Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
185 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 30, 2018
Excellent choice
AZCowboy99 Cardholder

Credit Karma said I had an excellent chance for approval so I applied;  history of bad credit but have built it up elsewhere.  Chase gave me a 6,200 credit line and card was in hand in days.  If you pay it off monthly who cares what the interest rate is?   I migrated all my outstanding cc balances over and pay 0% on those for 15 months;  will have paid off before then.  Good people and good card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 18, 2018
Misleading
CowboyNation26 Cardholder

I applied for this card with the intentions to utilize the 0% balance transfer for 15 months option. However, what they do not tell you in the card descriptions; "you may be approved for card without having the balance transfer option". I was approved for $6400 without a balance transfer option; when I spoke with customer service they said that balance transfers are a promotional option, which I didn’t qualify for based on my credit worthiness. This doesn’t make much sense... giving the amount of credit line I was approved for and having a 680-700 credit score. Just be aware if you are applying for this card because you would like to use the balance transfer option, there's a great possibility you will not be allowed that option, even if approved. 

On the other hand, American express (no affiliation) approved me for a credit line, and the option for balance transfer is standard with approval (not promotional). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2019
Great until jacked up interest rate
msiscrm Cardholder

I've had this card for many years (more than 15). It was my go to card for unexpected expenses--car repair, medical, etc-because of it's low everyday interest rate (variable, never more than 10%.) Now, suddenly, the rate is over 16%, pretty much unacceptable for any purchase that would need to be paid over time. With a credit score that is anywhere between 750-825, this is not viable for us. I would cancel but they say it will impact our credit score. But probably will...

more ...
Mar 19, 2019
Horrible Customer Service
Aldawg42 Cardholder

I put in a dispute for a $500 bank charge that should have never happened.  Chase initally removed the charge pending an investigation.  A month later, I was recharged the same amount and was sent a letter in the mail saying that their investigation confirmed that it was a ligitimate change and if I wanted to continue the dispute, I had the let them know by a date THAT WAS IN THE PAST.  I called them as soon as the letter arrived in my mailbox and ask them to reopen the case.  I said I would send more evidence that it was an erroreous change.  Everytime I would email asking for an update, I got the same canned reply, and never a followup, so had the call them many times.  One time I called and was told that the correction would appear in the next billing cycle.  When I called back a month later, was told the case was closed for months and could not be reopened (even though was told in previous calls that they were still working on it).  One customer service person actually told me that as long as I give someone my credit card number, they have the right to charge whatever amount they want, regardless of whether I approved the amount or not.  To say dealing with Chase Freedom Unlimited customer service was nightmarish would be a huge understatement.  I ended up having the take the bank to small claims court, which I won.  Soon after, I cancelled my Chase Freedom Unlimited as well as many of my other Chase Credit Cards.

more ...
Mar 17, 2019
Instant approval, great card
ehannibal Cardholder

I received instant approval for this card with a limit of 20k. I recommend paying the balance in full each month to avoid interest after the introductory period.

more ...
Mar 16, 2019
misleading
sharmitcmos Cardholder

i have a great credit score and i asked for a lower interest rate , the guy told me there is none.  so i will pay it off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2019

If you have good credit why are you going through credit karma to chose a credit card brah? They only offer bottom feeder cards for all the busted credit credit karma folks.

 
Mar 15, 2019
Great Rewards card
MoistVonLipwig Cardholder

I have had this card for about a year now. I love it. The 1.5% cashback across the board is quite good especially considering there is no anual fee. This is an exellent card to help build credit and it is the one I use to do most of my grocery shopping. I also believe you can use the cash back generated with this card on the Saphire Reserve card which I plan to apply for in the future. As of yet I have not had need to contact chase customer support so I can't speak to that.  The rewards are quite easy to redeem. I would highly recommend this card due to its high cashback and lack of an anual fee.

more ...
Mar 15, 2019
Simple and useful cash back card.
SirKrimzin Cardholder

Credit Karma said I had excellent approval odds for this card. I applied and within minutes was approved for a $3500 credit line. Using the card I've earned hundreds of dollars on regular purchases.

more ...
Mar 12, 2019
Worth it, if you need credit
RIPPEDSSC Cardholder

0% Apr for first 15 months is really good,if you keep on top of payments. I have really good credit and still managed to get 20%+ interest after the intro apr.. So watch out for fine print. Good points back

more ...
Mar 10, 2019
Its a card.
Chriiz Cardholder

Your experience may differ if you use another bank as your main bank and use. I don't rely on this card and just got it for my credit score. Overall, it's...a card. Not a great card; not a terrible one. Does basic things for no annual fee for my basic needs. It's not raising my score as fast as I thought, in a way, but still nevertheless it's useful in a pinch. If, however, you rely on credits cards often, prefer more benefits, or are willing to pay an annual, this may not be your card. Can't speak on customer service because I've never had to call them about anything.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Got approved with a 620 score ....
SeanRod96 Cardholder

I love this card its linked right along with my chase checking account i got approved with a limit of 2,500 and only had a credit score of 620 so dont lose hope if you don't have amazing credit

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

185 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i