Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
109 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express is a great choice for consumers with good to excellent credit who are looking for attractive cash back rates.

What to Like

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express pays out 6% cash back at supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 3% at gas stations and select department stores and 1% cash back everywhere else. Cardholders can also earn a $150 bonus for $1,000 spent in the first three months, all with no rotating categories. There’s also a 0% introductory APR for 12 months on purchases and balance transfers. And to top it all off, if you apply by 1/11/2017 you can earn 10% cash back on Amazon.com purchases over the first 6 months (up to a $200 limit).

Look Out For

You’ll have to balance the benefits of the cash back rewards against a $95 annual fee. The card also includes a 3% fee for balance transfers and a 2.7% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 10, 2016
Amex might just be the best...
jvought Cardholder

I recently applied for this card card a few weeks ago. I've been an Amex member for 3 years now... Between them and Chase, they have great programs and customer service. I mainly went after this card due to my credit been in much better standing after repairing it since the recession. The first Amex card I ever applied and was instantly approved for was the Amex Blue sky card (which I would strongly suggest to those with "fair" as they're easier to be approved for) for a whopping 1k! lol!

I was still grateful as it get me in the door with Amex, my credit was maybe in the low 600s at that time in 2013. I would use it for everyday spending and pay off as soon as I could and it was one of the only cards I've had where they seem to automatically increase your CL without asking (Barclay was the only other one). Went all the way up to $4800 on it's own. I then did some research on how Amex is one of the only cc companies that does a "soft" pull only when requesting a CLI, which is a huge benefit (almost all cc companies pull a hard inquiry when requesting a CLI). From my research the magic number of days to wait for is 61 days from opening the card (with a low balance, don't waste your time if it's high, you'll more than likely be rejected) and 6 months from your last CLI request. The magic amount to ask for is no more than 3x your existing CL. I took this advice and applied, sure enough I got my CL doubled! A little disappointed that it didn't go from $4200 to $12,600, but was still happy with the $8,400 being that it was so painless and easy. Remember to always include a raise in income, if you demand more than what you're instantly approved for, be prepared to back up that income (which can always be a pain to provide). Still overall happy with the experience!

I then applied for this card since getting a little more confident with my background with Amex... Sure enough, instantly approved for $5,500 CL! I mainly got this card, because my wife's biggest spending happening at Supermarkets and department stores. This is the only card out there that offers 6% cb on anything, 5 is the highest I've seen and that on;y on the cards that mostly offer rotating categories. Plus, the 3% unlimited cb at select department stores is a huge plus as my wife likes to go shopping a lot (god bless her). I plan to continue keeping a low balance and applying for a CLI on my 61st day and will be sure to update everyone if when it takes place to confirm...

To those who've gotten declined for this card or another in that matter... NEVER forget to ALWAYS call the reconsideration number. I've NEVER gotten declined after doing so. Don't get me wrong, it may take a few times and a few different reps, but it eventually works when you keep trying. Just make sure when applying for higher tier benefit rich cards such as this one that you have an exp score (most popular credit bureau for cc companies) of 680 or higher! If not, don't waste the hard pull on your credit. Remember that hard pulls will stay on your credit for 2 years (only affect your score directly for 1 year, but will still be viewable to credit companies to see how much credit you've been applying for in such a short period of time). The card companies won't pull another inquire for 30 days after you first applied for the card. So you've already taken the ding on your credit with the hard pull anyway, so why not give it a shot at the reconsideration line. Call everyday for 30 days if you have to! lol! Just because one rep rejected you, doesn't mean the next one will as well. Just pretend the prior call never took place. If you just sit around and wait for your letter within the next 7-10 business days, it's a 99% chance of being a rejection letter. So what are you waiting for?

In closing, Amex and Chase are the best cc companies I've came across and I have 16 cc's! lol

Hope this helps everyone, thanks again Amex!

tu 719 eq 740 exp 693

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
Stranger32 Cardholder

İ got the card 2 years ago. They gave më 7000 limit and then after 1 year they made it 17000. That's good. But the only problem is 6% cash back works only för some markets. İt does not give 6% from costco , walmart where i go för shopping most often.when i applied i was dxpecting a 500 $ cashback per year but i can only get around 200..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2016
My Primary/Go-To Card
tkarmaacct Cardholder

This was my first real credit card after my student one with Discover. After building my credit to above 720, I applied for my first non student credit card (only my second one in my life). After a lot of consideration, I landed on this card because my girlfriend always talked about how easy it was to talk to AmEx on the phone, and how much she trusted them. I was approved for a big CL and was very happy! The rewards are perfect for me being a younger person (groceries and gas and shopping are just an always thing!) and they have an extensive list of offers you can add when you want to go out to eat locally somewhere or shop or what have you. The app is fantastic and gives you notifications on big purchases if you want or anything really. They provide a FICO score and everything too, which is a must nowadays to stay on top of building credit. I love cash reward systems because you can apply it to anything, so this card was always going to make me happy.

