Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 08, 2014
easy to apply surprised by result
Anonymous Cardholder

I am working hard to build up my credit again after my college years destroyed it, and am very careful to not apply for cards I don't think I'll get, as I try to keep my inquiries to a minimum (as that is currently one of the best things about my score). As I am preparing for my destination wedding, however, I am looking to cut corners, save money, and have access to additional funds just in case we want to splurge a little bit. The offer for a $50 gift card sold me, and as I am a frequent Amazon shopper, the 3% back on purchases is a great incentive. 

Upon submitting application, I got the old - we cannot immediately approve your app, we are processing your request, we will contact you soon, etc. I thought for sure this meant I was denied - I've been there.

To my surprise, I checked my email not 15 minutes later to find I had been approved with a $1000 limit and the $50 gift card had been added to my account. For reference, my CK score is 625. 

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 27, 2013
instant approval

I was on Amazon's website purchasing a tablet as a Christmas present for someone, at the end of checkout I was prompted to apply  for the Amazon store card. I couldn't see applying for an in store only card but I did notice that they also had a Amazon visa that was through Chase. I completed my purchase using my debit and then went back and applied for the visa. I was instantly approved, I was a little shocked to see that it was only a $500 limit. My cs is 666. I already have discover, chase freedom, and citi and all of these have high credit lines. I did get a $30.00 gift card. I thought that was pretty cool. I hope this helps someone

more ...
 

Reviews (130)

Add Review
Jun 18, 2016
Approved 2k!
Jonalsop Cardholder

totally went for the 50 dollar gift card and was suprised by the nice limit, and glad to get in with chase.

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
Amazon Credit
Alaska4055 Cardholder

I have an amazon credit account and it has been greatly beneficial. Easier to work with then visa, especially when purchasing or ording from Amazon.

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
Only care about merchants not customers
AussieSurfer Cardholder

Don't use this card. Chase are only interested in taking care of merchants, not customers.
I charge 1/2 of a large transaction to my amazon/chase credit card and 1/2 to my USAA credit card. After the merchant didn't deliver on the services I asked for, I disputed the charges with both credit card companies.

Chase/Amazon didn't refund my money, even after 3-4 attempts to provide them with my point of view and documents that proved the merchant was in the wrong.

USAA refunded my money, no questions asked.

Conclusion...don' use Chase credit cards or banking. USAA is the best bank, credit card and insurance company I have ever worked with.

Needless to say I cancelled my Amazon/Chase credit card after they refused to refund my money on a fraudulent charge.

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
2nd Time around
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card when my score was 620 and got denied.  I applied again with a score of 687 and got approved for $1000. Card seems to be ok:)

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
Approved. $500
Dana4320 Cardholder

Took a chance. Approved for $500! Got my foot in the door with Chase!

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
Only use at Amazon.
Kenz83 Cardholder

So Amazon routinely advertises this offer, and since I spend so much money on Amazon, decided to go for it.  You get an instant $50 Amazon credit with approval.  I was instantly approved for $5k limit.  You get unlimited Amazon credits in 3 different categories.  3% back at Amazon.com; 2% back from restaurants, gas stations, and drugstores; and 1% back everywhere else.  The interest is kind of high like they usually are on these types of cards.  Currently mine is set to 14.99% on purchases, and 19.99% on cash advances.  I also have a Slate card with a low interest rate (currently 11.49% and 19.49% respectively) also with a $5k limit that I use for any emergencies, so I strictly use this for Amazon purchases and completely pay off at the end of the month so as not to accrue any interest and take advantage of the max 3% "cash back."  I haven't had to contact customer service yet, so I won't give them a rating.  Although I have contacted Amazon CS on multiple occasions and they are great; and this being a Chase card, I have contacted them for other cards and have had no issues.  And application process was super quick and easy.  They immediately added the card info to my account and used it for the transaction I was in the middle of during the application.  I'd only suggest this for people like me who spend a lot of money at Amazon and can afford to pay it off as you use it.  If you start having to pay interest, it defeats the purpose of the rewards.

