Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
51 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $195 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

The Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express is a charge card with great rewards that’s aimed at good-to-excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

There are plenty of ways to earn rewards with this card. You can earn 3x points on flights booked directly with airlines, 2x points at eligible U.S. gas stations, U.S. restaurants, and U.S. supermarkets and 1x points on other eligible purchases. There’s also a rewards bonus if you meet minimum spending requirements, no annual fee for the first year and no pre-set spending limit.

Look Out For

This is a charge card, meaning you’re required to pay your balance in full each month. There’s also a $195 annual fee after your first year and no pre-set spending limit doesn’t mean unlimited spending.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2017
Started from the bottom now we're here!
Yablokov Cardholder

Started from a $250 prepaid capital one platinum card with $250 limit in Dec. 2015 with 440 equifax. Last week I got a venture one card with $5k limit. Yesterday I was approved for an Amex premier rewards Gold charge card with 698 Equifax and all balances paid every month since dec 2015. 

I only dreamed of the luxury of having my name on this card less than two years ago. Today feels like I have the Rolex of cards in my wallet.

Thanks Amex!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2017
Good card but get a better one.
jellybeans111 Cardholder

This card is good. Airline credit pays for a portion of your annual fee.  However, the Chase Sapphire card is in fierce competition with this card and the rewards and points far outweighs the AmEx card and reward system.

And, I forgot to mention the Sapphire card is beautiful and lower annual fee! Please check it out before applying for this card! Trust me. I have both. I will be canceling this card once my first year is over. :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 14, 2017
best card I ever had!!!!
267dety Cardholder

the only card you will ever need to work or travel, had mine till I retired used it for some 29 yrs.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
BIG LIE and SCAM
Anonymous Cardholder

The points that they promise is a scam. They dont give you those points. They will delay it till 1 year to keep the customer using the card and then in the second year will charge you the fee. I waited for 8 months for the bonus points but every month they gave me reasons like investigation is open to see why the points were not credited. But they dont do anything. They are just shamelessly delaying to earn the fee of the second year.

Beware of this scam. I came to know from many other reviews that I am not the only one.

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Wonderful
Lunchboxr Cardholder

I was approved for the Gold Card Instantly. Had express shipping so it came in 2 days. Looks Great when you pull it out. There's one bottom line. If you are lucky enough to get approved for this card, Take Care of it. Don't charge what you can not pay for.

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
Awesome No limit card

I applied for this recently and was approved in about 30 seconds. 
My credit scores ranged from 666-690, no accounts in "bad" standing. 

Credit Karma gave me fair to bad chance of approval. 

I was approved with no limit.  This card has great rewards if you're going to use it often.  Also it's a charge card so you have to pay the balance in full at the end of the month!

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I pay $150 a year for my Amex gold as I was told they are great if you have a dispute with an unreputable company. I have had my card for 8 years and just recently had my first dispute. The store in question was a furniture store who sold me an extremely shoddy sofa - for $5500. I was happy to pay if it was the same excellent quality that my last sofa was (which lasted 22 years!) Unfortunately it was not. The sofa that I received was so bad that even the store's customer service rep said it was irreparable. I have now contacted Amex five times about this dispute. Amex has denied the dispute twice due to incorrect information on their end. They then asked me to write a very detailed letter stating the problem. This was after already twice verbally disputing the charge on the phone. I did send in my detailed letter per email two days before the deadline but was refused by Amex as they said I was past the deadline (because their customer service dept was behind!) I have just called for the fifth time and spoken to yet another very unfriendly, unhelpful person who seemed to just want to get me off the phone. I have paid $1200 in membership fees to have this card as security for disputes when I could have had a free card and most likely would have had better luck with my dispute. Now I am out $5500 with no recourse to an unscrupulous business with a score of F from the Better Business Burea thanks to American Express. Do yourself a favor and stear clear of Amex!

more ...
Aug 25, 2017
Fantastic!
Malhol1234 Cardholder

I have had this card for approximately two years. The application 

process and customer service is excellent. The only downfall 

i have found with using this card, is that it does not provide 

a ninety day price protection for purchases. I order regularly 

through Amazon, and have had to implement the use of a 

different card for my Amazon purchases, in order to get the 

ninety day price protection. Otherwise, AMEX has far exceeded 

my expectaions.

more ...
Aug 21, 2017
Lunchboxr Cardholder

American Express is very simple. You use it, you pay the bill, they reward you with a better credit score and perks. If you get it, take care of it.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
American Express Preimeir Gold Card
Dboy370 Cardholder

It's no good, trying to find out your life history, they are very incompetent! You might as well get a Capital One card!! Avoid American Express Gold!!!

more ...
Aug 19, 2017

I agree!!!

 
Aug 20, 2017

I disagree

 
Aug 20, 2017

Capital One is, MAYBE, just a teeny tiny step above Credit One...not even in the same league as Chase or AMEX.

 
Aug 23, 2017

If you're references to the questions about spending habits, income and savings, they use this data to calculate and customize your card spending approval feature of the card. Capital One is no where near as advanced as Chase or AMEX and most basic Capital One cards have no perks compatible to AMEX Membership perks, AMEX Travel, or AMEX Rewards. Do some research and learn the reason for the information is needed before just blabbering off about something you do not understand. Just saying...

 
Aug 09, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Bank of America is better.

more ...
Aug 23, 2017

What features of Bank of America are better? Which BOA card are you referring to? Provide feedback to support your review...

 
Sep 06, 2017

Elaborate please!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express