Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
23 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2019
Good Card!!
cripple2 Cardholder

I have had this card over two years. They gave me a HIGH LIMIT compared to almost everyone else. answer your questions, and provide good service. They dont hassle you on purchases like other banks calling you to see if you REALLY bought that Big Screen TV  and stop your POS purcahse like some other horrible banks., I do not keep cards whertre they question every purchase. The application process is easy compared to most other banks. I have a fairly decent Cash access (vs straight credit) as well .I do not see the nergatives .  I have NOT used the card in 10 months (didnt need it) and they have NOT reduced my line of credit. I dont even need a credit increase I am satisifed with an  over 8K limit as I have many other cards. They DID stop a number of benefits to the card but still has many features other cards may not offer such as car rental insurane. You need a credit score over 680 to to really get good use out of the card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2019
Review the list of where you earn cash!
LionheartLeo Cardholder

Beware that Walmart, Target, and Amazon are NOT on the approved grocery stores. Which means that you will not get 6% shopping there for groceries, only 1%. Also, not all gas stations either. Not happy about 95 annual fee but it's very easy to earn the 250 bonus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 12, 2019
Stay away from Amex!
1437eric Cardholder

Horrible company, bad customer service, you will regret this decision!

more ...
Oct 31, 2019
Best cash back card for groceries.
ImagoDeiGen126 Cardholder

Excellent cash back card.  I get 6% back from streaming services and at US Supermarkets(Kroger, Publix) (Not Superstores:Walmart, Target, etc...) and 3% back at non-superstore/supermarket gas stations.  The customer service has always been top notch.  Highly recommended!

more ...
Oct 23, 2019
Great Card
EddiePA Cardholder

I rarely carry a balance so the card pays for itself. I remember to use it for all grocery purchases and gas from standalone gas stations. BJs and Sams club you only get 1%. You can earl cash back rewards quickly by using it for as many purchases you can and making more than one payment a month. Customer Service is excellent. I got a new card in 2 days after fraud was detected. This is one of the best cards out there. Only downside is this card can't be used that much overseas. Most prefer visa or mastercard. And they charge a foreign exchange fee. I use another card instead. 

more ...
Sep 28, 2019
Excellent
Kingston1008 Cardholder

I received this card on a Saturday, by Monday I charged $1000 on it. On Wednesday I checked my account only to see, the transaction posted and in the same instance it was credited $250. So my outstanding balance was effectively $750. How can you possibly have a bad word to say about this card, especially with all the bonus categories to earn 3% & 6% pure cash back. It's a must have, for me atleast. Please name one Chase card that comes within 100ft of this card? Nil!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 11, 2019

Yup...best raw cash back card out there! Perfect for my wife and I on every level! I earned $45 just in the last statement period alone, and I don't consider myself a huge spender by any means.

 
Sep 26, 2019
Cold Blooded Company
SNGK Cardholder

First time opening an American Express. This company does not support small businesses at all. Most small businesses profit by word of mouth and through family and friends. Tell me how this is acceptable.

I charged my card at my relative's business. Card gets declined. I call in to find out my account is currently getting cancelled due to "conflict of interest" without any notice or warning. It's been literally 2 days since I opened the card from the mail. This is how you treat your customers? 

Yeah sure, it's my relative's business (my little sister if that really matters). But I'm here to support her and pay for her services. How is an invoice and physical goods not enough proof? She runs a t-shirt printing company! She would have to order the tees and print it for me. Nowhere on the card agreement form mentions you can't spend your money on family! I didn't even know this was a thing. This is probably the most absurd and ridiciulous experience I have ever gone through. 

Most of my family members are small business owners. You are stating I cannot support any one of them because they are affiliated to me? You guys need to reconsider what you're doing with your life if you don't believe in helping out your own family. That's bloody cold. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2019
Call India!
sunflowers67 Cardholder

I applied and was approved for this card but I canceled it before i even received it.  I was told I would receive it in 3 to 5 business days.  When I didn't, I called AmEx.  I was then told it was 7 to 11 business days.  When I still hadn't received it (2 1/2 weeks after approval), I called back and was told they didn't have my mailbox number and had sent my card without including it in the address.  They offered to send it UPS guaranteed in 2 days but it bothered me that every call I made to customer service was to India.  Customer service wasn't bad, but I feel like a company that really cares about customer service isn't going to outsource it to India to save a buck.  Especially with a $95 annual fee.  Plus, given the initial mixup, I didn't want to spend the life of the card correcting errors on the cash back I was supposed to be receiving.  

more ...
Sep 28, 2019

I do not believe in Amex whole heartedly but just reading what you wrote, you seem to be bitter, ignorant and thought-,less. Amex is not the problem, you have issues no one can help you with. Take care of yourself because all I see that you did was jeopardised your credit with an unwanted inquiry and a prematurely closed account. Therefore your hate for Amex surpass the care you should take with you credit file.

 
Nov 01, 2019

So a person with an accent that you assumed was of Indian decent picked up and you ASSUMED the company is outsourcing..? Or you have proof ? Also you screwed up entering your own address... his is this a fault of Amex?

 
Aug 28, 2019
worst card service
milindShah Cardholder

I had apply for this card 5 months ago when they were offering welcome bonus of 150$ if I spent 1000 in 3 months. I have given more than 5000 $ business and i called them to find out about my welcome bonus. they made excuses like1. it's your credit report history I have 710 score. 2. reason they say was when I applied for the card there was a pop up which told me I decided to receive the welcome bonus. worst service I expected more from American Express.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
This is really good card with good rewar
Sujeetpingale Cardholder

This has really good rewards and the plan it feature is the best feature which is missing for many other credit cards.

more ...
Aug 13, 2019
Good grocery store card
Tinney7980 Cardholder

6% back at grocery stores. Wow. Note. Walmart and Target are not grocery stores. They are department stores that sell groceries. I love the cash back. It used to be unlimited but some greedy folks have to ruin it for others. Pity. It’s still pretty good. This is my go to card for grocery shopping. Advice is to pay off the entire balance each month. Amex doesnt have the best APR for purchases. 

more ...
Aug 09, 2019
Great contactless payment
Lifejames101 Cardholder

Great customer service very good when making payments back on card very fast process

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express