Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
89 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2017
Rebuilding my credit for the past year
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I'm writing this review to help out those that aren't sure whether they should apply or not and have questionable credit. I have a 660 TU and 637 Experian score. I also have a 626 FICO score at present. I have a Capitol One PS card, Capital One GM Card, and Capital One Platinum Card that I have made on-time payments for the past year. I was approved for the Venture Card and received a $2000 limit. I have 12 credit inquries and 1 & 2 derogatory marks on my TU and Experian reports.  Approval was about a minute online. Hope this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2016
Miles perk is a scam
rem220 Cardholder

The card is fine for purchases, support, and online account features.  However, it is a complete scam that you earn "miles" -in the sense that traditional cards give you miles for mile.  

With this card you technicall earn one penny per mile (disguised as a mile).  When you get ready to use your 60,00 miles you really have a $600 credit to use towards an expensive priced flight or hotel.  With other cards you have a true 60K miles that allow you to book several domestic flights.  

Buyer be warned..., if you're planning a trip with that special someone, using all those miles you've accumilated, you're gonna be dissapointed. 

Same on you Alec Baldwin!  I'd rather a blackout date that allows me to plan a head and actually go somewhere.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 17, 2017
DSH65 Cardholder

I decided to apply for this card being attracted by 0 foreign transaction fee and 0 annual service fee. But since I applied I faced several complications I would like to share. First you can  apply only online and they just say “ thank you for your submission “ but you never know instantly were you approved or not and what is your credit limit. In about a week after submitting the application I got a letter saying I was approved and my new credit card will show up shortly. Well, it showed one more week after. Once I received it I followed the instructions to activate it, which btw more complicated than for example AMEX or Chase. But I followed the activation instructions, created new account and got “congratulations” message. The next day I took my new card and tried to pay using it and my transaction was declined. I paid from my Chase card ok and then called Capital One customer service to find out what is going on. Customer service representative said that they need additional information and asked to send them a copy of my drivers license. And she said that the process will take up to 72 hours to re-activate my card. I’m still waiting - so far this card is still “free peace of junk”. Maybe in the future it will work ok, but so far lesson learned - you have to have another card ready, especially if you travel abroad. I travel a lot and I gonna test this card abroad during my next trip. So far I give only 2 stars, only because of 0 foreign transaction fee. After I check this card abroad I’ll update this review, maybe add more stars or reduce their number to 1 depending on my experience with this card. So far I’m not happy with it.

more ...
Nov 02, 2017
Capital One Assists Scammers
PU1967 Cardholder

We were scammed -and have  documentation to prove that.

Capital ignored everything and refuses to remove a $300 charge. 

DO NOT use this card if you want the "Zero Liabilty" visa claims you will get. 

My last review has not been posted. Will this one be posted???

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card! Good travel miles.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Usually Start with High CL

If you already have a relationship with Cap one, ie car financing other cards, they tend to start you out a fairly high credit limits which is nice.  My cedit history is fairly young, roughly 4.5 years, one card with cap one, had financed a car through them 5 years, paid off in 18months.. scrores on here (CK) 730-744) intial limit 15k. but who knows, I have found with credit, it's very mecurial in nature, I have seen people with scores a hundred points lower get approved for roughly the same amount, all in all I would say it's a great option if you're looking for an intial good CL.  oh after the first year of 0 interest my rate will be 16.9 percent.. I've seen a lot of people on this site gripe about 15 percent.. maybe I'm living in a different realm, but to me for a credit card, 16.9 is great.. Some companies now a days, even for people with great creidt are in the low 20s. so who knows.. From my experience, if you do business with cap one, and you stay current, and responsible, they will treat you very well. take note when appyling, they have several versions of each car, and it's confusing, because with their quick silver cards, the (one) variety is aimed at rebuilders and the regular qs for good to excellent credit.. their venture cards, it seems to be reversed, the regular Venuture has a anual fee (59) dollars, and the average approval Credit Scores are around 690, whears the Vone has no anual fee and average approval is 720.. Be sure to do a little more research on your own outside of what CK recommends, it's a good starting point, but if you're really concerned about getting approved or not and adding an inq to your report, find out a little more info.. read the credit pull database, to see what cards generally pull from what database, ie they usually have a prefernce.. cap one generally pulls from 2 or in some cases 3.. If you're looking to get only one pull, you may want to look elsewhere.  Good Luck all! 

more ...
Sep 20, 2017
Best card I have ever had!
Bebomber Cardholder

The debt eraser is great, the rewards travel sight consistently has the cheapest rates.  Customer serves has been top notch, once when I was traveling and left my card at home and more recently dealing with a dispute.  By far the best customer service I have experienced with a credit card.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Difficult customer service at best.
tr250 Cardholder

I travel a fair amount, international and nationally.  These guys are a total pain, rejection of charges while traveling, EVEN when warned/informed prior to the travel.  Horrible at standing by you in any dispute with a merchant, do not expect them to be on your side in any shape, way or form.

I'll be getting a second card that will become my primary.  I'll keep this one only because it has been one I've had for an extended period.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Great addition to my line of available.
SJS76 Cardholder

I was a little apprehensive at first because I did not want a credit inquiry done. However, I knew I had over 700 at all three bureaus with credit usage under 8%. So after thinking about it I applied and was instantly approved and received a 30000.00 dollar limit. I have two other cards with Capitol one as well with 100% on-time payment history as with all other accounts. Not sure if that is the reason for the amazing credit line on the Venture card! Thank you Cap 1! 

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Good card
Jpy821 Cardholder

This was my first travel rewards card and there is nothing bad to say about it. Everyone here complains about the APR but it all comes down to you paying off your statement balance each month. My advice is use your card wisely. This card offers you great rewards that people should take advantage about. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
This card has been very useful thanks
Ohnome2 Cardholder

We all must be responsible to our usage of trust per credit card..what we put in we will get back if we respond with understanding our debts..Period ...Happy Credit Card Days for me ...I love responsibility of how to pay my debts With great credit.. Thanks Credit Karma you are My/ the Best ...

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
exellent card
kissanimimi9 Cardholder

The only credit card to use in Europe, no foreign transaction fees. On the way to Canada now, the only card I will take with me !

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

89 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i