Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 24, 2019
Nitro1211 Cardholder

Just got this card and I’m very disappointed..been using this card for almost a month now and last night I decided to book my family a nice day at six flags and my card was denied so I did what anyone would do and phoned up American Express and was told that they blocked my card until I’ve made a payment..HUH??...WHAT?...so I asked about the payment and was in total shock when I heard my billing statement will not be ready until September 10 and the payment would be due in October so we continue to talk and I was told from Amex that they needed payment history from me in order to unlock my card..I replied how can there be payment history when my first payment is not due yet??...you haven’t even created an invoice or statement yet and I only have $2,800 charge thus far trying to reach my $5,000 requirement to receive 60,000 points..so then I was told to pay 50% of the balance and they would unlock my card..HUH??...WHAT??...50%?..I ask where are you getting the arbitratray 50% number if no payment is due so basically American Express platinum shut down my card in August for a billing statement that won’t be ready until September 10 and payment won’t be due until October..not keeping this card..going to chase sapphire reserve.

more ...
Aug 24, 2019

O yeah my credit score is 810 on all three credit reports.

 
Aug 25, 2019

Maybe the consumer is supposed to have $6k in charges, not hold a balance of $6k.

 
Jul 29, 2019
Great Value
JtheCPA Cardholder

I have a branded Amex platinum with Charles Schwab, and I try to use it  as often as possible. I have the cash magnet, as well as the gold card, which creates the perfect tri-fecta as far as credit cards go. I would recommend this card to any one. The value is tremendous and far outweighs the annual fee! 

more ...
Jul 28, 2019
Best Reward Card
MrSpin83 Cardholder

I am so excited to have this card for many reasons. I had horrible credit about 8 months ago due to a divorce. I worked extremely hard to build my credit up, pay off some negative items and dispute things that were not mine. I keep an eye on this card and the approval chances credit karma gave. When it hit “very good approval” odds I applied and was approved. My trans union score at time was 720 equifax was 721. Do keep in mind that AMEX uses Experian credit FICO score for which my score with them was 660 at the time and was approved. If you travel this is a great card. I received it right before a trip to Chicago and at the airport was able to experience the lounges through priority pass. Also used my Uber credit (you get $15 per month and $20 in December). There are many benefits to this card which makes the $550 fee per year worth it. Not to mention the card it metal and feels and looks really cool :) I feel like I made it with this card. This is a charge card so you are really good to spend daily purchases with it but on the app you can check your spending power and I was able to get approved without contacting AMEX up to $23,000 purchase which I will never do. I highly recommend this card and I’m VERY HAPPY to be an AMEX card holder and member. 

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
Great for travel purposes

My take on this card is that it's not meant to be a "daily driver" unless you don't care at all about how fast you're accumulating MR points. 5X on airfare, the Hilton Gold status and the airport lounge access are for me the main reasons to have this card. I happen to fly Delta a lot, and their Sky Clubs in the major airports make waiting for flights a lot nicer. Just in one nine-night stay at a Hilton property recently, the free upgrade to a top-floor suite and the daily free breakfast justified a large part of the Platinum card's annual fee. The only annoying "gotcha" is that if you book hotel stays for Hilton and Marriott through the AMEX travel site (have to book that way to earn the 5X MR points on the purchase), the "gold" status at those properties given by the card will NOT be recognized. I am not a frequent Uber user, but the monthly credit does work for Uber Eats so I basically call that "one free delivered lunch per month".

Having this card would make no sense for someone who rarely-to-never travels by air, but frequent travelers will easily get value way beyond the annual fee.

more ...
Jul 07, 2019
Just got approved for this card!
WizzardJoe Cardholder

Have not received it yet, but excited as credit karma said my odds were "poor". Starting to think credit karma is overrated!

more ...
Jul 11, 2019

What are your ck scores?

 
Jul 23, 2019

Apparently Amex approves their charge cards to almost everyone. Go try to get the Chase Sapphire Reserve.

 
Aug 25, 2019

What is your score?

 
Sep 10, 2019

How are the odds poor but you were approved?...

 
Jul 06, 2019
PLP11 Cardholder

Best card I’ve ever had. The membership team is amazing and you never have to wait to speak to a live person. Great perks, beautiful card and a fantastic experience! 

more ...
Jun 23, 2019
My favorite card in my wallet!!!
Ironmanjay Cardholder

My first card with American Express is the cash magnet, had it for about a year paid my balance in half or full every month, and just maintained the utilization to 30% or less. After a year was invited to get the Paltinum card. Was a bit skeptical to get because of the 550 annual fee. But after looking at all the benefits that comes with it, they do have value to me. Plus they also have a “pay overtime” feature that allows you to pay like a regular Amex credit card. Great customer services, they show you a lot of love! My score when I got this card was 748 and income 8k-9k monthly. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2019
Ten Years on AMEX Blacklist & APPROVED
AZnovelist Cardholder

It's been a long journey on my way back to AMEX. In 2006 I found myself in an unfortunate situation and sued over a real estate transaction. We lost and walked away from some creditors--AMEX was one of them, to a tune of $24K. From 2006 to 2012 we were chased by creditors and had a mid-500’s credit score. Capital One decided to give me a shot at $300 limit, even though I had defaulted on them. It too a couple years to get it to to a $3K limit, then Chase gave me the Slate. Slowly I crawled out of the low 600’s to the high 6’s and got my first reward card---Chase’s Southwest. I’m a fan of The Points Guy and Read his newsletters. Fast forward to 2019, my score teeters between 750-800, I have 16 cards and over $200K in open lines of credit, and my debt ratio is around 2%---meaning I pay off my cards monthly. I have three premium cards and for the last several years kept getting declined by AMEX. Yesterday I read an article from TPG on AMEX Platinum and decided, what the heck. APPROVED!!!!! There is hope for you that are on the blacklist. 

more ...
Jun 30, 2019

How did you get your income level that high? Have you ever used your lines of credit simultaneously to make a large purchase and would doing so make sense? Great personal story by the way. Great turn around. Congratulations.

 
Jul 20, 2019

My story is virtually identical and I had to make sure it wasn’t something I wrote. I’m still having trouble getting this card but managed to get the Gold card for my business which is not the same. Will keep trying. Thanks for sharing mate.

 
Jun 21, 2019
Great travel department-
TexasTylerRose Cardholder

The travel department booked our entire Disney cruise for us, and got me a better rate and nonstop flight that I was not able to get myself.

 I have also enjoyed the points. We got an icemaker for our office which is great and we’ve also had several free hotel stays .

 I am very glad that I got the card.

more ...
Jun 20, 2019
excellent communications
jflisboa Cardholder

In less than five minutes you get a text annoucing the transaction ....this is tremendously helpfull to avoid fraude. The customer service is unique...the high annual cost is a great value for money.....

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Platinum Card® from American Express

30 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i