Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 19.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro annual fee for the first year, then $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 19.49%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 01, 2016
APPROVED TU 651 EQ 656 EX 627
tyebryan Cardholder

Had a 540 score about 6 months ago. Always wanted to be apart of the Amex family and ive been itching to get my hands on one of there cards. So I decided to pull the trigger and was aproved for 1K. Got hyped up and applied for the Green Card, but was swiftly let down. Still happy to get my foot in Amex. Currently have Cap 1 Secured $250 QuicksilverOne $500 and now the Gold Delta Skymiles $1000. I have two open collections from 2012 but no missed payments 3% credit utilization and only 3 recent inquiries.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 16, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for one year. Approved for $1,000 limit. Airline perk is great. Love the free1st baggage policy. Customer service and billing is pretty straight forward. The only problem with this card is trying to get a credit increase. I was denied 2 times!! I also have a capital one venture for $4,300 limit and a well Fargo for a $3,800 limit and a USAA card for $5,000 limit. A car loan for $15,000.. All my credit cards are always paid led in full..AMEX in granting credit increased are horrible!! I only keep the card for the perks and keep the card open for credit score purposes.. Guess AMEX don't believe in a loyal company base of customers..

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 15, 2016
So far, so good with a card with perks
BeforeLunch Cardholder

I hadn't actively used a credit card for a while and was looking to take advantage of the 50k SkyMiles deal and one-year fee waiver. Any issue I've had has been promptly and professionally handled by Amex's customer service. They earned the reputation as world-class in that category. Their fee is a bit high, though, for the benefits, if I had a chief complaint. Obtained card on first application ~7/2016 with $5k limit, instant request for CL raise to $10k granted instantly 10/2016, with low-mid 700s TU & EQ, high 600s FICO, >$300k debt, current. This card seems like a great way to start out with the rightly venerable Amex.

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
MGMMM Cardholder

Have been thinking of applying for a long time. I was instantly approved for this card. CK said I had very good chances and I received a pre-approval in the mail, so figured I'd give it a shot. I have a 654 credit score. Approved with a 5k credit line. This is my highest credit line.

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
Surprisingly approved 11k credit limit
Anonymous Cardholder

CK said I had very good chances and I received a pre apporval in the mail, so figured I'd give it a shot. I have a 690 credit score. Approved with a 11k credit line. My highest line so far. My only concern is the $95 annual fee after the first year free. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I was instantly approved for this card. Have been thinking of applying for it for along time.  Important to note, i defaulted on a gold card 7 years previously , paid it off and then they sent me an optima card 6 years ago.  Looks like i am no longer blacklisted with amex. 646 tu score

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
I was surprised!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Like many of the reviews that I've read, I decided a couple days ago to take a chance and apply for this card since I've been flying with delta. I've had a skymiles account for years, but never a card because my credit wasn't all that perfect. Credit Karma said I had a fair chance of being approved and that chance was a winner because I was approved with a credit score of 632. I am very happy to be apart of the AMEX family. Even though my husband wouldn't be able to reap the benefits as the primary, he can still use it for emergencies if need be. 

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been working on my credit since January of this year.i started out with a 590 equafax an was able to get my first credit card witch was secured from my credit union..three months later I was approved for a capital one quicksilver for $300..somehow I stumbled apon this card on credit card with a fair chance of getting the reviews an decided to swallow the bullet an my surprise instant approved for 1000!!im very proud of where I have come an am proud to be apart of the Amex family!

more ...
Sep 02, 2016
Gold Delta Amex
busyfixing Cardholder

Approved!  2k,oof I was holding my breath for this won.  Experian 668, too many hards to count and 2 deragotory public records.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Masheen Cardholder

I was finally approved for an AMEX after at least half a dozen tries over the past few years.  Current KC score is 643 TU, BMW pulled a 663 recently. Starting credit line is only $1000 but I've got a foot in the door at AMEX now.  My odds were "good" and after a TON of research it seemed this was the easiest to get. Credit score is up from 535 a year and a half ago.

more ...
Aug 18, 2016
Just Applied - Approved!
rodrafferty Cardholder

I applied for this card back in May but was denied, even though I have the Green Card.  I received a letter today stating that I was declined in error and to I did.  BOOM - Approved with an $8,000 limit.  They pulled my transunion which has a score of 705 as of today.  

I did send them a letter asking to have the May inquiry removed from my credit report since I was declined in error, so I hope they do the right thing and remove it.  I have nothing but good things to say about Amex - I love my Green Card, so I am looking forward to using this one!

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
First American Express
zenmasternate Cardholder

This is my first American Express card.  I applied with a tu ,eq both around 630. They only gave me a cl of $1,000 but I don't mind. It's a good start.  I snagged it when they offered the 50,000 mile sign up bonus.  It's been almost two months and I already have the miles parked in my account.  Delta sky miles don't stretch very far but I'll take them.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Sep 04, 2016

Congrats !!! I have 629 exp Fico but I have like 30 inquiries and one 30 day payment. You think the will approve ?

Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

46 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i