Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
58 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 13, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied for this card as I fly Delta for almost every flight. Checked Experian, score is 715. Got approved with a $2000 credit limit. I also have Chase Sapphire Preferred with a $7000 limit and an AMEX Blue Cash with a $3000 limit (approved for all 3 cards in last 2 months0. 18 months ago my credit score was under 600 and I only qualified for secure cards. I am proof that you can rebuild your credit if you just stay patient! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 06, 2017
Awesome
BBerryAddict Cardholder

Love this card was approved with CK very good odds, applied and received instant approval!; giving it only 3 stars due to card chip problems, only works if swiped, received replacement card and same issue. Chip will not work at anytime, any place, but I'm able to use it online and at local gas stations which is fine with me. Thank you American Express!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 18, 2017
Worst card to get
Anonymous Cardholder

Contemplated between this and the capital one competitor.

worst customer service. They tell you all the nice things to get you to apply but the customer service is very much lacking.

equifax: 760 Trans: 763 and they gave me a $1000 limit with an income of over 100k a year? I'll pass AMEX

the only reason that I don't cancel right away is because it will hurt my score. DO NOT APPLY. Worst card choice ever....

before I applied, rep told me that they would expedite it...when I applied, they couldn't do that anymore all of a sudden. Manager told me that this limit is the most they can provide.

i hung up and applied for the venture capital one and got a 25K limit. I'll spend all my money with capital. Way better anyway!!

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
The worst card ever I had
Anonymous Cardholder

A very very bad customer service weed very rude and do not fall for the intro because they not pay it to you

more ...
May 31, 2017
I hate it
Anonymous Cardholder

I have more than 20 credit card in my position from difference creditor but I hate Sky mile gold with very very poor customer service please do not fall four this card it's the worst thing you can do

more ...
May 30, 2017
Road to Recovery!
Anonymous Cardholder

TU: 597 Equ:589; Applied and Approved instantly for 1K

CR ranked my odds of approval as "Fair". I've been rebuilding my credit for a about 5 months now. In January I had a 492. After disupting several collection accounts and late payments, I was able to get them removed and my score started to increase. I've had my share of denials from credit cards compaines, so I was a bit uneasy about applying. Today I took a chance and was instantly approved for 1K. It's much lower than the other card I have with a 25K Credit Line, but I'm greatful to finally be back on the right track and a member of the American Express family! I'm sure in time it will increase. Feels good to have another approval under my belt! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 27, 2017

What was your score when you got approved for your 25K CL?

 
May 20, 2017
Excellent Customer Service
Foodie9581 Cardholder

Great for rebuilding credit with excellent customer service.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card with avg fico of 671 and was approved 10k

more ...
May 15, 2017
Travel miles
AGraham23 Cardholder

I had a 635 fico score and was approved for $1,000 this is good to start and in 6 months they will review and increase!  

more ...
May 10, 2017
Went out on a limb and got approved!
indebt1982 Cardholder

I've applied for this card once before and got declined. Got an offer in mail from Delta months ago and finally decided to apply. TU-604/EQ - 598. Got approved for $1k. 

more ...
May 08, 2017
Good Entry Level Travel Card
ModCredBldr Cardholder

I applied for this card after CK showed I had a "fair" chance of approval. There's a general rule with card approvals that many people with fair to average credit don't know about. I'll use Capital One as an example since a little trickier to explain with AMEX cards. When CC companies offer 2 or more card products that are similar in class (i.e., Quicksilver and Quicksilver One) the one with the annual fee is the one that you'll have a strong likely chance of approval. Usually, the card without the annual fee is typically reserved for people with higher credit scores. This is not to say all CC companies practice this rule, but in general, most do. In this case, Delta AMEX Gold is the base level travel card in its class. If CK shows that you have "fair" chance of approval and there is an annual fee involved, it's very likely that'll you'll be approved. If you do get approved, exercise this rule moderately. All new inquiries can negatively impact your credit score, and too many will raise a red flag with CC companies. As far as how I use this card, I primarily use it for Delta travel expenses. With fair to average credit scores, the interest rate for this card is very high and should not be used as an "everyday" card unless you intend to pay it off completely every month.  

more ...
May 04, 2017
Perfect for college students!
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm 19 years old and had no credit when I applied for the Gold AmEx Delta card (at 18 years old with no cosigner or anything). It was my very first credit card. They gave me a limit of 1K and upped it every 3 months religiously. I've now had the Gold card for 1.5 years with a credit limit of 10K. Just yesterday, they offered me the chance to upgrade to the plantinum card and I probably will because I fly so much and it offers an annual buddy pass. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

58 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i