Earnest Student Loans

4.9 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Jan 24, 2017
incompetent
Anonymous Product User

First off, it took 1.5 months to fund my loan due to their finance department being backed up. Secondly, this company does not have the "capabilites" to apply additional payments to the principal portion. Some servicers make you allocate but this servicer doesn't even allow you to. I have found no help from customer service. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Great customer service and great rates
VeronicaBu Product User

Saved myself some cash as well as there aren't any fees for additional payments.

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Exactly What I Was Looking For
Anonymous Product User

Earnest has exceeded my expectations in every way. Not only did they offer me the lowest rate for refinancing my student loans, but the customer service blew me away. Beyond that, they are very flexible and accomodating with the loan repayment terms. Everything about the whole refinancing process thus far has been suprisingly painless. I would absolutely recommend Earnest to anyone else who is looking to refinance student loans and save serious money (I'm going to save at least $13,000!).

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Excellent Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Product User

The application process was super easy and was very intuitive - no need to even call customer service, but it's great too! The scale tool is very helpful in seeing how varying monthly payment amounts affect interest, total paid, and term length. The whole process was painless and fast - I was pre-approved in minutes and was able to sign my documents all online with no fuss. Just waiting for finalization from my original lender and everything will be good to go.

If you're debating it, just apply with Earnest. They're great!

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Student loan refinancing
Anonymous Product User

They offered me a better rate than other refi companies, and the process was painless and quick

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Super helpful and overall amazing
Anonymous Product User

I looked at a lot of different places while trying to refinance my student loans, but Earnest definitely stood out. The customer support was super helpful and quick to respond through email, text and phone calls. They also offered by far the greatest rates, and a customizable plan. I'm actually really excited to be a customer here knowing that if I have any trouble down the road there are wonderful people and a great customer support team that I can work with.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
This is how a company should operate!
Anonymous Product User

I was approved for a consolidation loan for my student loans. They offered the best rates compared with other companies and the ability to choose the exact term or payment you want is awesome! The customer service agents I spoke with were extremely helpful! I'm awaiting the disbursement to my previous lender so I'm still early in the process with Earnest but so far I absolutely LOVE the way they do business! I highly recommend them to anyone! Also, I'm not a robot or a fake review and I wasn't paid to write this. Really, you can trust me I promise! :D

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Everything feels built for the consumer
Anonymous Product User

Earnest was the only company that would refinance my student loans from an international MBA program (a well known one, too).  Every other company simply stated they couldn't based on a list of eligible schools they took as a given, without any additional thought.  But the Earnest team took the time to discover my school was actually eligible and made it happen.  

The ability to customize your payment and repayment period is fantastic.  I could maximize the amount I can afford on a monthly basis without overcommitting by picking the monthly payment down to the nearest $5 --- all easily seen on your screen.  

more ...
Nov 24, 2016
Easy
MagyarPeter Product User

Apain free application process and quick decision made. Nice!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations