Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 18, 2014
It is what it is
stevez33 Cardholder

I got this card about 16months ago when my fico was about 530, got approved for 300, then 450, then 600 now 750.  Yes they charge u 22.95 for every increase, yes they charge their annual fee in annoying monthly payments of 8.25 probably hoping u miss a payment so they can hit u with the late fee.  My score is now 594 just got approved for cap one quicksilver for 300.  This card is about rebuilding credit ive never dealt with the cust service, i make about 200 a month of purchases and sometimes make multiple payments on purchases.  They do report to all 3 bureaus and it is accurate.  Its helped me get my score up and yes when i hit about 700 ill probably cancel it as i get better cards with lesser fees in the meantime if i asked u would u pay me 99 bucks if i could get your fico score up 50points in a year u probably would if you looking at this review, well thats what this card can do.  All the negative reviews are from stupid people not reading, yes express payments they charge, standard ones are free they take maybe 4 biz days and no your available credit isnt available til after it processes so maybe a week in total.  Everything is in writing people just have to learn to read and they then wont get u with all these hidden charges.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 18, 2013
Aweful Card - Good Results
Anonymous Cardholder

I (like so many other young adults), screwed up my credit in my early 20's. Thus, when I was ready to rebuild my credit I made sure to read the fine print on the Credit One card agreement. I was fully aware of the $75.00 fee and the unreasonably high APR. My plan was to keep the account in good standing for a year, get better credit lines from more reputable companies, then cancel it.

I oped to open an account and get an additional card for my then fiance. This was pretty stupid because he didn't need it and they charged me an additional $20 for it. Nonetheless, I paid my $95 initial fee in full and continued  to use my card modestly for 12 months. My credit line was $400, I kept the balance below 30% and I ALWAYS paid the balance in full before it was due. In short, I basically micro-managed the account. Within 6 months, I was able to get an American Express card. About 5 months after that, I got a Capital One card. 

Here's what you need to know about Credit One:

* There are absolutely ZERO benefits or rewards points you can acquire. My American Express account already has 30,000 points that I can use for travel, dinners, hotels. etc. The only benefit to Credit One is that they report to the credit agencies which improves your credit score as long as you pay attention and pay on time.

* The initial fees and APR are really high and ridiculous. As a matter of fact, when my annual fees were approaching they tried to charge me another $20.00 for the additional card I had gotten for my fiance (now husband). However, when I called to dispute the charge they reversed it without having to argue with anyone. He never used the card. As a matter of fact, he never even activated it. I just found it annoying that they tried to charge me anyway.

* There is no customer service option when you call. FYI, you have to press 0 or you'll never talk to anyone. I've read a lot of reviews that say the customer service people are rude. I actually found the reps pretty helpful. Sure, they try to get you off the phone ASAP, but I've never had to haggle or argue with anyone. 

* It takes them a few days to post payments. Therefor, I always made a "Standard Payment" which takes a couple of days to process. They have an "Express Payment" option which clears the same day, but I believe they charge for that. I never did it because I felt it was a rip off. Just make sure to pay attention to your payment date. It would have been nice to schedule a payment with a specific payment date instead.

* When I was eligible for a credit line increase, they wanted to charge me $15 if I accepted the offer! Are you freakin kidding me?!

Finally, when I cancelled the card they tried to get me to stay by offering me a "discounted percentage rate of 18% for 6 months". I found this a little insulting because I had been a great customer for a year. When the rep asked me why I was cancelling my account, I told her it was mainly due to the annual fees. It would have been nice if they offered to waive it to keep my business. Either way, I'm glad to have gotten rid on the card!

Bottom line: Its a fairly easy way to rebuild your credit. Pay attention to the fees, use the card conservatively, make your payments on time and cancel it as soon as you qualify for better lines of credit!

more ...
 

Reviews (697)

Add Review
May 02, 2016
This card is aweful!
Anonymous Cardholder

If your payment is due on a certain day you have to pay it by 2:00 on that day or they charge you a late fee and tell you that you did not pay it on that day. EVEN THOUGH I have proof that I paid it on the day it was due. They said because I did not pay it by 2:00 P.M I will pay this off and it will be  trashed this is a joke joke company. STAY FAR AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would not even give this a 1 star but I had to give it something!

more ...
May 02, 2016
Not sure Yet
GAO

****--last week I used a pre-approved offer for a credit card that I THOUGHT was Capital One. I mean, I didn't notice until just now, when I received an e-mail from Credit One bank, what the logo actually said. That's pretty deceptive. But since my bankruptcy was just discharged, I guess this will help. However, I SWEAR the application said it was a $39/year annual fee. I guess I'm going to be surprised when I get the actual card and the bill.

How, exactly, does "no grace period" work? If I pay the bill the SAME DAY that I make the purchase--is that the only way to avoid interest? Man, this is really disturbing. I should have known it was to good to be true....

more ...
May 03, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
May 02, 2016
Good Features/ Bad Customer Service
bham0108 Cardholder

I have had this card for 8 years.  I love that they automatically approve me for credit limit incereases periodically because it saves me a hard inquiry.  Their customer service department is very strange.  I have been trying to change my maiden name over to my married name for five years but it is almost impossible to get a real person on the phone.

more ...
May 02, 2016
Customer Service no help at all.
mikec6453 Cardholder

I got approved on april the 6th 2016. I got the bill for the card in the mail at my house due 05/07/2016 this bill was produced 04/11/2016. I called customer service and adviced I had not received the card yet, the cutomer service agent said to wait a fewe more days. I waited untile 4/19/16 after getting 2 emails telling me to call and activation the act card. I called again and was told agin to wait again. I got anothe email on 04/20/2016 I call and reported the card lost to the lost and stolen department and asked if they would sned the new card to my PO BOX which they did not HAVE and they said they would, on APRIL 25, 2016 I got a card that they say that was lost to my PO BOX so this company play some games.

more ...
May 02, 2016
fees fees and more fees
Anonymous Cardholder

Got a pre approval, submitted my info amd pre approval code online, got approved in minutes for 1,000. Card came in a few days later, I was charged the annual fee right away. Called customer service and few times and it sucks big time, can't understand the people at all. Dislike that very much. Made on time and more then the min payments every month and at 7 months they increased my limit to 1200 without my permission. Didn't like that. Had it for a year now and has build my credit big time along with my capital one card.

more ...
May 01, 2016
IDIOTS
Lei14316 Cardholder

My card was lost and some unauthorized charges appeared. I called and reported it, I was told to wait for an affidavit. Never received it. I called about 5 times. NEVER GOT IT. Finally I noticed the unauthorized charges were removed, but I also noticed some of my charges were removed, being honest I told them which were mine and which weren't. 2 billing cycles later and ALL CHARGES ARE BACK. Including the UNAUTHORIZED charges. Avoid these idiots. I plan on calling again and correcting them. Then I'm paying them off and canceling this card. 

more ...
May 01, 2016
It is what it is!
Brenni76 Cardholder

If you pay your bill on time, there isn't a problem. Yes there are fees, but they're taking a chance on risky people, so I'm fine paying the fees. The info reported to the bureaus is accurate. I called customer service for a question, and had no problem getting someone. They even called the next day to make sure my question was answered. I'd prefer to deal with people in the US, but it is what it is for right now.

more ...
May 01, 2016
It is what it is as someone said.
Anonymous Cardholder

If you already have great credit you do not need this card. If you need help rebulding your credit this has helped a lot. I had no credit and now my credit score is near 700 from just two credit cards. The key is to ALWAYS pay on time until your credit score is a lot better then you can ditch this card for a better card, but again, you have to be good at managing your credit. Don't treat the card as cash. Use it to make smaller purchases that you can pay back easily so you are not late in payments.

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
terrible experience
Anonymous Cardholder

I recieved this card and have had my credit scaore reduced by 45 points to date. I pay off my balance monthly most months. I had 3 incidents where I was unable to get their system to accept my debit card with online bill pay, I called in and it still would not accpet my payment. I had used that same debit card with sprint online bill pay, my storage online bill pay and others, I ultinately mailed it in and received a late fee anyway.  After seven months they denied me an increase to help my utilization score. I am paying this card off and transfering to a secure credit card. That is the best way to go with trying to establish credit anyway.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Credit One Bank is one of the leading issuers of Visa credit cards specifically for consumers who need to establish or rebuild their credit. Through Credit One Bank’s website, consumers can get pre-qualified or apply for a credit card without affecting their credit score. Consumers can also look over credit card offerings and check the status of their credit card application. Once consumers become cardholders, they can manage their account online through 24/7 online account access, sign up for email and text alert notifications, and also design and customize their card with the Design My Card lab online. Cardholders' payment records are reported to the three major credit bureaus. Customer service is available in an online help center, by mail, and over the phone.

Credit One Bank is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Credit One Bank