Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
630 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 03, 2017
Perfection in a card!
5StarGoals Cardholder

I started fixing my destroyed credit and got the Capital One secured card first.  Once I had that card for a year I got my credit up to around 600.  I kept usage below 30% and applied for this card and was approved with a $2500 limit.  I use it for everything but I don't leave a balance, I have it on autopay but I also login every few days and pay it off so that I don't risk having my usage above 30% at any reporting time.  I have received the introductory $150 for spending more than $500 within the first 3months and have been getting around $50 in cashback rewards each month, spending money paying bills and shopping for things that I would normally be shopping for.  I have had no issues with this card so far and would highly recommend it if credit karma recommends it.  They haven't steered me wrong yet.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Approved for $500
MickU101 Cardholder

I have a 750 Fico score basically from paying off 2 auto loans. I opened up a banking account at a credit union and started to get flooded with credit cards letters. I decided on appying for this card after getting 2 pre-approvals. I have not had a credit card for over a decade so I applied with zero debt and was still not instantly approved but for good reason.  I called recon and was told that I had 2 Chase charged off accounts from over 10 years ago. I told them those fell off my credit reports years ago and that I had a good score but they said "We go by your Chase credit history not by what is on your credit reports or score" Then they just wanted a reason why I fell behind on those accounts in the past and I told them because I was in the military.   After waiting on hold for 5 minutes they said i would get a letter in the mail. 2 days later i called the status line and it said i was approved but not for how much. I waited 5 business days to get my card mailed which is when i found out it was only for $500. So there you have it. That explains why people with credit scores that are over 100-200 points lower are getting approved for thousands of dollars. Either they have a good Chase credit history or are berly starting a credit relationship with them.  

BTW I also got pre approval offers in the mail from BofA and Discover who I have not had a credit relationship with in the past. If i would have applied for those cards I would have likely gotten a higher credit line. So for those of you out there with a not so perfect past with Chase they might still approve you but with a small limit like mines so you might want to go with the other offers. If i were to do it over again i would have applied for the other cards but I'm happy that Chase approved me despite the minimum credit line because it beats getting declined.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 22, 2017
A Very Solid Rewards Card.
Realist1113 Cardholder

818 credit score on CK, applied online.  Have several other cards with Chase including Sapphire Preffered.  Instant Approval online with a $17,000 credit line.  A bit lower than I would like, but I will probably call and swap some credit lines around to get it to the 30k range, unless they will just increase it on their own.  15% interest after the 15 months at 0 percent make this card worth keeping.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Glad I got Approved!

CK told me my approval chances were very good. I got approved for the card with a 701 score on Equifax and Transunion. 

$2,500 credit limit.

No issues with customer service. I did get the "your application needs further review" message at first, but I logged into Chase and I saw the new account available two business days later.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Worst customer service
Kiit Cardholder

The card itself is fine. No complaints there. But Chase has the rose customer service that I have ever received. They do not communicate terms clearly over the phone, and they lied to me and it cost me the new customer intro offer. 

Dont go with chase and expect their Indian customer service to be good. Ever. 

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Awesome rewards card.
jenipaulina Cardholder

It is super easy to book for flight using the rewards on this card.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
I had a very low score but got approved!
Anonymous Cardholder

I started off with a credit score of 552 and within two months I'm at 660! It's not great yet but I'm getting there. Credit karma has helped so much and has been perfect in helping me improve my credit. I also got $150 back for using $500 in three months. I hope to get up to $1,000 and travel some in the near future. I love this card and JD Chase!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 20, 2017

Did you get approved right away or you had to wait?

 
Apr 18, 2017
My first experience with Chase
dragon9786 Cardholder

I applied online and got an email asking me to call a number to provide additional info. After a couple of minutes on the phone, i was approved for a CLI of 13K. I am super excited as this is my highest CLI to date and my journey from 18 months back when credit karma had my score at 570is is well and truly buzzing. My current Credit carma score is 749 (TU and Equifax) and my Fico score is 718. i will probably wait for my score to go up to around 730 in the next couple of months (once the effects of the new card on my age wears off and also a couple of my credit enquiries drop off) and apply for the Chase Sapphire reserve. Highly recommend. Oh and btw I have already made purchases of upto 500 and have gotten a 150$ bonus :)

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Tecti Cardholder

Just got approved 3500 cl with 663 an 719 CS 6 months credit 5 % ratio have a small dicover card in good shape an some old good credit an some bad like irs lien from yrs ago anyways was hesatating to apply cuase it is the number one ranked card on ck im happy

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Absolutely love it!
Xocheyaxo Cardholder

I applied back in November with CK scores in the upper 600's. Instantly approved for $1,500. 3 months later, they gave me a $1,000 increase. I love the no interest for 15 months, as it allows me to spend without worrying about the interest fee if I can't pay it all immediately (which I usually do). I haven't had any problems, and it's definitely helping me build my credit since I'm a college student with limited history. This is by far my favorite card. I would honestly recommend it to anyone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 19, 2017

Youve had it for 3 days, how did you already get an increase????

 
Apr 16, 2017
Best card!
Luckygirl101 Cardholder

Approved for $13,500 limit less than a year later Im at $22,400

more ...
Apr 16, 2017

Did you have to request the increase, or did they automatically do it?

 
Apr 17, 2017

More info please. What is your income?

 
Apr 14, 2017
Off to a great start!
annie08pnk Cardholder

Instant approval after applying through the pre-qualified page with a SL of 9K. Pulled TU. Fico 08 710. Several 120 day lates across 18 student loan accounts from almost 2 years ago and 1 paid collection. I've banked with Chase for at least 7 years so I'm not sure if that was a factor. Chase is good with me.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

630 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i