Hyundai Motor Finance Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 28, 2015
Great Experience
VinylHead Borrower

I am so surprised by so many negative reviews. I received financing from HMFC for the purchase of my very first car back in 2007. I was in college and although my interest was very high (15.95%) I was happy to actually get approved for financing.  I traded in my first car in 2010 for another Hyundai and used HMFC again, and this time I had a 3.9% interest rate! I pay my bill online which is easy to do. When I lost my job a few years back they worked. I have never had a problem with customer service via telephone or email. I have been pleased using HMFC these past 8 years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 02, 2013
It's true, they're awful
Anonymous Borrower

I'm normally a guy who reads negative reviews like these and I think, "pay your bills and you'll not have a problem".  Not the case with Hyundai Motor Finance. 

My wife has a 2012 elantra limited. Payment is due on the 20th of every month, and every month, it's paid online before the 20th.  Still, in the 18 months we've had this car, they've called countless times and currently have $60 in returned check fees. The only problem is that I've never bounced a check to them, and since I pay online through my bank, I can't get them verification of payment for every single payment made in about five minutes time. Their response so far has just been to not worry about it, as the fees are not past due, just outstanding.  Wtf kind of response is that?  If you say not to worry about it, why call constantly?  At least they're not reporting it as a late payment, but its a huge aggravation.  

My own car is financed with Honda financial.  Same situation with how I make payments. I've received zero calls from them.  Guess where my wife's next car is coming from. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 10, 2017
They violate Federal Law
Anonymous Borrower

For several months, Hyundai has been violating federal law with calling my husband and I outside of the federally approved collection call times of 8am-9pm. I am currently taking legal action against them! 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
The worst!!
Anonymous Borrower

I've been a client for 7 years. Never made a late payment and have never had any issues. I go to trade my car and they have lost their minds! The customer service if that's what you want to call it is terrible. Aside from being misinformed by 3 different employees that work there and having my issue escalated to Ashley the "sales floor manager" who hung up on me my issue has yet to be resolved. I thought I'd go write a review to hope to get someone in higher level management to help but it looks like they could careless about their reputation. Stay clear from this company!!! 

more ...
May 22, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Borrower

After our lease ended, I requested for an invoice for the excess mileage charge and other fees.  Their representative kept telling me that I need to wait until I receive.  After few months later, I got a phone call from Hyundai that I missed a payment.  I made calls after calls to make sure that they need to send another invoice via mail and/or fax.  They kept saying that they already send one, but I didn't receive any from them.  One of representative was really rude that it is not their fault that I am not receiving bills.  I finally did managed to receive the bill via fax after making endless calls one department to another.  The simple as receiving an invoice is this difficult, I really don't want to deal with them anymore.  

more ...
May 15, 2017
No Problems
Anonymous Borrower

I have had 3 leases with HMF.  They are great.  I pay on time, they do their thing and everything works.  Easy Days.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Predatory lender who will lie
StaceyB757 Borrower

This lender is fine until you miss a payment.  The interest rate is high and they will come after you very quickly.  They will also lie - they are claiming that I missed a payment (I have all my bank statements to show otehrwise).  They will also not respond to phone calls and their lawyer is difficult to work with and to get a response from.  If you anticipate you will have a perfect financial life go ahead - but if you think you might possibly have an unanticipated  circumstance that would require understanding on their part, run away.

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Keep receiving bills for bounce payment
Anonymous Borrower

When I leased my car, I gave a void check. Everything was good since day 1. I keep receiving a mail for 25 or 50$ for bounce payment. I keep calling, and they always say it will be cancelled, it's something on their end, it's all good now. But no, they are just incompetent.

ps: i'm dealing with hyundai financing canada.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Terrible

Horrible customer service

Contradict theirself when asked questions

Can't refinance until you pay off loan entirely which is redundent 

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Crushing
Anonymous Borrower

My 4th or maybe 5th Hyundai without an issue.  Dealer encouraged me to end my lease early and trade.  WHAT A NIGHTMARE!  Cost me thousands.  Was not informed by Hyundai Finance that I was responsible for old lease until car went to auction!!!  This required me to pay lease on both cars for over a month.  Think over that proposal.  If HMF decided to wait 5-6 months to send car to auction, they would make a fortune.  Traded down from fully loaded Sonata to Elantra for an overall savings of $35/month.  My fault, I know.  I went alone as my husband had died and he always handled things with me.  I now have three years to regret my old-lady foolishness.  Loved my Hyundai's but will never, ever deal with them again.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Worst Customer Service!!!!! No Stars
Anonymous Borrower

Hyundai Motor Finance loves to play the blame game. I have had 3 Hyundai's and even though I absolutely love my vehicles I literally despise the ground that those people at Hyundai Motor Finance sit on. They are despicable, horrible people. I was left in tears from two supervisors screaming at me and telling me how wrong I was. Like I said this is my 3rd Hyundai and I have perfect credit so I know how to lease a car. They are always sending me random bills for stuff they just tack on. They won't deal with my dealership even though my dealership deals with them. When I moved and had to get a new registration I had to re-fax the paper work 6 times until they got it and it took 8 weeks. I can't stress enough how scummy this company is and unfortunately my next vehicle will not be with Hyundai because I am so sick and tired of dealing with them.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Horrible Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

I spoke today with Hyundai Motor Finance. Customer service was rude and totally ineffective. They do not understand state to state Registry of Motor Vehicle requirements. I wasted my time with a service rep. I then requested a supervisor. This person was totally ineffective also. This will be my last leased Hyundai. You need to do it yourself because they don't know how to.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations