Capital One 360 Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 21, 2018
THE BEST
dimitriexport Account Holder

Hands down the best checking account on the PLANET, i had it about a year now and have never had better service... it is like everything is fine tuned i seriously cant think of 1 negative thing.... everyone in America should have a 360 account!! I will stay with them till i die!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 18, 2018
Horrible
lrod930 Account Holder

I’ve had my account since I was 18 years old and it was ing direct. Ever since they’ve become 360 every encounter I’ve had has been a complete nightmare. After 10 years I will be closing my account along with the rest of my family and my fiancé’s family (including our credit cards). I’m not sure how much training their customer service reps get but it clearly isn’t enough. They’re rude obnoxious and it’s almost like they go out of their way to not be helpful. I’m embarrassed that I’ve even recommended them in the past because now every other day my family and friends call me to remind me they’ll never take my advice again.. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2018
Close savings account before you die
Brattttt Account Holder

 My father passed away in May 2018. In July 2018 I started the process of closing his savings account. We are now halfway through November and the account is still not closed. I have filed all the paperwork that is needed and has been excepted, except for the letter of direction. I, as the executor of the will must send a letter of direction to capital One stating what I would like for them to do with the money, include my address, and sign my name.  I have now done this 11 times and each time my letter keeps getting denied. I’ve been calling consistently to complain and ask what more I can do. Each time they give me the same set of directions and every time I do, my letter gets denied. I am now 100% convinced that they just want to keep the money.

more ...
Oct 08, 2018
Allowed deposit after "closing" account
WorkingFather Account Holder

I had a Capital One 360 Checking account for over a year.  I was no longer working in July and my account was overdrawn.  Capital One closed my account without any communication via the mobile app, mail, phone, or email.  When I checked the account I noticed it was overdrawn a month and half later.  I then deposited my paychecks via the mobile app (over 4,000 dollars).  A couple days later it showed the checks as cleared and I tried to use my debit card and it was declined.  I called Capital One and they told me my account was closed (this is the first time they told me, on the mobile app it appeared to be open and in good standing.)  They told me they have to refund me the money in the account and they could send me a check in 7 - 10 business days or transfer to my other bank account on file, which would still take 2 - 5 business days to initiate the transfer.  I'll never understand why they would allow me to deposit multiple checks into a "closed" account and then make me wait 1 - 2 weeks to have access to the money.  This is the worst banking experience I've had, and I wouldn't recommend Capital One to anyone, what a horrible policy!

more ...
Sep 13, 2018
No confidence in the new system implemen
Janetj709 Account Holder

Prior to implementing their new system I had confidence that my money was being handled safely and accurately.  However with the implementation of their new system, I have had nothing but problems with my accounts not show up with deposits, etc.  The old system was very clear and straightforward and the new one is incredibly difficult to navigate and I have spent HOURS on the line with their customer service AND technical people who cannot explain my delimna.  Joint account nicknames have been changed and while one holder can view the new nickname, the other account holder cannot and therefore must go in and search for a way to change it manually.....I am looking for another online bank because I no longer trust CapitalOne360 is watching out for my money.  Everything I've tried to do in the new system has been considerably more difficult than the old.  I can no longer print off 'individual' statements for my accounts as they are now all 'lumped' together....and also I cannot see the statements of the accounts that I am not the primary holder on.......all the changes that have been made within the last few months have all been detrimental to my banking needs and all I'm told is that is the way it is now.......BEWARE of this bank in my opinion unless they make some MAJOR changes.

more ...
Sep 11, 2018
Almost no fees, including international
cashdarma Account Holder

I’ve had an account with them for many many years, since they were ING Direct. I’ve been warmly recommending them to friends and I didn’t care about referral comssions. 

I use both checking and savings and we use them in addition to a bank that has brick and mortar branches. I love this account for the fee free checking, no maintenance fees, no fees for using other ATMs. The Allpoint ATM network in the US is extensive and I can’t withdraw money with no comissions at supermarkets, Costco, Target, pharmacies etc. When we travel internationally, we only withdraw whatever local currency that we need for few days and we never paid any comission. This was mainly in Europe, and I have to say that it is the best way to get local currency: you get the absolute best exchange rate and you don’t even pay a penny in comissions. This latter international benefit has actually been added after Capital One took over. 

I can hardly think of things I don’t like. I guess I’d wish that the national wires were cheaper (they are $30), that maybe I would be able to do transactions locally.. but hey, then most likely there will either be a monthly fee or a direct deposit string attached. 

more ...
Jul 24, 2018
Impossible to get anyone on the phone
Andianderson Account Holder

What phone number you should use is never clear, as Capital One has dozens of them, and you will definitely be on hold forEVER. Not worth the headache. Average hold time every time I called was around 8 minutes, and I always had the wrong number the first time. Avoid like the plague.

more ...
Jul 05, 2018
CAPONE360
okaywellthatsit Account Holder

I'm so upset.  I put my daughter as joint account holder.  Then I remarried.  Now I need to take her off and put husband on, and it's IMPOSSIBLE.  I have followed their online instructions ad nauseum.  It doesn't work.  I'm getting ready to pull all my money and go elsewhere.

more ...
Jun 07, 2018
BAD
Anonymous Account Holder

Does not pick up the phone!

more ...
Jun 07, 2018
It could be so much better
idontlikebanks Account Holder

I like the options for overdrafts, including the one with no fees. I like that there are free ATMs in lots of convenient locations for withdrawals. I really hate the 4-5 days they hold funds when I transfer funds from my bank account. They should not be able to hold funds after they have cleared, but they do, and they will not release early, even if you manage to get through to customer service to ask. Customer service is only available during banking hours, and typically takes over 30 minutes to reach someone. If I'm calling customer service, I don't need to go through half a dozen prompts asking if I'd like to check my balance. I can do that online or at an ATM. If I'm calling, I want to talk to someone. That should be the first option on the teleprompt, not the last.

more ...
Jun 05, 2018
New Website a Big Letdown
Rock19403 Account Holder

I thought Capital One checking account was pretty good and especially felt that being able to enter pending checks was a very nice feature. So why did they drop this feature in the new website? Now any advantage over some other bank by computer is gone in my eyes. Also felt that dowmloads should inclue Category, but that was never available. SAD!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations