Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 08, 2014
easy to apply surprised by result
Anonymous Cardholder

I am working hard to build up my credit again after my college years destroyed it, and am very careful to not apply for cards I don't think I'll get, as I try to keep my inquiries to a minimum (as that is currently one of the best things about my score). As I am preparing for my destination wedding, however, I am looking to cut corners, save money, and have access to additional funds just in case we want to splurge a little bit. The offer for a $50 gift card sold me, and as I am a frequent Amazon shopper, the 3% back on purchases is a great incentive. 

Upon submitting application, I got the old - we cannot immediately approve your app, we are processing your request, we will contact you soon, etc. I thought for sure this meant I was denied - I've been there.

To my surprise, I checked my email not 15 minutes later to find I had been approved with a $1000 limit and the $50 gift card had been added to my account. For reference, my CK score is 625. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 02, 2015
Easy application process, stable card
saltycrackers32 Cardholder

This was my first credit card, I applied when I was 20 or 21 with a TU somewhere around the mid 600s. CL was initially $1200 but automatically grew to $2000 after a year or so.

Be careful about missed payments. Not the serious, 30-plus-day-late kind, but the couple-hours-past-the-deadline kind. If you forget to pay exactly before the payment date and pay even a couple hours after, you'll be dinged with the max APR. That happened to me but I don't carry a balance so it doesn't matter.

Customer service is hit or miss. You'll generally get a representative in the US. Just keep calling back if you don't hear what you want to hear.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 23, 2017
Chase keeps issuing new cards, major PIA
Anonymous Cardholder

Why does Amazon continue to do business with Chase Bank? During the past year we've been issued 3 new cards without request. Issuing new cards with such frequency must be expensive for them, so I wonder what else they are doing inefficiently. They provide little explanation for sending out new cards and no one in customer service can answer questions about it. Each time a new card arrives it has a new expiration date and new security code. I have close to 20 accounts set up with autopay and I need to log in to each one of them to change the credit card information. It's not worth the few percentage points rebate from Amazon. I'll shop elsewhere with a different card that will remain stable for at least a few years.

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Got it!!! On a lower score too
cullenfan92963 Cardholder

Applied for the Chase Amazon Visa, with a 602 EQ, 579 EX, and 588TU.. had to call and verify info and identity, go into branch and show ID, and was approved on the spot for $500 starter limit. But it's a Chase approval!! Just the beginning... 2.5 yrs out of BK7 and have other cards secured and a few unsecured with perfect payments and high balances. I anticipate in 6 months to get approved for the chase freedom and/or southwest card as well!! 

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Great Card
EMTPBASS Cardholder

Immediately approved for $5,000 credit line, opened account and actually had an $8,000 credit limit.  Credit score hovering around 800.  Perfect with as much as we spend on Amazon.

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Amazon Prime is GOOD.....CHASE is BAD
Anonymous Cardholder

This thing sat in my drawer as it was the tool used for me to get the Prime shipping (a good thing) and I don't keep balances on revolving credit. In fact, forgot that I even had a CHASE card. I received payment reminders in my spam, along with a dozen other CHASE phishing scams... This morning, I decided opened up one of the emails, and it stated a $42 payment due (actually $25, plus late fees, etc). I discussed with staff over the telephone and they wouldn't waive the fee. I immediately cancelled the card and called AMAZON to simply deduct their annual fee from my personal debit card. I had a squabble with CHASE back in the 1990s. I'm not a fan of this bank. Their well-crafted (but corny) tagline/slogan: "CHASE, so you can..." simply promotes consumers to live beyond their means, saddling themselves into debt with them until eternity...

more ...
May 24, 2017
Great card with Amazon.
Anonymous Cardholder

Love this card and the points back. I can easily get $20-$30 back a month by using this card as my primary. Great service and a lot of help when you lose your card and or when you have to dispute a charge. Never been any hassle. If you use amazon a lot, get it.

more ...
May 19, 2017
This is great card for amazon purchases.
nyk73nyr94 Cardholder

After the first couple months and frequently using the card on amazon my credit limit was doubled. After 2 years with perfect payment history I had my credit line increased by 4 times the amount it was originally issued. I have had a very positive experience and really now enjoying the prime card upgrade which is upgraded for all prime members. I easily get  my prime fee back just from 2 day shipping/streaming, and now  I have the five percent on amazon purchases! Besides the amazon rewards you also have no foreign transaction fee making it a good card to travel with.  The point system is  very simple and I have had no issues with disputes on rewards.  Chase also does send out promotions to transfer a balance, but it comes with a fee. I wouldn't recommend carrying a balance on this card. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Great for amazon purchases
HiroMan Cardholder

No instant approval, but after about a week got approved for $2,300 CLI with scores around 670 and only a few months of credit history. I won't carry any balance so interest rates are of no concern.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 18, 2017

How many months have you been in the credit history? Any additional credit card before this one?

 
May 08, 2017
Poor customer service in dispute
Anonymous Cardholder

I spend tens of thousands in a year with this card.  I had a $39 dispute for which I sent them 3 pages of detailed info regarding why I was disputing.  They decided against my dispute without even reading the 3-page fax I sent them.  I told them that because of this very poor customer service, I would no longer be using their card.  They didn't care.  Do not expect this credit card company to have your back in case of a dispute.  I was shocked at how unprofessional their (lack of) investigation was.  They don't want my business, so I'm moving on.  Don't get started with this company unless you have NO other choice.

more ...
May 07, 2017
WORST CARD EVER DO NOT GET
Anonymous Cardholder

Had card was mailing payment, but it was not posted on time. So they kept adding charges,first late fee then over limit. I cancelled the card and talk to a representative the representative stated that the card was going to be cancelled and that they would waive the fees well very next month I get hit up with another bill that States minimum payment and it's back again up over $100 usually the payment is 30 but no they want to start adding fees and hidden fees and this type of fee and that type of fee do not get this card worst thing you can do for Credit,loanshark would be better

more ...
May 02, 2017
Shop on Amazon? You need this!
huntoi Cardholder

I got the Amazon Prime Rewards credit card and it's definitely one of the best cards available. If you shop on Amazon frequently or spend big money every once in a while, this card will absolutely be a no brained to get. The 5% cash back for prime members is phenomenal, you get it on every Amazon transaction like gift cards and buying from third-party vendors. Beyond the Amazon rewards, you also get 2% cash back at restaurants, gas stations, and drugstores and 1% on anything else. I got the Double Cash Card and while that ones gets me 2% cash back on everything, the Amazon Prime card can stand its ground on those 3 categories as they provide equal cash back. The cash back you earn can be immediately used at checkout on Amazon without a need to get to a certain amount of cash back which is great if you don't accumulate. Beyond the rewards, it has no Annual Fee (although you need Amazon Prime to get the most out of it) and no foreign transaction fee which as a Visa means you can use it worldwide anythere credit cards are taken. The signup bonus of a $70 Amazon credit applied immediately to your account upon approval was really generous too. All in all, if you are an Amazon shopper in any capacity, this card will be of value to you guaranteed!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card