United MileagePlus® Explorer Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 15, 2018
Primary Insurance on Rental Cars!
Naramri Cardholder

This card is fantastic for the rental car coverage, if you ever need it! That benefit is quite rare among card issuers, indeed. In January 2017, while driving an Enterprise car I was involved in a weird, unavoidable accident. Enterprise decided I was at fault and billed me for the totaled vehicle - nearly $12,000. Because I had used this card when reserving the car, and had also turned down Enterprise's daily insurance, I was covered fully by Chase. The process to take advantage of the coverage isn't difficult and the service representatives are very professional. They didn't require me to use my own car insurance first - Chase's insurance benefit was primary up to the full value of the car. I chose to charge the Enterprise damage bill on the Chase card itself, and then submitted documents for reimbursement. This gave a nice boost to my reward points! Applying for and getting the card was pretty easy, too, and there are no foreign transaction fees. I've had this card for almost 8 years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 14, 2017
Did not receive $100 statement credit
Anonymous Cardholder

On August 24th, I signed up for this card when booking a United flight for my family to the Bahamas.  As you go through the booking process you are constantly bombarded with banners to get the United MileagePlus Explorer card. I do not usually sign up for cards that have a membership fee but they were offering a statement credit.  During the application process I called Customer Service because I was having issues with applying.  When we were finished, I called back customer service to make sure that I was receiving what I signed up for.  At the time it was a $50 statement credit with 40,000 bonus miles.  She said no problem and I would see it on my next statement.  The next day I was booking another flight to Savannah, Georgia and to my surprise a banner popped up offering a $100 credit with the same mileage award.  I promptly called customer service and they said they would now issue a $100 credit.  I called again on September 5th and they assured me that I would be receiving the statement credit.  Well today I received a letter telling me that I was only eligible for miles.  Again, I called customer service and they said could do nothing.  Beware of this card, they do not honor their promises.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 01, 2018
Taking away benefits
Anonymous Cardholder

This card had great travel protection benefits - up to $10,000 per person per trip. GONE. now $1500 😩

25,000 onus miles per year after spending $2500. GONE 😩😫

will be cutting up this card when my trip is over

more ...
Apr 29, 2018
Awesome for United Travel

I have had this card for quite a few years and have never had any problems using it for airfare and upgrades. Also I was told by a car rental place it has the 2nd best coverage only behind Amex Black. You have to use the card to purchase tickets or car rental in order to get the perks that may be the issue for some people.

more ...
Apr 18, 2018
Just try to use your miles
thoradddddd Cardholder

No matter how far ahead you plan you never get a biz class ticket or upgrade. United also keeps changing flight times without notifying reservations holders. Plus, with all United's publicity of late do you really want to fly this airline?

more ...
Mar 22, 2018
Solid card for a weak airline.
JeramyCLE Cardholder

As I was rebuilding my credit, this credit card was my long term goal, so I was thrilled when I was finally approved. I put everything, including a bathroom remodel on it, and used the miles to take my wife on a trip for our anniversary.

Finding good flights on miles has become more difficult and United has spent the last year stepping on metaphorical yard rakes, but Chase has been fantastic. So, I’ve dropped this card in favor of the Sapphire Preferred.

Still, if you live in a United hub city, this card deserves a look.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2018

Very smart move. United, ever since the David Dao incident, sucks. I won't go near them and neither will my fiance. If we're going to fly, it's either gonna be with American Airlines or Jet Blue. The Sapphire Preferred at least will allow you to fly whatever is available at a relatively decent discount w/UR points. :)

 
Mar 17, 2018
Disgusted, pure disappointment
Anonymous Cardholder

Unless you have the highest teir with the big annual fee this card is totally useless, and worse it will enrage you when you expect to recive any perk you will be denied. Unless your a expert at working a airline card for all it’s worth get yourself a simple cash back card like Citi double cash, 2% back on everything, can’t go wrong with that.

more ...
Mar 15, 2018
Primary Insurance on Rental Cars!
Naramri Cardholder

This card is fantastic for the rental car coverage, if you ever need it! That benefit is quite rare among card issuers, indeed. In January 2017, while driving an Enterprise car I was involved in a weird, unavoidable accident. Enterprise decided I was at fault and billed me for the totaled vehicle - nearly $12,000. Because I had used this card when reserving the car, and had also turned down Enterprise's daily insurance, I was covered fully by Chase. The process to take advantage of the coverage isn't difficult and the service representatives are very professional. They didn't require me to use my own car insurance first - Chase's insurance benefit was primary up to the full value of the car. I chose to charge the Enterprise damage bill on the Chase card itself, and then submitted documents for reimbursement. This gave a nice boost to my reward points! Applying for and getting the card was pretty easy, too, and there are no foreign transaction fees. I've had this card for almost 8 years.

more ...
Mar 04, 2018
Best travel card out there
Anonymous Cardholder

Awesome card!  Just be sure to book the ticket on United website and obviously you need to pay for the ticket with this card.  Need to buy regular economy ticket or higher.  It appears that the bad reviews of people having issues with boarding priority or bag fees are purchasing "basic economy."  That is the bare bones fare, one level below regular economy and the fine print does mention that at that mega low fare, you not elegible to any other discounts or deals.   

more ...
Dec 10, 2017
SCAM when it comes to redeeming points
Anonymous Cardholder

After a year and a half of having the MilagePlus explorer card it is A SCAM. It took an extra 4 months and several calls to get my initial points and when I recently went online to redeem my $460 worth of award points it was not possible at all. I tried to redeem them for gift cards of all sorts - the errors that occurred could not be resolved because there was no department in place to handle it.

So then I tried to book a rental car - only a reservation was made and no points were used for the car payment - I would have to pay the $400 myself at time of pickup.

So then I tried to buy an electronic device with an additional $50 of my own only to have my own money STOLEN - the additional $50 was withdrawn from my personal account but the device purchase was never completed and I was never able to get it, OR MY OWN MONEY BACK. 

TOTAL SCAM!!!!

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Earn miles for minimal annual fee.

Best deal for points per dollar of the three United Airlines offered Chase Bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 751
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

United MileagePlus® Explorer Card