American Express® Gold Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
78 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $250
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 09, 2019
Best card for families
Familyman89 Cardholder

I rebuilt my credit over the course of 3 years waited till I was at least a 690-700 before applying for my first real credit card I did research for a couple months meaning I don’t make any kind of credit decisions lightly and wanted a card to fit my lifestyle after all my research I decided that American Express would be the best company for me with their variety of different cards and perks charge/credit cards and the fact that their point system isn’t over inflated with an absurd number of points that makes you feel like you have more value than you do they have a very well rounded point system so I decided to apply for an Amex Gold card through credit Karma because I had very good approval odds and I So I applied through the app and was approved in 5 minutes and had my card a week later after a few months with the card I have to say I absolutely love it I am a family man and feel like this is the perfect family card I spend ballpark 600-700 in groceries a month that’s 4x points per dollar and we like to eat out also that’s 4x points per dollar at restaurants so this card has substantial value for families and if you pay attention to the negative reviews about this card it is because it’s a charge card and people complain about not being able to Cary a balance and don’t like paying it off every month 1. I got this card because it’s a charge card meaning I only make purchases that I would have to make anyways month to month  groceries and eating out meaning I’m not over extending myself buying wish list items I use it and just pay the balance the next day I don’t wait for statements to come out I use it then put it back to $0 because it’s money I would spend anyway at least I’m getting rewards and points 2. The customer service has been great in app no complaints and I will be getting future credit cards with them so before you apply or use this card do yourself a favor and have a full understanding of what the difference between a charge and  card is charge cards can be a great tool to keep you from over spending month to month and not stress about carried balances growing in size and they definitely come with more rewards and perks 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2018
Horrible Customer Service
Customerservice1 Cardholder

The customer service is absolutely horrible! I called American Express 6 times in 2 days to clear up an email regarding activity on a card that has been closed for 4 years. After wasting 45 min the first day that ended with 3 transfers to individuals that couldn’t assist and then was transferred to a department that promised they could assist, the phone was disconnected. Not wanting to explain the situation over again after explaining it 3 times, I gave up and resolved to call the next day. I called the next day and guess what? The same exact thing! I was on the phone for 40 minutes and it was like dejavu. Extremely frustrated, I asked for an email or online chat to keep from doing this all over again. It’s not in me to be disrespectful so i decided I would email instead. After all, it’s not the workers fault that I could not understand them and they had no clue as to what to do.  I was given an email to the chairman, I emailed him and never heard back. So basically, I have no idea if an account has been fraudulently opened or not because the customer service is the worse I’ve ever seen. Think about this before you go for one of these cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 14, 2019
bad rewards value and hidden fees
bprice Cardholder

Quick version:

- Rewards can't be cashed in for full value: 50,000 points are only worth about $125 in cash rewards (vs $500 advertised and what is typical of other credit rewards programs)

- Hidden Fee: If you cancel the card within the first year, before paying the annual fee that's deferred 1 year, they charge you $500 if you spent the rewards points

- Travel perks are not great compared to other rewards cards that have lower annual fees (no free TSA pre-check perk)

I got this American Express Gold Premier Rewards credit card because it had a 50,000 point sign on bonus and the annual fee was deferred the first year.  I have signed up for about a dozen credit cards over the years for sign up bonuses like this and always cancel the card within a year to avoid annual fees.  I have a credit score around 800 and was quickly approved online. I used the card and earned the 50k bonus rewards points but when I went to redeem I discovered that the rewards through American Express can't be redeemed for $500 as advertised. If you want to use the points for statement credits or a cash out, they only redeem it at about 25% value (even in travel expenses). You might be able to get $500 value if you redeem it for select airline partners (not the ones I frequent) or through companies like Orbitz (note if you book flights through Orbitz and the flight is overbooked, you'll be first on the list booted from the flight. Always book from airlines directly when possible). Most of the gift card options don't even provide $500 value for the 50k points. The travel perks also were underwhelming despite the hype. Other credit companies like Barclaycard offer much better rewards and include perks like free TSA pre-check registration. I decided to cash out my points for restaraunt gift cards about 10 months into having my card and close my account. When I called to close the account, I was told that I would be charged a $500 fee because in the terms I'm required to keep the card at least a year and pay the annual fee. I explained that was not clear to me when I signed up for the account and I already redeemed the 50k rewards (for a value less than $500). They told me it didn't matter, they'd send me a copy of the terms and my only choices were to pay the fee if I close the account early or keep the card past a year and pay a bigger annual fee. I went to their website and downloaded the terms from their website and I still can't find anywhere in the terms that it explains I must keep the card at least a year or pay a penalty fee. It appears that on their website they have different terms for the American Express Gold Card than the terms used when you sign up with sign-up bonus rewards perks (which I cannot find anywhere on their website or within my online account). I still have another account with them, the Blue Cash Rewards card but only because it's one of my older accounts (over 8 years) and it doesn't have annual fees (I don't use it ever because the rewards aren't competitive with other cards).

