Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews
2.8 out of 5 stars
76 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 29.99%*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 30, 2019
Excellent for credit building!
Njnix Cardholder

Yes the interest rate is high. But buy something small and pay on time for a few months. I started at 700$ and a year later I’m at 2600$ limit.  They report to all 3 bureaus. Can’t complain.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 12, 2019
Don't use Fingerhut
coffeeaddictaumom1 Cardholder

I will NEVER use Fingerhut again! Worst company to go through to build your credit.  I was 2 days late and they reported it to my credit as 30 days. They also closed my account after I paid it off which also hurt my credit score. I called them to discuss why they reported my account wrong and the lady I talked to was very rude and wouldn't listen to what I was saying.  She transfered me to another person who hung up on me.  I will never use them again and I will tell everybody I know not to use them.  Very unprofessional! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 20, 2020
Overpriced and looks bad on report
rcuomo70 Cardholder

I guess if you wanna overpay for items and have a blah mark on your credit, this is the program for you. Better to just get a credit card and pay it monthly than to waste your money on this crappy place.

more ...
Feb 19, 2020
Great way to build credit
lonewolf627 Cardholder

I have had them for over a year now started at $200 now up to $800. Just keep up on payments and make more then the minimum. Prices are that of around what rent a center charges but you dont get hit with a higher price if you don't pay it off in a time frame. Also the shipping cost can be terrible

more ...
Feb 19, 2020
Great way to build credit
lonewolf627 Cardholder

Just like rent a center but cheaper in the long run, But the shipping can get you. I have had them over a year started off at $200 now uptown $800. Never had to deal with customer service so can't answer on that

more ...
Feb 12, 2020
Shipping is so high!
bamachoppers Cardholder

This card charges so much interest that it takes a long time to pay off. If you pay the balance off every month, then it would be ok. You'd do better applying for a Capital One credit card and shopping at Amazon or Ebay. We call the card fingerfu@k because you truly get screwed.

more ...
Jan 30, 2020
I don’t even want to give them one star.
Mishlor Cardholder

They closed my account eight months after I opened it due inactivity on the account.  I planned on using it when I move, but apparently there’s a time limit for Fingerhut.  Due to them closing my account, my credit score dropped too.

more ...
Jan 27, 2020
WAY OVER PRICED SHIPPING. SO USE A CODE.
redfizh Cardholder

Easy to get credit line but the prices with tax and shipping are insane!

I buy on clearance only and only when they have a free shipping code.. They use to give me increases if I used the card, now I have to spend something and they will match that increase only,, so I spend $10 I get $10 increase. So if I want a $1000 increase I have to spend a $1000!!!  Seems a ton unfair....I am outstanding customer and now get increases that only mach my spending? Again Insane..

Return a item and you lose the first costs off that super insane shipping they charge plus your return costs if they deem the return wasnt warrented!... I lost over $40 returning a $110 item.   So One more time, Insane!

So in short there are way too many 'INSANES' dealing with this company, so yes use it with free shipping code, clearance items only, pay it off once a month and yes your credit score will improve.. Remember tho any good habits will give you a score increase...

more ...
Jan 19, 2020
Helpful
Toyotatech353 Cardholder

I got this card with one thing in mind: building my credit. Application process was simple, approved quickly for $200. Knowing you must shop from their catalog with some items marked up and steep shipping, just started off buying one thing. The quality of the product was great. Paid more than minimum and always on time, paid it off. Was offered a temporary credit increase to $400 that would go back to original credit of $200 without making a new credit purchase. Was able to get my son the Nintendo Switch Lite he wanted for Christmas with this card. I had to utilize more credit than I wanted but used the "no payments until March" offer that came with the credit line increase catalog, and have been making payments anyways to get it paid down as quickly as possible. Use this card responsibly and there shouldn't be any issues. Payments post right away and they update the bureaus regularly.

more ...
Jan 18, 2020
FrankiePr80 Cardholder

People complain about items being overprized! Umm helloooo it is to fix credit and people with bad credit, what you expect? For items to be cheap with low interest? Fingerhut is great to build credit!! Yes you have to pay $30 deposit at first but the monthly payments are great overall

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 11, 2020

People like you is what makes everything wrong in life. Justice robbery because you need the credit? There are other ways to build your credit. Being an idiot is not the right way.

 
Jan 17, 2020
Dangerous and dishonest.
leighcooper3 Cardholder

I'm rebuilding my credit. I figured if I was careful, this could be a relatively harmless way to increase my credit score. I applied. The approval process took about two weeks; while waiting, I browsed the catalog online and added a few things to my cart, which you're allowed to do. I chose a Rachael Ray pots and pans set and a roaster pan, both of which I made sure were the same prices as normal retail. I'd bought Rachael Ray products in the past so I thought the quality would be what it was before; however, I visited a Kohl's not long after and happened to see the same set on the shelf and was very disappointed in how cheap it was. I went home and tried to empty my cart. Guess what? I couldn't do it. At this point, I still hadn't been approved yet.

I emailed customer service to ask to have my cart emptied. They emailed me back and requested that I call the fraud department. The FRAUD DEPARTMENT??

Very soon after that email I got another congratulating me: my credit application had been approved! I had $250 to spend! $180 of which was currently sitting in the shopping cart, no longer a whimsical shopping list but now a real order. 

I called customer service and asked to have the order canceled. The customer service representative assured me that the order was, indeed, canceled. But it certainly wasn't showing as canceled on my end. I asked her when it would clear up on my side of things. Sounding very hesitant and confused, she said, "in a few days." Not believing her at all, I waited "a few days." Then I called again. Again, I asked to cancel the order. Again, I was told the order was canceled. I asked how, if the order for $180 was still showing on my account on my computer, I could possibly order an additional $250 worth of merchandise? She said, "Oh, the order is pending your one-time fee of $30. Just pay that and the order will disappear and then you can make your next order."

I'm not stupid. If I pay $30 then the order I've been trying to cancel will fly through the gates like a wild animal let loose and I'll be stuck with $180 worth of crap I don't want. I'm so very glad I know better. I hope someone reads this before they fall for it themselves and get mired in frustration and needless debt. If you're trying to rebuild your credit, I can highly recommend Capital One. Their credit cards are quite easy to qualify for and they raise your credit limits regularly as long as you pay on time.  

more ...
Feb 05, 2020

100% with you it's all a scam ...

 
Feb 15, 2020

Hilarious! I loved your story.

 
Jan 05, 2020
Very bad customer service.
SP7654321 Cardholder

Missouri first order hi asked for a return authorization 8 months later I still have not got it and now and negative on my report don't do it these are poor customer service people and they don't care what the issue is once they've sent it to you. What I ordered is still brand new has a plastic pipe eggs on it that has not been broken there for you can tell it has not been used and they refused to send me a return authorization from day one don't do it you will regret it later

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 310
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank