OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
194 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.39%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 06, 2018
Gets the job done
Walkere7 Cardholder

It’s not a scam, but I was leery too. I got the card for my daughters 18th birthday. It’s been 4.5 months and she now has a 680 credit score. All the negative reviews are from people who are irresponsible and don’t read. The only negative thing I have to say is that when you make a payment, the available balance and payments received don’t update for a few days. Make sure you read through all the functions under your online account. Turn off paper statements so you don’t get billed for one. Use the card sparingly and set up automatic bill payments. Have a checking account so you can pay your bill. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 10, 2018
Posting Payments are too slow
latreme Cardholder

This card is just ok.  It takes a week or so for them to post your payments to your account.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2019
99 Points in 1 Month!
arizonanelson Cardholder

I put $200 down and paid down the card to the recommended less than 30%, but not the full amount (I left $1) and my scores jumped in less than a month. In the 30 days, my Equifax went up 99 points (512 to a 599) and my Transunion went up 79 points (512 to a 591). I had about 4K in medical debt in collections when this all happened. The only thing I do not like (being a secured card), is how long it takes them to restore your available credit once you have made a payment. I made a payment about 5 days ago and I am still waiting for my available credit to go back up.

more ...
Jan 11, 2019
CREDIT WENT UP A BIT - UPDATE!
Illuminappy Cardholder

This was my review on 07/24/2017: I applied for this card on June 28th with a 200$ security deposit and received it on July 7th. I checked my credit score on July 19th...not just through here but also through Experian and Transunion. Credit score went up 44 points! I will keep everyone posted in 6 months or less if I see a significant difference. 07/24/2017

Update: I forgot to put that my score was originally at 508 when i did the review, before i got the increase of 44 points.  I originally couldn't find my review, but after having it for about 7 months my score went up to 630 points. Option of payments could be waaayyyyy better. It was better for me to call in and pay the balance instead of online. Unfortunate things happend in the last year 1/2 (lost job, etc) and my score dropped almost 200 points. So I'm signing up for this again and Self Lender.. which have BOTH helped out pretty well since November 2018 (score went up 29 points). Wish me luck! lol

more ...
Jan 07, 2019
Fantastic
My3cents Cardholder

In two months my credit score went up from 524 to 676

more ...
Jan 07, 2019

Cool, how much security deposit did you put in?

 
Jan 08, 2019

200

 
Jan 08, 2019

What did you do in order for your score to raise like that in 2 months? I was approved 12/23, got my card int the ail last night 1/7. I paid $20 of the $35 annual fee balance to see how their payment process goes..No due date or anything yet

 
Jan 10, 2019

I use it for small purchases and paid through my bank account from the mobile app. Remember you can make only 4 payments in any given 30 days period. In any bank transfer through ACH takes 3 business days. So just use it for small purchases and pay in full more than once.

 
Jan 04, 2019
Secured card
Creditguru1979 Cardholder

I love Open Sky. They were my first card when I needed to repair my credit a few years back. I made a $200 deposit and charged my Netflix account every month then paid in full. It reported as a regular credit card. I just closed my account and customer service was very friendly. I will be getting my deposit back within 30 days as I now have high limit cards through several major banks. Open Sky served its purpose well for me and I am very grateful.

more ...
Jan 04, 2019
Secured card
Creditguru1979 Cardholder

I love Open Sky. They were my first card when I needed to repair my credit a few years back. I made a $200 deposit and charged my Netflix account every month then paid in full. It reported as a regular credit card. I just closed my account and customer service was very friendly. I will be getting my deposit back within 30 days as I now have high limit cards through several major banks. Open Sky served its purpose well for me and I am very grateful.

more ...
Jan 04, 2019
faith1987 Cardholder

Please save your life from the stress of this people. They made my life so miserable . 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 04, 2019

What did you experience? Need more info because im thinking about opening a account with them.

 
Jan 04, 2019
Helps credit score rapidly
mone6526 Cardholder

Pay your payments in full and on time. Stay below 30% or even lower if you want your score to really jump. When making a payment, pay one week before due date since it takes a few days to update on their side. My score jumped 58 points with just one payment at 14% usage. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2019

That's not a true statement I have had this card for almost 6 months. Never late, never missed a payment. Card stays below 15%. I only got a huge score increase with my initial $500 deposit. Some months they never even reported. Which has infuriated me. Due to me making sure my cards are paid and balance is low. I've not had any issues with customer service. Once I understood the delay in there payment posting process. I set my account up on auto pay for entire balance.

 
Dec 30, 2018
Great for rebuilding credit
Terique Cardholder

I got a credit increase..I went from $200 to $500..and my credit score jumped 50 points..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2019

How long did this so call increase take a year?

 
Dec 26, 2018
mntess Cardholder

*update* posted a review on December 23rd here it is December 26th I got my Equifax credit report alert from Credit Karma and my Equifax jumped 84 points from a 571 to a 655 I literally did nothing else. Wow is all I have to say..

more ...
Dec 23, 2018
Be smart and it'll help you help yoursel
mntess Cardholder

I apply for the card if funding my account the $300 security deposit on the 6th of December. I received the email the following day stating that my card has been approved and I will receive it in 7 to 10 days, around the 11th of December I received another email stating that I received the card and 7 to 10 days so I was confused and I gave them a call and they stated in fact that it was 7 to 10 days after the second email which grand total from the time that I funded the card I got my actual card in about 14 days. I called activated the card after that I went to their mobile app downloaded it put my checking account information in for recurring payments the initial $35 was taken from the original credit line and I made a $35 payment which took about three days for it to show on my ledger. The statement date came pretty close after that maybe two days later which brought me to the 23rd I got an alert from Experian that myfico score increased a 35-point boost Within 2 days of the statement date. I have not received an alert from TransUnion or Equifax but I'm thinking due to the fact that the card is relatively new from start to finish I applied approved on December 6th and had a 35-point boots on my credit score by December 23rd I would say the card amazing.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card