Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
62 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $195 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 16, 2018
Amex really gives you a chance
amexalltheway Cardholder

I applied for this card about 5 months ago when my credit scores were not good. I was very lucky to get approved because I had low approval odds. This card is a charge card so treat it just like a debit card with the exception of paying your balances in a month time. Be EXTREMELY RESPONSIBLE because Amex gives you an open spending limit. Your credit utilization ratio doesn’t affect your credit scores while you use this card but instead focus on making sure you pay the full amount of your balances every month. Overall I am very satisfied with this card. Definitely recommend it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 16, 2017
Chase is the new Amex
Johnd2 Cardholder

Had this card for couple years. Amex isn’t trying hard enough and the results are showing on their earrings each year. Customer service is no longer as good; now that most of its call centers are located in the east. The benefits on the card are just ok and the conversation ratio to different programs do not justify the annual $195 fee. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2018
So so satisfied
cu015837 Cardholder

Just got approved for my gold card. My relationship with AMEX has been since 2016. This is my first ever charge card. My very first amex was the blue cash everyday, currently at 10k, followed by delta gold miles $3.6k, and now this one. (Mind you I applied for this card 30 days after my gold delta, I was on a card spree) 

American Express is super generous to the right people. If you're able to get your foot in the door, start USING your card. Gas, groceries, things you usually use cash for, pay the card back twice a month, before your due date and wait the 61 days for CLI's. 

In another 3 months, I'm going to attempt and ask for $5k more on my blue cash everyday. Happy hunting yall.

more ...
May 16, 2018
Complete disappointment
mcerrone Cardholder

 19 years with American Express always with the green card never had an issue they offered me an upgrade to the gold card which I excepted they sent me two cards and told me I was responsible for both accounts why would I want two gold cards  countless holding and talking to people that are not from this country and could speak barely any English no help whatsoever being passed Through eight different operators spending almost an hour and 20 minutes on the phone  to correct their mistake then the last person I talk to you got a nasty attitude with me saying I don't have to have the card what a great thing to say to a 19 year card holder I have never been more disgusted with the card that I had a 19 year relationship with I will take my 800 credit score somewhere else American Express has completely fell To garbage rude unhelpful operators

more ...
May 15, 2018
Approved Instantly! FICO EXP 659!
JohnnBe Cardholder

A month later after acquiring the CSR card at 624 FICO. I was able to pay off a few credit cards and increased my score to 659 and was pre-qualified for the PRG.

It is possible to acquire the PRG and CSR with a low score, but the rest of your credit portfolio must look good.

TU:695 CK

EQ:699 CK

EXP:659 FICO

0 Derog

3% Utilization

94% Payments (No late payments in the last 5-6 years)

AAoA: 9 Years

27 Open Account

90k Income.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 17, 2018

Wtf 659 ex
Way to go!
Congrats!.
Hopefully I'm next behind you.

 
Apr 22, 2018
No problems, no regrets, no remorse!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently applied for the Gold Card and I was approved , I love this card. The balance doesn’t affect my credit utilization’s  ratio, and I pay the balance off weekly, I charge thousands of dollars in a month and keep paying as I go, I use it for everything, my bills are on autopay with this and I swipe it literally everywhere.  Love the rewards too. 

It helped my credit too as I pay in full, my credit card use is at 0% since I got this card. Love love love it. 

more ...
Apr 24, 2018

What's your credit scores?

 
May 14, 2018

What scores you got it at? Fico, not KC

 
Apr 12, 2018
Avoid this card at all costs
Core4652 Cardholder

I was excited when receiving this card however that quickly turned into disappointment. In the first 3 months I charged 24000 dollars and quickly paid my bills. I found myself constantly in embarrassing point of sale situations having to call AMEX for purchase authorizations. AMEX lies and states that this card has NO LIMITS, I am living proof that it does having called customer service repeatedly for assistance. I can't express my level of disappointment with this card.

more ...
Apr 12, 2018

I would say pay it off every couple of days or either do a product change to the Platinum card.

 
Apr 25, 2018

I’m curious on when do you pay the balance? Are you paying it right away or waiting till your “Please pay by date”.?

 
Apr 06, 2018
I have the Business Gold excellent
WillisALW Cardholder

Easy application process decision in minutes 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 12, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 05, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

I’ve had this hard 2 two months... so far I love it... I used overseas and had no issues. Also you can transfer points to airlines and other places. Got approved with only a 660 credit score on hear. The one thing I worry about is getting denied because there isn’t a credit limit but it hasn’t happened yet.

more ...
Mar 30, 2018
Make sure you pay the balance!
RWW74 Cardholder

Good card, I use it everyday. Everyone takes AMEX, just make sure you pay that balance at the end of the month. Just remember, this card is not a credit card, its a charge card. So if you rack up 2,000 in a month, you better be able to pay that 2,000 off when the bill comes or you'll be sued like Tori Spelling!!!

more ...
May 18, 2018

LOL!!!! you're so right

 
May 22, 2018

😂😂 so funny but true

 
Mar 13, 2018
Love the card. And a rant...
jerrasic Cardholder

First off, this is yet another great card from AMEX. I went from Green to Gold only for the membership points offer. Otherwise, I was perfectly happy with Green. The personal service and responsiveness of their support people is tops by far over any other card company I deal with. What I can't believe is that, in this day and age, some people blame the company with 1 star reviews because they didn't educate themselves on what they were getting. Who doesn't know that the classic AMEX cards aren't revolving credit cards?? They have always been charge cards and have to be paid off every month. Also, they tell you the annual fee and potential benefits BEFORE you get it. Why are you complaining  that 'It's not worth it'  AFTER you get it? A responsible consumer makes sure they will actually use a card to get the benefits. If you won't? Don't get that card. How simple is that? And the whole idea that AMEX customer service is bad is absurd. Okay, end of rant. If you charge significant amounts and pay off your balances every month, this is an excellent choice. The reward points pile up for this Amazon shopper. If not, don't just get it because the color is cool.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 19, 2018

Preach!!! I've been with Amex for awhile now. "IT'S A GREAT CARD TO HAVE IN YOUR WALLET"! If you're responsible and use it correctly? Their customer service is fantastic!

 
Mar 12, 2018
terrible customer service.
Anonymous Cardholder

Put me on hold forever, then just said they can’t do anything for me.

Really pointless. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express