Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 14, 2017
I'm loving everything about AMEX
nola2017 Cardholder

So about two weeks ago I took a chace on applying for a Blue Cash Everyday card and was approved much to my shock. It's been a long road to rebuilding my credit so it was exciting to be approved for an American Express, a card i've always held in high regard. I then logged into CK and saw that my approval odds were very good for a Delta Skymiles Gold card with AMEX.. so i took a chance and applied for that and was approved. I got home work the same day and came home to a mail in prescreened offer for the Amex Gold PR and decided since i'm on a roll why not? I applied via phone and kept the representative on the line for almost one hour with tons of questions. By the end of the call i was so pleased with how entusiastic and well versed the representative Christian was that I decided to pull the trigger. I was approved instantly 3 cards in 2 weeks with AMEX after years of not even being able to secure the worst cards like Credit One and First premier bank. at the time of application for all 3 my scores were as follows: TU 701 EX 700 EQ 692 ... no collections, no missed payments, WF Secure Platinum Card, and Capital One QuickSilver One. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Great for folks to rack up travel miles
ArmyDude1 Cardholder

I had a 638 on trans and 630 on equ and got approved for 5k. I carry really low balance on my 3 other cards around 5% utilization. Year ago was in mid 500s and working way back up to 700.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Solid perks
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with a Transunion score of 701, Experian score of 677. Instantly approved for 5 K after a very simple and quick application process. Some background: annual salary is 60 K, I have a few missed student loan payments, no collections, 16% utilization, and at the time of my application I had a Cap 1 Quicksilver Credit with a $750 limit, Credit One Card with $850 limit, & a Matress Firm Account with a 4K limit. 

I have had the card one month and already earned the 30K point bonus. Bought a flight using those points and recieved $50 back to my account.

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Pleasantly surprised!
xunlimited88 Cardholder

I had a TU score of 592 and and EQ score of 577 and the approval odds were poor on this card through credit karma. I was pretty sure that I wouldn't qualify for it, but after doing a soft pull from card match, I was approved. Granted it is only $1000, it is moving in the right direction for someone who is trying to rebuild their credit!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

Omg are you foreal I thought you had to have higher scores for Amex 🤔

 
Jan 05, 2017
Just applied, and I was approved!!!
zach00012 Cardholder

I am a 19 year old college student, and working on building my credit up. Working a full time job while attending school. Started off with a discover, and capital one student card. I have now a marriott rewards card, and just got approved for the delta skymiles card!!! Instantly approved with a 15,000 dollar credit line. Amex has done me right so far! Ready to start using these perks!!!

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Great card for my favorite airline!
brlgoodtimes Cardholder

SO excited about getting approved for this card. I am a 19-year old college student, and I started building my credit 6 months ago with a Capital One Secured Platinum Card, and paid in full every month until getting a CLI after 6 months. Then I approved for the AmEx Everyday, Green Charge, and Gold Delta SkyMiles in the same morning and was approved for all.  Only $1000 limit on this, but excited for the free bag and miles. I have CK scores of TU 668 and EQ 673. I hope this helps!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Great Card
chicagopaul65 Cardholder

It says my chances are poor.  I applied and was approved instantly.  My score is 639 TU and 681 Equifax so I don't know what criteria was used.

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
CSN90 Cardholder

Today was the first time using the benefits of the card...the free check bag an priority boarding came in handy...an the sky miles posted to my account within a few hours...definitely looking forward to using this card an taking advantage of the benifits 

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
Approved.
brayok Cardholder

Applied for this card a few months ago but got denied CK gave me a fair chance.. Kept rebuilding. CK gave me a good chance a couple weeks ago and today i decided to bite the bullet. TU 663 EQ FICO 662. Approved fir 2K limit. I have a couple derogatories and quite a few CI's from trying to rebuild. 100% payment history and 28% utilization. Cap 1 $1500, Merrick $600, Barclaycard $1500 Kohls $2000.Hope this is helpful.

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Approved!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I rebuilt my credit with a cap card and two others with small limits. My credit was still in the 500's but had my student loans go back into good standing after I went through the 9 month rehab program. When I completed that my credit went up 60-80 points across the board. My experian was still the lowest at 627 Fico which is what Amex pulled. I was approved for 1,000 which is fine by me to start out with Amex! I saw a lot of post saying to apply for another card and really wanted the Amex Gold Charge Card - I was denied but called the recon line and after two days of them reviewing my account I was approved! Two hard pulls because I was approved for the second but well worth it! I did a lot of research and just thought I would share mine so others have more info :)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

49 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i