Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 04, 2018
best credit card ive ever had
brianrss Cardholder

don't carry a balance but use it to pay bills you normally pay every month ,then fly for free !!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 22, 2018
Don’t believe the sign up rewards
pend1393 Cardholder

I applied for this card in Jan 2018 was immediately approved for a 12,000 credit limit. However the sign up bonus was 50,000 if you spend 2,000 in the first three months. I spent well over that amount and only received 10,000 points when I called about it they said the offer changes at random so instead I got 10,000 points for 500 dollars spent. Basically they can change it and there is absolutely nothing you can do about it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 06, 2019
Excellent for travel!
S2000Camaro Cardholder

I got this card with the offer of a companion pass and 30,000 points when you spend 4k in 3 months. I did that and IMMEDIATELY received both perks. I've also traveled to Mexico and Honduras with this card and had 0 issues using it. So far I'm happy! Look at all the negative reviews.. People angry that they didn't pay their bill and blown away that there were consequences..?

more ...
Mar 30, 2019
EXCELLENT CARD
lindagreg22 Cardholder

I saw a very good approval and applied. I was approved for. $17K. SO FAR SO GOOD

more ...
Mar 20, 2019
Benefits don't really exist
ThunderJim Cardholder

The credit for early check-in apparently isn't real

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

You get reimbursed for upgraded boarding at the gate, not early bird check-in. They are two totally different things. It works, and you get credited as soon as the transaction posts to your account.

 
Apr 15, 2019

Also, isn't that for the Priority card rather than this one?

 
Dec 30, 2018
Excellent card to have
Wegens Cardholder

Easy approval and starting me with great credit limit 

more ...
Dec 14, 2018
Horrible!
TashaHop Cardholder

Account was opened for 3+ years with no late payments until my first 30 day late due to me having a baby and wasn’t aware the payment was not sent. I called customer service asking them why my account was closed after ONE missed payment. The representative did not give me a real answer but said that if I can make the past due balance they will reopen my account since it hasn’t been closed for more than 30 days. THAT WAS A LIE! The representative con me into making a payment thinking that I would be able to reopen my account but instead they ended up saying there is nothing they could do as it was the bank who closed it. Customer service is horrible. At least congratulate me on having a new baby instead of focusing on getting money.

more ...
Dec 23, 2018

That's why i always pay my cards due date before the due date you can also sign up for auto pay for credit cards.

 
Mar 18, 2019

Congrats on baby!

 
Oct 28, 2018
5 star card!!!
Liam16 Cardholder

I originally applied for this card to help my daughter earn some rapid rewards points. I honestly was not expecting to get approved. Approval came back quickly with a $4500 CL. I earned my 40K rapid rewards points about a week after hitting the $1000 spend within 90 days.  My daughter earned her referral points about a week after I got my approval. 

Will continue to keep this card in my arsenal. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2018

Wow what was your score?

 
Dec 11, 2018

What was your score?

 
Oct 16, 2018
Pay Attention To The Negative Review
LoniBarrett Cardholder

Chase has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. They canceled my personal and business credit cards for no obvious reason and they would never give me an explanation. I can only assume they didn't like the fact that I was purchasing cryptocurrency. I tried to resolve the matter through telephone calls and written correspondence but nobody would even talk to me about it. As a result, I refuse to ever do business with Chase Bank EVER AGAIN! Think it would never happen to you? Well, I have a great income, a very high credit score and have no late payments in the past 20 years or so. Pay attention to all the negative reviews and save yourself the aggravation. You know who didn't cancel my credit cards and I still have a great relationship with? American Express, Bank of America, Capital One and Wells Fargo. These are all much better banks to deal with. 

more ...
Oct 28, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 22, 2019

The credit card is not for investing in any kinds of stock, your hustling with the banks money and putting them at risk by doing so. Go figure!

 
Oct 09, 2018
worst experience ever! Stay way!
tkimfila Cardholder

They closed my account for not receiving payment which I did pay. It dropped my credit score for from 735 to 623! I called the customer service explaining to them that I was not aware of it cause I always paid on time. They said there is nothing they can do. I can’t even apply for credit cards cause they messed me up.

more ...
Oct 10, 2018

If you paid by mail that's why if you goto your online account and pay there 4 days before due date you got no problems if you still got problems you can call 1-800-notfair and they might can help the credit score you can get fixed call the credit bureaus if all else fails call the cfb and report the problem.

