Ally® Bank Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 30, 2018
Tight Security, Competitive APY Rates
unamusedpixie Account Holder

I'm reading a lot of negative reviews about this bank regarding security questions.  Ally is a completely online bank, and as a result, they make every effort to keep your information as safe as possible.  Sometimes that means not having immediate access to funds.  For that reason, I strongly recommend keeping your ally account as a "secondary" account.  For example, I keep CDs with them and a savings account because it's a very low-risk way to accrue interest, but I wouldn't use ally for day-to-day banking.  

As someone who has had some identity fraud scares, I really do appreciate the tight security.  I'd much rather my money be kept safe with inconveniences than to lose my money because someone let some red flags slide.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 21, 2018
Defrauding in the name of security!!!
Rogims Account Holder

I got a check from my account I closed with keybank, and I deposited it with Ally mobile banking on 1st of August, 2018, they closed the account on 2nd of August, 2018, when I asked why, they claimed the reason is "fraud"! Then I asked whoever spoke to me then if my check is still okay since you closed the account, so I can find a better and suitable bank, but she coudln't give reasonable response, so I went ahead and deposited the check with Alliant CU, and when Alliant couldn't clear it, I had to call Keybank what happened, and they said they already paid the check out to Ally bank same week I deposited with them. I've been calling them since then, and they've been dribbling me back and forth, asking me to tell keybank to contact them, and Key made it clear that they have nothing to do with it anymore, check has been paid out! I don't understand why you closed an account for alleged fraud, but you held unto the money for almost 2 months now, even murder case get solved in less time frame. Unless they never intend to give me back my money. I've requested evidence from keybank on how and when they paid Ally the check, I'm hoping there is something I can do with that to claim back my money when it hit my mail. I'm not about to let some cooperate thieves steal $4,600 from me, I'm on wheelchair for christ sake!. I'm gonna keep posting this in as many review platform that I can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 23, 2019
They were good in the beginning..
marpatterson Account Holder

They were good, but then they placed an unnecessary hold on a $300 chase check (that I wrote to ally)for 5 days for “confidential” reasons and for whatever reason, it had to be that way because they felt “like my check was not going to be paid out.” Absolutely ****ed me off. Stayed on the phone for an hr and they refused to remove the hold. They are a freaking joke! 

more ...
May 04, 2019
Extremely Horrible Customer service
X2heflow Account Holder

My Car was totaled and I had Gap insurance. I called Ally customer service to find out what I needed to do. The customer service rep. informed me that my insurance and Gap would handle everything. She also told me that I no longer had to keep paying on the car because the Gap insurance would pay the remaining balance on the car from the insurance company. This conversation was recorded. A month later, I was told from Ally that information was false. This was one of many wrong messages from customer service. Ally Bank would send me emails from their Gap insurance division requesting information needed to complete paperwork for the insurance company. Afterwards, I realized that they were not the GAP insurance company for my car and they never sent the paperwork to the (REAL) GAP insurance company. I have the emails to prove this as well. Ally is good for taking your money only. If you ever have to use Customer Service for any reason, it will be time out of your life that you can never get back. I sent a letter to Ally regarding this situation and they did nothing. So I am posting this complaint in an effort to save at least one person from the problems of bad business practice. They do not deserve your money. Go to a credit union instead. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2019
Horrible customer service.
Bos1cgg Account Holder

 I had to call multiple times within the last month for the same issue because they could not get it right … Had to wait on hold forever for someone to pick up then they would put me on hold again for three to five minutes every time … Most times I was on the phone for over an hour with them . Run don't walk away

more ...
Apr 16, 2019
Horrible customer service.
Bos1cgg Account Holder

I had to call multiple times within the last month for the same issue because they could not get it right … Had to wait on hold forever for someone to pick up then they would put me on hold again for three to five minutes every time … Most times I was on the phone for over an hour with them . Run don't walk away

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Great rates - horrible customer service
RobFL Account Holder

