Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $195 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 23, 2017
CK had me at "poor" app odds...APPROVED!
Cmart1212 Cardholder

I started my rebuild after I absolutely wrecked my credit in my younger years…I started to realize that if I wanted to grow my family and get a home I needed to get my credit in check. Not one card I applied to would approve me, except Capital One. I obtained their secured platinum card and my journey began. I paid my balance in full each month and I NEVER let my UTI reach 10%. 5 months later I then obtained the Discover IT Secured (which I had been declined before) and was approved with a deposit of my choice ($300) and gardened for another 3 months. As of two days ago I applied for the Delta Sky Miles American Express and was instantly approved with a $1000 SL. So I should probably share my data points? 1 Auto Loan in current standing, 4 accounts with delinquent payments (none within the past two years), 2 open collections, CK TU: 628 EQ: 636 and wait for it…Experian 605 FICO (Discover Score Card), that AMEX pulls. I couldn’t believe it maybe it was an underwriting glitch so I applied for the AMEX Premier Rewards Gold….Another instant approval. Upon receiving my PRG (that was overnighted) it did not show the fico I was approved on but I am head over heels that I have made it this far and I am honestly ready to pay to get a real FICO at this point as CK had my odds with the Delta as “fair” and the PRG as “poor”…I’m holding both so…..I hope this helps guys good luck on your credit journey! 5 stars as I have the card in my hands expedited without request! will follow up with review as my time goes on with AMEX.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2017
Good card but get a better one.
jellybeans111 Cardholder

This card is good. Airline credit pays for a portion of your annual fee.  However, the Chase Sapphire card is in fierce competition with this card and the rewards and points far outweighs the AmEx card and reward system.

And, I forgot to mention the Sapphire card is beautiful and lower annual fee! Please check it out before applying for this card! Trust me. I have both. I will be canceling this card once my first year is over. :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 11, 2017
APPROVED! :)
STSAlex Cardholder

Both EQ & TU at 740. I did my research before applying and I can't wait to start taking advantage of its perks. I couldn't be happier to finally have this card in my wallet. this is all thx CAP ONE!!!!!! gave me a second chance when no one else would & I will forever be grateful for that. in APRIL 2016 i got denied for a secured card. NOV 2017 got my AMEX GOLD!!!!!!

more ...
Nov 03, 2017
Not the best rewards
KateNYC Cardholder

It took a long time for my bonus rewards to arrive.  Even when they did, it hardly translated to any decent hotels when I tried to use it.  Most high-end hotels require over 50,000 points PER NIGHT.  You'd have to spend 5K or more on this card every month to make the rewards worth it.  Chase Reserve still gives the best rewards for your buck.  And to be clear, I travel, at a minimum, 3 times per year (both domestic and international), and still do not spend enough to make these rewards in this card worth it for me.  I wish I could just close it, but I don't want the dent on my credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2017

It's a shame you aren't able to realize the benefits in your situation.. You have already taken the hit to your credit in AAOA and the inquiry on EX (if it was an HP). You could close it with no further negative effect-in fact, it will stay on your credit report for up to 10 years which will help support your length of history as it ages.

 
Nov 01, 2017
Amazing

Great card with great benefits! My first Amex card and the application process was smooth. Got approved with 686 TU and 675 EQ. Applied fr the card and received it in 18 hours. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2017

How much did u get approved for

 
Nov 18, 2017

When u state your eq and tu score. U mean the scores that credit karma give?

 
Oct 18, 2017
Best card in my wallet! My everyday card
brlgoodtimes Cardholder

The Amex PR Gold card is exactly what I want and need in a card! I have many other cards as I am a points and miles snob, but I would have to say this card gives me everything I need and more, and it is what I use for almost everything daily. I also have the AmEx Platinum, and although it gives me a wide variety of amazing perks, I only carry it in my wallet when I travel and only use it to book my flights. Otherwise, the Gold is perfect for everyday spend. Double points on what I spend most on...restaurants, gas, and grocery. If you look at my monthly charges, 90% of my spending is on those categories. I do wish that they added a chosen 3x category similar to the business gold, because I would choose grocery for 3x points rather than airlines since I get 5x points for flights on my Platinum. This is probably the only card I will always have in my portfolio as it is seriously the best card to exist in my opinion. I hate normal credit cards as people are tempted to spend above their means and not pay it back at the end of the month which defeats the purpose of points and miles earnings, but I keep cards like that for my credit reports to show large limits and for emergency purposes and larger expenses. If you are a new customer to AmEx, or are considering getting one of their cards, I would say this is it. Although the annual fee is a bit steep, you do get $100 credit for airline purchases which is nice. Customer service from AmEx is always great, but I will keep my Platinum for the reasons that the customized customer service through the Platinum card is like nothing else. Thanks AmEx, you continue to make me more than happy!

more ...
Oct 19, 2017

Nice review. You almost sold me on this card! :)

 
Nov 05, 2017

So your paying over $700 in annual fees to Amex when you could avoid it with thousands of other rewards cc’s that don’t charge annual fees?...time to pick up a personal finance book, start w/ the millionaire next door.

 
Nov 07, 2017

Big Hat, the problem with the no annual fee cards are they do not give you as much points as the annual fee ones (as far as I have been shopping for credit cards).

 
Nov 18, 2017

Hello .is the Amex the one you have to pay in full each month...there is no monthly payment ?

