Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
34 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 13, 2018
Great cash back rewards
Streetglide59 Cardholder

This is my go to card for every day purchases at grocery stores, paying for gas at the pump, cell phone and cable bill. The cash back rewards add up quick and like the flexibility on how you can spend the rewards. You can take a statement credit or use to purchase gift cards and of course the online shopping catalog. I pay my balance each month. I applied for the card in 2013 with a FICO of 720 and was approved with a $5,000 limit. In 6 months, they raised my limit to $11,500 and after 2 years they raised it to where it currently sits at $17,100. The application process was easy and was approved in a matter of seconds after the online submit. As always, American Express has awesome customer service and I would definitely recommend this card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 02, 2019
Usefulness depends on usage.
X25064 Cardholder

I don't carry a balance. Never have, never will. I use cards to keep a score and pay for things I can already afford, but want to shift the burden on my back account around for. That said, this cards highlight is it's cash back ability. I don't use it for groceries much but did use it for gas a bit. I always felt that the cash back rate was still slower than my Capital One Quicksilver One card. It was not at all worth the $150 annual fee. I downgraded to the Cash Magnet card which Amex did for me no questions asked. I've never had an issue with Amex service as it's excellent, their app is fantastic, and their general services such as rental insurance and foreign exchange services are top notch.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 08, 2019
Good Card!!
cripple2 Cardholder

I have had this card over two years. They gave me a HIGH LIMIT compared to almost everyone else. answer your questions, and provide good service. They dont hassle you on purchases like other banks calling you to see if you REALLY bought that Big Screen TV  and stop your POS purcahse like some other horrible banks., I do not keep cards whertre they question every purchase. The application process is easy compared to most other banks. I have a fairly decent Cash access (vs straight credit) as well .I do not see the nergatives .  I have NOT used the card in 10 months (didnt need it) and they have NOT reduced my line of credit. I dont even need a credit increase I am satisifed with an  over 8K limit as I have many other cards. They DID stop a number of benefits to the card but still has many features other cards may not offer such as car rental insurane. You need a credit score over 680 to to really get good use out of the card

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
Stay away from amex. They do not care
ssmokeyy Cardholder

They do not care about there customer at all. I had a zero balance and they let me go becuase i didn't leave a **** ton of credit with them and pay there high rates. They also did this to my bussiness card i had with them also. 

more ...
Apr 13, 2019
Terrible Experience
BCorsair2 Cardholder

Beware. American Express is like a bad relationship. They do not follow through with their promises, cheat you out of your miles, and provide no value to you or your credit. What's worse is that you pay annualy for the mistreatment. No thanks. I've moved on to something better.

more ...
Mar 23, 2019
Spamming
AmirMero Cardholder

Before I apply for this card they told my the cash rewards for US Supermarkets are 6% but NO, in the reality it is ONLY 1%. There is no immediate feedback in the app to show me my rewards. The customer support told me I have to wait one month to see my rewards but in the reality it took me more than Two month to see it. then the app shows me less than I expected!!! And still no details. I asked the customer support about the details so they send me a link. It was showing me Walmart and HEB which I always use is only 1% !!!!!!! 

Then the customer support told me that this stores are not in their list!!!!!!

there is no any of their lists on my town!!! So this card is useless for me and they are so snaky ! 

Very disappointed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 23, 2019

Sounds like you didn’t have the basic understanding of the card before you used got it. 1) In the FAQ detailing the types of purchases and their entitled rewards the FAQ states that superstores DO NOT count as supermarkets. For example: Walmart and Target. Think “grocery store only” next time you want the 6% cash back. Stores like Food Lion and Kroger are available for the 6% cash back. 2) You receive your rewards and a detailed list of how much cash back you gained for each purchase online and not on the app. The app is a simplified tool to use and doesn’t contain all features. 3) One month after your bill is due you receive your rewards. An example of this: you spend $100 October 5th and your bill is due the 27th of that month. You won’t receive your rewards until the 27th of November for that purchase.

 
Mar 11, 2019
Easy, good cash back for families
jdec57 Cardholder

I've always had great customer service from Amex, returns are processed promptly and I LOVE earning 6% rewards at grocery stores although I sincerely wish that Costco could be included. <y only ding for Amex is that they are relentless with trying to get me to upgrade to gold or platinum and I am not interested.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 05, 2019

The BCP is a wonderful card, and I used it for 2 years before I realized that it's not going to get me free vacations. The Gold card, however, will someday. The points add up really fast, and points valuations dictate that it's actually able to save the customer more money in getting to where they want to go than the BCP is. The benefits of the Gold far outweigh the annual fee, IMO.

 
Mar 02, 2019
Usefulness depends on usage.
X25064 Cardholder

I don't carry a balance. Never have, never will. I use cards to keep a score and pay for things I can already afford, but want to shift the burden on my back account around for. That said, this cards highlight is it's cash back ability. I don't use it for groceries much but did use it for gas a bit. I always felt that the cash back rate was still slower than my Capital One Quicksilver One card. It was not at all worth the $150 annual fee. I downgraded to the Cash Magnet card which Amex did for me no questions asked. I've never had an issue with Amex service as it's excellent, their app is fantastic, and their general services such as rental insurance and foreign exchange services are top notch.

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
Beneficial
nperez60804 Cardholder

I've been an Amex card holder for many years now and the this card has proven its worth to me. They has exceptional customer service and I even added my spouse so that we can share the card's credit. There is a high annual fee, but if you utilize the card to its full potential then the fee ends up being paid for by its self. We use our card for for already budgeted items such as groceries and car fuel. Then we just pay it off in full monthly. This has worked wonderful for improving our credit scores. We use the Amex rewards we earn from getting our monthly necesities and we apply them directly into the cards Balance payment everyother month and that's how the card pays for itself. Again, Its a great card if you use it to its potential and I highly recommend it to others. Very relable and beneficial card.

more ...
Jan 01, 2019
Great card with great benefits.
ThatRebelComic Cardholder

Credit Karma noted that I was pre-approved for this card.  I had been looking for some time to find a card that had the sort of benefits I want, and this one fits the bill.  The application process was easy and my card arrived a couple of weeks later.  If I had one issue with the card issuance process, it would be the fact that it did not arrive as quickly as I had been led to believe, but on the whole, that's a minor issue.  My overall experiences have been nothing but good and I'm glad I applied.

more ...
Dec 13, 2018
Great cash back rewards
Streetglide59 Cardholder

This is my go to card for every day purchases at grocery stores, paying for gas at the pump, cell phone and cable bill. The cash back rewards add up quick and like the flexibility on how you can spend the rewards. You can take a statement credit or use to purchase gift cards and of course the online shopping catalog. I pay my balance each month. I applied for the card in 2013 with a FICO of 720 and was approved with a $5,000 limit. In 6 months, they raised my limit to $11,500 and after 2 years they raised it to where it currently sits at $17,100. The application process was easy and was approved in a matter of seconds after the online submit. As always, American Express has awesome customer service and I would definitely recommend this card. 

more ...
Jan 31, 2019

The FICO is the score that Credit Karma shows you?

 
Feb 03, 2019

Credit Karma uses Vantage not FICO; a wise consumer will track both.

 
Dec 12, 2018
Not as described
drami985 Cardholder

Was approved for $20k, they gave me a $5k balance transfer amount. Not impressed. Spoke to customer service. Would not increase transfer limit. The whole reason I applied for this card was for the 0% balance transfer deal. Definitely would not recommend. I’ll take advantage of the 0% deal, then I’m canceling this card. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express