Chase Freedom Unlimited℠ Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
555 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 03, 2017
Perfection in a card!
5StarGoals Cardholder

I started fixing my destroyed credit and got the Capital One secured card first.  Once I had that card for a year I got my credit up to around 600.  I kept usage below 30% and applied for this card and was approved with a $2500 limit.  I use it for everything but I don't leave a balance, I have it on autopay but I also login every few days and pay it off so that I don't risk having my usage above 30% at any reporting time.  I have received the introductory $150 for spending more than $500 within the first 3months and have been getting around $50 in cashback rewards each month, spending money paying bills and shopping for things that I would normally be shopping for.  I have had no issues with this card so far and would highly recommend it if credit karma recommends it.  They haven't steered me wrong yet.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Approved for $500
MickU101 Cardholder

I have a 750 Fico score basically from paying off 2 auto loans. I opened up a banking account at a credit union and started to get flooded with credit cards letters. I decided on appying for this card after getting 2 pre-approvals. I have not had a credit card for over a decade so I applied with zero debt and was still not instantly approved but for good reason.  I called recon and was told that I had 2 Chase charged off accounts from over 10 years ago. I told them those fell off my credit reports years ago and that I had a good score but they said "We go by your Chase credit history not by what is on your credit reports or score" Then they just wanted a reason why I fell behind on those accounts in the past and I told them because I was in the military.   After waiting on hold for 5 minutes they said i would get a letter in the mail. 2 days later i called the status line and it said i was approved but not for how much. I waited 5 business days to get my card mailed which is when i found out it was only for $500. So there you have it. That explains why people with credit scores that are over 100-200 points lower are getting approved for thousands of dollars. Either they have a good Chase credit history or are berly starting a credit relationship with them.  

BTW I also got pre approval offers in the mail from BofA and Discover who I have not had a credit relationship with in the past. If i would have applied for those cards I would have likely gotten a higher credit line. So for those of you out there with a not so perfect past with Chase they might still approve you but with a small limit like mines so you might want to go with the other offers. If i were to do it over again i would have applied for the other cards but I'm happy that Chase approved me despite the minimum credit line because it beats getting declined.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 22, 2017
Awesome perks with cash back rewards.
Hcity Cardholder

Great to have when you want simple rewards earned. With a little extra incentives.

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Amazing Card
AbiSana Cardholder

My Credit Score wasn't that great. It was around 670 when I applied for that card. I got approved for 4K in just moments. It's an amazing card for everyday use. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 22, 2017

Was your score 670 with Transunion and experian

 
Jun 22, 2017
Approved for $1k with fair credit

Credit Karma gave me "very good approval odds, so I went for it. I have 2 Capital one credit cards for a total credit limit of $1,350. 1 student loan for $2,250. And 1 car loan that I still owe $10k on.
Credit scores: 676TU and 657EQ
Approved for $1,000. I was hoping for at least $1,500 so I called immediately to ask for a credit line increase and was denied (that cost me another hard pull, ouch)
Haven't used the card yet, so can't talk much about that.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Good so far, but we shall see
TheAGway Cardholder

I applied for this card after being a bit apprehensive since I was still in rebuild mode. I started with a 525 score and applied for capital one secured last October 2016 and with consistency with it got my score up to tu 633 eq 635 and went on a limb to apply for chase unlimited, scared it would take days to learn the decision as some mentioned, I was shocked that I got immediately approved for 1000. The inquiry knocked my score down 3 points, but waiting on the account to kick in to see how much it will raise my score. Will keep yall posted on that, rather I have problems getting my bonus after 3 months, and how the point system works out.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
so far so good
DulceatCK Cardholder

I applied for this card with 631 TransUnion and 655 Equifax and was approved for $2000, I have been rebuliding my credit and I am glad I was finally able to get a card that gives me cash back. I have not yet received the $150 bonus but will update review at that time.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Great card
Yuri333 Cardholder

I really love the card. Its awesome to get approved by Chase. I really wished it would give more rewards for using. I use it about 4 to 5 times a month and it sometimes doesnt give me any cash back. But other than that i love using it for emergencies and everyday purchases. Would really recommend it.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
This card is THE standard
Dissolve Cardholder

This card is what I compare to for all other credit cards I apply for. In fact this card is arguably the best general cash back card out there right now because the points are worth a bit more than the typical 1 cent through their rewards program and most venders easily accept the points. This is my everyday card and it's not changing. There are plenty of cards to combo this card with. This card would be the general uncategoried card but I recommend getting a card with 5% cash back on groceries and 5% cash back on gas and everything will be easier.

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Keeps things simple
Anonymous Cardholder

No rotating categories to keep track of. Just a simple flat cashback % on everything. Simple.

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Awesome Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got this card about a month ago.  I've only had a prepaid credit card, and have been working on my credit score. CK said I had very good odds,and I applied thinking I'd probably get a 1500 CL.   Well, I was immediately approved for 7000!  My credit score went WAY up the last couple of weeks, and I've already earned the $150 sign up bonus ( bought a washing machine.. paid off already..)..   This is a great card to use for every day purchases and then just pay off every week or so.  I am finally out of a financial hole and it feels WONDERFUL to have a line of credit for all the home improvement stuff I have planned :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 22, 2017

What was your score at the time you applied

 
Jun 16, 2017
Fair approval odds
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm still working on my credit and CK showed me as fair approval odds. I was VERY nervous and kept searching reviews and stewed about it for a week. Finally I said, what the hell I'll just apply and see what happens. CK docked me 8 points for the inquiry and I got a message from Chase saying they would mail me a decision. I WAS BUMMED. Two days later I couldn't take it and called the membership recon line I got on google. After a series of questions, they approved me for $500. Whew! I hate that the credit limit is so low but I'm glad I was approved. 

more ...
Jun 20, 2017

That's awesome! How is your credit score? Mine isn't that good either so I'm a bit reluctant to apply.

 
Jun 24, 2017

What number did u call? I applied and got denied unfortunately, who dod i speak to and what do i tell them? Thank u so much

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

555 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i