Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
184 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 23, 2019
Got it!
Chargers4life96 Cardholder

CK said I have fair odds but applied anyway.   Result said they need to review more so I figured oh well and it did hit my score by 3 right away.  I have the Sapphire with 8k limit and kept balance really low.  Signed on my phone to make my payment and noticed I have the Freedom Unlimited underneath my Sapphire.  I was excited to see that I was approved for $6100.  Called costumer service to make sure and verify that it’s not a mistake and they said yes it was approved.  So with my odds of just fair I think Chase consider your other accounts with them maybe and if you’re in good standing maybe they base it on that as well.   My payment history is at 100%.  CS is 690 at the moment but I just started building my credit for about 3 years now.   So happy to say I’m excited to have this card and will take advantage of that 15 months 0% APR.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 18, 2018
Misleading
CowboyNation26 Cardholder

I applied for this card with the intentions to utilize the 0% balance transfer for 15 months option. However, what they do not tell you in the card descriptions; "you may be approved for card without having the balance transfer option". I was approved for $6400 without a balance transfer option; when I spoke with customer service they said that balance transfers are a promotional option, which I didn’t qualify for based on my credit worthiness. This doesn’t make much sense... giving the amount of credit line I was approved for and having a 680-700 credit score. Just be aware if you are applying for this card because you would like to use the balance transfer option, there's a great possibility you will not be allowed that option, even if approved. 

On the other hand, American express (no affiliation) approved me for a credit line, and the option for balance transfer is standard with approval (not promotional). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 23, 2019
Will decrease your limit without warning
Gwenrp Cardholder

Do not charge too much on this card or you may get a decrease on your limit without warning. I received a letter in the mail stating my credit line was decreased from 10,000 to 6,800. Fine if my balance was lower but my balance was at about 6,200. Totally blown away, I attempted to call customer service. It was like speaking to robots regarding the situation. Apparently they run a credit review (randomly) dont even have a frequency to how often that is done. If your debt ratio is too high they'll lower your limit. I tried inquiring what was showing up on my credit report besides my Chase card to which they couldnt answer. I've never been treated lk I shouldnt be using the credit card that was issued to me. So livid that my balance is now so close to the max available. Will pay this down and not use it anymore.

more ...
Apr 22, 2019
shows on credit score
dcalilove909 Cardholder

Honestly I love this credit card, it has so much pro to it! They offer alot of grear promotions with retailers and rewards. I have personally earned alot of money back but taking advantage of the promotions which I really recommend everyone do! One thing I like is the cash back from certain retailers. This credit also affects your credit score very well, if you keep up with the payments and keep the balance low it can make it go up amzingly! But this is my back up card my balance fluctuates and so does my score. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
Wonderful!
doppyd Cardholder

Applied & was approved for $11,500 with 725 credit score

more ...
Apr 15, 2019
approved
TeamBeaterz Cardholder

3 months of credit history and i was approved for 1000
thank you Chase for Believing in Me

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

also im a authorized user on a capital one card 4yrs old
helped me generated a fico Score
Current Fico 8 Scores are
Transunion 744 5inquirys
Equifax 766 3 inquirys
Experian 768 7 inquirys
Vantage score
Exp 708
Tran 710
Equifax 721
Current Cards
Discover Secured 1000
Capital 1 Secured 200
Self lender Loan 500
all accounts 3months old except my Authorized User acct

 
Apr 15, 2019

and Having a Checking Account with Chase Most likely Helped me get approved also. approval wasnt Instant, I had to Call the Fraud Prevention Number to Verify my Identity which i did that at my Local Chase Branch with assistance from My Banker

 
Apr 15, 2019

they Pulled My Transunion Report and My Experian
i hope this info Help

 
Apr 15, 2019

typo
Latest
Fico 8 Scores
Experian 744 7 inquirys
TransUnion 768 5 inquirys
Eqiufax 766 3 inquirys

 
Apr 12, 2019
Wonderful
Jenlynsparby Cardholder

I applied even though KK said my chances were poor. I bank with Chase and have maintained a good standing with them for the past few years. I was instantly approved for a card with a limit of $4300. That’s my highest limit and I was beyond pleased. My fico is 717 and my other scores are around 690 with excellent payment history but short credit length. I’d say if you bank with chase and it says poor odds then try anyway like I did. My capital one card was only a $300 limit and just raised to $500. Besides that all I have is HSN and Victoria secret both with limits under $700. It’s been a few weeks now and it hasn’t been closed all a sudden like others so I hope I’m in the clear. I just paid off my balance of $800 and will continue to keep using this card and paying it off monthly.

more ...
Apr 13, 2019

great review, im Literally the same when it come to Short history
and Banking with them..My Fico 8 is 744, 745, and 760
but im not applying yet i have 5 inquirys withing the last yr
i think its best i wait till they are a yr old

 
Apr 14, 2019

When you apply for credit , do so all at one time , I think you have a 14 day period where if you apply 10 x it will go on your CR as "One" inquiry, I had only 1 when i was approved , In fact i have the Chase Unlimited 15k and jut got the Freedom 20k , Keep your utilization at 10% , Pay it off every month

 
Apr 12, 2019
Poor customer policies here, avoid Chase

I had a Chase card. It was in good standing and closed by the company without proper notification. No email, no phone call, and they only sent one letter which was never recieved. They were also unwilling to reopen it despite the fact that I caught the situation after only 11 days. Their logic? It was already closed, so I had to apply for a new one. No exception or alternative. I will never do business with Chase again.

more ...
Apr 10, 2019
not the best
muth6969 Cardholder

they just up and closed my account because I was not using it enough. Informed me even if I tried to use it now, they would still close it. I have or had 2 different chase cards. I was getting good points on 1 and just keeping this 2nd card as a back up to increase my total credit amount. I've used up all my points from the 2nd card & got several hundred dollars in gift cards & now I'm going to close it as well.

more ...
Apr 08, 2019
Tricky and misleading indeed
cycron3 Cardholder

They get off the phone quick if you are approved.  They do this to avoid allowing you to do a balance transfer.  Called back to see why the transfer didn't go through and the rep says that there is no such offer on the account. Wait 2 days to see if that offer comes available.  If I wait two days it's not the day the card was approved therefore it won't qualify for sure.  I will not recommend anytime soon a friend to volunteer to be taken advantage of.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 09, 2019

Yeah, sure they want to avoid a balance transfer. If you are a good risk, they will almost beg you for a balance transfer if you carry a balance on another card. If you are not a good risk, they don't give you an option to transfer a balance lol. Ok, yeah, Chase is the problem.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®