Great for building your credit history††
See card detail
See card detail
Regular purchase APR

29.99%*


Annual fee

$0*



Overall card rating

3.9
164 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 08 2012
Excellent so far
Credit Karma Member

I recently received my Fingerhut card with a credit limit of $400.00 in July 2012. Since then I made two payments and Fingerhut increase my credit limit to $800.00, without me asking for one. I was surprised, and say thank you. My FICO score is around 600.


Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 21 2014
Hard credit hit, hard to place order
Credit Karma Member

I applied for this because it was recommended here by CK and other reviewers. Had a CK score of 615, immediately went down to 594. *Hard, hard hit*. Got approved for the Freshstart program, so I have to pre-pay a $30.00 deposit on a item minimum of $50.00. I tried to place an order on Fingerhut site and pay that thirty bucks. Would not take order due to their glitch, yet hit my bank account twice with holds that lasted almost a week. My credit union said Fingerhut must fax them a release, Fingerhut says credit union must contact them. So that's why hold went on for week. Called and tried to place order when those holds were finally released . Figured it might work better by phone than online. Customer service rep, who barely spoke English, told me the payment site was down for a while. Waited a few days, today went on their site to place order, to find a notice the entire site is down for a few days. Crud. I had planned to buy something just over then minimum $50.00 limit. Then occasionally buy something inexpensive to keep account active. This entire episode has been very disappointing, including a previous attempt to post my experiences here, as my original posting seemed to disappear. I will try, once again, to contact Fingerhut something next week when the site is supposely working. A two week pain and stretching towards three weeks. If I had to do this over again, I sure wouldn't bother with Fingerhut. I would suggest you don't either. But since I've already taken the credit hit, I will try for a while longer, and let you all know.


Additional ratings


All Reviews

81
40
12
7
24
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Aug 03 2020
Credit Karma Member


Jul 26 2020
DO NOT TRY
Credit Karma Member

I had Excellent approval odds and a 630 score, I still got denied and it hit my credit for 17 points. This was a hard hit for someone trying to build their credit i've worked hard to get my scores back up and this is not the help I need, or anyone else for the matter.


Jun 18 2020
Card dispute
Credit Karma Member

I recently had a credit card from this company and I decided not to do business with them anymore so I had to find a bill and it was not going to pay the bill because I had a problem and getting my product replaced I challenged it there was no response they forwarded my information to a credit agency I paid it in full now they're on my credit report as a charge off and it's really hurting my credit score


Jun 17 2020
Horrible Customer service
Credit Karma Member

Gave them permission to auto-debit min due each month, ordered 2 new items after that and assumed all would be well then I was hit with a missed payment on my Credit report even tho a payment was made in reported month. I guess I should have been all knowing and call in with a new payment arrangement. Would have been nice to get a call, email, or snail mail about the problem. And get your google translator ready when you call them about a problem.


Jun 05 2020
DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD !!!
Credit Karma Member

YOU WILL REGRET IT !!!!!!! PLEASE TAKE THIS WARNING SERIOUSLY.


Jun 05 2020
I was pre approved
Credit Karma Member

Declining a pre approved customer give insight about this card


May 20 2020
Horrible
Credit Karma Member

If you have really bad credit and this is your only chance of getting a credit I still wouldn’t get it. I rather pay 200 min deposit on another credit card. Everything is WAY over priced and they don’t have anything good! I would cancel it immediately but I don’t want it to affect me.


May 10 2020
The prices are higher than everybody else
Credit Karma Member

They double or triple their prices I wouldn’t buy anything from them do you think you’re paying $20 but when you add it up More than the price so it’s cheaper to go someplace else and buy it when you spend $50 instead of $150


May 09 2020
THANK YOU!!
Credit Karma Member

Very happy with this card, it has help me established good credit.


May 05 2020
Great but...
Credit Karma Member

Fingerhut itself is a great opportunity to start your credit and purchase quality items. However, I was young and fell behind on my payments. From this is received relentless calls, up to eight times a day from collectors (over $170.00).

1-10 of 164

See Approval Odds and pre-approved offers before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
Great for building your credit history††
See card detail
See card detail
Regular purchase APR

29.99%*


Annual fee

$0*




These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.