I have been with Ally for about 2 years.  They have great rates and I actually enjoy my accounts BUT if you ever need customer service you are screwed.  You wait on hoid forever.  I called in today - they said approximately 3 minutes - I have been on hold for 32 minutes.  Its like that everytime you call in.  I used to recommend them to everyone I know.  Now I tell people to look elsewhere even if the rates are a little lower.  It will save you a lot of grief.

more ...
Apr 01, 2019
awful!
Cee1997 Account Holder

This is the absolute worst bank I’ve ever dealt with in my entire life! Never again will I ever do business with them. I’ve had my vehicle loan through them not even a whole year (June will be a year) and they have double took my payment out of my account 4 times now! I’m a 22 year old that works hard for my money. You can’t even get a single person who speaks a lick of English! I wouldn’t recommend this bank to my worst enemy.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2019

I thought I'd open a savings account here since the interest rates are good. The account opening process is such a nightmare (i applied online, but it told me to call in). Both the chat and the phone reps were incredibly unprofessional, and the hold times were absolutely insane. The chat rep told me I should just get up at 3am and call them when they're not busy. The phone rep seemed to have no clue what was going on and kept putting me on multiple holds to "talk to the back office". Ultimately I asked them to withdraw my application entirely because yikes - who knows what would happen if I did go through with the account and I ever needed help with it. So I think I dodged a bullet here. At least I found out they're a garbage company before I gave them my money.

 
Mar 16, 2019
Rip Off Artists!
LDennick1 Account Holder

These people are THIEVES! I opened an account about a month ago and discovered $200 I deposited was missing, plus the ATM card they sent was "invalid" even though I had confirmation that it was activated a day before. No effective help from anyone, just stole most of my money and closed the account for no reason!

Go to a credit union. You'll get far better service and no rip offs.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
really bad bank
dewdappa Account Holder

work very inefficiently. don't give me $500 cash back in time and need 2 week to review a simple enrollment email. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
lirienleigh Account Holder

you are better off getting a loan from your local mob boss. they might actually be able to speak your language and maybe a bit more willing to work with you later on down the line. 
while we had the car, we never missed a payment. we, unfortunately, totaled the car, to which we 1. called ally the same month it happened and 2. my insurance sent them the statements and the payment for the car. Ally now claims, they never received notice the car was totaled. 

not that it matters. we were still making payments, and eventually, we came to a point where we couldn't afford the payments any longer for a car we didn't own. we called to see if there was something they could help with for the remainder of the payments (LESS THAN $2000 MIND YOU) they refused. we continued to make smaller payments of what we could afford and alley tossed the loan into collections anyways. they then sent us a letter stating they would be willing to work with us if we called them. 

they weren't. 

they wanted their money. that was what they were willing to work with. either we made a large chunk payment (over $800) that day, or we paid in full. which we just couldn't afford until taxes came in. 

we told them we would pay it off as soon as Taxes came in. 

they have called EVERY. SINGLE. DAY at 8:00 am every day. the person on the other line never speaks English enough to understand basic concepts and nor do they offer to transfer to an English speaker. they get upset when i ask to transfer stateside and have an attitude with me every single time. 

I cannot tell you enough. RUN AWAY.

if you have a loan with them. get out now.

if you are thinking about getting a loan with them because no one else will loan to you, DONT. save your money for a few months, and go with a better place that isn't a joke of a business. or go talk to the mob. because at this point, I'd much rather deal with them than this moral-less so-called "business." at least the Mob has morals and a brain. 

**also, they stopped my automatic payments without asking when the car was first totaled and used the payment from the insurance company to cover the late charges and fee's associated with them not taking the payments automatically like we had set up. they ever gave a real reason for this, and then claimed its standard after a car is totaled. the payment from the insurance would have covered the car had they not done this and tacked on a bunch of fees and charges. 

more ...
Feb 21, 2019
Amazing rates & customer support
AgelessKibbles Account Holder

The only downside to Ally is their website maintenance and issues, it's not super common but as it is an online bank it can be a nuisance, they do fix it immediately, however. Super easy process and I love the high-interest rates. The website is super easy to use and so is the app, customer service is great too! Since it is an online bank there are no cash deposits, however, I found that I can deposit cash into my PayPal account at Walmart, CVS, and many other stores and transfer into the account for free! I love all.

Highly recommend.

more ...
Feb 12, 2019
Bad CS can put you in a dangerous spot
jobeirne Account Holder

I'd been a mostly happy customer for a few years, but the inconvenience and incompetence at Ally around getting certified checks put me in an incredibly uncomfortable position.

I needed to get a check for around $14,000 to buy my car lease out and the timing was sensitive given the lease end. I contacted Ally and asked for a certified check to be sent out expedited. The CS representative processed the request for me and told me the check would be there in 2-3 business days. Cut to 2-3 business days later and the check still isn't there. I call Ally CS and the rep assures me the check will arrive tomorrow. Tomorrow comes and there's still no check. 

I call Ally CS again and spend 30 minutes alternately on hold and talking to a rep to find that they mailed the check through standard mail, not expedited, and that the check would arrive a week later. If I waited for that check, my payment to the car company would have been delinquent and I'm not sure what kind of badness would've resulted. The Ally CS rep basically said I could put a stop payment on the check, send a wire to the car company, or some combination of the two. Not super helpful.

I only got out of this situation unscathed because I had fortunately just opened another bank account with a physical branch nearby - but if I didn't have enough funds liquid to cover twice the cost of the car, I'd be up the proverbial creek thanks to Ally. Now I'm in the surprisingly difficult process of reclaiming my funds from the check they cut and (surprise!) I'm spending a lot more time with Ally CS than I'd like to be.

Similar uncomfortable situations (though not as severe) would happen each time I needed a certified check on a tight timeline for, say, the initial deposit on an apartment. The no-ATM fee thing is cool, but I'm planning on closing my account due to the bad customer service. Not worth the trouble.

more ...
Feb 06, 2019
smmcla Account Holder

close out account after being a member for 3+ years. holding my deposits. Always hve to talk to "back office"

more ...
Jan 24, 2019
amandapiooo Account Holder

Have been banking with this company for almost 2 years and have never had an issue. Highly recommend! 

more ...
Jan 07, 2019
They will lock ur account

This bank will not let me access my savings account. Will not call back. Can’t get a supervisor on the phone. I have nearly 250k in my account and I can’t get at it? Are you fu*king kidding me? I will be contacting the treasury dept. When this gets handled I am CLOSING MY ACCOUNT. Screw Ally bank.

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie.
gi41949 Account Holder

Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie to you repeatedly and make up new rules so they can keep your money longer than they are legally able to.

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Sociopaths run this bank.
gi41949 Account Holder

Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie to you repeatedly and make up new rules so they can keep your money longer than they are legally able to.

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Worst finance place to deal with
amandaaaxdanielle Account Holder

Financed a Chevy Volt through them and beginning of November it was a total loss. Now it’s January and i have a collection on my credit of $11,000 of Ally saying i owe them. My insurance company never received what they needed from Ally to write the settlement check and i log into my account online and those no vehicle listed so even if i wanted to pay the 2 months owed i can’t not and when i called customer service the lady was COMPLETELY rude to me explaining that I’m in contract to still pay until insurance pays them yet i can’t pay because my account is locked??? It is not my fault ally’s incompetent total loss department can’t do their job and give the insurance what they need to get their money. Obviously ally doesn’t want to get paid but my credit score is being drastically affected by their miscommunication with my insurance company! I will never ever ever finance through them again. The lady on the phone yelled at me saying it’s my responsibility to keep paying and treated me like trash! She had no remorse or empathy and seemed to be bothered by the fact i even called. I have never ever experienced such awful customer service.

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
Horrific and terrifying experience
Damien5377 Account Holder

I opened an Ally financial investment account last week.  They said it would take 3 days for funds transferred to be available.  I moved $50 over last week.  It showed up today.  I tried to make purchases totalling $45 and it says I have $0 available.  I look at account, $50 balance.  I called Ally to find out what is going on.  Told they cannot find my name and account in system.  Transferred me to some other department before they could find my account.  Then told me it would be a 3 day hold on the money.  I said it has been 3 days and now it is available.  They said no, it's 3 days from when it dropped in the Ally account.  So it won't be available for 3 more days.  So it takes a week for anything you move to an Ally account before it is available for you to access.  Screw that.  I'm out.

