Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 20, 2017
Excellent Customer Service
Foodie9581 Cardholder

Great for rebuilding credit with excellent customer service.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card with avg fico of 671 and was approved 10k

more ...
May 15, 2017
Travel miles
AGraham23 Cardholder

I had a 635 fico score and was approved for $1,000 this is good to start and in 6 months they will review and increase!  

more ...
May 10, 2017
Went out on a limb and got approved!
indebt1982 Cardholder

I've applied for this card once before and got declined. Got an offer in mail from Delta months ago and finally decided to apply. TU-604/EQ - 598. Got approved for $1k. 

more ...
May 08, 2017
Good Entry Level Travel Card
ModCredBldr Cardholder

I applied for this card after CK showed I had a "fair" chance of approval. There's a general rule with card approvals that many people with fair to average credit don't know about. I'll use Capital One as an example since a little trickier to explain with AMEX cards. When CC companies offer 2 or more card products that are similar in class (i.e., Quicksilver and Quicksilver One) the one with the annual fee is the one that you'll have a strong likely chance of approval. Usually, the card without the annual fee is typically reserved for people with higher credit scores. This is not to say all CC companies practice this rule, but in general, most do. In this case, Delta AMEX Gold is the base level travel card in its class. If CK shows that you have "fair" chance of approval and there is an annual fee involved, it's very likely that'll you'll be approved. If you do get approved, exercise this rule moderately. All new inquiries can negatively impact your credit score, and too many will raise a red flag with CC companies. As far as how I use this card, I primarily use it for Delta travel expenses. With fair to average credit scores, the interest rate for this card is very high and should not be used as an "everyday" card unless you intend to pay it off completely every month.  

more ...
May 04, 2017
Perfect for college students!
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm 19 years old and had no credit when I applied for the Gold AmEx Delta card (at 18 years old with no cosigner or anything). It was my very first credit card. They gave me a limit of 1K and upped it every 3 months religiously. I've now had the Gold card for 1.5 years with a credit limit of 10K. Just yesterday, they offered me the chance to upgrade to the plantinum card and I probably will because I fly so much and it offers an annual buddy pass. 

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Amazing customer service.
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card. Earning miles is straight forward and transferred every month to your skymiles account. Amex has the best customer service and great perks. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Approved with 612 and 616 scores
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a SkyMiles rewards member and was sent an offer to apply for this card directly from Delta. They offered 60,000 sky miles points if you make $1000 in purchases within the first 3 months of having the card. They also issue a $50 statement credit after you make 1 Delta purchase within the first 3 months. I was instantly approved (online application) with 616 and 612 Equifax and TransUnion scores and given a $1000 limit. Very happy to have this card as I travel a lot and will make good use of the $29 discounted entry into the Sky Club lounges and no foreign transaction fees! When you activate your card they also transfer you over to a representative to walk you through all of the benefits and make sure you understand how to qualify for the bonuses. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 19, 2017

Happy for you!! Congrats!! I love Delta and I'm a skymiles member as well. Now only if my score would ever get high enough to get this card lol. Eight now it's a 532 in one and a 534 in the other.

 
Mar 28, 2017
VanFar Cardholder

i came to America prementaly on August 2016, i knew it was important to build credit, so i made a whole lot of research and in that research i ended up joing credit karma, then i started recieving credit card recomendations, guess what.. all were Secure credit cards, then the one that made the most sense to me at that time was the Capital One Secure credit card, i deposited $301 and i got $452 credit limit, im very impatient, my credit score was around 565, i continued my research and by Octobar 2016 i found out about something called Piggybacking, which means when someone who has better credit score than you adds you into one of their Credit cards as an authorized user, awesome... my wife has awesome credit score 758, and she added me to the credit card with the Highest credit limit, Two days later, on a sunday afternoon, i was chilling in my balcony and i got my iPad, some how i signed into Credit karma, and my score was 737, holly cow, and Guess my recommendation was? Gold Delta SKy Miles Credit card, SPG American Express, Sapphire Preferred. i didnt apply immediately, i got a coffee, i didnt want to start getting credit hits and inquiries, so i narrow it down to the recommendations that had my odds at "Good" , this card Wells Fargo Platimum Rewards were the easiest to get among the pool of recommendations. i took a deep breath and pulled the Trigger, i was approved for 1k limit for Gold Delta instantly then applied Wells Fargo Platinum Rewards card, then i got a message that says your account needs review and we will send you a letter in the mail, oh crap that means rejected, 7 days later i got the letter and it says your identity couldnt be verified send us proof of address and SSC copy, i was reliefed and i sent them immediately, i was approved 1k again, then a month later i applied for SPG then same rhetoric "we are reviewing your card.." i gave them a call immediately, i talked to a nice representative and they said they couldnt approve it immediately because there was a glinch on the system but im happy to let you know you are approved for 2k. AWESOME.

The DELTA SKY MILES i have earned 52k so far and the 50k was the signing up bonus, i got it two days after i reached 2k spending requirement

anyway build your credit but also try to find someone you trust and that trusts you that has good credit score, my wife certainly singlehandedly made me a member of AMEX family

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Great bonus offer!
JenJen3015 Cardholder

I received an offer in the mail for bonus miles for being a Skymiles member. I was hesitant to apply because I've certainly heard my share of "no's" on my credit rebuilding journey. I read reviews on this site and noticed the lending criteria was more relaxed for this card then other Amex's. My Experian FICO score was 652 at the time of application. Per the reviews, Amex tends to pull Experian, and that is absolutely the one of mine that was pulled. I was shocked to be approved for the starter $1000 credit line. This is such a victory in my credit journey and I can't wait to get the card and take advantage of the benefits!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 370
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

59 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i