Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
101 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 10, 2017
So far so good
RHIT22 Cardholder

I have had the card for a little over a year. Started out with a low 500 CL, but used it and paid off at the end of every month, even went 6 months without a single purchase. Today I decided to go online and get a CLI, so I filled it out, hit submit, and got the standard 48 hour review, letter in the mail in 10 days stuff. Well, I got a call about an hour later, and they approved my CLI request in full to the sum of 5000. My CS was 560 last year, up to 670 now, had only 5000 in credit last year, up to 17000 now. Hope this trend keeps up. There customer service is bad, but I never have to call so that is not an issue with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 26, 2017
Really bad customer service!
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service just doesn't care about their customers.  Stay away from this card/company!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 10, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for all about three years now and i've noticed when i first got the card after having it for 5 months they raised me from $500 to $1,000 then about another year for another $500 well now credit line increases has totally not been offered but i have Discover a little less and already been increased to $8,000 and have had it less then two and a half years i've always pay either off or way more then due and never have missed any payments on any of my accounts i'm almost fed up with this card 

more ...
Dec 06, 2017
Unethical business practices
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened a Barclay card to take advantage of the deferred interest program. The computer was $1387 with an 18 month pay off time. I've made payments of $5950 in the last 18 months but Barclay hasn't applied these payments to the computer but to other purchases. So in November 2017 after 18 months of payments they charged me $436 in deferred interest. When I called they said there was nothing they could do. They're unethical thieves. I filed a complaint with the BBB and will be sending in a written complaint to their offices to try and get the interest refunded.I kind of can't believe Apple does business with this scam of a company.

more ...
Dec 06, 2017
Lowered Limit after 5 years never late
dlmetalworkbr Cardholder

I generally carry a balance depending on the limit.  I had a limit that went from $750 to $9k in a span of 4 years.  I eventually carried a balance of $3500.  They lowered my limit to $4800 then to $3900.  I'm expecting for it to be lowered again as I pay it down.  I called and they gave no particular reason.  I also have a barclay nfl card which suffered the same fate.  It cost my credit score 75 points when they lowered both credit limits.  Immediately removed $10k in available credit.   I have large limits on all my other cards and intend to pay barclay out.  I won't close it because it'll bring down the score, but it has no annual fee.  If you make a large purchase, apparently they want their money back very quick.

more ...
Dec 05, 2017
NurseJax Cardholder

Given wrong information both times I've called. I couldn't get anywhere with customer service.

more ...
Dec 05, 2017
NurseJax Cardholder

Given wrong information every time I called. I couldn't get anywhere with these people.

more ...
Dec 05, 2017
Terrible customer service
Jenn2687 Cardholder

Please spread the word not to get this card. These people almost lost me my house!!! By the time you get a person they barely speak English, they are rude, they know nothing, they put you on hold for hours and they do not know anything about customer service. They cancelled my card while I was purchasing a home with no warning. They told me it was because I was getting an upgrade that I never applied for. They said they just do it so too bad. This problem started in August and I didnt recieve my card until November!

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Barclay Derserves Its Low Rating
Anonymous Cardholder

Barclay promised 15000 points after my first purchase.  When I inquired about the points having not been posted to my account, I was told I should have called to “accept” the points and unfortunately the offer had expired. Nowhere in the promotional email was there a directive to call and/or accept the points. My question to that omission was unanswered on the phone. I WILL BE CANCELING MY CARD. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
Random day account is closed...
kblack2299 Cardholder

Had an account for 5 years with usual use than one day we get a cencelation notice.... interest rates are high but credit line is good.

more ...
Nov 12, 2017
2016Gracie Cardholder

I've never had a problem with Barclay lowering my limit, and I've received several credit limit increases since getting the card over 3 years ago at a starting limit of $1,300. I believe the first increase was automatic, but I had to initiate the other credit limit increases which resulted in a hard inquiry. However, they were approved each time, and my limit is now $6,300. I utilize this card alot although I now have other cards such as the Capital One Quick Silver and Venture, Wellsfargo Cash Wise and most recently, the Discover It that I'm waiting to receive. The 2% that you receive on gas, groceries and utilities add up very fast, and I normally redeem the rewards for gift cards. Also, you get the 2% for the grocery category at stores like Dollar General, Family Dollar and Fred's. Since I pay this card in full each month to avoid the high interest, I profit from the benefits. Also, I don't have to contact Barclay very much, but my issues have always been resolved when I contacted customer service.

more ...
Nov 07, 2017
Hard to get CLI
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for two years started with a $500 CLI. I have applied for a CLI increase twice and each time I was denied. I have no major dings on CR and I pay the balance in full and on time every month so I do not understand why they are giving me such a hassle getting CLI. I have two other cards that have raised my limit substantially with no problems. I will most likely be getting rid of this card

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®