Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
106 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express is a great choice for consumers with good to excellent credit who are looking for attractive cash back rates.

What to Like

The Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express pays out 6% cash back at  U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 3% at U.S. gas stations and select U.S. department stores, and 1% cash back everywhere else. Cardholders can also earn a $150 bonus for $1,000 spent in the first three months, all with no rotating categories. 

Look Out For

The card also includes a 3%, Min: $5 fee for balance transfers and a 2.7% foreign transaction fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2017
Still Amazing-3rd Review
Bones8302 Cardholder

I posted two prior reviews, one on  the application process and one since having the card.   I have had the card two months now.  On my 60th day (4/9/17) I applied for a CLI (read reviews and everyone said they applied after 60 days and got 3X the current limit) so I was told I had to wait until the day after 60 days.  Well, I applied and it is true I was approved for 3 times my original limit.  I started with 2k which I was initially surprised anyway due to my credit score (thought it would be more like $500) and now I am at 6K.  I read some comments that people do not believe that individuals are getting these limits.  I can attest this is true, when I was initially approved I had a 659 credit score with three collections, several store cards, subprime credit cards and 27% utilization.  I now have a 673 Experian score and 1% utilization across all accounts.  I follow the recommendations of charging and paying off in full so I only charge what I was going to pay in cash anyway (monthly bills, gas, etc).  Do the prequalifier first!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
Stranger32 Cardholder

İ got the card 2 years ago. They gave më 7000 limit and then after 1 year they made it 17000. That's good. But the only problem is 6% cash back works only för some markets. İt does not give 6% from costco , walmart where i go för shopping most often.when i applied i was dxpecting a 500 $ cashback per year but i can only get around 200..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 22, 2017
Disappointed!
Candykiss2000 Cardholder

I've had this card for almost a year, and this is the only card that refuses to increase my credit limit. My CL is only $1,000 and I've never missed a payment. They continue to deny me due to my score of 640! If that was the case why the hell did they offer me the card? Discover is my primary card and my initial CL was $5,000! Let's just say Discover is what's in my wallet! 

more ...
Sep 19, 2017
Great Effn Card if your approved.
hawthorneboi Cardholder

I received this card about 4 months ago through an upgrade from the regular Blue Cash Everyday. The regular card was a bait and switch where they promised me the $100 sign up bonus but never recieved it. I got this card with a promo opffer stating they would give me $150 sign up bonus for spenind 1k the first three months. Met that! I need to get my utilization lower as my credit limit is $2700 and I am using about 45% of the available credit. Its hard to get a CLI when you have a high utilization so try your best to keep your balances blew 20% if you can. I love the card and the customer service. Not to mention they have deals every month on their website. I am please with the card cant lie!! I spend about $250 in groceries every month and the 6% pays divedends!! Gas is 3% off which is also great. Get the card its worth the $95 annual fee trust me!! I also have the AMEX ED, Citi World Select AA, Discover IT, FNBO Platinum, Cap One QS, Cap one Platinum total credit limit on all cards is 65K

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 22, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Aug 27, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card in the 80s and they have not changed anything. Paying your bill in full every month and the yearly fee is crazy. Don't get this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 27, 2017

Wrong card. Wasn't even avaible in the 80s.

 
Aug 26, 2017
If you ever forget to pay
Anonymous Cardholder

Just be aware, if you're not set up on auto pay and forget a payment; it will cost you the double
(thats after you made your payment) on the next due date. 1 day over, and they screw you. 

Looking for a credit card, go with discover.. 100 times better service, they actually care about their customers. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 28, 2017

They all screw ya if you're late. Don't kid yourself, bud.

 
Aug 12, 2017
Cash back and amazing customer service
mtdaly Cardholder

This has been my favorite credit card for several years.  The 6% cash back on groceries up to the $6,000 per year in spending coupled with the 3% back on gas more than pays for the annual fee.  If you spent more than $500 per month on groceries (i.e. almost every family of 3 or more), there is no reason not to own this card.  6% back on $6,000 per year equates to $360 in rewards.  When you subtract the annual fee of $95, you are still at an effective rewards rate JUST on groceries of 4.41%.  This absolutely crushes the cash back reward rate of any other card on the market.

The customer service and website are top-notch and better than the competition.

You are doing yourself a disservice if you don't have this card, so you should go apply today.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 26, 2017

I agree, there is no better card out there. It also gives you 3% cash back at select dept stores (i.e. Macy's). They also have the Amex offers for a variety of quality merchants where you can get an immediate statement credit if you spend a certain dollar amount with that given merchant. The savings I've gotten from the Amex offers has paid for the annual fee and then some. Some people are put off by a card with an annual fee but, if you opt not to get this card, you're being penny wise and pound foolish. .

 
Aug 02, 2017
GREAT CARD!
Sadarr1985 Cardholder

  I Got Approved With A Credit Line Of $500.00.  I Have Read Some Questions About American Express, And The Question Is, Does American Express Report To The Three Major Credit Beurau's?   As Of Yet!  I Have Only Seen On My Credit Report That I Have An Account Open In A Credit Line Of $500.00.

  If You Get This Card, With A Credit Limit Of $500.00, Do NOT! Request A Credit Limit Increase Until 90 Days Or More!  American Express Will Turn You Down Flat!  There Is An Online Page, On American Express, For You To Ask For A Credit Limit Increase, BUT!  They Will Have That Option BLOCKED!  Until 60 Days.  You Also Can See Your Credit Score For FREE!  As An American Express Member!

  In Order For You To Use Your American Express Card, You Will Have To Call And Speak To A Representive, So That They Can UNLOCK!  Your Account For ATM Withdraws!  You Will Also Have To Call American Express To Request Your Pin For ATM Withdraws!   Once You Receive That, You Can Change Your Four Digit Pin, To What Every You Want.

  I Give American Express FIVE STARS *****  It's A Great Card To Have.

more ...
Aug 04, 2017

This Is My Follow Up On The American Express Blue Cash Preferred Card. I Checked My Credit Report, And Found A Positive On My Credit Report, After 60 Days. I Think! That American Express Starts To Report Your Credit History After 60 Days.

 
Aug 04, 2017

I Have Seen Other Cards From American Express, There Is One With An Annual Fee Of $550. OUCH! This Card By American Express Is The One Card, That I Would Highly! Recommend! It Has NO! ANNUAL!
And Yes! Getting Rewards On This Card Is Limited! But! It Is A GREAT CARD! I Have Been Working On My Credit Score And My Credit Report, Due To The Fact That I Had Found Out That I Have Been A Victim Of Identity Theft! OUCH!! And So I Have Place Three CREDIT FREEZE'S On My Credit Reports! My Cost For Do This? $5.00 Per Each Credit Bureau.
This Prevents Someone, From Applying More Credit On My Credit Report. And It Is A Lot Cheaper Than That LIFE LOCK! I Just Now, Applied For The Discover It Secure Card. I Have Read The Reviews, And They Was A Lot Better Than The Other Secure Cards.
I Give American Express Blue Cash Preferred Five Stars ★★★★★

 
Aug 05, 2017

I Give American Express Blue Cash Preferred Five Stars ★★★★★

 
Aug 09, 2017

Are you reviewing the correct product because this card does have an annual fee of $95?

 
Aug 18, 2017

F'ing Troll.

 
Jul 20, 2017
ErickQ15 Cardholder

Great cash back card out there!  Wish it had a $0 intro and than the $95 there after!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 07, 2017

Well you got yer wish, lol. Sadly, it came at the expense of the 0% APR for 12 months, which I'd much rather have, since my monthly grocery spend dictates that I far outweigh the annual fee.

 
Jul 06, 2017
Instant Approval
freddiebrown Cardholder

Approved instantly with $4000 limit.

American Express seems to only pull your credit from Expeiran.  I only have 1 active  credit card accounts on my profile a $2000 credit with a balnace of $244. I would encourage you to wait until your utilization rate is 10% or less to throughly increase your score and your chances for approval.

Scores: TU: 738  /  EQ: 735

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
fast and quick
Benonapit Cardholder

amazing , i can get approve with $1000 , with my credit around 670. and i also had approved for the everyday american aexpress , the silver one.

loved to have em, but you must pay them full. recommende.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 21, 2017

Hi SR you're approved the same day?? Or not??

 
Jun 30, 2017
Approved
jsh0284 Cardholder

Approved with a 702 CK for $2000 CL. I have a $4500 C1, $4000 Chase and $2700 Discover so I imagine with time this CL will increase. Great card and first time Amex owner.

more ...
Jul 01, 2017

Ask for a CLI in 61 days 3x your limit.

 
Jul 06, 2017

I heard they don't make you wait 61 days for a credit increase

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express

106 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i