Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $49
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 9.99%
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 03, 2018
60 point boost in a week!
Stelly18 Cardholder

No credit pull. Reported to my credit before I even got the card. Got me in range to get a capital one and discover secured card. Within in three months I’m at a 660 Fico and just got a 900$ Walmart and an old navy card. Also got approved for an Avant credit card totally unsecured. 

This is card Gabe me the boost I needed to get credit again. I threw it in a drawer and I’ll cancel it on the 11th month before the $29 fee gets charged. I’m super grateful for this card and the ease of the process. 

If ur dependent on this card to live you’re not ready to rebuild your credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 26, 2018
Helpful but frustrating
dsarg4272 Cardholder

A lot of people are saying it boosted their credit quickly...that is true--my scores went up between 70-80 points very quickly (within 2 months). I was then able to qualify for unsecured cards with higher limits. However, after a few months I paid off the balance and closed the card (no longer needed $600 tied up). It's been about 6 or 7 weeks since I closed the account and I'm still waiting for my money back. The card will definately help re-build your credit but don't send them any money you might need later. It will take forever to get it back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2019
Boosted me 74 points after first payment
RockinMoroccan Cardholder

Hi, this review is the truth and nothing but the truth for people like me that are trying to rebuild their credit, I started rebuilding my credit when I had 300 points I went back and paid off a lot of my balances that I had until my points went up to 500, I applied for this credit card and got approved because no other credit card would accept me, once approved they send you an e-mail which you have to reply back with your driver license and social security number just so they can identify you and send out your card, for me I had to send it two times and send them an email asking them if they received it because they took a little bit too long, other than that once I received my credit card right away I paid the $50 fee that was deducted right away and just waited until credit karma posters it up and so I can see any changes, in the email that they send you you have two links one link is for your credit card transactions and summary and the other link is to pay your balance with your debit card they are extremely easy and you can make it as a shortcut and your phone so you can reach it quick trust me it is easy, I only put Netflix Hulu and prime video for this credit card for the future so it can stay low and today I checked credit karma and it hit credit karma and they gave me 74 points up so now I am 574 points, so that is my experience with green. I really hope you have the same experience and nothing less and if you have any questions I will definitely answer you but this is the truth and nothing but the truth guys just be patient be patient be patient and do what they ask and just be patient, the 1-800 number that they send you with the emails does work if it did not work for some of these people in these reviews it did work and it does work and I live in Philadelphia Pennsylvania, thank you guys and I hope you guys will succeed in making your credit better !

Seif jaaa

more ...
Dec 27, 2018
Theifs
Cadion Cardholder

You can't speak with anyone, can't fix any issues, I put a $200 deposit down on it to start the card 4 months ago and still can't get ahold of nobody to resolve it and still out $200

more ...
Jan 05, 2019

Did you get it fix ???

 
Jan 09, 2019

Im going through the same thing! I can't get a reply back, nothing!

 
Dec 19, 2018
Nigthmare
gmyjudge Cardholder

Got the card, whent to hertz to rent a vehicle, my card did not work, was block, call , they said they can not overrided the block, kill my christmas.  And then they said will take 6 to 7 week to get my money back. Please do not get this card is a piece of trash.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2019

What did you do? To get your card blocked: sounds like you are leaving something Out...

 
Nov 30, 2018
NO EMV CHIP? Non existent Cust. Service
TCaps Cardholder

Can't get through to anyone live at any number posted. NO EMV CHIP has me very concerned. Wanted to increase balance, but doesn't seem safe without chip. Going to get a secured card through a bigger bank and then cancel this one. Hopefully deposit funds will be returned timely. Too many recent bad reviews.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 20, 2019

There was life before the chip....

 
Nov 27, 2018
Great card so far
YasmineC3 Cardholder

Like this card but I wish it would update on credit when I paid it off , 

more ...
Nov 24, 2018
terrible
joesmooo Cardholder

do not apply for this card unless you have money to waste.  customer service is horrible and i honestly have never had customer service issues with anything ive bought or needed help with. i canceled the card within a month due to what they said was a fraud block. i needed to put gas in my truck and was almost left stranded.  they said my remaining funds will be sent my check in the mail within4-8weeks.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 07, 2018

Please help me. I'm trying to get customer service and I can't get no one with the numbers I have

 
Nov 13, 2018
Company is a joke, avoid at all costs
Joeclark2107 Cardholder

$20 in payment processing fees to make your payment each month.

more ...
Nov 10, 2018
Will ruin your credit.
Kellein Cardholder

I applied for this card because credit karma highly recommended it.   After waiting over a month to receive it, I activated it and used it one time.   I then spent another month trying to pay for the purchase and $49 fee, but to no avail.   It wouldn’t allow me to pay online, it said my info didn’t match when I tried to pay by phone, THEN it wouldn’t even give me the option to pay by phone, only to mail a check to Texas.  Calls to the NJ number have not been returned as of yet.  Looks like I’m out $300, plus whatever fees they add on AND they’ve f’d my credit up.   I was into the 700s, now I’m in the 500s...  thanks credit karma.....  great recommendation.  

more ...
Nov 21, 2018

Look , you say your score was into the 700's. Maybe that's true , but if the best you can do is a secured card from green dot , your credit was already f' ed up

 
Dec 07, 2018

WOW!!! Thank you sooo much for this review!!! 👍

 
Dec 11, 2018

Going for a secured card when credit is in the 700's ???? Wow. Um... Sure... Why not. Good luck buddy. (Thinks we are dumb as rocks)

 
Jan 14, 2019

Did you ever find a phone number or any other way to get a refund ?

 
Nov 08, 2018
Horrible service not customer friendly f
Jorgeruiz1 Cardholder

Their system is totally outdated, no such thing as easy payments, they want you to verify your bank account everytime you make a payment. I gave them 2000 to secure the account. Cannot use card over seas, traveling anywhere is a nightmare for approvals - they will not approve out of your area. Noone available after 5 pm if you have an emergency or on weekends. After 3 months i closed the account

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 14, 2019

What number do I call to close my account and get a refund ? I cannot find a number . ):

 
Oct 26, 2018
Helpful but frustrating
dsarg4272 Cardholder

A lot of people are saying it boosted their credit quickly...that is true--my scores went up between 70-80 points very quickly (within 2 months). I was then able to qualify for unsecured cards with higher limits. However, after a few months I paid off the balance and closed the card (no longer needed $600 tied up). It's been about 6 or 7 weeks since I closed the account and I'm still waiting for my money back. The card will definately help re-build your credit but don't send them any money you might need later. It will take forever to get it back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 15, 2018

Did you ever get your money back?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Green Dot primor® Visa® Gold Secured Credit Card