American Express® Gold Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
96 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $250
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 09, 2019
Best card for families
Familyman89 Cardholder

I rebuilt my credit over the course of 3 years waited till I was at least a 690-700 before applying for my first real credit card I did research for a couple months meaning I don’t make any kind of credit decisions lightly and wanted a card to fit my lifestyle after all my research I decided that American Express would be the best company for me with their variety of different cards and perks charge/credit cards and the fact that their point system isn’t over inflated with an absurd number of points that makes you feel like you have more value than you do they have a very well rounded point system so I decided to apply for an Amex Gold card through credit Karma because I had very good approval odds and I So I applied through the app and was approved in 5 minutes and had my card a week later after a few months with the card I have to say I absolutely love it I am a family man and feel like this is the perfect family card I spend ballpark 600-700 in groceries a month that’s 4x points per dollar and we like to eat out also that’s 4x points per dollar at restaurants so this card has substantial value for families and if you pay attention to the negative reviews about this card it is because it’s a charge card and people complain about not being able to Cary a balance and don’t like paying it off every month 1. I got this card because it’s a charge card meaning I only make purchases that I would have to make anyways month to month  groceries and eating out meaning I’m not over extending myself buying wish list items I use it and just pay the balance the next day I don’t wait for statements to come out I use it then put it back to $0 because it’s money I would spend anyway at least I’m getting rewards and points 2. The customer service has been great in app no complaints and I will be getting future credit cards with them so before you apply or use this card do yourself a favor and have a full understanding of what the difference between a charge and  card is charge cards can be a great tool to keep you from over spending month to month and not stress about carried balances growing in size and they definitely come with more rewards and perks 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2018
Horrible Customer Service
Customerservice1 Cardholder

The customer service is absolutely horrible! I called American Express 6 times in 2 days to clear up an email regarding activity on a card that has been closed for 4 years. After wasting 45 min the first day that ended with 3 transfers to individuals that couldn’t assist and then was transferred to a department that promised they could assist, the phone was disconnected. Not wanting to explain the situation over again after explaining it 3 times, I gave up and resolved to call the next day. I called the next day and guess what? The same exact thing! I was on the phone for 40 minutes and it was like dejavu. Extremely frustrated, I asked for an email or online chat to keep from doing this all over again. It’s not in me to be disrespectful so i decided I would email instead. After all, it’s not the workers fault that I could not understand them and they had no clue as to what to do.  I was given an email to the chairman, I emailed him and never heard back. So basically, I have no idea if an account has been fraudulently opened or not because the customer service is the worse I’ve ever seen. Think about this before you go for one of these cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 12, 2019
I love it!
Ali05 Cardholder

I love the customer service! 

more ...
Aug 10, 2019
Sjackson0257 Cardholder

While there is a 250 fee, you can recieve a 120 dining credit for 4 resturants as well as anything on grubhub (10 dollars a month per year) as well as up to a 100 dollar travel reimbersment. Good customer chat service and an easy app to pay bills immediately. 

more ...
Aug 02, 2019
best card for restaurants & bonuses
tootab Cardholder

when i was 16 i was added to my mothers blue cash preferred card, so i started building credit long before i was able to apply for a card on my own. i turned 18 and got a secured card and paid in full every month and not long after, my score was close to 700. i decided i wanted to continue my relationship with american express so i applied for the gold card after learning i was prequalified.. i was initially afraid of the 250$ annual fee but with the card member deals, and the 100$ incidental airline refund and the 120$ for restaurants, i've made back 180$ so far and i've only had the card for 4 months. i utilize the pay over time feature for charges over $100, and i would only recommend it if you are a responsible spender (also they started me off with a very small pay over time limit, and after a few months it was increased to what i was told the highest that this card can have, so i'm very grateful and lucky).

more ...
Jul 31, 2019
Excellent card for everyday spender
TCAL4284 Cardholder

Get prequalified first. I was approved instantly after preapproval from tool on there site. 

I’ve had the card for about 2 months now. It’s great the charge card thing is weird because it has to be paid back at the end of the month but they do give you the option for “pay over time” that amount varies based on credit worthiness I would assume. Great app, great customer service...and they upgraded my card to Rose Gold. I get complimented on my card just about everywhere it’s heavy, metal and pretty haha. There is no preset limit but doesn’t mean there is no limit. Ohhh and the points...in two month I’m already up to $304 USD just for speading what I would have spend in a normal month...free money so the intro bonus pays for itself. Referral ID: snap me @trevcal if want a referral just send me your email and we can both make money. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 03, 2019

What range was your credit score at when you got this card if you don't mind me asking?

 
Jul 23, 2019
Best perks for a card
achunt2143 Cardholder

Annual fee is high but the perks outweigh the fee. My parents convinced me to apply and I was instantly approved. This is a charge card but can be treated like a credit card. The APR is fairly high for pay over time, but not the worst I've seen on a card. Don't get the card if you cant make the sign up bonus though. Mine was 40k points after spending $2000 in the first three months. I always get compliments on the card when I hand it to someone. I originally received it in gold but amex had the promotion again for rose gold. Gave them a call and they sent me another one!

more ...
Jul 18, 2019
Love the rewards and benefits
SKenn Cardholder

$250 annual fee pays for itself via benefits.  Need pretty good credit. AmEx customer service is the best !

more ...
Jul 17, 2019
kept their word!!!
terencef12 Cardholder

IF YOU HAVE A GREEN AMEX, JUST KEEP IT IN GOOD STANDING, AND AFTER ONE YEAR THEY'LL OFFER TO UPGRADE YOU TO GOLD! I'M EXCITED TO HAVE THIS CARD IN MY WALLET!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 18, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Jul 15, 2019
Easy, crisp, simple to use.
Topcardsonly Cardholder

This card is great once you get passed the annual fee which isn’t as bad as you think. It’s worth it in the end no doubt. Great customer service and I got approved and had my card on the way in under 10mins. If you need a referral link for the rose gold dm me @patrick_atwara

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
Great card to use for dining/groceries

Applied for this a couple months after getting the Platinum card, got a "you're preapproved" message (despite Credit Karma rating my approval odds as only "fair") and was approved instantly with no hard pull. My FICO scores are between 792 and 835. While the Platinum is great for the 5X rewards on airline ticket purchases, it's pretty much 1X for everything else besides hotel stays purchased through AMEX travel. The value of the 4X points on groceries/dining on the Gold card for me easily justifies the annual fee. The $10/month restaurant credit is a bit too limited to be very useful to me, as is the $100/year airline incidentals credit (especially since the "gift card loophole" seems to have been recently slammed shut). Worth mentioning: literally the day after my posted charges reached the $2,000 mark (long before the first statement even closed), the sign-up bonus points were added to my account. I have never experienced anything less than outstanding customer service from AMEX reps whenver I've called them.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

American Express® Gold Card

96 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i