Hyundai Motor Finance

1.2 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 28, 2015
Great Experience
VinylHead Borrower

I am so surprised by so many negative reviews. I received financing from HMFC for the purchase of my very first car back in 2007. I was in college and although my interest was very high (15.95%) I was happy to actually get approved for financing.  I traded in my first car in 2010 for another Hyundai and used HMFC again, and this time I had a 3.9% interest rate! I pay my bill online which is easy to do. When I lost my job a few years back they worked. I have never had a problem with customer service via telephone or email. I have been pleased using HMFC these past 8 years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 02, 2013
It's true, they're awful
Anonymous Borrower

I'm normally a guy who reads negative reviews like these and I think, "pay your bills and you'll not have a problem".  Not the case with Hyundai Motor Finance. 

My wife has a 2012 elantra limited. Payment is due on the 20th of every month, and every month, it's paid online before the 20th.  Still, in the 18 months we've had this car, they've called countless times and currently have $60 in returned check fees. The only problem is that I've never bounced a check to them, and since I pay online through my bank, I can't get them verification of payment for every single payment made in about five minutes time. Their response so far has just been to not worry about it, as the fees are not past due, just outstanding.  Wtf kind of response is that?  If you say not to worry about it, why call constantly?  At least they're not reporting it as a late payment, but its a huge aggravation.  

My own car is financed with Honda financial.  Same situation with how I make payments. I've received zero calls from them.  Guess where my wife's next car is coming from. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 04, 2017
Predatory lender who will lie
StaceyB757 Borrower

This lender is fine until you miss a payment.  The interest rate is high and they will come after you very quickly.  They will also lie - they are claiming that I missed a payment (I have all my bank statements to show otehrwise).  They will also not respond to phone calls and their lawyer is difficult to work with and to get a response from.  If you anticipate you will have a perfect financial life go ahead - but if you think you might possibly have an unanticipated  circumstance that would require understanding on their part, run away.

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Keep receiving bills for bounce payment
Anonymous Borrower

When I leased my car, I gave a void check. Everything was good since day 1. I keep receiving a mail for 25 or 50$ for bounce payment. I keep calling, and they always say it will be cancelled, it's something on their end, it's all good now. But no, they are just incompetent.

ps: i'm dealing with hyundai financing canada.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Terrible

Horrible customer service

Contradict theirself when asked questions

Can't refinance until you pay off loan entirely which is redundent 

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Crushing
Anonymous Borrower

My 4th or maybe 5th Hyundai without an issue.  Dealer encouraged me to end my lease early and trade.  WHAT A NIGHTMARE!  Cost me thousands.  Was not informed by Hyundai Finance that I was responsible for old lease until car went to auction!!!  This required me to pay lease on both cars for over a month.  Think over that proposal.  If HMF decided to wait 5-6 months to send car to auction, they would make a fortune.  Traded down from fully loaded Sonata to Elantra for an overall savings of $35/month.  My fault, I know.  I went alone as my husband had died and he always handled things with me.  I now have three years to regret my old-lady foolishness.  Loved my Hyundai's but will never, ever deal with them again.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Worst Customer Service!!!!! No Stars
Anonymous Borrower

Hyundai Motor Finance loves to play the blame game. I have had 3 Hyundai's and even though I absolutely love my vehicles I literally despise the ground that those people at Hyundai Motor Finance sit on. They are despicable, horrible people. I was left in tears from two supervisors screaming at me and telling me how wrong I was. Like I said this is my 3rd Hyundai and I have perfect credit so I know how to lease a car. They are always sending me random bills for stuff they just tack on. They won't deal with my dealership even though my dealership deals with them. When I moved and had to get a new registration I had to re-fax the paper work 6 times until they got it and it took 8 weeks. I can't stress enough how scummy this company is and unfortunately my next vehicle will not be with Hyundai because I am so sick and tired of dealing with them.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Horrible Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

I spoke today with Hyundai Motor Finance. Customer service was rude and totally ineffective. They do not understand state to state Registry of Motor Vehicle requirements. I wasted my time with a service rep. I then requested a supervisor. This person was totally ineffective also. This will be my last leased Hyundai. You need to do it yourself because they don't know how to.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
No complaints
Anonymous Borrower

Lol at all of the 1 star reviews--yes, if you miss a payment, it wil affect your credit score.  This is how credit works.  Set it up on auto-pay and you won't have any issues!  We got a fixed 0.99 apr loan for 60 months, which is almost interest free and inflation increases higher than the interest on this loan so it was a great deal.  The application process happened at the dealer, and we took the loan because it was a lower interest by 2 percentage points than the offer we walked in with from a credit union for the same amount.  

more ...
Mar 09, 2017

If you're reading this, what was your credit score? I'm interested in the .99 promotion.

 
Mar 22, 2017

I gave this company a 1 star but not for this reason. I always make my payment early and I pay extra every month. Unfortunately my experience with customer service was terrible. They are rude and distasteful.

 
Feb 28, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Borrower

The agents are very unhelpful and hang up on you everyone they can't answer your question

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Stay away from this finance
Anonymous Borrower

They ruin your credit to the point where no other business will give you a loan if hard times come up. I will never deal with this company again

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Lease to buy
Anonymous Borrower

My lease was up so I purchased my car (via a loan) because I really love it. HMF never transferred the title to my credit union. It's been over a month and I've faxed all my documents about ten times. Every rep gives me a different story about what paperwork I need and they constantly lose the papers. I love my car but I'm never buying a Hyundai again. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations