Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.49% - 22.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.49% - 22.49%* Variable

Our Take

If you have good to excellent credit and are looking for attractive travel rewards, the Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card could be an appealing option.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1.25 miles on every purchase every day, as well as a 20,000 mile bonus after spending $1,000 in the first three months of card membership. Miles can be redeemed for airline tickets, hotel rooms and car rentals with no limit on the amount of miles earned, and no expiration date. The Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card also offers a 0% introductory APR on purchases for 12 months.

Look Out For

Late payments can result in a late penalty fee, so it’s important to stay on-time. Unredeemed rewards can also be lost if your card is closed.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2017
Rebuilding my credit for the past year
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I'm writing this review to help out those that aren't sure whether they should apply or not and have questionable credit. I have a 660 TU and 637 Experian score. I also have a 626 FICO score at present. I have a Capitol One PS card, Capital One GM Card, and Capital One Platinum Card that I have made on-time payments for the past year. I was approved for the Venture Card and received a $2000 limit. I have 12 credit inquries and 1 & 2 derogatory marks on my TU and Experian reports.  Approval was about a minute online. Hope this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2016
Miles perk is a scam
rem220 Cardholder

The card is fine for purchases, support, and online account features.  However, it is a complete scam that you earn "miles" -in the sense that traditional cards give you miles for mile.  

With this card you technicall earn one penny per mile (disguised as a mile).  When you get ready to use your 60,00 miles you really have a $600 credit to use towards an expensive priced flight or hotel.  With other cards you have a true 60K miles that allow you to book several domestic flights.  

Buyer be warned..., if you're planning a trip with that special someone, using all those miles you've accumilated, you're gonna be dissapointed. 

Same on you Alec Baldwin!  I'd rather a blackout date that allows me to plan a head and actually go somewhere.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 27, 2017
I love Capital One
KSUAJS Cardholder

I wish I could put into words just how much I love Capital One. A little recap:

This time last year I had a 490 credit score. As of today I am 697. All thanks to Capital One. First started with the secured card 2 years ago which currently has a $700 limit (never increased after 6 months but thats ok!). I then applied for the QuickSilverOne card this time last year, which started at $1,000 and a year later is at $4500! This past Saturday Capital One Auto Financing approved me for a brand new car at 3% APR! I figured I was take the hit on my credit report so I might as well apply for the VentureOne. Now, many people who already have CO like to just upgrade from their current card, but I really like my QuickSilver card and didnt want to get rid of it. So I upgraded it to the regular QuickSilver card and applied for the VentureOne with a $2000 limit! About an hour ago I was denied for the Southwest credit card from Chase. Their loss, I would have been a loyal customer. Capital One saved the day! (I was so sad). It has been an incredible 2 year journey in rebuilding my credit but Capital One has been there every step of the way and rewards those who pay their bills on time! Just as a point of reference, Credit Karma has me at 670TU and 669EQ. FICO has me at 636.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Yes!!
NYKnicksTape Cardholder

To start declared BK in 2011, Today CK just updated me with 655 reported score from both, 40% utilization.  I currently have 2 cap 1 cards, quicksilver and platinum.  Listed my income as 51K.  As per credit karma my odds of getting this card was "very good."  I tried a CLI on both cards today, got approved for one and denied the other that did have high utilization but i went again and applied for this.  Got approved for $2,000.  Now I will have fun spending $1,000 in the first 3 months in order to get the 20,000 bonus miles.  My first "real" rewards card!  thanks cap1 and CK!

