Banking Reviews


Results 11-20 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 2 of 11   Previous | Next
Jul 23, 2017
Great for Rebuilding Credit
STMahlberg
1 Contributions 2 People Helped

This is a great card for rebuilding credit... Don't let the bad reviews fool you.

I have had this card for 13 years. They started me out with a $500 limit when my FICO wasn't even 600 and every year I would receive a letter offering an increase in my limit. I did that for about 7 years and raised it to $1900; credit increases for me each year was $200. Although I now receive credit limit increase offers from them about every 6 months, I have not asked for an increase in about 6 years. In fact, I just received a letter from them yesterday. I don't feel the need to increase my limit when my FICO if over 800 and I rarely use the card.

If you ask for an increase from them or anyone they WILL run your credit no matter how good your payment history. If your payment is late, you WILL get dinged for this and it does take a few days for your payment to post so keep that in mind when making payments.

I don't know where this “once a month” or “every 10 days” payment information came from; however, I make payments to all of my credit cards each week and its NEVER been rejected, not even by CorTrust.

This card is very expensive to maintain but that's the price you pay for messing up your credit. I pay a $6 a month maintenance fee along with a $50 annual fee. Why do I keep this card you ask? Because they were very good to me in a time when I didn't deserve it... and I've had the card for 13 years.

If you think you're going to get this card or any card and fix your credit in the next 2 years, you're fooling yourself; that and you're probably falling for the BS on the internet or TV ads.

Fixing your credit is a long and sometimes painful process. It will take 7 to 10 years for bad credit to fall off your credit report and that's if things go right. Educate yourself on how your credit works and what it's based on, such as, length of credit, credit limit, overall percent credit usage, card percent usage, among other things. Credits cards are good, store cards are bad, consolidations can be bad, having a company negotiate your payments or interest rate is really, really, bad, paying to fix your credit is more times than not wasting your money. Using your card to only 10% of your balance and paying it off is good, having a 50% usage on your card is bad, maxing your card... well... you might as well shoot yourself in the foot.

I could write a book.

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
There's got to be a better Bank I can ch
JAMIECLAUDIA
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

There's got to be a better Bank you can choose too!!

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
horrible experience
chandrimab84
4 Contributions 0 People Helped

I applied for my FNBO direct account on September 30th.  It did not get processed online and it said someone will contact me by phone or email. I received an email asking me to complete my application process - when I logged in, there was nothing for me to complete. I called customer service, they said they have to review it by hand, it will take 48 hrs to see what is missing. Passed 48 hrs no email or phone call. I called customer service back talked to the manager , the manager sent the document again to the department that process this application. I was told I need to fax or mail address proof, I faxed address proof. It has been 2 days since, I called they cannot even confirm if they received my fax yet, let alone the status of the application. Horrible service . Stay away from this bank. I am regretting for even applying here. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2017
Terrible security
phillymom215
1 Contributions 2 People Helped

 I am astonished at the incompetence of this company. 2 weeks ago, my husband noticed fraudulent charges, completely out of line with our typical account activity. When I called to report it they said they would put a dispute in and shut the card down for me. 2 days later we found the rest of our account had been completely drained. When I called to inquire why, they had allowed the people fraudulently using our account to reopen it and drain the rest of the funds. They never notified us that our card was being used in a different part of the country or for large cash withdrawls which is completely unlike us AND they allowed them to continue even after I reported the fraud and shut the card down. They actually reopened the card for them. Over the next few days I spent countless hours on the phone with numerous customer service representatives who had no idea what they were doing and could not offer me any additional security on my account. About 5 days after the initial report, I spoke with a representative who informed me the first representative had never filed a dispute. So they lied and did nothing to help me get the funds back. That representative disputed the fraudulent activity. At this point, daycare, the mortgage, and electric bill are not getting paid. They assured me my case was the highest priority for their loss prevention team, then assigned it to someone on vacation. Finally, they gave me a provisional credit for the funds and now won't let me access it so now, 2 weeks later, we are still unable to pay our mortgage or any other bills. I just spend hours on the phone being bounced around to different departments all with no idea what they are doing. I can't go into a branch to see a person either. Also, I've compared their security to other banks and it's pitiful. Even my credit union allows a secret password on the account but they don't. Most other banks allow a security code to be sent to your phone or email before being able to get access to the account when speaking with a rep. They don't (although they have the option for online login, but that did nothing to protect me). We will never bank here again.

more ...
Nov 30, 2017
horrible
Anonymous

good for loading and transfering money to family members, simply horrible for anything else!!!

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
Stay Away From This Bank!
Catntx15
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Have had checking and savings account for over a year. I deposited a check from a company every week for almost a year with no problems. This past Monday I deposited a check from same company and Capital One froze my accounts both checking and savings to open a fraud investigation over the check I deposited. They will not give me a reason or a time frame as to when my money will be released. Once they release my money I am closing out my accounts and going to another bank.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Very slow to disburse loan payments.
Anonymous

Took out a business loan with them.  They would not pay my contractor, other vendors in a timely manner.  When the project was complete they created new reasons they couldn't pay my vendors.  After being shuffled to several people at the bank to complain, I was ignored.  The customer service was very poor and at one point I was told that my loan was only a few hundred thousand dollars, so they really didn't have time for me!

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous

Just got hit with a 30-day late pay, apparently, their autopay system doesn't work if it's setup for 5 days before payment is due. Called the customer service number to get it taken care of and they were impossible to deal with, they can't change the due date & they were rude about it. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
Worst CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER
Anonymous

They overcharged me for overdraft fess — first time ever — and even though I posted more funds into my account, they charged me for an additional 4 - $38 fees - based on nothing more than post dated information. There was NO MANAGMENT staff to speak to — the bank was left while the manager went on vacation with NO ONE TO MAKE decisions. I was then told to go to the “RESOLUTION”” line at Comerica Corporate - which turned out to be NONEXISTENT - they have given me the phone number to in-house technical support. They stole money from me. They will steal money from you. They do not send out statements - instead they CHARGE YOU to go online and see your information — in the age of data, they charge you to look at your account online ... Really? I thought I wanted a small local bank to run my business out of. Instead I got a small - understaffed, uninformed, useless bank that charges incredible fees for doing little to nothing. 

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
Disappointed
Anonymous

Each time I have called the customer service line, they have been NO help. My account was recently compromised and I can't get the customer service to help me with anything.

more ...
Results 11-20 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 2 of 11   Previous | Next