CareCredit® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
67 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 17, 2016
Good thing to have
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this because I needed a large amount of dental work done and it had worked well for me. What I was told is if you pay off the balance in a year then you won't be charged any interest, and that has been true. paid off the whole balance in a year and no interest. Did new charges and same thing. Looks like from the comments I see is people don't know what a credit card is, you have to pay the bill lol 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 11, 2016
Consumers are shown no courtesy.
chari719 Cardholder

Less than three months from paying off a promotional balance and bringing my Care Credit balance to zero, Synchrony (Care Credit's parent co.) closed the account for "inactivity." I was not notified, and only I found out by reviewing my credit report. My credit score took a big hit because of their action. When I called them the customer service representative could not give me any more information than the "inactivity" reason- not even how long a period of inactivity they were talking about. I was also told that Synchrony, as a general policy it seems, never re-opens an account and that I would have to reapply- which would again negatively affect my credit. I had the Care Credit account for several years, paid balances off within the zero-interest promotional periods, and never made a late payment. That means that they were not making money off of me so I got dumped. We know that if you use credit too much (and of course pay lots of interest and fees) your credit score and credit lines get lowered, but if you make ontime payments and take banks up on their "promotional rates," which are heavily promoted, you run the same risk. This is another example of why the bank never loses. Consumers don't really matter.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 18, 2017
Dont get a CARE CREDIT CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

Care credit card  they say is there to help yoiu.   it there to rip off with high high interest rate that are impossible to pay back.   You need to see a doctor just because looking at your high interest rate to pay back. Bad!!!

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I am very low income but needed dental work done but couldn't afford it out of pocket, I applied and got Care cridet it used all my Approved blanace, Since then I have been struggling to pay them back and the late fees keep stacking up, I pay as much as I can I have called customer service multipule times to see if they can lower my bill and change the date to help me catch up, they started yelling at me and telling me that I needed to pay the late fees now and I said With what money!? I had to pay rent and I can only afford what I have already paid. I regreat going this rout, I will never get another Credit card again especially trhough care credit! 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Be aware, high probability will ruin cre
Anonymous Cardholder

This really makes me livid. My sweet Golden first time in her seventh year of life dashed out the door and hit by a vehical on 29 November. Needing a stop gap, opened a Care Credit account. On 3 January (supposidly had 18 months no interest) gave a representative my information and assumed she had taken payment. Wrong. With my Autism, didn't know to check my account. Two months later, getting harassed: called every hour from seven until about 21 hours. Thanks to the internet, figure out who it is (no voicemail left). Finally after a 25 minute wait, get a representative. Wait another 15 minutes for the late fees and interest to be cleared by a supervisor. Representative says all taken care of, we just need payment today. I inform I want to pay today, put through to another department, and informed that the fees and interest will not be removed. So 90 minutes later, got misinformed to twice and still didn't get the fees and interest removed. Told if wanted it, had to call back tomorrow and speak to a higher supravisor.

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Upcharges Everywhere
Anonymous Cardholder

Charges you the maximum late fee every month no matter the amount spent or your credit score. After three months, I owed them 3x more than the initial amount spent, all in late fees. I took out a 1k loan from my bank and paid back 1178 back over the course of a year, but owed 250 on a 70 dollar purchase in three months with CareCredit.

Don't even bother. Take out a small loan with your bank instead. 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Difficult to make payments
Anonymous Cardholder

They want electronic access to your bank account and I am smart enough not to give it to them.  Making a payment over the phone will cost you $10 and they may or may not take payments from and HSA account.  When I get this paid off the card will be cut up and the account closed.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Do not use this company
Anonymous Cardholder

They are very difficult to work with, and try to over charge you at every opportunity. They do not take payments from HSA account. The customer service is awful. I will not use them again.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Handy to Have but comes with a Price!
Darwin686 Cardholder

Handy card to have for vet visit and mediacal issues from the ER to the dentist but it comes with a price.  They are not ones to raise credit limits unless you ask which results in a hard query.  This card is backed by Syncrony AKA GE Money Bank AKA the worst of the worst creditors in the world.  If there were another card that was accepted like this one I wouldn't have it, but alas there is not at this time.  Over the years Iv'e had this card I've been VERY carefull to read the fine print.  All promotional purchases must be paid before the experation date or this is retoactive intrest.  They are not the best about informing you when your statement is ready or a payment is due, in my experience it has been hit or miss.  I follow strict money mangment rules that make me login to all of my accounts on a weekly baisis and it has paid off.  I've never missed a payment with them and ONLY use this card if absoutly necessary. It is nice to be able to finance medical expences so long as you can pay it off before the date which could be 6 months or 12 months. 

The intrest rate is sky high at 24.99% on this card for me but all in all it has come in very handy with emergency vet visits.

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Horrible Customer Service
VPugh81 Cardholder

I had a solid payment history with this card, and unfortunately lost my job. Care Credit was unwilling to work with me and was the only one out of 4 cards to instantly charge off my balance without allowing me a chance to make smaller payments until i regained employement. Stay far away from these people, they prey on people who are going through rough times.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Worst customer service rep.
Anonymous Cardholder

I called trying to find out about 0 interest rate because i wanted to use my card for the first time. And the customer service guy was laughing and take deep breaths while talking me. He was unprofessional. I call and cancel my card because of unprofessional employee.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER
silverpodgirl Cardholder

Nightmare.  Tried to change password and ended up calling 5 times and holding forever and given WRONG info (they were guessing)  I still cannot logon and won't bore you ith the details.  Last straw...CSR said I need to speak to a "manager" and I held for 30 mins and all hte "manager" did was tell me she could not tell me anything I had not already heard and MAYBE IT could get back to me in 7-10 days.  I said fine I want to cancel the card and then said never mind I don't want to cancel it and hung up.  She cancelled it ( I am sure out of spite because I told her they were all incompetent) and now aI have to "reapply"  First of all, what happened to first call resolution and decent customer service.  I work in a a call center, so I am very familiar with these concespt.  So, even though I use the card and pay it off within the "promtional" period and need more dental work I WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN.  Since I pay things off and avoid interet,  it is no skin off their back to dump me and not care.   DO NOT USE THEM

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

CareCredit® Card