Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews
3.1 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 15, 2019
No complaints
DanielleAS Cardholder

As some others have stated, it does take a few months for the miles to be activated. However, when you actually do redeem a purchase with your miles it applies within less than a day. I recently experienced fraudulant charges while I was out of the country. Capital One sent me notifications, but unfortunately I had no cellular service at the time. As soon as I returned and saw the charges I contacted customer service and they took care of the investigation immediately and removed the charges from my account. In my experience, their customer service reps have always been super friendly and helpful. I have no complaints about this card or Capital One. This was my first credit card. I applied a little over a year ago with a 720 credit score. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 09, 2020
Bonus miles promised, never delivered.
MattVegas95 Cardholder

Like another reviewer, I too was approved for this card, spent the 1k with the intention of getting the 20k bonus miles. After spending $2500, in the first month, I called and ask how many billing cycles the bonus takes to hit my rewards account. I was then told I wasnt eligible for the bonus since there are different approval levels. Nowhere during the application process was this ever stated.

Classic bait and switch, I cut this card up and wont do business with Capital One again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 18, 2020
Recent graduate and love to travel?
Teaspoon0626 Cardholder

This is my second credit card ever. I had a Wells Fargo Student Cash Back card that was eating me up alive. After graduating college I knew I needed something stable and something that would offer me rewards based on traveling, since that is what my current job entitles me. I applied for this card and within the first month I had already received their bonus offer, 20,000 miles. I was able to cover certain trips and when the coronavirus happened and I had to cancel a lot of my flights around Southeast Asia, Customer Service made sure I was getting the necessary refunds. Amazing card, I highly recommend it for newcomers and world travelers!

more ...
Feb 17, 2020
Great Beginner Travel Card
wnapp92 Cardholder

This was my first travel card. I was approved right before an international trip with a $7500 line of credit. It worked perfectly everywhere I went. And I like that you can now transfer miles to travel partners so that's a plus. If you are a beginner with credit cards and need a travel card, this is a solid card to start with. 

more ...
Feb 01, 2020
sarahmae0189 Cardholder

I've had a lot of good luck with this card, I recently got a Amex delta travel card and for the amount their charging me yearly they don't even come close to capital one venture one, I travel a lot for work and drive at least 195 miles a day so I use it for fuel and the points go up pretty quick!

more ...
Jan 09, 2020
Bonus miles promised, never delivered.
MattVegas95 Cardholder

Like another reviewer, I too was approved for this card, spent the 1k with the intention of getting the 20k bonus miles. After spending $2500, in the first month, I called and ask how many billing cycles the bonus takes to hit my rewards account. I was then told I wasnt eligible for the bonus since there are different approval levels. Nowhere during the application process was this ever stated.

Classic bait and switch, I cut this card up and wont do business with Capital One again.

more ...
Jan 07, 2020
Careful
Amiya11216 Cardholder

I really like this card for what I got it for which was for miles. Applying was super easy and I received a response with in a few minutes in my email. But be careful because if you have average credit and you get approved for this card you won't get any promotional deals that are advertised and your interest rate will be about 2 points higher than what is stated on the website. Only use it for bigger purchases I can pay off quickly with carrying a balance over so that I can get the miles. This card also does not report to credit bureaus very well, if at all to raise your credit score. Customer service is nice but I don't expect much from them to be honest. If you want your credit score raised get a different card. I went with Petal for beter credit health and they were very easy and helpful and with in the first few weeks my credit score went up a couple points. 

more ...
Jan 07, 2020

Sorry I meant I only use it for big purchases I can pay off easily without carrying over a balance so that I can get miles and avoid the interest.

 
Jan 24, 2020

Amazing how they pull this stunt on unsuspecting people and get away with it. I only keep my capital one card open because it’s my oldest account. Don’t like this company

 
Dec 30, 2019
kaalay Cardholder

applied for the card and got approved. spent 1000$ and paid it back with in first momth. never recieved the 20k miles bonus. Called customer care and they said we approved the card for you but not the bonus at time of approval of application ( which i was not made aware at all ). Never got the bonus at all. Useless card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 14, 2020

Time for a class acción lawsuit.

 
Dec 12, 2019
Excellent
PZ301 Cardholder

This has been my primary card for many years. Have had nothing but positive experiences with them. Redeeming travel miles is easy and convenient. 

more ...
Dec 11, 2019
Over3years Cardholder

I applied for this card not a problem, received my miles credit for use. Recently applied for a limit increase was told I had a late payment my payments for all cards through Capital One were on time. I have zero late payments on all accounts. Customer service basically nonexistent.

more ...
Nov 30, 2019
Drusk Cardholder

Crap at best poor customer service . Payment date is not start of new cut off date on intrest its 3 days after pants date . Rip off .

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card