Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.74% - 22.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.74% - 22.74%* Variable

Our Take

If you have good to excellent credit and are looking for attractive travel rewards, the Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card could be an appealing option.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1.25 miles on every purchase every day, as well as a 20,000 mile bonus after spending $1,000 in the first three months of card membership. Miles can be redeemed for airline tickets, hotel rooms and car rentals with no limit on the amount of miles earned, and no expiration date for the life of the account. The Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card also offers a 0% introductory APR on purchases for 12 months.

Look Out For

Late payments can result in a late penalty fee, so it’s important to stay on-time. Unredeemed rewards can also be lost if your card is closed.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2017
Rebuilding my credit for the past year
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I'm writing this review to help out those that aren't sure whether they should apply or not and have questionable credit. I have a 660 TU and 637 Experian score. I also have a 626 FICO score at present. I have a Capitol One PS card, Capital One GM Card, and Capital One Platinum Card that I have made on-time payments for the past year. I was approved for the Venture Card and received a $2000 limit. I have 12 credit inquries and 1 & 2 derogatory marks on my TU and Experian reports.  Approval was about a minute online. Hope this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2013
Stay Away
Anonymous Cardholder

I'll start by saying I have had a Capital one card for at least 10 years. I've been happy using it overseas, but unhappy about the APR issue and finally challenged them overit several times this week.

I think you should be made aware that the 11.9-19.9% APR range is a scam.Thats the only way I can describe it, seeing as it doesn't appear to be possible to get it lowered below 19.9%.

When I called to ask why my APR was 19.9% even though my credit score is about 825, they told me it was because it was all they could offer me. No 'body' on the phone would even discuss the 11.9% or tell me what I had to doaside from having a good credit score to get it. I called several times over several days about the issue just to be thorough, and I got the same stonewalling each time.

I eventually had to hang up and call the 'new cards' line pretending to be a new customer wanting the card to be told anything about the APR. They told me that the APR was decided based on my credit. Surprise surprise!

So, the application line says its given based on my good credit, but the customer service line says I can't get it lowered from 19.9% even with my 825 credit score.

I just want to share my very disturbing personal experience with everyone. When I call each time, I get an overseas call office that sound like they just want to read off the screen. When I repeated my question clearly asking "what does it take to get a lower APR" the lady at the other end would just get confused and say they were giving me all they could give me. Total Stonewalling... and as I hope you are starting to pick up.. pathetic excuse for customer service.

I emailed them at my account on their website too and they said they couldn't help me but to call the number. I did that 3 times just to give them a chance. I have a witness who was even on one of the phone calls with me (who, after hearing their bizarre treatment of me as a customer, no longer wants to get one of their cards by the way!)

I think everyone should be fully aware of the TRUTH rather than the facade.

Thank you

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 21, 2017
Capital One is AMAZING!
mstevens Cardholder

I really need to say this. Capital One is truly an AMAZING company! I have filed BK twice in my lifetime and both times Capital One was an unfortunate casualty of war. In both cases, Capital One gave me a chance. The first time, I let them down, but the second round, about 5 years ago, I have made them proud, and they have made me a very happy customer!  I started with a Platinum card with a $500 limit. Over time, it is now $9,000. It was converted into a QuickSilver MC. I obtained a QuickSilver Visa which is now at $7,000. Today, I applied for the VentureOne Rewards card. I was prequalified several times but have been trying to let some inquiries drop off. I wasn't surprised to be approved but I was suprised to be awarded a $10,000 credit limit!! I also have a Spark (Business Card) from Capital One with a $5,000 limit. 

As I pay off my accounts on time and in full, I fully benefit from the cash rewards perks. I don't know the exact amount, but I've earned probably $1500 in cash rewards. Lessons from the past learned, I cash those out occasionally and send them to my mortgage company as a principal-only payment which has knocked a few months (and a few thousand dollars) off of my payoff and payoff date.

I have had issues with merchants several times. Capital One has FLAWLESSLY handled each one of them and communicated well.  I cannot say enough good things about Capital One.  Truly, they are a great company and they gave me the chance others didn't... AND it wasn't one of those wild annual fee cards with monthly fees, etc. It's REAL.

I would like to close by saying I am one of THE most difficult customers that God ever created and I'm proud of that. I frequently go after companies that are negligent or otherwise horrible and I get results even if I have to resort to legal action. So when I compliment a company, you can be doggone assured there's no sugar coating any more than there would be in the opposite direction.  Capital One is on the good side and it would take a lot of negative effort on their part to lose their standing with me.  HATS OFF to the Capital One team!!

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Best.Card.Ever.
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had a Capital One credit card for years and absolutely loved everything about from the ease of using points to the customer service. A few years ago I got a Venture card and it's even better than the first card. Again, customer service is flawless and their system for redeeming points is amazing. If they were headquartered near me, I'd work for the company.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Awesome!
Anonymous Cardholder

Received this card with a 671 credit score and got a $10,000 credit limit!

more ...
Jun 04, 2017
Great help rebuilding credit.
Cujo1014 Cardholder

I did bankruptcy 2 years ago. Then I got a capital one credit card always paid my balance in full every month. Last year they doubled that card to 2000 dollars.
Then they offered me the venture one card with a 10,000 credit limit. This has helped a lot since in order to build credit you have to maintain a low credit use percentage. Before I got this card I had to be very careful not to put any large purchases on a card. Now i can make a purchase and then pay it off and not worry about making my credit score drop.

