Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
180 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 28, 2018
My favorite card
xsimplysheekx Cardholder

I applied for this card back in 2016 after Credit Karma said my approval odds were very good. I was approved for 1k my scores was around 620 or so. I used it generously and vigorously lol. 2017 they gave me a 1k increase. Now in January 2018 they gave me a 2k increase. I use this card a lot because of their cash back on ALL purchases and their ZERO $ annual fee is the icing on top! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 18, 2018
Misleading
CowboyNation26 Cardholder

I applied for this card with the intentions to utilize the 0% balance transfer for 15 months option. However, what they do not tell you in the card descriptions; "you may be approved for card without having the balance transfer option". I was approved for $6400 without a balance transfer option; when I spoke with customer service they said that balance transfers are a promotional option, which I didn’t qualify for based on my credit worthiness. This doesn’t make much sense... giving the amount of credit line I was approved for and having a 680-700 credit score. Just be aware if you are applying for this card because you would like to use the balance transfer option, there's a great possibility you will not be allowed that option, even if approved. 

On the other hand, American express (no affiliation) approved me for a credit line, and the option for balance transfer is standard with approval (not promotional). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2019
Quick Approval and Easy Balance Transfer
BlueLove1920 Cardholder

I have had this card for almost two years. The application process was easy, I was approved quickly and received my card without issue. Balance transfer was easy too. My only issue is that there is no notification when the 0% APR on purchases and balance transfers time period ends. Without warning, my monthly minimum payment skyrocketed from $137/mo to $399/mo, which is totally unmanageable for me. Eventually I will get it paid off and then I won't touch it again. 

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
Excellent
MichaelB1988 Cardholder

I've had this card for 21 months now and have had zero issues. Random internet fraud occurs here and there and Chase always handles it for me. I made a $2300+ purchase, pre ordering an item. The company took a lot of these pre orders then filed bankruptcy. Chase gave all my money back 6 months or so after the purchase was made. Chase has increased my limit automatically without my request several times. When they do this, I don't get a hard inquiry on my report. Love it. My current limit is $21,900 and less than 2 years ago it started at $8 or $10 thousand. Highly recommend all Chase cards/services. I have 3 Chase visas and credit scores above 800.

more ...
Jan 17, 2019

I got this card back in Oct 2018 , I love the cash back and other perks . Best card . No issues at all , All the people complaining are doing something wrong .

 
Jan 18, 2019

Agreed. Use it for all non bonus category spend. Pay in full every month. Transfer points to a sapphire card. Rinse and repeat. It couldn’t be simpler. I’ve used this and the Freedom card in tandem with a Sapphire Preferred card for years this way. Zero problems. Pro tip: call Chase and arrange for them all to close on the same day. Statements close...go down the list and pay them all off. Bam bam bam! That’s it. If you can’t do that, stay away from rewards cards and focus on low apr.

 
Jan 13, 2019
So far so good
SantaBaby625 Cardholder

Applied 12/30 received a phone call 1/10 and had to verify some information so they could ensure it was me whom applied. Was approved on the phone for a starting CL of 2K. CK scores were TU 662 EQ 652, My Exp 653 Fico 701. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2019

Approval odds on CK were “Fair” but I was instantly approved the same day for the AMEX cash everyday card for 2K so I tried anyways!

 
Jan 10, 2019
Horrible
RoseRay0818 Cardholder

I just received my card one month after applying and immediately cancelled it. The whole application process has been a complete nightmare. Not only did they send my card to the wrong address but when I inquired about my application two weeks after applying because I didn’t get a response from them, I quickly learned their customer service is horrible. They don’t actually ask or care what your concerns are, instead they quickly read off a script and transfer you a bunch of times. I asked on the phone if I would be guaranteed to be able to transfer both of my card balances to this new card and the rep said yes. I thought all this hassle would be worth it. Wrong. I received my card and called customer service to help with BT. Then they tell me they can only transfer $1,600 since my credit limit is $1,700 (mind you, my credit score is high 600s). I told her what I was told previously and that I’m extremely, EXTREMELY disappointed in this whole ordeal. She said I can apply for a higher credit limit but it’d be a hard inquiry. Of course I said NO because you guys JUST did one and I don’t want another hard inquiry. She obviously didn’t care and proceeded to try and sell me other products. I told her three times I’m cancelling this card. I hate Chase. Don’t waste your time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2019

You cant do that ..It showed chase your too much of a risk . Thats not chases fault ..Your giving a bad review for your own financial problems , You shouldn't be carrying a balance anyway ..Pay off your card every month and you wont have these problems

 
Jan 09, 2019
Fast Approval!

I was hesitant to apply for a new card after rebuilding my credit for the last 8 months or so. Credit Karma said I had excellent approval odds with 700 TU credit score, so after doing my research I decided to go for it. Instantly approved with $3600 limit, 0 interest for 15 months, and looking forward to my first cash back rewards card! The application process was easy and fast!

more ...
Jan 08, 2019
Applied with a "fair" rating
InCognit0 Cardholder

So I was a bit hesitant to apply for this card due to the "fair" rating, but I was so happy to see that "you're approved" screen! I was approved for a $2000 limit and the 15 months of 0% interest is just fabulous. This is my 2ND cash back card, along with the Quicksliver card. I just got the card today and I'm looking forward to building a good relationship with JPMorgan.

more ...
Jan 06, 2019
Easy no hassle use
RIPPEDSSC Cardholder

This card is pretty good to help build credit. Especially, with the 15 month 0% interest. Just keep it paid and use the points at your leisure. Has helped me alot. Customer service isnt too bad either.

more ...
Jan 05, 2019
My Sugar Babies Are Happy !!!
gman12345 Cardholder

My 3 sugar girls are happy that i get to take them shopping once a week ..Wee Hee !!  They take care of poppy at night 

more ...
Jan 10, 2019

Ummmmm... gross

 
Jan 13, 2019

Lol

 
Jan 14, 2019

Lol you go dude!

 
Jan 15, 2019

I did not expect that. Ha Ha Ha Ha

 
Jan 17, 2019

24 thumbs Up are dudes. 75 thumbs down are women. Cmon Ladies dont hate !! I pay it off every month so don`t worry , CS is 800 , been that way for years !

-Gman

 
Jan 21, 2019

Yeah, don’t hate on GMan, I thought that the whole point of consumerism was to derive pleasure from a make believe system of value. He’s just driving our economy the way it was meant to be driven.

 
Jan 02, 2019
Applied and Approved Under Fair CK Score

Although CK stated my approval odds for the Unlimited card was "FAIR", I went ahead and applied anyway using CK's easy pre-filled application system! With a CK score of 680, I was approved with a CL of 1K within seconds!! This is an awesome start for me. I'm happy Chase took a chance to give me a chance ! I am super excited and ready to be a part of JPMorgan's team!

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Definitely worth looking into...thx CK!
SummerAnne7 Cardholder

I used CK’s advice on cards that had good approval odds for me based on my credit score that ranged from 666 to 701. This was the best match since my main goal was to transfer a credit card balance at 0%. The application process was easy as pie and I was approved in seconds with an almost $6k approval amount, which was well over the balance that I needed to transfer. This is the most that I’ve ever been approved for. Thanks for the referral CK! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 15, 2019

FYI everyone: Balance transfers may be 0% APR on your purchases, but you're paying 3% of the transfer to do it. For example: You transfer $5000. Three percent of that is $150. It's like you made a $150 purchase. Be aware, that's all.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

180 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i