Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 03, 2018
60 point boost in a week!
Stelly18 Cardholder

No credit pull. Reported to my credit before I even got the card. Got me in range to get a capital one and discover secured card. Within in three months I’m at a 660 Fico and just got a 900$ Walmart and an old navy card. Also got approved for an Avant credit card totally unsecured. 

This is card Gabe me the boost I needed to get credit again. I threw it in a drawer and I’ll cancel it on the 11th month before the $29 fee gets charged. I’m super grateful for this card and the ease of the process. 

If ur dependent on this card to live you’re not ready to rebuild your credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 26, 2018
Helpful but frustrating
dsarg4272 Cardholder

A lot of people are saying it boosted their credit quickly...that is true--my scores went up between 70-80 points very quickly (within 2 months). I was then able to qualify for unsecured cards with higher limits. However, after a few months I paid off the balance and closed the card (no longer needed $600 tied up). It's been about 6 or 7 weeks since I closed the account and I'm still waiting for my money back. The card will definately help re-build your credit but don't send them any money you might need later. It will take forever to get it back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 13, 2018
HORRIBLE
StephenTX Cardholder

Customer service is only open Mon-Fri, and they’re rude.  You have to submit a bank statement to them when you make a payment to show that it’s from your bank account and it takes forever to load the funds to your card.  They say they emailed things to you, but they don’t.  And they don’t have an app to track your account.  

more ...
Nov 20, 2018

How can I get in touch with someone cause I applied and sent my money and haven't heard anything yet or received my card. Call the number that I got off Google but noone to talk to

 
Jan 05, 2019

Shamekia1984 did you get you card if so how long did it take? I haven't heard anything from them at all😒

 
Oct 11, 2018
Excellent way to build credit quickly
FearlessMark Cardholder

This card was a blessing. Had card since June 2018 and it boostes my score already by 100 pts. It opened the doors for new opportunities that I am approved for. Customer service is a 3

more ...
Sep 28, 2018
Easy to get, terrible customer service
Tim3000 Cardholder

I applied and got this card when it was originally Berkshire and i got it fairly easy. No credit pull. Put down $500. You have to pay your due date around 10 days early and payments take that long to hit your availble credit. Got it when my scores hit rock bottom around 530 and gave me a 52 point boost in one month. Pay on time and it will do what it says for rebuilding your credit. Customer service is terrible now that the company was brought out by Green dot. It was great when it was owned by Berkshire. My experience with Green dot came about when my CC expired July 31st I was on a project outside of my home state and needed the card sent to me in California 7 customer service reps , 5 supervisors and 1 hour and half conversation with the fraud department and 4 lost credit cards sent to the wrong address (my home address despite me confirming each and every time the address in California. So customer service, its a joke. 2 stars because it did give me a boost, but after that it's been all down hill. Even added the mailing address to my credit report in California, despite it being a temporary address. Terrible

more ...
Sep 25, 2018
Horrible service
Turbineman71 Cardholder

Stay away. After you make a payment ,they freeze your account until you can verify your bank account. The payment was pulled from my bank ,isn't that proof?
Now , the account is closed and I have a late payment, but they owe me money. Go figure.

more ...
Sep 24, 2018
ok ok
Anonymous Cardholder

It is not acceptable at car rental companies as credit card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 08, 2018

I use mine to rent cars most car rental companies put a "hold" of $350 on it and usually you get that back in 4 business days of returning vehicle

 
Sep 24, 2018
Halfway ok!
BB1013 Cardholder

It took me nearly 3 months to get it. But the card does work.

more ...
Sep 22, 2018
Awful
trmays Cardholder

I had this card for months and kept it paid up. They cancelled my account and it was in good standing and after I contacted the company for my security deposit return it was 2 months before they returned it and the security deposit check from the company bounced. I had the check deposit straight to my checking account and the bank made me aware it was returned to me and my checking account went into the negative. I reported this company to the BBB and the feds. Consumer beware. They even erased all the monthly payments and credit I earned through this card.

more ...
Sep 08, 2018
People having issues w/ initial deposit
ThatOn3Guy Cardholder

I see alot of people complaining about issues with the initial 200+ deposit(as well as getting ahold of customer service) I got the card and the mail and went to walmart and loaded it got home went to the website and activated the card all within 20 minutes. On the customer service end of it i was unsure about how to create an account on their site because it was asking for an account number i wasnt given in emails or anywhere. So i called on a Saturday at 11:30pm and a customer service rep picked up with 2 minutes. So far I have no complaints. Although i wish there was a way to add an authorized user so i could increase my SO's credit simultaneously.

more ...
Sep 08, 2018

Was your credit score low?

 
Sep 25, 2018

"went to Walmart and loaded it"???

 
Dec 13, 2018

Only thing I can figure is this guy is talking about a green dot prepaid debit card? Some people just have no clue. Lol

 
Jan 08, 2019

Lol

 
Sep 03, 2018
60 point boost in a week!
Stelly18 Cardholder

No credit pull. Reported to my credit before I even got the card. Got me in range to get a capital one and discover secured card. Within in three months I’m at a 660 Fico and just got a 900$ Walmart and an old navy card. Also got approved for an Avant credit card totally unsecured. 

This is card Gabe me the boost I needed to get credit again. I threw it in a drawer and I’ll cancel it on the 11th month before the $29 fee gets charged. I’m super grateful for this card and the ease of the process. 

If ur dependent on this card to live you’re not ready to rebuild your credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 11, 2018

Be careful looks like you're doing really well but if you get too much available credit without having the income to match it, that looks bad too. You want to make sure that you stay within a reasonable credit limit. You said you got a Walmart card and an Old Navy card and this card that's already a lot of available credit if you're still new in the credit world. You might want to hold on to the card and not cancel it. One of the more important things that you can do for your credit is have something going for a long period of time that shows regular payments. I'm not exactly sure if the monthly access fee counts as a payment on your credit card but if it does then you'll get a positive report every month while you have your card even if you just make sure that you always got enough in there to cover the fee and maybe use it as your gas card. After 6 months to a year you'll get a huge Boost from where you're at right now because of length of having the account account for your credit. I know you didn't ask for that advice and I sure hope it didn't come off as insulting but I personally wish someone had been there to tell me that stuff when I was starting off. I didn't know the stuff I was doing was going to mess up my credit until years later after it was too late and I was checking my own credit score.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card