Capital One 360 Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
79 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 17, 2017
A great way to save on fees overall
kokaneekidz Account Holder

This is a great bank as long as you don't need to go in and talk to a teller since the branches can be states away in some cases depending on where you reside. Otherwise it is a great outfit , they don;t charge overdraft fees like conventional banks as long as you opt into the overdraft LOC which only charges 11.75% interest which is pennies a month to afford vs paying 35 a whack to bofa or chase for example. But just remember the deposits are on hold for 3 days generally so don't make the mistake i made and deposit a check then immediately schedule a bill pay from your credit card as it will be dishonoured and you will be out return payment fees from you credit card provider. Otherwise I give them an A-ok ;) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 29, 2017
Bad Customer Services
Anonymous Account Holder

Early this month, I made the transfer money from Capital One 360 to Capital One Checking account. On Monday April 3rd, I set to transfer money on next day Tuesday April 4th. Then on next day April 4rd, the bank withdrew the money from Capital One 360 but it did not put into my Checking account. Then next on day April 5th, it put the money back to Capital One 360 without any explanation (email or any notification). And when, I checked on my Checking account, I found the negative amount of money due to paid out to other transaction. It was also negative amount money on my trading account as well due to withdraw from Checking account. I called them on the night of April 5th, they checked the log history but did not know why. They said they will investigate and would call me back to give an explanation. For this moment, they transferred money right away so my Checking account would not get negative balance.

More than one week went by, Capital One 360 never called me to give me an explanation. I called them again and talked to the manager (Brian). He said that was my faults to set the transfer money date on the same day that why it did not work. That was not correct, I asked him to check my account log histories, then he said I was right but he did not know he seem not care what was happen to customer. I got negative balances on many accounts due to this transaction.

I wrote this review because I am the longtime customer of Chevy Chase now Capital One. I did not want use other bank to the transactions. I hoped the upper managers will take a closer look in this case to improve their services. I was never had this bad experiences with old Chevy Chase bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 14, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I been using them for around 5 years excellent online bank, I make my payments on time and the best things is that they have no fees.

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Froze all my accounts without notice
godjwood Account Holder

I had no problems until capital one froze all of my bank accounts without notice. I had them for years. Due to suspected fraud. They gave me a 1-800 number to call and I did and only get message machine. Called several times can't access my money or bank statements. They told me 1-3 days someone would get back to me 2 weeks later still no contact. Terrible.

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Froze all my accounts without notice
godjwood Account Holder

I had no problems until capital one froze all of my bank accounts without notice. I had them for years. Due to suspected fraud. They gave me a 1-800 number to call and I did and only get message machine. Called several times can't access my money or bank statements. They told me 1-3 days someone would get back to me 2 weeks later still no contact. Terrible.

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Terrible policies
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank has no email system to verify any conversations you have with them online or on the phone. Contacted them 3 times about a fraud claim. Asked for email verification of our conversation. Was lied to that they sent one. Never happened. I have lost all confidence in them handling my money. Will be closing my savings and credit card account. Very disappointed.

more ...
Jul 29, 2017
does not live to the hype.
Anonymous Account Holder

Could not use card in New Zealnd.Could not make coolect call as promised./

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Froze my account and is holding my money
mamike1234 Account Holder

Capital One 360 froze my account because I cashed a check that was signed over to me even though I've never had a bounced check on my account that I had with them for three years. The security team they have is garbage complete garbage for the one you cant even speak to someone directly they have to give you a call back when its convenient for them. Also, they froze my account not letting anything go out, but whats funny is stuff can still go in lol. That right there just shows how money hungry they are if there really was an issue with my account why are you letting deposits go in??? Its because the longer they hold my money, and don't send me a check for whats in my bank account the more money they make off the interest in the accounts. VEry shady bad way todo business with people unfortunate what happened to capital one 360 please avoid

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 14, 2017

Same happened to me. 2 weeks later. I am thinking about suing. Anyone who wants to join in on this train let me know. And what is funny is all the reviews on their website are fake- there is no way to create a review.

 
Jul 25, 2017
The worse! Always in the negative
Anonymous Account Holder

No need for grace periods when you have no way of depositing money into it! Get charge 35 dollars always every week. So done!

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
Looks Good on the Surface
Anonymous Account Holder

Used Capital One credit cards to build up my credit score to an excellent rating: it's fast/easy to request CLIs, and they were willing to offer multiple cards and/or lines of credit (beware of predatory lending practices though if you are new to the credit game or desperate for a credit card).

Decided to set up a checking and savings account with them as backup accounts (I use USAA primarily for my banking) since that was fast and easy to do online as well. However, on the occassions I used their checking/savings accounts, I seemed to always run into issues even though I've never bounced a check/never overdrawn either account/never done anything derogatory. The last straw for me was them putting an unexplained and extended hold on a deposited paycheck from my employer for "confidential reasons"; stating that it might not be paid (I work for a major international employer not in any danger of going out of business anytime soon). They would not provide any real reason to me for the hold when I contacted them. All I can guess is that Captial One possibly engages in kiting deposited funds from people, they have an overzealous/ineffective security department, or just have irrational/ineffective policies in general. But bottom line is: be careful with reviewing the terms of credit/fees on their credit card offers and avoid using their banking (checking/savings) accounts - there are better banks or credit unions out there for that. Otherwise, I did not/will not be using any of their other money services in the future.

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Capitol One treats its customers unfair
Anonymous Account Holder

I have a Capitol One 360 Savings account. It is in the name of a trust. They will NOT let me convert or even open a Money Market account at a HIGHER rate because my current account is in the name of a trust.  Customers are NOT important to MANAGEMENT.  Ally and most all. Asks open these accounts with open arms and are more than competitive . I use to like Capitol One. They need better MANAGEMENT the cares about treating all customers fairly. 

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

APY interest rates are pretty low despite having accounts with them for years (.20% - .75%) no fees if you keep your account in pristine condition a.k.a. really don't use it unless directed positing paychecks.. Try another online bank with higher APY rates and less fees and shorter holding times on your money.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations