Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 18, 2014
It is what it is
stevez33 Cardholder

I got this card about 16months ago when my fico was about 530, got approved for 300, then 450, then 600 now 750.  Yes they charge u 22.95 for every increase, yes they charge their annual fee in annoying monthly payments of 8.25 probably hoping u miss a payment so they can hit u with the late fee.  My score is now 594 just got approved for cap one quicksilver for 300.  This card is about rebuilding credit ive never dealt with the cust service, i make about 200 a month of purchases and sometimes make multiple payments on purchases.  They do report to all 3 bureaus and it is accurate.  Its helped me get my score up and yes when i hit about 700 ill probably cancel it as i get better cards with lesser fees in the meantime if i asked u would u pay me 99 bucks if i could get your fico score up 50points in a year u probably would if you looking at this review, well thats what this card can do.  All the negative reviews are from stupid people not reading, yes express payments they charge, standard ones are free they take maybe 4 biz days and no your available credit isnt available til after it processes so maybe a week in total.  Everything is in writing people just have to learn to read and they then wont get u with all these hidden charges.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 18, 2013
Aweful Card - Good Results
Anonymous Cardholder

I (like so many other young adults), screwed up my credit in my early 20's. Thus, when I was ready to rebuild my credit I made sure to read the fine print on the Credit One card agreement. I was fully aware of the $75.00 fee and the unreasonably high APR. My plan was to keep the account in good standing for a year, get better credit lines from more reputable companies, then cancel it.

I oped to open an account and get an additional card for my then fiance. This was pretty stupid because he didn't need it and they charged me an additional $20 for it. Nonetheless, I paid my $95 initial fee in full and continued  to use my card modestly for 12 months. My credit line was $400, I kept the balance below 30% and I ALWAYS paid the balance in full before it was due. In short, I basically micro-managed the account. Within 6 months, I was able to get an American Express card. About 5 months after that, I got a Capital One card. 

Here's what you need to know about Credit One:

* There are absolutely ZERO benefits or rewards points you can acquire. My American Express account already has 30,000 points that I can use for travel, dinners, hotels. etc. The only benefit to Credit One is that they report to the credit agencies which improves your credit score as long as you pay attention and pay on time.

* The initial fees and APR are really high and ridiculous. As a matter of fact, when my annual fees were approaching they tried to charge me another $20.00 for the additional card I had gotten for my fiance (now husband). However, when I called to dispute the charge they reversed it without having to argue with anyone. He never used the card. As a matter of fact, he never even activated it. I just found it annoying that they tried to charge me anyway.

* There is no customer service option when you call. FYI, you have to press 0 or you'll never talk to anyone. I've read a lot of reviews that say the customer service people are rude. I actually found the reps pretty helpful. Sure, they try to get you off the phone ASAP, but I've never had to haggle or argue with anyone. 

* It takes them a few days to post payments. Therefor, I always made a "Standard Payment" which takes a couple of days to process. They have an "Express Payment" option which clears the same day, but I believe they charge for that. I never did it because I felt it was a rip off. Just make sure to pay attention to your payment date. It would have been nice to schedule a payment with a specific payment date instead.

* When I was eligible for a credit line increase, they wanted to charge me $15 if I accepted the offer! Are you freakin kidding me?!

Finally, when I cancelled the card they tried to get me to stay by offering me a "discounted percentage rate of 18% for 6 months". I found this a little insulting because I had been a great customer for a year. When the rep asked me why I was cancelling my account, I told her it was mainly due to the annual fees. It would have been nice if they offered to waive it to keep my business. Either way, I'm glad to have gotten rid on the card!

Bottom line: Its a fairly easy way to rebuild your credit. Pay attention to the fees, use the card conservatively, make your payments on time and cancel it as soon as you qualify for better lines of credit!

more ...

Reviews (1056)

Add Review
Oct 19, 2016
Angelsix14 Cardholder

Do not use credit one bank! IT IS A SCAM CREDIT CARD COMPANY. They pray on people who are building credit or with bad credit so you can attempt to fix your credit score. This company then has ridiculously high fee's and interest rates! To top it off the customer service is a joke! There are a bunch of representatives who hang up on you when you ask them to hold on for a minute, they don't want to hear your complaints or concerns! ANY decent credit card company, or company in general will always listen to your concerns and try to provide their best service to you. Credit One Bank doesn't care!!!!!!!! They only care about making money! So the second you call them and are ready to pay, they pass you off to a bunch of different representatives and get WAY too much information from you. Information that NOBODY should give out over the phone. 

