Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
116 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express is a great choice for consumers with good to excellent credit who are looking for attractive cash back rates.

What to Like

Limited Time Offer: Apply by 5/3/17 – Earn 10% cash back on purchases at U.S. Restaurants in the first 6 months, up to $200 back. The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express pays out 6% cash back at supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 3% at gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else. Cardholders can also earn a $150 bonus for $1,000 spent in the first three months, all with no rotating categories. 

Look Out For

You’ll have to balance the benefits of the cash back rewards against a $95 annual fee. The card also includes a 3%, Min: $5 fee for balance transfers and a 2.7% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 10, 2016
Amex might just be the best...
jvought Cardholder

I recently applied for this card card a few weeks ago. I've been an Amex member for 3 years now... Between them and Chase, they have great programs and customer service. I mainly went after this card due to my credit been in much better standing after repairing it since the recession. The first Amex card I ever applied and was instantly approved for was the Amex Blue sky card (which I would strongly suggest to those with "fair" as they're easier to be approved for) for a whopping 1k! lol!

I was still grateful as it get me in the door with Amex, my credit was maybe in the low 600s at that time in 2013. I would use it for everyday spending and pay off as soon as I could and it was one of the only cards I've had where they seem to automatically increase your CL without asking (Barclay was the only other one). Went all the way up to $4800 on it's own. I then did some research on how Amex is one of the only cc companies that does a "soft" pull only when requesting a CLI, which is a huge benefit (almost all cc companies pull a hard inquiry when requesting a CLI). From my research the magic number of days to wait for is 61 days from opening the card (with a low balance, don't waste your time if it's high, you'll more than likely be rejected) and 6 months from your last CLI request. The magic amount to ask for is no more than 3x your existing CL. I took this advice and applied, sure enough I got my CL doubled! A little disappointed that it didn't go from $4200 to $12,600, but was still happy with the $8,400 being that it was so painless and easy. Remember to always include a raise in income, if you demand more than what you're instantly approved for, be prepared to back up that income (which can always be a pain to provide). Still overall happy with the experience!

I then applied for this card since getting a little more confident with my background with Amex... Sure enough, instantly approved for $5,500 CL! I mainly got this card, because my wife's biggest spending happening at Supermarkets and department stores. This is the only card out there that offers 6% cb on anything, 5 is the highest I've seen and that on;y on the cards that mostly offer rotating categories. Plus, the 3% unlimited cb at select department stores is a huge plus as my wife likes to go shopping a lot (god bless her). I plan to continue keeping a low balance and applying for a CLI on my 61st day and will be sure to update everyone if when it takes place to confirm...

To those who've gotten declined for this card or another in that matter... NEVER forget to ALWAYS call the reconsideration number. I've NEVER gotten declined after doing so. Don't get me wrong, it may take a few times and a few different reps, but it eventually works when you keep trying. Just make sure when applying for higher tier benefit rich cards such as this one that you have an exp score (most popular credit bureau for cc companies) of 680 or higher! If not, don't waste the hard pull on your credit. Remember that hard pulls will stay on your credit for 2 years (only affect your score directly for 1 year, but will still be viewable to credit companies to see how much credit you've been applying for in such a short period of time). The card companies won't pull another inquire for 30 days after you first applied for the card. So you've already taken the ding on your credit with the hard pull anyway, so why not give it a shot at the reconsideration line. Call everyday for 30 days if you have to! lol! Just because one rep rejected you, doesn't mean the next one will as well. Just pretend the prior call never took place. If you just sit around and wait for your letter within the next 7-10 business days, it's a 99% chance of being a rejection letter. So what are you waiting for?

In closing, Amex and Chase are the best cc companies I've came across and I have 16 cc's! lol

Hope this helps everyone, thanks again Amex!

tu 719 eq 740 exp 693

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
Stranger32 Cardholder

İ got the card 2 years ago. They gave më 7000 limit and then after 1 year they made it 17000. That's good. But the only problem is 6% cash back works only för some markets. İt does not give 6% from costco , walmart where i go för shopping most often.when i applied i was dxpecting a 500 $ cashback per year but i can only get around 200..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 25, 2017
very easy application
mao33flnyc Cardholder

I only have 1-2 years of credit history, very good odds , trans union 723, equ 709 , I just applied for this card and approved for $6000. I have capital one fortune one $2000- chase preferred $15000

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
Great Card!
Anonymous Cardholder

Good rewards, accurate, easy app use

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
My true everyday card!

