Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
115 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express is a great choice for consumers with good to excellent credit who are looking for attractive cash back rates.

What to Like

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express pays out 6% cash back at supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 3% at gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else. Cardholders can also earn a $150 bonus for $1,000 spent in the first three months, all with no rotating categories. 

Look Out For

You’ll have to balance the benefits of the cash back rewards against a $95 annual fee. The card also includes a 3%, Min: $5 fee for balance transfers and a 2.7% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2017
very easy to apply and get approved
beginner101 Cardholder

My Credit was 520 no credit cards since 2000. i just strated building credit about 9 months ago, put 500 secured credit card with bamk of america, 3moths later I aplied for capital one, 1 month later i papplied for discover, a month after that i applied for both amrtican express the blue and clear one and got approved for all of them. thank you jesus :) AND one of the american express blue one is for 1000 credit and the clear one is at 6000. discover only gave me 1000.  I now have 8500.00 woth of credit..  NOTE:  I only use them to establish credit and never go over 10% of their total credit limit, I pay on time and make more than one payment per month per account.  I hope this encourages you to get inspired to build your credit and it doest take long but it's not overnight either

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
Stranger32 Cardholder

İ got the card 2 years ago. They gave më 7000 limit and then after 1 year they made it 17000. That's good. But the only problem is 6% cash back works only för some markets. İt does not give 6% from costco , walmart where i go för shopping most often.when i applied i was dxpecting a 500 $ cashback per year but i can only get around 200..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 20, 2017
ErickQ15 Cardholder

Great cash back card out there!  Wish it had a $0 intro and than the $95 there after!!!

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Instant Approval
freddiebrown Cardholder

Approved instantly with $4000 limit.

American Express seems to only pull your credit from Expeiran.  I only have 1 active  credit card accounts on my profile a $2000 credit with a balnace of $244. I would encourage you to wait until your utilization rate is 10% or less to throughly increase your score and your chances for approval.

Scores: TU: 738  /  EQ: 735

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
fast and quick
Benonapit Cardholder

amazing , i can get approve with $1000 , with my credit around 670. and i also had approved for the everyday american aexpress , the silver one.

loved to have em, but you must pay them full. recommende.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 21, 2017

Hi SR you're approved the same day?? Or not??

 
Jun 30, 2017
Approved
jsh0284 Cardholder

Approved with a 702 CK for $2000 CL. I have a $4500 C1, $4000 Chase and $2700 Discover so I imagine with time this CL will increase. Great card and first time Amex owner.

more ...
Jul 01, 2017

Ask for a CLI in 61 days 3x your limit.

 
Jul 06, 2017

I heard they don't make you wait 61 days for a credit increase

 
Jun 28, 2017
Good card with 0% for 12 months
ronpeet01 Cardholder

I had this card but closed account. I did not get the perks and I did not read close enough there is an annual few of $95 every year. Be careful I went with blue cash everyday card no fee and good so far. Will see if I get the perks this time!!! If not I'll close account.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 15, 2017

It can take a month or two for them to show up. Call and talk to them...

 
Jun 27, 2017
No fees for active duty military
PO3Carmo Cardholder

Get the perks for free. The interest rate is pretty bad though.

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Approved with CK score 627-Fair odds
EbOfficial83 Cardholder

I've been working really hard on building my credit. I have Capital One card with a $300 CL. CK recommended this Amex BCP credit card and I applied on a whim with much faith. Amex said they would have to look further into my application, the very next day a customer service rep called to verify my info with my bank. Once all information was confirmed, I was approved for 5K CL. How awesome is that? I've alway's wanted a AMEX card and to finally have one now is just AMAZING.  All this to say, please DO NOT get discouraged when your app is not approved instantly. Just apply, let them verify and I'm sure you will get approved. Good Luck!

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Approved with CK score 627
EbOfficial83 Cardholder

I've been working really hard on building my credit. I have Capital One card with a $300 CL. CK recommended this Amex BCP credit card and I applied on a whim with much faith. Amex said they would have to look further into my application, the very next day a customer service rep called to verify my info with my bank. Once all information was confirmed, I was approved for 5K CL. How awesome is that? I've alway's wanted a AMEX card and to finally have one now is just AMAZING.  All this to say, please DO NOT get discouraged when your app is not approved instantly. Just apply, let them verify and I'm sure you will get approved. Good Luck!

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
High rewards rate!
Gregory1776 Cardholder

After working for a couple months to get a negative account off my account, that was not mine, I applied for this card with a 727 MyFico score, NO missed payments ever, oldest account 2 yr 8 mos old (closed) and the youngest 3 months old. 9% Credit utilization. Got approved for 2,000. I wanted to get 5,000, but I can get that in 61 days after I activating it, and get 6,000 (3x), than triple that. ;) I make about 35k a year this is my first credit card that's not a store card. (Home Depot $500, Macy's $1,000, and Mattress Firm account, 5,000 CL)

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Poor Rewards and Credit Line
jus10young Cardholder

This Amex card does not compare to similar cards through Chase. The rewards can only be redeemed in $25 increments. Not a huge deal, but rather annoying considering its the only perk of this card.

Finding merchants that accept AmEx, even in Houston, is a struggle. Most mom and pop stores can't pay the exorbiant Amex transaction fees. I get much better acceptance with Discover. 

$10K Limit on Barclays, $12k limit with Capital One, $5k limit with Discover.  Utilization <3%        AmEx granted a whopping $2 k limit.   Not worth the credit hit. 

The deal breaker was the way Amex handled a dispute on my account; the merchant lied multiple times, but continued to dispute the charge back. Amex finally gave up, even after I submitted many pages of documentation, and recharged by account. Definitely not the AmEx service your father would have received... 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 29, 2017

I'm sorry you had this experience with them. It was the same for me...I bought a faulty, subpar leather couch (fantastic leather ,awful fill that sunk everywhere the first 10 days, from Jeniffer leather no less), and all Amex did was try to play a broker for repairs...merchant kept up with lies and they alllllllways take their side! Screw them! I never had a dispute before and have a credit score of over 800. Didn't matter.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

115 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i