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Best of the Best
Anonymous Cardholder

3 years ago, I had the worst credit ever with Bankruptcy and Foreclosure, and Capital One was the only one that gave me credit. I started with $1000 and now my credit limit is 15k, using my card every day to purchase and/or pay everything. The miles are great for restaurants, and other stuff. I think is the Best Credit Card I have for sure in the last 20 years. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
2nd chances are always welcomes
kdub1990 Cardholder

I saw this credit card recommendation on my Credit Karma account it said I had a 'very good' chance at approval. I have a Transunion score of 657 and Equifax score of 669. I filled for Bankruptcy in 2015 and also have a total of 6 cars and a car loan. I also have two other credit cards with Cap One. One with a 1000.00 limit and the other with 850.00 limit. I was extremely hesitant about applying because I was denied a credit line increase but I did anyway knowing I had never exceeded my limit stayed under 10% utilization and made all payments on time. I was instantly approved for a 10,000 and am really excited about given a 2nd chance. I never thought I'd be approved for anything it was a breathe of fresh air.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017

What is your annual income?

 
Mar 22, 2017

Thanks! Reading your review gave me the drive to apply and I was approved!

 
Mar 22, 2017

Yay NYKnicks! That's wonderful.

 
Mar 09, 2017
A great reward for simply spending my $
Plumbitrite Cardholder

How can you NOT want to have a bonus like this for simply spending your own money. It's almost a better return % than my 401!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Approved!
Design80003 Cardholder

I have a few cards with cash back and needed a card with travel perks. Have a CapOne Yamaha with 10k limit. CK said I had a very good chance. Ex687, TU 664, EU 615. Instantly approved for 2k.  Have credit usage of 70% but never late and no derogatories.  Will be great to use for travel perks. 

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
WOW! For those in that are hesitant..
FA5 Cardholder

I have been "working" on fixing my credit for about a year and half now.. I didn't really know where to start -- I was once young and dumb and messed up pretty bad.. I am now 25. I took advice from some friends - they said Capital One was pretty easy to be approved for. I applied for the Cap One Platinum card, I was approved for a $300 CL. I wasn't excited about the credit limit, heck I was excited to have an opportunity.. I was set up on their 'Credit Program" after the 6th statement cut, I saw a CL increase to $500.. again, I was excited for the CL, I was excited for an opportunity.. fast forward a year later -- I was thinking about applying for their QS Rewards card, after looking into some reviews I saw some people called into Cap One and getting an "upgrade" without a credit check -- I tried this myself with success! I got my QS Rewards card and was happy -- Now I was to the point where I wanted more spending power.. I make aproxx $55K a year, so there are months where I pay my card off twice just to make more room for spending -- After debating with myself on either applying for a CL increase or this Venture One card I bit the bullet and applied for the Venture One card and happy to be approved for a 2K CL!

I see a lot of hate towards Capital One, but honestly I like them.. I cannot hate a company that gives me opportunities.. I have been a Cap One customer for aprox 1 year, 2 cards.

CK showed me @ 647 Trans / 633 Equi w/ my odds for approval "Good"

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Was not approved immediately
Thatphotochick Cardholder

Previously left feedback because I got a notice not approved right away. Turns out my application was being held for fraud alert... they called to verify it was really me applying. A few days later I recieved a $7500 limit.

I have 2 cards with Capitol one already, one 15 years old, both great standing. my credit karma scores are 660, 637 fico through Wells Fargo. Utilization 45% with 4 derogatory remarks from 6 years ago. 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Great card!
j619baby Cardholder

I was a little hesitant about applying for this card. I have a capital one quicksilver master card with a $3K limit. I had been denied 2 times for a CL increase. CK said my chances to get this card were good. I read a lot of reviews, and then I applied (I had a 660 TU and a 667 EX credit score). I got the dreaded message...we will contact you in 7-10 business days. I decided to call customer service about 4 days later just to see why they had to contact me. To my surprise I was approved with $5K CL. If your not approved right away don't worry! 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Good Deal
Phil2017 Cardholder

Good Rewards IF you have the Extreme Patience to Deal with their "Security Department" who doesnt seem capable of differentiating betwwen Hackers/Fraudsters and long time Clients.... Take a back up Card when you travel because they probably Hold or Freeze some unusual Transaction without Warning !!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 09, 2017

Wow, That is worrisome. How long did it take you to resolve it?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

82 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i