Discover it® Reviews

Discover it® Reviews
2.2 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2019
Great card so far
Katz70 Cardholder

I believe when I applied for this card my scores were around 690 to 710. They gave me a 10k limit and I use this card for everything, always making sure I pay the balance in full at the end of the month. I have read a lot of different comments about how they will lower your limit or even close your account, won’t lie I’m a little worried about that because the last thing I need is a black mark from them closing account. Only time will tell so I will keep on using it and paying it off ever month, hoping this does not happen to me. Reading these comments can sure scare a person but please keep in mind, there is ALWAYS 2 sides to a story 😉. Would I recommend it?! I can’t really say right now but will post later down the line.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 30, 2019
FORCING ALL MEMBERS TO GIVE IRS INFO
MG2314 Cardholder

6 people in my household including myself have Discover, it is a great card but slowly started to send DocuSign's from Experian to all members to give out irs info. After the review they closed three accounts from my household. Not mine. They stated that they couldn't verify their identity!! Al of us have great credit and never had missed payments nor maxed out cards. Have no idea why they decided to do this. Worst experience I've ever had from all my credit cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 22, 2020
Horrible service canceled with no warnin
Trapper0428 Cardholder

Carried this card for years. Never one time late carried a zero balance with a $8800 Credit line....score well over 700. Never a late payment on my entire credit report. They closed on 2/16/2020 due to “inactivity “ and said they sent a letter. After reading reviews I believed they closed the acct due to the panic going on in the world and didn’t want anyone to run up a balance on them. Very crappy customer service and will NEVER EVER use Discover or any of their services ever again. RUN....do NOT apply!!

more ...
Feb 29, 2020
Balance Transfer
Ricardo1002 Cardholder

I recently was approved for the Discover it Card. They approved me for more credit than other creditors/banks have. What caught my attention was the balance transfer offer. I started my credit about 6 years ago. I started off with some Secured Cards with Capital One and Bank Of America. After building some credit and a great score over the years, now able to explore better and more interesting cards. Unlike the 6 to 12 month promotion that Synchrony Car Care Credit Card has -no interest if Totally paid in full by end of promo-The Discover Card does not require the transferred balanced to be paid in full by the 18 months. However, it is a wonderful deal if you are careful about adding too many new purchases until its over. So far I have only experienced great customer service. You never know, maybe I could end up like all the other horrible reviews on here. Hope not

more ...
Feb 29, 2020
Closed my account for 6 mths inactivity!
Tattoo217 Cardholder

I loved my Discover it card! I had it since 2014. They just now closed my account with no warning due to 6 months of inactivity! That's absurd! I tried messaging about it on the app and as soon as I said how unhappy I am about that, all they said was "you can reapply for a new one at this link" and then they blocked me from the messaging app! Ridiculous. Terrible. Never signing up for a discover card again. Not that they care.

more ...
Feb 25, 2020
0% APR - CONSUMER BEWARE!!!
KrBeale Cardholder

While Discover may seem to have a great balance transfer offer, once you transfer your balances, if you charge anything additional, with an interest rate, they do not allow you to allocate where your payments goand they only put the minimum payment to your promotion, giving you no control on what gets paid off first. Yes, there is a law about paying the highest interest first, however, when you have a time limit on a promotion, such as 0% APR, every other company (I have dealt with) allows you to make the allocation decision (as long as you’re aware your interest balance won’t be decreased) so that you can ensure you pay the promo off in time. And Discover’s T&C does not state, anywhere, that you aren’t entitled to specify how your payments are allocated.

more ...
Feb 25, 2020
0% APR - CONSUMER BEWARE!!!
KrBeale Cardholder

While Discover may seem to have a great balance transfer offer, once you transfer your balances, if you charge anything additional, with an interest rate, they do not allow you to allocate where your payments goand they only put the minimum payment to your promotion, giving you no control on what gets paid off first. Yes, there is a law about paying the highest interest first, however, when you have a time limit on a promotion, such as 0% APR, every other company (I have dealt with) allows you to make the allocation decision (as long as you’re aware your interest balance won’t be decreased) so that you can ensure you pay the promo off in time. And Discover’s T&C does not state, anywhere, that you aren’t entitled to specify how your payments are allocated.

more ...
Feb 21, 2020
Beware of This Credit Card
RMD1960 Cardholder

I had a Discover it Credit Card with a 8000 Limit and on 2/20/20 they Closed my Account due to inactivity...is that anyway to treat a Good Customer?  NO. Beware of these People.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 29, 2020

The same exact thing literally happened to me just now.

 
Jan 22, 2020
Great Experience
SJ92 Cardholder

I love my Discover It card. The revolving 5% cash back is great, though there is one quarter that doesn't benefit me at all (Uber/travel), but I still get 1% cash back on all purchases, which is better than some! I've never had an issue in the almost 12 months I've had it. Honestly, after reading about other credit cards, I really don't ever want a different one! I was approved for a decent line of credit when my score was just inside the "good" zone, and applying was a breeze.

more ...
Jan 08, 2020
Stupid!
PhantomdArgent Cardholder

Discover Card canceled my credit card with no explanation when I had no negative comments in my credit file, no overcharges, no late payments and a good rating. Not they're advertising to me to get their card? Why? You're just going to cancel it again and then advertise to me again. I can't handle this level of stupidity in my life.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 29, 2020

Literally the same exact thing just happened to me this morning. I'm so ****ed.

 
Jan 07, 2020
Shady
Hutch378 Cardholder

I had a credit limit of 3000. I paid off a pretty high balance in one payment. They lowered my CL to $700 immediately after

more ...
Dec 13, 2019
Horrible Company!!!
kjebaker3 Cardholder

Horrible Company!! They closed my account on Dec 13th, right before Christmas. They stated that they need to make money and after 3 years of using the card, making on time payments and having a credit score of 705, they closed it because I paid it down and had not use it for 6 months. So unless you plan on constantly using this card and having a balance so they can make money from the interest, do not get this card! This will certainly cause my credit score to go way down and probably cause a ripple effect for the other credit cards I have. Thanks Discover for making my holidays so wonderful!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 29, 2020

Same thing happened to me just now. Livid.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Reviews

Discover it®