Discover it® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2017
Awesome card, very high CL
Easttexas1977 Cardholder

Sitting on a 755 now, 720 before the acceptance of this card. 14.5k instant approval. Awesome incentives and great looking card. Worth the application. 3.5k higher than my second highest cl

more ...
Dec 03, 2017
Perfect for new beginnings!!
Tallygirl04 Cardholder

Generous CL increases...$5000 to begin....pay off balances and never miss a payment.  Within 1 year doubled CL to $10,000.

A perfect relationship!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2017

If you dont mind me asking, what was your credit score when you applied for Discoer it card?

 
Dec 02, 2017
Limited Credit & Approved for $11,000.
Graysteele Cardholder

  Hello CK Peeps, 

I rarely apply for new credit but have recently seen my usage % over 50%. I usually would have never applied until I had paid down my account. But since I only have a few credit cards, ( Cap 1 high with 4500 CL), my usage was often high. I unlocked my files & used the Discover soft pull pre approval application. It gave me 3 pre approved cards, all nearly identical,  so I applied for the Discover IT. I had to provide proof of residence & a copy of my ssc. I was given a message & a phone no to call if i wanted to pursue a quicker decision. I called the # & spoke to a very polite young man, we chatted about the SEC (GA vs Auburn 2 was on at the time, never underestimate the power of being polite). He asked a few verification questions (fraud alert on my files), then placed me on hold. Three minutes later he came back & asked to send me a verification text & code since I use a cell no. I relayed the # & he placed me on hold again. A few seconds later he said I was approved for 11k. I have checked all 3 bureaus ( I subscribe to all 3) and I have yet to see which one they pulled from,  Albeit, it has only been about two hours.

I have an auto loan, no mortgage, 1 loc with bank, & 5 credit cards. 2 Inquires in 3 years. EQ 694 / EXP 658 / TU 646 (BS Med collection clipped me last month for 40 point! In dispute, only collection in my file). CK had my EQ at 694 & TU at 650. My base income is $79,500. 52yo.

After my divorce & job loss 10 years ago I essentially went dark on credit. Four years ago I started my 2nd garden. My first garden was huge, 180k in credit, but also heavy balances. I resolved this go around to be patient & frugal. Yeah I have small garden but it is looking & smelling great. Good luck to you all, & Merry Christmas!

PS Please note my 5 star rating for overall is speculative since I have yet to use it. GO DAWGS!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 09, 2017

Update: I just received my Card today, according to the documentation sent they pulled Equifax, I live in GA. The the scoring model they used showed 661, actual equifax at the time was 693. No inquiry as of yet on my report(s). Actual CL was a little higher than told, $11,500. Merry Christmas Everyone!

PS Disputed medical fell off TU, score jumped to 694. The law needs to be changed to protect
consumers from these unethical collection agencies that but suspect medical debt
with no documentation & then attempt to black mail you with a negative credit mark.
Sorry off subject, just venting!

 
Nov 30, 2017
EXCELENT Card
Anonymous Cardholder

One of the best card to have, very pleasant Custumer service  they work out for you, great experience so far!

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
My daily
Jfae Cardholder

Love this card. Applied after rebuilding and getting preapproval letter, was approved for 6,600 CL, scores around 680 at the time. bumped to 7,100 after 5 months of on time and large payments, CLI was requested by me. At the time capital one gave me a 2k SL, as did Amex

Love the 5% cash back and have gotten $80 so far, which they double at the end of the year. I have 0% Apr for 14 or 18 months, at 18% after that, which is definitely my best card both CL wise and Apr wise.

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
Great card and amazing app
Anonymous Cardholder

Best card I have.  

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Excellent card, great app.
kendocode Cardholder

Application process was painless. Have had the card about a year an a half, first credit limit raise I called in and was approved on the phone. 6 Months later, did it online and was approved again. They give special cashback rates each quarter for chosen merchants or categories, and they matched my cashback bonuses for the first year. This is my default daily use card, the only knock is that there are a few merchants that aren't hooked into their payment network. If not for that and needing to segregate business expenses, I would try to use this card for everything. I even moved my savings to Discover bank based on my experience with the company and have been pleased there as well.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Nice card, No annual fee

I applied for this card recently, Was approved after calling to verify a few questions.  Was approved with a $9,500 credit limit.  The welcome packet the card came in showed they pulled my Equifax score which was 674 (FICO).  No interest for the first year or so. 

more ...
Oct 17, 2017
Perfect Perks & Wonderful Interface
HelloAsher Cardholder

This card is so great, my favorite highlights:

- Cash Back on everything

- No Interest for the first year

- They match your cash back for the first year

- Benefits at certain stores / discounts

- Monthy Bonus Cash Back (this month is Amazon & Target - hellooooo!) 

- Customer Service is easy & understandable

- The website & app are so easy to use

- $50 Referral bonus - let me know if you want one! ;) 

I got a limit increase within my first few months

I could not reccomend this card more.

more ...
Oct 15, 2017
As close to perfection as you'll get
carcdr Cardholder

Easy to apply for, not difficult to get, great rewards, excellent mobile app, and top-notch customer service. The biggest flaw is their proprietary payment network, but I've run into maybe three merchants that don't accept Discover, so that isn't a big issue. This was my first credit card, and I hope to keep it for the rest of my life.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

26 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i