Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
421 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom Unlimited® offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom Unlimited®, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom Unlimited® also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 03, 2017
Perfection in a card!
5StarGoals Cardholder

I started fixing my destroyed credit and got the Capital One secured card first.  Once I had that card for a year I got my credit up to around 600.  I kept usage below 30% and applied for this card and was approved with a $2500 limit.  I use it for everything but I don't leave a balance, I have it on autopay but I also login every few days and pay it off so that I don't risk having my usage above 30% at any reporting time.  I have received the introductory $150 for spending more than $500 within the first 3months and have been getting around $50 in cashback rewards each month, spending money paying bills and shopping for things that I would normally be shopping for.  I have had no issues with this card so far and would highly recommend it if credit karma recommends it.  They haven't steered me wrong yet.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 10, 2016
Be aware of ever increasing APR!!!!
Maggiebrooks Cardholder

Had this card for years, they kept increasing my APR from 13% to 20% within 6 month ! 

Nobody is able to lower your APR, only raise it. 

Then, when you get your letter in the mail, which I didn't, stating that they will raise your APR, they give you the choice to decline the raise which in turn closes your account, which in turn dings your credit score. 

I just took the ding cause they told me my APR would go up once more in December. 

ALSO, which is illegal, they apply the new higher APR to you current balance, not to any new charges......

Young people be aware !!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 21, 2017
First Credit Card, I don't regret it!!!
JoeySouvage Cardholder

Great rewards, accepted everywhere, and if you already use Chase as your primary bank account this is a no-brainer. It's helping me build my credit and it's very easy to keep track of with it being connected directly to my online banking. Super impressed! Got approved with a 625 credit score with a $500 credit lmit. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Great rewards card for beginners
Jam3s007 Cardholder

Chase offers some great credit cards as well as great customer service. I have this and the Chase Freedom card in my wallet(along with 5 others). From what I've heard chase likes to see at least two years of credit history before they hand out their rewards/cash back cards, so be weary of this before you jump head first into the credit game and wrack up multiple denials. They turned me down as a brand new service member with less than a year of credit history when I applied for their military rewards card(which was discontinued and converted for us into the chase unlimited). I instead was approved for the AFEES military star card which is a great credit building tool for young military members who are trying to build their credit responsibly. 

After about two more years of building my credit I was accepted for the then military chase rewards card. The benefits are great as welll as the rewards. Please keep in mind that chase can be stingey with credit line increases. Amex and Comenity are the most generous from what I've seen so far. Chase use to give me a bump every few months but I have not received any for st least two years.

Also note that 1.5% unlimited points is pretty weak. There are a bunch of 2% rewards cards that can be easily found through google. The $150 introduced bonus is great and may not be available for a lot of the 2% cash back cards that are out there. My USAA cash back card (requires a monthly direct deposit of $1000 into my checking account to maintain stated cash back rate) is unlimited 2.5% points (this is pretty rare), although it did not come with any intro bonus. Bonuses come and go though so please keep this in mind. (I also use the 5% USAA cash back card which gives 5% off on all on base purchases up to a certain amount in spending. Heloooo commissary groceries and gas station)

If you are military please check out Amex as they wave all annual fees for active military. This means you can earn a slew of extra benefits as well as enjoy things like the blue cash preferred 6% cash back card while dodging the 100$ annual fee.

All in all the Chase unlimited is a great card with great benefits. However there are more powerful punching cash back cards(some with no intro bonus). I wouldn't personally recommend this card to a well established cash back pioneer but this is a great card for someone who is just starting out(as long as they have a loan or some sort of credit under their belt so they don't get denied)..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 24, 2017

Were you bored? No one is reading that whole essay.

 
Sep 15, 2017
A wonderful all around card.
NanciY Cardholder

I have been rebuilding my credit after years of bad decisions. I had my score to about 675 with a couple of other minor cards, but got this card with a $2000 limit and I LOVE it! I have already brought my score to 725! I don't have to think about where I am shopping for the points, it's 1.5% everywhere, and there are lots of other ways to earn. If you are thinking about applying, please use my link. Earn a $150 bonus with Chase Freedom Unlimited. I can be rewarded too if you apply here and are approved for the card. Learn more.

https://www.referyourchasecard.com/18/4EHVRBQ1PR

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Easy Process
FleXNSB Cardholder

Just applied with a 724 Fico (TU). Super easy process and was instantly approved for 9,000$ CL. I have a fairly high income, and have been banking with Chase for the last 5-8 years, so that may have affected the CL a bit. All in all the process was incredibly seamless and I am very satisfied.

Looking forward to continuing to build my credit profile with this card.

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

The process for applying was easy. Customer service was excellent, and helped me narrow down which Chase credit card would be best for my interest. This card is by far the best that I have used. 

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
Excited to start using this card
Anonymous Cardholder

Approved with 800 credit score and spending limit of 12k. Unbeatable way to earn points when combined with the Freedom and Sapphire Preferred.

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
Great card. No issues.
christie10 Cardholder

Wish I can lower my interest 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2017

Ask them to.

 
Sep 10, 2017
Cash back wirks great and simple
Anonymous Cardholder

Good initial CL allocation and simple cash back earning

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
My ideal Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card in July. I originally started rebuilding my Credit over a process of 3 years using a secured card and personnel loans. After I got my score from 515 to 722Tu, 727EQ I decided it was time. I was instantly approved for a CL of 3k! I was very happy. The card arrived in about one week and I have no complaints about it since I started using it. The Cash back feature is great. They give yo the option to credit your account and lower your balance, redeem for gift cards or directly deposit it into your bank account, even if it's not with Chase. Customer service is good and friendly. I also highly recommend downloading the app, it's very user friendly and you don't even need to call customer service 90% of the time. I plan to keep this card and stay with Chase. This is my favorite card.

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Be very careful!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card cause of an amount of positive reviews.I got approved for 1000$credit limit,was using it with no problem,paying on time and so on.I got my 150$ bonus right away.Until 2 months later ,i made a payment  on 9/2/2017 ,money will not apply to my card till 9/11/2017.Is this a joke?Though money were taken from my account same day.With same interest i would rather go with Capital One ,they have excelent customer service,payment applies next day.Sounds great ,but same scam like most of them!!!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

421 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i