LightStream Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 07, 2017
Unsecured Used Car Loan
airhead2006 Borrower

The entire process was extremely easy and efficient. I really liked the fact that I could get an unsecured loan for my car purchase, and the interest rate is unbeatable. I would highly recommend Lightstream for your auto loan needs. Makes it super easy to go to the dealership as a cash buyer. 

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
the easiest, the quickest loan ever!!

I was tired of dealing with the good ol boy mentality of our small town bank so went looking online, found lightstream, thought about it then decided worst thing is they say no.. so FRIDAY evening, after business hours, I applied online, few hours!!! later I had my APPROVAL! and they called to verify everything for the funds to be transfered to my account MONDAY. They money was there first thing monday morning (before 8am!) went withdrew cash, went and bought the car with cash. They give clear and consise directions for the whole process, the title lien info to give to dealer (or individual if you go that way). everything is online, no hidden garbage to sort through, no spam or junk mail generated! I have had car loans, home loan, bank loans etc THIS LOAN was by far the easiest, least amount of paperwork, quickest results and the customer support speak and  Comphrend english!!  They finance more than just vehicles and your credit does not have to be perfect!  I will certainly use them again for future loans when needed.. AND they plant a tree for every loan issued!!  way to go Lightstream!!

more ...
Jul 20, 2017
wonderfull experience
Anonymous Borrower

Super easy and fast excelent rares and terms without the hassel of having a leinholder on the title. The best loan experience I have ever had,  applied and had the money available the same day. 

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
Easiest Loan Application Ever
Anonymous Borrower

After submitting my application, I received an approval response for an unsecured loan in about 7 minutes!  I could have had the funds deposited the same day but chose a next-day deposit.  Money was in my account the following day as requested.  I got to choose when to fund, when to start repayments and the form of the repayment (invoice or bank debit).  Moreover, I received the lowest interest rate available anywhere, and there are no prepayment penalites.  This was the easiest, quickest loan application I've ever done.

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Quick and easy
Cookc21 Borrower

Very easy to apply and maintain. Great service.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Unexpectedly approved for unsecured loan
Anonymous Borrower

I applied to Lightstream more or less as a pipe dream.  I was not really expecting to be approved as I fall quite short of what their FAQ regards as "excellent credit."  Nevertheless, I figured another application wouldn't hurt since I was also applying wth a handful of other lenders.

For reference, my credit scores as shown on Credit Karma are 725 and 729, and my FICO score provided by a couple of my credit cards is 744.  Despite these decent scores, I have a low average age of accounts (<3 years) and fairly high utilization on one of my credit cards.  I do make low six figures, but it's offset by fairly substantial debt.  From what I could garner through online forums, Lightstream was only interested in people who had a 750+ credit score with a much more substantial credit history than mine.

Much to my surprise, I was approved for their lowest advertised rate for the term I wanted (2.99% at 60 months) for an unsecured loan.  The application process took minutes and I was approved in less than 2 hours without any additinoal input.  They did not even ask what vehicle I was applying for financing for.  I signed my loan agreement in the morning, and funds were sent to my bank account the next day.  Having an unsecured loan made the process so easy, not to mention they don't even have a lien on my truck.

Moral of the story: Don't think Lightstream is out of reach just because you don't have the 750+ credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 07, 2017

How much did you apply for? Were you approved for the entire amount? Thanks for the review as I found it both helpful and encouraging.

 
Mar 23, 2017
Disapointed
gomaster Borrower

My FICO credit score is > 740 and I have a 6 figures income. Applied for a small 14k loan, they asked for too many documents, too many calls back and forward with nonsense questions, they even asked for tax returns even though I am NOT self employed. I was approved but it wasn't smooth as promised, I am a home owner and getting a mortgage earlier this year was a lot easier. At the end got a much better rate and instant approval somewhere else.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2017

which was the other lender, the one giving you faster approval and better rate?

 
Mar 02, 2017
Fast, easy, No hassels
hardak Borrower

Applied for minimum amount, so didn't get the lowest rate, but still better than the banks and credit unions offered. Will use this company for funding again.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
So Easy, So Amazing
Anonymous Borrower

I bought a used car in February 2017 for $17,000.  My income is $50,000 and my credit score is 785.  I applied for a used car loan through local banks and my best offer was 4.99%.  I knew I could do better than that.  That's where Lightstream came into play.  After researching, I didn't think I would get approved since I read that they require substantial income (which I would say mine is not).  They also require excellent credit, which I knew wouldn't be an issue for me.  I had also read that they may require collateral for the loan.  I was unsure whether or not to apply, but they advertised rates as low as 2.49% for a 5 year used car loan.

With the possibility of cutting my APR in half, I took the extra hit on my credit report and applied.  An hour later I received an email stating that I was approved for the $17,000 at 2.49%! All I had to do was log onto their website and complete and sign the loan agreement and sign up for automatic payments from my bank account.  So I logged in and signed the loan agreement (their language is very fair FYI).  After that, I was allowed to pick the date when the funds would be deposited into my account (as soon as 2 business days after your application) and that was it.  No salary or asset verifications, no collateral, no nothing.  It was so easy I was honestly worried it could be a scam.  So I was holding my breath until the day when the funds were to be deposited into my account.  8 AM that morning, I logged into my bank account and the $17,000 was already there! Now I can go to the car dealership and be a cash buyer. There was no origination fee and no down payment required.  Even with my 4.99% offer from the bank I had to make a $1,500 downpayment.  Now I get to keep that down payment and my APR is 50% lower.

The entire process was so easy and so amazing! I would highly recommend Lightsteam to anyone who has excellent credit.

FYI - I did not deal with their customer service, so I cannot comment on that

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 14, 2017

Hey!!
Can you make monthly payments with credit card?
Because I know with car refinance you can pay with credit card. Im looking for a refinance company that accepts credit card payments besides car refinance( they won't give me a quote unless they run my credit) don't want unnecessary inquiries.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations