Chase Freedom Unlimited℠ Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
462 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 03, 2017
Perfection in a card!
5StarGoals Cardholder

I started fixing my destroyed credit and got the Capital One secured card first.  Once I had that card for a year I got my credit up to around 600.  I kept usage below 30% and applied for this card and was approved with a $2500 limit.  I use it for everything but I don't leave a balance, I have it on autopay but I also login every few days and pay it off so that I don't risk having my usage above 30% at any reporting time.  I have received the introductory $150 for spending more than $500 within the first 3months and have been getting around $50 in cashback rewards each month, spending money paying bills and shopping for things that I would normally be shopping for.  I have had no issues with this card so far and would highly recommend it if credit karma recommends it.  They haven't steered me wrong yet.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 10, 2016
Be aware of ever increasing APR!!!!
Maggiebrooks Cardholder

Had this card for years, they kept increasing my APR from 13% to 20% within 6 month ! 

Nobody is able to lower your APR, only raise it. 

Then, when you get your letter in the mail, which I didn't, stating that they will raise your APR, they give you the choice to decline the raise which in turn closes your account, which in turn dings your credit score. 

I just took the ding cause they told me my APR would go up once more in December. 

ALSO, which is illegal, they apply the new higher APR to you current balance, not to any new charges......

Young people be aware !!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 19, 2017
great card
tibroK Cardholder

 After reading more than 400 reviews here and looking for multiple choices , i finally got the courage to aply , my scores are on the rise , on time payments, no derrogative marks or collection , nothing, pure clean score with only a cap 1 platinum card of 500 $ with 3 % of Credit U , scores were 736 Tu and 698 Equifax , i was about to finish when i noticed something wrong in the address , i went back but couldn't edit it , so i close the page  , then aplied again from the pre cualification page and i got the famous msg of " under Review " aplication  , i called the next day , gave my complete name , social Sec number and to respond a text msg , 30 secs later i was aproved with a solid 4, 500 credit limit , i literaly was completely shocked ... i will make sure i will use it wisely ,but  i will defintely make the 500 or more purchase to get the 150 sign up bonus cashback :) but i know  there's always a catch, when i check on the phone my aplication again the other day to show my wife, the msg said that was 25 % apr interest, why i don't have the 0 % interest offer for the 1st 15 months  ? also , how exactly the 150 cashback how is going to be redeemed? is it instantly  i make a purchase over 500 ? very satisfied with the very good" odds of credit karma , if not i would' ve never aply to this credit card .....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 20, 2017

You'll see the 15,000 points ($150) on the statement right after you hit the $500 in spend. So if your statement close is the 20th of the month, for example, and you hit the minimum spend on the 15th, you should see the $150 around the 24th or so when Chase produces the paperless docs.

 
Aug 12, 2017
LOVE IT!!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

So I went in person to apply for this card. Was out about 10 minutes later. Very easy process. I had no credit history and no debt when I started. I got a 700 credit limit when I started. Six months later it increased to 1200. Then 3 months later it increased to 2400! I was shocked. I did pay my balance on time, even shaved some off during the pay period so my statement balance would hopefully be under 30%. I'm guessing it worked because in the 10 months I had it, my limit was increased more than 3 times the original amount.

I had NEVER had an issue with my card. The rewards are easy to use. I've used the chase website before to buy something and get more cash back. Got the bonus 3 months later, was redeemed with no issues. I have a checking, savings and CC all in one app. SO easy to pay your card.... just click the Pay Now button in the app, click statement balance from your checking, BOOM!

The 1.5% is low... but its 1.5% on every conceivable thing you buy. Paperless is also the way to go... just see everything on your phone or computer. Definitely a great beginner card. Because of this card and building my credit with it, I was able to be approved for an AMEX BCE card 10 months later after my Chase unlimited, and my BCE is 5k! Just insane. Building credit is fun! Just manage your money haha. I don't even make a lot, I make 20k.

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
Magical!
CFM1990 Cardholder

This is the best card ever! Use it right, and you will be fine.

more ...
Aug 08, 2017
Great card! awesome perks!
KorryGoldson Cardholder

I took a gamble on this card with a score of 660. this is my first time applying at Chase they gave me a $2,000 limit with a score at 660. mind you, i have ZERO missed/late payments on ANY loan EVER. I'm sure that helped my case. I love the rewards. Easy application process able to complete on my mobile phone. I have had no trouble so far so cannot comment on customer service

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
Great approval odds
AFKeys Cardholder

I wanted to get another no annual fee card with rewards since I am moving and wanted the rewards to help with getting some home items. I was approved with 688 and 696. Getting my credit up! was approved with 2500 while making 31k annual. Application took minutes.

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
hotsauce9607 Cardholder

I applied for this card afyer being denied by discover a few weeks ago so i was nervous. They pulled experian my fico 8 is a 650. 56k income. A few chargeoffs and closed collections. I was approved for 3500 after a few seconds. My tu is 752 and eq 748 on CK.
Will update later.

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Easy to use, build credit, save money
AustinJA Cardholder

If you keep payments on time this card will help you build credit & save money. My first card, no complaints toward chase. Love it. Credit limit was 2500 to start (with 680 credit score) now im at 3500 & 712 five months later.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 14, 2017

Did you have to request an increase, or did they just automatically give it to you?

 
Aug 01, 2017
It's a great & simple rewards card
Dma12345 Cardholder

Great rewards system, very simple too! The intro offers are also amazing. I use this card for literally every purchase, those points add up! And I love the ease of being able to pay my credit card directly from my checking account through my Chase App 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 02, 2017

Yep, my experience with Chase is pretty similar. All their cards are top of the line, IMO. The Freedom beats the stuffing out of Discover It, Freedom Unlimited squashes the Quicksilver and Sapphire Preferred is king of the $99 (annual fee) and under travel cards. The app makes keeping up with things super easy, and if you ever have questions, all ya gotta do is send Chase a secured message and they will help.

 
Jul 20, 2017
JameshAndrews Cardholder

Got Approved for 7000 dollars credit line. Will use as an everyday card. 

got no issues so far. 

more ...
Jul 22, 2017

Credit score?

 
Jul 23, 2017

718, equifax and trans.. got 750 on Experian

 
Jul 30, 2017

Are those credit scores on CK or are they FICO?

 
Jul 19, 2017
Awesome Everyday Card!
LB2810 Cardholder

College student with trans/eq scores of 753, and fico of 762. Applied earlier today and got accepted for 6000! More than happy!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

462 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i