Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
602 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
MrMike243 Cardholder

I have 685 between the two scores on here. Got approved really quick but only a $500 limit. Oh well it's a start. I have a capital one with $6,500 and a delta rewards Amex with $1000 limit. This may be why it was so low but I also have 4 older derogatories. Trying to get my credit back in shape. Wish me luck. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Approved for $500
MickU101 Cardholder

I have a 750 Fico score basically from paying off 2 auto loans. I opened up a banking account at a credit union and started to get flooded with credit cards letters. I decided on appying for this card after getting 2 pre-approvals. I have not had a credit card for over a decade so I applied with zero debt and was still not instantly approved but for good reason.  I called recon and was told that I had 2 Chase charged off accounts from over 10 years ago. I told them those fell off my credit reports years ago and that I had a good score but they said "We go by your Chase credit history not by what is on your credit reports or score" Then they just wanted a reason why I fell behind on those accounts in the past and I told them because I was in the military.   After waiting on hold for 5 minutes they said i would get a letter in the mail. 2 days later i called the status line and it said i was approved but not for how much. I waited 5 business days to get my card mailed which is when i found out it was only for $500. So there you have it. That explains why people with credit scores that are over 100-200 points lower are getting approved for thousands of dollars. Either they have a good Chase credit history or are berly starting a credit relationship with them.  

BTW I also got pre approval offers in the mail from BofA and Discover who I have not had a credit relationship with in the past. If i would have applied for those cards I would have likely gotten a higher credit line. So for those of you out there with a not so perfect past with Chase they might still approve you but with a small limit like mines so you might want to go with the other offers. If i were to do it over again i would have applied for the other cards but I'm happy that Chase approved me despite the minimum credit line because it beats getting declined.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 21, 2017
Low credit line !!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have credit score of 725 eq , 750 trans , 734 exp

the approve me with $3500 !!! I use it for 2 years and they didn't increase my limit !! Don't recommend any chase card. 

stay with amx or capital one or discover 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
DON'T
lunamoon20017 Cardholder

I was card member since 1998 and above $20k credit line. Didn't know they closed my account until notice lower credit score, and $20k lower credit limit, which shot my spending ratio up. I called and they refused to restore my card, they said I have not use it for a while. Then, have the nerve to ask me to establish a new card. With above 800 Fico score, there are plenty of banks I can start a new financial relationship with. My advice, stay away ... they'll dump you, eventually. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017

Many banks close accounts due to non use. Some even advertise the period of inactivity before they'll close an account. Bottom line: if you don't want an account inadvertently closed, use it from time to time.

 
Jan 21, 2017

Why are you even writing a review on this card since it obviously wasn't the one they closed because of inactivity?

 
Jan 19, 2017
Great card
Zk1994 Cardholder

Awesome perks, was instantly approved with a 730 credit score. People complaining about limits.. that's because your credit is not high enough. My starting limit was $4,000. Chase is widely accepted and this card has a nice and simple reward program. Highly recommend. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Ok card
Meadball78 Cardholder

I was approved with a 680 and 671 credit score with a 4500 limit. Says if you spend over a certain amount you get so many bonus points with the first few months but I have yet to see any points at all. Easy to use but the mobile app and such are a pain in the butt to sent up at first, but once it's sent up I've had no problems so far. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 19, 2017

4500 Credit limit wow!!

 
Jan 18, 2017
Exactly what you expect it to be.
Anonymous Cardholder

You need to manually enroll in the bonus categories but nothing is misleading. These high reward credit cards vome with high interest rates. I've had the card for about 3 years. I've redeemed hundreds of dollars in rewards. 23yr old Fico at 717 limit is at 9500.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
APPROVED
kirra386 Cardholder

Approved instantly online for 3K line of credit.  CK showing EQ 697 and 713 on TU.  When I received the letter with my card, they pulled my FICO of 667 through EX.  Currently with 6HI's and 28k in credit lines with 2.5 years history.  I've already used the card for two balnce transfers and can't wait to build a further history with Chase.  So far so good and really enjoying the 15 month no APR offer!

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
The 15 months 0 APR is awesome.
mickeymillz Cardholder

I applied with a 744 Transunion and 743 Equifax and "very good" chances on Credit Karma. $72K income. Only one other account which is a Capital One card with a $750 limit which is paid off. Applied online which was incredibly easy. I got the "30 day" message and called the Chase recon line a couple hours later. I asked them if there was any way I could help speed the process along and the gentleman transferred me to another department because they needed verification. After a few questions and being on hold, I got approved for a credit line of $10K. I applied on a Thursday morning and got the card on Monday afternoon. When I called, I asked for expedited shipping. They do this for free if you ask. Good luck!

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
$2000 CL 699 CS
Key0700 Cardholder

Approved with 699 CS and 21 HI ( 16 are from buying a car). Recived a message about application pending, called the  pending credit line and was instanly approved.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Awesome
R34skylin3 Cardholder

I have had only 6 months credit history and only a 663 score and chase approved me with a $1000 credit line they also gave me 15000 points which is equals $150.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Approved after 2nd or 3rd time
Cyn613 Cardholder

With Trans of 640, Equifax of 689 was not approved instantly, but recvd an email about a week after applying a 2nd or 3rd time approving me with a $500 limit. Not bad considering Trans dropped a drastic 50 points due bureau removing a paid auto (idk why). I think the fact I've banked with chase for over 10+ yrs helped.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 16, 2017

What did they give you for a credit limit?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

602 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i