Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Travelers Insurance

1.6 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year


Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Oct 16, 2016
Best prices I found
soonerstatecop Policyholder

I have been with Traveler's for about 10 years. The good:  You can pull up your online account and print off your insurance verification forms if needed. There rates were lower than everybody except esurance, but you have to allow yourself to be called and spammed left and right to get esurance's rates. No thank you. I like my privacy. My rates have never been raised, but I am also over 25 and have never filed a claim with them. I also keep my driving record clean. 

The bad:  You can't make changes to your policy online. You have to go through the phone. I signed up with Traveler's online as there were no Traveler's local agents in my area, until a AAA location opened up (after I already signed up) and Traveler's was one of the companies they offered coverage through. So, if I were in an accident, I'd have to call Traveler's directly. The wait times on the phone can be quite long on occasion and their phone muzak is AWFUL! To be fair, sometimes the wait is very short. It just depends on the day, I suppose. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Worst company ever
Anonymous Policyholder

Stay far away!! I got my bill for the year and paid it then suddenly 2 months later they decide it should have been higher and send me another bill for $1000!! We tried to get them to fix it and they wouldn't so we cancelled and found a much more affordable company. Now suddenly we get a bill from a collections agency saying we still owe the money! So they want us to pay for a bill we never agreed to for a year of insurance we didn't even use? They have to be kidding. So we call up and try to get it fixed and everyone was rude and nasty and wouldn't help at all. Well I guess I will take that debt to my grave because I will never give them a single penny. I've never seen such unethical practices. What right do they have to drastically raise your rate in the middle of the year? As far as I'm concerned I agreed to the price in my original bill and that is what I paid. They can keep dreaming about getting anything more out of me than that. Worthless scumbags all of them. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Aug 31, 2016

Contrary to your report, I had water damage in my home and they could not have been more helpful. The claim was settled rapidly and without a lot of pain on my part. I would give the the highest rating I could.. PERIOD!

Jul 23, 2016
home insurance
nikimeier53 Policyholder

after over 20 years with Traverlers , a car ran through my home, through a bedroom than a 2nd bedroom into living room.

its been almost 2 years and its still not settled,  I would not tust this company . My life has become full of anxiety and Travelers could care less

more ...
May 06, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

This is the the worst insurance company I have ever been with. I was directed there through an agent who promised me that if I bundle my renters insurance and auto insurance as well as payroll deductions, I would get a greater discount. After an hour on the phone, we agreed to the price of $1548. In two months, my coverage jumps to $1825.2 without sending me any notification. When I tried to reach out to them to get answers, I was given the old run around ( "drop calls", line transfer, long hold, voice mails) you name it. As a result, I decided to terminate the service. They continue to send me a bill and threaten to take me to the collection agency ( ruin my credit score) if I did not pay. I called them again to investigate the reasons why my insurance balloon without my knowledge. They replied that they need " proof of continuous coverage" prior to their service. I called up my old insurance company and send them my documents. They told me that this was all they needed and that I will be given a refund back. I hear nothing for the  next 2 days and decided to email them. They told me that because my coverage did not meet their expectations, they cannot honor that refund. I did more research on this company and found that I am not alone. There are many others who are scammed by this evil corporation TRAVELERS. They will give you what you want to hear and increase the cost behind your back due to hidden fees and missing documents that was never specified in the original agreement. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from here. I do not want innocent people to get screwed by Travelers. When it's too good to be true, it is.

more ...
Mar 21, 2016
Intrusive- I had both auto & home ins.
Anonymous Policyholder

 I had a mulit-line discount for both auto and home-owners insurance with them.  After they intrusively sending their poeple over to inspect my property and snoop around, among some repairs they wanted me to make, they wanted me to either fix an old wood shed or remove it.  I told them I didn't need or want the wood-shed (on cinderblocks) on the policy.  Traveler's told me no that they wanted it either fixed or taken down.   So not only are they nosey, but they try to dictate to property owners their own ideas and policies like a bunch of communist insurance over-lords.  Yes, Travelers initially had good rates, but they planned to cancel my homeowners insurance while raising my auto insurance policy.  So I fired them for the better service, less intrusive State Farm!   Don't give Travelers your money. 

more ...
Jan 11, 2016
They'll drop you like a rock.
Anonymous Policyholder

I drive for a living.  Basically I log about 20 hours of a 40 hr work week on the road driving.  Over 36 months (3 years) I had two reduced speeding tickets (1 pt. each) and a defective turn signal ticket and they dropped me for being high risk.  Keep in mind folks they paid no body any money on an insurance claim because non of these were accidents and they dropped me because of 3 tickets in 3 mos; one that falls off in under 4 months.

Use them if you like but hold onto those other quotes as you may need them....who needs to pay a company that will drop you without warning?  Funny thing...I found better insurance with another carrier for the same as I was paying Travlers so don't jump just because of the hype that they save you money!

more ...
Dec 09, 2015
Anonymous Policyholder

Poor service , They will not call you back and will not work with you.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations