Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 07, 2012
Favorite Card but Pay off Monthly
djmartinusen Cardholder

This is my first choice whenever I pay for things because of the cash back, but I don't dare carry a balance through a billing cycle since the interest rate is so high. I recommend this card only to those who pay off their entire balance monthly. Otherwise you could rack up some serious debt in interest charges.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 26, 2015
Can't beat the rewards, transfer sucks!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Amex does not advertise the balance transfer limit up front, nor do they disclose it unless you attmept or inquire about it.  They lure you with rewards and 0% on transfer.  The rewards are top notch. The transfer is garbage, had I known the max limit was $7,500, I would have requested a lower limit for the rewards and opened a second card such as Discover for the balance transfer benefits.  Why would I get a third card with a 20k limit if I can't even use the 50% transfer because they cap it at 7500 and don't tell you until after you make the request.  Customer service is all in India, and they could care less about customer satisfaction.  Still waiting for a call back from a supervisor, been 3 days now.  I don't want to open another card because it increases credit risk, so now I'm stuck with not being able to consolidate as planned.  If you have more than 7500 to move around, this card is not the one to do it with.  Just use it for rewards only.  

more ...

Reviews (333)

Add Review
Oct 22, 2016
Got approved last weekend
Upsetaccountant Cardholder

I hadn't been with AMEX since the 90's. I got instantly approved for both the Blue Cash Preferred Card CL $5,000 and the Gold Preferred Rewards Card all within a 7 day period. TU score 691; EQ score 667; EXP score 670, utilization 6%. By the way AMEX does pull a second credit report from the same bureau...doesn't bother me too much, since they are the only inquiries I've had in 4 years.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Relationships count

I applied fo this card with a 




Learn More About This PLUS Score

Learn More About This PLUS Score


was a little skeptical since I had some previous credit issues based on medical bills.  My current history with AMX is above reproach, never late and always pay my balance down under 15%.    I was approved with a decent credit limit based on history and salary.  if you get with AMX, they will work with you as long as you are able to honor your word.  

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Best Reward Card!!$$
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card, easy to earn reward cash.   Add authorized users for more cash!!

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Got Denied with 702 credit score

CreditKarm told me my ODDS are GOOD with my credit score of 702, but I have a bankruptcy discharge in 2011 , So if you have bankruptcy don.t wast your time applying to this card.

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
SachinTX Cardholder

This card is not good for rewards can only redim in multiplication of $25
And 6% category is hardly useful to any one
It has $95 fees

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Fast Approval 16K
Anonymous Cardholder

Chose this Amex for versatile rewards over no annual fee and was   instantly approved for 16k with 3 Scores ranging from 725-736. Didn't need that much, but it will help DTI.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Bad Balance transfer card!
Ronwithgreatcredit Cardholder

Application thru credit karma referral was fast and easy but the only reason I applied to this card was for the balance transfer.  it accepted the transfer online but denied the transaction after sending the card and notified me only by mail that the balance transfer was too high.  This sounds like a classic bait and switch offer and a total waste of an inquiry.  

more ...
Oct 02, 2016
Stranger32 Cardholder

İ got the card 2 years ago. They gave më 7000 limit and then after 1 year they made it 17000. That's good. But the only problem is 6% cash back works only för some markets. İt does not give 6% from costco , walmart where i go för shopping most often.when i applied i was dxpecting a 500 $ cashback per year but i can only get around 200..

more ...
Sep 22, 2016

****, just applied for this expecting a 60 second response only to get that and it stated: "Will send you a letter by mail with our decsion in 14 days"!...After reading reviews of CK peeps getting like $3500, $4K and even $10K limits immediately!   SH**, now I have a "HIT" on my credit report only to probably be 'denied'....*******s!  TU IS 691 EQ 696

more ...
Oct 04, 2016

Call the recon line and ask them what the holdup is very nicely. They will look at your application and let you know right over the phone. It usually works but like everyone says there's never a sure thing. But I read reviews with this usually helps. It many others. Definitely can't hurt. I know firsthand the waiting around is terrible. Good luck.

Oct 05, 2016

yes I had the same problem. I originally got denied then called the recon line and they approved me for 3k limit, hope this helps. It maybe too late to try the recon line if you haven't yet done so

Sep 20, 2016
NavyLCDR Cardholder

Absolutely the best cash back card for groceries and had! Also, the easiest card to redeem your cash rewards. I get over $100 back every month!

more ...
Oct 08, 2016

I agree the card is best for groceries and gas, but it is definitely not the easiest card to redeem for cash rewards. You actually cannot get cash from this card, you can only apply a statement credit or buy a giftcard. Also, you can only redeem in $25 increments, which means leaving cash rewards on the table. They also do not display the rewards until the billing cycle after the one in which you earned the rewards, essentially a 60 day wait. I use Capone Quicksilver for everything else at 1.5%, and it is far more flexible as they will send you a check or direct deposit , rewards post as you purchase, and rewards can be redeemed for any amount, no minimum, no increments.


Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express