Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
108 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2017
Still Amazing-3rd Review
Bones8302 Cardholder

I posted two prior reviews, one on  the application process and one since having the card.   I have had the card two months now.  On my 60th day (4/9/17) I applied for a CLI (read reviews and everyone said they applied after 60 days and got 3X the current limit) so I was told I had to wait until the day after 60 days.  Well, I applied and it is true I was approved for 3 times my original limit.  I started with 2k which I was initially surprised anyway due to my credit score (thought it would be more like $500) and now I am at 6K.  I read some comments that people do not believe that individuals are getting these limits.  I can attest this is true, when I was initially approved I had a 659 credit score with three collections, several store cards, subprime credit cards and 27% utilization.  I now have a 673 Experian score and 1% utilization across all accounts.  I follow the recommendations of charging and paying off in full so I only charge what I was going to pay in cash anyway (monthly bills, gas, etc).  Do the prequalifier first!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 20, 2017
Didn't follow through with the offers
123456Jac1234 Cardholder

They did not follow through with their 0% introductory APR for 12 months offer.  I was instantly approved from the Credit Karma site and got a high limit with the Blue Cash Preferred card however, they did not follow through with their offers as posted.  I called them and got the run arround.  6-8 weeks for a decision as to whether they will add the offer or why they didn't follow through and that is unacceptable.  I have no balance on the card and was intending to use it on business purchases.  I am glad I checked before I did.  I will not be using this card and will continue to use my Chase Sapphire.  Not happy.  Buyer Beware! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 23, 2017
Excellent family expenses card
jbhannah Cardholder

For a family of four with regular (and substantial) grocery, gas, and clothing expenses, the cash back rates on this card are excellent. If you spend anywhere near the $6000 dollar limit for 6% cash back on groceries, it easily pays the annual fee on its own, but the 3% and 6% cash back rates might not apply at some specialty stores or at big-box stores; you'll just get the 1% rate there. If you're trying to build or rebuild your credit, there are better options, but if you already have a good and fairly well-established credit history and the math works out for your expenses, this is one of the best cash back cards there is.

more ...
Nov 19, 2017
Interest to high
GlennMc7 Cardholder

The interest on this card is so high that it was not even worth using

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 20, 2017

0% for 12-15 months is pretty good, and after that, just pay your statement balance in full during the grace period and you'll be like "Interest schminterest".

 
Nov 16, 2017
Benzchrysler Cardholder

This is a wonderful card to have. It has been accepted everywhere I shop,walmart home depot victoria secret  the list goes on and on. Credit Karma gave me a fair approval but I applyed anyway and was approved grat credit limit  just love my American Express thank you the only card I need in my wallet

more ...
Nov 13, 2017

I applied for this card back in September of 2016. Got approved for 5000 CL. My credit score on my reports were close to a 700 average for all 3 credit reporting companies. Last month (10-17) American Express took it upon themselves to lower my credit limit to 500 dollars. I made ALL my payments on time, payed off a big balance transfer and even used it on a vacation to Mexico. I payed it off and didn’t use it for about 3 weeks because I was trying to save money. I got an email one day saying I had been declined. When I called the guy was extremely rude and said he would have to run my credit again to make sure I could keep the 500, WHAT! Don’t be fooled. Just because it’s american Express, there are 100 better credit cards out there especially with way better customer service. My credit karma is still reporting TU: 703 equifax: 699. Utilization is 13%. Don’t fall for this card just because of them name. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

I had a similar experience, I am not a fan of AMEX

 
Nov 11, 2017
Instant gratification
ChubbyNinja Cardholder

Had Experian 662 FICO others 700+ approved $2000 pretty excited. Finally cash back rewards thanks credit karma for the recommendation.

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
cant wait to start using it
Kgilbert201112 Cardholder

Applied and instantly approved for $10,000 limit. My credit score is 735. I can't find a list of approved grocery stores though :(

more ...
Nov 11, 2017

There's gotta be a list out there somewhere. I'm pretty sure I remember seeing one.

 
Nov 17, 2017

They absolutely have a list of grocery stores, gas stations, and department stores that are eligible for the cash back rewards earnings, you just have to look on the Amex website or on the Amex app. Click on "membership" and it has everything listed there and all the rules and regs.

 
Nov 11, 2017
Love this card
JxSF Cardholder

I applied in November 2017 & got approved. I'm still fairly new to credit. I opened my first secured card with Capital One in September 2016 ($1.5k), followed by the Quicksilver One ($3.5k) 4 months later. When I applied with Amex, my credit score was around 735 at the time. I applied on a whim. I didn't think I'd get approved because I had a limited history. Hit submit & I was instantly approved for $10k. I was shocked. I took advantage of the 0% intro APR big time. I carried a high balance for the credit line (around 8k) for 8 months (I used the money to invest in the meantime). They decreased my limit down to $8.5k until I partially paid down the balance or provided further financial info. The promotional intro APR was coming to an end so I paid it off & they restored my credit line back to $10k.

Despite that little hiccup, I love the card. I still give it 5 stars. The customer service has always been knowledgeable & prompt. The rewards are easy & manageable. I don't get a lot out of the gas rewards (San Francisco resident, not a lot of driving) but the 3% back at department stores has been very good to me. That, along with the 6% on groceries made this card a done deal for me. I was originally looking at the Blue Cash Everyday, but the rewards on the Preferred exceed the Everyday even with the annual fee if you spend $500 a month on groceries.

I just got the new Uber Visa (4% on dining + 3% on travel + ...) & combined with the Blue Cash Preferred, they're the ultimate duo for city living.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 16, 2017

Sorry, I had my years off. I applied in November 2016. My cap1 secured I applied in September 2015.

 
Nov 06, 2017
Don't do it
KECarey Cardholder

My husband did a balance transfer for the 0% APR. Based on the reviews it seemed like a good bet. At this time we have been charged $80 in interest fees for 2 months of having the cards. Everytime I talk to them they say they are working on fixing the issue, that it was an error that affected thousands of accounts; I was told I was only charged interest once bc of that error and yet my account statements show 2 interest charges. They can't give me a time when it will be fixed or my account will be credited. My situation is clearly an issue of fraud. 

more ...
Nov 02, 2017
Approved for $1,000 with a score of 647
BAW5727 Cardholder

Hoping this helps to build my credit. I have increased my score by an average of 70 points within the past year by eliminating debt. Was surprised to be approved with sich a high credit amount with a not so good/average credit score.

more ...
Nov 07, 2017

What was your credit score? If you don't mind me asking

 
Nov 07, 2017

Never mind just saw it

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

108 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i