Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
136 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (25) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 21, 2019
It’s a fraud.. never gave $150 bonus
soumen1984 Cardholder

I had spend well more than 1000$ in first 3 months.. they never gave 150$ as told in agreement and advertisement.. followed multiple times over phone and online chat.. never got 

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Terrible
Nugz12345 Cardholder

Initially got this card with a 13k credit limit, balance got to about 4600 and they shut my credit line down to 4800. When I called customer service, they said that I have many delinquent accounts with late payments (I have never had a late payment with any account- and they also confirmed I have an excellent payment history with them). They also said they decreased my credit limit because my FICO score apparently dropped to 640.....however when I receive my FICO score from my other creditors it is 730. It seems like American Express is trying to make my FICO score in the 600’s! I will be taking my business elsewhere 

more ...
Mar 31, 2019
Not good for balance transfer
Anonymous8427 Cardholder

I applied for this card to do a balance transfer. It offered 15 month no interest. I was approved for $25,000 credit line but there is a max of $5000 for balance transfers. I wish I would have picked a different card as now I have a hard inquiy and an addtional account to bring y score down.

more ...
Mar 31, 2019

Well, why don't you use it as a rewards card as it is the main purpose of the card? Rewards cards are not very good cards for balance transfers. Balance transfer cards are good for balance transfers. The rewards are great, I earn much more reward dollars using the deals than I do with 3%, 2%, and 1%.

 
Apr 18, 2019

How can I get approved for a balance for $25,000? My highest card is $11,000. So far cards that I open have been $4000 lately. I want to have a great big credit card line with amex but I dont want to start off low. I'm also trying to find the card with the best rewards possible for gas, groceries, and every purchases like deli's, fast food, mall apparels.

 
Mar 24, 2019
American Express is NOT GOOD AT ALL!!!
Vic2019 Cardholder

American Express sucks. They invite you to $10000 credit limits, for example, and then, when you have a $4000 debt, for example,  that you are paying with no late payments included, the will reduce your credit limit into $5000 in order to make you pay. They will destroy your credit without consideration. They won't notify you before, they will just do it. They offer you big credit limit, make you bite and then they will try to take all the money you took as a loan, and they will try to do it in one second...and if you do not pay, they going to take the money from the companies that insured their way to exist. I will never have another card from that guys. Not recommended, not at all. Don't like the way they do business. By the way, if you call them, they will put someone from INDIA to take care of you, you won't understand a word, trust me.

more ...
Mar 25, 2019

Very true

 
Mar 27, 2019

I ran mine up to 13k, paid it off, and asked for a 5k limit increase and they granted it. They didn't trash me!

 
Mar 23, 2019
Horrible !!!
luis000 Cardholder

I own this credict card, the cash back, you only can use when you make $ 25 or more, and you need to process it to be availabe to use, I have Discover and the Caskback is automatic ready to use it does not matter if you have $ 2, you can use it. And the offer to "PLAN IT" payments, is a pay system, but ... the report tou balance !!!!! is like you are not making payments !!! . For example is you spend $600 Amex offer 3 payments of $200/mounth , ok is fine , but the report the balance !!!!! is NOT A PAYMENTS SYSTEM . if I have a payment plan . my payments is $200 a month. if I not pay $200 . report my balance=$200, or if  I pay $100 . report my balance $100.... don't get this Credit card

more ...
Mar 29, 2019

You don’t understand credit cards, huh?

 
Apr 01, 2019

Apparently not. Credit card companies report the remaining balance and minimum monthy payment. So if you have a $600 total amount owed in July; they will report 600 balance and minimum payment. If you pay $200 in August they will report the 400$ balance and minimum payment.

 
Mar 13, 2019
Low lines of credit
Baraq7613 Cardholder

This card gave me my lowest limit yet. I have other cards with over 10k limits. This one only gave me 1000. My credit scores I the 740s 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 13, 2019

If you have a ton of cards and a revolving balance, most banks will give you a small line on new cards. And if you already have an Amex card, it's almost guaranteed you'll get a smaller line on that second card. You did not provide any of this information, so maybe the you should get 1 star as a customer.

 
Feb 08, 2019
Pulls the rug out!!
Larelin Cardholder

You can follow all the rules and payments to the letter and they can still cancel you out of the blue. I had zero balance and never carried over a balance from the previous month.. out of the blue i got notice it was cancelled and my credit wqs now worse... How in the wprld did they think I was a risk?!? I had the card for two darn years!!!!

more ...
Jan 11, 2019
Dont let the brand fool you
Luka0422 Cardholder

Nothing special about this card. You will never get a CL increase. Reps not US based, so its hard to get things done. There are better offers out there. Cap One ifor example.

more ...
Jan 14, 2019

Never a CL increase? I did it online, requested a 5K increase, got immediately. Never say never.

 
Feb 02, 2019

They gave me a CLI twice and I didn't even ask so this is not completely true.

 
Mar 04, 2019

I've gotten three CLIs of over $3,000 each time. You either don't use it enough, don't make adequate payments, or have bad credit. I've called customer service several times and they are always pleasant and eager to help, some have had slight accents but spoke better english than many people in the US.

 
Dec 29, 2018
Credit Line is an insult
ModestReviewer Cardholder

Great credit score, they gave me $1k credit line. I wanted the card for balance transfers. Read some reviews so I called and asked for a higher credit limit, the agent said it was in review. Received a letter in the mail stating that my account had to be open 6 months before a credit limits increase could be granted. Decided to apply with US bank for their balance transfer offer instantly got an $11k limit. In my opinion dont waste your time with American Express

more ...
Dec 30, 2018

To say don't waste your time with American Express when your situation is different than others and implying that it is American Express's fault is insane. I got approved for 30K. So maybe I should say waste your time with American Express.

 
Dec 30, 2018

**** 30k!!...what was your credit score at??

 
Nov 30, 2018
Move on to next option.
JAM1325 Cardholder

Near excellent score, last new credit card was approximately 18 months ago and I was approved for 9800$ then by capital one, approved for 2000$ this time. I make more money, I have a better credit score, I have no negatives since last card...why 1/5 the credit limit?!?! I make more in one paycheck than what they approved for my credit limit! Mistake, wish I could go back and choose another card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 01, 2019

Your review is lacking pertinent information that'll likely justify your low blue cash credit limit. Such information may include: a high debt to income ratio; several hard inquires; high debt balances etc. Don't blame Amex.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express