Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 17, 2017
Approved with 612 and 616 scores
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a SkyMiles rewards member and was sent an offer to apply for this card directly from Delta. They offered 60,000 sky miles points if you make $1000 in purchases within the first 3 months of having the card. They also issue a $50 statement credit after you make 1 Delta purchase within the first 3 months. I was instantly approved (online application) with 616 and 612 Equifax and TransUnion scores and given a $1000 limit. Very happy to have this card as I travel a lot and will make good use of the $29 discounted entry into the Sky Club lounges and no foreign transaction fees! When you activate your card they also transfer you over to a representative to walk you through all of the benefits and make sure you understand how to qualify for the bonuses. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 19, 2017

Happy for you!! Congrats!! I love Delta and I'm a skymiles member as well. Now only if my score would ever get high enough to get this card lol. Eight now it's a 532 in one and a 534 in the other.

 
Mar 28, 2017
VanFar Cardholder

i came to America prementaly on August 2016, i knew it was important to build credit, so i made a whole lot of research and in that research i ended up joing credit karma, then i started recieving credit card recomendations, guess what.. all were Secure credit cards, then the one that made the most sense to me at that time was the Capital One Secure credit card, i deposited $301 and i got $452 credit limit, im very impatient, my credit score was around 565, i continued my research and by Octobar 2016 i found out about something called Piggybacking, which means when someone who has better credit score than you adds you into one of their Credit cards as an authorized user, awesome... my wife has awesome credit score 758, and she added me to the credit card with the Highest credit limit, Two days later, on a sunday afternoon, i was chilling in my balcony and i got my iPad, some how i signed into Credit karma, and my score was 737, holly cow, and Guess my recommendation was? Gold Delta SKy Miles Credit card, SPG American Express, Sapphire Preferred. i didnt apply immediately, i got a coffee, i didnt want to start getting credit hits and inquiries, so i narrow it down to the recommendations that had my odds at "Good" , this card Wells Fargo Platimum Rewards were the easiest to get among the pool of recommendations. i took a deep breath and pulled the Trigger, i was approved for 1k limit for Gold Delta instantly then applied Wells Fargo Platinum Rewards card, then i got a message that says your account needs review and we will send you a letter in the mail, oh crap that means rejected, 7 days later i got the letter and it says your identity couldnt be verified send us proof of address and SSC copy, i was reliefed and i sent them immediately, i was approved 1k again, then a month later i applied for SPG then same rhetoric "we are reviewing your card.." i gave them a call immediately, i talked to a nice representative and they said they couldnt approve it immediately because there was a glinch on the system but im happy to let you know you are approved for 2k. AWESOME.

The DELTA SKY MILES i have earned 52k so far and the 50k was the signing up bonus, i got it two days after i reached 2k spending requirement

anyway build your credit but also try to find someone you trust and that trusts you that has good credit score, my wife certainly singlehandedly made me a member of AMEX family

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Great bonus offer!
JenJen3015 Cardholder

I received an offer in the mail for bonus miles for being a Skymiles member. I was hesitant to apply because I've certainly heard my share of "no's" on my credit rebuilding journey. I read reviews on this site and noticed the lending criteria was more relaxed for this card then other Amex's. My Experian FICO score was 652 at the time of application. Per the reviews, Amex tends to pull Experian, and that is absolutely the one of mine that was pulled. I was shocked to be approved for the starter $1000 credit line. This is such a victory in my credit journey and I can't wait to get the card and take advantage of the benefits!

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
I got approved!!
mdlgols Cardholder

I decided to make this my last inquiry for the next two years and I really wanted an airline mileage card as well as an Amex. I knew I had a lot of inquiries due to car shopping and recently getting my credit back on track and have been applying to a few cards here and there (mainly store cards).  I honestly didn't think I would be approved but low and behold I was approved and for $9700 (this is my BIGGEST credit line ever).  I'm elated that I can begin earning miles and now I have enough credit line to feel like a real member of society

more ...
Mar 18, 2017

Can this card be used on other purchases? Besides buying airplane tickets

 
Mar 21, 2017

Yes

 
Apr 19, 2017

What were your scores when you applied for this card?

 
Mar 15, 2017
Good if you travel a lot
EYMRS Cardholder

Approved instantly for $10,000 with an Experian score of 690. 

I live in a Delta hub which makes this card a little more valuable for me. I was approved 10 days after opening a AMEX Blue Cash Everyday.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Finally Approved!
Anonymous Cardholder

I read many of your reviews and saw that some were approved with "low" credit scores so I took the chance with a 624 experian credit score and was instantly approved for $1k credit limit. It isn't much, but I am happy to finally be a AMEX cardholder. Thank you fellow CK reviewers!

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Approved with 651 FICO
Anonymous Cardholder

Ck gave good approval odds applied, got the 14 days message. I call the reconsider line they needed to verify my address because I recently moved and after the rep kindly verified the information provided they approved me for $1000 with fico 651 exp Ck TU633 and EQ 625.

more ...
Mar 12, 2017
Super convenient perks
ahinson1987 Cardholder

I was approved for this card with a 2k limit in march of last year with a credit score of 704. I've had this card for right at a year now and it's probably my favorite one I own. the perks are invaluable to a frequent traveler and they raised my limit to 6k in january without my asking. every time I've had interactions with their customer service it's been a positive experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 29, 2017

can you tell me how long you had the card before they raised your limit?

 
Mar 11, 2017
Good Card to have
Anonymous Cardholder

I own it. Great customer service (had a chuckle or 2 with them)  Bonus applied accordingly. deals and accurate statements.  Flight attendants not so professional. No interest fee for the 1st year, Call customer service for any concerns, you will not be disappointed.

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Good Card to have
Anonymous Cardholder

I own it. Great customer service (had a chuckle or 2 with them)  Bonus applied accordingly. deals and accurate statements.  Flight attendants not so professional. No interest fee for the 1st year, Call customer service for any concerns, you will not be disappointed.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

55 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i