Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
147 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 22, 2014
Applied and was Accepted
Leila222 Cardholder

When I applied for this credit card my score was 563. I was approved for 500 credit card with no interest for a year. I made various payments at least twice a month(on time) and kept my my utilization 1/3 of the balance. 6 months without requesting an increase I was given an increase to 1500.00. My credit score is now 660. I have monitored my credit score on a bi-weekly basis. I recieved an increase on my macy's credit card as well. I began with a secured credit card with Bank of America for 300.00 and that was the beginning of my journey to repairing my credit.I have two accounts which are currently being reported and are about 5-6 years old.

I made sure that once I got approved for these cards I did not apply for anything else. Now I am recieveing pre-approved offers which I dont apply for because I dont want any hard pulls on my account. In less then a year I have managed to increase my credit score by using Credit Karma and reading articles on how to increase my credit. I am happy to say that I went from poor to fair in less than a year.

As for customer service I cant really comment on any of that because I have never had to call them. I pay my bill on line and thats it.

Good luck everyone I am proof that you can fix your credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 09, 2013
OK Card, But Whacks You With 3 Inquiries
bethanydave7982 Cardholder

My husband and I have had a joint card with them for about 9 months now. My score is around 685 and his is around 645. When we applied we used him as the main account holder and we were instantly approved with a credit line of $1300. About 6 months later we were granted a CLI to $2000. We had the first 6 months with 0%, so that was good. The problem is, is that they will whack you with 3 credit inquiries to Transunion just when you apply! Yes 3 inquiries to one Credit Bureau!!! Within 60 days of approval they pulled his credit report 2 additional times. I can't dispute it with Transunion because they do not allow inquiry disputes. Barclays claim they were doing an automatic credit line increase??? Even if they were, they should never be pulling hard inquries for that.  We never approved the additional inquiries nor asked for a credit increase. This seems really slimy. I don't think I'll be using them in the future. Beware of the 3 inquiries if wanting to apply!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 17, 2017
Customer serivice is inexperianced and t
polenta3 Cardholder

I'm a card member of 7 years and used this card as my primary card. However, I ran into a dispute with a merchant. It was a bait and switch insurance product from a web merchant in the amount of $143. I followed the proper procedures for filing a dispute. I heard from no one. I only received letters in the mail over 30 days later simply closing the case. I called in to disputes countless times and faxed in supporting evidence multiple times. Each time only a letter, no phone call as promised to explain the situation. Unfortunately, I've also let choice privileges know the situation as to why I am no longer using their card.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Bad service
Anonymous Cardholder

I guess Barclay might be the only bank that doesn't have auto payment. Because of that, I missed a payment since I set auto pay for all the other cards I have and I thought I did it for Barclay as well. However, after I missed my payment, no call from the bank, no notice. Customer service isn't willing to help either. Very bad customer service.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Could be better
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card, which my husband and I applied for jointly (his CK 690 my CK 540 ish) and it has been great.  We used the card to transfer balances for 0%.  Unfortunately, we had an emergency and over-used this card, which I don't recommend because of the intereset rate.  We are both on our way to better credit health and it it weren't for the interest rate, I would have nothing but great things to say about this card. 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
cards fine worker not
Anonymous Cardholder

There workers are no help

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
TRASH

Customer Service is terrible.  You call them and get transferred 1000 times and then the customer service reps cannot answer your questions.  Whatever you do, do not get this credit card!!!

more ...
May 31, 2017
POOR customer service
JJinIA Cardholder

I had this card for many years and it used to be my main card.  I had a problem with a horrible hotel stay (dirty sheets, plugged toilet at check in until check out, bugs) I disputed the charge, was denied, disputed again and was denied again.  I had to call and resend the same information repeatedly.  I never recievedf my final denial letter.  I was treated rudely by at least two customer service reps.  I stay in a hotel several times a month and never disputed a charge in over six years but Barclay would not back me.  I'll be canceling my account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 10, 2017

Why would give u ur money back when u had a bad experience with ur hotel not the card your comments don't make sense just saying

 
May 23, 2017
Customer service sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

Hope you never have a complaint. The customer service will never help you, and will not explain anything. 

more ...
May 18, 2017
Horrible customer service
bgangware Cardholder

Today my transaction was declined.  I called Barkleycard and was told that the reason stated was that my account was past due.  Customer Service checked the account and agreed the  account  was up to date and there was no past due amount.  They could not tell me what the problem was, when the problem would be fixed, and if I would be declined if I used the card again.  It was a totally inadequate responce.  This has been my main card for several years but I am changing to a new card.  It is no longer dependable.

more ...
May 12, 2017
The worst credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

This is one of the worst cards you can get!!!! Simple tasks seem to be hard work for customer service! Bill pay is the worst part of this process because they dont understand mistakes and cant reverse any transactions. i wish i would have never signed up with them. It was a big mistake and as soon i pay off my credit card i will ciut up my credit card!!!!

DONT DO IT!!!

more ...
May 05, 2017
Rip Off
Jimjr44 Cardholder

 I had this card for four years, never late payment. I was traveling and had a late payment and they took all my points. I had tens of thousands of points built up over four years. Never use the points. They will not give you back your points !

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard®