Credit One Bank

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
877 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 14, 2016
Do Your Homework and It Will Help
jcoreyw Cardholder

None of us would have this card, or be thinking about applying for this card, if we didn't need it.  So, that being said, of course this card is going to come with fees and high interest rates that other cards don't have for people with better credit.  Our goal is to obtain better credit, and in doing so there is a cost.  I read all terms and conditions before applying for the card.  I realized there was no grace period for interest accruing and I also realized I would have to immediately pay the annual fee of $75 after activating the card.  I also undestand that the next annual fee would be billed in installments.  All this I accepted before EVEN applying.  A lot of headaches could have been avoided if people would just read the terms and conditions before applying.  So, now my person opinion of the card.

1.)  The card will help raise your credit score if you pay on time and keep your utilization low.  I use mine only to pay Netflix and Hulu each month and then PIF.  The interest is next to nothing.  If you go out and max your card out and only pay the minimum payment, then undestand that your going to be paying a lot in interest and you won't be helping your score.  Use the card responsibly and it can work in your favor.

2.)  I've had no issues paying online.  As soon as the statement cuts I send a payment.  I don't wait until the last week or the LAST day - that's just crazy.  I understand that some people may not be able to do that based on when payday is - but understand the gamble you're taking by waiting until the last minute.  Also, there are a lot of people upset over the express payment fee.  Why?  I never pay that fee because I make a standard payment which is FREE.  The only reason anyone would need to use express payment is if they're hard up for the funds to be available faster in which case you're relying too much on the card.  Pay way ahead of time using the standard payment option and you can avoid the fee and relax.

3.)  I look at the annual fee as a penalty for my faulty use of credit in the past.  As with everything else, there is a cost.  The card will help to improve my credit which will allow me to obtain credit in the future without such fees.  But, in the meantime this is the sacrifice that I have to make to get where I need to be.  Again, all this was described in the terms and conditions before even applying for the card so this shouldn't come as a shock to anyone.  Do your research and READ everything before you apply for anything and you will avoid surprises. 

4.)  I called customer service shortly after activating my card to ask when the statment cut date was and when the first payment would be do.  I found the agent to be helpful and we both understood each other fine.  The customer service department does seem to be outsourced.  A lot of of other companies do this as well.  I know Wells Fargo has a call center in the Phillipines.  This isn't an issue for me, but it could be for some people.     

Use the card responsibly by keeping utlization low and PIF each month and it will work in your favor.  Hope this helps.  Good luck to everyone out there trying to do that right thing!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 01, 2016
Not the best, not the worst
jared858 Cardholder

I decided to write a review after reading some of the negative reviews on here. Is this card a good card? No. Is the company kind of sleazy? Yes. Do you have any other options? If so, why would you take this card?

This card was the first unsecured card to send me an offer. I knew it was terrible. I read the fine print (something half these reviewers don't seem to bother doing). I read the reviews of the card to know what I was getting into. But, I wanted to reestablish my credit, and didn't see a lot of other options. Capital One and American Express weren't exactly trying to woo my business. So, I got a little card with a $300 limit. Paid to have the limit increased and now have a $900 limit. I paid my bill early every month, and after a year, made sure to pay the monthly fee when it hit my account. I have better cards now, my credit score went up 100 points, and life is getting better. Did I know I was getting screwed with fees and high interest? Yes. Did I accept that as the price I had to pay for being irresponsible years ago? Absolutely. Get the card, read the rules and FOLLOW them, pay on time, and cancel the card once your credit improves enough to get a better card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2017
There is no Customer Service!!
timbaskins Cardholder

I have no issues with the card itself I've had no real issues ever until a  couple months ago when I almost completely forgot to make the payment ALMOST, still had 5 days.. So I made a payment which took all of the 5 business days to go thru and then they gave me a negative mark on my credit score so I wanted to call and ask if they can remove it or what they can do fo me cause it's killing my score and I paid before the due date.

                 Like why does it take 5 whole business days this is the ONLY card I know that does this. The part that is actually ****ing me off is the one time I need to speak them I CAN'T there is no one to take my call, no chat window, no email address like WTH,   I click on the customer service button at the bottom of their page it literally takes me to the same spot I just clicked. After some research I'm realising they don't want to talk to me I have never ever been given an option to speak with customer service agent. 

  Albeit they are a small company and need to limit the calls they take in but **** I've been trying to talk to someone for over a month now and I am giving no options to do so. Its like the twilight zone how can a credit company avoid their customers like this I really really don't want anything to do with a company like this anymore I'm just so frustrated cause I need this card for my credit which they are hurting at this point and I will be canceling one of my longest standing cards which will not help my cause so I will give this company no more of my business I will just leave a 0 balance on my card cause this ridiculous.. 

Does anyone know what I need to do to get in touch with a LIVE person?? 

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
DO NOT GET THIS CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

I unfortunately had this card for a week before I read the rules better and they charge redic yearly fee 24% of every purchase you made! Think if you use it 10k per year they will hit you up with 2400 bill!!!! 

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
the worst card
Anonymous Cardholder

this has got to be the worst bank card . I don't carrie a balince i pay on time and i go to use my card they tell me it's block WHY?

I call the 877 number for customer service and no help why give me a card then, your company sucks .

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
not a card anyone wants
Anonymous Cardholder

You pay them and there 9.99 fee and say they never got the payment. It not a CREIT CARD anyone wants they dont speak that you can undrstand them. And they call all times of ay and night. Something nee to be one with the compmy. One guy gets very nasty and hangs up on you so why even pick up the phone. I love all my credit card companys. Cnt wait to  **** can this card crditone stinks and there service su--ks.

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
RIP OFF
Anonymous Cardholder

They say 300 $ credit first they take 75$ off the top for the year I received my card Dec.16 got charger 75$ for 2016 then after I closed my account they still found ways to charge you more money so in reality they.say 300$ credit but you only get 225$ and in the end you'll be payin almost 400$ back "DONT DO IT"

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Okay Card, but No limit increases!
jrcarey1281 Cardholder

Had this card 6 months now, paid in full a few times and some months carry a balance.  Other people I know got limit increases after 1 month to three months, never received anything from them, they refuse to raise my limit, wasn't asking for the world either just a few hundred bucks.  Going to pay off the remaining few hundred I owe and close this card out since it's not really doing anything unless they decide to finally increase my limit.  Customer service is decent never had any issues with them with the exception of trying to raise my limit.  

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Ok Card - Bad Limits
jrcarey1281 Cardholder

Had this card six months, other people I know got limit increases after 30 days or after 2-3 months.  I have paid my card off in full a few times and sometimes carry a balance yet they refuse to increase my limit.  Never been late, pay ontime each and every month and still nothing.  Going to pay this card off and close it out if they don't increase my limit.  

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Awful Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

My account was recently locked and online access still locked with no logical explanation. Tried calling customer service & these people are very rude and "rushy". I am thankful for the opportunity to improve my credit but I will be closing my account very soon...

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
A huge mistake
Anonymous Cardholder

Representatives are rude, they say "they cannot provide that information " when you call and have the account under your name. They block your access to make a payment online so you can make a payment over the phone and they charge a 9$ fee...basically they have an excuse for everything.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They are robbers 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations