Wells Fargo Cash Wise Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 25.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Wells Fargo Cash Wise Visa® Card is a solid option for people who want to earn cash back on every purchase.

What to Like

The Wells Fargo Cash Wise® Visa offers 1.5% cash back on everyday purchases, and bonus cash back for purchases made with Android Pay™ or Apple Pay™ in the first twelve months. There’s no annual fee and a 0% intro APR for the first 12 months on both purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

There’s a 0% intro APR on balance transfers, but you’ll still have to pay a 3% introductory balance transfer fee during that intro period and a 5% fee afterwards. There’s also a 3% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 27, 2016
Wells Fargo is my card!
Horndogdave Cardholder

Didn't even get rating odds on CK but I still decided to apply! It took them a while to give me a decision like (48hrs)... let me start off by saying I filed BK like over 3 years ago now so I didn't get a quick answer as far as turn down so I didn't mind waiting.... They told me to call and I did 48hrs later and they said to my amazement that I was approve for 8500.00 I was shocked! Well not really cause 5 months ago I got approve for 10k with capitalone but Wells Fargo is the **** to approve me cause after all they are a well-known Institute. So I guest it help keeping your nose clean after BK no lates no going over board on ur credit is a big no no. I got about over 50k in credit cards and I know I'm only spent about 4500.00 of that.... also my credit scores are as follows TU-696 EQ-696 EX-725 good luck hope this helps! Dave

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 23, 2016
Unexplained late charge
rs122334 Cardholder

Just noticed a random late charge even though I always pay in advance and well above the minimum due. I called and they said they would take it off and not to be late again. I didn't want to argue my point but you could look at everyone of my statement and I've never paid less than 150 a month and never caried more than a 700 balance. Be wary!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
A joke
Carded Cardholder

The web app is pretty poor.  

The points redemption system is terrible (can't just redeem the exact amount you have in rewards).

The "Cash Reward" that they use to get new people to apply takes a very long time to apply as a reward. It should be within one billing cycle.

more ...
May 16, 2017
They had to verify but I was approved

I have a checking and savings account with WF so that's ultimately why I decided to apply for this. I had a bad feeling, however and it turns out they had to verify some stuff on their end. But an hour later I was approved with a $20k limit. My history: still working my way back from a low of 560 three years ago. Now my two CK scores are about 760 and I have two capital one cards with a total limit of $31,000 (prior to this card). My wife and I have a relatively high income so I'm sure that helped. Good luck! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 19, 2017

Out of curiosity, which capital one cards do you have, that give you a total of 31k?

 
May 08, 2017
Great so far
scuba11 Cardholder

Applied online on a Sunday evening. Instant approval 10k with 769 EX fico according to paperwork received. Received card 5 days later. Added to android pay to receive the additional cash back option when used. Was not able to verify so called customer service and lady was extremely helpful verifying card and was set up within 5 mins. Is my first experience with WF and is all good so far. Banking app easy to set up for online account viewing and payments. Thanks WF.

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
Good credit card but bad system
Scottmbuck Cardholder

Application process was super fast. The rest is trash to me. It says that you can earn $200 cash rewards bonus when you use your new card to make $1000 in purchases in the 3 months; however, here a catch, you have wait for three months to get that money. It's so suck to me. another stupid thing that the Cash redemption available in $20 increments from using ATM and $25 when you phone them. How stupid is it? My reward, I should redeem all if I want to. See, I have 234.84 cash reward, the maximum I can redeem is $225, so my 9.84 cash reward have to sit there until gain my way up to 20 or 25. Wells Fargo is a very big bank but it has an idiot system. Your system just fail a customer like me, you can keep that $9.84, screw you. I won't use your card again, unless your system change.

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
Good credit card but bad system
Scottmbuck Cardholder

Application process was super fast. The rest is trash to me. It says that you can earn $200 cash rewards bonus when you use your new card to make $1000 in purchases in the 3 months; however, here a catch, you have wait for three months to get that money. It's so suck to me. another stupid thing that the Cash redemption available in $20 increments from using ATM and $25 when you phone them. How stupid is it? My reward, I should redeem all if I want to. See, I have 234.84 cash reward, the maximum I can redeem is $225, so my 9.84 cash reward have to sit there until gain my way up to 20 or 25. Wells Fargo is a very big bank but it has an idiot system. Your system just fail a customer like me, you keep that $9.84, screw you. I won't use your card again, unless your system chan

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
$600 cell phone coverage is a great!
BAlert Cardholder

I applied for this card just to get the cell phone coverage.  Signup bonus, cash rewards were a plus.  CK indiated poor approval odds, but I think it is becuase of the requirement for an existing account w/WF for approval.  Easy solution - I opened a checking account (with additional bonus for 10 debit card uses), funded opening balance with another cash back card, then applied for the credit card.

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Ok at first
Mayelly1 Cardholder

Updated 2nd review: Firstly, took them almost 3 weeks for me to get their card after approval. When I received it and 'activated' it online, the first time I made an online payment, the card was declined. I had to call the customer service who told me that the card was not activated (when the Wells Fargo app shows that it was activated). No big deal. So I went on a shopping spree to hit my first $1k to get the  $150 cash bonus (which I did successfully). 

Once the payment was posted, I made the full payment right away. The balance showed as zero once my payment was cleared but the credit balance was not put back to my original credit limit. It had been 5 days after the payment was cleared and I decided to call. The customer service said that cos the amount that I paid off was so large that it would take 12-14 business days for the avalaible credit to go back up again. His answer was absurd to me and I told him that this is the first time a credit card company would hold a credit limit for that long after a payment was cleared. I then told him that this is not good for the customers who might have only one credit card as well as it seems like they are not encouraging their customers to use their card more frequently?

I have only had the card in my hands for 2 weeks and I have made 5 phone calls to them in total and I have never made any phone calls to my other credit card companies over issues like this. 

My verdict this time? Do not get this card as your main card. Got my $150 for spending over $1k. To the sock drawer it will go. You have disappointed me Wells Fargo. 

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Mayelly1 Cardholder

Got instant approval. Credit score was 680 across the board at that time. Loving the perk of $150 for $1k in 3 months and zero APR for 12 months. The card took 2.5 weeks to get to me which is the longest time taken for a credit card company. Had to call twice to check on the status of the credit card delivery but the CSRs were very friendly. They reported my new account and credit limit to the CB pretty fast which boosted my credit score significantly. 

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Excited for It
nbnicholas Cardholder

Instant approval. Excited to add to my card portfolio. The $150 for $1,000 is a nice perk too.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Free $150 for $1000 purchase
BudnSam09 Cardholder

Got approve for $10,000 but Im not stupid  spend $1000 to get the $150 and Im off to another card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2017

Bro your credit is going to get destroyed if you keep that up.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Wells Fargo Cash Wise Visa® Card