Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
667 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
MrMike243 Cardholder

I have 685 between the two scores on here. Got approved really quick but only a $500 limit. Oh well it's a start. I have a capital one with $6,500 and a delta rewards Amex with $1000 limit. This may be why it was so low but I also have 4 older derogatories. Trying to get my credit back in shape. Wish me luck. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Approved for $500
MickU101 Cardholder

I have a 750 Fico score basically from paying off 2 auto loans. I opened up a banking account at a credit union and started to get flooded with credit cards letters. I decided on appying for this card after getting 2 pre-approvals. I have not had a credit card for over a decade so I applied with zero debt and was still not instantly approved but for good reason.  I called recon and was told that I had 2 Chase charged off accounts from over 10 years ago. I told them those fell off my credit reports years ago and that I had a good score but they said "We go by your Chase credit history not by what is on your credit reports or score" Then they just wanted a reason why I fell behind on those accounts in the past and I told them because I was in the military.   After waiting on hold for 5 minutes they said i would get a letter in the mail. 2 days later i called the status line and it said i was approved but not for how much. I waited 5 business days to get my card mailed which is when i found out it was only for $500. So there you have it. That explains why people with credit scores that are over 100-200 points lower are getting approved for thousands of dollars. Either they have a good Chase credit history or are berly starting a credit relationship with them.  

BTW I also got pre approval offers in the mail from BofA and Discover who I have not had a credit relationship with in the past. If i would have applied for those cards I would have likely gotten a higher credit line. So for those of you out there with a not so perfect past with Chase they might still approve you but with a small limit like mines so you might want to go with the other offers. If i were to do it over again i would have applied for the other cards but I'm happy that Chase approved me despite the minimum credit line because it beats getting declined.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 24, 2017
Heart attack, but approved for $2500!
brlovesreub Cardholder

I searched reviews endlessly to guage my approval odds. I spent hours (really!) googling things like, "Chase Freedom Unlimited with limited history".

Here's my situation: I have only about 9 months of total credit history. I got a car loan about 9 months ago, my first credit card a couple months after that, and my second credit card only about a month ago. Despite the short history, I have a good credit score: TU 726 EQ 723 and according to Discover, a 725 Fico. I also happen to have 6 hard inquiries (I know-terrible)

I was recently denied the BofA Cash card, so I don't know why I had the nerve to apply for this one. But I did. After I finally hit the submit button on my application, it seemed like it was taking FOREVER to "Verify my Information". Silly as it may sound, my heart was pounding as I was thinking I had just wasted another hard inquiry. But I was approved instantly! And the limit was $2500!

I really hope my info here helps someone make the decision. I know how frustrating it can be not knowing if you're about to waste a hard pull or not. As always, YMMV, but still. It helps to see the financial stats of other successful applicants!

more ...
Mar 24, 2017

I forgot-- for what it's worth, my CK approval odds were "Good" and the BofA I was denied for had odds of "Fair". So for me, CK's predictions seem pretty decent.
Also, I misspelled gauge. -.-

 
Mar 24, 2017

Yah, CK is actually a great tool for realizing your credit potential. It has a way of keeping things in decently accurate perspective for you. :)

 
Mar 24, 2017
Best Chase Card I have ever had!

I love this card, and all the rewards that come with it! This card is my second go-to card, but suffices just as good as my first go-to in all reality. The rewards add up quickly, Chase's customer service is second to none, and the benefits are phenomenal.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Higher Limit than my Sapphire Preferred
SiWooJoo Cardholder

TU: 801, EQ: 787

I was just approved for this card instantly with credit line of 24k through online application. I usually have credit utilization between 1 to 5% every cycle. It's worthy to mention that they gave me higher credit line than my current chase sapphire preferred, which has 17k. I think having to carry zero balance for every chase credit card I own(Slate & Sapphire Preferred) before applying helped me a lot to get approved for higher CL? Definitely will keep this card indefinitely. 

