Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
626 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
MrMike243 Cardholder

I have 685 between the two scores on here. Got approved really quick but only a $500 limit. Oh well it's a start. I have a capital one with $6,500 and a delta rewards Amex with $1000 limit. This may be why it was so low but I also have 4 older derogatories. Trying to get my credit back in shape. Wish me luck. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Approved for $500
MickU101 Cardholder

I have a 750 Fico score basically from paying off 2 auto loans. I opened up a banking account at a credit union and started to get flooded with credit cards letters. I decided on appying for this card after getting 2 pre-approvals. I have not had a credit card for over a decade so I applied with zero debt and was still not instantly approved but for good reason.  I called recon and was told that I had 2 Chase charged off accounts from over 10 years ago. I told them those fell off my credit reports years ago and that I had a good score but they said "We go by your Chase credit history not by what is on your credit reports or score" Then they just wanted a reason why I fell behind on those accounts in the past and I told them because I was in the military.   After waiting on hold for 5 minutes they said i would get a letter in the mail. 2 days later i called the status line and it said i was approved but not for how much. I waited 5 business days to get my card mailed which is when i found out it was only for $500. So there you have it. That explains why people with credit scores that are over 100-200 points lower are getting approved for thousands of dollars. Either they have a good Chase credit history or are berly starting a credit relationship with them.  

BTW I also got pre approval offers in the mail from BofA and Discover who I have not had a credit relationship with in the past. If i would have applied for those cards I would have likely gotten a higher credit line. So for those of you out there with a not so perfect past with Chase they might still approve you but with a small limit like mines so you might want to go with the other offers. If i were to do it over again i would have applied for the other cards but I'm happy that Chase approved me despite the minimum credit line because it beats getting declined.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 16, 2017
i had this card for a couple yrs
Anonymous Cardholder

i had this card couple yrs and since i did not use it for a yr the card they sent me a letter saying since i didnt use it that much they are canceling the card in a month or so when it expires why bother applying for it then 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 17, 2017

It has not been out for 2 yea

 
Feb 16, 2017
Not recommend
cjunior95 Cardholder

not pre set limit they just cancell the card whit out let you know. whem you try use just decline then you have to call. this may happens in all transations.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 17, 2017

It does have a credit limit.

 
Feb 14, 2017
Great card with good benefits
asphyx9 Cardholder

I got approved for a $2,000 credit limit with a CK approval odds of "Fair", an Equifax and Transunion Vantage score of 640 and Experian/FICO 8 score of 645. Recently bought a car through Chase Auto which was probably a factor in my approval (Chase tends to look at your credit history with them). I also have a Capital One Quicksilver card with a credit limit of $300. 

Application process was fast and easy and this card has pretty good benefits. Looking forward to doing more business with Chase, they have been my saviors during my credit rebuilding efforts. 

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Good card, good web interface
HaroldHues Cardholder

This was my second credit card, currently my daily card. The web interface for this card is a lot easier to use than the Capital One interface

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Great card
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm just starting up my credit score. I have had a capital one for almost a year and they only gave me 500. With chase its 1500. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Dream come true card!
Fanofcredit1 Cardholder

Perfect card for anyone like me, trying re-established their credit.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Simple app, quick approval, great card.
XeroGzz Cardholder

I applied online, got approved instantly with a credit score around 670. Loving the card and the 1.5% on everything it provides!

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Love it!!!!
CheapDiva Cardholder

Applied with a TU and EX in the 630's Got approved for $1000 CL. Love the cash back and perks. Cash back can be used to pay your bill or get gift cards from chase affiiates. Niiice! Very good customer service. I had a medical emergency and needed a increase they provided me a increase instantly for $500. Love love Chase!! You also get cash back when you shop their affiliates i.e. Walmart etc. via their website. Very cool.

more ...
Feb 12, 2017
Good rewards, Okay approval limit
JM22806 Cardholder

Applied with CK scores of 730, 6y9m credit history, no missed payments and "very good" approval odds from CK. Applied online and approved instantly but was only approved for $2,000 credit limit with 24.24% APR after the 0% intro period. This is my first card with Chase, and since I only own one other credit card with a decently high utilization and one store card with 0% utilization, I'm guessing that's the reason for my low limit and high APR. I plan on calling after the intro period and requesting a lower APR (I also plan on using and paying off the balance every month to show reliable use of the card), so I cannot speak on customer service yet.

I did spend $500 in the first month and it already shows my credit for the new member $150 bonus reward (your rewards don't get added onto your account until the end of your billing period, so you can't use them immediately but you can still preview them.) I've already earned almost $166 in rewards in the first month to be added onto my account next month by paying off the balance as I go. I'll use this card exclusively during the 0% APR months. It's a good card to have to build up points on money that you already spend, especially if you can pay off the balance every month. I do suggest getting that utilization % down before applying, especially if you have no prior relationship with Chase.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

626 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i