Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro annual fee for the first year, then $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 01, 2016
APPROVED TU 651 EQ 656 EX 627
tyebryan Cardholder

Had a 540 score about 6 months ago. Always wanted to be apart of the Amex family and ive been itching to get my hands on one of there cards. So I decided to pull the trigger and was aproved for 1K. Got hyped up and applied for the Green Card, but was swiftly let down. Still happy to get my foot in Amex. Currently have Cap 1 Secured $250 QuicksilverOne $500 and now the Gold Delta Skymiles $1000. I have two open collections from 2012 but no missed payments 3% credit utilization and only 3 recent inquiries.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 16, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for one year. Approved for $1,000 limit. Airline perk is great. Love the free1st baggage policy. Customer service and billing is pretty straight forward. The only problem with this card is trying to get a credit increase. I was denied 2 times!! I also have a capital one venture for $4,300 limit and a well Fargo for a $3,800 limit and a USAA card for $5,000 limit. A car loan for $15,000.. All my credit cards are always paid led in full..AMEX in granting credit increased are horrible!! I only keep the card for the perks and keep the card open for credit score purposes.. Guess AMEX don't believe in a loyal company base of customers..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 27, 2016
CSN90 Cardholder

Dose anyone know anything about how generous they are about giving increases? Applied for one after 61 days an was denied 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 01, 2016

If you are a new card member the "61-Day rule" does not apply. You will need to wait 6 months after account open date to apply for and receive an increase in your credit limit. Don't read everything you read here or on the internet. You should focus on if you need the credit limit increase and apply for it when you truly do not just because people say you can.

 
Nov 27, 2016
So far so good - approved w/ fair credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Post bankruptcy, almost 7 years. I applied for this card 5 years ago and was declined. Just applied again and approved wtih $1,000 CL. I'm still rebuilding my credit after so many years. I cannot complain. I applied when booking a flight not expecting approval. Haven't applied for a new card in 3 years. It was approved. I then applied for the Blue Cash Everyday Card which was also approved after I called the 800 number to verify some info when my instant approval didn't go through. 

I hear that Amex is pretty stingy with CL increases. We'll see. I'll apply for increase at exactly 6 months. I read somewhere that is the correct time to do this.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2016

Can i ask what your credit score is?

 
Nov 12, 2016
Just Got Approved
Anonymous Cardholder

 The process took all of two minutes and I had an instant approval for 1000.00.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
I was suprised!
hightek7 Cardholder

I was approved for this card with a FICO of 659, Trans - 688, EQ - 702........$4000.00 cl. I was really pleased.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Not the best credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved for a CL 1,000.00. I had an AMEX in college and ruined my credit.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
RapidFire28 Cardholder

I was approved for the AMEX Delta Skymiles this week.  I am very appreciative that AMEX approved me for this card with a 627 Experian fico 8 score.  I have 4 unpaid collection accounts, 5 unpaid charge-offs, 6 inquiries within the past year. I have 6 open credit cards, Cap 1 QuickSilver 300, Credit One Visa 500, First Access Visa 350, Surge MC 650, First Progress (SEC) 300 and Unity Visa 500. I applied for an AMEX Blue Everyday Card 6 weeks ago and was denied with a 590 credit score.  AMEX will pull your Experian credit score only.  I received a $1000 credit limit. Thank you AMEX!

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Henlehall Cardholder

Have 667 Transunion 670 equinox 720 fiCo, all that is on my credit is a secured bank of America card that I've had for 11 months got 5000 credit limit instantly. After doing the research, this is a great starter card for those looking for a travel rewards amex.

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
So far, so good with a card with perks
BeforeLunch Cardholder

I hadn't actively used a credit card for a while and was looking to take advantage of the 50k SkyMiles deal and one-year fee waiver. Any issue I've had has been promptly and professionally handled by Amex's customer service. They earned the reputation as world-class in that category. Their fee is a bit high, though, for the benefits, if I had a chief complaint. Obtained card on first application ~7/2016 with $5k limit, instant request for CL raise to $10k granted instantly 10/2016, with low-mid 700s TU & EQ, high 600s FICO, >$300k debt, current. This card seems like a great way to start out with the rightly venerable Amex.

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
Skymiles
MGMMM Cardholder

Have been thinking of applying for a long time. I was instantly approved for this card. CK said I had very good chances and I received a pre-approval in the mail, so figured I'd give it a shot. I have a 654 credit score. Approved with a 5k credit line. This is my highest credit line.

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
Surprisingly approved 11k credit limit
Anonymous Cardholder

CK said I had very good chances and I received a pre apporval in the mail, so figured I'd give it a shot. I have a 690 credit score. Approved with a 11k credit line. My highest line so far. My only concern is the $95 annual fee after the first year free. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

46 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i