Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
122 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express is a great choice for consumers with good to excellent credit who are looking for attractive cash back rates.

What to Like

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express pays out 6% cash back at supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 3% at gas stations and select department stores and 1% cash back everywhere else. Cardholders can also earn a $150 bonus for $1,000 spent in the first three months, all with no rotating categories. There’s also a 0% introductory APR for 12 months on purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

You’ll have to balance the benefits of the cash back rewards against a $95 annual fee. The card also includes a 3%, Min: $5 fee for balance transfers and a 2.7% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 10, 2016
Amex might just be the best...
jvought Cardholder

I recently applied for this card card a few weeks ago. I've been an Amex member for 3 years now... Between them and Chase, they have great programs and customer service. I mainly went after this card due to my credit been in much better standing after repairing it since the recession. The first Amex card I ever applied and was instantly approved for was the Amex Blue sky card (which I would strongly suggest to those with "fair" as they're easier to be approved for) for a whopping 1k! lol!

I was still grateful as it get me in the door with Amex, my credit was maybe in the low 600s at that time in 2013. I would use it for everyday spending and pay off as soon as I could and it was one of the only cards I've had where they seem to automatically increase your CL without asking (Barclay was the only other one). Went all the way up to $4800 on it's own. I then did some research on how Amex is one of the only cc companies that does a "soft" pull only when requesting a CLI, which is a huge benefit (almost all cc companies pull a hard inquiry when requesting a CLI). From my research the magic number of days to wait for is 61 days from opening the card (with a low balance, don't waste your time if it's high, you'll more than likely be rejected) and 6 months from your last CLI request. The magic amount to ask for is no more than 3x your existing CL. I took this advice and applied, sure enough I got my CL doubled! A little disappointed that it didn't go from $4200 to $12,600, but was still happy with the $8,400 being that it was so painless and easy. Remember to always include a raise in income, if you demand more than what you're instantly approved for, be prepared to back up that income (which can always be a pain to provide). Still overall happy with the experience!

I then applied for this card since getting a little more confident with my background with Amex... Sure enough, instantly approved for $5,500 CL! I mainly got this card, because my wife's biggest spending happening at Supermarkets and department stores. This is the only card out there that offers 6% cb on anything, 5 is the highest I've seen and that on;y on the cards that mostly offer rotating categories. Plus, the 3% unlimited cb at select department stores is a huge plus as my wife likes to go shopping a lot (god bless her). I plan to continue keeping a low balance and applying for a CLI on my 61st day and will be sure to update everyone if when it takes place to confirm...

To those who've gotten declined for this card or another in that matter... NEVER forget to ALWAYS call the reconsideration number. I've NEVER gotten declined after doing so. Don't get me wrong, it may take a few times and a few different reps, but it eventually works when you keep trying. Just make sure when applying for higher tier benefit rich cards such as this one that you have an exp score (most popular credit bureau for cc companies) of 680 or higher! If not, don't waste the hard pull on your credit. Remember that hard pulls will stay on your credit for 2 years (only affect your score directly for 1 year, but will still be viewable to credit companies to see how much credit you've been applying for in such a short period of time). The card companies won't pull another inquire for 30 days after you first applied for the card. So you've already taken the ding on your credit with the hard pull anyway, so why not give it a shot at the reconsideration line. Call everyday for 30 days if you have to! lol! Just because one rep rejected you, doesn't mean the next one will as well. Just pretend the prior call never took place. If you just sit around and wait for your letter within the next 7-10 business days, it's a 99% chance of being a rejection letter. So what are you waiting for?

In closing, Amex and Chase are the best cc companies I've came across and I have 16 cc's! lol

Hope this helps everyone, thanks again Amex!

tu 719 eq 740 exp 693

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
Stranger32 Cardholder

İ got the card 2 years ago. They gave më 7000 limit and then after 1 year they made it 17000. That's good. But the only problem is 6% cash back works only för some markets. İt does not give 6% from costco , walmart where i go för shopping most often.when i applied i was dxpecting a 500 $ cashback per year but i can only get around 200..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Best card available for groceries & gas

The rebate dollars are rolling in.  We use this card for all of our groceries (6% back on up to $6000 in purchases per year), gas (3% back) and at department stores (3% back) where we don't have a store card with a better cash back program.

You must pay your statement balance in full each month for this card to realize the cash savings.

It takes a couple of months for cash rebates to post.

Customer service is fantastic.

If I did it over, I would not have added my wife to my account.  I would have had her apply for a separate account since we will hit the $6000 cap on groceries in about 7 months.

