Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
192 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Awesome card!! do preapproval check 1st.
143nones Cardholder

I'm in the process of rebuilding my credit from dumb mistakes I made as a student and being unemployed on a limited unemployment check while in school. My TU score is 653 and experian is 646. I have two credit union credit cards with a credit line of $1000 each. I read the reviews and took a chance, I was instantly approved with a credit line of $1800!!! It's definitely worth applying with good rewards. Credit karma said my approval chance was very good. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 07, 2016
Good but no automatic CLI???
plurtwink Cardholder

I've had this card for 16 months (100% on time payments) and haven't gotten a CLI. My inital CL was and still is $1500.

You can request one but that will mean hard inquiries to all three of my reports :( 

One of my Capital one cards has gone from $500 CL to 10K in 3 years with no hard inquiries. Barclays needs to step it up.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 27, 2017
Unreliable fraud investigations
Anonymous Cardholder

My card had an unauthorized charge on Groupon for a $12.98 purchase. Upon investigation, Barclays deemed the charge "valid" (made by me) simply based on the premise that I had previously made purchases on Groupon. Groupon, however, confirmed with me that there were two other unauthorized attempts to make iPhone purchases on their website with the same Barclays credit card which had been blocked by Groupon. Groupon will be refunding me the unauthorized charge that went through. I understand that fraud should be resolved by the merchandiser and disputing the transaction with your credit card company should be one of the last resort. However, as a customer for 3 years that never had any incidence with the credit card, I was disappointed by how they handled the investigation. I could only imagine how much worse the situation could become when the company deals with a larger fraud.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Great card! Great customer service!
ianbashaw Cardholder

I have had nothing but good luck with BarclayCard. Great customer service. Good auto CLI periodically. They also lowered my APR on request by 3%.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Great card to have
ianbashaw Cardholder

I have nothing but good things to say about this card. I don't hold a balance on this card so the rewards are simply free money. Their customer service, for me, has been excellent. I called and asked if they would lower my APR and they did infact lower it by 3%. It is still an outrageously high interest rate, but perhaps in the future it can be coaxed low enough for me to hold a balance. Cheers.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

just awful C.S, better cards out there, dont apply!

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Worthless Company
Anonymous Cardholder

Avoid this company and any cards associated with it (including Carnival Mastercard).  First off, their rewards aren't worth it.  You may as well go with a Citi or Capital One because you'll get far better rewards.  Now on to the problem.  

Barclays informed me that they were closing my account due to inactivity.  I was fine with that since I had never used the card.  4 months after I shredded the card, I get a notice of 120 days past due.  I could not log in, or dispute anything in any way, all I could do is pay the account off.  A $3 charge turned into a $109 bill that I had never gotten notice of for 4 months.  They cannot confirm that they had ever sent me a bill, and the only negative item on my report is this card with a 120 past due.  The credit line shows $0 balance all the way through the history of the card, yet they claim it was used and I received statements after the notice of inactive account closure.

Do yourself a favor and find a different card to use.  

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
SCAM
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not apply with this company, its a scam and their representatives also trained to scam you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 18, 2017

Would you please elaborate on why it's a scam? I've had the card for nearly a year and have had no issues.

 
Mar 03, 2017
Don't waste your time, terrible card!
Anonymous Cardholder

Look for a better credit card company who takes pride in their customers! 

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

this company is the worst ever

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Credit card fraud
shellysherrie Cardholder

I had this card for 3 years without any problem. I always paid on time and in full monthly. Last month I recieved a letter asking to call their department. I looked online and noticed several groupon charges. I called and informed them of the fraud. Quickly they removed it from my account. However, next month the charges reappeared. I had to talk with three reps until one actually knew what they were talking about. The rep informed me they found the charges to be valid because I had a groupon account. They will not jeopardize their relations with groupon over this. I had to call and speak with groupon directly. I live in LA and the charges were done on the east coast. This card offered credit card fraud protection, but when I actually needed it they forgot about it. I canceled this card because if it happened again, this company will not protect me. This is why I can't be a cardholder. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Delay in Posting Available Credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had Barclays for several years, and all of the sudden, they holding the available credit.  I made a payment 2/23, it cleared my bank 2/24 and they are holding funds of $1,500 until March 7.  I have had an account with them for about five years, never been late, have not had any payments returned.  I will be closing this account next paycheck.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®