Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

more ...
 

Reviews (1523)

Add Review
Jul 23, 2016
Great secured Card.
ImBigQ Cardholder

I applied for this card got approved for a 99 dollar deposit for a 200 dollar avaliable credit. After 5 months they gave me an increase to 500 dollars. I really like this card and would recommend to anyone. It's a nice gateway to other cards.

more ...
Jul 23, 2016
The best card to rebuild credit.
chasejcs Cardholder

In college, I misused a bunch of credit cards and as a result my credit has been in shambles for severa years (low 500s). I applied for this card and was approved six months ago with a $49 deposit for a $200 limit. I used the card sparingly for 6 months (although I did almost max it out two months in a row due to an emergency.) Always paid my bill on time and in full, never leaving a balance (that APR is way too high to be leaving a balance.) Well after 6 months I just found out they increased my credit limit to $2000! And my credit score is up to 660! In six months! It's unbelievable... I could not be happier with this card. Capital One also offers Creditwise monitoring service free with this card, which has been helpful to monitor accounts that might not appeear on CK. Also, the card support has been phenomenal and I love that Capital One doesnt charge foreign transaction fees. I cannot reccomend this card highly enough. If you've been embarassed by your credit situation and have given up having good credit then you need to get this card! This is a wonderful opportunity to get your financial life back on track.

more ...
Jul 21, 2016
Great Solution to Credit Recovery!!
mattman222 Cardholder

After having a ZERO credit rating, I applied and got this card, put $200 bucks on it and started using it a couple times a month. I paid the balance every month, and after 3 months got my score bumped into mid 600's. Highly reccomended!!

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
Anonymous

I applied on July 7, 2016 since all of the other cards declined me well i was approve with a CS of 533 and did my 200 dollar deposit on the same day on July 9, 2016 received an e-mail that my card is on its way so i am just waiting here patiently.

more ...
Jul 21, 2016

Oh k...you get your card?

 
Jul 20, 2016
Great Card
Henryt901 Cardholder

I applied for this card two years ago and was approved with a 540CS. Things happened in life and i couldnt make the payments anymore. They closed the account.

i still continued to pay the balance because i didnt want the collections letter. Its now two years later. i applied for the card again and was approved with a 512. Grateful for the second chance with Capital one. I wont make the same mistake again.

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Ready for a fresh start!

Credit Karma said my odds were good. I applied and for approved for a $200 CL. My CS of 558 went down by 1 point but I expect it to go up once I start using my card. I have 3 months to pay my $99 deposit and I can add more money to I crease my CL. I'm excited that Capital One gave me another chance!

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
A great card!
JBrown101 Cardholder

I applied for this card 6mnths ago and got approved for $1000. Along with this card came the option capital one to raise your card limit if u atleast pay the minimum balance by the due date of every month and they would raise your CL $500. So I did just that and I Called today b/c this is my 6mnth mark. And to a wonderful surprise capital one raised me another $1000! And I just thought it was going to be $500. I just by me paying off the entire balance and keeping my utilization dwn they rewarded me!  I love the app! U can pay ur balance with a touch of a button and customer service reps are always available, polite, and get the issue solved.

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Preapproved Cardholder

It will build your credit if you use it responsibility. I got this card in April 2016. Made my first payment and my credit score (vantage 3.0) raised from 483 to 524 TU and 483 to 546 EX. I recently made my second payment and it raised again, 541 TU 561 EX. I look forward to making monthly payments on time and watching my score increase. The key is to make monthly payments ON TIME and keep your credit card utilization rate at 30% or lower.

more ...
Jul 18, 2016
Don't apply
Anonymous

I try this because of credit karma recommend it to me. I have one capitalone quiksilver card and i got approved with that for $2K and i use it for moving and i still have left and i pay them more than a minimum. And this time i would like to apply this Capital One Secured Master Card. Even i file bankrupcy  last february.They approve me with QUicksilver for a second chance. Now i need one more card from capitalone for just emergency. And they denied me. Now i waste my points for applying this. I hope Credit Karma would recommmen something that affect people score. 

more ...
Jul 18, 2016

Well I applied a week ago and was told they will mail me a response. So I called today to check on the application and they needed me to verify proof of address and identity so I faxed it to them. Will I be approved or denied what's the process now?

more ...
Jul 18, 2016

they will approve you. i went through the same thing last week. then I sent my $500 deposit Saturday.

 
Jul 19, 2016

Ok thanks I hope so

 
Jul 20, 2016

They will approve u! I love this card. Use it responsibly

 
Jul 21, 2016

I will I'm just waiting on a response now.

 
Jul 23, 2016

Got approved and I'm required to pay 200 deposit im gonna pay the deposit asap.

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®