Discover it® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 02, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

My first card with 1750$ ceredit line. Perfect card for beginners

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
EXCELLENT!!!
GRANNYGEORGIA Cardholder

My first credit card in years after ruining my credit when I was young. Have since built credit to 744. Was approved to 4500. Great customer service as I lost card and called. They got on the ball and I had a new.card the next day.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Just Approved
Jessy1119 Cardholder

Fico is 645 and I was just instantly approved for $2600

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
A Great Addition For Building Credit
SharkieClarkie Cardholder

Like everyone else here, I too had been building a stronger credit profile. 6 mos. ago I started off with a score of 552 and was fortunate enough to be approved for a Capital One Secured Mastercard with a 200 CL. Through responsible use and handling of my credit, I had seen rapid growth with my scores in a matter of 6 mos. My current vantage scores from CK is 662 for both TU and EQ, my Experian Fico is currently at 742. Thus, i figured it would be the perfect time to apply for my first unsecured credit card, and after thorough research I decided to pull the trigger with Discover and was instantly approved for a CL of $1800 to start and pulled my credit report from Equifax with a Fico score of 728. I was offered a 0% APR for 14 mos and 23.49% thereafter depending on my credit worthiness. I applied for my Discover card on March 9 and got it fairly quickly via first class mail. The packaging was neat and the card itself was a beautiful Garnet card. The application process was so easy and the account managers are so friendly and information during the application process as I decided to apply by phone rather than online in case I had any questions. Really lucky to have Discover as an addition to my long term cards and I am looking forward to the next few mos. of my credit journey. For those of you double guessing yourselves if you should apply for it or not, give it a go and you will not be sorry. I have a referal link below that gives you a $50 cashback for the first three mos. of use. Best of luck to everyone.

https://refer.discover.com/s/ronoj

more ...
Feb 12, 2017
Glad i was approved
BLADDHA Cardholder

So glad that i was approved for the Discover so i applied for Citi Simplicity, they denied me, well ok, i applied for Cap1 Plat, got me only $500 with 23%apr, whoa!!!, well ok thanks Cap1, and Discover got me 0apr for 14mnths with 4.5k cl, plus cash back etc...enough to get me going this year.....Fico 674 when Discover sent my first statement but CK said otherwise....Happy to be with Discover, i see you also have options for bank accounts and other loans...no need to go elsewhere

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Good Card
JAV2016 Cardholder

I recently got approved for the "Discover It - Cashback Match" version. I had actually applied (denied) for the card 2 weeks before being approved. Go figure! I received a preapproval mailer after being denied. I was still a bit bitter about the denial a couple weeks earlier. But I decided to give them another shot and pull the trigger on the app. Boy, am I glad I did!! I was approved for $4,200.

My stats at the time were:

Oldest credit line - 7 months

AAoA - 4 months

FICO Scores - EX 711 / TU 717 / EQ 711

CK Scores for me are way off. They were about 630-640

Utilization - 4%

Accounts - 6

Inquiries - 7 on each credit report

No BK or Derogs.

I had a $5k Walmart Store Card. Highest limit besides that was $750.

So far, everything has been good. They have a 14 month 0% interest rate. Good cashback rewards system.

Only cons I can think of are: The rewards do not post until the statement cuts. There is no online chat feature for account support.

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Not my kind of thing
kinger7 Cardholder

They offer the strangest "rewards" and point system - only applies to their limited partner in network vendors - like a bad health insurance plan. 

I paid off the balance and closed this worthless card. 

They are polite and nice but the structure of the offerings is ridiculous. 

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Discover does not let you down
Bassam2014 Cardholder

Discover is a good card to have that never let you down and has a good customer service. You can also get good benefits and rewards. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Great Card, Great Features!
cwinters90 Cardholder

I applied for this approximately 7 months ago and was instantly declined. I worked really hard on my credit since then, and raised my CK from 590's to 644. I recently saw an ad online for the card, and decided "why not", so I applied. To my surprise, I was instantly approved for $1,200. The interest rate is relatively high - 23%+, but I usually pay nearly the full balance monthly, trying to leave about 5-10% utilization. The rewards are pretty good, I like that there's the opportunity for 5% cashback that revolves 4 times throughout the year. Overall really pleased so far. 

more ...
Dec 31, 2016
Pleased!!
wcalderon Cardholder

I applied for this card with an Experian of 786 and got approved for $7,000 I have had the card since September 2016. I requested CLI and was denied they said it was too soon. But overall good pay back bonus

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

16 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i