Be aware that the cash rewards are only applicable to your statement in $25 dollar increments, which is a frustrating sometimes, but it's a nice feeling when you finally hit that milestone. I think that's the only thing that would cause a hang up with the card. That and the fact that the rewards are only applicable at supermarkets (not big box stores) and normal gas stations (not the ones connected to a grocery store or bulk store). Once you learn how to use credit wisely, rewards can be a fantastic way to make money and keep building up that credit score. AmEx is there to help!

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Great daily use card
Jdebose Cardholder

Started out with a 10k limit with the regular everyday Cash card, and after a year they offered me the Preferred card and soon bumped me up to 11.5k. I use it for nearly every purchase I make. The reward dollars make me want to actually shop. Wish Walmart got more points but luckily I work at a Walmart Neighborhood Market and its considered grocery.

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
Great card and service
Anonymous Cardholder

Pulled Experian 705 no derrogatories whatsoever and gave me 4k limit.  They gave me $250 cash back during the first month of use after I used $1,000 and I keep getting cash back rewards.  I've accessed their customer service reps on the chat module and their service is second to none so I stopped using my other card (Visa) and now I just use my Amex Blue Cash Preferred on a daily basis.  Merchants are very respectful of this card.

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
Great for Everyday Purchases
signednikki Cardholder

Approved with a 663 for a 1k limit. I use this card for my everyday purchases like gas, groceries, etc... No rewards points for purchases from Wal-Mart, Target, Kroger gas stations, or Amazon purchases outside of the initial promo periods. Great for balance transfers also - I definitely needed that. So far so good!

more ...
Nov 26, 2016

was score was 663? and what score do they pull use? thank you!

 
Nov 26, 2016

sorry meant to say what score was 663?!

 
Nov 28, 2016

Amex ALWAYS pulls from Experian

 
Nov 23, 2016
The card I use most
mmark4848 Cardholder

I was surprised to be approved for this card because my scores were at their post- divorce low when I applied. Got approved with just a $1,000 limit and have used the card only for grocery store purchases at the 6% rate. My only frustration is lack of approval for a limit increase, even after nine months of regular use and payment in full each month. I'll keep using it for cash back on groceries and keep applying for the non-pull CLI. 

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Good, with qualifications
rrstl3 Cardholder

Good card, decent interest rate, Amex customer service is better than average in my opinion. The "offers" on the app are convenient, and can offer real saving. Discounts are given as an immediate account credit. 

However, one of the main reasons I have this card is for grocery store rebates. Amex has a very narrow definition of what a grocery store is. Discount stores and some local specialty stores are not considered grocery stores, reducing the cash back reward from 6% to 1%. As the user, I'm unaware of the vendors classification until I see it on my account. 

Still, it's an overall decent card. The 3% gas cash back can add up quickly. 

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Low Credit Limit
Candykiss2000 Cardholder

I was very happy to be appoved for the card however, my initial credit limit is 1,000! I have two capital one cards with limits of 5,000-7,000. Not sure why the limit is so low. I have a average credit score of 670. Kinda dsappointed as i was hoping to use this card as my primary. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Great for cash back.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card I believe on a credit score of 650? This card has a lot of benefits. You get A LOT of cash back. On phone bills, cable bills, shopping at small businesses, etc. I recommend it to anyone that has a fair approval odds on getting it because it is worth it. 

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
great benefits.
antjm Cardholder

free shoprunner for online shopping!! that means free 2 day shipping at many online stores. that will save me at least $100 a year plus get stuff to me in two days rather than the week i was paying $5 for. ticketmaster presales!! finally can get good seats at face value at least sometimes. amex is the best. extended warranties for electronics and vehicles. cashback is pretty basic. they gave me a $10k limit and i plan to use a nice chunk of that as down payment as there's no apr for the first year.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 14, 2016

I don't what the down payment is for, but just word of caution, some merchants might code it as cash advance rather than purchase, because they don't want to be charged for the fees, some merchants like car dealerships, have limit on how much you can put the down payment on the credit cards (I've tried 😁)

 
Nov 10, 2016
My first choice to pay
Anonymous Cardholder

The rewards program is very nice, i use them as cash rewards applied to the account balance. The Travel section offers great deals and more discounts. It has a great customer service with great security protocol that is a must nowadays. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

109 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i