Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
168 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 22, 2014
Applied and was Accepted
Leila222 Cardholder

When I applied for this credit card my score was 563. I was approved for 500 credit card with no interest for a year. I made various payments at least twice a month(on time) and kept my my utilization 1/3 of the balance. 6 months without requesting an increase I was given an increase to 1500.00. My credit score is now 660. I have monitored my credit score on a bi-weekly basis. I recieved an increase on my macy's credit card as well. I began with a secured credit card with Bank of America for 300.00 and that was the beginning of my journey to repairing my credit.I have two accounts which are currently being reported and are about 5-6 years old.

I made sure that once I got approved for these cards I did not apply for anything else. Now I am recieveing pre-approved offers which I dont apply for because I dont want any hard pulls on my account. In less then a year I have managed to increase my credit score by using Credit Karma and reading articles on how to increase my credit. I am happy to say that I went from poor to fair in less than a year.

As for customer service I cant really comment on any of that because I have never had to call them. I pay my bill on line and thats it.

Good luck everyone I am proof that you can fix your credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 09, 2013
OK Card, But Whacks You With 3 Inquiries
bethanydave7982 Cardholder

My husband and I have had a joint card with them for about 9 months now. My score is around 685 and his is around 645. When we applied we used him as the main account holder and we were instantly approved with a credit line of $1300. About 6 months later we were granted a CLI to $2000. We had the first 6 months with 0%, so that was good. The problem is, is that they will whack you with 3 credit inquiries to Transunion just when you apply! Yes 3 inquiries to one Credit Bureau!!! Within 60 days of approval they pulled his credit report 2 additional times. I can't dispute it with Transunion because they do not allow inquiry disputes. Barclays claim they were doing an automatic credit line increase??? Even if they were, they should never be pulling hard inquries for that.  We never approved the additional inquiries nor asked for a credit increase. This seems really slimy. I don't think I'll be using them in the future. Beware of the 3 inquiries if wanting to apply!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 22, 2017
Very very bad customer service experienc
Anonymous Cardholder

You can't dispute a charge online. You only can do it on the phone with the customer service representative who insisted that you should dispute the charge directly with the merchant. I told her I did and was unsuccessful. She was rude and keep pushing me not to dispute the transaction. I asked to speak with someone else, another representative try to talk me not to dispute the transaction and put me on hold. After 30 minutes of battle with the representative, I finally was transferred to the dispute department, the third person that I need to talk to and disputed my charge. But it doesn't end there, it just the beginning. They said I have to mail them the supporting documents, they will mail me some paperwork for it and I will expect 30 days for them to investigate. It was the worst customer service experience I ever received from a credit card company. The impression I got from this credit card company is that don't dispute, for whatever reason, talk to the merchant directly, resolve it on your own.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Easy approval and awesome rewards
jrdrebuilder Cardholder

I was authorized quickly and have had nothing but good fortune with this card.  Applied on October 2016 and they gave me a $500 credit line with a mid 500 credit score.  They upped my credit line to 1,400 in April 2017.  The rewards are great, especially when I pay my phone bill or gasoline.  I try and run a lot of purchases through it to benefit as much as possible.  I've received around $65 in cash rewards in 6 months!

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Worst credit card you could get
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the card limit was at $700, paid it off and did not use the card for a year or so. Did not use the card for a while, and asked if they would increase my limit, was told that I had to request it. With my other cards they do it automatic. And when they did do it, it was a hard inquiry. Did not think much of it at the time they gave me a limit of $3300. Still did not use the card for a while. Had a family emergency, had to use the card and they report it right to the credit bureau. I really thought less of them then, but what made it worst that becasue my credit usage went up they decreased my limit and sent to the credit bureau before I could pay the balance off. I was so upset with them that I called them and asked why? They told me that they can reduce my limit when ever they wanted too. And the account rep. was a very horrible representative. I thought Capital One was bad, they are worst. I surggest to never get a card with them. 

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
SCAM
Anonymous Cardholder

I have never applied for a card and now I get pre-approved offers.  In order to get off of their list, I need to supply them with my social security number, date of birth and god knows what else.  Seems like a scam and even if it is not, why would I ever want to to give a company my most personal information just to get them to leave me alone?

