Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
469 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
MrMike243 Cardholder

I have 685 between the two scores on here. Got approved really quick but only a $500 limit. Oh well it's a start. I have a capital one with $6,500 and a delta rewards Amex with $1000 limit. This may be why it was so low but I also have 4 older derogatories. Trying to get my credit back in shape. Wish me luck. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Approved for $500
MickU101 Cardholder

I have a 750 Fico score basically from paying off 2 auto loans. I opened up a banking account at a credit union and started to get flooded with credit cards letters. I decided on appying for this card after getting 2 pre-approvals. I have not had a credit card for over a decade so I applied with zero debt and was still not instantly approved but for good reason.  I called recon and was told that I had 2 Chase charged off accounts from over 10 years ago. I told them those fell off my credit reports years ago and that I had a good score but they said "We go by your Chase credit history not by what is on your credit reports or score" Then they just wanted a reason why I fell behind on those accounts in the past and I told them because I was in the military.   After waiting on hold for 5 minutes they said i would get a letter in the mail. 2 days later i called the status line and it said i was approved but not for how much. I waited 5 business days to get my card mailed which is when i found out it was only for $500. So there you have it. That explains why people with credit scores that are over 100-200 points lower are getting approved for thousands of dollars. Either they have a good Chase credit history or are berly starting a credit relationship with them.  

BTW I also got pre approval offers in the mail from BofA and Discover who I have not had a credit relationship with in the past. If i would have applied for those cards I would have likely gotten a higher credit line. So for those of you out there with a not so perfect past with Chase they might still approve you but with a small limit like mines so you might want to go with the other offers. If i were to do it over again i would have applied for the other cards but I'm happy that Chase approved me despite the minimum credit line because it beats getting declined.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 25, 2016
the workhorse card
petma Cardholder

I was approved instantly for 3.5K with a score around 680 and only 7-8 months of credit history in the US. After 4 months the CL was increased automatically to 6K. This card is the workhorse card so far.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied for this card in a whim. I have 2 Capital One cards which I love. Expected denial (opted out after receiving many annoying "pre-approved" offers from Credit One--a card I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy). I called Chase to verify my application and was approved for $1500.00!! It probably helps that I have never been late or missed a payment with these cards or my Kohls. Discover and Amex declined me so I will pay my Cap 1s down and build my score up. Then I might deny them.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
zero interest is always good
Ralkahn Cardholder

They raised my credit limit about 4 months after I opened the account which is nice and the intro APR 0% is good for a large person. 

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Approved for a $2000 limit
mrjpott Cardholder

I applied for a $2000 limit with a 615 credit score. really boosted my credit. Only thing I dont like is that you dont know if you have been approved until you recieve the card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 22, 2016

About how long did it take for your response to come in the mail? I just got the same notice saying they "need a little more time" and will mail me, but now im nervous about a denial

Oct 21, 2016
You Saved me! Thank you Chase!
markmcclouds Cardholder

How I ended up with Chase Freedome Unlimited Card!
I had a secured credit care threw Capital One for $700 which I held for about 5 months, and my credit score was 587 in april 2016.

I needed more credit to help pay off a furniture store which I got back in November 2015. I owed $1800. The 1st year was same as cash, after that come a $5000 interest hit and I wasn't gonna have that. Now October 2016  my credit score is 616. So I applied for credit threw Capital One and I was approved for $500, sad times. But Credit Karma was right, I was rated " Very Good Approval" rating. Since it wasn't enough I applied for the Chase Freedome Unlimited Card the same night. I got approver for $2,500 and I paid off that loan before the interest hit. Thank you very much Chase for taking a chane.

Side note - I was never late on any payments, and kept my credit utilization under 10%. I also paid off 2 small creditors with in the last 4 months. I still owe $1,600 in collections with 2 companies.

Recap - Even if you are at a rating that is Very Good or Good. It will not determin what you get for a credit line.

I was disappointed that I was with Capital One for 5 months and never missed a payment and I got less credit then what i started with at secured card.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Jonfdez Cardholder

I have a credit score of 662 and got aproved in days for the credit line of 3,500 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
One of the Greats.
BaffledTeen Cardholder

This card is awesome. I have spent around $250 in only one month and am reaching to get the $150 cashback bonus for airline miles. What is good about this card is the automatic 1.5% cashback. I use this one along with my bank of america travel rewards card, i get extra points because I have an account with them. Definitely worth the shot of getting this one. My credit score according to the sheet that got to my home with the card is 726, almost 2 years of credit history. CK said it was 717 for both transunion and equifax. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
simple application, instant approval
RichardBBB123 Cardholder

Researched best rewards cards and this is good for cashback (1.5% on everything) but it's not good for transfers since there is a 5% transfer fee.  Zero interest for 15 months on all purchases and transfers which is cool.

Approved for $13,000 so thiis Visa, along with my Discover with $17,000 LOC, means I'm set.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Good Card !
AzzyB Cardholder

Applications process is really easy and simple. Card is wonderful to have. I love the unlimited 1.5% back. App for phone could be better. The set up process for attaching payment card was a bit complicated. But other then that it's a good card to have. I have an average 740 credit score and was instantly approved for $2500. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM

469 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i