Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 for the first year, then $195
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable

Our Take

The Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express is a charge card with great rewards that’s aimed at good-to-excellent credit consumers.

What to Like

There are plenty of ways to earn rewards with this card. You can earn 3x points on flights booked directly with airlines, 2x points at eligible gas stations, restaurants, and supermarkets and 1x points on other eligible purchases. There’s also a rewards bonus if you meet minimum spending requirements, no annual fee for the first year and no pre-set spending limit.

Look Out For

This is a charge card, meaning you’re required to pay your balance in full each month. There’s also a $195 annual fee after your first year and no pre-set spending limit doesn’t mean unlimited spending.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
Approval after 4 days
LJM07 Cardholder

I was just approved for this AMEX Premier Gold today, Wednesday, after submitting an online application on Sunday morning (and after having been approved for the Blue Cash Rewards $2k limit on Wednesday, a week ago).  My scores are TU 707, EX 655, EQ 673 as of right now.  I had kicked around the idea of applying for the PRG and Blue Cash at the same time, but decided to see how the traditional credit card approval went, and it was instantantly approved on that decision.  On this one, they called this morning just to confirm my address and birthdate, and then the approval (after about a minute) was finalized right on the phone.  For anyone considering applying, some factors that may be important beyond just credit scores are debt-to-income (mine is roughly $10k in student loans to $64k self-employed income), credit utilization (mine is under 5%, paid in full monthly), payment history (I do have 6 total late payments between 2012-2013, but none since).  So if I had to sum it up, I would say mid 600s Experian score, no lates in the past 24 months and no open collections (my EQ & EX reports still show some closed collections; 2 from pre-2012 and 1 in 2013).  Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 22, 2016
updated review!
lizzie469 Cardholder

they have long waits on calls! another issue is they do financial reviews, they wan to see if you actually make what you say you do for that they loki to see your tax returns not from you but from the actual IRS. i have never own them anything i change about 10k montly and always pay it off! im under finalcial review i dont know if i want my intormation everywhere, also if you dont comply with their request they are entitle to close your account! not as great costumer service as i though, Discover has better customer service and you are never in hold for more than 10 second

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2016
Horrible Card!
Thedjwaver Cardholder

 yearAmerican Express or Should I say Indian Express.......Not once have I called in and got a Customer service rep where english was their first language. Very difficult to get any information through. If you have any issues you have to write to a PO Box in El Paso. I been waiting for Months on a reply and got nothing. I had to Make A CFPB complaint due to their horrible interactions with me and they speifically have Turned my rewards card into a simple card with no perks. The card has a  195 yearly fee with no perks or bonus points. I DO NOT RECOMMED THIS CARD OR AMERICAN EXPRESS AT ALL!

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Great Card for 20 year old.
SocialKid Cardholder

I recently just turned 20 & I applied for the green card & got approved. With that being said this is my second card into American Express. Having the Everyday Rewards card as well and now the gold card it's kind of hard to not get this card 5 stars. My only concern well not so much a concern is that I didn't really want the card. To make matters brief like I've stated before I am new to American Express & I revived an RSVP packet in purple thinking it was an upgrade for my 6 moth old green card. I talked on the phone with a representative for about 2.5 hours & thought everything she was telling me was correct. Turns out it wasn't. An RSVP code isn't an upgrade it's a brand new card & it also hits your experian score. So I'm in the process of dealing with that & I've  yet to receive a call back from anyone regarding the incident. So one piece of advice I hope everyone can learn from this is that no matter who you are talking to make SURE they note & date your account after every call. So if you ever have a he said she said type of ordeal you'll be prepared for what comes next. Other than that it's a phenomenal card & I can say with a smile that I'm glad my hard work has paid off. So far so good besides the mix up I've had but hey two charge cards aren't so bad. As for anyone wanting to know my scores my TransUnion : 719 Equifax: 740 Experian : 738. Now for the last piece of informationI I will say that I eat out with friends quite a lot and I'm excited to take this card for a spin! Exceptional card with stellar benefits. Just read your mail carefully even if you call always get someone to note your account. Other than that I have no other issues. Glad to be part of the Amex family at such a young age. 😄

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Like it
Anonymous Cardholder

I've been with this card since 2005. I like the benefits of this card. I recognize that the anual fee is a little expensive, but I'm happy with this card and the benefits.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
awesome charge card
cmoney1996 Cardholder

Best charge card you can earn more points in categories compared to the platinum card with a lower annual fee as well and similar benefits 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Approval after 4 days
LJM07 Cardholder

