Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Travelers Insurance

2.1 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 11, 2016
Auto roadside assistance
Anonymous Policyholder

We no longer carry aaa as our auto insurance covers roadside assistance. Managed to get myself a flat tire with all 4 kids in the car today. Called insurance after my husband reminded me we had roadside coverage and had someone out there in and tire changed within an hour. The customer service agents were very helpful

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 23, 2016
home insurance
nikimeier53 Policyholder

after over 20 years with Traverlers , a car ran through my home, through a bedroom than a 2nd bedroom into living room.

its been almost 2 years and its still not settled,  I would not tust this company . My life has become full of anxiety and Travelers could care less

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Feb 22, 2017
TRAVELERS is TERRIBLE! STAY AWAY!
Anonymous Policyholder

Just like many other folks here providing reviews, I had a horrible experience with Travelers. The only reprieve that I have is, I am not losing out on much money. I had Travelers renters insurance for a little over a year. It was actually smooth sailing for that time as I never had issues with my billing and rates weren't jacked up. The problem for me came in when I decided to cancel the insurance. I was moving into a home that was already insured so I called to cut insurance off as of that date (or even the end of that month). I did so and thought all was well until I realized after that I was still being charged. That was almost 2 months ago and I still haven't gotten my refund for those charges. I've called 6 times, emailed with a so-called "Supervisor" 4 times, and haven't gotten anywhere. Each time, I'm told that a check has been cut and on it's way. I've asked for a refund back to my credit card since that is how I was charged and I'm told it can't be done. If you ask me, that's an excuse so they can give you the run around about a refund going out the door. After almost 2 months of the back and forth, I've decided to dispute the charges with my credit card company. Dealing with Traveler's is impossible and no longer worth my time. Take my advice - find another provider!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Wont Pay
Anonymous Policyholder

I was rear ended in an accident in December by a truck.  They lost my forms multiple times, they refuse to cover income for missed time and appointments, they said I am not entitled to anything.  I am a low income single parent and they have caused me to lose my home because they won't cover a single thing.  The accident wasn't even my fault either, the other driver ws charged at the scene.  Basically I have been calling or emailing constantly have had to go to the adjustors supervisor and today I made a complaint to the company ombudsman as I am out thousands of dollars for something that was not my fault and they have sent me a cheque for FOUR DOLLARS!  This insurance company has essentially ruined my life as I have lost everything, so they can report record profits.  They definately do not take care of their policy holders whatsoever, I was asking for missed time which would have been weeks of missed work but I continued to work since I couldn't afford to sit around and wait for them to do something so they owe me less than had I just stayed home.    I'm glad I did, otherwise I would have been living in my car in January rather than next month.  Thanks a lot Travelers, I am making sure to let everyone know about my experience so that they dobn't have this happen to them

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
They are cheat!!! Dont go with them. See
Anonymous Policyholder

This company gave me a home insurance price over the phone for $950.00 for a year. This new price is little better than my current pricing. Therefore I discontinued with the current career in order to switch into the Travellers. Months later Traveler Insurance sent an an inspector to inspect the entire house.   Upon inspection they dramatically increased the replacement cost of the dwelling so the premium. The price is $1300.00, I found this is nothing but fraudulent practice to trap consumer into their business and later jack up the price to take them for one year ride!!!!!. I will not recommend any one to get even  a home insurance price from them. God know what else will show up once you file a claim. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
Auto roadside assistance
Anonymous Policyholder

We no longer carry aaa as our auto insurance covers roadside assistance. Managed to get myself a flat tire with all 4 kids in the car today. Called insurance after my husband reminded me we had roadside coverage and had someone out there in and tire changed within an hour. The customer service agents were very helpful

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Cost saving
Anonymous Policyholder

Travelers insurance is one of the companies that offers a discount with my job. The rep offered me everything that I had with my current insurance. The payments are payroll deducted so I dont have to worry about auto pay and on time payments. Every time I call customer service they are extremely helpful along with following up with me. I use travelers for auto and renters insurance. Awesome company. Highly recommended.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Best prices I found
soonerstatecop Policyholder

I have been with Traveler's for about 10 years. The good:  You can pull up your online account and print off your insurance verification forms if needed. There rates were lower than everybody except esurance, but you have to allow yourself to be called and spammed left and right to get esurance's rates. No thank you. I like my privacy. My rates have never been raised, but I am also over 25 and have never filed a claim with them. I also keep my driving record clean. 

The bad:  You can't make changes to your policy online. You have to go through the phone. I signed up with Traveler's online as there were no Traveler's local agents in my area, until a AAA location opened up (after I already signed up) and Traveler's was one of the companies they offered coverage through. So, if I were in an accident, I'd have to call Traveler's directly. The wait times on the phone can be quite long on occasion and their phone muzak is AWFUL! To be fair, sometimes the wait is very short. It just depends on the day, I suppose. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Worst company ever
Anonymous Policyholder

Stay far away!! I got my bill for the year and paid it then suddenly 2 months later they decide it should have been higher and send me another bill for $1000!! We tried to get them to fix it and they wouldn't so we cancelled and found a much more affordable company. Now suddenly we get a bill from a collections agency saying we still owe the money! So they want us to pay for a bill we never agreed to for a year of insurance we didn't even use? They have to be kidding. So we call up and try to get it fixed and everyone was rude and nasty and wouldn't help at all. Well I guess I will take that debt to my grave because I will never give them a single penny. I've never seen such unethical practices. What right do they have to drastically raise your rate in the middle of the year? As far as I'm concerned I agreed to the price in my original bill and that is what I paid. They can keep dreaming about getting anything more out of me than that. Worthless scumbags all of them. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 31, 2016

Contrary to your report, I had water damage in my home and they could not have been more helpful. The claim was settled rapidly and without a lot of pain on my part. I would give the the highest rating I could.. PERIOD!

 
Jul 23, 2016
home insurance
nikimeier53 Policyholder

after over 20 years with Traverlers , a car ran through my home, through a bedroom than a 2nd bedroom into living room.

its been almost 2 years and its still not settled,  I would not tust this company . My life has become full of anxiety and Travelers could care less

more ...
May 06, 2016
TRAVELERS Insurance is SCAMMER
Anonymous Policyholder

This is the the worst insurance company I have ever been with. I was directed there through an agent who promised me that if I bundle my renters insurance and auto insurance as well as payroll deductions, I would get a greater discount. After an hour on the phone, we agreed to the price of $1548. In two months, my coverage jumps to $1825.2 without sending me any notification. When I tried to reach out to them to get answers, I was given the old run around ( "drop calls", line transfer, long hold, voice mails) you name it. As a result, I decided to terminate the service. They continue to send me a bill and threaten to take me to the collection agency ( ruin my credit score) if I did not pay. I called them again to investigate the reasons why my insurance balloon without my knowledge. They replied that they need " proof of continuous coverage" prior to their service. I called up my old insurance company and send them my documents. They told me that this was all they needed and that I will be given a refund back. I hear nothing for the  next 2 days and decided to email them. They told me that because my coverage did not meet their expectations, they cannot honor that refund. I did more research on this company and found that I am not alone. There are many others who are scammed by this evil corporation TRAVELERS. They will give you what you want to hear and increase the cost behind your back due to hidden fees and missing documents that was never specified in the original agreement. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from here. I do not want innocent people to get screwed by Travelers. When it's too good to be true, it is.

more ...
Mar 21, 2016
Intrusive- I had both auto & home ins.
Anonymous Policyholder

 I had a mulit-line discount for both auto and home-owners insurance with them.  After they intrusively sending their poeple over to inspect my property and snoop around, among some repairs they wanted me to make, they wanted me to either fix an old wood shed or remove it.  I told them I didn't need or want the wood-shed (on cinderblocks) on the policy.  Traveler's told me no that they wanted it either fixed or taken down.   So not only are they nosey, but they try to dictate to property owners their own ideas and policies like a bunch of communist insurance over-lords.  Yes, Travelers initially had good rates, but they planned to cancel my homeowners insurance while raising my auto insurance policy.  So I fired them for the better service, less intrusive State Farm!   Don't give Travelers your money. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations