Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $195 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

The Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express is a charge card with great rewards that’s aimed at good-to-excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

There are plenty of ways to earn rewards with this card. You can earn 3x points on flights booked directly with airlines, 2x points at eligible gas stations, restaurants, and supermarkets and 1x points on other eligible purchases. There’s also a rewards bonus if you meet minimum spending requirements, no annual fee for the first year and no pre-set spending limit.

Look Out For

This is a charge card, meaning you’re required to pay your balance in full each month. There’s also a $195 annual fee after your first year and no pre-set spending limit doesn’t mean unlimited spending.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2017
Started from the bottom now we're here!
Yablokov Cardholder

Started from a $250 prepaid capital one platinum card with $250 limit in Dec. 2015 with 440 equifax. Last week I got a venture one card with $5k limit. Yesterday I was approved for an Amex premier rewards Gold charge card with 698 Equifax and all balances paid every month since dec 2015. 

I only dreamed of the luxury of having my name on this card less than two years ago. Today feels like I have the Rolex of cards in my wallet.

Thanks Amex!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 09, 2017
Great card to whip out at dinner.
NewEnglandTravel Cardholder

This is a charge card, so your balance is due in full every month. I use the card occassionally and have not taken advantage of any of the "perks" thus far. It seems a bit confusing and you have to search to see what is available. As for the $175 annual fee. We'll see how I feel about that when the time comes...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 09, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Bank of America is better.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
AVOID AMEX AT ALL COSTS
donkoky Cardholder

The will audit you and try to find out your income with the IRS.

Customer Service very rude and careless.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 11, 2017

There is video proof thar Amex does NOT review your situation unless you throw up red flags. Whether you were careless or not, if you charge too much on your card at once, they may put your accounts on freeze to run a review. This may not be a well known fact, but it's no reason to give a crummy review.

 
Aug 03, 2017
LuLu30084 Cardholder

Don't rely on Credit Karma's approval odds. It's not accurate at all. I currently have the AmEx Delta Skymiles which I pay in full every month along with other cards that I pay out as well. I have a number of inquiries and my FICO score is just shy of good, but Credit Karma said my approval odds was poor. I decided to apply anyway because a friend of mine applied for and was approved for the card with a very low FICO score. Surprise surprise I was approved instantly! Checked my approval odds for the platinum card and it's listed as fair. Won't apply as I'm happy with the 2 I have. For anyone who's afraid to try maybe I've given you some inspiration to go for it!

more ...
Aug 13, 2017

I'm always curious if the credit karma approval odds are accurate or just a farce.

 
Aug 15, 2017

CK’s scores aren’t a farce, they’re just based on a different model. Since most lenders use FICO scores it would be useful to see those figures before applying.

 
Aug 02, 2017
Annual fee of $175
Anonymous Cardholder

I can't justify being charged to use a credit card. I actually like the fact that it's required to pay the balance in full at the end of the month. I had one card that charged 35 in an annual fee and I upgraded to a different card. I rather opt for the Amax Blue.

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Customer service lied MULTIPLE times
Anonymous Cardholder

AVOID AMEX

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
My third Amex card
Captainhook56 Cardholder

Unlimited yes but with great powers comes great responsibility 

use wisely balance are due in full every month

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

There is a purchasing power to this card that actually sets a limit that can be approved for spending. Check the purchasing power feature on your online account to see what it is...unless you have an exclusive offer this peasant doesn't know lol.

 
Jul 01, 2017
Great card.
SayersNirel Cardholder

Was given my rewards points quickly in the intro period. Service is second to none.

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Fan-tas-tic
cu015837 Cardholder

Approved with a 705 score. No pre set limit, excellent customer service. They shipped the card via fed ex so I got it the next day. Never in my life has a credit card company done that. Lol

Love amex, love love love. Booking a trip to Mexico as we speak and it will be the only card I'll use 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 17, 2017

No foreign fees but beware, it's a charge card. With a credit score like that, I know you're a conscientious spender but it's easy to lose track of how much you spend when all you do is swipe. Have fun in Mexico!

 
Jun 11, 2017
Started from the bottom now we're here!
Yablokov Cardholder

Started from a $250 prepaid capital one platinum card with $250 limit in Dec. 2015 with 440 equifax. Last week I got a venture one card with $5k limit. Yesterday I was approved for an Amex premier rewards Gold charge card with 698 Equifax and all balances paid every month since dec 2015. 

I only dreamed of the luxury of having my name on this card less than two years ago. Today feels like I have the Rolex of cards in my wallet.

Thanks Amex!

more ...
Jun 12, 2017

Where did u get that score

 
Jun 15, 2017

How much on the Amex card???

 
Jun 17, 2017

I watch my score from Credit karma. Been watching it every morning as I'm waking up(along with my credit card and debit card apps).

This AMEX card has no preset credit limit. Checked the "Spending power" tool on the Amex app, and can spend $4500. This rate will go way up once the card is regularly used.
Just don't spend what you don't have in the bank, and pay your purchased early.

 
Aug 13, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Jun 09, 2017
Great card to whip out at dinner.

This is a charge card, so your balance is due in full every month. I use the card occassionally and have not taken advantage of any of the "perks" thus far. It seems a bit confusing and you have to search to see what is available. As for the $175 annual fee. We'll see how I feel about that when the time comes...

more ...
Jun 23, 2017

$175? How did you manage to avoid paying $195?

 
Aug 13, 2017

The annual fee is ridiculous. If you aren't a major spender with the cash in the bank to pay this card off every month where you could build points towards rewards I can imagine why anyone would pay a $195 fee just to have this card smh.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express