 
Oct 10, 2018

Hi just remembered show something on youtube about that card if you have a chase card its going to be hard to get approved check out the youtube videos for the southwest rapid rewards premier card it might save you from hurting your credit score by 5 points cause 5 points is what it is for a hard pull.

 
Jul 09, 2018
Don't believe promo offer
MomoMalady Cardholder

Don't be fooled. You may see that there is a promotion offering 40,000 or 50,000 points for signing up and spending 1 or 2k in the first three months. Instead, you will receive 10,000 points. If you try to message them or call them to recieve the missing points, they will tell you that at the time you signed up they were only offering a 10,000 point bonus, EVEN THOUGH IT CLEARLY STATED 50,000 points! Your complaints will fall on deaf ears, and your concerns brushed aside. This is a scheme to make it seem like a much better deal than it actually is. 

I enjoyed other aspects of owning this card, but I just can't recommend this to anyone knowing how dishonest Southwest and Chase are being with these promo offers.

more ...
Jul 16, 2018

I got 50K but I had to ask Chase to honor it. Otherwise I probably wouldnt have gotten it. I spent 2K in the first 2 weeks lol

 
Aug 20, 2018

I have the Plus and the Premier card and both promotion points were honored automatically. I'm sorry this wasn't the case for you. :(

 
Sep 11, 2018

@charmer18
Did you call them prior to opening an account with them? Or did you do it after? There is so much of the opposite that your saying on this site. So I want to do it right before I apply for this card
Thanks

 
Sep 26, 2018

I received my bonus points.....no problem at all. I love this card.

 
Oct 10, 2018

you have to spend 25000 in a year to get the 50000 thats what there web site says after you spend a 1000$ in the first month you gotta pay off that 1000 dollars before the 3rd month.

 
Jun 22, 2018
Great Card !
RG2017 Cardholder

Easy approval process and pretty decent credit limit plus it gives you points with every purchase !

more ...
Jun 28, 2018

What was your credit score ? And approval rates?

 
Oct 24, 2018

What range was your credit score ?

 
Jun 14, 2018
Won't Honor Offers!

I applied for this card in Febraury while booking a trip. I read here that they wouldn't honor offers so I screenshot the offer of 50k points afer $2k spent. Well they wouldn't honor the offer and told me I signed up for an offer of 10k points and a $200 credit. I have NEVER seen that offer anywhere. They are giving me trouble about clearing this up! I like the card but screen shot everything! The T&C the offer...everything! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2018

The 50k or 60k is if you spend 25k in a year other wise you get 40k if you spend 1000k in 3 months.

 
May 23, 2018
Love SWA and love this card !
luisba Cardholder

I use it to pay all my monthly bills and big expenses and get +1,000 points every month. The initial offer is great and you also get 6,000 points every year so pretty much a no brainer if you are a frequent traveller. 

more ...
May 22, 2018
Don’t believe the sign up rewards
pend1393 Cardholder

I applied for this card in Jan 2018 was immediately approved for a 12,000 credit limit. However the sign up bonus was 50,000 if you spend 2,000 in the first three months. I spent well over that amount and only received 10,000 points when I called about it they said the offer changes at random so instead I got 10,000 points for 500 dollars spent. Basically they can change it and there is absolutely nothing you can do about it. 

more ...
May 18, 2018
Excited to have this card!
lkeith3 Cardholder

I love the bonus points when you spend the $1,000 in the first three months. It is a great deal that will let me book at least 3 flights from those points alone. The application process was very easy, and I was approved with a credit limit similar to my other highest cards. I called Chase to see if I could go ahead and book a flight before my card arrives, but for security purposes they could not disclose the number to me. However, they did offer to expedite the shipping on my card so I can book my flights sooner than if it had arrived with standard shipping. Their customer service was nothing but kind! Also, I like that I can schedule payments when my transactions are still pending, instead of waiting until they are fully reflected on the balance.

more ...
May 04, 2018
best credit card ive ever had
brianrss Cardholder

don't carry a balance but use it to pay bills you normally pay every month ,then fly for free !!!

more ...
Apr 25, 2018
Evama Cardholder

You need to scrutinize the offer.. They advertised to us as 200 off your initial ticket price and then 50000 bonus miles after you spend 2000 in 3 months. We met this requirement and then were told that was not our offer... The offer was 200 and 10000 bonus miles after spending 500 and that supposedly it was an either or option and I chose the 10000 miles option. There was never an option to select one or the other and they refused to work with us to correct the situation.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card