Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One 360

2.7 out of 5 stars
58 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 22, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Yes, there is a 5 day hold time before your deposit shows up. However, this is completely worth it if you're opening a savings account. I deposited $100 just to see how it would go...I was impressed with how high of interest I'm getting back. A huge difference from my everyday bank.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 04, 2016
Zzzzz service is a thing of the past
Anonymous Account Holder

So called security locked account, sent e-mail to me and my wife asking us to call. Left 3 messages and have spent overy 3 hours on hold over past 3 days,,,, still have locked account and no response. They sure take the deposits easy enough. ...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 08, 2017
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE ON THE PLANET
meenubasu Account Holder

Run away - DONT WALK AWAY!!! They opened a fraud case for submitting a change of address!! Afer 3 weeks of submitting documents and phone calls issue still not resolved! The supervisors would rather we close the accounts than help a customer to resolve problems created by them!!!!

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Ridiculously long holds on transfers
djwdjw Account Holder

I've had Capital One 360 accounts since their acquisition of ING direct.  While the basic banking side is ok, as far as basic services go, having an effectively 7 day hold on recurring inter-bank transfers (transfers that go on eacy month and never have had issues) is just a ridiculous policy.  Nuts.  7 days ago I transferred, as usual, money from another financial major bank into my Cap 360 savings.  It still isn't available.  And this is standard performance.

A year ago Cap 360 put out an email pronouncement about speeding up transfer and availability of funds, but from my perspective this is complete nonsense.

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Fast and convienent
Anonymous Account Holder

This is a great bank for credit cards and the 360 checking. I deposited my check and the funds were available within 24 hours with no problems at all (unlike with the credit union) I am very pleased with the quality and quickness of my transactions with this bank and the deposits. Thank you, Capital One!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Frustrating...
Brendam91 Account Holder

When I first opened a account with the bank I was excited. I went to deposit money on a nearby ATM. When I started using my card it got declined. I called to see why and they had me waiting for a hour. It was frustrating for 4 days I kept calling and calling and placed on hold for so long until finally on the fourth day someone helped me out! Couple months later, I deposited my second check, half of the funds is on Hold and it's been 3 days and still pending as now. Over all I love Capitol one but not the 360 side...

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Very Very Slow
Anonymous Account Holder

You would think that online banking would be fast and convenient.  To the contrary, Capital One is slow to deposit checks, slow to make direct deposits available and incredibly slow to answer the phone.  To make matters worse, there is no way to exchange messages with the bank.  How ironic that an online bank does not take online correspondence.  Either you can wait on hold for an hour and talk to someone who cannot answer basic questions or you can write them a letter and mail it to them.  Yes.  Mail.  With a stamp.  That tells you that they really, really do not want to hear from you.      

In any case, this bank is not convenient and it customer service in non-existent.  So if you want to wait 9 days to have a check deposit clear, get your direct deposits a day later than normal, and never find an easy answer to any of your questions, this bank is for you.  If not, just go to a real bank with real people who actually care.      

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Downhill customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

After belonging for years, today could not deposit checks with the app, called and on phone with 2 different reps for close to 2 hours without being able to fix problem.  Going on the hour mark, told could not help as "sytems down".  Closing all accounts.

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
I loved this bank, until I needed them.
Anonymous Account Holder

I am still looking for a new bank, as one of my favorite things about Capital One 360 was their no fee (except APR rate) overdraft protection; this made banking so much easier on tighter months.

However, the issue came when I had two unauthorized purchases on my checking account. Their customer service was always TOP-NOTCH whenever you ask them about home loans, account questions, feature requests, but when I mentioned a fraudulent transaction the guy gets really quiet and says..."ok..." Then more silence. The tone of his voice was one of suspicion, as if he did not believe me. It was a very awkward moment, but I figured he must be having an off day (after all, there service was fine up to this point). Like you would with other banks, I had to provide supporting documentation, etc. to prove I did not authorize the transaction. About three weeks later they pretty much tell me I didn't have enough evidence of this being an unauthorized transaction. My response: "OKAY...SO TELL ME WHAT THE VENDOR PROVIDED TO PROVE THEIR CHARGE WAS AUTHORIZED." He response was that I did not prove the transaction to be unauthorized. They took the side of the vendor....and this happened to me twice now over the past 6 years; same attitude and result each time.

My fear is that I will be treated the same if someone were to get access to my savings account and steal my hard-earned money. They failed me twice in very reasonable disputes with a very logical case with some supporting evidence...what will they do if someone made a transfer from within my account? THEY DON'T USE TWO-FACTOR AUTHENTICATION, so you'll be screwed there too.

Heartbreaking...I really loved this bank, but the way they handle disputes makes them too much of a risk in safekeeping my money.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
I love it
Anonymous Account Holder

Since it's completely online, it helps me save money and with interest.

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Great!
Anonymous Account Holder

Very awesome! I only use their credit cards

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Awful Experience
AceSchneck Account Holder

Yikes! Stay away.

I have only had this 360 account for 5 days, after being extremely violated by WellsFargo. Here's a quick synopsis of what I've already endured.

They claim simple online transfers from other establishments and accounts: The thousands of dollars in funds I've tried transferring from wellsfargo to here are still unavailable after 5 days. On the second day of my account being open I was sent an email saying something to the likes of "welcome, you're money is available...." etc. When I checked my online summary, a message popped up at the top of the website that told me I need to contact customer service before my funds will be available.  Even though they just sent me an email saying the cash was available. 

I spent 83 minutes on hold and still hadn't had anybody answer my call. Then I caught on the hold message that I could leave a voicemail and someone would reach me in 24 or 48 hours. Well, that sucked as I couldn't pay any of my bills and two of them at this point are now approaching their due date. I left this message on Friday and received a call on Sunday. The representative told me that because there's a fraud alert on my account (this is on account of wellsfargo opening several accounts in my name without my permission 8 years ago).  Okay, fine - I get that.  It's a new account and hopefully things will go smoothly and I won't ever have to contact customer service, right?  

Nope. I specifically asked the representative if my money was now available. She told me yes. I was online with her when she said this and told her, "Wait a minute - I don't see that this is the case..." and she told me that the money will be available shortly and to give the system a few moments to upate. Reluctantly, I said ok. Have a good day.

That was Sunday. I'm writing this review on Tuesday. Not only has my money still not become available but I received an email late last night saying, "Please contact capital one to confirm some personal details. This is just a part of a security process......"  

Seriously?????  I just did that.  So now I'm on hold again so far for 67 minutes and I won't be leaving a message this time - though, the hold verbiage isn't offering me that option this time.  Ridiculous. If service is something you're looking for? Stay away. If getting your money quickly and seamlessly is something you strive for? Look elsewhere.  Capital One 360 sucks!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations