Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
  • info This chart details the percent of cardholders whose current balance on this card falls within the given amount ranges.
  • info This chart displays the average current balance for all holders of this card whose current age falls within the given age ranges.
Credit Limit Utilized
  • info This chart details the percent of cardholders whose current credit limit utilization for this card falls within the given utilization ranges.
  • info This chart displays the average credit limit utilization for all holders of this card whose current credit score falls within the given score ranges.
  • info This chart displays the average credit limit utilization for all holders of this card whose current age falls within the given age ranges.
Sample Size: 1,465
Data Created: October 01, 2013

The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

89 Cardholder Reviews

Results 1-10 of 89Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 9   Previous | Next

All Reviews

Helpful to 43 out of 46 people

1.25 miles and no foreign transaction fees.  That's very solid.  Seems like the best option out there for international travelers, to my knowledge.

Not sure why people give a card one star just because they were declined.  Whether or not you are accepted has no bearing on the quality of the card.  I can't join Augusta National golf course, but that doesn't make it a one star course.

ryan's review was:    

  Feb 22, 2012 Reply

ryan(77, 700)

Top Contributor

Review by ryan

77 Contributions 700 People Helped

Top Contributor

Stay Away Helpful to 35 out of 38 people

I'll start by saying I have had a Capital one card for at least 10 years. I've been happy using it overseas, but unhappy about the APR issue and finally challenged them overit several times this week.

I think you should be made aware that the 11.9-19.9% APR range is a scam.Thats the only way I can describe it, seeing as it doesn't appear to be possible to get it lowered below 19.9%.

When I called to ask why my APR was 19.9% even though my credit score is about 825, they told me it was because it was all they could offer me. No 'body' on the phone would even discuss the 11.9% or tell me what I had to doaside from having a good credit score to get it. I called several times over several days about the issue just to be thorough, and I got the same stonewalling each time.

I eventually had to hang up and call the 'new cards' line pretending to be a new customer wanting the card to be told anything about the APR. They told me that the APR was decided based on my credit. Surprise surprise!

So, the application line says its given based on my good credit, but the customer service line says I can't get it lowered from 19.9% even with my 825 credit score.

I just want to share my very disturbing personal experience with everyone. When I call each time, I get an overseas call office that sound like they just want to read off the screen. When I repeated my question clearly asking "what does it take to get a lower APR" the lady at the other end would just get confused and say they were giving me all they could give me. Total Stonewalling... and as I hope you are starting to pick up.. pathetic excuse for customer service.

I emailed them at my account on their website too and they said they couldn't help me but to call the number. I did that 3 times just to give them a chance. I have a witness who was even on one of the phone calls with me (who, after hearing their bizarre treatment of me as a customer, no longer wants to get one of their cards by the way!)

I think everyone should be fully aware of the TRUTH rather than the facade.

Thank you

Aug 10, 2013 Reply
Helpful to 5 out of 5 people

Some background: I always pay on time, 11yr credit history, no bankruptcy, no high loans, 770 cs

I can attest to this being somewhat true. I'm not certain exactly what they look for in your credit history to determine your APR but it's strange. I say that because when I received this card back in 2011 I got approved with a 13.9% APR with a 5k credit limit and I only had a 756 cs at the time and for the first 15 months no interest, so I used it during that period.

Earlier this year I got the Venture cause I liked this card but wanted even more rewards so I stopped using this VentureOne but when I went back about a month ago to check out the interest it was at 19.9% which was very odd since before it was 13.9%.

It's still a great card imo with great benefits and I'd still recommend it to anyone for the travel, international, day-to-day, rewards, and benefits but find it rather odd that the APR increased after the intro no-interest period ended, so keep an eye on that.

This hasn't happened with the Venture card so I'm not sure why it happened with this VentureOne. Hope this helps. Happy Financing, and keep spreading that financial love!

dgloverpro's reply was:    

  Nov 08, 2013

dgloverpro(6, 12)

Review by dgloverpro

6 Contributions 12 People Helped

So is this any different than any other credit card?

dadams1000's reply was:    

  Feb 18, 2014

dadams1000(1, 0)

Review by dadams1000

1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Helpful to 4 out of 4 people

Approved OTP w/ CK score of 757, alotted a $7,500 CL. Simple and painless, just how I like it. This beats my other CO card that had ZERO rewards, but I was being charged a $5/mo. fee for a whole lotta nothin.

Can't wait to start earning some travel rewards!!

Moredib's review was:    

  Aug 31, 2012 Reply

Moredib(1, 4)

Review by Moredib

1 Contributions 4 People Helped

Helpful to 4 out of 4 people

I applied for this card on 05/16 and got the dreaded 7-10 day wait while we review your application.

Some background on me, I came out of college with a terrible credit score and began rebuilding my credit in 2008. Over time i built my score from 608 TU (lowest) to 736 (EXP) highest.

Naturally, I am very impatient and had to call Cap One to see what the hold up was. I currently hold a Cap One Plat card ($2500 CL) and I have also ReFi'd my auto loan through them as well. Two days later, after calling, I was told that my account has been approved and that they were in the process of building it. I was approved for a CL with a range from $5k - 11k and the details couldnt be dialed in until the account itself was created.

I feel that this card offers a tremendous value at 1.25 miles / 1$ with no AF attached. The 10,000 bonus miles are okay but nothing to go crazy about. I will be funneling all of my daily purchases through this card and paying it off at the end of every month. The Venture card is a better version of this one that justifies itself (AF) once you spend about 7,000 annually on the card. I will use this one for a year and see how much i can spend, if its more i will ask for an upgrade next year in hopes of avoiding another HP from Cap One. Great card for people without excellent credit IMO.

Yogi969's review was:    

  May 21, 2012 Reply

Yogi969(6, 625)

Review by Yogi969

6 Contributions 625 People Helped

Helpful to 4 out of 4 people

My score is 676, but it appears that I was just approved. They emailed me a very short email with the following:

Your new credit card is on its way

Re: Account ending in ****

XXXXXXX XXXXXX,

Your new credit card was mailed yesterday, and you should receive it within 7 business days.

Thanks for being a Capital One® customer.

cdshelby's review was:    

  May 26, 2010 Reply

cdshelby(2, 4)

Review by cdshelby

2 Contributions 4 People Helped

Helpful to 3 out of 3 people

 Just got one: credit score 724, $5000 limit.  Seems to be a decent value with the lack of fees and expiration dates.  I'll take a little higher APR for those perks, especially if I use it to buy things that I already have the cash for: a good way to save a little dough on travel.

oliphace's review was:    

  Nov 23, 2010 Reply

oliphace(2, 3)

Review by oliphace

2 Contributions 3 People Helped

Hiding Transaction Details Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

Several times now I have noticed excess debits in my account and Capital One will not give you a transaction history in anything other than a PDF making it impossible to check yourself without a lot of manual data entry. Fortunately I track my finances with a separate system. I have noticed excess debits of over 1k the second time this issue occurred. The first time it was $700+ and they cut me a check after I brought this issue to them. This time I have had to approach them on several different occasions and dealt with incompetent and patronizing account reps. I still do not have this issue resolved and will be switching to another provider ASAP. 

Mar 12, 2014 Reply
Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

Question about the card: i established my credit history two years ago, with 4 current credit cards with a combined credit limit of $10,700, and a student loan with a balance of about $12,000. my CK score is 734, however my EQ is 759, EX is 746, and TU estimated by EQ as 722. on the website, it says that excellent credit requires 3 years or more of credit history. did anyone get approved for this card with flawless history but had less than 3 years of credit history? thanks!

Daybreakgone's review was:    

  May 14, 2012 Reply

Daybreakgone(65, 112)

Top Contributor

Review by Daybreakgone

65 Contributions 112 People Helped

Top Contributor

Not me. They denied me saying I dont have a long enough credit history (even though I have zero bad remarks, no late payments and a CR score of 730 +). I will just wait 3 years to see if I can re-apply.

rupayan's reply was:    

  Aug 08, 2012

rupayan(3, 8)

Review by rupayan

3 Contributions 8 People Helped

Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

666 (yikes! the devil) score, reported $19k investment (my 401k), $48k income. 

They just approved me for $3,000 with a 19.9% variable APR.

4 stars because I havent even received it yet!  :-)

hardlikealgebra's review was:    

  Sep 16, 2011 Reply

hardlikealgebra(1, 2)

Review by hardlikealgebra

1 Contributions 2 People Helped

Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

my ck score when i apped for this card was 744. instantly denied. but for understandable reasons.

reasons for denial; this card is inq sensitive and requires less than four recent (1 year) inqs on each beaurau. thats a max of 3 inqs allowed per beaurau. i passed experian, but did not pass transunion or  equifax. i will reapply in november if my debts are very low. this gets four stars. the card is most sweet. but customer service is subpar.

scottwagnon's review was:    

  Mar 22, 2011 Reply

scottwagnon(16, 22)

Top Contributor

Review by scottwagnon

16 Contributions 22 People Helped

Top Contributor

Results 1-10 of 89Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 9   Previous | Next

Add Your Review Of Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

1 State your experience with this product:

2 Rate this product from 1 to 5 stars:

Hover over your selected number of stars and click your mouse. (1 Star = Lowest, 5 Stars = Highest)

Overall Rating:

Required

Optional Ratings:

Application Process:
No Opinion
Customer Service:
No Opinion

3 Write your review:


Choose Your Posting Identity

Profile Image

Anonymous

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not
    Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 11.9% – 19.9%* Variable
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% until April 2015
  • Purchase Regular APR 11.9% – 19.9%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
Learn More Visit Application Page

Cardholder Rating Distribution (89)

  • 36%
  • 25%
  • 10%
  • 1%
  • 28%

Top Similar Cards

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, prepaid cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Credit Card Lab also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

Balance
Transfer
Purchase
Intro APR
Regular
APR
until April 2015  

N/A

0%

11.9% – 19.9%*

Variable