CareCredit® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
61 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 17, 2016
Good thing to have
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this because I needed a large amount of dental work done and it had worked well for me. What I was told is if you pay off the balance in a year then you won't be charged any interest, and that has been true. paid off the whole balance in a year and no interest. Did new charges and same thing. Looks like from the comments I see is people don't know what a credit card is, you have to pay the bill lol 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 16, 2017
Handy to Have but comes with a Price!
Darwin686 Cardholder

Handy card to have for vet visit and mediacal issues from the ER to the dentist but it comes with a price.  They are not ones to raise credit limits unless you ask which results in a hard query.  This card is backed by Syncrony AKA GE Money Bank AKA the worst of the worst creditors in the world.  If there were another card that was accepted like this one I wouldn't have it, but alas there is not at this time.  Over the years Iv'e had this card I've been VERY carefull to read the fine print.  All promotional purchases must be paid before the experation date or this is retoactive intrest.  They are not the best about informing you when your statement is ready or a payment is due, in my experience it has been hit or miss.  I follow strict money mangment rules that make me login to all of my accounts on a weekly baisis and it has paid off.  I've never missed a payment with them and ONLY use this card if absoutly necessary. It is nice to be able to finance medical expences so long as you can pay it off before the date which could be 6 months or 12 months. 

The intrest rate is sky high at 24.99% on this card for me but all in all it has come in very handy with emergency vet visits.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 29, 2017
Calls me all the time.
Anonymous Cardholder

Apparently if you miss a payment they don't give a **** and call you day and night including weekends.

more ...
Oct 24, 2017
AWFUL service and RUDE representatives.
Anonymous Cardholder

My husband and I have been charged late fees multiple times when we were only late once due to Hurricane Harvey because the postal service was down. They agreed to wave the fees, but never did. They tried to charge us outrageous fees for being “late” and flat out called me a LIAR when I told them that a previous representative agreed to wave the fees due to the hurricane. I’ve had nothing but problems out of this company for the past year. If I could give them zero stars I would. I’m completely dumbfounded at the way my husband and I have been treated by this company. I would NEVER recommend ANYONE to take this credit card. 

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Awful. Waste of time. High interest.
Anonymous Cardholder

Just get a credit card. Less hassle better service.

more ...
Sep 28, 2017
If I could give zero stars, I would
Anonymous Cardholder

They lure you in with the promise of no interest knowing you're probably in some kind of medical emergency and won't read the fine print. You make the montly payments and all of a sudden, you are slapped with huge deferred interest. Asked them for 775 increase to cover the over the limit status that they reported to the credit burea, negatively affecting my credit without contacting me, and was denied. Escalated call to a supervisor who gave me less than a month to pay an additional 1500. I will be foreced to either get another card and do a balance transfer or dip into my retirement at work. They are crooks! Do not use their services! I wish the doctor's office would have explained the service, but maybe they are just as clueless to their methods.

more ...
Sep 27, 2017
Interest free credit booster
MarkKehrli Cardholder

Pay no attention to the people who miss payments or don't pay their account balance down.  This is a great card to have. It works like this: 1.) instead of begging for your dentist, doctor, or vet to let you pay over time, OR, instead of whining about your insurance co-pay, you whip out this card and charge it. 2.) Depending on the amount of your purchase, you can get anywhere from 12 months to 36 months to pay it off, interest free. 3.) If you pay it off within the set period of time, the sale is over and you pay zero interest. 4.) If you don't pay it off during the 12 to 36 month period, you are charged interest on the entire purchase.

It's not scum-baggery, it's just business. They make money two ways: 1.) The interest from people who don't pay their bills off on time. 2.) A small percentage from the doctors office or vet that allowed you to pay on time via Care Credit.

If you use a Mastercard of Visa, you would have paid interest, but would have had (theoretically) forever to pay it off.

So in a nutshell, only use care credit for purchases that you know that you can reasonably pay off within the interest free period which is clearly outlined if you use their website to pay your bills. All this other stuff about them supposedly saying that a payment isn't due, then charging late fees is hogwash.

During a family bout with cancer in 2015, I missed a payment and took a 30 day hit on my credit score. In 2017, with a simple phone call, I got them to remove the 30 day late on my credit history, and refund the late charges. Also, they are very liberal with credit increases and every increase lowers your utilization and boosts your credit score.

i highly recomment this card for people who know how to manage money and understand that they are making interest free payments and need to pay off their balances within the agreed period of time. The same as if you begged your doctore to accept payments.

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away!!! They will not work with you!! Every purchase that you make the monthly bill increases. This is not like a credit card where your monthly bill stays the same... beware!!! My bill is never the same, it went from $47 to $87 the next month. The customer service agent was very rude and the manager Mary was even ruder.. DON'T DO IT!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 28, 2017

That's how ALL credit cards work. The more you charge the higher your minimum payments. If you owe 10k your payment won't be $25.

 
Sep 10, 2017
Did a hard credit check without consent
lolaloliepop Cardholder

All prior credit cards and credit checks I've had to do have been soft credit checks - they can see my credit is good and it doesn't drop my credit score. When I applied for this card at the advice of a vet they claimed rewards on medical and vetinairy purchases and didn't say they would be doing a hard credit inquiry. Well there aren't any rewards, their method of login, payment, customer service, the works is all very slimy, and they did a hard credit check without consent that I'm now scrambling to get off my credit report!

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
Helped me in an emergency!
AshliT Cardholder

I've had this card for years, mostly using it for dental. Our pup was attacked by another dog and we had to take her to the emergency room late on a Friday evening. I was at my limit on my card. The front desk called Care Credit to ask for an increase for this emergency, and they came thru for me and doubled my limit with covered the expensive cost I was facing ($2600). I am soo grateful!

more ...
Sep 05, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

We used care credit for a dental procedure which took place in 2 installments. We were making automatic payments to pay off the balance before interest would be charged. However, each payment was divided between the two balances, leaving the first installment to collect interest. Very sneaky. And is it possible to give a negative review of customer service? They are always experiencing high call volumes, so long wait. Got transferred 3 times. If you can avoid synchrony Bank, do. The worst.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 21, 2017

Were you able to get through to anybody? Mine always pays off my soonest-ending purchase first so I'm wondering if it was some sort of glitch

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

CareCredit® Card