Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
67 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 31, 2016
Almost Choked On My Cheerios...
MIKE3354 Cardholder

So I've been working and rebuilding my credit from being an invincible teen. I'm now 26, but have been working on my credit for the past year. I'm now at 712 & 702 Credit Score. I have 9 Hard Inquiries total, but most were from getting a car recently. I make $33,000 Annual and owe $20,000 in student loans. I'm at the upper 20% in utilization with only one late payment after 5 years.
SO... I apply for the Discover-It card after multiple friends have told me that it is an awesome card. One of those friends owns a newer Million Dollar company and got approved for less than $1,000. Credit Karma said my odds were Very Good. I applied through the CK App and I almost Choked On My Cheerios when I saw that I got approved for $6,500. I've ignored at least 60 credit card offers and found the one I was waiting for. I wanted the American Express card, as everyone does, but this one was the clear cut better deal over the lower end AMEX cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08, 2016
DanielW70 Cardholder

The card has nothing special. I applied because just wanted to have it, I have a 799 FICO and 10% utilization rate, which I assume is great, my Amex and MasterCard have an APR of 13%, this card was approved immediately but they sent it with a 24 APR!!!!!! I used the balance transfer offer and now I'm done with it will go a drawer and stay there unless they give me the APR I deserve. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 07, 2017
Discover does not let you down
Bassam2014 Cardholder

Discover is a good card to have that never let you down and has a good customer service. You can also get good benefits and rewards. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Great Card, Great Features!
cwinters90 Cardholder

I applied for this approximately 7 months ago and was instantly declined. I worked really hard on my credit since then, and raised my CK from 590's to 644. I recently saw an ad online for the card, and decided "why not", so I applied. To my surprise, I was instantly approved for $1,200. The interest rate is relatively high - 23%+, but I usually pay nearly the full balance monthly, trying to leave about 5-10% utilization. The rewards are pretty good, I like that there's the opportunity for 5% cashback that revolves 4 times throughout the year. Overall really pleased so far. 

more ...
Dec 31, 2016
Pleased!!
wcalderon Cardholder

I applied for this card with an Experian of 786 and got approved for $7,000 I have had the card since September 2016. I requested CLI and was denied they said it was too soon. But overall good pay back bonus

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Truly a very good card for beginners!
SNBAD Cardholder

It is the lowest credit line limit card I will ever have, which is unfortunately my first credit card and still with same 1000$ credit limit since last 2+ years. I have always spent more than what the credit limit they gave me in a month- still they don't recognize their high spending[Valueble] customers, shame on u discover. In Addition to it, I have got couple of hard enquiries for nothing and got lowered my credit score by requesting credit line increase which was so shame. I have other cards of limit more than $12k+ still i needed to beg this discover. Thank you discover for your service.

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Good Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Good card and a very good company to deal with

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

easy process great card

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
Excellent Rewards Potential
NewWorldCom Cardholder

This was the first card I applied for a year ago that was not a secured card. I was initially approved for $1,500 with only a year of credit history on record, and a score of around 710. It offers great earnings potential throughout the year through their quarterly promotions. They will offer 5% cashback on up to $1,500 in purchases from places such as Amazon, home improvement stores, sometimes it's gas and restaurant purchases, etc.
All other purchases outside of their quarterly promotions remains at the standard 1%.

I have had this card for exactly one year now, and submitted a credit line increase and was approved for a significant amount instantly. I've never had any issues, their website is easy to use and transactions update quickly. I must say, after having been denied applications by other banks and cards before, and being given such a low credit line by my own personal bank with thousands and thousands in savings, Discover has really treated me nicely and fairly considering I was a new customer, no fuss about approvals or increases, based on my earnings and score. Although I have only come across one place so far that did not accept Discover, it has always been accepted everywhere else. I definitely believe everyone should have this card in their wallet.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
etacatinae11 Cardholder

Since my original review I had two more credit increases .... Had one in May for $500.00 increase and just got another this month in August for another $ 500.00 for a total of $4000.00 CL. However unlike my first increase had to apply for it online both times just 3 months apart. Just make all your payments on time and you should have no problem  getting a increase after just a few months . Compare this with some other credit card companies that wont even give you a increase after a year!. I've gotten other credit cards since my original review but this is still my go to card that use most often . And if you ever have to talk to a CS representative they talk clear English and have more knowledge  than your typical credit card company that outsource their CS to foreign countries .

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
Highest Credit Limit To Date!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a 691/655 credit score. 3 neg credit marks (even though I have paid them in full) I hadn't recieved an offer, but I'm trying to improve my number of accounts. I applied and got a $5,500 limit. I have been rebuilding my credit for 2 years. I'm very happy with this, as the largest line upto this point had been $1000. Hope this helps! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 12, 2016

How many other credit cards do you have and how much limit total? I have 7 cards with 7,900. I'd like to have another with some high credit limits. My score is 705TU 702EF. I have a best buy that I've had for 9 years an they refused to up in from 1,050 after 9 years. Granted it's my lowest APR but it's ridiculous that they wouldn't even increase it 500.00! Good luck in repairing. Cap really really helped me tremendously within my first year after divorce and major back surgery causing me to lose my job. Single parent at time bit they've increased it to 3k in 9 years.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

67 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i