Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 18, 2014
It is what it is
stevez33 Cardholder

I got this card about 16months ago when my fico was about 530, got approved for 300, then 450, then 600 now 750.  Yes they charge u 22.95 for every increase, yes they charge their annual fee in annoying monthly payments of 8.25 probably hoping u miss a payment so they can hit u with the late fee.  My score is now 594 just got approved for cap one quicksilver for 300.  This card is about rebuilding credit ive never dealt with the cust service, i make about 200 a month of purchases and sometimes make multiple payments on purchases.  They do report to all 3 bureaus and it is accurate.  Its helped me get my score up and yes when i hit about 700 ill probably cancel it as i get better cards with lesser fees in the meantime if i asked u would u pay me 99 bucks if i could get your fico score up 50points in a year u probably would if you looking at this review, well thats what this card can do.  All the negative reviews are from stupid people not reading, yes express payments they charge, standard ones are free they take maybe 4 biz days and no your available credit isnt available til after it processes so maybe a week in total.  Everything is in writing people just have to learn to read and they then wont get u with all these hidden charges.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 18, 2013
Aweful Card - Good Results
Anonymous Cardholder

I (like so many other young adults), screwed up my credit in my early 20's. Thus, when I was ready to rebuild my credit I made sure to read the fine print on the Credit One card agreement. I was fully aware of the $75.00 fee and the unreasonably high APR. My plan was to keep the account in good standing for a year, get better credit lines from more reputable companies, then cancel it.

I oped to open an account and get an additional card for my then fiance. This was pretty stupid because he didn't need it and they charged me an additional $20 for it. Nonetheless, I paid my $95 initial fee in full and continued  to use my card modestly for 12 months. My credit line was $400, I kept the balance below 30% and I ALWAYS paid the balance in full before it was due. In short, I basically micro-managed the account. Within 6 months, I was able to get an American Express card. About 5 months after that, I got a Capital One card. 

Here's what you need to know about Credit One:

* There are absolutely ZERO benefits or rewards points you can acquire. My American Express account already has 30,000 points that I can use for travel, dinners, hotels. etc. The only benefit to Credit One is that they report to the credit agencies which improves your credit score as long as you pay attention and pay on time.

* The initial fees and APR are really high and ridiculous. As a matter of fact, when my annual fees were approaching they tried to charge me another $20.00 for the additional card I had gotten for my fiance (now husband). However, when I called to dispute the charge they reversed it without having to argue with anyone. He never used the card. As a matter of fact, he never even activated it. I just found it annoying that they tried to charge me anyway.

* There is no customer service option when you call. FYI, you have to press 0 or you'll never talk to anyone. I've read a lot of reviews that say the customer service people are rude. I actually found the reps pretty helpful. Sure, they try to get you off the phone ASAP, but I've never had to haggle or argue with anyone. 

* It takes them a few days to post payments. Therefor, I always made a "Standard Payment" which takes a couple of days to process. They have an "Express Payment" option which clears the same day, but I believe they charge for that. I never did it because I felt it was a rip off. Just make sure to pay attention to your payment date. It would have been nice to schedule a payment with a specific payment date instead.

* When I was eligible for a credit line increase, they wanted to charge me $15 if I accepted the offer! Are you freakin kidding me?!

Finally, when I cancelled the card they tried to get me to stay by offering me a "discounted percentage rate of 18% for 6 months". I found this a little insulting because I had been a great customer for a year. When the rep asked me why I was cancelling my account, I told her it was mainly due to the annual fees. It would have been nice if they offered to waive it to keep my business. Either way, I'm glad to have gotten rid on the card!

Bottom line: Its a fairly easy way to rebuild your credit. Pay attention to the fees, use the card conservatively, make your payments on time and cancel it as soon as you qualify for better lines of credit!

more ...
 

Reviews (739)

Add Review
May 25, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

To pay your monthly bill you either have to call them and pay almost 10 more just to do it over the phone for fees. Or you have to use a desktop or laptop. You can not pay off of you mobil device.

This is a new day everything we do is off of our mobil devices. Plus it takes 5 days for your payment to post.

Worst card ive ever had. Customer service is horrible. No matter what your issue is they pretty much tell you too bad and deal with it.

I do not recommend this company at all.

more ...
May 24, 2016
I'll Pass
Anonymous

I have received this offer i the mail consistantly over the past three months.  I almost went forward with it, until Capitial One gave me a Creit Increase!  Im happy with my Cap.Silver 1500 and Plat 800 cards...   CS still rising 655. :)

more ...
May 24, 2016
Don't do it.

