Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
359 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 03, 2017
Perfection in a card!
5StarGoals Cardholder

I started fixing my destroyed credit and got the Capital One secured card first.  Once I had that card for a year I got my credit up to around 600.  I kept usage below 30% and applied for this card and was approved with a $2500 limit.  I use it for everything but I don't leave a balance, I have it on autopay but I also login every few days and pay it off so that I don't risk having my usage above 30% at any reporting time.  I have received the introductory $150 for spending more than $500 within the first 3months and have been getting around $50 in cashback rewards each month, spending money paying bills and shopping for things that I would normally be shopping for.  I have had no issues with this card so far and would highly recommend it if credit karma recommends it.  They haven't steered me wrong yet.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 26, 2017
Ehhh.
tracylm33 Cardholder

Ive worked my butt off on my credit report over the past couple years. Have cap 1 platinum, chase freedom $4500, discover IT $3000 and Amex BCE 10k limit. 732 TU and EQ, 754 EX. Perfect payment history, nothing bad on my report, everything tip top shape. So I was quite surprised to only get a $500 CL from the unlimited!?! Just paid off a truck loan from Chase,and have the freedom, both PERFECT payment hstory. t first I had to call because they said my identity information was wrong. After a long phone call and proving who i was, get the $500 CL. Such a great relationship with CHase, LOVE them, always loved their reps, but was quite disappointed with a $500 CL.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 19, 2017
MiTh1211 Cardholder

Screw Chase. Closed my accounts for depositing too much cash. Dumb f’ing bank. 

more ...
Nov 19, 2017
Awesome!
Yuri333 Cardholder

I use it for everything. I like it when i receive rewards when using the card.

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
EXCELLENT CARD
Keddie30 Cardholder

NICE CUSTOMER SERVICE. FAST APPROVAL. I LOVE CHASE !!!! INSTANT APPROVAL EVEN THOUGH HAVING PLENTY OF DEBT FROM OTHERS CARDS.

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
Ryans2kidz Cardholder

Credit Karma had my odds listed as Fair. I applied for this and an American Express minutes apart. I was approved for the American Express but received a notification from Chase that I would hear back from them within 30 days or less via postal mail. I took that as being denied.

The following Monday I decided to call Chase. I was asked if I had an account with them -- which I do. Then, for verification purposes, I was asked what the amount of my last deposit was. Within a couple of minutes the person said that I would receive my "packet" within a week or two. I asked if I was approved and was told that I had been with a $4500 limit. None of my credit scores were above a 700 even though I had a Capital One card with excellent payment history. If you spend $500 within 90 days of receiving the card it offers a $150 bonus. As soon as I had spent that amount the $150 was posted as a credit that I could use for anything. I transferred the $150 to my checking account. I have nothing bad to say about anything so far.

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Amazing!!!
Mummabear2010 Cardholder

Highly recommend this card to anyone and everyone! Generous credit line for even the need to work on credit score! 

Earn a $150 bonus with Chase Freedom Unlimited. I can be rewarded too if you apply here and are approved for the card. Learn more.

https://www.referyourchasecard.com/18/AZF9I8P5S1

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
HORRIBLE, STAY AWAY!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the card in March 2017, was approved for $4,500 limit. I received the card in mail with a letter that stated my credit score was 724. 

I spent around $3,000 on the card. I never missed a closing date. However, before the first closing date, while on a business trip in Chicago, I tried to use the card for Uber, it didn't work. I contacted the customer service and they told me they will fix that for me with no problem and to call after 1 hour if ithe issue persists. After one hour with the issue unsolved, I tried to contact the Customer service again and guess what, the working hours was until 6 PM!! So, basically the person who answered the phone was just trying to get me off the phone to go back home (completely UNPROFESSIONAL)!!!

Anyway, I called the day after to find out that they blocked the card and currently reviewing the account. I asked why and they told me there is no specific reason for that and we cannot tell you anything before the review is over (they said it should take 10 days). I aksed if I can at least print my list of transactions, the answer was NO! I asked if I can pay my balance, the answer again is NO!! So, basically they blocked the whole account for no obvious reason without even missing a single payment.

After 10 days, I never heard back from them. So, I called and was told the account was closed and I will receive a letter in mail explaining the reason. So, they didn't even bother to call to let me know they have closed the account. After 3 days, I received the letter in mail and guess what the reason was: "You do not have enough credit score"!!!!!!!! Like seriously, you have issued the card one month ago and included a letter the my score was 724 and that is why I was given a credit line of $4,500!

My credit score was of course damaged because of a closed account after only 1 month of opening it. The Chicago trip was ruined because of these issues. Thank God I had my other credit cards on me, they saved me a lot of trouble (I will avoid mentioning the credit card names because this is not an ad.).

I visited a nearby Chase branch to pay my balance and that was the last time I ever visited Chase. I will never ever bank with Chase again. GO AT YOUR OWN RISK!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 17, 2017

Chase is a very funny bank. I don’t really like them . I have really good credit and I would not get a credit card with them. But they do have a decent military account benefit that gives you a free safe deposit box, but Chase customer service is not that great in banking, so I can relate to what you wrote.

 
Nov 08, 2017
great card and greta rewards
civicg Cardholder

have no bad remarks concerning this card and have had for two years now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 13, 2017

Any credit increases?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

359 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i