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Stay Away
CoCortes Cardholder

I read reviews on this card prior to getting one, and many people stated that they decrease your credit limit without reason.  I thought, hey, that person must have paid late, or maxed it out, or kept a high balance.  Guess what- they do.  I always pay at least twice the minimum.  Keep my card below 50% always.  I have two cards wtih them, and in the last month they've cut my credit line in half, causing me to be a few hundred away from the limit.  I've had these cards for years.  They rarely raise the limit, which is fine.  I didn't need that.  But, I really didn't need my limit reduced for no good reason just because.  My credit score is higher than it was when I got them.  I haven't defaulted on anything with anyone, and there is no credit reason for this.  Shame on this company.  I'll be closing both accounts as soon as I can pay them off.  There are much better cards out there.  Discover is the best.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 18, 2017

I've had this card for over a year and they never decreased my limit. I also have their cash back card (in January) and just got approved for their Choice Privileges Card (last week) and both cards approved for $5k. My credit limit on this card went up from $1800 to $5k. It's a rewards card, you are not supposed to keep a balance. What's the point of the rewards if you are paying interest on your balance? You may want to take a credit card course that can help you chose the right card to hold balances. Pick something with a much lower interest rate. Best of luck.

 
Apr 13, 2017
Don't do it!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been unemployed and fortunate to work with all my creditors to obtain financial relief in the form of temporary reduced payments.  All except Barclaycard.  They have NO programs to assist those in temporary financial assistance and my balance just keeps going up.  I have called multiple times and each time the representative tells me the same thing...call back and MAYBE the system will offer you some assistance.  My account will be closed next month and all I have been trying to do is get help.  I wish I would have known this ahead of time.  In this difficult economy, things do happen, and at least I am TRYING to do something.  I am not someone just running up my card and then doing nothing. 

STAY AWAY!  Not a fan of a company that would rather charge off the account rather than provide TEMPORARY assistance until someone gets back on their feet!

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
terrible card, cheating
Anonymous Cardholder

with an invitation letter saying $200 cash rewards when spending $1000 first 90 days, I applied this card with the code in the letter. and I got approved. After receiving the card, the representative told me I do not have this cash rewards,  wtf 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 18, 2017

I think you applied for the wrong Barclaycard. That rewards bonus you spoke of is for the cash forward card. I also have that card and did receive that bonus. This is not a cash back card. This is a rewards points card.

 
Apr 02, 2017
Excellent credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this credit card for about three years now and nothing but great experiences , very generous credit line increase of course based on your payment history and good credit score , like any other credit card show responsibility make payments on time and don't fool around , all this methods will be rewarded. I highly recommend barclaycard for those who are responsible.

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE A PLAGUE!!!!
jkovacsster Cardholder

THIS IS THE WORST CREDIT CARD COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH. YOU DISPUTE A CHARGE AND IT TAKES THEM 6 MONTHS TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THEY CHECK YOUR CREDIT AT ANYTIME AND PUT MULTIPLE CREDIT INQUIRIES ON YOUR CREDIT PROFILE. IF YOU EVER ASK FOR A CREDIT LINE INCREASE BE PREPARED THAT IF YOU ARE NOT APPROVED IMMEDIATELY THEY WILL REDUCE YOUR CREDIT LIMIT AND IT WILL HURT YOUR CREDIT AGAIN. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY EVER UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR CREDIT PROFILE TO BE DESTROYED!!!!!!!!!  

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Unreliable fraud investigations
Anonymous Cardholder

My card had an unauthorized charge on Groupon for a $12.98 purchase. Upon investigation, Barclays deemed the charge "valid" (made by me) simply based on the premise that I had previously made purchases on Groupon. Groupon, however, confirmed with me that there were two other unauthorized attempts to make iPhone purchases on their website with the same Barclays credit card which had been blocked by Groupon. Groupon will be refunding me the unauthorized charge that went through. I understand that fraud should be resolved by the merchandiser and disputing the transaction with your credit card company should be one of the last resort. However, as a customer for 3 years that never had any incidence with the credit card, I was disappointed by how they handled the investigation. I could only imagine how much worse the situation could become when the company deals with a larger fraud.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®