Earnest Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Oct 16, 2017
Definitely Recommend
mshem Product User

What I love about Earnest is their transparancy. I looked into a ton of refinance companies before deciding on Earnest and my decision came down to 1) They have very competetive rates. 2) There were no hidden loops to jump through or hidden eligability requirements once you got into the application process that I dealt with with other companies  3) The app is concise and easy to use. Another great benefit with Earnest is that every so often you can refinance with them internally without a hard pull on your credit report. Its an awesome feature if your credit is improving or if their rates improve. With Earnest I am saving about $11,000 and reduced my loan term by about 2 years. I definitely recommend!

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
User-friendly and low rates.
laureliz Product User

I shopped a lot of refinancing options, and I liked the user-friendly application process and the low rates Earnest had to offer.

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
Lifesaving
Anonymous Product User

It’s a no-brainer

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Refinance
Thanks12323 Product User

Very easy and clear process. Saved me almost 2% on two loans, that is a ot when talking about compound interest.  Now my loans are also in one place, one payment.  I am going to place my referral link below ( we should both earn a $200 referral, not sure how long it will stay active). Thanks. https://www.earnest.com/invite/ryan3948

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Product User

What a great experience it was dealing with this company. I never thought the process would be so simple. Thank you Earnest!

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Easy, user friendly - great support
mbs80 Product User

Had a positive experience. Initially was rejected because of a miscommunication. Reached out, spoke to a friendly human who understood the issue and solved the problem. I'm a fan. Very responsive - like dealing with a 21st century business that cares about its customers.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Easy process; Great product!
cstaff721 Product User

I wish I had refinanced sooner! Overall, the process with Earnest was super easy and very clear. I loved being able to select the exact amount I can pay each month and get the best possible rate for that time frame. Overall I'm saving over $2500 and paying off my loans more than 2 years ahead of my previous provider's schedule. 

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Great experience all around!
Anonymous Product User

I've had nothing but positive experiences since refinancing my loans with Earnest. Their customer service staff is very helpful, professional, and timely in their responses. The application process requires a lot of documentation but it is worth it for the rates that they offer and NO FEES! I like the fact that you can choose your payment amount and corresponding interest rate. I would highly recommend using Earnest to get rid of your debt!

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Great rate, great service!
LazzleDazzle Product User

I've refinanced with Earnest twice now.  Best interface of the lenders I've worked with.  Easy application process, good rate.  Look forward to paying my loan with Earnest.

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
Lowest rates, super easy application
Anonymous Product User

Earnest gave me the lowest rates (vs Sofi, DRB) and had the easiest application process out there. I did not have to scan anything or procure pdfs from each financial institution. The tech-enabled process made the entire experience pleasant. 

To give you a sense of my rates, I originally had a 15 year 6.49% loan from Sofi (!!). It was reduced to 5.07%, 9.7  years with Earnest! After a year, I refinanced to 4.07%, 7.5 years. After another year, I got it down to 3.49%, <5 years. All this while keeping my monthly amount nearly the same. What helps is that Earnest has a bi-weekly payment option which accelerates the principal payment. 

I also love that it's so easy to change your monthly or bi-weekly payments through the website. Every now and then I'll pay a little extra and Earnest makes it super easy to do so. 

I'm Earnest's biggest fan!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations