Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

more ...
 

Reviews (1711)

Add Review
Sep 27, 2016
ashleighsexton Cardholder

My cs has went up from 513 to 561 in 6 months. i put $99 down for a $200 cl, which was just increased to $500. Not much but trying to rebuild my credit and its helping!

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
Colbyjrj Cardholder

In my 20s I made some very poor choices financially as well as a relationship that well wasn't good as well. Moral too the story this card has taken my rating from the low 300s to 627 in about 3 months. Although the interstate is very high the outcome has been great I personally use a don't use it unless u can pay it off modo wetter it's 3 dollars or 300 dollars. The only thing I don't like with any off these ppccs is they charge you to pay the bill by debit card or pay by check and wait forever for it to clear for free.

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
CL Increase 6 months later!
aurorabv Cardholder

Love love love this card! I've had it since march/April 16 and it is now September. I had to put $99 down for a $200 limit. Well I logged in today to make a payment and I saw that I had a credit limit increase to $500!! I make my payments on time multiple times a billing cycle so that my ending balance is either $0-$60. I have this card, credit one (started $300 unsecured and now it is at $500 unsecured thanks to a CL) and Discover Secured for $300 as well as FingerHut - $250. My score is gradually going up between this and a paying off my student loans every month and also keeping up to date on my car payments. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
BrandiJ28 Cardholder

My husband got this card about 5 years ago. It has really helped him rebuild his credit. I applied for it a couple months ago and was approved. It took about 3 weeks to receive the card. The application process was a lot easier than I expected.

more ...
Sep 25, 2016
Anonymous

How the hell can someone make there credit better if no credit card company will give me a credit card what a waste of my time so don't waste yours by applying for the card

more ...
Sep 27, 2016

Stop applying for unsecured cards. Get a Secured card from a credit union or certain banks. Your score will slowly increase.

 
Sep 24, 2016
Rockyy710 Cardholder

 I, like many others, grew up with the "don't get a credit card" speech with little to no knowledge of credit..and how you need it for pretty much EVERYTHING. Screwed my credit up pretty bad and finally, at 27, I decided to get my (credit)life in order . applied for this card sometime back in October 2015 and was approved for $200 limit with a deposit of $200 (painful at first, but now, worth it). My credit score at the time was pretty low, somewhere around 514/528. In Feb 2015, applied for QS1 card (CK approval "Good" , CS 554/565 ish) was approved for $500. By May, I got a $300 CLI on my platinum secured card,then applied for CLI on QS1 and got a $1000 increase. It's September now and I've got a total of $2000 on QS1 and still $500 on Platinum (hoping for a bigger increase at my year mark) and recently approved for $300 limit on Cap One BuyPower card (not sure how I feel about this one just yet). Overall I love my cap one cards. CS now around 638 (got as high as 679, but had a higher utilization on one month. Here's what has worked for me: I use my credit card just as I would my debit card, and never spending more than I can afford to pay back. I charge anywhere from $500-$1500 a month on my cards,making multiple payments throughout the month to ensure that when the billing cycle hits, my utilization is below 10%. I have 100% on time payment history, never carry a balance, so I haven't worried about a cent going to interest rates. If you budget your finances throughout the month, don't overspend and pay it back on time, IT WILL WORK. It has worked out tremendously for me and I hope it keeps getting better. Looking to buy a house this time next year too! Thank you Capital One and Credit Karma! Good luck everyone!

more ...
Sep 26, 2016

What is QS1?

 
Sep 27, 2016

QuickSilver One

 
Sep 24, 2016

Capital One is the only one who would give me a card they approved me in less then 60 seconds .

more ...
Sep 24, 2016
HLF2008 Cardholder

Best second chance for me! I was approved with $99 deposit and a 200 CL. I deposited $200, and they gave me a $301 CL. After 6 months of on time payments they raised my limit to $601. I have had nothing but the best experience with this company. They never call me, and thier mobile app is super easy and convenient!

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous

Hi I would like to know can I be approved for this card if I receive disability benefits 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®