Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

more ...
 

Reviews (1360)

Add Review
May 27, 2016
It is great to have it
Johanna1357 Cardholder

There is nothing to complain about, this card is a blessing for me 

more ...
May 27, 2016
You will never get a credit increase!!!!
Ichabod24 Cardholder

I've had this card for 3 years.  I've never had a late payment, I have used the card regularly, always paid more than the minimum and never gone over my credit limit.  So after 3 years I ask for a credit limit increase and they deny it saying "Unsecured credit line increases are not available upon request on Secured Card accounts".  So when they state in their advertisement that "You may qualify for a credit line increase based on your payment history and creditworthiness with no additional deposit required" , this is an absolute lie.  I haven't missed a payment in any area of my credit in over 3 years!!  I have a Merrick Bank card that has already given me a credit line increase without me even having to ask after only a little over a year.  I contacted Capital One and they kept saying "We try to provide our customers with all the best options".  No!!! They don't!!!  They just kept asking me to put more money down!!  Only use this card if you have to like I did after my bankruptcy.  Once your credit gets a little better take an offer from another credit card company because, trust me,  you will never get anything like a credit line increase or interest reduction from CAPITAL ONE!  They don't value your business and never will.

more ...
May 25, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

PLEASE DON'T GET THIS CARD I GOT THAT CARD HAD FOR ALMOST 3 MONTHS PAID EVERY SINGLE PAYMENT ON TIME NEVER USED MORE THAN 35 THEY NEVER REPORT MY PAYMENT TO CREDIT BUREAU WHEN I CALLED THEY TOLD ME IT WILL TAKE,60 TO 90 DAYS TO CORRECT THE ISSUE BEFORE I CAN SEE RESULT ON MY CREDIT I'M GOING TO PAY IT OFF DON'T USE IT OR CLOSE THE ACCOUNT THIS IS CRAZY :(

more ...
May 26, 2016

I agree mines was never reported either.

 
May 26, 2016

Did they explain why it wasn't reported?

 
May 26, 2016

Why hasn't it been reported ?

 
May 26, 2016

Maybe they won't report your account to bureaus because you use all caps annoyingly.

 
May 25, 2016
Anonymous

How long does it take to receive your card after deposit has been cleared from bank?

more ...
May 25, 2016

Took me about 2 weeks.

 
May 24, 2016
Anonymous

Got Denied my credit score 524 :( Oh well

more ...
May 24, 2016
Anonymous

It says my odds was good and it still denied me. Smh 

more ...
May 24, 2016

I applied and payed the $99 deposit they asked for on 5/4 ..its now 5/24..still waiting for card.

more ...
May 26, 2016

This card did take a while to come, almost 3 weeks.

 
May 26, 2016

If u call and complain, they will send it in two days through fedex. Happened to me

 
May 23, 2016
pending approval

why I apply for the card and they cannot make a decision? my credit scores are up to the 600 now as I have been working on them for a while now but stll apply for this card a secured card at that and I am waiting on a decision which will probably be denied.  I dont get it 

more ...
May 27, 2016

At 600 pts u can get the cap one platinum

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®