Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 08, 2014
easy to apply surprised by result
Anonymous Cardholder

I am working hard to build up my credit again after my college years destroyed it, and am very careful to not apply for cards I don't think I'll get, as I try to keep my inquiries to a minimum (as that is currently one of the best things about my score). As I am preparing for my destination wedding, however, I am looking to cut corners, save money, and have access to additional funds just in case we want to splurge a little bit. The offer for a $50 gift card sold me, and as I am a frequent Amazon shopper, the 3% back on purchases is a great incentive. 

Upon submitting application, I got the old - we cannot immediately approve your app, we are processing your request, we will contact you soon, etc. I thought for sure this meant I was denied - I've been there.

To my surprise, I checked my email not 15 minutes later to find I had been approved with a $1000 limit and the $50 gift card had been added to my account. For reference, my CK score is 625. 

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 27, 2013
instant approval

I was on Amazon's website purchasing a tablet as a Christmas present for someone, at the end of checkout I was prompted to apply  for the Amazon store card. I couldn't see applying for an in store only card but I did notice that they also had a Amazon visa that was through Chase. I completed my purchase using my debit and then went back and applied for the visa. I was instantly approved, I was a little shocked to see that it was only a $500 limit. My cs is 666. I already have discover, chase freedom, and citi and all of these have high credit lines. I did get a $30.00 gift card. I thought that was pretty cool. I hope this helps someone

more ...
 

Reviews (148)

Add Review
Aug 17, 2016
Be careful of the financed charges
annoyedwithchase Cardholder

A decent card if you pay it off as soon as the purchase hits your account.  I have confirmed with Chase that I should not be charged interest on any purchases as long as I pay it  within 30 days from the date of purchase.  I have had this card for a few years now and I always pay the balance off each month but on the last two statements I have been charged financed charges.  Chase confirmed that everything was paid within the 30 days but is unable to credit the finance charges.  I guess Chase is not happy that I have never paid any finance charges so they thought I should start even though it's wrong.  I now only use this card for just Amazon purchases and pay it off as soon as it hits my account.  I do not recommend this card to anyone.   

more ...
Aug 09, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible card! Your not able to transfer payments from another credit card to make a payment. Your not able to pay your bill with a Buisness account, you lose your Amazon points if you cancel your card. I had thousands of points that I lost after I cancelled this piece of **** card. And you better not a day late on a payment because you will be hit with several fees, one of which is based on a percentage of your balance

more ...
Jul 29, 2016
Just dont do it!
Anonymous Cardholder

Even though I have thousands of dollars of credit available on the card, I regularly am declined when I use this card!  Additionally it almost never applies points to Amazon purchases!  I call constantly and representatives tell me they dont know why that keeps happening.....I will be transfering the balance and closing this miserable card asap

more ...
Jul 28, 2016
$25.00 late charge twice.
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon Chase Carrd: Customer service says they cannot help you. Can't get auto pay unless you sign and return a letter they send to you. Inconvenient. 

Other Chase card not associated with Amazon I have no problems with. 

Chase corporate office contacted me. When I called back she was off and the other person said she could not help me as she was not assigned to my case. 

more ...
Jul 27, 2016
Immediate approval
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card and got instantly approved for $5000 and $70 from Amazon. My credit score is 730.

more ...
Jul 27, 2016
dvs2323 Cardholder

I applied for this card online and to my surprise was given a "we are reviewing your application and will get back to you in 30 days". All my scores are in the 700's and I have an American Express and Citi Simplicity with high limits. I called customer service at Chase Amazon and they brought up my application and I almost laughed out loud when the rep said " oh I see you have a late payment here to Chase in 2007" 2007!!!!. So of course I'm like that was one time and it has since fell off my credit report so I don't even understand why you are bringing it up. He put me on hold and while I was waiting on hold forever I get an email saying I was approved for a 5k limit. I literally only initially applied for the card for the free 50 dollar gift card but still I thought it was hysterical that they brought up a late payment from 9 years ago! If I can get an American Express with no issues then I think Amazon/Chase needs to relax 

more ...
Jul 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Service is very bad. They don't care about customers.

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Told it was "under review"
Anonymous

I read other people who applied with a much lower credit score than mine.  My FICO is 698, experian is in the 670's last time I checked, which I have not missed a payment for anything in years.  To learn that this is a chase card, which I already have 2 cards from them that I have had for years, which one has an extremely low balance and the other has a zero balance, and have never missed a payment on either of them.  I applied for the $50 gift card plus the cash back options, as only one card has cash back and its 1% on everything.  To my surprise, I was denied, or "under review" which is the same thing.  So I was really disappointed, borderline angry, that I wasted a credit inquiry on what I figured was a sure thing.

more ...
Jul 16, 2016
Bait and Switch
Anonymous

I applied online for this Amazon Chase Visa card due to the supposed 'immediate' $50 discount offered on my Amazon purchase if I did so. The pop-up solicitation even said almost all online applications are approved in 60 seconds of less. Although I have outstanding credit, I was told that my application required 'further review' which I suspect is because I now use a post office box for my mail, in addition to my physical address for shipments. I called Chase and was told they could not cancel my application because that department is closed until Monday and to call back then. So in addition to not getting the offered perk of a $50 discount on my purchase, I found there was no way to immediately cancel the online application after I changed my mind... Buyer beware!

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
Approved after 4 days

I applied and was not immediately approved. I was told I would be notified within 30 days. I received a call 4 days later to verify my identity. I was then approved for a $4000 limit. There is a $50 gift card in my welcome email and I believe it said 3% back on Amazon, 2% back at gas stations and restaurants, 1% everywhere else. My experian is 642, my equifax is 708, my transunion is 714. My income is $75,000.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chase Amazon.com Rewards Visa® Card