Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Hyundai Motor Finance

1.2 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 16, 2016
Excellent, no problems.
Anonymous Borrower

I worked with Crossroad Hyundai of Loveland, CO. I didn't go in expecting to get a Hyundai, but it was a wonderful experience. I had no problems. No late payments, no issues with customer service.

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Aweful!
Anonymous Borrower

They do not close out accounts after finishing and they report negatively. I turned in a car 4months ago and they reported late payments.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
If I could give negative stars, I would.
Kaadee123 Borrower

Dealing with this company has been one of the more frustrating experiences of my life.  I leased a car in 2013 and decided to buy it out.  The buyout price was higher than the residual value on the car, but that was partially my fault for not checking it closely before signing the lease.  I decided to bite the bullet and buy it anyway.  I sent them a check three weeks before my lease was up on the understanding that it would take them two weeks to release the title to me, as it says on their website.  They cashed the check in about 2.5 weeks (why does it take this long to cash a check) then proceeded to take their time sending me an odometer statement (which needed to be filled out and returned before they could release the title to me) and a bill of sale.  They only accept the odometer statement by fax (what is this, 2000?)  and the fax machine is apparently in some separate department that can't be contacted by anyone else at Hyundai so no one was able to tell me if it was received for more than four days.  I should explain that I was on a bit of a time crunch here.  My registration and parking sticker were expiring an I wanted to title the car in my name at the same time so I wouldn't have to go back to the DMV.  I managed to speak with a manager who gave me a separate fax number and said I could send it there and she would call me to let me know she had received it (she didnt).  Eventually I was able to confirm that they had received the odometer statement and they said my title would be released in a day or two and would arrive by Monday, October 31 at the latest.  It's Thursday, November 3.  I gave up and renewed my registration and got a new parking sticker already, but I still want my title!  I called the company again and was put on hold for 20 minutes after I explained my problem, then the call disconnected.  At the beginning of every single call they have you confirm both your phone number and address.  Why would this person not call me back?  I had to call again.  The second person put me on hold again, and then told me I needed to return the bill of sale for my title to be released.  The bill of sale specifically says "If you reside in CT, MA, NC, and RI please sign above and return the bill of sale... In all other states, please keep this Bill of Sale for our records.  You may be required to present it to the motor vehicles departmnet."  I reside in Washington, DC.  I confirmd with two people on the phone when I was returning my odometer statement that they did NOT need my bill of sale.  Now they are telling me they do.  This is the most disorganized company I have ever delt with and I will never buy a Hyundai again.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
worst
Anonymous Borrower

never finace with Hyundai, change contract without notice. Threaten to take your car if your less than 30 days past do.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Do not use Hyndai Finance!!!
Anonymous Borrower

We tried to pay off the car in full and when calling for a payoff they could not even give us the right payoff.  They customer service team has repeatedly told me that was my problem to figure out.  Huyndai overall is a huge diappointment.  The dealership lied to us to start off with and was an even bigger joke to try and have my car serviced at.  At least the finance part of it was in keeping with our overall experience with Hyndai. 

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
I ABSOLUTELY HATE HMFUSA, SAVE YOURSELF!
Anonymous Borrower

I got this car loan in 2015 in May, so I have had it almost 2 years out of my 6 year term. At first I had no issues paying them, but then I lost my job. In AUGUST I requested to push back two payments, they said they would send me paperwork. I called several times about never recieving it. FINALLY in the beginning of OCTOBER I recieved it, and faxed it in same day, they said it expired becuase I took to long. ME?! You're the ones who didn't get me the paper work in over 3 months, Today I had to borrow money to pay up a month so I could request it again otherwise they were threatening to reposess the car. I would never use them again, and hopefully I can have capital one take over the loan soon.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Horrible customer service, lost my title
Anonymous Borrower

Customer service lied to me and hung up on me and was not helpful and kept tellin me that I did something that I did not do. Finally after calling multiple times someone nice answered and finally admitted that they screwed up and apologized but still couldn't fix the issue. HUGE issue being that oh, we gave the title of your car to someone else! Not only that but we don't know why or where it is and how long until we can get it to you. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

 car totaled owe me a refund for 5 months 10 phone calls still not resolved

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Absolute worst...ZERO STARS
Anonymous Borrower

If you really want to buy one of their cars make sure to either pay with cash or use another company/bank to fiance your loan.  All the negative reviews about their customer service are true.  And don't think it won't be you.  If you move you will have problems, if you buy the car at the end of your lease you will have problems, if you turn your car in at the end of the lease you will have problems....not just a phone call but weeks and months of calls and hassels. And that is if things go smoothly

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Abysmal
Ad2bPj Borrower

Kia Finance was pushed by the local "huge" dealership (HUGE!!! I tell ya.  HUGGGGGEEEEE!)

Anyway, I filed a derogatory remark against the HUGE dealership because they are blatantly rude, incompetent and ignorant.  I purchased the car for my son 7 months ago.  To date, it has less than 4,000 miles on it (yes, 7 months, 4,000 miles).  

The tire on it was blowing out due to overheating, the brakes were already shot (we have 2 other cars, the Kia was normally parked in the garage), and there were numerous other issues with the car.  When I asked the dealership to take care of the WARRANTEED issues, they told me verbatim, "Hitch a ride" and "we don't provide that service here" and "it'll take a few days to fix the tire" (seriously, a tire)

Exactly 1 week after that review was filed, and exactly 31 days after my payment for the crap vehicle went past due, without warning or letters or notification, the car was repossessed.  The dealer is behind it (yes, look it up; if they "forced" the loan through due to having HUGE impact on the manufacturer, they can and will repo the vehicle).

Kia has a class action lawsuit against it in California due to illegal repo's, collection activities, and other issues.  Look it up.  Don't purchase a Kia.  Don't finance your lollipop from these people either.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations