Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $195 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

American Express is a Credit Karma partner

The Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express is a charge card with great rewards that’s aimed at good-to-excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

There are plenty of ways to earn rewards with this card. You can earn 3x points on flights booked directly with airlines, 2x points at eligible gas stations, restaurants, and supermarkets and 1x points on other eligible purchases. There’s also a rewards bonus if you meet minimum spending requirements, no annual fee for the first year and no pre-set spending limit.

Look Out For

This is a charge card, meaning you’re required to pay your balance in full each month. There’s also a $195 annual fee after your first year and no pre-set spending limit doesn’t mean unlimited spending.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 16, 2017
Good for the light traveler.
FrugalSpender16 Cardholder

The card it self from an aesthetics view is nice, the gold has a good shine to it, it's not metal card like the platinum but still nice. Now as far as the points are concerned it's not to bad, 3x's with flights booked through Amex, 2x pts for dining and grocery and 1x for everything else. The card comes with an annual $195 fee, but with a yearly travel credit of $100(checked baggage, on flight purchases, etc.) and a $75 credit toward hotel credit(massages, spa treatments, room service, etc.) when you book a two night+ stay within Amex hotel collections, the fee ends up being $20 in my eyes. The reason I chose this card rather than the Amex platinum is simple, I just don't travel enough/ spend enough to even break even with the annual fee of $550, I take about 5-8 small weekend trips and maybe 2 big vacation trips a year, and even with flights, hotels, car rentals, I couldn't justify the higher annual fee to get a cool looking metal card, with a useless(for me) $200 Uber credit, I find more value gaining points for dining and groceries. Credit Karma said I had very good odds, Transunion:706 Equifax:711, have had 3 hard inquiries in the past year, utilization 0%, and no missed/late payments since 2012. To all those looking into this card please understand that this is a charge card, so when looking at credit report it will be listed in the other section, and not under credit cards. Side note, if your looking to decide which card to add as a second or primary card I would recommend looking into the CSR or CSP from Chase both similar to the Amex PRG and Platinum cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 20, 2014
Credit Reduction Ambush
quincy95971 Cardholder

Amex, like other credit card companies, has a maximum credit limit they will let you charge (even if you're paying it off every month).  Recently, I got an email from them saying they are reducing the amount I could charge by several thousand dollars - effectively they reduced my available credit left to only a couple of hundred dollars 'available'.  While it's they're right to decide how much they want to allow me to charge, the way they did it was just unconscionable.  We were on vacation and I had assumed that I would be paying my hotel and other bills with the Amex card.  This was now impossible.  Luckily my emails are forwarded to my phone.

Fortunately (like most people and something Amex doesn't seem to realize) I had another card (not from Amex) and we were able to continue on and have a great vacation.  Amex could have said - 'starting next month you can only charge this much' but they didn't.  They just cut off you off with virtually no notice.

Now, they said my credit rating had changed.  But I checked it that day.  In fact my credit rating has improved over the last 2 years.  Plus when you're talking to the customer service person they are really no help.  They keep saying 'call the credit bureau' and the credit bureau keeps saying 'talk to Amex they made the decision'.  Also, I have been an Amex card holder for over 10 years (although just recently 'upgraded' to the new Premier Reward Gold Card) and have never had a late payment, ever.

So, I will keep the card but for the next 2 years I will reduce my use of it by 75 - 80%.  The only way I know of to penalize a financial company is to starve them of fees/revenue.  I'm under no illusion that my small amount of revenue will change their behavior.  But I thought I'd post my experience here for others to be aware of.

Bottom line - don't depend on Amex.  Always have one of their competitors cards with you so you won't be left 'high and dry' when you are away from home.  Instead of their motto being "don't leave home without us" it should be "don't count on us if you're overseas on vacation because we don't care"

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 24, 2017
Fan-tas-tic
cu015837 Cardholder

Approved with a 705 score. No pre set limit, excellent customer service. They shipped the card via fed ex so I got it the next day. Never in my life has a credit card company done that. Lol

Love amex, love love love. Booking a trip to Mexico as we speak and it will be the only card I'll use 

more ...
Jun 11, 2017
Started from the bottom now we're here!
Yablokov Cardholder

Started from a $250 prepaid capital one platinum card with $250 limit in Dec. 2015 with 440 equifax. Last week I got a venture one card with $5k limit. Yesterday I was approved for an Amex premier rewards Gold charge card with 698 Equifax and all balances paid every month since dec 2015. 

I only dreamed of the luxury of having my name on this card less than two years ago. Today feels like I have the Rolex of cards in my wallet.

Thanks Amex!

more ...
Jun 12, 2017

Where did u get that score

 
Jun 15, 2017

How much on the Amex card???

 
Jun 17, 2017

I watch my score from Credit karma. Been watching it every morning as I'm waking up(along with my credit card and debit card apps).

This AMEX card has no preset credit limit. Checked the "Spending power" tool on the Amex app, and can spend $4500. This rate will go way up once the card is regularly used.
Just don't spend what you don't have in the bank, and pay your purchased early.

 
Jun 09, 2017
Great card to whip out at dinner.

This is a charge card, so your balance is due in full every month. I use the card occassionally and have not taken advantage of any of the "perks" thus far. It seems a bit confusing and you have to search to see what is available. As for the $175 annual fee. We'll see how I feel about that when the time comes...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 23, 2017

$175? How did you manage to avoid paying $195?

 
May 30, 2017
Excited!

Credit Karma approval odds were Very Good. My EX Fico score is 735 so I went to Amex site (since I already have the Blue and Everyday cards) - Instant approval! Now I will run every bill through this card (instead of my Barclays card) to see how the rewards add up. We also have several vacations coming up and we dine out regularly with the kids so I will see how it goes. I'm already in the habit of paying back what I spend monthly so no worries there. Looking forward to enjoying my new Premier Gold Card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 01, 2017

It will pay off. Trust me.

 
May 26, 2017
Awesome Rewards Program For Me
iAMaGundam Cardholder

I like the fact that I can use Amex Membership points towards my Choice Reward points. Choice tends to expire after two years, but Amex does not expire as long as your account is open. The $195 is worth it for me due to the fact that I can use the perks towards vacation that I take a lot throughout the year with the wife and we dine out A LOT. Platinum seems like it is for flying, but I like driving my car to new places and staying with Choice Hotels.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Good for the light traveler.

The card it self from an aesthetics view is nice, the gold has a good shine to it, it's not metal card like the platinum but still nice. Now as far as the points are concerned it's not to bad, 3x's with flights booked through Amex, 2x pts for dining and grocery and 1x for everything else. The card comes with an annual $195 fee, but with a yearly travel credit of $100(checked baggage, on flight purchases, etc.) and a $75 credit toward hotel credit(massages, spa treatments, room service, etc.) when you book a two night+ stay within Amex hotel collections, the fee ends up being $20 in my eyes. The reason I chose this card rather than the Amex platinum is simple, I just don't travel enough/ spend enough to even break even with the annual fee of $550, I take about 5-8 small weekend trips and maybe 2 big vacation trips a year, and even with flights, hotels, car rentals, I couldn't justify the higher annual fee to get a cool looking metal card, with a useless(for me) $200 Uber credit, I find more value gaining points for dining and groceries. Credit Karma said I had very good odds, Transunion:706 Equifax:711, have had 3 hard inquiries in the past year, utilization 0%, and no missed/late payments since 2012. To all those looking into this card please understand that this is a charge card, so when looking at credit report it will be listed in the other section, and not under credit cards. Side note, if your looking to decide which card to add as a second or primary card I would recommend looking into the CSR or CSP from Chase both similar to the Amex PRG and Platinum cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 17, 2017

Awesome review. TYVM. 😊

 
May 15, 2017
PRG is 4 Me!

This card can be worth it -- if you're a traveler. I understand, and appreciate the allure of being seen using an Amex, especially one with a precious metal in its name. Just because you would look cool, doesn't mean it's for you. The points you accumulate go to specific partners, unless you just use Amex's travel site to do your bookings. There are lots of perks and bonuses for keep your business insulated. I found lower rates at a Marriott, than what I would have paid, even as a Marriott Rewards member! So Amex Travel does have the deals -- keep in mind though that won't get you hotel points since you didn't book directly.

I kind of like the freedom of choice aspect with that too, it's kind of freeing to not be beholded to one or two chains of hotels. With the PRG card you have access to the Hotel Collection. Staying at one of those locations gives you a credit to use for hotel incedentals like room service or spa treatments, so it's worth not getting chain points IMO.

Since the fee is waived for the first year, I think it's a good start to getting into the rewards game. If you decide the $195 a year is too much, just downgrade to a fee-free or cheaper AF card.

Biggest piece of advice; DEFINITELY wait for a targeted offer. When I got mine it was 50k points after spedning $2000 in 90 days. The base offer was 25k points for $2000 in 90 days, so make sure you're getting the best offer before jumping ship.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Good card and underrated.
WiseSpending Cardholder

Amex has been sending me targeted mail for this card for years because I show up on some database for traveling once or twice a year.  I usually ignore it, but I got a 50k bonus offer if I spend $2,000 in the first 90 days.  I thought I would give it a try and at least churn & burn it.  It has turned out to be a really useful credit card.  $100 airline credit (flight taxes and bagged fees), 3x Membership Rewards points on flights, and 2x Membership Rewards on restaurants/groceries/gas.  What isn't advertised heavily is 2x Membership Rewards points for hotels and cruises booked through Amextravel, $75 Hotel credit for hotels booked through Amextravel if you stay 2 nights, 2x Membership Rewards points for Uber, 2x Membership Rewards points for Airbnb, 2x Membership Rewards points for Macy's, and 2x Membership Rewards points for Bestbuy.  With all the ways to benefit, I realized this is a keeper credit card.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017

Also the cards biggest USA transfer partners are Delta airlines and JetBlue. Both really nice airlines that will not beat you up like United Airlines.

 
May 10, 2017

Well, Delta will still kick your kids off...😉😁

 
Apr 13, 2017
Lots of points and great benefits
SoCalRoot Cardholder

Earning 1, 2, or 3x the points of AmEx's regular cards is what told me to get this card. We put everything we spend on this card and typically earn enough points to fly first class anywhere in the US once a year. The points never expire, and can be used with any airline if bought through AmEx. Add in the service from AmEx, and this becomes my go-to card whenever possible.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

49 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i