 
Oct 14, 2017
Awesome Service
ChemEngineer Cardholder

This card has a great rewards structure, especially if you're taking advantage of the offers. There's a pretty good welcome offer, bonus points for everyday categories and also a number of revolving offers on thier website for selected merchants. You can get additional bonus points as well as discounts. There are a few other litlte "goodies" in there too like the airline fee credit and free access to shoprunner (which is much more useful than I anticipated). There's also a free roadside assistance with free towing if needed.

It's a good card to help your credit uitlization score if you're someone that pays for everything with their cards but does not carry a month-to-month balance. Charges on this card DO NOT count as used credit. If you have $10,000 in available credit between other cards and use this card for all purchases you can drop your credit utilization to zero percent. Again though, you cannot carry a balance with those purchases.

While this card has good rewards, I find the value of the rewards (points) to be slightly less than you can get for doing, for instance, a cash-back card like Capital One Quicksilver. Having and using this card however isn't entirely about value in grinding points. Much of that value comes from the previously mentioned benefits and others. It's also ALL about the service. They don't do anything that you can't get from other companies but they are always much faster, easier and more plesent to deal with in my opinion. As an example, I had a problem recently and required a new card. American Express had a new one in my hand within EIGHTEEN HOURS. Other companies would often take days to sometimes weeks to get you a new one.

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
Murzik1 Cardholder

Very good card and service is ok. Like it . Be careful don't buy staff you can't afford.

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
Nice way to get 50k points

Signed up after I saw the 50k bonus after 2k spend on Amex website. I have hit the spend and have the 50k points. Seems like a good deal considering the annual fee is waived first year. Ill decide to renew or not next year but impressions thus far are good but not in same league as Chase Saphire preferred or reserve. Also remember that you can only downgrade to another charge card which would be the green card. Amex customer service is OK but still not Chase. Ill probably end up getting everyday card and canceling this next year to keep a relationship with Amex without an annual fee.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 20, 2017

Recently Amex changed their lounge policy. Only allows Platinum or Amex Black card holders into their Centurion lounge.

 
Oct 12, 2017
Great Card and Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card because CK had my approval rating at "very good" and they were offering pre-approvals for Chase and American Express cards.  I was more interested in getting a Chase Sapphire card but instead, I was pre-approved for an American Express Gold Card.  Because of the pre-approval, I applied and was approved!!!!  The advertisement at the time was spend $1,000 within 3 months for 50,000 reward points.  I spent that within 30 days and called to see if I could use my "pending" points for travel.  I called customer service and they were nice and helpful.  They looked at my account, saw I had the points pending, and applied the points to my account that day!!!!  I had just received my first statement and I was able to get the points!  Amazing!!!  This card will definetely be my go-to for travel.  Oh, and I have 736TU, 738EQ, and 648FICO.  Hope this helps!

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
High interest rate high annual fee
Kyleminh Cardholder

Super high interest rate, terrible customer service when I applied for the supplementary for my partner, they told me they didn’t have my apartment number on file. Ok how can you send me advertising materials all the time? This card doesn’t have a set limit every time I need to make a purchase I have to check my “spending power”, now this so called “limit” is super high compared to my other cards but it doesn’t help with my credit availability shown on my credit report. I’ll be canceling once my one year is up. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2017

It's a charge card. There are no interest rates because you pay in full every month.

 
Oct 17, 2017

Not entirely true. Mine has a hybrid feature that allows up to $35,000 to be paid over time. I’ve never used it but I do know there is a stated rate for that.

 
Sep 25, 2017
Used to be Great
Disenchanted Cardholder

We've had AMEX Premier Rewards Gold Card for 20 years and have always had excellent service in all areas and told everyone so. That is until about 2 years ago, things changed when we started a second business. After all our years of on time payments and accolades from AMEX reps, we started getting calls that we were spending too much money (even thou we had a no limit spending and we paid all bills on time), those calls started taking on a harassing tone and downright mean communication from AMEX. Once we were a year into our new business the calls finally stopped, we thought it was over.

Then when we had enough reward points on our personal combined with our business card, we decided to book a trip. After booking it through AMEX, as we had many times in the past I called to combine the points, which they did with no problems, until they reversed the points back a week later with no explanation. When I called they said they no longer allow the combination of the personal and business travel points because my husband was the owner account on the personal and I was the owner on the business account. I tried to find out what COULD be done since we already booked the trip, I was transferred repeatedly, hung up on, talked down to and basically told there is nothing you can do to rectify this, too bad. I am on this site to find another credit card to charge the 300K + purchases we charge for personal and business each year.

more ...
Sep 26, 2017

I'd suggest the Chase Ink Business Preferred card. Great sign-up bonus, good reward gains on spending, and the Ultimate Rewards Portal is second to none...way better than any other points system, IMO.

 
Oct 28, 2017

Yeah, this sounds more like a disgruntled cardmember not knowing the terms and conditions of the product as well as how lenders identify and mitigate risk.

Simply "after all [y]our years of on time payments and accolades" means nothing when starting another risky venture, which is starting a second business. No pre-set spending limit does not mean AmEx, who owns the card, cannot protect itself when it determines potential for default.

Your personal finances and business finances are different. Good luck switching to Chase--they're even more conservative and restrictive than AMEX, and that's saying a lot.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

57 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i