Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
93 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2017
Still Amazing-3rd Review
Bones8302 Cardholder

I posted two prior reviews, one on  the application process and one since having the card.   I have had the card two months now.  On my 60th day (4/9/17) I applied for a CLI (read reviews and everyone said they applied after 60 days and got 3X the current limit) so I was told I had to wait until the day after 60 days.  Well, I applied and it is true I was approved for 3 times my original limit.  I started with 2k which I was initially surprised anyway due to my credit score (thought it would be more like $500) and now I am at 6K.  I read some comments that people do not believe that individuals are getting these limits.  I can attest this is true, when I was initially approved I had a 659 credit score with three collections, several store cards, subprime credit cards and 27% utilization.  I now have a 673 Experian score and 1% utilization across all accounts.  I follow the recommendations of charging and paying off in full so I only charge what I was going to pay in cash anyway (monthly bills, gas, etc).  Do the prequalifier first!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 13, 2017
zacharybannister Cardholder

I applied for this card back in September of 2016. Got approved for 5000 CL. My credit score on my reports were close to a 700 average for all 3 credit reporting companies. Last month (10-17) American Express took it upon themselves to lower my credit limit to 500 dollars. I made ALL my payments on time, payed off a big balance transfer and even used it on a vacation to Mexico. I payed it off and didn’t use it for about 3 weeks because I was trying to save money. I got an email one day saying I had been declined. When I called the guy was extremely rude and said he would have to run my credit again to make sure I could keep the 500, WHAT! Don’t be fooled. Just because it’s american Express, there are 100 better credit cards out there especially with way better customer service. My credit karma is still reporting TU: 703 equifax: 699. Utilization is 13%. Don’t fall for this card just because of them name. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 13, 2018
Great Value
MarkAfterDark Cardholder

I've been leveraging cash back cards for several years now because, well, if I'm spending $1000/ month on groceries, gas, dining and whatnot, why shouldn't I get $15 back (i.e. Capital One Quicksilver?)  And If I am getting that, why shouldn't I get more with Discover and the rotating categories?

I applied for this card and the process was easy.  I was given the option of setting up Andriod Pay in the short term, but that blew to hell (I'm not sure why, but I waited to make any big grocery store purchases) Once I had it, Customer Service was able to help me get Android Pay working.

Here are some things you should know:  

1. The cash back runs a month behind.  I did not show a cash back balance until my second statement.

2. The statement credit was immediate.  I spent $1000 in under the offer's 90 day time limit and the statement credit was also applied before the 90 day period.

3. The annual $6000 grocery store limit is based on the purchase date, not the billing date.  This may be important to know if you apply in the fall.I got the card in December and none of my December purchases affect the following year.  That is to say, if you get the card in December and buy up $5000 in gift cards (not that I would recommend going over 30% of your limit) you will start restart January with a fresh $6000 cap.

3. The membership fee hits on your first bill.  Just a reminder.

4. Take advantage of gift cards at the grocery store, (but avoid pre-paid credit cards) Yes, I want 6% off my purchase at the Homeless Despot.

So right now they offer $200 staement credit for spending $1000 in 90 days.  Figure that to cover the annual fee for two years.  So give it a try and see what you end up with.  Maybe after 2 years you decide it isn't worth it, but maybe after 2 years, you decide to keep it forever.  Also, if you blow past the $6000 cap, get a Discover card as grocery stores is a regular 5% cash back category.  It's also a great card. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2018
My favorite card!
Uhnichi Cardholder

Excellent customer service! Impressive security controls. This is the card I use for almost everything. 

more ...
Feb 05, 2018
Rewards worth it based on your spending.
enigmaGod Cardholder

Applied with a Transunion score of 670. Approved the day after for a 2000 CL which was the highest I had at the time. Hit the bonus spend and was credited the 200 the day after. I do a lot of driving and I like to buy my groceries fresh, so the bonuses here are fantastic.

​Their app makes it very easy to stay on track and even shows you various bonus offers at certain stores and services.

​My only gripe is that you can't redeem rewards for statement credit through the app.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 08, 2018

How do you redeem the rewards?

 
Feb 04, 2018
bad
khack63 Cardholder

Had 730's credit score. Recieved $10,000 limit. 2 years no missed payments. Took advantage of other cards 0% transfer rate. Added $10000 to other cards to pay off high rate personal loans. Get email from amex saying credit card use to high and they cancelled my card.....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 06, 2018

Is it also Amex's fault that you drove up the utilization on your card(s)? I don't think so. No offense, but you did this to yourself.

 
Feb 02, 2018
Bonus after $1000 spent
Anonymous Cardholder

Can't understand why some say they did not get their bonus. Within a few days after reaching the $1000 mark we have the bonus applied to our account. So far we are very happy with AMEX. Some of the complaints might be self warranted. Have had Capital One cards for 2 years with no problems and have had this card for 2 months so far with no problems. Eveyone just needs to understand that bills need to be paid, not just shoved off in a corner. Upon applying I was granted a $10,000 limit with an Experian score of 760.

more ...
Feb 02, 2018
Pretty disappointed in AMEX
Anonymous Cardholder

Not at all pleased with AMEX at this point. There was a problem with opening the application when I applied that didn't apply the correct intro offer. Instead of the $200-250 cash back that were available, I was only given $150. In addition, the first year fee should have been waived and they also refused to correct that. I'm VERY disappointed with how AMEX handled this. 

more ...
Jan 12, 2018
Excellent
taino73 Cardholder

Very good customer service, accepted in most places I've gone to so far.

more ...
Jan 06, 2018
Excellent!
Barbarann45 Cardholder

No fee, cash back. Win, win.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 08, 2018

This one has a $95 annual fee...you're talking about the Blue Cash Everyday Amex card

 
Jan 05, 2018
Great card...gave me a second chance!!
kitty56082 Cardholder

Very easy to apply for. I was honest with them on my income being I only get SSI. My credit score went up and they gave me a credit line of $2000 to start out with! Got the card right away!  :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2018

I guess they give every body cl of 2000 thats what i got to.

 
Jan 04, 2018
Nice card
Astew442 Cardholder

I have fair credit that I actually am building. I applied for this card an got approved I was surprised but happy . I have 6 credit cards now an this is one of the good ones . I have yet to see how the cash back works but it’s easy to make a payment I use the mobile app ..I got a 2000 credit line this all depends on your annual income when applying for cards 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 07, 2018

However AMEX will give increases when card is used responsibly.I make $24000 a year and started with a $2000 limit.I am now at $8000 CL afterb18 months.Be patient and responsible and this card will reward you.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

93 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i