CareCredit® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
66 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 17, 2016
Good thing to have
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this because I needed a large amount of dental work done and it had worked well for me. What I was told is if you pay off the balance in a year then you won't be charged any interest, and that has been true. paid off the whole balance in a year and no interest. Did new charges and same thing. Looks like from the comments I see is people don't know what a credit card is, you have to pay the bill lol 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 16, 2017
Handy to Have but comes with a Price!
Darwin686 Cardholder

Handy card to have for vet visit and mediacal issues from the ER to the dentist but it comes with a price.  They are not ones to raise credit limits unless you ask which results in a hard query.  This card is backed by Syncrony AKA GE Money Bank AKA the worst of the worst creditors in the world.  If there were another card that was accepted like this one I wouldn't have it, but alas there is not at this time.  Over the years Iv'e had this card I've been VERY carefull to read the fine print.  All promotional purchases must be paid before the experation date or this is retoactive intrest.  They are not the best about informing you when your statement is ready or a payment is due, in my experience it has been hit or miss.  I follow strict money mangment rules that make me login to all of my accounts on a weekly baisis and it has paid off.  I've never missed a payment with them and ONLY use this card if absoutly necessary. It is nice to be able to finance medical expences so long as you can pay it off before the date which could be 6 months or 12 months. 

The intrest rate is sky high at 24.99% on this card for me but all in all it has come in very handy with emergency vet visits.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 10, 2017
Did a hard credit check without consent
lolaloliepop Cardholder

All prior credit cards and credit checks I've had to do have been soft credit checks - they can see my credit is good and it doesn't drop my credit score. When I applied for this card at the advice of a vet they claimed rewards on medical and vetinairy purchases and didn't say they would be doing a hard credit inquiry. Well there aren't any rewards, their method of login, payment, customer service, the works is all very slimy, and they did a hard credit check without consent that I'm now scrambling to get off my credit report!

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
Helped me in an emergency!
AshliT Cardholder

I've had this card for years, mostly using it for dental. Our pup was attacked by another dog and we had to take her to the emergency room late on a Friday evening. I was at my limit on my card. The front desk called Care Credit to ask for an increase for this emergency, and they came thru for me and doubled my limit with covered the expensive cost I was facing ($2600). I am soo grateful!

more ...
Sep 05, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

We used care credit for a dental procedure which took place in 2 installments. We were making automatic payments to pay off the balance before interest would be charged. However, each payment was divided between the two balances, leaving the first installment to collect interest. Very sneaky. And is it possible to give a negative review of customer service? They are always experiencing high call volumes, so long wait. Got transferred 3 times. If you can avoid synchrony Bank, do. The worst.

more ...
Aug 29, 2017
Good to have if you are uninsured!!
Steamawayclean Cardholder

I got this card about 10 months ago. It started with a 1000 limit. As of today I called and got the limit raised to 7000k! My credit score is 613 as of today. I have some vision, dental and vet stuff I have to do, so as long as I pay off in the promo period all is good. When you call and ask for a CLI its all automated. Just shoot high because even if your denied they counter with another offer .better to have it if you need it. I asked for 2k and got approved so called right back and asked for 5K and got it. Then called right back and asked for 10K and was countered with the 7k. Better to have it plus it builds on your credit limit overall and brings down your overall usage percentage . hope this helps.

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
It can come in handy
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card sometime last year or the year before and used it when my dog needed surgery.  It really came in handy, and the customer service was terrific.   Recently, though, something has changed.  I tried to use their "pay my provider" option for a dental bill.  I didn't have my card number with me, and I couldn't get through their automated attendant to ask for help.  Frustrated and sick of the automated attendant, I finally landed in the lost or stolen section (as far as I can tell, the only section located in the US) and from there, dealing with the company has been like something out of a bad horror movie.  The woman insisted my card was lost, and now I can't even pay my bills online.   Bottom line, they're pretty awful, so try to stay away, but for emergencies, well, it's better than nothing.

more ...
Aug 10, 2017
Crazy interest
Dogsaplenty Cardholder

It can help in money tight situations but you better get it paid off before your interest kicks in or promotional period they call it or you will regret it they you will have a huge hole to fill up. I wish the doctors office that pushed this would have explained this better.

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Hard pull without consent
Anonymous Cardholder

At no point was it mentioned that they would be pulling my credit nor did I consent to a hard credit pull. Voila, now I have to go through the rigamarole of disputing the pull. Absolutely ridiculous.

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Pain in butt
Anonymous Cardholder

Please watch out for  they send emails in the name of the bank and not anything that says Care Credit.  I had the bank calling me and I thought it was one of those spam calls.  I call  Care Credit after I find out that I am late on a payment--what?  the guy is nice and tells me what day it will appear in my email.  I then decide a couple days later to just pay off the bill and I use their f automated payment system that puts me a whole bunch of time and then it wont let me pay the balance. I NEVER WANT TO USE THIS CARD AGAIN.  If you have a person take your payment you get charged $10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Refuse to give credit line increases.
Anonymous Cardholder

Very high apr and I've made all of my payments on time always pay more than the monthly amount due, yet they refuse to give me a credit line increase.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

CareCredit® Card