Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
84 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable

Our Take

If you have good to excellent credit and are looking for attractive travel rewards, the Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card could be an appealing option.

What to Like

Cardholders earn 1.25 miles on every purchase every day, as well as a 20,000 mile bonus after spending $1,000 in the first three months of card membership. Miles can be redeemed for airline tickets, hotel rooms and car rentals with no limit on the amount of miles earned, and no expiration date for the life of the account. The Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card also offers a 0% introductory APR on purchases for 12 months.

Look Out For

Late payments can result in a late penalty fee, so it’s important to stay on-time. Unredeemed rewards can also be lost if your card is closed.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2017
Rebuilding my credit for the past year
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I'm writing this review to help out those that aren't sure whether they should apply or not and have questionable credit. I have a 660 TU and 637 Experian score. I also have a 626 FICO score at present. I have a Capitol One PS card, Capital One GM Card, and Capital One Platinum Card that I have made on-time payments for the past year. I was approved for the Venture Card and received a $2000 limit. I have 12 credit inquries and 1 & 2 derogatory marks on my TU and Experian reports.  Approval was about a minute online. Hope this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2016
Miles perk is a scam
rem220 Cardholder

The card is fine for purchases, support, and online account features.  However, it is a complete scam that you earn "miles" -in the sense that traditional cards give you miles for mile.  

With this card you technicall earn one penny per mile (disguised as a mile).  When you get ready to use your 60,00 miles you really have a $600 credit to use towards an expensive priced flight or hotel.  With other cards you have a true 60K miles that allow you to book several domestic flights.  

Buyer be warned..., if you're planning a trip with that special someone, using all those miles you've accumilated, you're gonna be dissapointed. 

Same on you Alec Baldwin!  I'd rather a blackout date that allows me to plan a head and actually go somewhere.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 13, 2017
Generous line of credit, great rewards.
Andrew2164 Cardholder

My credit scores are EQU 693, TU 686 with 100% on time payments and 3 hard inquiries on my record at the moment, with about 20% credit card utilization at any given time. I make $60,000 annually, and only pay a little over $1,000 in bills every month. I was instantly approved with a $10,000 credit limit. This card is great for anyone who has been steadily improving their credit over time, and is looking for travel rewards as opposed to cash back. I also have a cash back credit card so having one that rewards me with travel miles is very nice. 

more ...
Aug 13, 2017
so far so good
AmirBaker Cardholder

2+ years credit history,my credit score was around 710 tu 680 eq. my app wasnt instant approval had to wait about 2 days then i was approved. I had a qs with capital one already(signature)

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Did not know if i'd be approved!
quatemoc14 Cardholder

I was very scared to apply for this card because it was one of the first cards where I began to question whether or not I will be approved. All my other cards were almost guarenteed because of my military status and trust that we recieve from our military oriented banks. This card on the other hand was from a completely different bank whom with I had no relationship with. I did not have a checking account with them, no savings account, Nada! My credit score was not too great either. I had about a 708 Transunion, 713 Equifax and a 728 FICO score. These are good scores but not excellent by far. I read up on the statistics of people who were approved and realized that most people had at least a fair or good credit score.  I saw people who had low 600's who were approved for this card so I decided that this gave me the little bit of extra confidence I needed to apply. All my other cards had credit limits arond $2000, with one card having $5,000. After applying for this card I was AMAZED at how fast I recieved my approval. It was literaly almost instantaneous! I waited for about 30 seconds and got an answer on the spot. I am 21 years old, and do not make a ridiculous amount of money a year; however, I was approved for $10,000. Shortly after I used the 20,000 bonus points to fly my girlfriend out to see me(she lives in NY and I live in CA). I used about 28,000 "miles" altogether to redeem a flight. The quotation marks are because each mile is a penny toward a purchase redemption. This may upset some people but if you read all of the terms and conditions like you should then this should not come up as a surprise. I loved how easy it was to apply throught the credit Karma app, how easy it was to redeem a purchase and the customer service. You always run the risk of running into a less than satisfying emplyee but if you just hang up and call again, you usually have better luck with the next person. .....To end this long rant.. This is a GREAT card if you learn how to use it appropriately, just like any other card, and I an assure you that you will not be disappointed if you understand the card details.

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Very generous!
Anonymous Cardholder

Had a BK a year ago and starting to rebuild my credit again...gave me a LC for $5k. Very generous compare to my Barclay of $4k. So far so good...

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
AWESOME
emilia0383 Cardholder

I really am enjoying this card. I am a long time capital one member and I love their service.  Being able to get points on all purchases and redeem so easily is great.

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

If you're considering this card-- go for it! I have been a member for 6 months now and I'm so impressed. I'm a frequent flyer and I travel a lot for business/personal. This card has been a game changer and I have nothing but great things to say. I recommend this card to all ny friends and family. 

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Very poot customer service
Damarrio57 Cardholder

I have been a Capital One CC holder for more than 20 years.  Early on, they were great to work with and actually provided customer service.  I am not sure if they have grown so much that they cannot keep up or they just do not care.  

I have for years done everything online, statements, bill pay, etc.  Week before last, I logged in to check on a credit that an airline was to issue, only to be locked out of my account "for security reasons".  Their system required that I receive a special code by email to unlock my account.  After several try’s and not getting the emails or the code, I had to call customer service.  Actually, customer NO service.  I assume, Capital One thinks their time is valuable and their customers is worthless.  The endless recorded or digital phone system that you have to work through to actually talk to someone that will not help you is ridiculous.  

After working my through all that, the customer service person wanted my personal information over an open phone line.  Remember this started “for security reasons”.  What a crock!  I really expected that they would email me a code and I could get logged in, and that would be that.  But no, they want all your personal information, which I am not giving on the phone to anyone.  After some time with a not very bright person from Capital One, I finally ask for a supervisor, to then be left on extended hold and no one answered.

My next attempt was their instant messenger on their website, only to go through the same run around as the person on the phone, although I supposedly got to a supervisor this time, that could not or would not solve the problem and blamed my email filter. 

So now, I am locked out of both my accounts with Capital One.  I went paperless at their request years ago, so I do not know what I owe or what is being charged to my account.  I still have my original problem of seeing if I was given the credit from an airline or not.  I do not know how to close the accounts or get out of this mess.  I have other credit cards, I do not need the two from Capital One.  I am pretty sure this will cost me both time and money to straighten out, and at the end I will not be a Capital One customer.  Having said that, I am also pretty sure, they do not care.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Awesome card to hsbe
Captainhook56 Cardholder

Again a high interest rate and no yrl fee 

pay in full every month and you win win win. 

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Best Credit Card You Can Get My Opinion
Anonymous Cardholder

My scores are about 670. I have had this card about a year. I had  initially had a 6,000 credit limit but when I stayed around 400 they lowered the limit a few hundred which I didn't mind because I keep my upsurge low. I have gotten lots of reward miles. So fare about 32 dollars worth. I also have had attempts on my card and capitol one blocked those attempts. I almost bought a car where I would have paid 3000 down. But I decided not to buy and called capitol one. They canceled the transaction and got my money back for me. They, in my opinion, have been great. My score had risen about 15:/: which is great because I have student loans. If your thinking about getting this card get it! :)

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
The miles aren't actual miles

I was lured in by the miles, that I soon found out weren't actual miles, but points. To give you an example, I have 110,000 "miles" with Venture, through their travel redemption system that is enough to get two adult to Cancun in economy plus an additional $120... That's a TERRIBLE DEAL. At this point I am going to cash out for gift cards and get an AMEX.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

84 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i