I received a Pre-Approved* card offer for a $1,500 limit <-- asterisk, you see that asterisk? No. Don't do it. That asterisk means you get a starting limit of $300. I make $17,050 a month but I have a 625 credit score because I made stupid decision 10 years ago in my 20s and then haven't used credit since. So I'm high risk. For this $300 limit card. No thanks. Instead I opened three secured credit cards with $5000 limits a few months ago. My credit score is rising every month. I had bad experiences with this company in the past. Don't do it. Don't do it. Don't do it. It's not worth it. Just don't do it! Please!

more ...
May 24, 2016
HORRIBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to rebuild credit. However the monthly fee is ridiculous and the interest rate is insanely high. I have tried to call to cancel and have not been able to get through to anyone. My credit score is now excellent, and I don't feel like wasting my money on a card I don't use.  

more ...
May 24, 2016
Great for Rebuilding credit!
Selena10601 Cardholder

If you use this card for what it's for you should have no problems. People need to learn how to read the fine print. If you want to use the standard payment, you should pay every two weeks, this way you would have no issues or better yet pay the $10 for express payment. Chances are you have this card because your FICO scores are in the crapper!! Closing a credit card account because you are ****ed at their customer service is STUPID!!!! Doing that actually lowers your score because your credit utilization would increase! FYI - if you pay off your entire balance there would be no interest!!! Stop complaining and use the card for what it's for and that's rebuilding your credit!!!

more ...
May 23, 2016
Awful
Nyp Cardholder

So I got this card pretty much as a mistake as far as I know. I was only looking into it next thing I know I get a card with $516 dollars credit line because their annual fee is charge on the first statement which is a fee of $84 dllrs so I was like ok I guess, so I used it and always make my payments on time and lately had been receiving a "promotion" for a credit line increase of $250 only if I paid a fee of $25 dollrs so obviously I denied the multiple "promotions" I had received and so I pay off the balance on my car and this particular day I'm checking my credit on CK and there is an outstanding fee of almost $9 dollars so I call and they tell me that I will no longer pay the $84 annual fee but instead I was gonna be charge a monthly fee of almost $9 dllrs so I decided to cancel right there on the spot. I just don't see why I should be paying for a card that I don't even use anymore (and being such an outstanding and loyal customer) so to avoid any future "surprises" I went with my instinct on this one and cancel it.

more ...
May 22, 2016
Total Scam
AshesCustoms Cardholder

My account is suspended for trying to use it in another country.  Totally acceptable, good lookin out.  However, their 24/7 numbers ARE NOT 24/7.  Like WTF. I can't even login to pay the bill. Complete BS. I will probably be charged with a late fee because they won't let me login and don't answer their GD phones. 

I mean come on, it's totally day time in India.

more ...
May 21, 2016
Nooo!!!!
jdalexis Cardholder

If I could give them a ZERO on this review I would...

I have a credit one card that I will be closing promptly mortgage loan is processed. Called them on a Monday morning to get a balance statement faxed to me for my mortgage loan. Was told it would take 48 hours to process request. 48 hours later nothing. Called them again, then was told it would take 72 hours! When I FINALLY received the fax on Thursday, they sent me ANOTHER credit card owner's statement with their name, address, phone number and last four of their credit card!!! When I called them they acted like I was lying! I had to read the actual letter to them! I was also told that I would have to honor their 48 hour turn around time again even though it was their fault! It's now Saturday and I still do not have my account statement from them. All of my other credit companies were able to send me the requested information in 30 minutes or less.

Credit One is unprofessional, rude and do not value their customers. Not to mention they had zero concern for compromising another one of their clients by sending me their personal information. God only knows where my information went!

more ...
May 21, 2016

Are you able to retrieve your own account statement on-line?.

 
May 19, 2016
Not a fan
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive been a customer for several months. I have never missed a payment and never late. Called to get credit line increase and was denied. My credit score has gone up. However, I can only get a cash advance of $75. Capital one gave me an increase after 6 months. Not a fan.

more ...
May 18, 2016
Credit destroyer
Anonymous Cardholder

The blood suckers who run this bank should be investigated by the FDIC.  They are nothing but criminals, who commit their criminal acts on customers desperate for credit.  The customers' balance owing hardly decreases because the criminal parasites only apply part of the monthly payment to the balance owed.  It's time for the Federal government to investigate them.

more ...
May 23, 2016
Nyp

I totally agree with you!!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Credit One Bank is one of the leading issuers of Visa credit cards specifically for consumers who need to establish or rebuild their credit. Through Credit One Bank’s website, consumers can get pre-qualified or apply for a credit card without affecting their credit score. Consumers can also look over credit card offerings and check the status of their credit card application. Once consumers become cardholders, they can manage their account online through 24/7 online account access, sign up for email and text alert notifications, and also design and customize their card with the Design My Card lab online. Cardholders' payment records are reported to the three major credit bureaus. Customer service is available in an online help center, by mail, and over the phone.

Credit One Bank is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Credit One Bank