Discover it® Reviews

Discover it® Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 13, 2019
Perfect credit card company.
EmpWeaver Cardholder

1) I started with a secured card with a $500 dollar credit card limit. After, 8 months Discover increased to $2000 dollars and growing.

- The card does take a few weeks to arrive.

- However, the security deposit comes back quickly in the form of  a check.

- During the first few weeks I ask for additional perks provided though the other cards and recieve them.

2) Customer service is great.

3) Great card for any stage of the credit journey.

- In my opinion this should be the first keeper card.

4) You will only recieve 1 shot at life, and this card is a great fit for any person looking to increase there credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 29, 2019
Absolute trash in terms of respect to cu
karthiksai Cardholder

Its all good as long as you use their card frequently. The moment they sense that youre using other credit cards more (they do periodic credit report check) they ll cancel your card without notice.

So watch out. Amex and capital 1 and Chase are way better!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 13, 2019
**** card takes you money.
CalmZeus Cardholder

Card takes your money on days you dont approve and when you ask for a refund they bull**** you and dont give you your refund. Change my date back in September to 15th was not emailed about the date change not going through was not told about the date change you not going through got charged on the 11th when I don't get paid until the 15th so now I have to pay for to five days of overdraft fees and the 126 they took for me save yourself the hassle don't even bother getting the card because at the end of the day you're just going to want to curse these people out when they screw you over and refused to help you by giving you back your money.

more ...
Oct 20, 2019
Credit Line decreased w/o notifcation
CarolA89 Cardholder

I've had this card for awhile now and never had any late payments and yet my credit line was decreased which impacted my credit score. I messaged them and their robotic response to my concern was not expected. Stated a letter was mailed out and the reasonings behind the decrease of my credit line were incorrect. Unhappy that i'll have to now call and deal with this. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2019
High interest, small rewards
Cathi2019 Cardholder

I have always paid the card on time, kept my balances low and was never given a credit line increase in two years. I would not recommend this card. The interest rate is high and customer service representatives are not very helpful. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2019
Worst card I ever had
Khalilchiadmi Cardholder

This is by far the worst credit card ever . I had this credit card since 2017 and never been late once had a 1900 $ line of credit then one day I found out that it was reduced by 700$ and my new credit limit was 1200 $ I called and was told that during a review they determine they needed to reduce my limit and they didn’t care if they hurting your credit or not after a few months they increased it to 1700$ 

and today I was surprised again to see that they reduced it to 1000$ . This company is a joke . Now my usage on this credit card. Is 98% instead of 40% 

I decided to pay it off and close the account . I know it will hurt my credit but the way they treated me I cannot keep them . This is a trash credit card I don’t want trash in my wallet . I have 2 cards from chase and 1 from Bank of America they are the best . Never had any issue with them except with a Discover . I will keep writing this review over and over until everyone knows who they really are . 

more ...
Oct 03, 2019
This card and company is the worst
bhriscoy808 Cardholder

Runaway! Seems like all new cards get hit up with a fraud alert everytime you use it.... and their CPS department always requesting irs reviews. That dept is the worst....
This card is not worth your time. Look elsewhere.

more ...
Oct 02, 2019
Great card so far
Katz70 Cardholder

I believe when I applied for this card my scores were around 690 to 710. They gave me a 10k limit and I use this card for everything, always making sure I pay the balance in full at the end of the month. I have read a lot of different comments about how they will lower your limit or even close your account, won’t lie I’m a little worried about that because the last thing I need is a black mark from them closing account. Only time will tell so I will keep on using it and paying it off ever month, hoping this does not happen to me. Reading these comments can sure scare a person but please keep in mind, there is ALWAYS 2 sides to a story 😉. Would I recommend it?! I can’t really say right now but will post later down the line.

more ...
Sep 24, 2019
They force you give Equifax access toIRS
Lrm8589 Cardholder

I loved this card.  I had it for three years and was always in good standing.  I had received increases and loved the cash back and the ability to get cash over at the grocery store.  Then after my last cli they send me a docusign request saying that I have to give Equifax IRS access to my tax transcripts!  Equifax who you can trust with a drop of private information I'm supposed to give access to my IRS files???!!  And since I refused they are closing my account!

more ...
Sep 10, 2019
GQZUELA Cardholder

DO NOT!!!! DO NOT!! GET THIS CREDI CARD..IS SUCKS COSTUMER SERVICES IS JUST  ** RRI  BLE.....NOBODY CAN HELP YOU...FOR ANY STUPID INFORMATION..BUT THEY ASK YOU EVEN YOUR MOTHER LAST DINNER .HORIBLE.

more ...
Sep 05, 2019
DO NOT Apply, DO NOT Have in your wallet
Thaitans Cardholder

I've had the IT card for 3 years, first limit was $1K, then got $2K, then back down to $1K, then eventually to $500. I was never late, paid off card on time, and they decide to close my account. It sounds like a consistent thing they do to many customers. AVOID! There's way better CCs out there...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Reviews

Discover it®