more ...
Jun 04, 2016
approved, under review, confused, bummed

While shopping at Amazon.com I applied for the $50 promotion upon instant approval. A pop up window opened with the sentence, "your application has been approved!"; with approved! being highlighted in green font. I thought great. When I went to check out there was no Amazon.com Rewards Visa credit card or temp card to use  and I didn't receive the $50 promo either. No biggie, I still wanted the items so I checked out. I also closed the pop up window, (yeah I know I messed up), because I just figured they would email me with the details about the card and promo. Nope. After searching for hours on the Internet, I finally found the number to call for the approval decision. Chase customer service was very friendly and I explained to her what had happened. She said she has had similar calls where the application was approved, but some reason Chase hasn't recognized it yet therefore it's still under review. So my experience so far is, approved, under review, and confused. I don't really care if I get approved, I just to make sure I wasn't seeing things like "approved!" in green font, that wasn't really there. I'm also kind of bummed I didn't get the $50 promo. Am I approved? I don't know. Is it a good card? I don't know; customer service seemed friendly enough. I hope this review helps.

more ...
May 21, 2016
Surprised Approval!!

OK...so maybe this will help someone with a situation like mine  A little history here ....I have been off the "credit radar" for over 10 years after some major issues till around January of this year, I had absolutely NO file ( at least Credit Karma couldnt find anything) My hubby made me an authorized user on his first credit card a Capital One Platnium. A month later I was able to get my own Capital One Platnium ( $500 Credit limit). Then he got a Discover it- ( $4k credit limit) again made me an authorized user.  

Today I applied for the Chase Amazon Visa Rewards Card and was instantly approved for 2k credit limit . Surprised me I wasnt very sure I would be able to get it. My Credit Karma TransUnion is at 681, Equfax at 686...and I have no idea what my actual FICO's are LOL. Just trying to build a bit after years of neglecting. I have NO negative marks/No collection etc ....My credit history today is at 3 months. We/I keep the credit card Utilization UNDER 10% at all times. I have No other loans or types of credit accts except the cards listed above.

Of course I cant comment on how the card actually is or their customer service because I DID just apply today ..However I did get credited right away for the $70 gift card promo they have for applying/approval for the card.

I'm looking forward to the rewards offered on the card as I do alot of Amazon shopping ...living in Fairbanks Alaska things are either not easy to find here or so expensive it's better to order online :)

Hope this helps someone :) 

more ...
May 08, 2016
5 years Post BK at 716 and rejected

Wanted to get a Visa card so figured after getting an offer I would go for it. Went thru BK 5 years ago because of my business closing, have worked hard and brought my Equifax to 716, with a current salary of $60K,  but was rejected out of hand because of the BK. Prior to the BK I was a Chase card holder in great standing for 20+ years and they didn't even lose a cent to me during the BK as it was due to my business side not my personal side. Avoid this one if you have had any hardship at all as Chase only cares about the numbers not the person.

more ...
May 06, 2016
Surprise!
erwangdamango Cardholder

I applied for this card randomly one day when I saw the ad on Amazon.  

I had a secured card for 6 months.

I was instantly approved for $1500 when I applied for this card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Chase Card services offers a diverse assortment of products and benefits for consumers’ credit needs, such as rewards cards, travel cards, miles cards, business cards, student cards, as well as its most popular credit card, the Chase Freedom card. Chase also has numerous partnerships with retailers and merchants for co-branded credit cards backed by Chase. Credit cards are issued by Chase Bank, the banking subsidiary of JP Morgan Chase & Co and one of the biggest banks in the United States. Chase Bank provides personal banking, small business, mortgage, auto finance, investing, and a full-service array of banking services.

Chase Bank, formerly known as Chase Manhattan Bank, grew rapidly in the past decade, merging with J.P. Morgan & Co. in 2000 and renamed to Chase Bank. Today, Chase is one of the biggest banks in the United States. Established over 200 years ago, JP Morgan Chase & Co. is a global financial services company with more than $2.1 trillion in assets with operations in 60 countries.

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card