Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
242 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Awesome card!! do preapproval check 1st.
143nones Cardholder

I'm in the process of rebuilding my credit from dumb mistakes I made as a student and being unemployed on a limited unemployment check while in school. My TU score is 653 and experian is 646. I have two credit union credit cards with a credit line of $1000 each. I read the reviews and took a chance, I was instantly approved with a credit line of $1800!!! It's definitely worth applying with good rewards. Credit karma said my approval chance was very good. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 07, 2016
Good but no automatic CLI???
plurtwink Cardholder

I've had this card for 16 months (100% on time payments) and haven't gotten a CLI. My inital CL was and still is $1500.

You can request one but that will mean hard inquiries to all three of my reports :( 

One of my Capital one cards has gone from $500 CL to 10K in 3 years with no hard inquiries. Barclays needs to step it up.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 04, 2016
Rewards Boost is a Sham.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have used Rewards Boost system to earn points fast countless times. I have sent email after email regarding the fact that my points are not posting. Most points show within 5 days but it can take up to 45 days- by which time you have forgotten how many points you should have earned. Time after time I have checked back after 45 days and points promised have not been posted. Only once has Barclay responded to several emails by finally posted the stated amount.

Sham. Get a rewards card that actually gives you the points it promises.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
judeash17 Cardholder

Great card! I applied with a CS around 610 and did not bank on an approval.  I was approved over 7 months ago and to this date I have had no issues.  Their website and mobile app are very easy to manuever.  Their customer service is great as well.  Overal excellent card.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Piece of ****ing ****
Anonymous Cardholder

****ing crap

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
rdeantaylor Cardholder

i was curious if i would really get accepted, i had a bankruptcy 8 yrs ago, i was wanting a cc to rebuild credit, well they gave me one with a 1,500.00 line of credit. also you can ask questions about your accnt and they answer pretty quick.

more ...
Nov 26, 2016
Great for rebuilding

Got me out of the CapOne black hole. Barclay gave me a $1300 limit with a high 500 credit score. I was post divorce induced BK and couldn't get more than $500 from CapOne despite paying timely for 4 years. This month they increased my limit again. It's been 2 years and I've been very happy. I wish the rewards percentage were a bit better but it's a nice bonus on my everyday purchases anyway.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Great Starter
doughlastaylor Cardholder

I think it's a good card to rebuild your score and credit, I took all the reviews into consideration before applying and actually waited 2 extra weeks.... With odds being good I applied and was approved with a 620 Fico.... along with CapitalOne and Fingerhut my score is going up slowly.... it just jumped 7 points on one and 13 on another... 

Great Customer Care Reps....

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Bad customer service with average reward
burritomen Cardholder

Approved for 500 with a 680 credit score and was upped to 1500 shortly after. Now at 4000, but I had to request the increase AND they dinged my credit for it. It is the only card I have that required a hard inquiry for a limit increase (currently at 7 cards).

Now, I've had it for about 3 years, but I've been underwhelmed with the rewards and customer service. It's outsourced to the Philippines. I had some fraud where someone used my card with Netflix, but I didn't notice it. So when I found it, I cancelled my card and called them to replace it, file the fraud, and block Netflix. They didn't investigate the fraud and even rolled over the payments on the new card #. When I called to file fraud again a few months later, they filed on only 3 payments and denied the claim. The cs agent kept implying that they don't refund for cancelling your Netflix account. I did call Netflix, who blocked the card on their side and sent back a 1 month refund, at least.

This was my gas card, with its low limit, but now I'll be using it once or twice a month at the most.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 03, 2016

Lol...you only have a 680 and you have seven credit cards? You don't sound like you even need a credit card increase much less to be griping about it making a hard inquiry on your credit or having to request one. Slot of people don't want one because it can also be harmful to your credit as much as it can help, that's why you have to request it, also so they can check your profile and make sure you still have the same address and employment just like most other companies.

 
Nov 19, 2016
Not sure yet
Chicosan Cardholder

I have an avg score of about 650. Applied online and was approved for a 2000.00 limit. My CK approval odds was "very good. ". We'll see how it is when I receive it.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Great newbie card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I only had a 640 credit score, and I was shocked when my CL was 1500 which is alot for my fair rating!

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Great card and service so far.
SonicChris8 Cardholder

 Applied for this card on 09/22/16 with about a 657 CK. Recied a message will review your app and call you in 10 days. I found the recon number 866-408-4064 and gave them a call. The rep was very friendly. She asked me about my one charge off, income, job history... She looked over my report at other accounts and said there would be no problem to go ahead and approve. She asked if $1000 would be ok to start off and that was it. My 2nd statement just posted so I thout I would try a CLI. I went ahead and called the same number 866-408-4064 I was immidiately connectred to a live easy to talk to rep once again. I asked about a CLI and he said he would be glad to help. I told him I wanted to request $2500 He said he would need to pull a fresh report with a hard inquiry. He reviewed my report and asked about usage, income and job again. He commended me on making all payments on all accounts and said it would be no problem for the increase. I was approved and it was instantly available. Hope this helps.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®