Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 01, 2016
Frequent Amazon Shopper - Easy Approval
MrZackJames Cardholder

This is a great rewards card. My wife and I shop frequently on Amazon and will reap the 3% rewards quite often. So far we love the card and the power to manage my account online.

A little about me...

I have a fairly limited credit file. I started my credit journey in January 2015 with ano auto loan. I have made every single payment on time. In December 2015 I applied for Capital One Secured Card and was approved for a $200 limit with only a $99 deposit. I have kept utilization low (wife's advice) and made every payment on time. I was increased to $500 in June. I also applied for Chase Freedom in June and was approved for $500. Chase automatically increased my limit to $2000 in September. I have 5 comenity cards with nice credit limits and still keep utilization low. I applied for this card two weeks ago and was instantly approved for $2000 "Initial credit limit"!! Chase has been good to me and I will stick with them!

CK scores TU 666, EQ 656

100% payment history

14% Utilization

13 Inquiries (Mostly due to shopping for an auto loan in February for my wife) 

1 Collection of $325 which I will pay off at the end of this week

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 03, 2017
CANNOT be used for large purchases!
SoloBiker Cardholder

After being an Amazon member for eleven years, I applied for the co-branded JP Morgan Chase/Amazon Visa Rewards Card in order to receive a 5% rebate on Amazon Prime purchases. In fact, I had three items in my Amazon shopping cart that cost more than $500 each and a total cart value of about $3,500.

On 2/22/17, JP Morgan Chase approved the Amazon Chase Rewards Visa card within a couple of hours, but for a limit of only $500. This is not a useful Credit Access Line. I called Chase Cards to ask why the limit was so low and could not get a straight answer. In fact, I was told that no one at JP Morgan could authorize a Credit Account Line increase. I was also told that Chase could do a second "hard credit pull" and reevaluate a credit limit increase. . 

If I had any hint of being a poor credit risk, this would not bother me. However, my three FICO scores range from 800 - 844. My credit history is more than 38 years. My average length of credit is over 18 years. Currently I am using only 7% of available credit. In my entire live, I have never had a late payment on anything....not a late house payment, car payment, utility payment, credit card payment, etc. I paid off my student loans in full and on time. I have had two other Chase Rewards Cards for about five years, one for Marriott and one for SouthWest Airlines. I have used them for 10s of thousands of dollara and always made payments early or ontime. These are indicators that I am an good credit risk. For reasons that JP Morgan Chase cannot or will not explain, the view me as being only worthy of a $500. Credit Access Line.

Since I cannot use this card for large purchases, I will plan to use it about once each year for one very small purchase just to keep it active. JP Morgan Chase can administratively service my card until I die. I have already returned several Amazon Prime purchases as a protest over this. I advised Amazon of this situation and they actually gave me an e-mail address that is supposed to be screened to Jeff Bezos. He will probably never see my comments, but I will give it a go. 

The bottom line is that everytime there is a purchase, the credit card offer is presented. However, many cards are approved with unreasonably low limits. JP Morgan Chase does not care at all. It is offensive to be provided with a credit card suitable for a teenager. 

It is not a surprise that JP Morgan Chase has been finded BILLIONS of dollars in fines and regulatory fees. Consider avoiding JP Morgan Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
Great for Amazon Purchases
etm890 Cardholder

Applied for the card about a month ago.  Didn't get an instant approval, but I got an email the next day saying I was approved for an 8k line of credit.  My credit score at the time was between 740-760, with about 65k of income.  I also bank with chase and have a sapphire preferred card.  My go to place for shopping is amazon, and the 5% cash back just can't be beat, especially with a no fee card and free shipping with amazon prime.  The other 2% cash back at restaurants, gas stations and drug stores is also great.  Received a $70 amazon gift card applied to my account instantly.  I personally haven't come into any issues with using the card, but don't plan on it since I pay in full every month and only use the card on amazon.  FYI you manage the credit card through chase's website just like any other account of theirs, not amazon. 

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Rip Off
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a Chase Amazon Visa. They gave me an extremely low credit limit  even though my credit score is very high and make almost 100K/yr. When I was 40 dollars shy, they would not increase my credit limit 100 dollars. Blamed it on "too many inquiries" into my account. I canceled my card immediately and will pay it off in one month. They need me more than I need them. Losers.