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
Hated it
kathysmom01 Cardholder

If you have a purchase that you didn't approve of they won't take your word for it 

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Approved for 10k
QCreditJourney Cardholder

I have been a Capital One Quicksilver cardholder for about 2 years now for which my CL is $7500. I wanted to add another card to my portfolio to lessen my utilization ratio and I also wanted a travelers mileage card. Credit Karma said I had "Very Good" odds so I said why not? They have never steered me wrong. I did not get an immediate approval. As a matter of fact I was told that my application "was under review". Most times that really translates to DENIED. I was bummed because I thought I was denied and I burned a hard pull which I've been trying to keep to a minimal & quite honestly I was a bit upset with Credit Karma because they are usually pretty good at gauging odds. I know their odd ratings are just an estimate. Then about 2 weeks later I receive a letter in the mail from Captial One. I was reluctant to open because I figured it was an official denial letter. But I did open it because I figure I wanted to know the reason why I was denied and request reconsideration. Especially because I have been an established client in good standing. Plus although my credit scores were not stellar and can use room to grow my scores were: Equifax= 686 & TU= 702. But to my surprise it was alerted of approval with a credit limit of 10k. My highest limit card to date! I just received my card about a week ago so I cannot yet review the reward and benefits. But I can say from what I read they have some stellar travel benefits. Especially the travel insurance which is fairly comprehensive which none of my other credit cards even come close. I am a person who thoroughly read all the disclosures. I can attest in the 2 years I've been a customer I have experienced excellent customer service Nd great rewards on my Quicksilver. I remember one time they suspected fraud on my account. They froze the card immediately, contacted me, and would pay me back hassle free for any unrecognized charges. They even offered to ship me a replacement card overnight FREE OF CHARGE. They contacted me before I had a chance to contact them. That means a lot because I am usually pretty hyper billigant about my account security being a IT Identity & access management professional. Some people.xomplain about their high fees. They can be expensive but the goal is not to linger a balance from month to month. But considering Capital One gave me a chance when no other company would I'm fine with it. Plus on my Quicksilver card I called one day and asked for a lower APR and they granted it right away from nearly 23% to 19%. I've have had nothing but a positive relationship and my credit scores have grown wonderfully. With responsible use you will see results. Once I actually use the cars I will submit another review. I plan to use this card for a trip to Paris for my son and myself. If you get Very good approval odds from Credit Karma I would give it a try and don't be discouraged if you do not receive an approval immediately.

more ...
May 31, 2017
Love it!
Tamik211 Cardholder

Credit score of just 691 but approved for $10,000!!!  Yay!  Thank you Credit Karma!!

more ...
May 25, 2017
Transfer fee at 0 % for 12 months
Dani4273 Cardholder

I applied, I had to wait for letter in the mail saying I was approved for 10,000.00. My credit score 690/ 675/702

more ...
May 23, 2017
Good Card

I had a BK in 2010 which was discharged in 2013. My current scores are TU 731 and EQ737. I appied for this card 5/8/17. Several days later I received through the mail a request for more information, proof of income and ID etc. I sent these off the same day. Several days later I receive an approval throught he mail with a credit line of $10,000. My score was set at 711 by Capital One. I received 0% APR for the first twelve months then it will go to 17.74%. I am very pleased with this result. One thing to note is that balance transfers and cash advances do not count towards the $1,000 worth of purchases withiin the first three months in order to receive the 20,000 bonus miles. A small point, overall I'm very happy.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Im batting 1000 with CK reccomendations
Eastbaydave Cardholder

my scores are currently 628 TU/ 608 EX, i only have 2 other capital one cards (quicksilver one and secured "platinum") and up until today I was stuck with $1500 in available credit after defaulting and eventually settling 4 other cards over the last few years. I saw I had "very good" odds so i took the plunge and was approved for a $2k limit which worked out fine for me. The "odds" tool is a great feature enabling CK users to preview potential opportunities to build or expand their credit options. By the way, I dont carry a balance and mainly utilize the cash back of the quicksilver card. In conclusion: with my business purchases of $2k-4k per month i get loads of cash back and am looking forward to zero percent interest with the venture one once it arrives! 

more ...
May 23, 2017

I enjoyed reading your review. I really want to apply for this card. My credit score is currently 724. I only have one other credit card that I pay off once I use to avoid interest. I make about $15,000 working part time. I am currently looking for a full time job since I just graduated from graduate school. However, I have several student loans. I am currently paying interest for two private loans but I am on forbearance for the government loans. I plan on making small payments each week so my interest won't accrue so much. My approval odds are very good for this card. I am afraid I will be denied since I have all those loans open on my account. Should I try and apply or just avoid it under my circumstances? Any advice would be great. Thank you!!!!

 
Jun 05, 2017

Sdo have you applied if so what happend

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

80 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i