Chase Freedom Unlimited℠ Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
514 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 03, 2017
Perfection in a card!
5StarGoals Cardholder

I started fixing my destroyed credit and got the Capital One secured card first.  Once I had that card for a year I got my credit up to around 600.  I kept usage below 30% and applied for this card and was approved with a $2500 limit.  I use it for everything but I don't leave a balance, I have it on autopay but I also login every few days and pay it off so that I don't risk having my usage above 30% at any reporting time.  I have received the introductory $150 for spending more than $500 within the first 3months and have been getting around $50 in cashback rewards each month, spending money paying bills and shopping for things that I would normally be shopping for.  I have had no issues with this card so far and would highly recommend it if credit karma recommends it.  They haven't steered me wrong yet.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 15, 2017
lllaura123456 Cardholder

This is a pretty generic card. I recieved a 0% APR promo, 1.5% cash back on purchases and sometimes they e-mail offers for additional cash back. Had difficultly redeeming additional cash back promos even though I met the requirements. They ended up refusing my 10% additional cash back for a hotel room even though I got an e-mail promising the extra points. They claimed that I already redeemed these points, which is not true since I haven't redeemed points since January and it is now May. The points should have posted in March. Poor customer service with little regard for keeping the customer around once approved. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 20, 2017
JameshAndrews Cardholder

Got Approved for 7000 dollars credit line. Will use as an everyday card. 

got no issues so far. 

more ...
Jul 22, 2017

Credit score?

 
Jul 23, 2017

718, equifax and trans.. got 750 on Experian

 
Jul 19, 2017
Awesome Everyday Card!
LB2810 Cardholder

College student with trans/eq scores of 753, and fico of 762. Applied earlier today and got accepted for 6000! More than happy!

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Awesome!
ElinaAngelina Cardholder

Applied today with a score 803 and got approved within seconds for $12,000! The Highest credit card balance I have! I have one from Citi bank for only $2,000

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Only reason for me to apple was that I was targeted for an offer if you spend $500 you get $300 so there's that. Also have freedom, discover it, slate and spg Amex card. Will be looking forward for this card and I will make sure I will put all my auto payment on this card so I can get flat cash back and will use my freedom and discover it for 5% cash back and my spg card for everyday spend. Just looking to get more chase ultimate reward. 

When I applied my fico score was 668 my approval odds were very good according to credit karma was instantly approved for 3k CL

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Good so far
Cbrain76 Cardholder

I had to call the 800 number on the denial letter in order to get approved since I didn't have any other cards for them to check my creditworthyness. Once I called and talked to the agent, I explained my situation and got approved in a matter of minutes. Been a great card so far and I will reach that $500 in the 3 month time frame. Love it!

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied with TU 637 and EQ 650 and I got 2000$ CL. Very exciting bc I've been cleaning up my credit report. 

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Thanks Credit Antifa Unlimited
ChargerGreg Cardholder

30K to start. BYE snowflakes.

more ...
Jul 15, 2017

Wtf kinda review is this? What are you, 5 years old?

 
Jul 23, 2017

Probably lying anyway lol

 
Jul 12, 2017
Good for balance transfers
EviLivE999 Cardholder

My credit score at the time I applied for this card was close to excellent and wanted it for a balance transfer. I was approved for almost $10K which was nice. They also approved my balance transfer. Nice BUT.... Before my approval had gone through, I still needed to pay the bill on my card that would HOPEFULLY be transfered. I did this and paid $200 towards the card. More than 5 business days pass and when I checked the balances on both cards I noticed that the balance transfer had taken place...in THE FULL AMOUNT that I had requested + the fee and DID NOT reflect the $200 payment I had made PRIOR to the transfer. So their telling me I threw my money away? I don't understand how this can be.... NFM!!!
What I'm saying is, if you are trying to balance transfer and you're fairly sure it will go through, either ask Chase to transfer a lower amount than what your balance reflects, OR ask to transfer the FULL amount and DO NOT PAY YOUR UPCOMING BILL! It will cost less in late fees and interest than just GIVING THEM YOUR $200 and having to pay Chase the late and interest and STILL - $200 in your pocket!!! Best birthday ever! NOT!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 16, 2017

Your review is confusing. How could you throw your money away? Are you saying the account wasn't credited the $200? Paying an upcoming bill on an account that you're trying to transfer the balance will depend on the due date. What late fee? You're all over the place with this review.

 
Jul 10, 2017
A Joke!
brooke321 Cardholder

I received my chase card in the mail today i waited 15 business days to get approved for the card them another 5 days to receive it in the mail. I activated the card today went to use it and it kept declining the payment i called they asked me to answer some security questions after I get done with that then they proceed to tell me my account is under review and gave me a new number to call to find out why it is being reviewed when I called them they said they won't know why it's being reviewed until the review is done which will take 10 business days and they will be pulling my credit again and if they feel like I am a risk they will cancel my card so now I will have 2 credit pills from chase and they say these reviews are random and can be done at any time this is a joke I have never even used this dang card and im already getting another credit pull and may not even be able to have this card after they just approved me! There customer service reps are extremely rude and im not sure I even want to give them my business I'm thinking of just taking it somewhere else!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 10, 2017

Chase can really be a joke. Sucks they have the best Travel card. CSP, CAR.

 
Jul 09, 2017
Everyday card!
rcsmith0109 Cardholder

Highly recommend getting this card, only downside imo is that it takes 3 days for transactions to post before i can pay them off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 15, 2017

You do not have to wait for charges to post to pay them, chase allows you to pay pending charges

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

514 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i