Always wanted an American Express, and oh boy was it worth the wait! 6% Cashback at Supermarkets? That cannot be beat, and so to take full advantage of it I do as much of my shopping as possible at the supermarket. I buy all my gas cards, gift cards for relative stores I shop at, and all my groceries. That 6% goes a LOT farther than you think when you shop strategically! Kept paying off my balance every month before it's due and by four months in they doubled my credit limit! Shop smart, manage smarter, and American Express will treat you right!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 25, 2017

WHOA! Never thought of that! Gift cards galore! 😄🙌👏

 
Mar 15, 2017
Love this card!!
RedShelbyGirl Cardholder

CK stated my odds as very good so I applied. I'm in Texas and they used Experian to check my credit. I had a 699 with 24% utilization, 0 HI, 0 late payments, 3 medical collections, and my average length of credit was less than 5 years.  Instantly approved with $15k CL. 

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
Gas and Groceries card only!
Anonymous Cardholder

Love the card. It's hard to beat the intro offers and the annual fee is nothing compared to the savings of 6% in grocery stores and 3% at the pump. 1% back on everything else is .5% off from my Cap1 Quicksilver at 1.5%. If they bumped it up they would be getting all of my business. Don't carry a balance ever and you'll see the savings. Approved for a 5k card and just did my 61 day CLI and was approved for the 3x with a new limit of 15k. Their interface and app are easy to use and clean. If CK says you have good odds go for it. No sense in leaving money on the table. 

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Low credit limit
Anonymous Cardholder

CK suggested this card for a balance transfer and so I applied. I got approved with a $1000 credit limit, (I have a fair credit score but reasonably high income). This will do very little to help with my $13,000 in debt, and may actually harm my credit score. I will try to have credit limit raised in a few months but I really wish CK offered more contextual information instead of pushing cards that won't actually help. 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Just got mine and excited

I applied and approved in about 10 seconds for 15K.  My exps core was 709 on the approval date. Income 60K.     I will be using at grocery, gas when disco does not have it as a 5%, I like the $150 bonus and the dining promo for 6 moths.  I had been using my Capital 1 QS before as my main driver but disliked the limit but use my husbands Dicover and Citi DC alot. We pay in full each month. The app was easy I realized  after about 10 seconds I was approved when it asked me if I wanted to add another user This will be high highest limit. I plan on using this every day. 

more ...
Mar 05, 2017

I think your statement is so MISLEADING TO BORROWERS... My exps score is 765 and my income is 87,000K....I got $5000-
last week..The only reason yu got 15K is that you PAY OFF ALL YOUR CARDS AT THE END OF THE MONTHS...The other 95% of us
DO NOT...

 
Mar 09, 2017

Why so bitter? My goodness buddy, it's not someone else's fault that you don't pay your cards off

 
Feb 21, 2017
An amazing card with excellent benefits
Ringwraith1986 Cardholder

I've been hesitant to apply for a second card while trying to rebuild my credit. I now have had a CapOne card for 6 months and they just gave me my first credit limit increase. Today I checked my credit scorecard through discover and found out there was finally enough data to calculate a score of 702 (Exp). I've been researching this card for a while and it makes sense as I live with a few other people and spend $130-$150 a week on groceries. After seeing my experian score I instantly went and applied. Instant approval with a $5k limit. I couldn't be happier!

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Everything it's cracked up to be!
Ligre22 Cardholder

I've had this awesome credit card for a month and a half now, and just met the sign-up bonus spending requirement. The $250 just showed up as a statement credit, and I couldn't be happier with Amex! I leveraged that to buy myself a new pair of boots from New Balance right on the spot! Love Amex, and will recommend them in the future!

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Low credit scores, still approved
intel352 Cardholder

Per CK, my score is 566 for both TU and EQ. MyFico says it's 599 EQ, 615 TU, 616 EX. I have 15-20 lines of credit with about 80% avg debt (working it down though). So obviously I'm not an ideal candidate for approval.
I last applied in March 2016 for an AMEX card, was denied.

I have an AMEX Corporate card (green) through my employer, which I've had for just over one month (since ~1/1/2017) with ~$2000-2500 in travel expenses already paid off. Employer perk w/ AMEX is a special offer for both Premier Rewards Gold Card and Blue Cash Preferred (with more points, 2 yr credits for the annual feeds, etc). I applied for the Premier card first (today, 2/17/2017), was approved immediately. I then read another review here noting that AMEX only checks credit once for every two applications, so I also applied for the Blue Cash Preferred, and was immediately approved for that as well ($8000 limit). The interest rate is ~13.5%, with 0% APR for 15 months on balance transfers in first 30 days, so I immediately transferred $6k of existing card debt to this account. It's 0% 15 month APR is a no brainer for that, and the ~13.5% APR after is still 10-18% lower than some cards that I currently have.

I'm guessing the corporate card helped immensely with my getting approved, since AMEX then has verification I'm employed and can be more reasonably confident about me.

So, my advice would be, get a company corporate AMEX if you can, first, allow a short bit of time for transactions that get paid off quickly, and then apply.

(cross posted from my Premier Rewards Gold Card review)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

116 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i