more ...
May 09, 2019
really like it
Drrlr Cardholder

The added credit feature is really nice. the earning of points are nice as well.  With all of the perks, it pretty much pays for the annual fee. 

more ...
May 09, 2019
Got approved for the card with 700 score

Got approved after fighting for weeks for the card and did a complaint. very unprofessional people with an indian accent and arrogant. it is called american express yet the customer service is in india or in the uk? dodgy? i moved and didnt fet any letter about paying the annual fee. i got an email to pay and when i tried to pay the 250 THEY CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT AND CARD WITHOUT ANT COMMUNICATION ON THEIR END.! I CALLED TO ASK FOR THE CARD BACK AND THEY DENIED IT AGAIN! I disputed this and asked the mangaer to look into if as THEY NEVER WARNED ME OF CANCELING THE CARD OR NEVER EMAILED ME! THEY HAVE THE AUDACITY TO JUST CANCEL WITHOUT ONE EMAIL, TEXT, CALL NOTHING! WOW WOW. I want the card back to use it to build my credit and if they deny it again i will file a complaint with the BBB AND FTC FOR MISCOMMUNICATION OF MY ACCOUNT! My credit score was only 10 points difference and they are purposely trying to hurt people. I want to get approved to build my credit again but would never recommend them again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2019

Racist

 
May 02, 2019
If you consume food, this is your card!
Reggie402 Cardholder

The 4X on dining and groceries is a game changer. EVERYONE eats. Everyone can make use of this card. I also travel from time to time and the 3x on travel is very useful!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 06, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 26, 2019
Awesome
TeLoMeto86 Cardholder

Been using the card for 2 months. Great benefits! Customer service is on point! The AMEX app is great as well! I am very happy!

I will update when needed. Thank you credit karam and AMEX!

more ...
Apr 24, 2019
Fantastic Card
ElGuapo15 Cardholder

I just recently received this card in the mail.   American Express gave me the option to upgrade from my Green Charge Card to the Gold charge Card.   The amex agent went over the benefits of upgrading to the Gold card and then i decided to accept the offer to upgrade my charge card.   the process was super easy.   if you are a card holder w/ Amex ,   and you reach your 1 yr anniversary date.   you may be given the option to upgrade.   if the card has the option to upgrade.  hope this helps. 

more ...
Apr 24, 2019

Just in case you hadn't heard, direct upgrades to the Green charge card are rumored to be in the works, and maybe even set for June or July for public knowledge. Stay tuned to Ask Sebby on YouTube for updates.

 
Apr 29, 2019

ok .. thanks for the update.

 
Apr 23, 2019
HORRID Customer Service!
sydebotham Cardholder

I applied and was approved for this AMEX Gold card. 10 minutes later I noticed that it was a "charge" card and not a "credit" card. I called customer service and canceled within 5 min of approval. I called AMEX back to see if they could pull remove the hard pull from my report due to my own ignorance, but was hopefull they could work with me. After 47min on the phone, and being directed to multiple departments (4), I finally reached an agent who spoke fluent english. She stated how bad she felt that I recieved such poor service and connected me to the proper "credit inquiry" section. Once connected, the line was so horried that the overseas agent could not "hear" me. I just hung up the phone. A total of 1 hour and 7 minutes was wasted. I am so glad I decided to cancel this card seeing their customer service first hand. If I had kept this card, and had an actual problem, there is no way I trust they would have helped.

more ...
Apr 24, 2019

Come on, seriously? You're reviewing a card that you never shoulda applied for cuz you didn't realize it was a charge card...

 
Apr 26, 2019

You sent a bad review for your own ignorance!? LOL

 
May 13, 2019

I've never had a problem with CS. Amex is a great company.

 
May 14, 2019

How much more time did you waste writing this useless review?

 
Apr 20, 2019
Amazing
Cesar06 Cardholder

Instant approval, great rewards system and the card is metal. $250 annual fee, but you get $120 dinning credit & $100 airline credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 10, 2019

What was your credit score?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

American Express® Gold Card

78 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i