Discover it® Reviews

Discover it® Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 13, 2019
Perfect credit card company.
EmpWeaver Cardholder

1) I started with a secured card with a $500 dollar credit card limit. After, 8 months Discover increased to $2000 dollars and growing.

- The card does take a few weeks to arrive.

- However, the security deposit comes back quickly in the form of  a check.

- During the first few weeks I ask for additional perks provided though the other cards and recieve them.

2) Customer service is great.

3) Great card for any stage of the credit journey.

- In my opinion this should be the first keeper card.

4) You will only recieve 1 shot at life, and this card is a great fit for any person looking to increase there credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 29, 2019
Absolute trash in terms of respect to cu
karthiksai Cardholder

Its all good as long as you use their card frequently. The moment they sense that youre using other credit cards more (they do periodic credit report check) they ll cancel your card without notice.

So watch out. Amex and capital 1 and Chase are way better!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 13, 2019
Horrible Company!!!
kjebaker3 Cardholder

Horrible Company!! They closed my account on Dec 13th, right before Christmas. They stated that they need to make money and after 3 years of using the card, making on time payments and having a credit score of 705, they closed it because I paid it down and had not use it for 6 months. So unless you plan on constantly using this card and having a balance so they can make money from the interest, do not get this card! This will certainly cause my credit score to go way down and probably cause a ripple effect for the other credit cards I have. Thanks Discover for making my holidays so wonderful!

more ...
Dec 08, 2019
They Lowered My Available Credit
1175candsmi Cardholder

I have had my Discover Card for around two and a half years now. I have never been late and always pay more than the minimum payment. I started out with a $1000 credit limit and after about 6 months they lowered my credit limit to $900 when my balance was around $875. This was heartbreaking as I was trying to keep my credit score up and that didn't help. After that, I paid off the card and started using it again and just recently, on Thanksgiving Day when my balance was around $625 they reduced it again to $700. I can only believe that they were hoping I would go out shopping on Black Friday and they could hit me with additional fees. I locked and shredded the card and I can say after I pay it off this time I will not get another Discover Card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 13, 2019

If you do this with your other cards then you can expect the same behavior. Didnt anyone ever tell you? You don’t max out your limit especially if the balance is reported. People like that default all the time. You’re spending way too much. Other companies will do you the same way. STOP making out your cards and getting mad at them. You are a 🚩 flag to any lender when you do that. If you use that much credit then obviously you can’t afford it. Stop using so much credit.

 
Nov 30, 2019
FORCING ALL MEMBERS TO GIVE IRS INFO
MG2314 Cardholder

6 people in my household including myself have Discover, it is a great card but slowly started to send DocuSign's from Experian to all members to give out irs info. After the review they closed three accounts from my household. Not mine. They stated that they couldn't verify their identity!! Al of us have great credit and never had missed payments nor maxed out cards. Have no idea why they decided to do this. Worst experience I've ever had from all my credit cards. 

more ...
Nov 26, 2019
Better than all the rest!
Creditable11 Cardholder

To keep things short and sweet... THIS IS THE CARD! I have discover it card, Amex, and chase. Discover wins in every single category. High limits, great customer service, great app. Can't speak highly enough of this card!

more ...
Nov 22, 2019
Horrible service !!
Simplemember Cardholder

I expedite the application, shipping and activation service, but customer service is a disaster! My account has been blocked for no reason, I have been sending documents for two weeks to identify myself and be able to pay per day. I have called to allow me to at least pay on the corresponding date, but they cannot help me until the account is unlocked and I will have to pay yes or yes interest after the deadline. A FRAUD!!

more ...
Nov 13, 2019
**** card takes you money.
CalmZeus Cardholder

Card takes your money on days you dont approve and when you ask for a refund they bull**** you and dont give you your refund. Change my date back in September to 15th was not emailed about the date change not going through was not told about the date change you not going through got charged on the 11th when I don't get paid until the 15th so now I have to pay for to five days of overdraft fees and the 126 they took for me save yourself the hassle don't even bother getting the card because at the end of the day you're just going to want to curse these people out when they screw you over and refused to help you by giving you back your money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 13, 2019

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. So you want your money back because they took your money on the wrong day? And you believed they would give you the money back that YOU spent on their credit card 💳? So you charge their card using their money and now you’re upset and think it’s your 126 dollars? Is this real life?

 
Oct 20, 2019
Credit Line decreased w/o notifcation
CarolA89 Cardholder

I've had this card for awhile now and never had any late payments and yet my credit line was decreased which impacted my credit score. I messaged them and their robotic response to my concern was not expected. Stated a letter was mailed out and the reasonings behind the decrease of my credit line were incorrect. Unhappy that i'll have to now call and deal with this. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2019
High interest, small rewards
Cathi2019 Cardholder

I have always paid the card on time, kept my balances low and was never given a credit line increase in two years. I would not recommend this card. The interest rate is high and customer service representatives are not very helpful. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2019
Worst card I ever had
Khalilchiadmi Cardholder

This is by far the worst credit card ever . I had this credit card since 2017 and never been late once had a 1900 $ line of credit then one day I found out that it was reduced by 700$ and my new credit limit was 1200 $ I called and was told that during a review they determine they needed to reduce my limit and they didn’t care if they hurting your credit or not after a few months they increased it to 1700$ 

and today I was surprised again to see that they reduced it to 1000$ . This company is a joke . Now my usage on this credit card. Is 98% instead of 40% 

I decided to pay it off and close the account . I know it will hurt my credit but the way they treated me I cannot keep them . This is a trash credit card I don’t want trash in my wallet . I have 2 cards from chase and 1 from Bank of America they are the best . Never had any issue with them except with a Discover . I will keep writing this review over and over until everyone knows who they really are . 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Reviews

Discover it®