CareCredit® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
63 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2013
Approved
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied today for a cosmetic procedure I'm planning on getting. Asked for $6600, approved for $6600. CK score: 653, Equifax fico: 674. 100% on time, 1 inquiry, 1 derogatory (old medical bill of $105), 32% credit ut. Hope this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 14, 2014
It works but there's a few catches
TheTravelDude Cardholder

Getting the card is 1/3rd of the battle.

They have a no interest promotion on the transactions you make but to see which one you get, you have to make the transaction first and read the receipt to get the promotion details.  To participate, you have to pay off the amount within the 3, 6, 12 month period on the day you make the transaction.

For example, a recent transaction of mine was for $800 on the February 12 and my statement was due on March 7.  In order to make sure I don't get charged interest, I need to pay the full amount before August 12, not September 8.  And just to be safe, I will make sure they get the payment two weeks before August 12.

What I don't like is what seems to be the automatic enrollment into Card Security (more info at https://www.mycardsecurity.com) the "insurance" product for the card.  You'll discover an "extra charge" from them on your first statement with a number to call.  If I want this junk, I'll enroll into it myself, no need to push this on me.

To disenroll and get a refund, call the number on your statement and follow the voice prompts to disenroll. Charges will be reversed.  Verify with a human that you have disenrolled from the program and that the charges have been reversed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 20, 2017
Deceptive online account information
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was offered at the vet emergency, and it was a pretty good deal. A short term of no interest. And I have been happy with the card until this month. I log in to my credit cards multiple times in a month. Each time the front page says "No Payment Due At This Time." But then the activity says that there was a payment due and now there is a late fee. It is pure trickery. You cannot trust them. While it is my responsibility to pay the bill on time, and know when it is due, it is a scumbag move to keep the text "No Payment Due" when there is clearly a payment due. Some might say that is a flat out lie. 

Also, there is no email or message help with the card. If you want customer service you have to call them. There are much better cards out there, that don't try to trick you. And also don't try to play off of the emergency of a sick animal. Which is also a bit scummy.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't get it not worth it you'll spend so much trying to pay it off this the interest rate.

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!RUINED MY CREDIT
Sultana33 Cardholder

AFTER I WAS IN A CAR ACCIDENT FOR 3 MOS I WAS UNABLE TO PAY. I THEN MADE A LARGE LUMP PAYMENT THEY NEVER MENTIONED TO ME THEY CLOSED MY ACCOUNT. I COMMUNICATED MY SITUATION WITH THEM DURING. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS AT ALL. I DIDN'T FIND OUT THEY CLOSED MY ACCT UNTIL I CHECKED MY CREDIT KARMA TO SEE HOW FAR I AM FROM GETTING A HOME LOAN. THEY WRECKED MY CREDIT

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Dont get a CARE CREDIT CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

Care credit card  they say is there to help yoiu.   it there to rip off with high high interest rate that are impossible to pay back.   You need to see a doctor just because looking at your high interest rate to pay back. Bad!!!

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I am very low income but needed dental work done but couldn't afford it out of pocket, I applied and got Care cridet it used all my Approved blanace, Since then I have been struggling to pay them back and the late fees keep stacking up, I pay as much as I can I have called customer service multipule times to see if they can lower my bill and change the date to help me catch up, they started yelling at me and telling me that I needed to pay the late fees now and I said With what money!? I had to pay rent and I can only afford what I have already paid. I regreat going this rout, I will never get another Credit card again especially trhough care credit! 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Be aware, high probability will ruin cre
Anonymous Cardholder

This really makes me livid. My sweet Golden first time in her seventh year of life dashed out the door and hit by a vehical on 29 November. Needing a stop gap, opened a Care Credit account. On 3 January (supposidly had 18 months no interest) gave a representative my information and assumed she had taken payment. Wrong. With my Autism, didn't know to check my account. Two months later, getting harassed: called every hour from seven until about 21 hours. Thanks to the internet, figure out who it is (no voicemail left). Finally after a 25 minute wait, get a representative. Wait another 15 minutes for the late fees and interest to be cleared by a supervisor. Representative says all taken care of, we just need payment today. I inform I want to pay today, put through to another department, and informed that the fees and interest will not be removed. So 90 minutes later, got misinformed to twice and still didn't get the fees and interest removed. Told if wanted it, had to call back tomorrow and speak to a higher supravisor.

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Upcharges Everywhere
Anonymous Cardholder

Charges you the maximum late fee every month no matter the amount spent or your credit score. After three months, I owed them 3x more than the initial amount spent, all in late fees. I took out a 1k loan from my bank and paid back 1178 back over the course of a year, but owed 250 on a 70 dollar purchase in three months with CareCredit.

Don't even bother. Take out a small loan with your bank instead. 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Difficult to make payments
Anonymous Cardholder

They want electronic access to your bank account and I am smart enough not to give it to them.  Making a payment over the phone will cost you $10 and they may or may not take payments from and HSA account.  When I get this paid off the card will be cut up and the account closed.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Do not use this company
Anonymous Cardholder

They are very difficult to work with, and try to over charge you at every opportunity. They do not take payments from HSA account. The customer service is awful. I will not use them again.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Handy to Have but comes with a Price!
Darwin686 Cardholder

Handy card to have for vet visit and mediacal issues from the ER to the dentist but it comes with a price.  They are not ones to raise credit limits unless you ask which results in a hard query.  This card is backed by Syncrony AKA GE Money Bank AKA the worst of the worst creditors in the world.  If there were another card that was accepted like this one I wouldn't have it, but alas there is not at this time.  Over the years Iv'e had this card I've been VERY carefull to read the fine print.  All promotional purchases must be paid before the experation date or this is retoactive intrest.  They are not the best about informing you when your statement is ready or a payment is due, in my experience it has been hit or miss.  I follow strict money mangment rules that make me login to all of my accounts on a weekly baisis and it has paid off.  I've never missed a payment with them and ONLY use this card if absoutly necessary. It is nice to be able to finance medical expences so long as you can pay it off before the date which could be 6 months or 12 months. 

The intrest rate is sky high at 24.99% on this card for me but all in all it has come in very handy with emergency vet visits.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

CareCredit® Card