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Your money is not safe here
Ankitejfadf Account Holder

Ally just didn't follow the terms and conditions mentioned at the time of opening the account, and this costed me $850.

There interest rates are good, but i  would avoid parking money as they don't follow the rules setup by them, which makes it scary,

more ...
Nov 23, 2018
HORRIBLE
Bigtrucker1o889 Account Holder

If I could give this bank negative stars I would usually just take money out for payments once it was 3 times in a month and my bank account went into the negatives no customer services its they just send there calls to India please dont go to them I beg you

more ...
Oct 10, 2018
Great Service, great rates
Rok125 Account Holder

I have a bank account with them, and I have had great success opening, depositing, and transferring money in/out of my accounts. I think this is a bank anyone should look into. However, objectively there is a drawback. It is an online bank so getting cash to your account is tedious. However, besides that they have been great so far. 

more ...
Oct 02, 2018
Thieves
ericamlozano Account Holder

I deposited a payroll check for $2300 10/1/18. I waited 1 whole month to be paid. Ally bank is withholding my paycheck from me which has resulted in me sleeping outside and almost being raped last night. I was bludgeoned in the head by a fellow homeless stranger. I may lose my job because I can't afford a place to stay or place to shower.

I explained my predicament to Ally bank customer service. They said I cannot speak to a manager other than a call center supervisor. They said they cannot release the funds for 5 business days without exception. It will take an "executive" research and resolution team three business days to get back to me. Meaning even if they could release the funds it would still take 5 total business days.

I have had two over drafts each less than $5 in the past 12 months. I paid $25 overdraft fees for each of those and I had a 3rd and final overdraft in the past month for $20 and an additional overdraft fee of $25 total.

My paycheck coveted this last 45 dollars. But Ally won't give me the rest of the funds. When I deposited my paycheck they gave me no warning that my check would be withheld. They had no mercy on my situation. Im trying to recover from a back injury that caused me to stop working months ago. I've been struggling and now I have a job I can't even start pulling myself out of this hole because Ally has stolen my paycheck.

more ...
Oct 02, 2018
Sorry a$$ thieves
ericamlozano Account Holder

I deposited a payroll check for $2300 10/1/18. I waited 1 whole month to be paid. Ally bank is withholding my paycheck from me which has resulted in me sleeping outside and almost being raped last night. I was bludgeoned in the head by a fellow homeless stranger. I may lose my job because I can't afford a place to stay or place to shower.

I explained my predicament to Ally bank customer service. They said I cannot speak to a manager other than a call center supervisor. They said they cannot release the funds for 5 business days without exception. It will take an "executive" research and resolution team three business days to get back to me. Meaning even if they could release the funds it would still take 5 total business days.

I have had two over drafts each less than $5 in the past 12 months. I paid $25 overdraft fees for each of those and I had a 3rd and final overdraft in the past month for $20 and an additional overdraft fee of $25 total.

My paycheck coveted this last 45 dollars. But Ally won't give me the rest of the funds. When I deposited my paycheck they gave me no warning that my check would be withheld. They had no mercy on my situation. Im trying to recover from a back injury that caused me to stop working months ago. I've been struggling and now I have a job I can't even start pulling myself out of this hole because Ally has stolen my paycheck.

more ...
Sep 26, 2018
Absolutely Terrible!
willowy0121 Account Holder

Called to pay off car loan and asked ro speak with an account specialist to review the account because we came up with differing payoff amounts. After waiting on hold for 15 minutes, the same man came back to the phone, changed his name and title and acted like he transferred me. Customer service is in the Phillipines so in addition to the previous mentioned problem, I could not understand them and they couldn’t understand me. Had to repeat, repeat, repeat as well as spell out every other word. Run from this company!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations