Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.24% - 22.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.24% - 22.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 11, 2015
MichaelintheLBC Cardholder

Credit Karma recommended I apply for Capital One's "VentureOne" card with good approval odds.  I decided to apply, as I'd been working on improving my credit for the past two years.  However, not wanting to just jump in, I researched both cards using Credit Karma's community reviews, credit card metrics, and other credit card boards for opinions, regarding approval.

The general consesus is to use Capital One's "pre-approval" tool.

Based on Capital One's questions/ remarks for defining "Excellent", "Average," or "Rebuilding," I defined my credit as "Excellent" - even though it's far from it:

From Credit Karma:
TransUnion Vantage Score: 687

TransUnion "New Account" (traditional FICO estimate): 629

From Capital One's report:

TransUnion: 642

I chose "Excellent' based on my personal profile of not having the "Average" negative remarks/ notes.  In any case, back to the pre-approval tool, they came back with the VentureOne as a recommendation.  So, I figured I'd apply for the VentureOne - no lie, having Credit Karma's "recommend for you" (and the past couple years of credit rebuilding and the research) gave me the 'courage' to submit.  60 seconds later: APPROVED!

Addional Credit Profile Notes:

GOOD: My credit utilization, deragotory remarks, total accounts (mostly student loans), and credit inquiries were all in "Excellent" status.

BAD: My payment history was very poor (95%), and my average age was poor (4y 7m).

CAVEATS: All of my open/ current accounts have been on-time/ no lates for the past 2-3 years.  My older accounts are student loans approaching 10 years.  Lastly, I have 3 CLOSED/ REMOVED collection accounts.  The most recent (and last) collection was closed less than a month before applying.

I have a decent salary: $63,000.

Additional Credit Card Notes:

This was the first 'real' credit card I applied for in the past 2 years, after being declined.  However, I took note of the reasons why I was declined (Chase Freedom (05/2013) and Macy's (03/2013)  ) and worked on improving the areas noted.

I chose to apply for the VentureOne card because I want to finance a trip to visit family in Florida and future flights/ trips - I live in California.  I also intend to use it for higher expenses, like auto maintenance, to build miles.

In the same 10min window, I applied for both the VentureOne and Quicksilver (approved for both) basically because I'd "burned" a hard inquiry anyways.  I've reviewed my credit reports, and as I thought, I only have one hard credit inquiry for both cards.  I was planning on applying for both eventually anyways, so this was a nice 2 for 1 opportunity.

I hope my review helps some people with similar situations.  I'll re-review the card, after I've had it longer.  But so far, it's working as I'd expected it to, the customer service has been courteous and easy to work with (I had to update my address before receiveng the card), and the website is user-friendly.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2013
Stay Away
Anonymous Cardholder

I'll start by saying I have had a Capital one card for at least 10 years. I've been happy using it overseas, but unhappy about the APR issue and finally challenged them overit several times this week.

I think you should be made aware that the 11.9-19.9% APR range is a scam.Thats the only way I can describe it, seeing as it doesn't appear to be possible to get it lowered below 19.9%.

When I called to ask why my APR was 19.9% even though my credit score is about 825, they told me it was because it was all they could offer me. No 'body' on the phone would even discuss the 11.9% or tell me what I had to doaside from having a good credit score to get it. I called several times over several days about the issue just to be thorough, and I got the same stonewalling each time.

I eventually had to hang up and call the 'new cards' line pretending to be a new customer wanting the card to be told anything about the APR. They told me that the APR was decided based on my credit. Surprise surprise!

So, the application line says its given based on my good credit, but the customer service line says I can't get it lowered from 19.9% even with my 825 credit score.

I just want to share my very disturbing personal experience with everyone. When I call each time, I get an overseas call office that sound like they just want to read off the screen. When I repeated my question clearly asking "what does it take to get a lower APR" the lady at the other end would just get confused and say they were giving me all they could give me. Total Stonewalling... and as I hope you are starting to pick up.. pathetic excuse for customer service.

I emailed them at my account on their website too and they said they couldn't help me but to call the number. I did that 3 times just to give them a chance. I have a witness who was even on one of the phone calls with me (who, after hearing their bizarre treatment of me as a customer, no longer wants to get one of their cards by the way!)

I think everyone should be fully aware of the TRUTH rather than the facade.

Thank you

more ...

Reviews (372)

Add Review
Oct 20, 2016
Approved for Amex denied by Capital One?

I just find it funny. I'm a Student. I was just approved for a 2k limit from Amex my very first credit card actually. I thought I'd try out Capital One because I like to travel. Will stick with Amex. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2016

My credi score is 809,but card was declined.

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Marquisha83 Cardholder

I applied for this card based off what credit karma suggested and i  wasn't approved instantly. I was contacted by capital one the same day I applied and I had to answer a series of questions to verify that I actually applied for the card and that it wasn't a fraudulent application. I  verified myself by answering the questions correctly and he put my application through to be processed. I went to the mailbox 5 days later and saw a letter from capital one saying I had been approved for a 10,000 dollar credit limit. Wow just blew my mind. My credit scores are 726, 708, and 650. I hope this helps someone. 

more ...
Oct 14, 2016

I also have also recently just gotten out of bankruptcy

Oct 10, 2016

650 + 645 CS - denied. I have several other CC with Cap 1, but maybe my scores are too low.

more ...
Oct 06, 2016

I was not approved within minutes, recieved call from  capitol one fraud department, then they forwarded my application for credit check. Within 10 days I recieved my card in the mail approved. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
Easy process
Hotttbody1973 Cardholder

I at times get discouraged bc ck tells you things about approval chances are not always accurate anyway ck said my chances were bad I have credit scores at 700 all across the board but like everything else and so many different scoring methods and different scores from different sites don't usually match ck scores but with that being said I applied for this capital venture card I got we will let you know within 7-10 day process I received a call from captain one like 5 mins after applying for this card missed the call I have 2 other cards with capital one it's been a year now and a year after bankruptcy so moving on I called the number on my phone and talked to a customer rep he didn't know why I was calling so I decided to call another time so a few days later I received a letter from capital one fraud department I called them told them It was me who applied for the card she was a nice lady told me ok we will continue the application process so I called a few days later I was shocked when they told me approved and not going to lie my heart dropped I was approved for over $10000 I was wow I'm so happy and blessed to be moving in the right direction and capital one understands customers.

more ...
Sep 25, 2016
Great approved for 3K

When CK listed this card for me having a very good chance of getting approved with a score of 697, I said to myself, here is a chance for me to start rebuilding my credit from a 2015 BK. Wow! within 10 seconds I was approved for 3k and happy about it. Thank you Capital One.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Watch Out

I applied for this card with a score of 705 (credit karma rated approval odds as Good) and immediately got denied (not even a review of 10 days, just straight denied). I got the letter in the mail and the reasons for being denied just said I do not have a high credit balance which I guess is because I always pay off everything every month to $0 before my bill comes out? Not sure, anyway just watch out and be weary if you think you are on the border line of getting this card, you probably won't.

more ...
Sep 21, 2016

Approval odds said good and was declined.  

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card