Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
169 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 23, 2019
Got it!
Chargers4life96 Cardholder

CK said I have fair odds but applied anyway.   Result said they need to review more so I figured oh well and it did hit my score by 3 right away.  I have the Sapphire with 8k limit and kept balance really low.  Signed on my phone to make my payment and noticed I have the Freedom Unlimited underneath my Sapphire.  I was excited to see that I was approved for $6100.  Called costumer service to make sure and verify that it’s not a mistake and they said yes it was approved.  So with my odds of just fair I think Chase consider your other accounts with them maybe and if you’re in good standing maybe they base it on that as well.   My payment history is at 100%.  CS is 690 at the moment but I just started building my credit for about 3 years now.   So happy to say I’m excited to have this card and will take advantage of that 15 months 0% APR.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 18, 2018
Misleading
CowboyNation26 Cardholder

I applied for this card with the intentions to utilize the 0% balance transfer for 15 months option. However, what they do not tell you in the card descriptions; "you may be approved for card without having the balance transfer option". I was approved for $6400 without a balance transfer option; when I spoke with customer service they said that balance transfers are a promotional option, which I didn’t qualify for based on my credit worthiness. This doesn’t make much sense... giving the amount of credit line I was approved for and having a 680-700 credit score. Just be aware if you are applying for this card because you would like to use the balance transfer option, there's a great possibility you will not be allowed that option, even if approved. 

On the other hand, American express (no affiliation) approved me for a credit line, and the option for balance transfer is standard with approval (not promotional). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 17, 2019
best card I have
creditsave Cardholder

I applied for this card less than 3 months ago. After spending 1000 dls, my 150 dls rewards was aplied quickly. They started me with 1000 dls CL and today Chase just bumped it up to 2000 CL.

I simply pay it of everytime I reach 30% of the CL.

more ...
May 11, 2019
My workhorse Card
SlyFox32 Cardholder

Over 10 years with this card not one complaint although the interest rate floor is a bit higher than most, Just pay the card off when a balance is due and avoid that part.

more ...
May 08, 2019
Chase pulled my credit 2x for one app!

I applied for this card and Chase pulled my credit the day I applied and again on the next day. When I saw multiple hard inquiries on my credit report I called them. Since I am now their customer I expected to call them and they would correct the issue. WRONG. Not only were they unapologetic, they informed me that they have the right to do 3 HARD PULLS ON A SINGLE APPLICATION. Unless you are ok with the effect this could have on your credit score, I would recommend you DO NOT APPLY WITH CHASE!

more ...
May 09, 2019

That’s horrible

 
May 10, 2019

thats fine still, they will only count as one pull, as far as points lost from the pulls. Your ok

 
May 10, 2019

That’s very true, chase will drop your score a good 20 points. Be very careful before applying.
They will dinnie your application if you charged off in the last ten years,

 
May 10, 2019

TeamBeaterz not true! When I look at Credit Karma, I have 3 hard inquires. One is from an auto loan from last year and the other two are hard pulls from Chase on TWO consecutive days. I only submitted ONE application. They confirmed that the fine print authorized them to pull up to 3 times. I'M NOT FINE.

 
May 10, 2019

Bruh they Pull Experian and Transunion in Most states and sometime A CRA will report a day after one another

 
May 05, 2019
Not enough credit.

I signed up and only got a credit limit of 26 thousand, I don’t know if I can live like this. I might have to get 2 Chase Cards

more ...
May 05, 2019

How much credit are you trying for?!?!

 
May 06, 2019

only 26000 lol stop it

 
May 08, 2019

Yeah, I only got 60 thousand. Chase ruined my life with this low credit limit.

 
May 08, 2019

You guys have some paupers limit, lol

 
May 08, 2019

lmaooo

 
May 13, 2019

Are you kidding?

 
May 02, 2019
The worst of all my 10 cards
Revjc333 Cardholder

Chase has stranded me on three mission trips outside of the United States, cutting my credit limit without any warning though my credit score has always been 780 to 800, and even freezing my card from making automatic monthly payments on utilities, etc. Only still have it because of the amount of rewards I have not used yet.

more ...
May 02, 2019
Worst card ever!
rallen415 Cardholder

I filed a dispute because a charge that was on my card was invalid. They made me jump through hoops and then denied the dispute twice for technicalities like you didn’t answer the phone when we called (because their number was marked as spam and blocked by my spam blocker app). And we sent you a letter in the mail (never got it because I have e-statements and the letter went to a mailbox that you can only access from a desktop). So then they tell me I have to travel a whole hour to the nearest Apple store to get a document from them to use when I mail in my dispute. I do all of that and they deny it again saying while you have a valid claim, the charge will still remain on your account. They didn’t even tell me why it would remain..just because they said so. Don’t waste you time or hard earned money on this card.

more ...
May 02, 2019
Worst card I ever had
rallen415 Cardholder

I filed a dispute because a charge that was on my card was invalid. They made me jump through hoops and then denied the dispute twice for technicalities like you didn’t answer the phone when we called (because their number was marked as spam and blocked by my spam blocker app). And we sent you a letter in the mail (never got it because I have e-statements and the letter went to a mailbox that you can only access from a desktop). So then they tell me I have to travel a whole hour to the nearest Apple store to get a document from them to use when I mail in my dispute. I do all of that and they deny it again saying while you have a valid claim, the charge will still remain on your account. They didn’t even tell me why it would remain..just because they said so. Don’t waste you time or hard earned money on this card.

more ...
Apr 30, 2019
Not worth it
NJ1971 Cardholder

I applied for this card, got approved for a $1000 credit line. NEVER got the card. Chase closed the account for reasons unknown. My credit took a HUGE hit. I will NEVER again do business with Chase. Customer service rep was rude, suggested I do another application. No thanks, I know everything I need to know about Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 30, 2019

u most have a old debt with them?

 
Apr 28, 2019
Got it!
mds1994 Cardholder

Writing this review to maybe help others with "fair credit".

I have a 668 Transunion score & 628 Equi fax score.  I got my first USAA secured credit card 6 months ago - CL 300, 2 months ago got a Cap One Quicksilver card - CL 500.

I had fair approval odds and went for it anyway, I just got an instant approval for $1,000 CL - biggest limit yet! 

So go for it even if you have fair odds :)

more ...
Apr 23, 2019
Will decrease your limit without warning
Gwenrp Cardholder

Do not charge too much on this card or you may get a decrease on your limit without warning. I received a letter in the mail stating my credit line was decreased from 10,000 to 6,800. Fine if my balance was lower but my balance was at about 6,200. Totally blown away, I attempted to call customer service. It was like speaking to robots regarding the situation. Apparently they run a credit review (randomly) dont even have a frequency to how often that is done. If your debt ratio is too high they'll lower your limit. I tried inquiring what was showing up on my credit report besides my Chase card to which they couldnt answer. I've never been treated lk I shouldnt be using the credit card that was issued to me. So livid that my balance is now so close to the max available. Will pay this down and not use it anymore.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019

should have only utilized 3000 of that plus pay atleast half off in a fast way

 
Apr 27, 2019

You’re using more than 50% credit utilization. The preferred is 10-30%.

 
Apr 29, 2019

Every financial institution will do that. As others said, you're using too much of your limit. The rule of thumb is, less than 30% of limit on each account, and less than 50% of total limit between all accounts

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®