Earnest Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
Better than SoFi even with a higher rate
Anonymous Product User

Earnest offered a slightly higher rate than I received from SoFi. However, Earnest offers a biweekly automatic payment option vs SoFi's standard monthly autopay. The biweekly autopay option ends up saving you money in the long run. I completed my application and waited about a week while I was deciding which lender to go with. In that time, Earnest offered a $300 credit if I went with them. This helped solidify my decision.

The one downside to Earnest was that I received a higher rate when I submitted my full app vs my initial interest rate. I was told that the initial rate is almost never the same as what is offered with the full application. This struck me as a bait and switch but I admit I understand more details come from the full application. Still, I didn't think that my application worse.

Regardless, in my situation it made sense to go with a slightly higher rate with Earnest which would end up being a slightly lower rate than SoFi because of the biweekly autopay option. The $300 credit was icing on the cake!

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Product User

I was able to refinance my previously co-signed loans through Earnest without needing a cosigner. My interest rate was nearly cut in half from what it had been. It was a painless process, and it was very easy to apply. Nice to know that my good credit score and how I manage money was a big part how they decided on my interest rate. They gave me the best interest rate with the APR being 1-2% lower than every other place I applied (over 12 companies). Nice to choose my exact monthly payments and interest rates. Application process was a breeze. They needed the least amount of documentation between all of the other places I applied. Would highly recommended.

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Good process, great rates!
Anonymous Product User

Used Earnest to refinance $95k in federal loans from law school. Was able to cut my APR from 7.5% to just above 5. They use a great web platform to make the application easier and faster than a traditional bank. Checked around before completing my application and saw some complain about time to disburse payoff amounts. I can only say that my payoff amount was received in 7 days. I'd recommend Earnest to anyone looking to take advantage of lower rates, especially if they had the misfortune of taking out student loans when rates were far higher. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
Easy process and flexible terms
bacillusx Product User

This was by far the easiest process I went through for refinancing my student loans, and I'm quite happy with the results and the flexibility of  the repayment options and available terms.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
Student loan refi
Anonymous Product User

Exceeded my expectations on all levels.  Really easy application process, able to process everything quickly, and customer service is always extremely helpful when I call.  Plus they offered the best rates and extra options/flexibiltiy to save even more money on my student loans.  Would highly recommend.  

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
Very efficient
Anonymous Product User

I was worried at first about everything being completely online, but the team at Earnest put my mind at ease. This was a great decision! 

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Fast, easy funding on a re-finance!
Anonymous Product User

Re-financed a portion of a huge federally funded loan that I re-fi'd. Had a small balance left over at a VERY high federal rate. Earnest approved me for less than half!! Huge savings.  Loan funded quickly. Website interface is user friendly. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
incompetent
Anonymous Product User

First off, it took 1.5 months to fund my loan due to their finance department being backed up. Secondly, this company does not have the "capabilites" to apply additional payments to the principal portion. Some servicers make you allocate but this servicer doesn't even allow you to. I have found no help from customer service. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Great customer service and great rates
VeronicaBu Product User

Saved myself some cash as well as there aren't any fees for additional payments.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations