Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $195 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

The Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express is a charge card with great rewards that’s aimed at good-to-excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

There are plenty of ways to earn rewards with this card. You can earn 3x points on flights booked directly with airlines, 2x points at eligible gas stations, restaurants, and supermarkets and 1x points on other eligible purchases. There’s also a rewards bonus if you meet minimum spending requirements, no annual fee for the first year and no pre-set spending limit.

Look Out For

This is a charge card, meaning you’re required to pay your balance in full each month. There’s also a $195 annual fee after your first year and no pre-set spending limit doesn’t mean unlimited spending.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
Approval after 4 days
LJM07 Cardholder

I was just approved for this AMEX Premier Gold today, Wednesday, after submitting an online application on Sunday morning (and after having been approved for the Blue Cash Rewards $2k limit on Wednesday, a week ago).  My scores are TU 707, EX 655, EQ 673 as of right now.  I had kicked around the idea of applying for the PRG and Blue Cash at the same time, but decided to see how the traditional credit card approval went, and it was instantantly approved on that decision.  On this one, they called this morning just to confirm my address and birthdate, and then the approval (after about a minute) was finalized right on the phone.  For anyone considering applying, some factors that may be important beyond just credit scores are debt-to-income (mine is roughly $10k in student loans to $64k self-employed income), credit utilization (mine is under 5%, paid in full monthly), payment history (I do have 6 total late payments between 2012-2013, but none since).  So if I had to sum it up, I would say mid 600s Experian score, no lates in the past 24 months and no open collections (my EQ & EX reports still show some closed collections; 2 from pre-2012 and 1 in 2013).  Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 01, 2017
RSVP in mail approved !
RCVH1970 Cardholder

I've applied with Amex before several months ago but denied for the green and blue everyday cards. Recently I have been getting solicitations from Amex for the green but did not bite because they did not give a RSVP number. 01/30/17 I got an invite for this Gold card with RSVP number, after much trying to find if it meant approval and not finding any good info, I bit. Glad I did it was approved. Since they do not give preset spending limits you can check via online if a charge will be approved without effecting anything. I checked to see if a $2500.00 charge would be approved and it would. Many have said in research Amex is typically a 2 for 1 pull so I tried again for the Blue everyday and was denied. At least now my foot is in the door and hopefully will get a RSVP for the blue everyday before next year when the $195.00 annual fee kicks in.
My scores TU 655, EQ 655, EX 657 no collections or anything, rather high utilization (my bad lol).
Bottom line from my experience, if you get a RSVP number just go for it you most likely get approved.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 18, 2017
Best credit card
mrVERON Cardholder

Number one card for good start building credit score

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Upgrade for points
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had a Green Card for two yrs. Wanted to upgrade for better points deal. Saw that when I went to pay my account every month I was encouraged to upgrade. 

Requested an upgrade and was approved in an instant. I use my card to pay everythng I can including cell phone, cable and utilities. Great way to ad points!

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
AMEX is the only way to go.
nola2017 Cardholder

So about two weeks ago I took a chace on applying for a Blue Cash Everyday card and was approved much to my shock. It's been a long road to rebuilding my credit so it was exciting to be approved for an American Express, a card i've always held in high regard. I then logged into CK and saw that my approval odds were very good for a Delta Skymiles Gold card with AMEX.. so i took a chance and applied for that and was approved. I got home work the same day and came home to a mail in prescreened offer for the Amex Gold PR and decided since i'm on a roll why not? I applied via phone and kept the representative on the line for almost one hour with tons of questions. By the end of the call i was so pleased with how entusiastic and well versed the representative Christian was that I decided to pull the trigger. I was approved instantly 3 cards in 2 weeks with AMEX after years of not even being able to secure the worst cards like Credit One and First premier bank. at the time of application for all 3 my scores were as follows: TU 701 EX 700 EQ 692 ... no collections, no missed payments, WF Secure Platinum Card, and Capital One QuickSilver One. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
I just got approved for amex gold card
Eli2yping Cardholder

 I have a amex everyday cash since 2016. I applied for the gold card yesterday and I got approved this is the best card you can have in your wallet with great benefits I recommend this card 110% "don't leave home without it"

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
I just got approved for amex gold card
Anonymous Cardholder

 I have a amex everyday cash since 2016. I applied for the gold card yesterday and I got approved this is the best card you can have in your wallet with great benefits I recommend this card 110% "don't leave home without it"

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Best card I carry since I'm 21 years old
Dominicanito07 Cardholder

Member since 2003, is a great charge card to your control spending. Learn the game make the money first before you can spend it act your wage don't over spend what you can't PAY. LITTLE ADVICE DO NOT ADD ANYONE TO YOUR ACCOUNT.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2017

Why suggest not adding a authorized user to the account?

 
Feb 10, 2017
The best
rikfan Cardholder

UPDATE: From a few months ago....

If you want a card that you feel great about pulling out then this is the one. I know I'm protected and I buy with confidence. The Premium roadside assistance is worth the annual fee. I used it and it's great. I ditched my plat card for this one and there's no looking back. Just pay it off every month and ebjoy the ride.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Approved!
RapidFire28 Cardholder

I was just approved for this AMEX Premier Gold card a few days ago.  I already have a AMEX Delta Skymiles card with a 1k limit. CreditKarma gave me poor approval odds for both cards. My scores are TU 570, EX 631, EQ 560 as of right now. For anyone considering applying, my credit utilization is 75%, payment history, 6 total late payments between 2014-2016, but none since. AMEX will only pull your Experian report. Happy to be part of the AMEX family. 

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
RSVP in mail approved !
RCVH1970 Cardholder

I've applied with Amex before several months ago but denied for the green and blue everyday cards. Recently I have been getting solicitations from Amex for the green but did not bite because they did not give a RSVP number. 01/30/17 I got an invite for this Gold card with RSVP number, after much trying to find if it meant approval and not finding any good info, I bit. Glad I did it was approved. Since they do not give preset spending limits you can check via online if a charge will be approved without effecting anything. I checked to see if a $2500.00 charge would be approved and it would. Many have said in research Amex is typically a 2 for 1 pull so I tried again for the Blue everyday and was denied. At least now my foot is in the door and hopefully will get a RSVP for the blue everyday before next year when the $195.00 annual fee kicks in.
My scores TU 655, EQ 655, EX 657 no collections or anything, rather high utilization (my bad lol).
Bottom line from my experience, if you get a RSVP number just go for it you most likely get approved.

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
Approved!
BTACU07 Cardholder

Applied to this card after getting an approval for an Amex Everyday card, decided to combine the hardpull with this one. Approved for both! I have less-than-perfect credit, but have been working to improve over the past 18months. Happy to be a part of Amex!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

50 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i