Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
127 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express is a great choice for consumers with good to excellent credit who are looking for attractive cash back rates.

What to Like

Limited Time Offer: Apply by 5/3/17 – Earn 10% cash back on purchases at U.S. Restaurants in the first 6 months, up to $200 back. The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express pays out 6% cash back at supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 3% at gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else. Cardholders can also earn a $150 bonus for $1,000 spent in the first three months, all with no rotating categories. 

Look Out For

You’ll have to balance the benefits of the cash back rewards against a $95 annual fee. The card also includes a 3%, Min: $5 fee for balance transfers and a 2.7% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 10, 2016
Amex might just be the best...
jvought Cardholder

I recently applied for this card card a few weeks ago. I've been an Amex member for 3 years now... Between them and Chase, they have great programs and customer service. I mainly went after this card due to my credit been in much better standing after repairing it since the recession. The first Amex card I ever applied and was instantly approved for was the Amex Blue sky card (which I would strongly suggest to those with "fair" as they're easier to be approved for) for a whopping 1k! lol!

I was still grateful as it get me in the door with Amex, my credit was maybe in the low 600s at that time in 2013. I would use it for everyday spending and pay off as soon as I could and it was one of the only cards I've had where they seem to automatically increase your CL without asking (Barclay was the only other one). Went all the way up to $4800 on it's own. I then did some research on how Amex is one of the only cc companies that does a "soft" pull only when requesting a CLI, which is a huge benefit (almost all cc companies pull a hard inquiry when requesting a CLI). From my research the magic number of days to wait for is 61 days from opening the card (with a low balance, don't waste your time if it's high, you'll more than likely be rejected) and 6 months from your last CLI request. The magic amount to ask for is no more than 3x your existing CL. I took this advice and applied, sure enough I got my CL doubled! A little disappointed that it didn't go from $4200 to $12,600, but was still happy with the $8,400 being that it was so painless and easy. Remember to always include a raise in income, if you demand more than what you're instantly approved for, be prepared to back up that income (which can always be a pain to provide). Still overall happy with the experience!

I then applied for this card since getting a little more confident with my background with Amex... Sure enough, instantly approved for $5,500 CL! I mainly got this card, because my wife's biggest spending happening at Supermarkets and department stores. This is the only card out there that offers 6% cb on anything, 5 is the highest I've seen and that on;y on the cards that mostly offer rotating categories. Plus, the 3% unlimited cb at select department stores is a huge plus as my wife likes to go shopping a lot (god bless her). I plan to continue keeping a low balance and applying for a CLI on my 61st day and will be sure to update everyone if when it takes place to confirm...

To those who've gotten declined for this card or another in that matter... NEVER forget to ALWAYS call the reconsideration number. I've NEVER gotten declined after doing so. Don't get me wrong, it may take a few times and a few different reps, but it eventually works when you keep trying. Just make sure when applying for higher tier benefit rich cards such as this one that you have an exp score (most popular credit bureau for cc companies) of 680 or higher! If not, don't waste the hard pull on your credit. Remember that hard pulls will stay on your credit for 2 years (only affect your score directly for 1 year, but will still be viewable to credit companies to see how much credit you've been applying for in such a short period of time). The card companies won't pull another inquire for 30 days after you first applied for the card. So you've already taken the ding on your credit with the hard pull anyway, so why not give it a shot at the reconsideration line. Call everyday for 30 days if you have to! lol! Just because one rep rejected you, doesn't mean the next one will as well. Just pretend the prior call never took place. If you just sit around and wait for your letter within the next 7-10 business days, it's a 99% chance of being a rejection letter. So what are you waiting for?

In closing, Amex and Chase are the best cc companies I've came across and I have 16 cc's! lol

Hope this helps everyone, thanks again Amex!

tu 719 eq 740 exp 693

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 26, 2015
Can't beat the rewards, transfer sucks!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Amex does not advertise the balance transfer limit up front, nor do they disclose it unless you attmept or inquire about it.  They lure you with rewards and 0% on transfer.  The rewards are top notch. The transfer is garbage, had I known the max limit was $7,500, I would have requested a lower limit for the rewards and opened a second card such as Discover for the balance transfer benefits.  Why would I get a third card with a 20k limit if I can't even use the 50% transfer because they cap it at 7500 and don't tell you until after you make the request.  Customer service is all in India, and they could care less about customer satisfaction.  Still waiting for a call back from a supervisor, been 3 days now.  I don't want to open another card because it increases credit risk, so now I'm stuck with not being able to consolidate as planned.  If you have more than 7500 to move around, this card is not the one to do it with.  Just use it for rewards only.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 23, 2017
Mroboka Cardholder

This is a really great card to have. I was nervous about applying, I have a negative record that's expiring in July. The whole application process was quick and seamless. Super excited to have this card

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
jimmyb1973 Cardholder

Don't do it! After reading the reviews it looked like I was sure to get a $5-10k limit. Instead I got a 1k limit and a 30 point hit on my credit score taking my credit from 708 to 678. I called and asked for a credit limit increase and was told I had to wait 2 months, I waited 3. Requested the credit increase and was denied. So bottom line I sacrificed my credit score to get a $100 bonus from Amex. I just isn't worth the trade when I have over 10k in credit with Capital One. The Amex card is going in a drawer and won't be touched again. Super disappointed in American Express!

