Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
78 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Great card.
chevycowboy19 Cardholder

I applied for this card in December. At the time I had a capitol 1 card worth a 2500 limit and a merrick bank card with 1500. Credit karma said my odds were poor. I called then and applied. I was instantly approved for 2500. I paid this card weekly. I asked for a CLI in March and was granted. It went up to 5500. I kept doing the same thing. I wanted a higher limit so I went online and asked for anther CLI. What do you know, approved. Now I'm up to 9500 and only had the card less than 4 months. I've worked hard rebuilding my credit. I appreciate capitol 1 for helping me get here, but they are stingy giving CLI. I would definitely recommend Discover It card. The great thing is they double points the fist year and I already have $105 saved up in Cashback bonus. I LOVE this card!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 31, 2015
Approved but removed no APR intro period
kylepintoski Cardholder

I was approved for a $800 dollar limit which is fine, I know a lot of companies like to start you off small and see how you do.  I love that they give you your Fico score for free each month, however it was really disappointing that they took away my no intro peroid upon applying.  The rewards are pretty good as well and they change the offers all the time which is also kind of cool.  I have a 653 TU and a 653 EQ, my fico score is 639.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2016
Truly a very good card for beginners!
SNBAD Cardholder

It is the lowest credit line limit card I will ever have, which is unfortunately my first credit card and still with same 1000$ credit limit since last 2+ years. I have always spent more than what the credit limit they gave me in a month- still they don't recognize their high spending[Valueble] customers, shame on u discover. In Addition to it, I have got couple of hard enquiries for nothing and got lowered my credit score by requesting credit line increase which was so shame. I have other cards of limit more than $12k+ still i needed to beg this discover. Thank you discover for your service.

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Good Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Good card and a very good company to deal with

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

easy process great card

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
Excellent Rewards Potential
NewWorldCom Cardholder

This was the first card I applied for a year ago that was not a secured card. I was initially approved for $1,500 with only a year of credit history on record, and a score of around 710. It offers great earnings potential throughout the year through their quarterly promotions. They will offer 5% cashback on up to $1,500 in purchases from places such as Amazon, home improvement stores, sometimes it's gas and restaurant purchases, etc.
All other purchases outside of their quarterly promotions remains at the standard 1%.

I have had this card for exactly one year now, and submitted a credit line increase and was approved for a significant amount instantly. I've never had any issues, their website is easy to use and transactions update quickly. I must say, after having been denied applications by other banks and cards before, and being given such a low credit line by my own personal bank with thousands and thousands in savings, Discover has really treated me nicely and fairly considering I was a new customer, no fuss about approvals or increases, based on my earnings and score. Although I have only come across one place so far that did not accept Discover, it has always been accepted everywhere else. I definitely believe everyone should have this card in their wallet.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
etacatinae11 Cardholder

Since my original review I had two more credit increases .... Had one in May for $500.00 increase and just got another this month in August for another $ 500.00 for a total of $4000.00 CL. However unlike my first increase had to apply for it online both times just 3 months apart. Just make all your payments on time and you should have no problem  getting a increase after just a few months . Compare this with some other credit card companies that wont even give you a increase after a year!. I've gotten other credit cards since my original review but this is still my go to card that use most often . And if you ever have to talk to a CS representative they talk clear English and have more knowledge  than your typical credit card company that outsource their CS to foreign countries .

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
Highest Credit Limit To Date!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a 691/655 credit score. 3 neg credit marks (even though I have paid them in full) I hadn't recieved an offer, but I'm trying to improve my number of accounts. I applied and got a $5,500 limit. I have been rebuilding my credit for 2 years. I'm very happy with this, as the largest line upto this point had been $1000. Hope this helps! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 12, 2016

How many other credit cards do you have and how much limit total? I have 7 cards with 7,900. I'd like to have another with some high credit limits. My score is 705TU 702EF. I have a best buy that I've had for 9 years an they refused to up in from 1,050 after 9 years. Granted it's my lowest APR but it's ridiculous that they wouldn't even increase it 500.00! Good luck in repairing. Cap really really helped me tremendously within my first year after divorce and major back surgery causing me to lose my job. Single parent at time bit they've increased it to 3k in 9 years.

 
May 13, 2016
So far, just great service
BAKDenver Cardholder

Just the facts, I applied for this card in November of 15 and I immediately got a credit line of 3500. I spent a lot for Christmas this year...and wound up getting a CLI out of the deal. After paying on the card and carrying it around with a CL of 4100, I decided to be risky and ask for a CLI. Without even looking at my credit I was given a 500 dollar CLI. I love it. It feels good to be a trusted valued cardholder. Thus far, Discover has been the best at making me feel this way. My FICO scores range from the high 720s-740.

Should you ever lose your card, you have the option to freeze/unfreeze the account and if you need a new one, a card will be overnighted to you. They care about their cardholders

more ...
Apr 28, 2016
Excellent... Better than imagine
etacatinae11 Cardholder

All my scores were in the low 700 hundreds and had only had 1 1/2 years of credit history when applied for this card mostly on a secure card and my chances of getting this card was only fair. To my surprise I was immediately accepted and was given a 2000 cl and after just 3 months they increase it to 3000 I was very surprised by that getting a increase so soon without even asking. The security features are very good on this card. Traveling to a town 55 miles and went to make a purchase in a Wawa and was immediately notified on my phone about it wanting to know if it was really me making the purchase. Their online app is really head & shoulders above the rest and easy to use.im glad I got this card and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to others.  This is now my go to card as I use it for most of my purchases.

more ...
Apr 26, 2016
Great Card!
paris54 Cardholder

CK said I had a poor chance of getting this card but decided to apply for it anyway. After 30 seconds of waiting I was approved with a CL of $2800 and I have a 693 transunion score and a 710 ex score. This card has a good rewards program and I have had good CS when I have called with a problem. This is now my primary card for Apple Pay and I don't even use my Debit card anymore for most purchases. I do pay off the full amount every month so I don't have a running balance.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

78 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i