Shop different sites on where to apply for this card.  The one time incentives like $150 - $250 cash back after $x in purchases and 10% cash back on Amazon purchases for Y months vary from site to site.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 18, 2017

Your wife can still apply for her own as well even though she's an authorized user on your card. I'm an AU on my husband's Blue Cash Everyday and I have my own Blue Cash Everyday account as well... just fyi

 
Jan 17, 2017
Limited list of acceptable grocers
Anonymous Cardholder

WARNING: You should know that the list of acceptable 'grocery' stores that count toward the 6% rewards is limited to large national [purely] grocery chains such as Safeway, Ralphs, Albertsons..etc.  If you shop anywhere like Wholefoods, Sprouts, or any ethnic markets, those purchases won't count toward the 6%.  I just spoke to a customer service rep (who was very nice btw) that read off a specific list of about 15-20 grocery chains and anything else NOT on that list isn't acceptable as a 'grocery' store purchase.  FYI.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 18, 2017

Whole Foods is on AmEx's list of grocery stores that get the six percent rebate. I have also used it at Harris Teeter and Giant Foods and received the six percent rebate. https://www.americanexpress.com/us/content/rewards-info/retail.html

From that link:
To earn additional rewards on supermarket purchases, the supermarket must be located in the U.S.

A supermarket offers a wide variety of food and household products such as meat, fresh produce, dairy, canned and packaged goods, household cleaners, pharmacy products and pet supplies.

(Superstores, convenience stores and warehouse clubs are NOT considered supermarkets.)

Examples of merchants* that accept the Card and where you can earn additional rewards include:
• Gristedes
• Foodtown
• Meijer
• Pathmark
• Shoprite
• Stop and Shop
• Vons
• Whole Foods
• Winn-Dixie
• Online supermarkets such as FreshDirect

*This is not a complete list.

Examples of merchants where you will NOT earn additional rewards include:
• Specialty stores (e.g., fish markets, cheese shops, wine shops, and other specialty food stores )
• Superstores (e.g. Amazon, Target and Wal-Mart)
• Warehouse clubs (e.g. BJ's Club)

 
Jan 14, 2017
Rewards don't post, bad customer service
CigarGuy123 Cardholder

Let's see: A card that doesn't post rewards, terrible customer service.  Look elsewhere.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017

Mine have shown up just fine. The cash back takes a couple of months to show up. My best guess is they want to ensure the window on returning merchandise is essentially closed and not have to try and get rebate dollars back from the cardholder.

 
Jan 18, 2017

That makes sense. Though, the Amazon purchase that I made showed up within 2 or 3 days of payment posting. Maybe that's the one exception to the rule.

 
Jan 07, 2017
Great card, use it for almost everything
Gmcman56 Cardholder

The cash back I have accumulated so far in 10 months has paid for the $75 annual fee five times over. The perks (offers/benefits) sections always has something interesting in it, I recently got $25 for spending $100 at Eddie Bauer. The customer service is outstanding, they go above and beyond to keep you happy and resolve any issue. I should have got this card a long time ago. 

more ...
Dec 31, 2016
First glance...
Ligre22 Cardholder

Credit Karma gave me "Good" odds for approval on this card. It's beautiful, Amex is on the rise with great bonus offers for pre-qualifiers, and the $95 annual fee is far outweighed by the many benefits this card has! Scores are 691 TU, 685 EQ and 685 EX...and I was approved for a $7000 limit. 7-10 business days cannot come fast enough!

more ...
Dec 31, 2016
Best card for my family's needs
SnootieBoo Cardholder

I Upgraded to the Preferred because of the amount of money we spend on groceries, gas & at department stores. The potential to earn AT LEAST $500 cash back for the year is well worth the $95 annual fee. Amex is also very generous with their credit increases. I've had my card for a year now with a $17,500 limit,...initially started with $2000. Love this card!!! Customer service is also great! If it meets your needs, app for it & don't be afraid to ask for increases (soft pulls). Good luck!!!🍀 

more ...
Dec 28, 2016
Paying me to use their card!!
ilnasty Cardholder

Just an example of how much you can make using this card.  I became a cardmember August 1, 2012.  Since then have paid $95/year to be a member which is a total cost of $400.  I have earned and redeemed over $3600 using this card in a little over 4 years giving me a net profit of $3200.  If you are a Military member this card will get you 6% cash back at the commissary and is well worth it!  Just pay off your balances and do not carry a revolving balance and you will not have to worry about the high-interest rate.  Honestly, if you cannot pay off your balances every month this card is NOT for you.  I will continue to pay the $95 a year and earning $700 per year in cash back rewards every year!

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
Great card!
ChargerGreg Cardholder

Been with AMEX for 23 years and have a Platinum card. Great credit and income, so wasn't a problem to get it. They gave me an initial 20K credit limit which I though was low so asked for 30K which they approved in one day. I use the heck out of it too.

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
approved for high limit
karalang Cardholder

FICO 721, annual income below 100k, approved for 10k limit. Great card if your FICO is good but your total limit is low and you're looking to increase your total line and you're good about keeping utilization low. Application was quick and easy. 

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
Good card, sketchy supermarkets clause.
JForrester Cardholder

The "Preferred" version of this card offers up to 6% back on groceries, which I thought would more than pay the fees as opposed to the "Everyday" version of the card.  Turns out any grocery store that also sells anything else doesn't count.  Things like Fred Meyer (Kroger) don't work, nor do warehouse stores like Costco.  I've had this card for about two years now and I think less than $200 of purchases actually counted as groceries for the 6% back.  A couple bucks isn't worth the $95 yearly fee.

If you shop at a store where you're certain you'll get the 6%, I'm sure it's awesome.  Otherwise the Everyday Amex card would be a lot better fit.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

122 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i