Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

CareCredit® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 22, 2016
joe702LV Cardholder

Needed Dental work. My estimate was high emegency wisdom tooth extraction. That said i was praying hard to get approved!

Fast approval! i was on my way to get that sucker out!

Thanks A bunch.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 11, 2016
Consumers are shown no courtesy.
chari719 Cardholder

Less than three months from paying off a promotional balance and bringing my Care Credit balance to zero, Synchrony (Care Credit's parent co.) closed the account for "inactivity." I was not notified, and only I found out by reviewing my credit report. My credit score took a big hit because of their action. When I called them the customer service representative could not give me any more information than the "inactivity" reason- not even how long a period of inactivity they were talking about. I was also told that Synchrony, as a general policy it seems, never re-opens an account and that I would have to reapply- which would again negatively affect my credit. I had the Care Credit account for several years, paid balances off within the zero-interest promotional periods, and never made a late payment. That means that they were not making money off of me so I got dumped. We know that if you use credit too much (and of course pay lots of interest and fees) your credit score and credit lines get lowered, but if you make ontime payments and take banks up on their "promotional rates," which are heavily promoted, you run the same risk. This is another example of why the bank never loses. Consumers don't really matter.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER
silverpodgirl Cardholder

Nightmare.  Tried to change password and ended up calling 5 times and holding forever and given WRONG info (they were guessing)  I still cannot logon and won't bore you ith the details.  Last straw...CSR said I need to speak to a "manager" and I held for 30 mins and all hte "manager" did was tell me she could not tell me anything I had not already heard and MAYBE IT could get back to me in 7-10 days.  I said fine I want to cancel the card and then said never mind I don't want to cancel it and hung up.  She cancelled it ( I am sure out of spite because I told her they were all incompetent) and now aI have to "reapply"  First of all, what happened to first call resolution and decent customer service.  I work in a a call center, so I am very familiar with these concespt.  So, even though I use the card and pay it off within the "promtional" period and need more dental work I WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN.  Since I pay things off and avoid interet,  it is no skin off their back to dump me and not care.   DO NOT USE THEM

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Predatory
ajanta22000 Cardholder

Unfortunately there are times when we're faced with medical emergencies, but I would suggest applying for a small personal loan to cover those expenses before getting this card. If that is not an option PLEASE be prepared to either pay off the balance right away, or at the very least double/triple your monthly payments, and by all means..do not be late on your payment because you will be promptly reported to the credit bureau. The interest rate is astronomical, but they count on consumers not given much thought to that because more often than not they're dealing with emotional distress and the focus is on medical care for a loved one.  

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Worst company to deal with ever
Nikkolehaase Cardholder

The card is convienent to have but calling and dealing with this company is soooooo rediculous!! My husband is the primary and i am supposed to be an authorized user on the account. We have had care credit for close to 4+ years and have probably sent them in a marriage license, social security card and our license more than 3 times to prove i am his wife and to be an able to make changes on the account, access the online account or even be able to make a flippen payment. We paid off the card in 2014 and told them to cancel the card and after the CSR refused to do it we demanded to talk to a manager. The manager stated that it would be done if we sent in paperwork and we did. July 2015, guess what account is still effin open!!!! We just called today because their website hasnt been working for months and i have not been able to sign in. I was told that i am not an authorized user (AGAIN) and that my husband needs to call in. After letting my husband know what i need him to do AGAIN they told him he didnt have to do anything because i am a authorized user on the account. These people need to get their **** together. After wasting another hr of my life with these inbred *******s i still have no access to my account and we are told there will be a charge to pay over the phone and to go online and make one!!!!! I absolutely hate this company. Its impossible to cancel and impossible to use any of their services. 

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Great to have!
suezcyclridr Cardholder

I applied for Care Credit, solely for use when my animals need veterinary care.  It has come in quite handy, as vet bills can be expensive!  Just pay your bills on time and pay off your balance within the year and there's no interest.  I'm very glad to have this card!

more ...
Jan 01, 2017
update account! pd off in 2015
Mickay8591 Cardholder

We have paid off this account in early 2015, here we start 2017 and shows balance on our credit report. Try to login to account and no longer able to.

more ...
Dec 27, 2016
Isn't that Illegal?
ccwood77 Cardholder

They informed me that the interest on this card went retroactive after the six month interest free period was up, so I pay 1/6 of my balance every month. (We got it for one time use in an emergency)  I later read in my Business Legal Environment text book that creditors are not able to charge retroactive interest after an introductory period due to the Fair Credit Act.  I may have misunderstood, therefore, I'm not taking my chances - but this information may be worth looking into if you feel as though you have been taken advantage of as a consumer.

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They say free interest for 6 months. They don't tell you that if you don't pay in full with in the 6 months they charge all 6 months of interest at the ending. I will never touch this card again. Just a warning to everyone don't get this card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 14, 2017

Actually, they do mention it

 
Dec 19, 2016
OK if you owe them money
Anonymous Cardholder

They will give you a card keep it make all the payments on time then if you pay it off the reevaluate you and close your account I do not think that's a proper way to do business

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 27, 2016

Same thing happened to me and dropped my credit score 88 points because of them! ****ed me off!

 
Dec 17, 2016
AWFUL
garochristian Cardholder

A colleague recommended this credit card to me and needless to say, she spoke very highly of it. After all, medical issues arise and strike at random—the CareCredit Card seemed to be the perfect card to have in a "medical emergency".

Thankfully, I didn't need to use my CareCredit Card in the single year that I owned it... however, this didn't bode well with customer service. Apparently, since I didn't generate a single shred of business for them in an entire calendar year, customer service canceled my account WITHOUT WARNING due to "inactivity".

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

intrest eats you alive. money hungry, charge you $10 to not talk to a robot

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

CareCredit® Card