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
It pays off to pay down your other credi
Le2207 Cardholder

I have been working really hard to pay off my credit card debt in the past three months, I had applied for this card back in January and was denied. They sent me a letter telling me that the reason I was denied was due to high utilization and many inquires. I currently have a Chase Freedom that I love. When applying for anything with chase they look at your accounts that you have with them. With that being said my Chase freedom had high utilization at the time of the first application. So I payed that credit card off along with a few others and took a chance by applying for this card again. I was approved with a $2000 credit limit! It pays off to pay off debt. Don't give up! My transunion on credit karma is 703 and equifax is 663. But I recently applied for a American Express and they told me at the time that they check my equifax score it was at 720. So just remember that credit karma only gives you a rough estimate. 

Customer servive for Chase was also very friendly and helpful during the experiences that I have had with them

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Horrible customer service.
Kalexjayn4 Cardholder

I love banking with Chase but I already regret getting a credit card through this bank. I had a simple question and when I FINALLY got through to customer service the woman on the line couldn't answer my question and got agitated quickly. I then asked to speak to someone who could answer said question and the woman who got on the phone after was even more rude and still didn't fully answer my question. I've had this credit card for less than 2 weeks and I wish I never bothered after one phone call to customer service.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Highest limit I've ever gotten
oreocreaming Cardholder

My highest limit I've been offered was 750. This card was given to me at 4,500. Plus no interest for a year and a half? With fair credit? Don't pinch me, I don't wanna wake up from this dream

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Got approved w/ my highest limit yet!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a college student on a journey to build my credit. I want to be able to buy a house in the next few years. I don't have good credit because all that I have on my credit is student loan debt. My score is about 590. I got approved for the capital one journey card last November with a $300 CL and I was so excited that someone was giving me a chance. I have made every payment on time, I pay the full balance every month. I was debating on applying for this Chase card because my approval odds were only fair... but I was surprisingly instantly approved for $2,500! This will help bring my credit score up to the next level! Just keep your utilization down, pay on time, and watch your score rise!

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Great credit limit!
DGHI Cardholder

We are starting a new business and needed a card with a 0% intro APR to get started. My total combined revolving credit was $17,900. With my highest limit being $9000 on the Chase Sapphire Preferred Card. My utilization was under 10% at around $1700. I was instantly approved with a credit limit of $16,000! We had expected that we were going to need to get 2 different credit cards in order to get the credit that we needed. This was a very pleasant surprise. Also, for my credit, the additional $6000 of credit that we don't need to use (it's a $10,000 start up cost) will keep my personal credit utilization under 10% if I pay off all my other cards trips month.

I don't have any other experience with this card yet, but we have never had any issues with our Chase Sapphire Preffered cards, and we love the rewards. 👍👍

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Easy approval.

I had bad credit but have been working on getting the bad things off my cred report.  Last summer I had low 600's score.  Did some disputes and within 2 months, my score jumped to high 700's.  Applied for this card and they gave me 17K limit.  Went all out and applied for some more cards and now have several and over 45K available credit, which is helping improve my score.  Work your disputes through CK and stay on it.  There is hope even after bad credit.

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Odds were against me - approved 2.5k

Background info - Fico: 640EQ 634TU 614Ex  16 missed pmts on student loans with 160+ days dq. No other negatives on accounnt.  3 inquires and 2 new credit card accounts within past 30days. 36k income 

CK said approval odds were "Fair". Went to Chase site to search for prequal offers. Results returned no cards found at this time. I applied anyways and was instantly approved w/ a $2,500k CL. 

I didnt believe it at first so I called the customer support line. Rep. Confirmed the approval and credit line and even offered to expedite my card free of charge. Wait went from 7-10 biz days to 1-2 biz days to receive card. Downloaded the app and credit card and CL already appeared in less than 30min from app approval. 

I plan on charging the $500 within the first 90days and getting the $150 bonus. Will also take advantage of the 1.5% cash back offer while PIF and keeping utilization low. 

I hope this info helps someone. It goes to show that sometimes approval is right around the corner, even when the odds aren't in you favor. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 21, 2017

That's awesome! Congrats!!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

667 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i