Chase Freedom Unlimited℠ Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
603 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM offers great cash back rewards with no annual fee.

What to Like

With Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM, cardholders can earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on every single purchase, which is pretty cool. If you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months, you can also earn an additional $150 bonus. The rewards never expire as long as your account is open, there’s no annual fee and there’s also a 0% intro APR for 15 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card includes a 3% foreign transaction fee. Chase Freedom UnlimitedSM also doesn’t have 5% cash back in rotating categories, which is a feature of the standard Chase Freedom card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 03, 2017
Perfection in a card!
5StarGoals Cardholder

I started fixing my destroyed credit and got the Capital One secured card first.  Once I had that card for a year I got my credit up to around 600.  I kept usage below 30% and applied for this card and was approved with a $2500 limit.  I use it for everything but I don't leave a balance, I have it on autopay but I also login every few days and pay it off so that I don't risk having my usage above 30% at any reporting time.  I have received the introductory $150 for spending more than $500 within the first 3months and have been getting around $50 in cashback rewards each month, spending money paying bills and shopping for things that I would normally be shopping for.  I have had no issues with this card so far and would highly recommend it if credit karma recommends it.  They haven't steered me wrong yet.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Approved for $500
MickU101 Cardholder

I have a 750 Fico score basically from paying off 2 auto loans. I opened up a banking account at a credit union and started to get flooded with credit cards letters. I decided on appying for this card after getting 2 pre-approvals. I have not had a credit card for over a decade so I applied with zero debt and was still not instantly approved but for good reason.  I called recon and was told that I had 2 Chase charged off accounts from over 10 years ago. I told them those fell off my credit reports years ago and that I had a good score but they said "We go by your Chase credit history not by what is on your credit reports or score" Then they just wanted a reason why I fell behind on those accounts in the past and I told them because I was in the military.   After waiting on hold for 5 minutes they said i would get a letter in the mail. 2 days later i called the status line and it said i was approved but not for how much. I waited 5 business days to get my card mailed which is when i found out it was only for $500. So there you have it. That explains why people with credit scores that are over 100-200 points lower are getting approved for thousands of dollars. Either they have a good Chase credit history or are berly starting a credit relationship with them.  

BTW I also got pre approval offers in the mail from BofA and Discover who I have not had a credit relationship with in the past. If i would have applied for those cards I would have likely gotten a higher credit line. So for those of you out there with a not so perfect past with Chase they might still approve you but with a small limit like mines so you might want to go with the other offers. If i were to do it over again i would have applied for the other cards but I'm happy that Chase approved me despite the minimum credit line because it beats getting declined.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 24, 2017
okay
FirstCardBoy Cardholder

After 14 days have sending in multiply paperwork to confirm my identity I finally received the card. My credit score when applying for this card was a 629. I have recently started to establish my credit so I have no charge-offs or collectins and they gave me a CL OF $500. In my opnion the CL  is to low but I guess you have to start from somewhere. 

more ...
May 24, 2017
Got it
TIKRITVET Cardholder

I was recently approved. TU 646 EQ 674. $1000 CL.  I'll be using it for the balance transfer when it gets here. Two baddies and a 120 late on my oldest credit card (capital one 12yrs old).  

more ...
May 23, 2017
Fraud transactions
Indra9999 Cardholder

Hi Friends,

I made a transaction in western union and i was not aware that it was money advance transaction and i was misguided by customer representative and they charged for $1000 transaction approx $200 i reported many times no one cared and they asked me to pay remaining amount then we will stop charging interest to you. Due to negligence of the bank and their customer service people end customer need to face problems. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 23, 2017

Here we go again. Another negative review because the card holder made a mistake and wants to blame the bank. No...not fraud. Negligence...on your part definitely, but not the bank's. They're not going to write off the interest you owe for that swipe just because you didn't understand that it would code as a cash advance. Why don't you just take your medicine and pay your debt? Or don't pay it and let your credit get hammered so you can't get any credit cards. At least then we'll all be spared from your ridiculous reviews.

 
May 23, 2017
Overall great card!
takeaction1169 Cardholder

I've had this card for five months now and absolutely love it.

more ...
May 20, 2017
Cash back promo put $200 in my pocket!
Scorpio8611 Cardholder

Decent credit limit for less than a 650 score. Easy to navigate through the chase bank app.

more ...
May 20, 2017
Insanely good limit
Anonymous Cardholder

Alright so I've been working on my credit score and I just recently hit over 800... I was recommended this card via Credit Karma... I already have like 6-7 credit cards but I rotate them and pay them off, and it's also just good to have more credit available as it decreases utilization... So I figured, why not? Most of my limits are around $2000 to $7000... with the highest being $11000 after a long history with the card and asking for limit increases...

Well, this card blew all that out of the water by immediately offering me a $22,000 limit! Really fantastic and it seems like people who are just starting to build credit have had good luck getting decent credit limits. Limits are so important in helping build your credit. Lower limits force you into high utilization rates unless you pay down the entire thing each month, and they also just aren't very good for big purchases that you can't fully cover.

I'm very satisfied with the limit I was given right out of the gate with this card.

more ...
May 18, 2017
High limit, great rewards
Amazinggrl7 Cardholder

I applied this card when my credit score was around 660. I had recently been approved for a Capital One MasterCard with a decent limit. I was very surprised when applying for this card, that I was approved for a much higher limit.
They also had the incentive of offering hundred $150 if you spend $500 and your first three months. They offer $1.5% cash back on most purchases. They increased my limit after a few months without me asking. I'm guessing This is because I make high regular payments and always pay on time.
This is a great card for fair to good credit!

more ...
May 16, 2017

WOW!!!!! got a prove with CS of 740... got it aprove for 10k CL....  I have Capital One with 5k CL, chase is one of the best CC. now my credit is close to 800 mark... Thanks Chase...

more ...
May 15, 2017
lllaura123456 Cardholder

This is a pretty generic card. I recieved a 0% APR promo, 1.5% cash back on purchases and sometimes they e-mail offers for additional cash back. Had difficultly redeeming additional cash back promos even though I met the requirements. They ended up refusing my 10% additional cash back for a hotel room even though I got an e-mail promising the extra points. They claimed that I already redeemed these points, which is not true since I haven't redeemed points since January and it is now May. The points should have posted in March. Poor customer service with little regard for keeping the customer around once approved. 

more ...
May 14, 2017
It's the best card
Anonymous Cardholder

It's the best cartd card to have 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom Unlimited℠

603 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i