Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.8019 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 08, 2014
easy to apply surprised by result
Anonymous Cardholder

I am working hard to build up my credit again after my college years destroyed it, and am very careful to not apply for cards I don't think I'll get, as I try to keep my inquiries to a minimum (as that is currently one of the best things about my score). As I am preparing for my destination wedding, however, I am looking to cut corners, save money, and have access to additional funds just in case we want to splurge a little bit. The offer for a $50 gift card sold me, and as I am a frequent Amazon shopper, the 3% back on purchases is a great incentive. 

Upon submitting application, I got the old - we cannot immediately approve your app, we are processing your request, we will contact you soon, etc. I thought for sure this meant I was denied - I've been there.

To my surprise, I checked my email not 15 minutes later to find I had been approved with a $1000 limit and the $50 gift card had been added to my account. For reference, my CK score is 625. 

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 27, 2013
instant approval

I was on Amazon's website purchasing a tablet as a Christmas present for someone, at the end of checkout I was prompted to apply  for the Amazon store card. I couldn't see applying for an in store only card but I did notice that they also had a Amazon visa that was through Chase. I completed my purchase using my debit and then went back and applied for the visa. I was instantly approved, I was a little shocked to see that it was only a $500 limit. My cs is 666. I already have discover, chase freedom, and citi and all of these have high credit lines. I did get a $30.00 gift card. I thought that was pretty cool. I hope this helps someone

more ...
 

Reviews (106)

Add Review
Jan 26, 2016
Awful process
Anonymous

I applied for this card yesterday. I have identity protection so I knew I had to call and verify. So I did today. Call started out with an annoyed and irritated employee. So we start going through my income which is over $115k! He asked me about a late payment that was made 6 years, 10 months ago, seriously? ONE late payment, which is about to come off in 2 months...ok fine! Then tells me I've had more than 2 cards open in the last 2 years, which is too many for chase! What?! The last card I opened was with discover and I was instantly approved for $5,500. I can tell you chase will NEVER have any of my business, ever! I won't even ask for a reconsideration, this was an insult! He tells me they don't even look at your credit score like other lenders (so thanks for the hard inquiry!!) So with a pretty good score, great income and ONE late payment I was denied! If you're considering this, do business with Discover and get their 5% cash back. If you're in a position similar to mine, save the time and the hit for the pull!

more ...
Jan 20, 2016
Insufficient Credit History.
Anonymous

I have around 715 on both trans union and equifax. My denial letter stated I had a 692 (I had a very VERY recent report..), but most importantly, they shot me down for only having 7 months credit history. My Capital One card has a $750 limit. I bank with Chase, have my direct deposite with Chase, but Chase won't trust me for one second without 1 year credit history? Frustrating. I attempted to call reconsideration twice, and neither time did they approve me. I like the benefits of this card, but good credit isn't enough, you need long-term credit. It's not easy to get any of chases CC's.

more ...
Jan 15, 2016
Sounds like a great card.

I applied via Amazon, my credit score is only at 645, I have 3 credit cards open, all which are secured cards.

Amazon approved me instantly with a $500 limit! I cant believe it! With all of the cash back and rewards, it sounds awesome.

more ...
Jan 05, 2016
i was denied
Anonymous

i really like shopping on amazon so i thought i would apply i rather apply for cards that you can use anywhere not just in store ,plus i have a chase account so i thoulf why not.

 i only have 1 credit card that from capital one that is secured that i pay online i was really looking forward to raising my credit score but  i was denined i have a 600 credit score

more ...
Dec 13, 2015
Anonymous

I applied almost 2 weeks ago and never received any sort of confirmation for my app and haven't heard if I was approved or not.i work for a major credit card company so I understand good things take time.  Just hope I get something soon. 

more ...
Dec 11, 2015
Not approved, then magically approved?
ladysizzauce Cardholder

So I had a weird experience getting this card. It was black friday and I was shopping on Amazon. A thing popped up and stated apply for Amazon Visa card and with approval get $30 instantly off your purchase. I thought, oh cool, so I applied. It took them all of 5 seconds to deny me. I forgot about it. About a week later I get an email stating "Congratulations you've been approved for $500 Amazon Visa, you're card is on the way". So yeah, I'm still waiting on the card in the mail. And they did give me a $30 Amazon gift card after the fact so that was cool. Just don't know why it took a week for them to change their mind..?

more ...
Dec 13, 2015

RUN, RUN, RUN quickly away from AMAZON. I've been making $25-$30 payments since January this year, 2015. I make as many as four payments a month and only shows up on my credit report as benefiting $5.00, due to interest, fees and something called 'CARD PROTECTION"! Just sent them an
email yesterday, telling them they owe me hundreds of dollars in these so-called card protection charges' of which I NEVER requested, nor approved!
Good luck to you!

 
Dec 15, 2015

Usually there is a way to opt-out of card protection and I am not going to carry a balance on this card so the interest is irrelevant. I have 7 credit cards and I do not carry a balance on any of them. If you use your credit cards wisely you won't have to worry about interest.

 
Dec 03, 2015
Best real credit card for Amazon.com
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon.com Prime member, CK scores 721/724, instant approval at $5000 CL. I only have one other bank CC at $500 CL, which was repeatedly denied for increase in CL. Love that it instantly integrates as a payment option in Amazon and gives you a $80 gift card immediately. 3% back on Amazon, of which I make most of my purchases. This is through Chase apparently and I'm not sure if my car loan through chase with no negative marks helped or not.

more ...
Nov 26, 2015
Anonymous

I've been rebuilding my credit for the past two years. Finally was able to bring up my CS up to 654. I just applied for the Amazon card and got approved instantly with $2,000. Was very surprised to get approved. 

more ...
Nov 25, 2015
Quick!
VeryAmerican Cardholder

Super quick application! Was really nervous actually applying for it, thinking I wouldn't get approved. Took nothing more than a minute and I got a response saying I was approved for two grand! This is my second credit card and is actually my largest limit too, as funny as that might be. Very glad, and instantly got that 80 dollar giftcard. My scores are 677 & 680.

more ...
Nov 21, 2015

I applied I have a credit score of 699!TU & 665 EQ I was told I will receive a notice in the mail if I have been approved ....... Doesn't look good? 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Chase Card services offers a diverse assortment of products and benefits for consumers’ credit needs, such as rewards cards, travel cards, miles cards, business cards, student cards, as well as its most popular credit card, the Chase Freedom card. Chase also has numerous partnerships with retailers and merchants for co-branded credit cards backed by Chase. Credit cards are issued by Chase Bank, the banking subsidiary of JP Morgan Chase & Co and one of the biggest banks in the United States. Chase Bank provides personal banking, small business, mortgage, auto finance, investing, and a full-service array of banking services.

Chase Bank, formerly known as Chase Manhattan Bank, grew rapidly in the past decade, merging with J.P. Morgan & Co. in 2000 and renamed to Chase Bank. Today, Chase is one of the biggest banks in the United States. Established over 200 years ago, JP Morgan Chase & Co. is a global financial services company with more than $2.1 trillion in assets with operations in 60 countries.

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card