Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
735 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit - and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2015
Great for building credit
Marky447 Cardholder

This card was extremely helpful in helping me to restore my good credit. You all know all the basic stuff to do to get your scores higher and keep them there. So I won't get into any of that. Whatever you do, though, don't feel that you need to put a huge deposit into this card to have a huge available credit, for a better score. That won't matter very much. I wouldn't do more than a couple of hundred bucks and that's it. That way the whole account is easier to keep up with, and it won't let you do crazy stuff to get yourself into a credit problem. Just remember this: Capital One WILL NOT ever, never, ever return your security deposit until you close your account, which is the only way to get the deposit back. They will give you small increases to your credit limit, but nothing that will make you smile. Now, having said that the only way to recover your deposit (if it's a small one, just let it sit there until the Rapture...and beyond) is to close your account, just keep this card for only one year, then if your credit score has climbed up to Fair or better, apply for an unsecured card and close this one, assuming you get the new card. Then go on from there, primarily keeping utilization at or below 20%. Do not secure this card with more than a couple hundred bucks because you're never getting it back! At least for as long as you have this account open.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 19, 2017
Great Card for people trying to rebuild
Venus2477 Cardholder

I don't know why I put off fixing my credit for so long.  Oh wait, yes I do.  It's called FEAR!  My first credit card was a discover card that I signed up for the first semester on campus when I was 19.  BIG MISTAKE.  I didn't know what to do with my $1,000 limit and how to handle that so I charged away and never paid.  Terrible way to start my relationship with credit cards.  Fast forward to twenty years later when I realized enough was enough.  I made some really bad decisions and my score was 513 as of last November.  I applied for this card and got approved!  After 5 months of paying on time, I was given a $300 credit increase.  Around this time I was told on Credit Karma that I had very good odds of being approved for a quicksilverone card and I applied and was approved with a $1,000 credit limit!  I couldn't believe this.  I also have a Citi Double Cash card with a credit limit of $2,700.  My point is that not even a year ago my credit score was 513 and it is now between 650 and 670.  Thank you Capital One for helping me overcome my fear.  Just tackle it and ask for help.  You'll be ok.

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
excellent card with potential
huntinthetrack Cardholder

you can get this card with fair credit at a low amount but after a few years of good standing your credit amount can go well above the 5g mark and beyond

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
Reports to tu later then Ex.
nativegirl87 Cardholder

May 553/550
June 578/550. 589/553
July. 500/602 597/602
E reports cc % on 10th and tu doesn't report it until the 18-21st. So for a week and a half my tu score is lower than my E score.
My score went down 8o points then when cc% was reported it shot back up 97 points.
Great card started in may with 553 now in July is 597/602 and still going hopefully.
I never looked at my credit until this year 30 years old and trying to build credit. When i was young i racked up lots of medical bold 60k and now they have begun to fall off my report. I have 1cc i finger hit fresh start account and 1 collections that isn't even mine. Its a phone bill land line i never had a house or apartment in my name everything's in my dad's name do i don't know where that bill came from.
This credit building road is long and slow. Hopefully worth it in the end.

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
GET IT AS A FIRST CC
GOAT77 Cardholder

This credit card is great for beginning credit or poor credit, with a deposit of only 49 , i got 200 credit line and increased after 5months to 500, also for those who are saying you dont get your deposit back until the account is closed is giving false information, they credited my account the deposit after about a year or so!

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
This is the perfect first step
Daykel850 Cardholder

Great card to start building credit or repair it, I suggest to anybody and everybody trying to fix their credit, start here

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
Best decision with my credit i made in
KTChandler Cardholder

I had a TU score of 492 and a Equifax score of 518 when i applied and some how I was approved for the card with a $211 credit limit.  I made on time payments and paid off my balance so I could get an my increase in my credit limit after the first 5 month.  As of today my credit limit is at $500 which I also receive a Quicksilver credit card starting at $400 and my TU score is at 583 and my Equifax is at 606. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 17, 2017

was this the secured card and how much was you deposit?

 
Jul 14, 2017
Horrible
Farva106 Cardholder

The failed to send me a statement, then charged me an overdue fee of $88. Then when I called about it they said the would credit it back, which the did. Then they put it right back the next day. I would never recommend this card to anyone. It is a extremely high interest rate and bad customer service. That and their billing department does not send you statements so the can charge you a higher interest rate to make more money. It's just a legal scam!

more ...
Jul 16, 2017

They have an app that you can use rather than relying on the paper statement. I use that all the time and it's worked-out perfect for me.

 
Jul 19, 2017

You know, you could just keep a note of your due date and always make sure you pay your bill each month on time. I guess.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

735 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i