Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable

Our Take

If you have good to excellent credit and are looking for attractive travel rewards, the Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card could be an appealing option.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1.25 miles on every purchase every day, as well as a 20,000 mile bonus after spending $1,000 in the first three months of card membership. Miles can be redeemed for airline tickets, hotel rooms and car rentals with no limit on the amount of miles earned, and no expiration date for the life of the account. The Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card also offers a 0% introductory APR on purchases for 12 months.

Look Out For

Late payments can result in a late penalty fee, so it’s important to stay on-time. Unredeemed rewards can also be lost if your card is closed.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2017
Rebuilding my credit for the past year
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I'm writing this review to help out those that aren't sure whether they should apply or not and have questionable credit. I have a 660 TU and 637 Experian score. I also have a 626 FICO score at present. I have a Capitol One PS card, Capital One GM Card, and Capital One Platinum Card that I have made on-time payments for the past year. I was approved for the Venture Card and received a $2000 limit. I have 12 credit inquries and 1 & 2 derogatory marks on my TU and Experian reports.  Approval was about a minute online. Hope this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2013
Stay Away
Anonymous Cardholder

I'll start by saying I have had a Capital one card for at least 10 years. I've been happy using it overseas, but unhappy about the APR issue and finally challenged them overit several times this week.

I think you should be made aware that the 11.9-19.9% APR range is a scam.Thats the only way I can describe it, seeing as it doesn't appear to be possible to get it lowered below 19.9%.

When I called to ask why my APR was 19.9% even though my credit score is about 825, they told me it was because it was all they could offer me. No 'body' on the phone would even discuss the 11.9% or tell me what I had to doaside from having a good credit score to get it. I called several times over several days about the issue just to be thorough, and I got the same stonewalling each time.

I eventually had to hang up and call the 'new cards' line pretending to be a new customer wanting the card to be told anything about the APR. They told me that the APR was decided based on my credit. Surprise surprise!

So, the application line says its given based on my good credit, but the customer service line says I can't get it lowered from 19.9% even with my 825 credit score.

I just want to share my very disturbing personal experience with everyone. When I call each time, I get an overseas call office that sound like they just want to read off the screen. When I repeated my question clearly asking "what does it take to get a lower APR" the lady at the other end would just get confused and say they were giving me all they could give me. Total Stonewalling... and as I hope you are starting to pick up.. pathetic excuse for customer service.

I emailed them at my account on their website too and they said they couldn't help me but to call the number. I did that 3 times just to give them a chance. I have a witness who was even on one of the phone calls with me (who, after hearing their bizarre treatment of me as a customer, no longer wants to get one of their cards by the way!)

I think everyone should be fully aware of the TRUTH rather than the facade.

Thank you

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 17, 2017
Best Credit Card You Can Get My Opinion
Anonymous Cardholder

My scores are about 670. I have had this card about a year. I had  initially had a 6,000 credit limit but when I stayed around 400 they lowered the limit a few hundred which I didn't mind because I keep my upsurge low. I have gotten lots of reward miles. So fare about 32 dollars worth. I also have had attempts on my card and capitol one blocked those attempts. I almost bought a car where I would have paid 3000 down. But I decided not to buy and called capitol one. They canceled the transaction and got my money back for me. They, in my opinion, have been great. My score had risen about 15:/: which is great because I have student loans. If your thinking about getting this card get it! :)

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
The miles aren't actual miles

I was lured in by the miles, that I soon found out weren't actual miles, but points. To give you an example, I have 110,000 "miles" with Venture, through their travel redemption system that is enough to get two adult to Cancun in economy plus an additional $120... That's a TERRIBLE DEAL. At this point I am going to cash out for gift cards and get an AMEX.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017

I love Cap one they gave me a chance when no one else would I started rebuilding 1.5 years ago and I started with this cap one quicksilver one and cap one platinum now I have nearly 700 FICO so I combined the limit of both of these cards and ungraded to the quick silver without annual fee. It was easy I love the app, customer service and the flexibility. I also opened a capital one venture (I love this card) now I just have the quicksilver and venture. I'm very pleased with cap one 

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
CK Got This One Right (Very Good)
onehawaiian Cardholder

Just got approved for this card with CL of $7500, TU 739 at the time of applying. I'm pretty sure Capital One pulls from Transunion as the score they give me is VantageScore 3.0 TU.  CK said my approval odds were "Very Good" and I had been working on my credit for a while so I decided to give it a shot. Waiting on my card to come in. Pretty stoked with the nice credit limit!

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Great card to have I love capital one

Capital one gave me a chance when I started rebuilding almost 2 years ago . I had a platinum and a quicksilver one now I combined those two closed the platinum and upgraded to the quicksilver instead of quicksilver one. My scores aren't now fico 693 trans 683 equifax 644 Experian I expect them to raise in next 30 days I applied for the venture to accompany the quicksilver and was approved with these scores for 2k to start in happy 

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Surprised at the Credit Line
Anonymous Cardholder

I didn't get approved right away... It took about a week before I got a letter in the mail saying I was approved for $5K... Which really surprised me... I wanted this card for the rewards.

My CK Scores where 686 and 690

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Excellent
Anatom1964 Cardholder

I wanted this card so bad! Ck said my chance was good but I have been burned on that before. I went the safe route and called capital one to see if I had any offers. I was told that I had the Venture One offer. I already had a quicksilver one and a QS card. Asked if I could upgrade the QS1 (to get out the AF) and was told that I could. Upgrading has it's safety nets but it's disadvantages too. I can't get the bonus and have to keep the same CL for now $3500.00. But, I'm still completely satisfied. My TU 671, E 650 and fico is 670. Good luck!

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Capital One is AMAZING!
mstevens Cardholder

I really need to say this. Capital One is truly an AMAZING company! I have filed BK twice in my lifetime and both times Capital One was an unfortunate casualty of war. In both cases, Capital One gave me a chance. The first time, I let them down, but the second round, about 5 years ago, I have made them proud, and they have made me a very happy customer!  I started with a Platinum card with a $500 limit. Over time, it is now $9,000. It was converted into a QuickSilver MC. I obtained a QuickSilver Visa which is now at $7,000. Today, I applied for the VentureOne Rewards card. I was prequalified several times but have been trying to let some inquiries drop off. I wasn't surprised to be approved but I was suprised to be awarded a $10,000 credit limit!! I also have a Spark (Business Card) from Capital One with a $5,000 limit. 

As I pay off my accounts on time and in full, I fully benefit from the cash rewards perks. I don't know the exact amount, but I've earned probably $1500 in cash rewards. Lessons from the past learned, I cash those out occasionally and send them to my mortgage company as a principal-only payment which has knocked a few months (and a few thousand dollars) off of my payoff and payoff date.

I have had issues with merchants several times. Capital One has FLAWLESSLY handled each one of them and communicated well.  I cannot say enough good things about Capital One.  Truly, they are a great company and they gave me the chance others didn't... AND it wasn't one of those wild annual fee cards with monthly fees, etc. It's REAL.

I would like to close by saying I am one of THE most difficult customers that God ever created and I'm proud of that. I frequently go after companies that are negligent or otherwise horrible and I get results even if I have to resort to legal action. So when I compliment a company, you can be doggone assured there's no sugar coating any more than there would be in the opposite direction.  Capital One is on the good side and it would take a lot of negative effort on their part to lose their standing with me.  HATS OFF to the Capital One team!!

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Best.Card.Ever.
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had a Capital One credit card for years and absolutely loved everything about from the ease of using points to the customer service. A few years ago I got a Venture card and it's even better than the first card. Again, customer service is flawless and their system for redeeming points is amazing. If they were headquartered near me, I'd work for the company.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Awesome!
Anonymous Cardholder

Received this card with a 671 credit score and got a $10,000 credit limit!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 20, 2017

Were you approved immediately??

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

82 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i