Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2018
Middle of the Road for Travel Cards
Mytq Cardholder

I have had this card for just over a year. I have not had any bad experiences with it. I did have one issue though, I booked a "Condo" at the beach. I made the mistake of "assuming" this would be a travel purchase. I tried to redeem miles for it, however it did not show up in my redeemable purchases. I contacted Capital One customer service via the chat feature. After some haggling, I was told my issue would be forwared to another department. What do you know, they went ahead and redeemed it.   The moral of the story though is, check carefully before booking to make sure your purchase will be categorized as a travel purchase. I suggest using their new  www.hotels.com/venture booking site, or prior to making a purchase giving customer service a chat message and confirm your purchase will be properly classified. Remember to get a transcript of the chat.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 20, 2017
Deceiving Crooks!
BlueCollarConsumer Cardholder

BEWARE - their app provides a "last statement balance" that if paid in full, will NOT avoid interest charges.

I paid the "last statement balance" of $5,133 on November 25, and on December 12 they charged me $39 for a "daily spending amount" for all through November even though I had paid November in full.

The only amount I left on the account was a $20 restaurant charge that isn't due until Jan 9. According to them, because I left those open $20 (that isn't due until Jan 9), that gives them the power to charge me full interest not only in those $20, but for all of November according to my "daily spending amount."

So, essentially, my $20 restaurant charge ended up costing me $60 total!

I spoke to a supervisor named Nicole and she played the "too bad, so sad" game and was not willing to assist. When I told her that I feel like I'm getting charged interest for things I've already paid off, she didn't care. She didn't offer any sort of professional customer service that a mega trillion dollar corporation should have. She kept cutting me off and repeating herself instead of listening to her consumer, her customer. Then again, it's because they are a mega corporation that they can afford to lose customers and not lose sleep over it.

I expressed to her politely that I would no longer be using this credit card because I feel robbed as a consumer, and she couldn't have cared less. Her attitude was, "oh well."

I will continue using this card only enough to keep it active and not have them close the account, as that would damage my credit score, but to anyone else thinking about using capital one, please heed my warning - BEWARE THEIR DECEITFUL FINANCE CHARGING METHOD.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 24, 2018
Decent, not great rewards.

The reward rate isn't the best but it's not terrible either. The customer service I've received has always been good through Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Oct 22, 2018
easy using card...
37lefttune Cardholder

U get fast service and they take care of u they did me may times ......no annual fee  and easy use of the mile credit!!!!!!

more ...
Oct 22, 2018
Great Card
Jen7654 Cardholder

This has been a great card- no troubles and great customer service

more ...
Oct 20, 2018
CK TU 702, EQ 701. Instantly approved.
Andrew2164 Cardholder

I always like to gauge whether or not I will be approved and for how much when I decide to apply for a credit card so I figured this would help everyone looking into this card. My credit scores are low 700s with no derogatory remarks or late payments and my age of credit history is just under 4 years. I had 15% credit utilization at time of application. I applied through the CK app and was instantly approved for a $10,000 CL. I use this card wherever I go, and the miles bonus in the beginning was a huge perk and actually funded a trip I took last year. I haven’t had to deal with customer service yet so I can’t give a review on that, but I look at it as a good thing that I’ve never need customer service. I have booked multiple trips using the Capital One app and that was an extremely smooth process with no hiccups. Discounts at Capital One venues as well. Overall a great card if you already have a credit card and have established your credit and are in need of a second one. 

more ...
Oct 16, 2018
Great for travel
Amk512 Cardholder

If you don’t make travel purchases often.... this card may not be for you. However they are great with helping people build their credit profile. Be responsible and you will be rewarded.

more ...
Sep 14, 2018
Best rewards program out there
Fluffytigerb Cardholder

This card is fantastic if you travel a lot. I travel six or seven times a year and haven't paid for a single hotel room or rental car yet. I have a ton of points on it because I use the card for every transaction so I use them to redeem my travel purchases which makes this card great. If I didn't travel so much though the card really wouldn't be this useful and would just be another standard card. 

more ...
Aug 14, 2018
The points are fantastic!
Ryanwade1234 Cardholder

I have both Amex and venture and BY FAR VENTURE IS BETTER!! I’ve had my Amex for 2 1/2 years and paid in full each month and they will not give a credit increase. After just 6 months Venture went from 3k to 10k and I didn’t even have to ask.

My venture points picked up the slack on my last flight that was only half covered by Amex plus sent me a $100 gift card (with less points than on my other card). Amex will soon be closing before my annual fee is due. Plus EVERYONE TAKES VISA

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 15, 2018

What was your credit score at the time ? Also what’s your annual income.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card