Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.4623 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.9%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.9%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

more ...

Reviews (967)

Add Review
Nov 25, 2015


more ...
Nov 25, 2015

Did you apply for the secured card or the regular card

Nov 25, 2015
vanah23 Cardholder

I've had my card about 3 months now, no issues, they have an app you can use to track your spending, balance, and credit!

I've paid my balanced ahead of time to avoid any issues. I'd say its definitley worth the deposit. If you are debating just go for it!

more ...
Nov 25, 2015


Nov 22, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is okay to establish credit BUT after paying more than the minimum every month, I called them to see if I would qualify for a credit line increase I was told that you can only do that if you give them more deposit money. They state on the add this site has for them that no additional deposit would be needed but they say they no longer do this. So since it is my only/oldest account I'm out 300 bucks until I close the account.

more ...
Nov 22, 2015
This card is the perfect card for anyone
needy53 Cardholder

Capital one is the best. Perfect for credit building

more ...
Nov 20, 2015
Dreyau Cardholder

After one month my credit score went up 30 points. It was very exciting. This card has a low balance and is easy to pay through the mobile app. Makes it easier to make financial decisions.

more ...
Nov 16, 2015
A verygood card to build credit history!
Anonymous Cardholder

Before I had this card I had been rejected three times by Chase and BoA due to poor credit history. After being rejected for the fourth time, I was recommended by a Chase branch manager, yes, you hear me, a Chase brand manager to start with a CapitalOne Secured card to build credit history and come back to apply for the Chase Freendom after 6 months. I did exactly what the manager said. I got a secured CapitalOne card easily, approved instantly with $500 limit. After 5 months of ontime payments, my limit was automatically increased to $800. After 10 months, my credit score was improved to 660. Then I applied for Chase freedom (good odd), Amex (good odd), requested to upgrade to an unsecured CapitalOne card and applied for Amazon store card, and guess what I was approved instantly for these cards. Like I said, if you want to build credit history, this is a very good card to go with. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2015
No graduate program ):
emenom Cardholder

When I initially applied for this card I was under the impression that after a few months of on time payments I would be able to move up to another an "unsecured" card. Unfortunately to my dismay customer service informed me it they do not have a graduate program "at this time". If its the only card you can get, it will help you increase your score, but dont expect to move up to another card.

more ...
Nov 15, 2015

I applied and was approved with a 49 dollar deposit. I was also approved with the quick silver one the same day. I paid my deposit and just waiting to hear back. They say it could take 3 weeks to get the card after paying. Question for people who's been through this. How long did it take for you to get your card after paying your deposit? 

more ...
Nov 16, 2015

Took my card 2 weeks

Nov 17, 2015

Thank you for your response. :-)

Nov 20, 2015

2 weeks here as well.

Nov 21, 2015

Same here

Nov 24, 2015

all depends on how long the ACH process takes for the funds to clear to the account. I work for cap one and also am a Secured Card holder myself. generally customers receive their cards sooner than the 3 weeks timeframe. usually around 2 week timeframe.

Nov 15, 2015
Great for Establishing Credit
mgudyka Cardholder

and that's about it! 

Don't get me wrong, though, it's a great quality to have. This was my very first credit card. I did a lot of reading about building credit and where to start and a lot of sources said to start with a secured card and using Capital One because this card won't gouge you. I applied with a credit score in the range of mid 500s. I had no credit lines and one previous missing payment on file (paid in full then 2 years ago) from a utility company and a bunch of hard inquiries from failed attempts to open a credit card from the year prior.

In applying for the card, there was an option to ~*~design your own~*~, which I obviously did. I submitted my application and forgot about it. I still am not sure if I was instantly approved or not, but a few days later, I received an email saying the image I uploaded was approved and my card was in the mail. Woohoo! I was approved for $200 (which I thought was incredible) and put down an additional $350 deposit.  In the course of 3 months of on-time payments, my score improved drastically from the mid 500s to just above the 600s, which gave me enough confidence to apply and get approved for an unsecured card.

One year passes and I discover there is an option online to request a credit line increase. My request was rejected because the account is for a secured card. Boo. I don't know if I could call someone there and get that changed but I guess I don't mind. I've never otherwise thought to call customer service I don't think. It's technically my oldest account so I keep it around, but it offers no benefits and I am terrified to close it because I have only heard horror stories about getting deposits back. I will update if I ever try to do that.

Thanks for reading.

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®