Hyundai Motor Finance Reviews

Hyundai Motor Finance Reviews
1.1 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 15, 2020
eseli Borrower

I have leased 6 vehicles with them so a customer of over 10 years. The financing, the bank service keeps getting worse and worse. They will take your car payment and apply towards your property tax without your knowledge or approval. It is illegal, as that rule applies only to fees. Property tax is not a fee, so they have to right to take your money and apply it towards your taxes especially if you still have months to pay off the tax. And to have it moved back is ridiculously impossible. It is your money, but they do what they want with it, forcing you to come up with more money to make your car payment again since they misplayed the first payment. Plus, if you do not catch it on time by checking your online account weekly, they will report you to the credit bureau for late payment, although you did pay!

Be careful! Honestly, it is so shocking and frustrating, that I will not be getting another Hyundai! Never have I had such a ridiculous issue with any bank. 

more ...
Jun 15, 2020
Terrible service, flawed system,
eseli Borrower

I have leased 6 vehicles with them so a customer of over 10 years. The financing, the bank service keeps getting worse and worse. They will take your car payment and apply towards your property tax without your knowledge or approval. It is illegal, as that rule applies only to fees. Property tax is not a fee, so they have to right to take your money and apply it towards your taxes especially if you still have months to pay off the tax. And to have it moved back is ridiculously impossible. It is your money, but they do what they want with it, forcing you to come up with more money to make your car payment again since they misplayed the first payment. Plus, if you do not catch it on time by checking your online account weekly, they will report you to the credit bureau for late payment, although you did pay!

Be careful! Honestly, it is so shocking and frustrating, that I will not be getting another Hyundai! Never have I had such a ridiculous issue with any bank. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2020
Worst expierence ever. AVOID THEM!!
Maxxxim Borrower

First of all they screwed up my credit score because of the dillership's mistake. They don't want ot listen anything when you call them, refusing to transfer call to a supervisor or manager, promising that someone would give a call back but that never happens! Now they are charging me a late fee during COVID pandemic which they refuse to take off (first missed payment in 7 years I've been with them)! They are willing to loose a customer because of $20!! UNPROFESSIONAL and UNHUMAN!!

more ...
Feb 26, 2020
Thieves - and in the worst way.

refuse to accept their own settlement after I mull it over, and refuse to make any settlement at all. Just getting jerked around, extremely unhelpful to the point of customer hostile. The amount is just small enough that a lawsuit wouldn't be worth it! This company is the worst. And just another example of terrible morality and questionable legality being swept under the rug by piles of cash. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2020
Liars, unprofessional.
Winwin777 Borrower

Please run away if you're offered a loan from them. They'll double, triple charge you and refuse to edit , review or clean up their mess!!!

more ...
Dec 27, 2019
Good luck if you have any issues
emittelmann Borrower

No issues with the application/approval or online portal payments, but I am now going through customer support hell trying to transfer my title/registration from NY to NJ. Customer service says it's the responsibility of the title department, but they can't see anything that goes on there nor am I allowed to speak to anyone in the title department. So I have to wait two business days, or three to five business days, or ten business days or four to six weeks - no one really knows... 

more ...
Dec 27, 2019
Willfully Difficult
angryinMI Borrower

My wife's lease was going to end in September so we went to the dealership in August and ended up leasing a new car. There was one payment remaining on the previous lease so the dealer rolled that payment into our new lease. That is where the story should have ended. I got a call a few weeks ago saying that there was still another payment due on the old car as they hadn't received one since July. I explained our situation and assumed they would figure it out with the dealer. Nope. They said it was my responsibility and they don't deal with the dealer directly. So, I called the sales manager and he was very helpful and even sent me an image of the cashed check. It was mailed on 8/21 and cashed on 8/28. They even tried to tell me that the dealer sent it to the wrong address. I've sent the check image to HMF to at least 5 different customer "service" people and they will never call me back to verify that they received it. I love my car but will NEVER deal with this company again.

more ...
Dec 23, 2019
Horrible Customer care Support

Please dont get loan from them. They are bunch of un-professional people. I closed my loan 10 weeks back, but still didnt got my title. Everytime they are saying they post it to incorrect address . they are asking me to believe they posted to wrong address for the third time. Even a school going kid will do this correctly. Their customer care is totally unprofessional and they are disconnecting the call in the middle. i would not suggest anyone to take loan from them ...

more ...
Dec 13, 2019
Will never do it again
DA224 Borrower

I bought a 2018 Elantra and was never late on any payments. After 14 months of payment.... my car was totaled in a hit and run. My Insurance paid off immediately also GAP.  Yet it took 4 months for Hyundai Motor Finance to credit my account the remaining amount owed for a maintenance plan. It should have been credited back to me or paid directly to the owed amount. After several attempts of visits and phone calls and getting nowhere I was given many different reasons why I still owed on a car that I no longer had possession of, I also learned that GAP doesn't pay off the total amount owed.  If Hyundai had just taken the amount left on a maintenance plan I that was in their account my credit score would not be in the trash as it is now. Thank you Hyundai for my great 2nd 2020 car I purchased because I trusted you as you reassured me that all would be taken care of. I now have 3 months delinquent payments showing on my credit report due to my trusting and believing in your company.

more ...
Dec 11, 2019
Do not use HMF.
BGL2019 Borrower

Hyundai Motor Finance has the *worst* customer service I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. When there was an issue with an amount owed on the account because a check from the dealership was sent to HMF and applied to the wrong account, I was told it was my problem to fix. Since then, numerous other issues have arisen, none of which I have been able to fix by speaking with a customer service representative. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 27, 2019

I have been going through the exact same situation. Finally filed a complaint with the BBB today.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations