Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
3.7 5
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

Card Details

Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.9%* Variable
Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
Purchase Regular APR 24.9%* Variable
Annual Fee $0

How Credit Karma Can Help

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013

Satisfied in an understatment
Helpful to 5769 out of 6011 people

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

Read More
 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Aug 10, 2012

Helpful to 2164 out of 2277 people

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

Read More
 

Reviews (634)

Apr 24, 2015

Great Card
Helpful to 7 out of 7 people

Had this card for 6 months and got a $300 credit increase without sending in any extra money in. I then decided to try for an unsecured credit card. I called customer service and I asked to see if I was pre qualified for a card and I wasnt. I was pretty bummed. The person from customer service insisted that even though I wasn't pre qualified I could still try for a card. I figured why not I had nothing to lose. Then BAM she said I was approved!! So just because you do not pre qualify for a card don't be afraid to go through with the application! You never know. 

Read More

Naysia13's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 24, 2015

Great way to rebuild credit!
Helpful to 9 out of 9 people

If someone says you don't get a credit increase with this secured credit card they are wrong. After doing my researcher on this card I deciced to apply for it. I have defaulted student loans and a couple accounts in collections. To my surprise they approved me. After having this card for 6 months I checked my online banking and boy was I surprised!! My credit limit went from $200 to $500!!! Thanks CAPITAL ONE!!  Hopefully in the next few months I will get approved for an unsecured card but for now this is great!! This card has also helped my credit score go up. 

Read More

Naysia13's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 20, 2015

Increased cl fr 230 to $530
Helpful to 14 out of 15 people

Just an update.. I tried logging to my account and surprisingly my initial $230 sec deposit is now $530... Thanks cap1 for increasing my cl!! 

Read More

helpisontheway35's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 19, 2015

Trying to establish Credit Perfect Card!
Helpful to 14 out of 17 people

This Card will surly boost your credit  and Capitiol One give Credit increases in 5 to 6 months !!

Read More

jrome76's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 15, 2015

Great card!!
Helpful to 27 out of 31 people

I applied for this card a few months ago and I was hesistant as I have a charge off from Capital One still on my report (due to fall off end of this year though). Anyway, I applied and was approved and only had to put down $49 for a $200 limit. It did almost take two months for it to start reporting to the credit bureaus but now that it is it made my score jump up good because I did not have any revolving accounts on my reports before this. Only about a month later if that, I went to their prequalification site and was preapproved for a regular card, applied and was approved for a $500 limit. I am very happy with this secured card as it has a low annual fee, it reports to all 3 major credit bureaus and it reports as an unsecured card. I highly recommend Capital One to anyone trying to rebuild their credit. My advice would be to try the preapproval site before you do anything.

Read More

TryingToUnderstand's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 15, 2015

This is the way to go.
Helpful to 73 out of 82 people

So, I posted here on Feb 25, 2015 and said that I would update everyone when I get my credit score from Experian. 

Just a refresh for those who didn't see my last post,  I applied for this card in November 2014. I was approved for $200 with a $99 required deposit. I sent an additional $150 to increase my limit to $350. After using 42% and 44% of my credit utilization, and paying the balance off in full for Jan 2015 & Feb 2015, my TU score went from 568 to 581, Equifax 637, CK 655. No Experian at the time. I used and I paid off my card after using 76% utilization for the month of March. I also decided to increase my limit from $350 to $500 by sending in another $150 to Capital One. My score went from TU 581-598, Equifax 637-598, and CK 655-603. All because of the 76% utilzation. Well after paying the balance off and increasing my credit limit, I charged $50 dollars worth of gas this month, and to my surprise when I logged into my Capital One account today April 15, 2015, which is when my score is updated every month, Transunion is showing my score as a 703, Equifax 645, Experian 703, and CK 645. I have 6 more days for CK and Equifax to update my score and I'm expecting a low 700 as well. If you charge on the card, just make sure that you pay it off in full by the due date and also before it is reported to the bureaus. That is the best way to maximize the benefit of the card. Good Luck***********

Read More

4thquarter's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 12, 2015

Good Rebuilding Starting Point Card
Helpful to 11 out of 15 people

Had a Cap One student card that CO'd 3/2013 $750L/940CO CS's 520's. Applied 3/2014 approved $200 with $99 dep. Used card sparingly and paid off in full every month. Applied for Cap One Quicksliver 8/2014 CS's 580's approved for $300 unsecured (raised to $1300 4/2015). Keep card open for history. Tried to get CL raised 4/2015 and was denied (they said that because its a secured card they couldn't raise limit). They will not raise limit so after 6 months or so apply for one of their unsecured cards chances are you will be approved if you have stayed under your limit and paid on time. Remember though interest rate is high (22.9%) and there is no intro period so use wisely.

Read More

jet1589's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 09, 2015

Good for starting to rebuild credit
Helpful to 31 out of 41 people

I applied for this card in December 2014 with a 590 credit score and $42k income.  I was approved for a $200 limit with $49 down.  I've been spending about $150-200 every month, but paying in full and on time.  Due to this card and an auto loan, my credit is now around 605.  I applied for the Cap 1 Quicksilver credit card today, and I was approved for an unsecured card with a $500 credit limit.  Not too shabby!

Read More

fancystephanie's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 07, 2015

almost a year no CLI
Helpful to 18 out of 28 people

Got approved the second time I applied. I had to put a deposit of $99 for $200 limit. Almost a year and no CLI. They say is because of my credit. But I applied for another capital one CC and got an instant approval with $750 CL

Read More

Jazchi's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 06, 2015

The absolute best card to get started!
Helpful to 36 out of 41 people

My credit was absolutley horrible. I had made poor decisions when I was young and got myself into a bind. I needed to start rebuilding my credit, so I applied for the Capital One secured card. I received my card a couple weeks after applying, used it responsibly and paid it off every month. 

After six months of paying responsibly they gave me a $300 credit increase WITH OUT an extra deposit! I see a lot of reviews complaining about not being able to get the $200 deposit back; consider it an investment in your future. $200 is a small price to pay for the doors that this card will open for you. 

I just got approved for another $500 card, an autoloan with a great interest rate, and my score has gone up over 150 points. 

The customer service is great as well! 

Read More

kouris88's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards

Add Your Review Of Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† These Approval Odds represent Credit Karma's estimation of how likely you are to be approved for a product based on a comparison of your profile with data about Credit Karma members who have been approved for the product in the past (if available). There is no guarantee that you will be approved by the lender or that credit will be extended to you.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Approval Odds

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Balance Transfer Purchase Intro APR Regular APR
 

N/A

N/A

24.9%*

Variable