Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
182 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 28, 2018
My favorite card
xsimplysheekx Cardholder

I applied for this card back in 2016 after Credit Karma said my approval odds were very good. I was approved for 1k my scores was around 620 or so. I used it generously and vigorously lol. 2017 they gave me a 1k increase. Now in January 2018 they gave me a 2k increase. I use this card a lot because of their cash back on ALL purchases and their ZERO $ annual fee is the icing on top! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 18, 2018
Misleading
CowboyNation26 Cardholder

I applied for this card with the intentions to utilize the 0% balance transfer for 15 months option. However, what they do not tell you in the card descriptions; "you may be approved for card without having the balance transfer option". I was approved for $6400 without a balance transfer option; when I spoke with customer service they said that balance transfers are a promotional option, which I didn’t qualify for based on my credit worthiness. This doesn’t make much sense... giving the amount of credit line I was approved for and having a 680-700 credit score. Just be aware if you are applying for this card because you would like to use the balance transfer option, there's a great possibility you will not be allowed that option, even if approved. 

On the other hand, American express (no affiliation) approved me for a credit line, and the option for balance transfer is standard with approval (not promotional). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 07, 2018
DeeMcAfee Cardholder

TU 651 & EQ 652 - CK app said I had good approval odds for the Chase Freedom Unlimited and very good approval odds for CapOne Quicksilver. I applied for CapOne Quicksilver but I got the “Answer in 10 Days” response. Both scores dropped by 3 points. I was in my Chase app and I had several preapproval offers. I applied for the Chase Freedom Unlimited and was approved instantly no dings to my score. My card will be here in @ 5 days but I only plan to use it to pay a small bill to boost my score further. 

more ...
Dec 07, 2018

What credit limit were you approved for?

 
Dec 07, 2018

And what interest rate?

 
Dec 11, 2018

$2,800 limit with 0% interest rate for 15 months.

 
Dec 06, 2018
Got approved with 608 credit score
Ryder112 Cardholder

They started me out with $6600 credit limit, which surprised me

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
TeenCredit Cardholder

New to credit - one year credit history, 706 TransUnion and Equifax, approved after one day of review. $2,000 line of credit. An excellent cashback card.

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
I just got approved for 3k!
LovieRenee Cardholder

I've been building my credit up for the past year and trying to correct my horrible spending history. I was instantly approved for 3k with a credit score of 648EX/652TRANS. I have 6-7 years of credit history, no negative remarks, and a few low CL credit cards. I'm so happy!

more ...
Nov 29, 2018
Terrible interest rate - non negotiable
ds2007 Cardholder

Terrible interest rate! The company advised me to get another card to obtain a lower rate... and then I got a higher rate! They don’t disclose why I was underwritten at  over 25% regardless of a 750+ credit score. The rate is also non negotiable no matter how far up the chain you go. I wish I never opened it, consumer beware :(

more ...
Dec 05, 2018

rewards cards always have higher interest rates.....my scores over 800 and have over 25% rate too. Doesn't effect me because never carry a balance.

 
Dec 09, 2018

Same here. Credit score is 842, CL on 3 of my cards is 30k, 35k, and 40k. I have high interest rates over 20% too, but I don't care since I don't carry balances. It's the way rewards cards roll.

 
Nov 29, 2018
Just got approved
kitts65 Cardholder

I just applied for card, instant approval for $2400, got email from the credit karma credit score drop by 9 points. From 681 to 672.

Supposed to get card in 7 days.

more ...
Dec 08, 2018

I BELUEVE WHEN U APPLY FOR A CARD OR CHECK FOR IF U QUALIFY...YOUR CREDIT SCORE DROPS BECAUSE CREDITOR IS CHECKING.

 
Dec 08, 2018

believe.

 
Nov 26, 2018
I just got approved after submitting scl

I have 720+ and approved for 7K

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 07, 2018

And your score didnt drop????

 
Nov 24, 2018
Was good at the start, but got worse.
N00biei1 Cardholder

They will lower your limits for no reason.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 09, 2018

I'm sure there is a reason. One that you won't share or even know about.

 
Nov 17, 2018
There's never a 'surprise' charge.
Scrapurr7 Cardholder

What you purchase is always the balance of the statement.

more ...
Nov 17, 2018
Basic
lovrbug91 Cardholder

Wasn't sure if I would get approved with a limit high enough to get a signature card based off reviews. Apparently the average limit is $3 - $4,000. A family member has this card and didn't get signature. Applied with Trans and EQ being just under 800. Ended up getting $7,500 and got the signature card. I got it for the 15 months APR as I have two big purchases (big for me anyways). This won't be my main card though when all is said and done.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2018

What is the signature card?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

182 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i