Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
63 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2017
Good Entry Level Travel Card
ModCredBldr Cardholder

I applied for this card after CK showed I had a "fair" chance of approval. There's a general rule with card approvals that many people with fair to average credit don't know about. I'll use Capital One as an example since a little trickier to explain with AMEX cards. When CC companies offer 2 or more card products that are similar in class (i.e., Quicksilver and Quicksilver One) the one with the annual fee is the one that you'll have a strong likely chance of approval. Usually, the card without the annual fee is typically reserved for people with higher credit scores. This is not to say all CC companies practice this rule, but in general, most do. In this case, Delta AMEX Gold is the base level travel card in its class. If CK shows that you have "fair" chance of approval and there is an annual fee involved, it's very likely that'll you'll be approved. If you do get approved, exercise this rule moderately. All new inquiries can negatively impact your credit score, and too many will raise a red flag with CC companies. As far as how I use this card, I primarily use it for Delta travel expenses. With fair to average credit scores, the interest rate for this card is very high and should not be used as an "everyday" card unless you intend to pay it off completely every month.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 15, 2017
Horrible Cat and Mouse Game!
MackIsMad Cardholder

Bonus Miles? I was supposed to receive the 50k miles back in May. After 6 phone calls asking where they are, they opened an "investigation case". I've been given 4 different deadline dates on when I'll receive my miles. Now here in August I am told that this is now a wide spread case affecting many people and they "hope" to issue all of the miles out by October 7th. Is it coincidence that the 3 times I've asked to speak to a supervisor I've been disconnected as soon as they pick up the phone?? Just food for thought. 

I just wish I could get a straight answer, I fly Delta every month for work and the only reason I chose this card is because my existing miles along with the 50k bonus miles would pay for my upcoming trip to visit family in October. 

Big disappointment 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 23, 2017
Great for Delta Travelers
eannette85 Cardholder

Earn points on everyday purchases and even more when purchasing Delta flights! I app'd with a bonus intro offer of 35,000 points (credit score was around 600-615 i believe; used amex website and checked the pre-qualify offers). I plan on doing the 61-day CLI when the time comes (in just a few days). I can say I have had to call customer service twice and they are awesome; the first time when I app'd and got the 7-10 day message. I went on the proactive and called them first, they just needed an idenity verification given that I had my identity stolen a few years ago. The second time I called was to find more info on a cardholder initiated CLI. 

more ...
Sep 23, 2017
First unsecured card!
Cmart1212 Cardholder

I started my rebuild after I absolutely wrecked my credit in my younger years…I started to realize that if I wanted to grow my family and get a home I needed to get my credit in check. Not one card I applied to would approve me, except Capital One. I obtained their secured platinum card and my journey began. I paid my balance in full each month and I NEVER let my UTI reach 10%. 5 months later I then obtained the Discover IT Secured (which I had been declined before) and was approved with a deposit of my choice ($300) and gardened for another 3 months. As of two days ago I applied for the Delta Sky Miles American Express and was instantly approved with a $1000 SL. So I should probably share my data points? 1 Auto Loan in current standing, 4 accounts with delinquent payments (none within the past two years), 2 open collections, CK TU: 628 EQ: 636 and wait for it…Experian 605 FICO (Discover Score Card), that AMEX pulls. I couldn’t believe it maybe it was an underwriting glitch so I applied for the AMEX Premier Rewards Gold….Another instant approval. Upon receiving my PRG (that was overnighted) it did not show the fico I was approved on but I am head over heels that I have made it this far and I am honestly ready to pay to get a real FICO at this point as CK had my odds with the Delta as “fair” and the PRG as “poor”…I’m holding both so…..I hope this helps guys good luck on your credit journey! 4 stars as the approval process has been great however I have not recieved my card as I have my PRG in hand that was expidited to me...

more ...
Sep 05, 2017
Great for sign on bonus, but then what?
jbarnes085 Cardholder

As of 09/05/17 current sign up bonus is 30K miles after you spend $1k the first 90 days (upon approval, not actual card delivery) and an additional $50 statement credit if you purchase a Delta ticket/gift card within the same 90 days. The first year the annual fee of $95 is waived but you better travel two round trips yearly on Delta after that to make sure you offset that annual fee. (as in first bag checked = free for cardholders, or $25 per bag if not) 

Having a credit score in the low 600's, a few late fees from years past and three collections, I could have never imagined I would be approved for an Amex. Usually CK recommends the Indigo Card or a CapitalOne Secured card for me every time I sign in. My score jumped about 30 points in one month from paying off a $1,500 CareCredit Card Vet bill so I decided to scroll through a list of prequalification websites from Chase, Amex, Citi, etc. All came back no, except Amex. Usually they "find an offer" for me- but I noticed the verbiage changed on their banner message. It now said "You have been successfully pre-qualified..." Perhaps they changed their lingo, but I took it as a sign- applied- crossed all of my fingers- and I couldn't believe that while the "please wait..." web page was still loading, I saw my e-mail banner pop up with an e-mail from Delta and a subject line of "Your American Express Approval..." 

I genuinely was in shock- and it took another 30 seconds or so until the web page loaded and finally said "Congratulations!". Immediately it allowed me to set up my card and preferences. I thought it was ingenious to allow a consumer to set up all of their card preferences well before we get the actual card in the mail. Signing up on a holiday weekend, It should be about 10-11 days before I receive the actual card in the mail. Between the mobile webpage and the Amex App for iOS, it was extremely simple to see what services they offer, my credit limit, and I enjoy the layout.

I do feel that this is a "foot in the door" type scenario with American Express. From all of the reviews, I see with proper usage and payments, CLI can be fairly easy to access. I'm hoping to enjoy those 30K miles just by using this as my only card and putting my CapitalOne Quicksilver Card in the drawer for a little while. 

more ...
Sep 06, 2017

Hey congrats on your new card but I gave a question did they pull TU/ or EQ I Got a offer in the mail for miles and I want to do it. Just trying to improve my score. I'm at TU/ 585 EQ/628 and EX/625

 
Sep 20, 2017

Amex pull experian

 
Aug 15, 2017
Horrible Cat and Mouse Game!
MackIsMad Cardholder

Bonus Miles? I was supposed to receive the 50k miles back in May. After 6 phone calls asking where they are, they opened an "investigation case". I've been given 4 different deadline dates on when I'll receive my miles. Now here in August I am told that this is now a wide spread case affecting many people and they "hope" to issue all of the miles out by October 7th. Is it coincidence that the 3 times I've asked to speak to a supervisor I've been disconnected as soon as they pick up the phone?? Just food for thought. 

I just wish I could get a straight answer, I fly Delta every month for work and the only reason I chose this card is because my existing miles along with the 50k bonus miles would pay for my upcoming trip to visit family in October. 

Big disappointment 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 08, 2017

I have had this same experience. I met the qualification for the bonus in April and have yet to receive them. I've also called a number of times, with no apology and they told me it would be resolved in 1 -2 more billing cycles. Ricidulous, waiting 6 months. I called Delta just to let them know what horrible service they are affiliated, but it's unfortunately out of their hands as well.

 
Aug 12, 2017
Good, but not great
WiseSpending Cardholder

Not the best travel card.  Only good if you fly with Delta very often within a year (8-12 roundtrip flights).  For those who do fly with Delta often, the biggest benefit is free first checked bag.  It's $25 one-way and $50 each roundtrip.  12 roundtrip flights = $600 in savings on checked bags.  Also insurance and anything else purchased through Delta's website gets you 2x Delta miles per dollar spent.  If you don't fly Delta often, you get a very lame 1x miles per dollar spent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 14, 2017

I have a question did they pull TU/ or EQ I Got a offer in the mail for miles and I want to do it. Just trying to improve my score. I'm at TU/ 587 EQ/628 and EX/625 think they will approve it ?

 
Aug 03, 2017
Great starter travel card
skc74 Cardholder

CK said my chances were poor, but after alot of research online I applied anyway. I have scores in the low 600's due to high utilitzation but I have no collections, or late payments or anything bad on my report. I was approved instantly for the measly 1000 but I figure it is a foot in the door and it will grow with me. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 14, 2017

I have a question did they pull TU/ or EQ I Got a offer in the mail for miles and I want to do it. Just trying to improve my score. I'm at TU/ 587 EQ/628 and EX/625 think they will approve it ?

 
Jul 30, 2017
Excited
Drrlr Cardholder

This site said my chances weren't good but applied anyways and was approved for this Delta Gold card, excited because I'm s frequent flyer with Delta Airlines

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 31, 2017

Did it say your chances were "Fair" or "Poor"? When looking at CK details theres no general credit score approval range. Thanks in advance for you help.

 
Jul 20, 2017
The best skymiles card
Anonymous Cardholder

i got apporved right away for $1,000. This card has a lot of opportunities for skymile. i really Recommend this card. And custumer serives Excellent !

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
Amex Member... w/ OK credit!
AmexChiQue Cardholder

I thought I'd share my story bc not even 24 hours ago I was searching through all these Amex reviews (various cards), trying to find a not-so-simple answer: w/ my ehh credit, would I have a shot. First off, let me tell you that I've always wanted to be a part of the Amex family, it's about the only card I don't have (meaning, I have several Visas, an MC & a Discover). Two years ago in 2 days I applied for an Amex card that KC told me I had a "fair" chance... denied. Fast forward and I added a couple rewards cards & great auto loan since then.

Last year my credit got hit the hardest, mostly because I moved from one state to another just to end up burying one of my siblings [and adding more CC debt because of that]. I had a chargeoff from DirecTV, Cap One & Amazon O_O. My student loans fell behind. Disaster doesn't even begin to describe it! But I did manage to keep up w/ my car payment, credit cards and consolidate my student loans. This helped ME but not necessarily my score. The one thing I do have is a great credit age (13+ years) and credit history. Even today my utilization is almost 50% but that's significantly better than where it was 2 months ago (90%). My actual FICO is in the mid/high 600s (as I type this I don't remember KC's #s off top but I do remember they're not great). I said all that to say this: I still qualified for this card, despite having blemishes on my credit and a nothing-to-brag-about score. No, I've never had a bankruptcy. No, I'm not just starting out. Yes, Amex still gave me a chance.

I would also like to add that I added my husband to 2 of my [paid off] CCs, where he instantly inherited my great history. His score increased by 198 points! He has 3 derogatory marks (all 4+ years old). But other than my cards he has no significant credit history. His 727 score means jack because he still can't qualify for most of these rewards cards on his own (according to KC he flags as "poor" on all of them except QuickSilver). My approval odds for most Amex cards are minimally "good" (I won't find out the hard way though), even w/ a lower score.

I say all this to say, 1) don't let your score intimidate you 2) you can absolutely qualify for an Amex, despite having imperfect credit 3) don't take these reviews too seriously. It will literally depend on your credit and yours alone.

Good luck!

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card on June 28th. I have been working on my credit for about 18 months. I have 2 cards with Credit One I know there are some not so good reviews about Credit One but the cards helped to rebuild my credit. So after looking through the offers and my approval odds I decided to apply for the Gold Delta Skymiles Amex. I was approved for a $10k credit limit and I am super excited about it. It's been a long road to recovery. Amex typically pulls from Experian and that's where they pulled my report. My scores are Experian 698 Eqx 704 TU 725. Hope this helps someone in there rebuilding stage. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

63 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i