forget they will blow your phone off when is about a payment

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Credit One Bank is one of the leading issuers of Visa credit cards specifically for consumers who need to establish or rebuild their credit. Through Credit One Bank’s website, consumers can get pre-qualified or apply for a credit card without affecting their credit score. Consumers can also look over credit card offerings and check the status of their credit card application. Once consumers become cardholders, they can manage their account online through 24/7 online account access, sign up for email and text alert notifications, and also design and customize their card with the Design My Card lab online. Cardholders' payment records are reported to the three major credit bureaus. Customer service is available in an online help center, by mail, and over the phone.

Credit One Bank is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada.