Hyundai Motor Finance

1.2 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 20, 2016
Great Experience with 3 loans
andrewlovett78 Borrower

Im on my 4th Hyundai since 2011 and my 3rd loan with Hyundai Motor Finance (I trade my cars in often and should lease)  Ive never had an issue with them.  Ive never really had to call into customer service except once to cancel a payment I made on line one morning and was at the dealership getting an oil change and ended up trading my car in for an upgraded trim level Sonata. They cancelled it for me and the call lasted maybe a few minutes.   I make my payment usually 5-12 days before the due date and  Im not enrolled in auto pay with any of my creditors.    They always come through with a better interest rate than my local CU or any of the other local banks, except for my first hyundai purchase on the 11 sonata and it was only .25%  difference.  I also like trading up for the owner loyalty incentives, as I usually  end up breaking even or have very little rollover, but thats my fault.  Surprised by the reviews.  Wondering if they have different service centers for different parts of the country?  Customer service can be hit and miss anywhere you do business. I just tell them its unacceptable, Id rather be dead than to talk to them, hang up, call back and get someone else who knows what they are doing.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 06, 2016
Worst customer service department!
bstrick1126 Borrower

I've purchased 3 hyundai vehicles in the last 4 years. The dealership was amazing and all three vehicles were great! I never had a problem until I logged into my account one day to make a payment and my account was on "special handling" I couldn't access anything. I called customer service to get it resolved and they said my account was under bankruptcy, I've never filed bankruptcy in my whole life. For three months I went back and forth with customer service, I talked to about 15 reps who were all extremely rude and offered no explanation or help. Because my account was locked online I could only make a payment with a rep, which they had no problem taking but charged me a $13 processing fee each time even though my account status was not my fault. After the third payment and the 15th rude representative I refinanced my loan with capital one and even that was a nightmare for them to release my account. Hyundai is great until you actually need to deal with them for anything. Stay as far away from this lender as possible, even if it costs you a couple extra interest rate %! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
Terrible

Horrible customer service

Contradict theirself when asked questions

Can't refinance until you pay off loan entirely which is redundent 

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Crushing
Anonymous Borrower

My 4th or maybe 5th Hyundai without an issue.  Dealer encouraged me to end my lease early and trade.  WHAT A NIGHTMARE!  Cost me thousands.  Was not informed by Hyundai Finance that I was responsible for old lease until car went to auction!!!  This required me to pay lease on both cars for over a month.  Think over that proposal.  If HMF decided to wait 5-6 months to send car to auction, they would make a fortune.  Traded down from fully loaded Sonata to Elantra for an overall savings of $35/month.  My fault, I know.  I went alone as my husband had died and he always handled things with me.  I now have three years to regret my old-lady foolishness.  Loved my Hyundai's but will never, ever deal with them again.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Worst Customer Service!!!!! No Stars
Anonymous Borrower

Hyundai Motor Finance loves to play the blame game. I have had 3 Hyundai's and even though I absolutely love my vehicles I literally despise the ground that those people at Hyundai Motor Finance sit on. They are despicable, horrible people. I was left in tears from two supervisors screaming at me and telling me how wrong I was. Like I said this is my 3rd Hyundai and I have perfect credit so I know how to lease a car. They are always sending me random bills for stuff they just tack on. They won't deal with my dealership even though my dealership deals with them. When I moved and had to get a new registration I had to re-fax the paper work 6 times until they got it and it took 8 weeks. I can't stress enough how scummy this company is and unfortunately my next vehicle will not be with Hyundai because I am so sick and tired of dealing with them.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Horrible Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

I spoke today with Hyundai Motor Finance. Customer service was rude and totally ineffective. They do not understand state to state Registry of Motor Vehicle requirements. I wasted my time with a service rep. I then requested a supervisor. This person was totally ineffective also. This will be my last leased Hyundai. You need to do it yourself because they don't know how to.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
No complaints
Anonymous Borrower

Lol at all of the 1 star reviews--yes, if you miss a payment, it wil affect your credit score.  This is how credit works.  Set it up on auto-pay and you won't have any issues!  We got a fixed 0.99 apr loan for 60 months, which is almost interest free and inflation increases higher than the interest on this loan so it was a great deal.  The application process happened at the dealer, and we took the loan because it was a lower interest by 2 percentage points than the offer we walked in with from a credit union for the same amount.  

more ...
Mar 09, 2017

If you're reading this, what was your credit score? I'm interested in the .99 promotion.

 
Mar 22, 2017

I gave this company a 1 star but not for this reason. I always make my payment early and I pay extra every month. Unfortunately my experience with customer service was terrible. They are rude and distasteful.

 
Feb 28, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Borrower

The agents are very unhelpful and hang up on you everyone they can't answer your question

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Stay away from this finance
Anonymous Borrower

They ruin your credit to the point where no other business will give you a loan if hard times come up. I will never deal with this company again

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Lease to buy
Anonymous Borrower

My lease was up so I purchased my car (via a loan) because I really love it. HMF never transferred the title to my credit union. It's been over a month and I've faxed all my documents about ten times. Every rep gives me a different story about what paperwork I need and they constantly lose the papers. I love my car but I'm never buying a Hyundai again. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Worst experience ever.
Anonymous Borrower

Horrible!!!

Have owned about 8 Hyundai's.  Currently own 2 Genesis and a Santa Fe.  Trying to refinance home and Hyundai has mis-applied our payments.  They say they have all the money we sent but can't apply the right money to the right account sending our account into late status.  Now our credit score is 100 points off due to this and we stand to lose thousands of dollars in our refinance.  We pay our bills.  Our credit is spotless  however due to Hyundai we lose.  I will never buy another.  

They refuse to help.  Quite sad.  

Scott Combs

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
impossible to deal with
Anonymous Borrower

paid off the lease they cashed my check immediately but still no title   customer service agents rude    they all give me the wrong info.  cant get thru to a supv. would never buy or lease a car from them ever again

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations