Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $195 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

The Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express is a charge card with great rewards that’s aimed at good-to-excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

There are plenty of ways to earn rewards with this card. You can earn 3x points on flights booked directly with airlines, 2x points at eligible gas stations, restaurants, and supermarkets and 1x points on other eligible purchases. There’s also a rewards bonus if you meet minimum spending requirements, no annual fee for the first year and no pre-set spending limit.

Look Out For

This is a charge card, meaning you’re required to pay your balance in full each month. There’s also a $195 annual fee after your first year and no pre-set spending limit doesn’t mean unlimited spending.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
Approval after 4 days
LJM07 Cardholder

I was just approved for this AMEX Premier Gold today, Wednesday, after submitting an online application on Sunday morning (and after having been approved for the Blue Cash Rewards $2k limit on Wednesday, a week ago).  My scores are TU 707, EX 655, EQ 673 as of right now.  I had kicked around the idea of applying for the PRG and Blue Cash at the same time, but decided to see how the traditional credit card approval went, and it was instantantly approved on that decision.  On this one, they called this morning just to confirm my address and birthdate, and then the approval (after about a minute) was finalized right on the phone.  For anyone considering applying, some factors that may be important beyond just credit scores are debt-to-income (mine is roughly $10k in student loans to $64k self-employed income), credit utilization (mine is under 5%, paid in full monthly), payment history (I do have 6 total late payments between 2012-2013, but none since).  So if I had to sum it up, I would say mid 600s Experian score, no lates in the past 24 months and no open collections (my EQ & EX reports still show some closed collections; 2 from pre-2012 and 1 in 2013).  Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 15, 2014
Difficult to Justify
crashspeeder Cardholder

3x Membership Rewards points on travel, 2x on gas and groceries, 1x on everything else.  It sounds pretty good!  In fact, it is.  The catch?  $175 annual fee.  That's not terrible.  The problem I have with American Express right now is that as a current American Express Blue cardholder I was deemed ineligible to receive the bonus 25,000 signup bonus Membership Rewards points.  The exclusion criteria say only charge card holders should be excluded.  That's entirely subjective, though.

Objectively, this card provides some good points, but not any good perks.  I applied with a 750 Experian FICO (American Express tends to pull Experian) and was instantly approved.  I have other cards with similar points schedules but better card benefits.  My Barclaycard gives me 2x points on all purchases and 10% back on points when redeemed for travel (so roughly 2.2x points) and all the World Mastercard benefits (including concierge service, a service reserved for American Express Platinum or Centurion cardholders) for a fraction of the American Express annual fee.  There's a certain prestige to the American Express Premier Rewards Gold card, but that's about as far as that goes.

A good card with middle-of-the-road benefits and a high annual fee.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 21, 2017
Good card and underrated.
WiseSpending Cardholder

Amex has been sending me targeted mail for this card for years because I show up on some database for traveling once or twice a year.  I usually ignore it, but I got a 50k bonus offer if I spend $2,000 in the first 90 days.  I thought I would give it a try and at least churn & burn it.  It has turned out to be a really useful credit card.  $100 airline credit (flight taxes and bagged fees), 3x Membership Rewards points on flights, and 2x Membership Rewards on restaurants/groceries/gas.  What isn't advertised heavily is 2x Membership Rewards points for hotels and cruises booked through Amextravel, $75 Hotel credit for hotels booked through Amextravel if you stay 2 nights, 2x Membership Rewards points for Uber, 2x Membership Rewards points for Airbnb, 2x Membership Rewards points for Macy's, and 2x Membership Rewards points for Bestbuy.  With all the ways to benefit, I realized this is a keeper credit card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 21, 2017

Also the cards biggest USA transfer partners are Delta airlines and JetBlue. Both really nice airlines that will not beat you up like United Airlines.

 
Apr 13, 2017
Lots of points and great benefits
SoCalRoot Cardholder

Earning 1, 2, or 3x the points of AmEx's regular cards is what told me to get this card. We put everything we spend on this card and typically earn enough points to fly first class anywhere in the US once a year. The points never expire, and can be used with any airline if bought through AmEx. Add in the service from AmEx, and this becomes my go-to card whenever possible.

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
A colorful debit
Beerus Cardholder

I've had this card for a while now and it's worthless. The only reason I haven't closed it is because it's an old account. If it wasn't then I would have in a second. Don't waste money on the annual fee or time in this. Amex is also horrendous with claims. I've had two claims ever and I still had to pay for it because they don't wanna help you. These are things I've never encountered with Discover, Capital and Etc.  So just avoid the ordeal and fact that it's a "brand name". It will never change that it's always going to be garbage; just like the benefits.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
just applied and approved
Aliel86 Cardholder

TU 625 EX 637

was shocked they approved me. I like that it's a charge card. I will use for fixed expenses and pay off each month. much better for me than using credit cards since I am almost done paying off all credit cards.

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Good card but get a better one.
jellybeans111 Cardholder

This card is good. Airline credit pays for a portion of your annual fee.  However, the Chase Sapphire card is in fierce competition with this card and the rewards and points far outweighs the AmEx card and reward system.

And, I forgot to mention the Sapphire card is beautiful and lower annual fee! Please check it out before applying for this card! Trust me. I have both. I will be canceling this card once my first year is over. :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 20, 2017

The lower annual fee for Chase Sapphire Preferred doesn't cover airlines taxes, luggage fees, and lounge passes. Amex's $100 airline credit does and the hotel credit of $75 also helps.

 
Mar 27, 2017
Got it 4 days after applying online

creditkarma said my chances were poor,,,I was supremely confident,so i applied was Approved,,,I did alot of reasearch for my second cc.,this one fit the bill pretty well so i went for it and got it in the mail today and ive already used it earlier in the day.. all i can say is great!!!!

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Just Got it
uhnie Cardholder

I received a targeted offer for this card via email. I have the Blue Cash Everyday, and the Amex Hilton also. I applied and received a 14 day message. pending review. I called the reconsideration line the next day, and had to  verifiy my identity. Instantly approved. What is strange, is that  the week before, I applied for the SPG AMEX, and was denied, because I had applied for too many "like" cards, in a short time span. The offer this card is to spend 1k in 3 months, to receive 25k bonus points, instead of spending 2k, in the same time frame.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
American Express premier gold card
Anonymous Cardholder

 I have a amex everyday cash about 1 months ago . I applied for the gold premier card the following week  and I got approved this is the best card you can have in your wallet with great benefits I recommend this card 110% "don't leave home without it" ...Make sure u pay all at the end of the month that will built your credit score like crazy 

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Just approved, waiting on card
Ctmedic09 Cardholder

I was just approved after using their preapproval tool, it first told me that an immediate decision was not available but within 5 min i had an email stating that i was approved.  I like how you can set up your online account before even getting the card and am excited about all of the rewards and benefits.  After being approved, I found the review here on CK and according to CK i have poor approval odds, so if that the case for you go to their prequalify tool first.  I will add an update as soon as I have it for a couple months.  This is my first charge card, so i called customer service to see how the card works as far as spending power.  The woman was rude and of little help.  I ended up figuring out on my own after downloading the app and seeing the spending power tool.  

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Great card to have in your wallet
Goldcarder Cardholder

I got a pre approved mail letter with bonus 50k points after spending x amount of money. So i applied and got approved and after some spending go the 50k points. Used my $100 Airline credit and got free drinks on my flights, so really you're paying $95 yearly fee. Legendary customer service. And plus I wanted this card for a long time, now I have it. My credit on CK was like 740+ for both TU and Eq 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

54 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i