Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
129 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express is a great choice for consumers with good to excellent credit who are looking for attractive cash back rates.

What to Like

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express pays out 6% cash back at supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 3% at gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else. Cardholders can also earn a $150 bonus for $1,000 spent in the first three months, all with no rotating categories. 

Look Out For

You’ll have to balance the benefits of the cash back rewards against a $95 annual fee. The card also includes a 3%, Min: $5 fee for balance transfers and a 2.7% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 10, 2016
Amex might just be the best...
jvought Cardholder

I recently applied for this card card a few weeks ago. I've been an Amex member for 3 years now... Between them and Chase, they have great programs and customer service. I mainly went after this card due to my credit been in much better standing after repairing it since the recession. The first Amex card I ever applied and was instantly approved for was the Amex Blue sky card (which I would strongly suggest to those with "fair" as they're easier to be approved for) for a whopping 1k! lol!

I was still grateful as it get me in the door with Amex, my credit was maybe in the low 600s at that time in 2013. I would use it for everyday spending and pay off as soon as I could and it was one of the only cards I've had where they seem to automatically increase your CL without asking (Barclay was the only other one). Went all the way up to $4800 on it's own. I then did some research on how Amex is one of the only cc companies that does a "soft" pull only when requesting a CLI, which is a huge benefit (almost all cc companies pull a hard inquiry when requesting a CLI). From my research the magic number of days to wait for is 61 days from opening the card (with a low balance, don't waste your time if it's high, you'll more than likely be rejected) and 6 months from your last CLI request. The magic amount to ask for is no more than 3x your existing CL. I took this advice and applied, sure enough I got my CL doubled! A little disappointed that it didn't go from $4200 to $12,600, but was still happy with the $8,400 being that it was so painless and easy. Remember to always include a raise in income, if you demand more than what you're instantly approved for, be prepared to back up that income (which can always be a pain to provide). Still overall happy with the experience!

I then applied for this card since getting a little more confident with my background with Amex... Sure enough, instantly approved for $5,500 CL! I mainly got this card, because my wife's biggest spending happening at Supermarkets and department stores. This is the only card out there that offers 6% cb on anything, 5 is the highest I've seen and that on;y on the cards that mostly offer rotating categories. Plus, the 3% unlimited cb at select department stores is a huge plus as my wife likes to go shopping a lot (god bless her). I plan to continue keeping a low balance and applying for a CLI on my 61st day and will be sure to update everyone if when it takes place to confirm...

To those who've gotten declined for this card or another in that matter... NEVER forget to ALWAYS call the reconsideration number. I've NEVER gotten declined after doing so. Don't get me wrong, it may take a few times and a few different reps, but it eventually works when you keep trying. Just make sure when applying for higher tier benefit rich cards such as this one that you have an exp score (most popular credit bureau for cc companies) of 680 or higher! If not, don't waste the hard pull on your credit. Remember that hard pulls will stay on your credit for 2 years (only affect your score directly for 1 year, but will still be viewable to credit companies to see how much credit you've been applying for in such a short period of time). The card companies won't pull another inquire for 30 days after you first applied for the card. So you've already taken the ding on your credit with the hard pull anyway, so why not give it a shot at the reconsideration line. Call everyday for 30 days if you have to! lol! Just because one rep rejected you, doesn't mean the next one will as well. Just pretend the prior call never took place. If you just sit around and wait for your letter within the next 7-10 business days, it's a 99% chance of being a rejection letter. So what are you waiting for?

In closing, Amex and Chase are the best cc companies I've came across and I have 16 cc's! lol

Hope this helps everyone, thanks again Amex!

tu 719 eq 740 exp 693

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 26, 2015
Can't beat the rewards, transfer sucks!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Amex does not advertise the balance transfer limit up front, nor do they disclose it unless you attmept or inquire about it.  They lure you with rewards and 0% on transfer.  The rewards are top notch. The transfer is garbage, had I known the max limit was $7,500, I would have requested a lower limit for the rewards and opened a second card such as Discover for the balance transfer benefits.  Why would I get a third card with a 20k limit if I can't even use the 50% transfer because they cap it at 7500 and don't tell you until after you make the request.  Customer service is all in India, and they could care less about customer satisfaction.  Still waiting for a call back from a supervisor, been 3 days now.  I don't want to open another card because it increases credit risk, so now I'm stuck with not being able to consolidate as planned.  If you have more than 7500 to move around, this card is not the one to do it with.  Just use it for rewards only.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 23, 2017
Great card
Hobo12345 Cardholder

Really glad to get this card worked hard on my credit.

