Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro annual fee for the first year, then $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 01, 2016
APPROVED TU 651 EQ 656 EX 627
tyebryan Cardholder

Had a 540 score about 6 months ago. Always wanted to be apart of the Amex family and ive been itching to get my hands on one of there cards. So I decided to pull the trigger and was aproved for 1K. Got hyped up and applied for the Green Card, but was swiftly let down. Still happy to get my foot in Amex. Currently have Cap 1 Secured $250 QuicksilverOne $500 and now the Gold Delta Skymiles $1000. I have two open collections from 2012 but no missed payments 3% credit utilization and only 3 recent inquiries.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 16, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for one year. Approved for $1,000 limit. Airline perk is great. Love the free1st baggage policy. Customer service and billing is pretty straight forward. The only problem with this card is trying to get a credit increase. I was denied 2 times!! I also have a capital one venture for $4,300 limit and a well Fargo for a $3,800 limit and a USAA card for $5,000 limit. A car loan for $15,000.. All my credit cards are always paid led in full..AMEX in granting credit increased are horrible!! I only keep the card for the perks and keep the card open for credit score purposes.. Guess AMEX don't believe in a loyal company base of customers..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 14, 2017
Pleasantly surprised!
xunlimited88 Cardholder

I had a TU score of 592 and and EQ score of 577 and the approval odds were poor on this card through credit karma. I was pretty sure that I wouldn't qualify for it, but after doing a soft pull from card match, I was approved. Granted it is only $1000, it is moving in the right direction for someone who is trying to rebuild their credit!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

Omg are you foreal I thought you had to have higher scores for Amex 🤔

 
Jan 05, 2017
Just applied, and I was approved!!!
zach00012 Cardholder

I am a 19 year old college student, and working on building my credit up. Working a full time job while attending school. Started off with a discover, and capital one student card. I have now a marriott rewards card, and just got approved for the delta skymiles card!!! Instantly approved with a 15,000 dollar credit line. Amex has done me right so far! Ready to start using these perks!!!

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Great card for my favorite airline!
brlgoodtimes Cardholder

SO excited about getting approved for this card. I am a 19-year old college student, and I started building my credit 6 months ago with a Capital One Secured Platinum Card, and paid in full every month until getting a CLI after 6 months. Then I approved for the AmEx Everyday, Green Charge, and Gold Delta SkyMiles in the same morning and was approved for all.  Only $1000 limit on this, but excited for the free bag and miles. I have CK scores of TU 668 and EQ 673. I hope this helps!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Great Card
chicagopaul65 Cardholder

It says my chances are poor.  I applied and was approved instantly.  My score is 639 TU and 681 Equifax so I don't know what criteria was used.

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
CSN90 Cardholder

Today was the first time using the benefits of the card...the free check bag an priority boarding came in handy...an the sky miles posted to my account within a few hours...definitely looking forward to using this card an taking advantage of the benifits 

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
Approved.
brayok Cardholder

Applied for this card a few months ago but got denied CK gave me a fair chance.. Kept rebuilding. CK gave me a good chance a couple weeks ago and today i decided to bite the bullet. TU 663 EQ FICO 662. Approved fir 2K limit. I have a couple derogatories and quite a few CI's from trying to rebuild. 100% payment history and 28% utilization. Cap 1 $1500, Merrick $600, Barclaycard $1500 Kohls $2000.Hope this is helpful.

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Approved!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I rebuilt my credit with a cap card and two others with small limits. My credit was still in the 500's but had my student loans go back into good standing after I went through the 9 month rehab program. When I completed that my credit went up 60-80 points across the board. My experian was still the lowest at 627 Fico which is what Amex pulled. I was approved for 1,000 which is fine by me to start out with Amex! I saw a lot of post saying to apply for another card and really wanted the Amex Gold Charge Card - I was denied but called the recon line and after two days of them reviewing my account I was approved! Two hard pulls because I was approved for the second but well worth it! I did a lot of research and just thought I would share mine so others have more info :)

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Decent perks, low CL at first
ibedatchick10 Cardholder

So I am rebuilding my credit after a 7 yr hiatus (living just on debit is a pain in the ***) hoping to build it up to get a mortgage in about a decade. CK had my odds at good (693 TU, 664 EQ, 670 EX w/1 collection, 1 legal judgement from 5 yrs prior, no BK, accts up until this point was only student loans and private CU loan) approved within seconds for 1k. Yes its my lowest CL (discover 3400, NYCU 4100, walmartMC 1800 AMAZON Store 1700 CAP 1 pending) but it definitely helped bring my score up with the increased overall CL. Havent had to deal with customer service yet, so can not  attest to it. Will apply for an increase after March 2017. Had the card for about a montha nd already earned miles so definietly recommend.

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
All that glitters is gold.
Turr Cardholder

Application process took 60 seconds. Instant approval with a $5,000 CL (FICO from other Amex card had me at 729). Luckily I got to scoop up on the 50,000 miles for $1,000 spending in the first three months, which is a fantastic sign up bonus for this card. It also came with a $50 statement credit if you make ANY purchase with Delta in the first three months of account open. Protip: buy a $50 Delta gift card. As long as the charge is from Delta, however, Amex will give you the statement credit on your account. 
All these things are huge checks in the plus category, but one thing that I really love with Amex is that the give you the card number right after being approved, which saves on waiting for your card to arrive in the mail. I was able to make over $250 in purchases the same day I was approved and I didn't even have the physical card. Also quick delivery of the card, it took 2 business days, compared to 10 business days my BoA card took to receive. 

Overall only positives from me as of now, the $95 dollar AF may seem like a lot for a card that basically averages 1:1 miles to dollar ratio. But, with the $50 statement credit on sign-up, the 50,000 mile bonus on hardly any spending, and the first checked bag free component of this card make it worth it even if you hardly travel. Of course all of this is backed by Amex's fantastic customer service. 

10/10.

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Just got it!
Tashigu Cardholder

I do not have a FICO score yet but both of my credit scores are roughly 660, and I just applied last week and they approved my application after 2 days, wow, that was fast, compared to the declination two months ago. I'm so glad to get this card since I do travel a lot.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

50 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i