Hyundai Motor Finance Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 02, 2017
No complaints
Anonymous Borrower

Lol at all of the 1 star reviews--yes, if you miss a payment, it wil affect your credit score.  This is how credit works.  Set it up on auto-pay and you won't have any issues!  We got a fixed 0.99 apr loan for 60 months, which is almost interest free and inflation increases higher than the interest on this loan so it was a great deal.  The application process happened at the dealer, and we took the loan because it was a lower interest by 2 percentage points than the offer we walked in with from a credit union for the same amount.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 21, 2017
Crushing
Anonymous Borrower

My 4th or maybe 5th Hyundai without an issue.  Dealer encouraged me to end my lease early and trade.  WHAT A NIGHTMARE!  Cost me thousands.  Was not informed by Hyundai Finance that I was responsible for old lease until car went to auction!!!  This required me to pay lease on both cars for over a month.  Think over that proposal.  If HMF decided to wait 5-6 months to send car to auction, they would make a fortune.  Traded down from fully loaded Sonata to Elantra for an overall savings of $35/month.  My fault, I know.  I went alone as my husband had died and he always handled things with me.  I now have three years to regret my old-lady foolishness.  Loved my Hyundai's but will never, ever deal with them again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 17, 2017
worst loan experience ever
Fitz1970 Borrower

The co. reps. try to convince you that you are wrong.  I've had to call over 6 times regarding having add'l funds applied to principal.  Their software doesn't have the capability to do it for future payments.  They have tried to apply extra payments to later payments rather than the ones months earlier.  Their response is that it doesn't matter.  So, according to them, paying more toward principal doesn't affect your interest payments even though interest is calculated daily.  I was told that HMF is separate than the car co.. I have so say that I'd be much less likely to buy another Hyundai after this experience.  I had had Fords and VWs prior to my switch to Hyundai after the diesel settlement.  It's a shame that poor customer service will lose a potentially loyal customer.

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Just stay away from them. There should be a negative rating for them.

more ...
Aug 10, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

your payment never go down because they don't add it to the principal it is the most rip off company I ever meet try to figure out how to get rid of them and they car don't value anything for a trade in 

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Paid off loan, Title is now MIA
HMFsucks Borrower

Don't expect your title to arrive anytime soon after paying off your loan!

I paid off my car loan, was told the paper title would be mailed to me within 7-10 days.  14 days later, I call to get an ETA on receiving the title, and am told that because the car is registered in Arizona, the title is held by them until the lien is released.  3 calls to HMF, 2 calls to the DMV, and 3 hours later, I discover that HMF never did an electronic release of the lien and the DMV has no record of the lien being released.  Long story short, I was completely lied to when I called in and paid off my loan and unless I had called today to follow up, I never would have recieved the title.  I'm STILL not even 100% sure this will actually work....

About an hour into my third call to HMF, I somehow say the right thing to speak to a supervisor, who "solves" my problem by emailing the title department (which mysteriously has no phone number according to her) and asking them to electronically release the title, which could take 2-3 additional days.  I asked if someone could call me when it has been complete so I could in turn call the DMV back and keep the wheels rolling, and was told that she could put in a request but could not guarantee a call.  

So in summary here I am 2 weeks after paying off my loan, with another 2-3 days to wait for them to release the lien to Arizona, who told me it would be another 2 weeks to print and receive my title.  All the while, I have someone ready to purchase the vehicle (actually was ready 2 weeks ago).  

NEVER buy a Hyundai, and if you do, NEVER NEVER EVER finance it through HMF.  I've been in customer service a long time, and this is without a doubt the most mismanaged company with the worst customer service I've ever dealt with (including Comcast!!!).

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
This company sucks,
Anonymous Borrower

Do not buy Hyundai products, bycott them!

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Extension policy
Anonymous Borrower

I try to apply for a extension and i was told that i have to bring the account up to current. I told the rep that dosent make any sense. If i could pay or bring my account up to current i wouldnt need an extension on my account. i will never buy a hyundia again. Customer services very bad. no one know what the other is doing. no notices in account. getting false information.

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Can't pay it
Anonymous Borrower

So I went to sign into their website but I can't, it says my VIN is invalid. Retype it multiple times, nope. Double check the car, matches what I have written down on the legal document. I call in, wait forever to speak to someone, get hung up on.

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
They violate Federal Law
Anonymous Borrower

For several months, Hyundai has been violating federal law with calling my husband and I outside of the federally approved collection call times of 8am-9pm. I am currently taking legal action against them! 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
The worst!!
Anonymous Borrower

I've been a client for 7 years. Never made a late payment and have never had any issues. I go to trade my car and they have lost their minds! The customer service if that's what you want to call it is terrible. Aside from being misinformed by 3 different employees that work there and having my issue escalated to Ashley the "sales floor manager" who hung up on me my issue has yet to be resolved. I thought I'd go write a review to hope to get someone in higher level management to help but it looks like they could careless about their reputation. Stay clear from this company!!! 

more ...
May 22, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Borrower

After our lease ended, I requested for an invoice for the excess mileage charge and other fees.  Their representative kept telling me that I need to wait until I receive.  After few months later, I got a phone call from Hyundai that I missed a payment.  I made calls after calls to make sure that they need to send another invoice via mail and/or fax.  They kept saying that they already send one, but I didn't receive any from them.  One of representative was really rude that it is not their fault that I am not receiving bills.  I finally did managed to receive the bill via fax after making endless calls one department to another.  The simple as receiving an invoice is this difficult, I really don't want to deal with them anymore.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations