Huntington National Bank Reviews

Huntington National Bank Reviews
1.9 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 24, 2019
backward security
MadalaineFabre Account Holder

I noticed an almost 2K charge that came through and on that same day, I disputed it. It stayed pending for several days and today it went through even though it was being disputed. When I called, I was told that the bank has no mechanism to stop pending payments. Excuse me, but if you can stop payment on a check or do anything else that requires manual effort or programming, you could do this. I have never heard of a bank that would clear the charge during an investigation. They usually go back to the bank, if it has already gone through and at least put it in a separate account or give it back saying that they may take it back depending on the investigation. Meanwhile, I get to twiddle my thumbs for another 85 days until there is an outcome. I will be looking for other banks. This is the first time on my business account but our personal account has been hacked several times in the last few years. I am done with this bumbling group of people. 

more ...
Oct 14, 2019
DO NOT USE THEM FOR RV LOANS!!!
WENDY6483 Account Holder

My husband & I traveled out of state to purchase a new RV in August of 2018.  After putting down a substantial deposit the dealers finance provider offered us a loan for the remaining balance thru Huntington Bank.  Our intention was that when we got home, we would rearrange some funds to pay the loan off in full within a month or two.  Our credit rating is A+++ and we have no outstanding debt.  Due to a unforeseen issue were unable to make the necessary finance arrangements to pay it off immediately but were able to make substantial additional monthly principal payments as well as the monthly loan payment itself.  We had to JUMP THRU HOOPS to arrange the additional principal payments.  I could not make the payment in person because the bank was out of state.  First, I had to create a special form letter including all the necessary account information and special instructions for application of payment.  Included I provided a personal check and had to mail it to a special address. After mailing the payment I had to wait weeks for it to be cashed and then I had to police on-line how that extra payment was being applied.  Several times I caught them applying it to the whole loan and charging me interest on it.  Forcing them to back the payment out, re-apply it and recalculate my interest.  The customer service rep I spoke with was annoyed with having to deal with this.  This was not because of me….it was because of their poorly designed system and it was MY MONEY.  Upon speaking with a friend of mine who also had a RV loan thru them I discovered that he was having the same problem with them.  My recommendation before you shop for your RV, shop around for your RV loan and stay away from Huntington Bank if you can!!!  The loan is now paid in full & I am glad to be finally rid of them….FOREVER!

more ...
Oct 07, 2019
Amazing
Fred789 Account Holder

For people who think that this banks credit policies are bogus or are not transparent crack me up every lender has the right to review your credit and determine whether you still meet the requirements of said product... capital one discover and chase have all lowered my limit numerous times... just because you pay it off every month doesn't mean that's a plus yes it's good payment history but what's that doing to your credit utilization.... come one people credit utilization is 35 percent of your credit score you can have excellent payment history but max out your card and pay it off when the statement cycles it's sent to the credit bureau and if you have only 2000 dollars in available credit and you max it out that's almost 100 percent utilization which is terrible for your credit... it's in the disclosures they can soft hit your credit and review it to determine whether you qualify or not just read the lovely disclosures you receive and maybe you will understand it better ;) I love Huntington they're nothing but nice just because you don't get your way doesn't mean you have to be mad at or blame someone else for your mistakes even with getting overdraft fees... their free checking account literally gives you 24 hours to bring the account to a positive balance before you assess a fee I'd say it's hard to assess a fee unless you're broke and overdraft it all the time... 

more ...
Sep 04, 2019
Do Not Go With Huntington!
AshleaA Account Holder

Save yourself years of headache, stress and fear. Loan officers do not care, in fact, they will barely even talk to you. They will put incorrect numbers on your closing statements, lose your sensitive information, set dates and not inform you, and not update your escrow accounts then a year later try to make up for those funds by making you pay. Despite these issues needing to be fixed before hand, Huntington cannot handle that responsibility on making sure your FHA loan is correct before and after closing. Despite ensuring everything is good, they will come after you a year later wanting more money up front and monthly as if I was renting a home a renewing a lease. Huntington refuses to take responsibility or apologize despite telling you they messed up, they still expect you to fix it yourself. The entire process from start back in June 2018 to now, Sept 2019, I have been treated poorly despite being a client.

Go through a credit Union, or Chase, but do not go with Huntington

more ...
Aug 21, 2019
Worst credit card ever/Banking is OK
rzza Account Holder

I have made exery single payment on time.  For the first half a year I paid off balances each month but after buying my house I decided to use this card for renovations and planned to pay minimum payment for a while until I can pay it off again.  Well, right before xmas they cut my limit from 6500 to 5000 (my balance was nearly 5000) I planned on using this for xmas presents, gee thanks Huntington.  Then 8 months later I get an email saying that my card is now closed and I have to keep making payments and I should cut my card in half.  The only thing I have done is make minimum payments, I thought they like interest.  This is ridiculous!  Oh well, theyre loss! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 07, 2019

Well let me correct “they’re” to their* but it’s in the disclosures they can review your credit while you have their credit card and see if you still meet the requirements obviously you don’t and you didn’t read the disclosures every lender has the right to do this it’s not like it’s not common it is for every lender read the documents you get with the card and maybe you will understand how banking works....

 
Jul 17, 2019
They are awful the service is awful.
shaynes8105 Account Holder

Please go to any bank other than Huntington. I would put Wells Fargo and Huntington at the top of the list of crappy banks.

more ...
Jul 11, 2019
Terrible customer service
Maliniak Account Holder

The way they treat customers is an absolute disgrace! The 'reward' for responsible handling of Voice Master Card over the last two years was the decrease in my credit line from the original $2050 to $500. Payments always on time, including paying the full balance every month. Stay away from their credit card product if you can. I will close out checking account as well. Tomasz

more ...
Jun 26, 2019
Poor
Kelsm Account Holder

Not honest with credit card policies.

more ...
Jun 19, 2019
Worst Bank I have ever dealt with!
qltr1 Account Holder

We need to transfer our title from WI to FL.  Need their title department to send the title to FL.  Have been dealing with them OVER 2 months now.  They constantly say "this step of the process can take 2-3 weeks"  Everyone who answers the phone gives us a different answer on what they are waiting for or where in the process they are.  They are all very arrogant, they know all the answers and every other agency they are dealing with is always wrong.  I have had the FL DMV and the WI DMV both on the phone with their title department at the same time to PROVE to them that those agencies have done their part and are waiting on Huntington to take the next step.  

I will NEVER do business with this bank again and absolutely give them a big fat ZERO on a scale of 1-10.  That's right, they don't even rate a 1.  

more ...
Apr 06, 2019
Voice Credit Card experience
Maliniak Account Holder

Lack of transperency when it comes to credit card policy. Credit limit was reduced twicewithout any warning despite excellent payment history. Payments from outside banks result in delaying funds availability for 10 days or more. Needless to say. no warning when making a payment that funds may not be immediately available. Look elsewhere if you can.

more ...
Mar 31, 2019
Stay clear, look elsewhere
stplong Account Holder

I had this card for just over one year, just out of the blue they closed my account.  At the time they closed it I had a zero balance, I called and they couldn't give me a good answer to why it was closed, I asked if I was ever late and they said no and I confirmed that at the time of them closing it I had a zero balance.  They said I could reapply after 90 day which would mean a hard return, no thanks  there's too many other banks and cards out there.  Stay clear of this terrible bank. 

more ...
Mar 08, 2019
Exceptional
Kraniszewski Account Holder

The agent I’m working with is great.  As a first time homebuyer I have alot of questions and he has been prompt with his replies and is working very quickly through the homebuying process.  He also got me a very low interest rate!  His name is Bradley and he is making this complicated time very easy for me!  I highly recommended doing your banking needs with Huntington.  

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Your money is not safe here.
tj2018 Account Holder

I have banked at Huntington for 7+ years. I was told today by the branch manger that if someone has your banking information they can access your account at anytime without authorization, take your money and there is nothing that Huntington is goint to do about it. So if you have ever paid anything using your debit card or with your account/routing number, anyone can take that information to drain your account and you cannot dispute it because they have your info. Your money is not safe here. Go somewhere else. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations