Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
66 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2017
Good Entry Level Travel Card
ModCredBldr Cardholder

I applied for this card after CK showed I had a "fair" chance of approval. There's a general rule with card approvals that many people with fair to average credit don't know about. I'll use Capital One as an example since a little trickier to explain with AMEX cards. When CC companies offer 2 or more card products that are similar in class (i.e., Quicksilver and Quicksilver One) the one with the annual fee is the one that you'll have a strong likely chance of approval. Usually, the card without the annual fee is typically reserved for people with higher credit scores. This is not to say all CC companies practice this rule, but in general, most do. In this case, Delta AMEX Gold is the base level travel card in its class. If CK shows that you have "fair" chance of approval and there is an annual fee involved, it's very likely that'll you'll be approved. If you do get approved, exercise this rule moderately. All new inquiries can negatively impact your credit score, and too many will raise a red flag with CC companies. As far as how I use this card, I primarily use it for Delta travel expenses. With fair to average credit scores, the interest rate for this card is very high and should not be used as an "everyday" card unless you intend to pay it off completely every month.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 06, 2017
Awesome
BBerryAddict Cardholder

Love this card was approved with CK very good odds, applied and received instant approval!; giving it only 3 stars due to card chip problems, only works if swiped, received replacement card and same issue. Chip will not work at anytime, any place, but I'm able to use it online and at local gas stations which is fine with me. Thank you American Express!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 15, 2017
Horrible Cat and Mouse Game!
MackIsMad Cardholder

Bonus Miles? I was supposed to receive the 50k miles back in May. After 6 phone calls asking where they are, they opened an "investigation case". I've been given 4 different deadline dates on when I'll receive my miles. Now here in August I am told that this is now a wide spread case affecting many people and they "hope" to issue all of the miles out by October 7th. Is it coincidence that the 3 times I've asked to speak to a supervisor I've been disconnected as soon as they pick up the phone?? Just food for thought. 

I just wish I could get a straight answer, I fly Delta every month for work and the only reason I chose this card is because my existing miles along with the 50k bonus miles would pay for my upcoming trip to visit family in October. 

Big disappointment 

more ...
Aug 12, 2017
Good, but not great
WiseSpending Cardholder

Not the best travel card.  Only good if you fly with Delta very often within a year (8-12 roundtrip flights).  For those who do fly with Delta often, the biggest benefit is free first checked bag.  It's $25 one-way and $50 each roundtrip.  12 roundtrip flights = $600 in savings on checked bags.  Also insurance and anything else purchased through Delta's website gets you 2x Delta miles per dollar spent.  If you don't fly Delta often, you get a very lame 1x miles per dollar spent.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Great starter travel card
skc74 Cardholder

CK said my chances were poor, but after alot of research online I applied anyway. I have scores in the low 600's due to high utilitzation but I have no collections, or late payments or anything bad on my report. I was approved instantly for the measly 1000 but I figure it is a foot in the door and it will grow with me. 

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Excited
Drrlr Cardholder

This site said my chances weren't good but applied anyways and was approved for this Delta Gold card, excited because I'm s frequent flyer with Delta Airlines

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 31, 2017

Did it say your chances were "Fair" or "Poor"? When looking at CK details theres no general credit score approval range. Thanks in advance for you help.

 
Jul 20, 2017
The best skymiles card
Anonymous Cardholder

i got apporved right away for $1,000. This card has a lot of opportunities for skymile. i really Recommend this card. And custumer serives Excellent !

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
Amex Member... w/ OK credit!
AmexChiQue Cardholder

I thought I'd share my story bc not even 24 hours ago I was searching through all these Amex reviews (various cards), trying to find a not-so-simple answer: w/ my ehh credit, would I have a shot. First off, let me tell you that I've always wanted to be a part of the Amex family, it's about the only card I don't have (meaning, I have several Visas, an MC & a Discover). Two years ago in 2 days I applied for an Amex card that KC told me I had a "fair" chance... denied. Fast forward and I added a couple rewards cards & great auto loan since then.

Last year my credit got hit the hardest, mostly because I moved from one state to another just to end up burying one of my siblings [and adding more CC debt because of that]. I had a chargeoff from DirecTV, Cap One & Amazon O_O. My student loans fell behind. Disaster doesn't even begin to describe it! But I did manage to keep up w/ my car payment, credit cards and consolidate my student loans. This helped ME but not necessarily my score. The one thing I do have is a great credit age (13+ years) and credit history. Even today my utilization is almost 50% but that's significantly better than where it was 2 months ago (90%). My actual FICO is in the mid/high 600s (as I type this I don't remember KC's #s off top but I do remember they're not great). I said all that to say this: I still qualified for this card, despite having blemishes on my credit and a nothing-to-brag-about score. No, I've never had a bankruptcy. No, I'm not just starting out. Yes, Amex still gave me a chance.

I would also like to add that I added my husband to 2 of my [paid off] CCs, where he instantly inherited my great history. His score increased by 198 points! He has 3 derogatory marks (all 4+ years old). But other than my cards he has no significant credit history. His 727 score means jack because he still can't qualify for most of these rewards cards on his own (according to KC he flags as "poor" on all of them except QuickSilver). My approval odds for most Amex cards are minimally "good" (I won't find out the hard way though), even w/ a lower score.

I say all this to say, 1) don't let your score intimidate you 2) you can absolutely qualify for an Amex, despite having imperfect credit 3) don't take these reviews too seriously. It will literally depend on your credit and yours alone.

Good luck!

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card on June 28th. I have been working on my credit for about 18 months. I have 2 cards with Credit One I know there are some not so good reviews about Credit One but the cards helped to rebuild my credit. So after looking through the offers and my approval odds I decided to apply for the Gold Delta Skymiles Amex. I was approved for a $10k credit limit and I am super excited about it. It's been a long road to recovery. Amex typically pulls from Experian and that's where they pulled my report. My scores are Experian 698 Eqx 704 TU 725. Hope this helps someone in there rebuilding stage. 

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
DELTA GOLD
tarpein1993 Cardholder

I received my card in April.. I have long passed the 1000.00 in first 90 something days.. still no 30,000 bonus miles.. I keep asking and they keep telling me there is a glitch. I will get them as soon as it is fixed.. same story for over a month now. 

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Love it...
SSguy Cardholder

Instant approval for 3k.  Spent my first 1000 and within a few days my rewards miles were posted.  Thanks Amex!!

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
A great step into American Express!
jamesonnorth Cardholder

This is my first American Express card, and I couldn't be more thrilled about it.  Credit Karma hasn't suggested any AMEX cards previously, and it didn't sugges this one, but I got a pre-approval and applied. $1000 limit, which is pretty low for an AMEX, but it gets me membership.  Credit Karma is now suggesting I apply for more AMEX cards, but I'll wait about 6 months for this one to age a bit.  I was approved with about a 640 FICO/615 CK score, with a few late payments almost 3 years ago.  I also had over 20 inquiries from a new car last year and some loan refinancing.  Not the best credit profile, but an approval still!

For the card itself, I got a 60,000 mile bonus for $1000 in spend in the first 3 months, which isn't bad.  I fly Delta a lot and have some personal travelling coming up, so this works out great for me.  The interest rate is high, but this is a rewards card and is not meant for carrying a balance.  I intend to never carry a balance, so this card will work out well for me, especially with the bonus.

I'm not sure if I'd keep this card long term because the ongoing rewards rate is only about 1.2% on regular purchases and 2.4% on Delta purchases, both of which can be higher with other AMEX cards and non-AMEX cards as well.

Bottom line:  if you're like me and just want to get in with AMEX and get a nice bonus, this is a great starter card and has relatively low approval requirements.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

66 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i