Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
92 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable

Our Take

If you have good to excellent credit and are looking for attractive travel rewards, the Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card could be an appealing option.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1.25 miles on every purchase every day, as well as a 20,000 mile bonus after spending $1,000 in the first three months of card membership. Miles can be redeemed for airline tickets, hotel rooms and car rentals with no limit on the amount of miles earned, and no expiration date for the life of the account. The Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card also offers a 0% introductory APR on purchases for 12 months.

Look Out For

Late payments can result in a late penalty fee, so it’s important to stay on-time. Unredeemed rewards can also be lost if your card is closed.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 02, 2017
Approved for 10k
QCreditJourney Cardholder

I have been a Capital One Quicksilver cardholder for about 2 years now for which my CL is $7500. I wanted to add another card to my portfolio to lessen my utilization ratio and I also wanted a travelers mileage card. Credit Karma said I had "Very Good" odds so I said why not? They have never steered me wrong. I did not get an immediate approval. As a matter of fact I was told that my application "was under review". Most times that really translates to DENIED. I was bummed because I thought I was denied and I burned a hard pull which I've been trying to keep to a minimal & quite honestly I was a bit upset with Credit Karma because they are usually pretty good at gauging odds. I know their odd ratings are just an estimate. Then about 2 weeks later I receive a letter in the mail from Captial One. I was reluctant to open because I figured it was an official denial letter. But I did open it because I figure I wanted to know the reason why I was denied and request reconsideration. Especially because I have been an established client in good standing. Plus although my credit scores were not stellar and can use room to grow my scores were: Equifax= 686 & TU= 702. But to my surprise it was alerted of approval with a credit limit of 10k. My highest limit card to date! I just received my card about a week ago so I cannot yet review the reward and benefits. But I can say from what I read they have some stellar travel benefits. Especially the travel insurance which is fairly comprehensive which none of my other credit cards even come close. I am a person who thoroughly read all the disclosures. I can attest in the 2 years I've been a customer I have experienced excellent customer service Nd great rewards on my Quicksilver. I remember one time they suspected fraud on my account. They froze the card immediately, contacted me, and would pay me back hassle free for any unrecognized charges. They even offered to ship me a replacement card overnight FREE OF CHARGE. They contacted me before I had a chance to contact them. That means a lot because I am usually pretty hyper billigant about my account security being a IT Identity & access management professional. Some people.xomplain about their high fees. They can be expensive but the goal is not to linger a balance from month to month. But considering Capital One gave me a chance when no other company would I'm fine with it. Plus on my Quicksilver card I called one day and asked for a lower APR and they granted it right away from nearly 23% to 19%. I've have had nothing but a positive relationship and my credit scores have grown wonderfully. With responsible use you will see results. Once I actually use the cars I will submit another review. I plan to use this card for a trip to Paris for my son and myself. If you get Very good approval odds from Credit Karma I would give it a try and don't be discouraged if you do not receive an approval immediately.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2016
Miles perk is a scam
rem220 Cardholder

The card is fine for purchases, support, and online account features.  However, it is a complete scam that you earn "miles" -in the sense that traditional cards give you miles for mile.  

With this card you technicall earn one penny per mile (disguised as a mile).  When you get ready to use your 60,00 miles you really have a $600 credit to use towards an expensive priced flight or hotel.  With other cards you have a true 60K miles that allow you to book several domestic flights.  

Buyer be warned..., if you're planning a trip with that special someone, using all those miles you've accumilated, you're gonna be dissapointed. 

Same on you Alec Baldwin!  I'd rather a blackout date that allows me to plan a head and actually go somewhere.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 20, 2017
Best card I have ever had!
Bebomber Cardholder

The debt eraser is great, the rewards travel sight consistently has the cheapest rates.  Customer serves has been top notch, once when I was traveling and left my card at home and more recently dealing with a dispute.  By far the best customer service I have experienced with a credit card.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Difficult customer service at best.
tr250 Cardholder

I travel a fair amount, international and nationally.  These guys are a total pain, rejection of charges while traveling, EVEN when warned/informed prior to the travel.  Horrible at standing by you in any dispute with a merchant, do not expect them to be on your side in any shape, way or form.

I'll be getting a second card that will become my primary.  I'll keep this one only because it has been one I've had for an extended period.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Great addition to my line of available.
SJS76 Cardholder

I was a little apprehensive at first because I did not want a credit inquiry done. However, I knew I had over 700 at all three bureaus with credit usage under 8%. So after thinking about it I applied and was instantly approved and received a 30000.00 dollar limit. I have two other cards with Capitol one as well with 100% on-time payment history as with all other accounts. Not sure if that is the reason for the amazing credit line on the Venture card! Thank you Cap 1! 

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Good card
Jpy821 Cardholder

This was my first travel rewards card and there is nothing bad to say about it. Everyone here complains about the APR but it all comes down to you paying off your statement balance each month. My advice is use your card wisely. This card offers you great rewards that people should take advantage about. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
This card has been very useful thanks
Ohnome2 Cardholder

We all must be responsible to our usage of trust per credit card..what we put in we will get back if we respond with understanding our debts..Period ...Happy Credit Card Days for me ...I love responsibility of how to pay my debts With great credit.. Thanks Credit Karma you are My/ the Best ...

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
exellent card
kissanimimi9 Cardholder

The only credit card to use in Europe, no foreign transaction fees. On the way to Canada now, the only card I will take with me !

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Best card I had so far
Anonymous Cardholder

This card opens door 

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Misleading
fkubat9 Cardholder

And I expected nothing less.  not true miles.  That is why I stay with what I have.   I feel sorry for all the people out there that get hooked by this.   I would never do business with Captial One because of this.  Yes, I have a choice where I do my business.  This is not an honest company.   They should not call it miles, but rather money for expensive tickets.   WOW...  And so sad for Credit Karma being involved...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 21, 2017

You're mistaking this card for the venture miles reward card. Don't blame ck or C1 for your mistake.

 
Sep 06, 2017
Approved for 10k, hello bonus miles!
GodsWillgal Cardholder

I got approved a few months ago. I don't remember my credit score  exactly but it was between 630-650 with great approval odds from CK. I really didn't believe I would get approved because I tried a few years ago for a Chase rewards card and was denied. This is my first card with rewards. So, I'm not really sure how it compares with other rewards cards. Spend $1,000(earn rewards on every purchase) in the first three months and receive 20, 000 miles(or cash in for gift cards/items). I spoke with customer service and it's equilvalent to $200 in flights with any airline! My experience with customer service has been great!

more ...
Aug 20, 2017
kommando111 Cardholder

This is not an airline miles credit card.  Capital One calls their points "miles" which is totally misleading. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

92 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i