I was just approved for this AMEX Premier Gold today, Wednesday, after submitting an online application on Sunday morning (and after having been approved for the Blue Cash Rewards $2k limit on Wednesday, a week ago).  My scores are TU 707, EX 655, EQ 673 as of right now.  I had kicked around the idea of applying for the PRG and Blue Cash at the same time, but decided to see how the traditional credit card approval went, and it was instantantly approved on that decision.  On this one, they called this morning just to confirm my address and birthdate, and then the approval (after about a minute) was finalized right on the phone.  For anyone considering applying, some factors that may be important beyond just credit scores are debt-to-income (mine is roughly $10k in student loans to $64k self-employed income), credit utilization (mine is under 5%, paid in full monthly), payment history (I do have 6 total late payments between 2012-2013, but none since).  So if I had to sum it up, I would say mid 600s Experian score, no lates in the past 24 months and no open collections (my EQ & EX reports still show some closed collections; 2 from pre-2012 and 1 in 2013).  Hope this helps.

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Was my to go to card

I was awoken to our phones ringing early one morning saw messages was freaked out thought someone stole our idenities or something.  Message stated to call them immediately so we did with family visiting from out of town gathered around wondering what amex wanted.  Well I got yelled yes yelled at because she thought I was on speaker phone and she heard my husbands voice and then was told I needed to provide financial documents.  I asked why and they said because my husband uses his card 78% and I use mine 22%.  We are old fashioned my husband still pumps my gas and pays for everything we have been together since highschool.  I thought this was crazy and thought I was being scammed and told them what I thought, paid off my account and they canceled my card.  Never again never!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 09, 2016

The same thing happened to me with my wifes card, but you must understand where they're coming from. Amex is just trying to protect themselves...... In my case they lowered our spending limit......but then again increased it after a couple of months. It turns out that now, that I have my own card with Amex.
It's the best Card out there.

 
Sep 22, 2016
updated review!
lizzie469 Cardholder

they have long waits on calls! another issue is they do financial reviews, they wan to see if you actually make what you say you do for that they loki to see your tax returns not from you but from the actual IRS. i have never own them anything i change about 10k montly and always pay it off! im under finalcial review i dont know if i want my intormation everywhere, also if you dont comply with their request they are entitle to close your account! not as great costumer service as i though, Discover has better customer service and you are never in hold for more than 10 second

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 10, 2016

If you charge that much ($10k) like you say you do, then I am not surprised they are wanting to verify your income. That is abnormally high for a charge card, especially the PRG.

 
Sep 16, 2016
Stay Away
GordonTraveler Cardholder

It's a very well publicized fraud. Stay away!

Real Example:
50,000 points if used with AMEX travel site value: $500. However, and here is the fraud, all the price on the site are way more expensive than any other site (Expedia, Google, etc...) and the $500 in this way are lost!

Another Example:

AMEX customer service is horrible. I was transferred seven times each time they did not warm transfer to inform whomever I was to get what the issues was. I had to explain myself each time. This was crazy!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 19, 2016

Not fraud. It's like Kohl's marking the price of clothing and shoes way up so their 30% coupons can bring it down to still above the price you would pay on Amazon and other places. I've never had an issue with their customer service, next time ask for a supervisor. Look in to Chase, I hear they have good travel rewards and put the Amex on the back burner.

 
Sep 07, 2016
JUST GOT APPROVED WITH A 689 FICO SCORE
Anonymous Cardholder

I JUST GOT IT GOT APPROVED IN SECONDS I HAVE NO LIMIT SET BUT I HAD NO IDEA THIS WAS A CHARGE CARD AD I DIDNT KNOW THE DIFFERENCE I ALSO HAVE THE EVERY DAY BLUE BUT I GUESS THIS IS A GOOD CARD SINCE I DONT LIKE TO CARRY BALANCES ...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 13, 2016

It's good because it has a pay it later feature that let's you selectively pay any charge over 100 bucks over time (with interest) so you can buy a TV and not have to pay it off in a month. That's great. It's a great card to have. Enjoy!

 
Aug 14, 2016
Excellent.......
rikfan Cardholder

I only had this card for a few weeks but I will say that It's all good so far. I have the American Express Everyday card and the Platinum so I really didn't need this one but the points add up fast with this card. I seldom carry a balance so this card is good. I may drop my Platinum because the points on this card are easier to obtain. I have a 760 score here and My Fico 8 score is 770. They sent me an invitation by e-mail to apply and it was pain free. Truth be told, I have the Chase United Explorer card and I can't really tell which is better. The fee for the Platinum is really on my nerves because I do travel but not enough to justify 450 a year. I'll stick with this one and collect my 25 K miles. Bye Bye Plat and hello Gold....... The fee is 200 a year but you can make that up pretty fast. Hard to go wrong with this card. Good luck all and thx Karma for all the useful stuff here.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express

49 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i