more ...
May 17, 2017
very easy to apply and get approved
beginner101 Cardholder

My Credit was 520 no credit cards since 2000. i just strated building credit about 9 months ago, put 500 secured credit card with bamk of america, 3moths later I aplied for capital one, 1 month later i papplied for discover, a month after that i applied for both amrtican express the blue and clear one and got approved for all of them. thank you jesus :) AND one of the american express blue one is for 1000 credit and the clear one is at 6000. discover only gave me 1000.  I now have 8500.00 woth of credit..  NOTE:  I only use them to establish credit and never go over 10% of their total credit limit, I pay on time and make more than one payment per month per account.  I hope this encourages you to get inspired to build your credit and it doest take long but it's not overnight either

more ...
May 10, 2017
Easy cash back.
Rover78 Cardholder

So far a great card .... A bit of a low credit line to start. 

more ...
May 05, 2017
Perks make this a great card
Anonymous Cardholder

applied for this card last year around mid March. My scores were very high 6s across the board. Low usage with CL around 5k on several cards. Total credit usage was around 25% with one recently paid collection at the time. My income was mid 80k at the time. I was instantly approved for 10k. Accumulating points for account credit is a breeze. Especially at supermarkets where purchases are 6x. This includes gift card purchases at supermarkets. So, I buy gift cards to places I would frequent anyway, like my favorite restaurants, home improvement store or any gift card for any occasion. I then get  get 6x the points for the purchase. Also, during my initial research of the card, I ran across a Fico forum that explained the "61 day" CL increase request that works for Amex. Amex allows a 3x CL increase 61 days after account initiation. I called customer service to find out my initiation date. I then used a day counter to calculate the date to request the 3x CL. I actually waited an extra day to make sure because posters noted that a request even on day 60 would result in a decline response. They said you can go back the next day and get approved but I didnt risk it. Logged into my account and requested an increase of 20k (3 x 10k = 20k in additional credit = new 30k limit). The request was instantly approved. I believed that the request works and was elated that I was approved.  The only thing I was apprehensive about was applying and then having Amex request income verification which some posters said happened to them. They stated that Amex sometimes ask for income verification (prior 2 years W2s) for request that takes total CL over 25k. I didn't want to have to wait and luckily I didn't have to. Great card with great perks, too many to list. One I don't use it for is gas. Discover It gives 6x every dollar spent on gas. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 10, 2017

Ive read all that you read about the 3x CLI, its all its true. Im looking foward to getting this card because of the soft pull they do on CLI and up to 3x your original/ current balance. This will help me with my credit by increasing the amount of credit i have available without all the hard pulls.

 
May 04, 2017
Best card 👍
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently applied for this card, approved for 10.000 limit

👍👍👍

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
Disneyandnikes Cardholder

Credit karma said my approval odds were fair... scores are 605 & 627.
Score on experian is 627.
I applied with amex in feb 2017 & march 2017. My scores there were around 598, and had 3 collections and credit card usage at 1%. I was declined both times. After paying off 2 collections my scores jumped into the recent credit karma ranges stated above. I applied for the amex everyday on april 28th and got instantly approved for $1000, i then applied for the blue cash everyday about 10 mins later and got approved instantly for $500. The next day i decided to try and apply for the new platinum card. To my surprise i was approved! All cards are on the way. Not sure if it was my income and increasing the scores but im super excited to use them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 10, 2017

You got the platnum?! 😮 whats your income?

 
Apr 29, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

You do not get 6% on groceries at walmart so I'm not sure its worth paying 95 dollars a year for. However they are very responsive on line and tend to your needs quickly. I have to give them the highest rating.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 14, 2017

I agree

 
Apr 27, 2017
The Bentley of Credit Cards
Jake0774 Cardholder

Applied to Amex Blue Cash Preferred with 740 TU and 741 Equifax Score. Approved for 3500 limit. After one year of card use and on-time payments, credit limit went to 4500. Nine months after that, got e-mail from Amex saying thank you for being a loyal customer and excellent payment history wth American Express, we have raised your credit limit to 10,500. Unbelivable. I once had a 250 credit limit capital card as I was builidng my credit and now I have a five-figure credit limit Amex. The key is to not only pay on time, but to use your card and make multiple payments. If you don't spend, the company sees you as a dormant account holder and will not pay attention to your needs and spending ability. I make several paments throughout the month to control the balance also which helps. This is the best credit card to have for those who have worked hard to establish their credit and want to establish it more. 

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
best card I've had
cboetcher Cardholder

If you go grocery shopping and buy gas, this is the only card you need! The cash back rewards on other cards don't compare.

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Mroboka Cardholder

This is a really great card to have. I was nervous about applying, I have a negative record that's expiring in July. The whole application process was quick and seamless. Super excited to have this card

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

129 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i