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
Awesome for Amazon shoppers!
Eane77 Cardholder

Wasn't sure what my true scores were since Credit Karma is usually off a bit, but I have a Chase Freedom card I've had since 2006, no late or missed payments in almost 11 years. Around Christmas time I saw the $30 gift card for applying and figured, well I haven't received an increase to my Freedom card in almost 11 years, so I probably won't get this one and they'll only give me the store version, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's only $500 limit right now, but I and my husband, shop on Amazon a lot so this card is awesome with the points to put toward our purchases and such. I'm glad Chase let me receive this card. I'm happy so far.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Good app incentive, fast approval
D2CK Cardholder

Well, I wasn't quite sure about what would happen. My scores were 651 TU and 659 EF. I decided to roll the dice and go for it with the $70 application acceptance incentive. It was only a matter of a few moments and I received a $4,000 credit line for the Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa. 

I did have a checking account and the Chase Freedom credit card already. Maybe that helped? And, I was able to log into my Chase account right away and see the new card already listed. It will be great when I need to make payments in the future.

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
CANNOT be used for large purchases!
SoloBiker Cardholder

After being an Amazon member for eleven years, I applied for the co-branded JP Morgan Chase/Amazon Visa Rewards Card in order to receive a 5% rebate on Amazon Prime purchases. In fact, I had three items in my Amazon shopping cart that cost more than $500 each and a total cart value of about $3,500.

On 2/22/17, JP Morgan Chase approved the Amazon Chase Rewards Visa card within a couple of hours, but for a limit of only $500. This is not a useful Credit Access Line. I called Chase Cards to ask why the limit was so low and could not get a straight answer. In fact, I was told that no one at JP Morgan could authorize a Credit Account Line increase. I was also told that Chase could do a second "hard credit pull" and reevaluate a credit limit increase. . 

If I had any hint of being a poor credit risk, this would not bother me. However, my three FICO scores range from 800 - 844. My credit history is more than 38 years. My average length of credit is over 18 years. Currently I am using only 7% of available credit. In my entire live, I have never had a late payment on anything....not a late house payment, car payment, utility payment, credit card payment, etc. I paid off my student loans in full and on time. I have had two other Chase Rewards Cards for about five years, one for Marriott and one for SouthWest Airlines. I have used them for 10s of thousands of dollara and always made payments early or ontime. These are indicators that I am an good credit risk. For reasons that JP Morgan Chase cannot or will not explain, the view me as being only worthy of a $500. Credit Access Line.

Since I cannot use this card for large purchases, I will plan to use it about once each year for one very small purchase just to keep it active. JP Morgan Chase can administratively service my card until I die. I have already returned several Amazon Prime purchases as a protest over this. I advised Amazon of this situation and they actually gave me an e-mail address that is supposed to be screened to Jeff Bezos. He will probably never see my comments, but I will give it a go. 

The bottom line is that everytime there is a purchase, the credit card offer is presented. However, many cards are approved with unreasonably low limits. JP Morgan Chase does not care at all. It is offensive to be provided with a credit card suitable for a teenager. 

It is not a surprise that JP Morgan Chase has been finded BILLIONS of dollars in fines and regulatory fees. Consider avoiding JP Morgan Chase.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Great deal
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had my Chase Amazon since 2008. Never had problems with Amazon or Chase in getting and spending my points. Lots of free stuff. I pay my balance off every month so not worried about the interest rate. When I am going to make a large purchase, I call Chase ahead of time to alert them to it so there is no issue. I also alert them when I am traveling out of state so I won't have problems using it out of state either. Overall am very happy with this card.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

Bank up amazon points all year and can basically cover the kids Christmas delivered right to the door.   I put everything I can on it and pay it off almost immediately making the APR a non-factor.  New metal card is cool.  CL has grown from $4k to $15k in just 3 years.  No complaints at all

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Great card, fan of chase and amazon
intel352 Cardholder

Great card, fan of chase and amazon, good rewards, no complaints

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 07, 2017

What is your minimum payment and balance now?

 
Feb 14, 2017
Absolutely love it!
Anonymous Cardholder

Application took about 3 minutes with instant approval.  Limit is automatically increased every few months.  Benefits keep getting better being a Visa Signature card.  5% back on amazon and 2% and 1% everywhere else.  I build points really fast to buy stuff on amazon for free.  Love it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 07, 2017

What is your minimum payment and balance now?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card