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Best card ever of all cards
Anonymous Cardholder

Perfect

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Still Amazing-3rd Review
Bones8302 Cardholder

I posted two prior reviews, one on  the application process and one since having the card.   I have had the card two months now.  On my 60th day (4/9/17) I applied for a CLI (read reviews and everyone said they applied after 60 days and got 3X the current limit) so I was told I had to wait until the day after 60 days.  Well, I applied and it is true I was approved for 3 times my original limit.  I started with 2k which I was initially surprised anyway due to my credit score (thought it would be more like $500) and now I am at 6K.  I read some comments that people do not believe that individuals are getting these limits.  I can attest this is true, when I was initially approved I had a 659 credit score with three collections, several store cards, subprime credit cards and 27% utilization.  I now have a 673 Experian score and 1% utilization across all accounts.  I follow the recommendations of charging and paying off in full so I only charge what I was going to pay in cash anyway (monthly bills, gas, etc).  Do the prequalifier first!

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Awesome!! Amex is the best!
Anonymous Cardholder

make sure you are on top of the rewards plan so much to offer

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Just Approved with 661
Anonymous Cardholder

I was just approved for this with a credit score 661........12 inquiries, 2 collections.........no missed payment though..........

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Glad to be with AMEX
ChessChik47 Cardholder

'm super cautious when it comes to my credit and the number of credit cards I own.  For a long time I did not use credit cards and surprisingly enough that helped to build my credit history.  In June of last year I signed up for CK just to see what my credit scores where looking like and to my surprise, they were very good (751 TU and 753 EQ).  I decided to take those numbers and buy a house ($550K).  My mortgage company pulled my credit and the scores were actually significantly higher than on CK (TU 787, EQ 795, EX 797).  I applied for the Chase Freedom Unlimited card and was approved for $10K and decided to garden until today.  I have been eyeing the AMEX family of cards since I realized my credit-worthiness, but I was afraid of the another hard pull (currently I have 2).  I did it, I pulled the trigger and just applied and as I'm biting my nails waiting for the results, it came back in less than 60 seconds, APPROVED for $15K!!!  How excited am I!!!  I know that having the two cards will help with my credit card utilization numbers (currently hovering at 40%) - with this new card my number should decrease significantly and thereby increase my credit score even more.  Thank you CK and AMEX.  

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
This One is Great!
storedeals1 Cardholder

Was approved for an average amount, I immediately used it for the balance transfer with the 12 months 0% apr from another card I just reviewed earlier, by far this has been the faster paid transfer by any of the cards I have, also the insterest is on the average side compared to other cards, great web site, I highly recommend this one!

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Yes you can!
PlasticDad Cardholder

I've been on the path to slowly but surely rebuilding my credit as life happened. I was declined in Jan 2017, since then my score went up some more and persistence finally paid off! I was approved 1k CL with my score as follows: EX 627 | EQ 625 | TU 624 and 40% CUR. Although the 12 month 0% INT BT offer was super tempting, I transterred none because it didn't make any sense with such a low CL it's actually the lowest CL I have compared to all of my CC. Had this been a little higher let's say 3-5k CL I would have transferred all my CC BAL which I plan to pay off not only on time but in full during the next several months anyway. Long story short I've been wanting to get my hands on this card to show the new me of creditworthiness. Thanks to Credit Karma when this popped up for me as an offer I couldn't resist and super thanks to AMEX for letting me join the club!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
First real grown-up card
Jess1002 Cardholder

I'm a college student who only had 4 lines of credit, all pretty small in total with revolving credit of around $3K. I have a Discover Student, Capital One Quicksilver One, VIctoria Secret Credit Line and Paypal Credit. I use them all mostly just for shopping and used up nearly to its capacity, until recently when I paid everything in full. Last week I had 18% of usage overall which gave me a 734 Transunion and 737 for Equifax, my highest so far. Given that I only have 1 year plus of credit history I was really happy that my score skyrocketted into this from a measely low 600s. I thought of aiming pretty high, and it was always a goal of mine to get an Amex card, plus Credit Karma said my chances of getting this was very good so I went on ahead. I was hoping that I would get an immediate result but after applying online they said it's still up for review. They didn't call me until two days after, so if the same thing happens to you don't lose hope! During the call a representative confirmed all my details and after a few mins approved me for $6,000. My highest line of credit so far. I'm so glad I tried! Even if you don't have a long credit history, as long as your credit score is pretty good, you can definitely consider this card.

TU: 734

EXP: 737

FICO: 737

Approved for: $6,000

Usage before approval: 18%

Oldest Credit: 1.5 year

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

127 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i