Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
150 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 22, 2014
Applied and was Accepted
Leila222 Cardholder

When I applied for this credit card my score was 563. I was approved for 500 credit card with no interest for a year. I made various payments at least twice a month(on time) and kept my my utilization 1/3 of the balance. 6 months without requesting an increase I was given an increase to 1500.00. My credit score is now 660. I have monitored my credit score on a bi-weekly basis. I recieved an increase on my macy's credit card as well. I began with a secured credit card with Bank of America for 300.00 and that was the beginning of my journey to repairing my credit.I have two accounts which are currently being reported and are about 5-6 years old.

I made sure that once I got approved for these cards I did not apply for anything else. Now I am recieveing pre-approved offers which I dont apply for because I dont want any hard pulls on my account. In less then a year I have managed to increase my credit score by using Credit Karma and reading articles on how to increase my credit. I am happy to say that I went from poor to fair in less than a year.

As for customer service I cant really comment on any of that because I have never had to call them. I pay my bill on line and thats it.

Good luck everyone I am proof that you can fix your credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 09, 2013
OK Card, But Whacks You With 3 Inquiries
bethanydave7982 Cardholder

My husband and I have had a joint card with them for about 9 months now. My score is around 685 and his is around 645. When we applied we used him as the main account holder and we were instantly approved with a credit line of $1300. About 6 months later we were granted a CLI to $2000. We had the first 6 months with 0%, so that was good. The problem is, is that they will whack you with 3 credit inquiries to Transunion just when you apply! Yes 3 inquiries to one Credit Bureau!!! Within 60 days of approval they pulled his credit report 2 additional times. I can't dispute it with Transunion because they do not allow inquiry disputes. Barclays claim they were doing an automatic credit line increase??? Even if they were, they should never be pulling hard inquries for that.  We never approved the additional inquiries nor asked for a credit increase. This seems really slimy. I don't think I'll be using them in the future. Beware of the 3 inquiries if wanting to apply!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 23, 2017
Customer service sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

Hope you never have a complaint. The customer service will never help you, and will not explain anything. 

more ...
May 18, 2017
Horrible customer service
bgangware Cardholder

Today my transaction was declined.  I called Barkleycard and was told that the reason stated was that my account was past due.  Customer Service checked the account and agreed the  account  was up to date and there was no past due amount.  They could not tell me what the problem was, when the problem would be fixed, and if I would be declined if I used the card again.  It was a totally inadequate responce.  This has been my main card for several years but I am changing to a new card.  It is no longer dependable.

more ...
May 12, 2017
The worst credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

This is one of the worst cards you can get!!!! Simple tasks seem to be hard work for customer service! Bill pay is the worst part of this process because they dont understand mistakes and cant reverse any transactions. i wish i would have never signed up with them. It was a big mistake and as soon i pay off my credit card i will ciut up my credit card!!!!

DONT DO IT!!!

more ...
May 05, 2017
Rip Off
Jimjr44 Cardholder

 I had this card for four years, never late payment. I was traveling and had a late payment and they took all my points. I had tens of thousands of points built up over four years. Never use the points. They will not give you back your points !

more ...
May 05, 2017
GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE
SETHHS Cardholder

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE

more ...
May 04, 2017
they are horrible to deal with!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card when it was a miles card. I stopped using it when it became a Barclay card. My now ex husband was able to change the address, email and phone number so he was able to get all the information and sent to him. He then transferred 15,000 dollars without them ever speaking to me, the card holder. They increased the card allowance to 32,000 dollars, all of which he charged 27,000. On top of this, he lost the card twice over the 5 years he had it in his possesion and they sent him another one, still without ever talking to me! He has no money so there is no way I can sue him and they will do absolutely nothing for me unless I stop paying the card for 2 months which will ruin my credit. I even had an attorney contact them.  Do not getv this card, these people are slime, trust me!!!!!!!!

more ...
May 03, 2017
Got it when I bought an Apple computer
prdx2222 Cardholder

They will cancel your card for B-ll**** reasons. Zero customer care. I didn't use it, so they cancelled it. No problem. But don't list BS reasons like delinquency. I have NO DELINQUENCY noted in my credit rating anywhere. I had NO BALANCE and my credit rating is rubbing up agianst 800. But according to them, I'm a bad credit risk.

FU, Barlcays. Be honest when you cancel. Don't give a BS form letter.

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Ok until you have a problem
Anonymous Cardholder

After a fraudulent card, Barclay gave me zero support.  They closed my claim before providing me with any information and then charged me interest and a late fee when I was asking for information.

Needless to say, I no longer have this card.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

worst company i have ever dealt with, I opened a card without APR interest for the first 15 months and after three months they sent me a letter that due to a printing mistake the offer letter i had did not indicate that i was going to be charged APR. after i had a reasonable amount spent on the card. i called them and they told me there was nothing to do, meanwhile the same card was on their website but the only diffrence now was that if you spend $1000 within the first three months you will get back $200. please never open any card with them, they are fraudulent.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Very very bad customer service experienc
Anonymous Cardholder

You can't dispute a charge online. You only can do it on the phone with the customer service representative who insisted that you should dispute the charge directly with the merchant. I told her I did and was unsuccessful. She was rude and keep pushing me not to dispute the transaction. I asked to speak with someone else, another representative try to talk me not to dispute the transaction and put me on hold. After 30 minutes of battle with the representative, I finally was transferred to the dispute department, the third person that I need to talk to and disputed my charge. But it doesn't end there, it just the beginning. They said I have to mail them the supporting documents, they will mail me some paperwork for it and I will expect 30 days for them to investigate. It was the worst customer service experience I ever received from a credit card company. The impression I got from this credit card company is that don't dispute, for whatever reason, talk to the merchant directly, resolve it on your own.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®