Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
711 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured MasterCard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured MasterCard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit--and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2017
Great to help build credit!
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 560 in Feb 2016 and was approved with a minimum deposit of $99. I made a $100 deposit and they gave me a limit of $201. I use this for small purchases here and there (Birchbox subscription, gas, fast food) and paid more than my minimum payment every month, usually I would pay the entire balance. I logged in this evening to pay my balance of $43 and now my credit limit says $501! So in 11 months they upped me $300. More importantly, in 11 months my credit score has gone from a 560 to a 682 and I was approved for a Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards card with a $4,000 limit! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 22, 2016
Decent but not great
ITLady Cardholder

I've had this card for 10+ years.  I got it to rebuild my credit under a secured card, sent my deposit and got a $200 limit (which I understood because I had bad credit) a few months later, they raised my credit limit to $300.  I've never had a late payment or any issues with the card, but my credit limit has also never been raised again.  They switched the card from a secured to an unsecured a couple years ago but when I did ask for an increase (in the last year, I have a score of 740 now) their system still sees it as a secured card and requires another deposit, when I try the deposit it sees it as unsecured and won't let me do one.  

I only keep this card open because it's my oldest revolving credit account.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 28, 2017
MIRACLES
mdelmore14 Cardholder

Started off with $49 Deposit for a $200 CL, 5 full statements later I was increased to $500 CL and now I am pre-qualified for the platinum and quiksilver one card. 

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Good at rebuilding credit!
juang16 Cardholder

I love my card i got a CL Increase after 6months to 500$ i only put a 99 $ deposit it reports monthly and has helped my credit amazingly

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
Great card! capital one increase?

I love the card it has been great for my credit, etc, between this card and the Discover Secured card and other factors my credit has shot up 80pts in 6 mos. HOWEVER, I have cleared 5 statements and going on the 6th at the end of this month. I have still seen no increase, I am never late, I make several payments throughout the month. Why do some people get increases at 5 mos and others have to wait till the 6th month? 

more ...
Mar 28, 2017

You get your increase on the 6th statement

 
Mar 28, 2017

ok thank you because some "ppl" on here swear it was on their 5th month and 5th statement. lol They managed to pay their bill on time so I would hope they know when they got their increase...

 
Mar 26, 2017
Great for building credit!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied for this card one year ago my score was 560. Now I'm at 656 in just one year. The goal is to pay the card on time and don't just make the minimum payment. What I did was pay my balance in full every month and after six months I was given a credit line increase from $200 to $500. It's was a couple of weeks before Christmas so I was pretty surprised. Now after a year of no late payments my account was upgraded to a unsecured card and my security deposit was returned. I always recommend the Capital One Secured credit card to anyone trying to build credit cause with responsible use you will be rewarded. Good luck and God Bless...

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
Pretty good card
YellowPaper Cardholder

When I was younger, I made the mistake of taking out 2 credit cards before I really knew what to do. But capital one approved me for this card. I just made my 5 month on time payment and 2 days later I woke up with a increase of $300. I only made a $99 deposit for $200. It has definitely raised my scored. Especially when they raised my limit, it gave me a 74 point increase. I would most definitely recommend if you're trying to fix your credit. 

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
Just getting started

Hello all! I'm excited to be a new cardholder, and even more excited that it's the start of repairing my credit and looking towards a brighter future for my family and I. I haven't had any score changes yet because

I haven't even received my first statement. I have paid twice though. I've heard some say you should carry a balance, others say as long as you use it. I'll get a chance first hand to see what gets the best results.

I've heard great things from many, and I just wanted to join the upgoing. I'll keep you all updated as I get updates.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
When will it happen?
Lionslady67 Cardholder

Do had my card since December, all good raised my credit score a bit happy about that,. My question is how long before i get a credit increase , been paying off my card way before the due date. So just need to know how long.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017

Hello usually after your 5th on time payment they will automatically give you an increase. Also they are having a special for their credit card customers call and receive a lower interest rate. Hope this helped

 
Mar 24, 2017

Yes I received my increase on the 6th billing cycle

 
Mar 25, 2017

I did too after 5th month. Regards the apr can they actually decrease your apr so I can actually call and apply?

 
Mar 22, 2017
Capital ONE believed in ME!!. THANK YOU!
MomaYow Cardholder

When my credit score was up toa  597 { it was as low as low could go,thanks to my ex husband, where as I did have perfect credit up until him.. lesson learned} I had gotten an offer in the mail for a pre approved card. I figured ahhh what the heck, the worst thing they can do is deny it.. So...... I gave it a go online and it said APPROVED!!!  $300.00 but hey it is was a start I was excited. So several weeks later I got anther and I said.... well... Ok.. lets go with it.. I was approved again for another capital one card. $500.00 .. I was thinking cool deal. Now I can start rebuilding  my credit and proving myself once again  of course it has been 12 years since I have had a credit card also ! After a few months of paying on time. my crdit line increased dramtically. I was so exstatic. a few months later.. I got another offer in the mail.. {BY THE WAY NONE OF THESE HAD ANY KIND OF ANUAL FEES, NEVER EVER , EVER PAY FOR A CREDIT CARD ...EVER!!!! My Mom taught me that as a child. you never pay a company to get a credit card. if you can NOT get one without a fee, it is not worth having keep trying until you can get one without any fee, nobody needs a credit card that bad!!}  I now have several a year later and I am so proud of myself. Don't get me wrong, I have been turned down a few times as well, but that is ok. I now have 5 major and 2  others. So I am not doing bad right now. Instaed of paying once a month I now pay on my credit cards every week at least the minimal payment each time. That way it brings the balance down quicker and proves credit worthiness more so than paying minimun once a month.. It is best to try for about 6 months to pay your card off every month. It strengthens your credit faster than carrying a balance.. That actually hurts over all. So if you can't pay it off when your statement comes in. Pay on it every week to show you are trying to pay it down to get it paid off. You can still get paper statements, while making your payments online. You can even get email and text notifications when your billing statement is ready. I hope this really helps someone out there. I wish you all the best. I still have a lot to work on with my credit, but everything should be coming off soon, if only some of the creditors would stop selling the accounts to other companies , which makes it look like a new account, which keeps hurting my score.. I try not to focus on that much, I just keep on keeping on and stay positive and doing all I can.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Perfect for Quickly Rebuilding Credit
bigapplestyle Cardholder

When I first got this card I was below 600 on all my scores with TU being the worst at around 497 with very delinquint student loans and some old charges - with a few that I needed to dispute. I hadn't had a credit card since college (which was 13+ years ago) and had wrecked my credit with helping family when I was in my early 20s. I finally decided to get serious last year about fixing my credit so I can qualify for a home in the coming years.  I applied for the card Sept '16 and was approved with a $49 deposit for $200 limit. I received the card in Oct and only used it to buy a weekly metrocard ($31 ea.) - making sure to pay it off so it was down to 10% utilization every week for reporting. My score jumped dramatically on TU from 497 in Oct to 633 as of today. EQ dropped from 592 to 498 and rebounded back to 547 because there were more items listed on that report than on the other two so the addition of a credit line initially hurt my score. And FICO/Experian stayed roughly flat - only moving from 582 to 603 as of today.. 3.16.17 marked 5 months of on time payments - at first I was annoyed because it didn't immediately increase my score. And when I called customer service over the weekend they said it could take 2 more billing statements to reflect the increase. But when I made my weekly payment this past Mon (3.20) I saw my limit had been automatically increased to $500. ^_^ On a whim I checked the Capital One pre-qualifier on their site to see if I qualified for any additional cards (as I wanted to upgrade to an unsecured card with a higher limit) and it said I qualified for the Quicksilver card. Just applied for that and was approved for a $1000 limit!! So now I have a total of $1500 credit limit - just waiting for the actual card to come in. Currently my scores are 633/547/603 (TU/EQ/EX). I was able to successfully dispute some of the old debts/records on all 3 of my reports which also helps me look much more desireable and of course I also started paying back my student loans via a structured repaymeant plan to take them out of default which as of next month will report to the bureaus as now being current.

This card was great for basically boosting my score by over 100pts for TU, 50pts for EQ (after factoring in the drop), and 23pts for EX in such a short span of time because it reports every 7 days to the credit bureaus. It'll work for you if you pay on time and make sure you keep your utilization low. Stick to no higher than 20% but ideally 10% or less - which I know can be tricky since the initial credit limit for this card is so low to begin with. But if you're serious about fixing your credit, this card will help fast track you! Note, Capital One uses your TU score as it always matches perfectly against my CK TU score every week. Plus the Capital One mobile app is very easy to use to help make it easy to make payments or updates when you use your card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

711 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i