By the way. Credit One Bank will also call you on several different numbers until you answer them. I've had to block their number on numerous occassions. I cannot wait to cancel this account. I've already reported this company. 


more ...
Oct 20, 2016

Girl How do i CANCEL this ****! ? I JUST accepted it yesterday . Can i avoid the card/account membership? If you know a way out please let me know before i **** up my credit even more.

Oct 19, 2016
Avoid at all costs. Better options avail
PresidentTrump Cardholder

Got pre approved and wanted to grow my number of loans/cards, decided I would cancel the card before I made a single purchase after I realized all the stipulations this card comes with. Everything everyone has complained about on here is true. *Interest charged on a daily average the moment you make a purchase. *Charges when they "offer" to up your limit". *$75 annual for the first year, and forced monthly payments of 8.25 thereafter.  Upon calling customer service they will try to spin it and tell you what you want to hear, that this is the best card to help you build credit. What it comes down to, quite simply, is that this company will do anything and everything to knicle and dime you at any chance they get. one thing to note *THERE IS NO AUTOPAY. I asked the customer service rep why. The spin was too funny. The only logical reasoning behind this is they hope you miss your payments. Occams Razor. That aside, even if you do make payments on time, in full, you still accrue interest. This is a company that does not have your "credit building" interest at mind. Only to line their pockets with your hard earned money. I gracefully ended the conversation with customer service by telling him I understand he must get calls like mine on an hourly basis and I honestly felt bad that he has to deal with that. He is the puppet for a scam artist. I suggested he find another credit card company to work for, because I wouldn't work for such a disgraceful malignant company if they paid me 100k a year. Avoid at all costs.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
This card company is a kink
Anonymous Cardholder

Ok so youre building/rebuilding your credit, you see this offer, 1% cash back on gas, and you get excited....but wait, here is how this company works, they charge you a DAILY interest rate, so even if you pay the entire balance off you STILL PAY INTEREST.  This is a scam for sure, so you charge $100 and it posts to your account today, and you submit a payment same day, you will still pay interest for 5 days (takes 5 days for your payment to post), not to mention the $75 a year card fee.  I pay my cards off in full before the billing date, so this is a scam.  But ill keep the card for 2 years, then bye bye, had I actually read the T & C, I would have never signed bad.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
sweetnat76 Cardholder

I was hoping to have this card to boost my credit score but I'm over it. I plan to pay it in full asap and close the account. Like everyone else has said its not good. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
horrible with crazy fees
Anonymous Cardholder

Even though you pay off your balance in full they charge you a monthly maintenance fee just to have the card. I just closed my account. This is the worse credit card company.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Application process is pretty quick. I understand they have all this charges but if your trying to rebuild credit I guess its a decent card to start off with. Now here's the catch be careful when making a payment because if you accidently mess up they will close your account. I made a payment through my bank which it was my fault I mess up I should of done it with my debit card like I normally do. I login in and notice a payment was still do so u made another payment at this point I thought I forgot to make the payment. I wasn't able to login in to account anymore I reached out to customer service they told me due to that bounce payment from my bank acct thats why they closed my acct but I could reactive if I send them a letter to explaining what happen. I told them no that's stupid I'm not going to do all that. Just send me the final bill. I will part ways. My credit is good now. I dont need this card any more. I say its a good starting card but don't keep this forever they charge too much. Go with capital one. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had 2 mailed applications taken from mail and someone attempted to get card in my name I have requested then told these people to STOP mailing me card applications as I want nothing to do with them, yet they persist in mailing me  a pre approved application at least 3 per month for almost 2 years now and every time they assure me that they will stop. what does someone have to do to get them to STOP.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
worst mistake of my life
Anonymous Cardholder

the customer service is horrible. my online account has not be able to be set up in months. The charge a fee to pay through the phone. It is extremely ridiculous! Can't wait to cancel the card.

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
RaeLex Cardholder

Do NOT get this card! I pay my statement in FULL before the due date every month, and then I have to go back and pay another $3-$11 bucks in other interest! After speaking to customer service, (who had to spell certain months for me because he had no clue how to say them in english and I had no clue what he was saying) all I can gather is that even if you pay your bill in full BEFORE the due date, you will still have fees to pay on the next statement and the just grow without any further charges on your card. So now the rare times I use it, I know I will pay the bill two times in the billing period to bring my balance to zero. One payment for the full amount, and one payment a few days later for another couple of bucks. This never happens with Chase or Capital One cards! This place is a total SCAM!!!!!!! And the $99 anual fee... Can't wait to cancel this card before the renewal of the AF!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations