Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 09, 2019
solid travel card
isastring Cardholder

I appreciate the no annual fee and no international transaction fee.  If I'm being honest, I use this card primarily just for booking flights and secondary expenses.  The rewards are alright, but not as good as my other cards.  I did have my identity stolen with it once though.  They sent me a text to let me know of the suspicious activity ($200 at gas stations over two days - and I have an electric car).  I called and they immediately locked down my card and refunded the purchases.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 18, 2019
Never got the chance to use it!!
willkell Cardholder

Worst customner service experience I've ever had.... I was approved, received a card in the mail and then was asked to send in an SSA-89 form for further identification before my card could be activated. I was actually happy to see they take fraud protection seriously... However, I then had to call 9 TIMES in the span of 6 weeks to check on the status of my case.  Was told each time that my case manager was not answering emails and there was nothing they could do about it because they are in a different building. Finally I gave them an ultimatum and said if I don't hear back from my someone activating my card in 2 days I would be closing my account (before spending a dime). And that's what I did

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 17, 2019
Great for Airline Miles
Piggy985 Cardholder

Everything I see written about the card is correct. It is what THEY LEAVE OUT THAT IRRITATES ME!. Nearly Every Time I use my Capital One Card at a new merchant it is denied. Very embarrassing. So I use a different card while holding everyone up. As I leave the store I get a text from Capital One. "Did you just try to make a purchase at....." I reply yes and they THEN me to go ahead the transaction has been approved. This happened once at my local Wal-Greens where I shop often. I have had it! Capital One is being canceled. This is no way to run a railroad. I hate it.

more ...
Jul 18, 2019
Never got the chance to use it!!
willkell Cardholder

Worst customner service experience I've ever had.... I was approved, received a card in the mail and then was asked to send in an SSA-89 form for further identification before my card could be activated. I was actually happy to see they take fraud protection seriously... However, I then had to call 9 TIMES in the span of 6 weeks to check on the status of my case.  Was told each time that my case manager was not answering emails and there was nothing they could do about it because they are in a different building. Finally I gave them an ultimatum and said if I don't hear back from my someone activating my card in 2 days I would be closing my account (before spending a dime). And that's what I did

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
Horrible for Balance Transfers
zaronan Cardholder

They advertise 0% APR for the first 12 months and $0 transfer fees. However, they neglect to disclose there is a 12-24% interest fee for all balance transfers.

They also advertise a 3 month grace period for making payments when you first recieve the card. I got charged a fee within an hour of transferring a balance. Capital One did not even wait until the end of the month to charge the fee.

When I called customer service, they hung up on me. They thought the charges might be an error on their part but it turns out they just did not know their "Great for Balance Transfers" card was horrible for balance transfers.

Do not get this card for balance transfers.

more ...
Jul 21, 2019

Balance transfer fees and interest rates are not the same. Also, all rates are posted, by law, on credit applications and welcome letters. If you didn't see it, you overlooked it. It was there.

 
Aug 07, 2019

You obviously did not read the disclosure it says so right in the card description, yes they did disclose it

 
Aug 16, 2019

Hi you say they showed 0% apr that's the interest rate and $0 transfer fee did you pay the balance off before the 12th month goto capital one site and check that again.

 
Jun 08, 2019
Perfect card for everyday purchases
versacepockets Cardholder

Applied May 2018 at a 781 FICO score, got approved for a $10,000 credit line. The twelve months without interest are very useful, especially if you apply to get your card before a vacation. I recommend this card not only for its perks, but for how practical the Capital One app is, easily the most attractive interface for a credit card app.

more ...
Jun 26, 2019

Is this card a Visa or MasterCard? Thanks.

 
Jul 01, 2019

Visa

 
May 15, 2019
No complaints
DanielleAS Cardholder

As some others have stated, it does take a few months for the miles to be activated. However, when you actually do redeem a purchase with your miles it applies within less than a day. I recently experienced fraudulant charges while I was out of the country. Capital One sent me notifications, but unfortunately I had no cellular service at the time. As soon as I returned and saw the charges I contacted customer service and they took care of the investigation immediately and removed the charges from my account. In my experience, their customer service reps have always been super friendly and helpful. I have no complaints about this card or Capital One. This was my first credit card. I applied a little over a year ago with a 720 credit score. 

more ...
Jul 20, 2019

What was your starting credit limit?

 
Aug 16, 2019

Hi you didn't say what air line you can use?

 
May 14, 2019
Great primary card!
MaggieBrea Cardholder

I applied for this card in January, and pretty much was approved instantly. I use this card as my primary card and I love it! The 20,000 bonus points was a great bonus!

I had a charge come up that I had meant to cancel before it was charged to my account, but didn’t in time. I called Capital One, and they helped me very easily cancel the charge, and was very helpful. 

I have had this card for about four months, and haven’t had a credit increase yet. I kind of expected one by now since I never carry a balance over, and always pay before the month ends. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 16, 2019

Most cards offer the increase after 6 months of paying on time. So hang in there it will come.

 
Apr 22, 2019
Amazing Travel Card
CTrofholz Cardholder

Super strong sleek design! A must for travel and those out for adventure! Great easy to use mobile App ! 5-Stars 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 07, 2019

What do you mean by “super strong sleek design”? Don’t all cards look the same?

 
Apr 08, 2019
I use this for everything!
funlaughlove84 Cardholder

I’ve had this card for a year and use it pretty much for every purchase. I love the app, it’s very easy to check my balance and make payments. Only had to call customer service one time when a vendor overseas charged me twice for one product. Capital One took care of that immediately. I haven’t redeemed any of my points yet for traveling, as I haven’t had time to travel lately, but will update my review once I redeem my travel points. So far, I’m a happy customer with no complaints. Oh! And the 0% interest for the first year is awesome. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2019
ok!!!
Lamont214 Cardholder

It is used as a secondary card due to no credit increases so far. 

more ...
Mar 10, 2019

Ask for an increase? I have tripled my original, credit.

 
Jun 07, 2019

Hi you can only get a increase ever 6 months.

 
Feb 18, 2019
russo68 Cardholder

This car is a joke, I have had a card with Capital One never missed a payment, actually have never missed a payment on any of my credit cards however my other cards are 4 - 8 thousand dollars limit and they offer me $8000 limit, and tell me oh your limit will go up after seven billing cycles, so that leaves five cycles of 0% interest at a higher limit, if they raise it all my guess is they probably won’t raise it until after the interest-rate is gone up, 

more ...
May 20, 2019

What’s the problem your mad because they don’t want to give you a higher limit than your highest cards right out of the gate what are you doing with it trying to buy a big boat that doesn’t make this a bad card stop whining about it

 
Jul 05, 2019

Your post is a JOKE 🤬

 
Aug 06, 2019

As far as i can see there is nothing wrong with the card. Your 1 star is misleading.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card