Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 05, 2019
Instantly approved
Slimshack Cardholder

I was instantly approved with a generous credit limit of $2400 given that I have very limited credit history. So far its been great. APR is a little bit high but I pay the card off each month and have already gotten $15 cashback within the first month. 5% cashback is amazing for anyone who regularly shops amazon!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 13, 2018
Horrid
pugbutter Cardholder

Not sure what to say. I was approved a year ago for $1,000. Never got even close to the limit and paid the balance within a few months. Shortly after, they closed the account without notice and my credit score dropped 45 points. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 07, 2019
Joanneb11 Cardholder

I have never been late on a payment and have had this card for several years but after I complained about some questionable charges on my card within a few days my credit line was decreased., with no explanation. I do not recommend this card

more ...
Jul 25, 2019
Using this card is a nightmare
CreditChuring Cardholder

I got this card to check it out and the online wesite is so bad I put $14 on this card of my $3400 paided it off and am canceling.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
UNSPEAKABLE. ILLEGAL.
namelessshnook Cardholder

I have SYNCHRONY bank Amazon Card. There are other Amazon cards like Chase. Sky high interest on Synchrony card, though I have excellent credit. Because of this I would use my other Amazon card from Chase, with medium interest and more customer friendly service in every way. It kept defaulting to Synchrony though I learned not to trust this bank. It's even hard to log on and pay bills. As for the Synchrony Amazon card, I stopped getting on line notices or any bills in the mail four months ago,  but get monothly DEMANDS FOR PAYMENT AFTER THE FACT and all with monthly late fees $35. THIS IS A GOUGE. Why would I ignore my mail for four months, and at the same time received ZERO on line timely reminders to pay, only late fees and dunning letters? NONE OF THIS IS ACCIDENTAL- and all of it is illegal. They need to be reported. Person on the phone was not bad but her hands were tied. I don't blame her but she works for monsters! Again I have excellent credit. I have crappy interface with Synchrony bank on other cards and I highly recommend against them. EXTREMELY USER HOSTILE OR EVEN ILLEGAL. AVOID. They belong in jail!

more ...
Jun 19, 2019
LOL Okay, Amazon.
gena23smith Cardholder

I have a 734 credit score, and a $200 credit limit that they absolutely will not increase. I've had the card for a couple years. This card is a joke. Not even worth the 5% cash back if I can't even use it for all my Amazon purchases.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 05, 2019

Want a high limit put a 2000 item in your shoping cart then call them tell them what you need a credit limit increase for tell them its in your shoping cart and they will approve it on the spot then just delete it from your cart...ive done this 2 times and my card is 6 months old and i started with a 600 limit not my limit is 5500

 
Jun 17, 2019
Steal money
msd1983 Cardholder

Puts in there account then takes forever to refund they are lost on a question asked of them

more ...
May 01, 2019
High interest store card
Leeie Cardholder

I opened up an Amazon store card & used it a couple of times, paying the balance off in full each time. It had a zero balance and because I had a high credit score, and the card was only open 2 years I decided to close the account. However I come to find out that they never close that account, and instead lowered my credit line! As a result of lowering my credit line my Experian credit score decreased! Obviously I was upset at this and had to call Amazon back and request closure again into reverse their lowered credit line. She didn't know if it was possible, I did not want to keep the Amazon store card open because it would only be a matter of time before they would lower my credit line again due to lack of use, which would it lower my credit score again! She said it was their policy the lower credit lines when cards are not used even if it was paid on in full and on time. This is a terrible policy that Amazon has for their store card for responsible customers!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

By law, if you request the closure of a credit based account, it must be closed.

 
Apr 27, 2019
When was my account closed?
BubbleDaTee Cardholder

I just paid my card off 1 month ago. Never had NSF or missed a payment. I went to buy something on the site & it kept telling me the payment was declined. Well I check my online account & it says this account is closed please pay off the balance in full. I had/have no balance.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019
This card will lower your credit score!
LauRol Cardholder

Do not get this card. It works similar to Fingerhut. As long as you are using it 85%-100% they will raise your limit. If you try to pay it off or keep it around 30% to keep your credit good, they will DECREASE your credit limit to the exact amount you owe which will drasticly decrease your credit score causing other cards to raise your interest rates! Customer service reps do not speak English. They are in India and always have a bad connection.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

There is no evidence to support your claim, especially the comparison to Fingerhut. You are just guestimating about the card type because you are frustrated.

 
Apr 15, 2019
Awful!!
CreditNewbz Cardholder

I am THISCLOSE to just closing this card, although I hear that's not ideal for my credit. The interest is SO ridiculously high. When I was approved I was making more money and was able to pay larger amounts on the balance of about $800, since then my financial situation has changed which has caused me to be able to pay just over the minimum amount each month but the interest racks up so much that I have accrued more of a balance than paid it down. I am SO fed up. I guess I should have researched this card more before applying. 

more ...
May 07, 2019

So let me get this straight. Your financial situation changed which resulted in you not being able to make decent payments like you used to. How is this Amazon's fault that you cannot pay your balance?

 
Jul 03, 2019

I think you may be displacing blame on the card instead of looking for a solution to make regular payments per its terms and eventually pay it off,

 
Mar 05, 2019
Instantly approved
Slimshack Cardholder

I was instantly approved with a generous credit limit of $2400 given that I have very limited credit history. So far its been great. APR is a little bit high but I pay the card off each month and have already gotten $15 cashback within the first month. 5% cashback is amazing for anyone who regularly shops amazon!

more ...
Feb 22, 2019
I'm feel so sad
Teabo Cardholder

I have had my card for 5 years never late and never missed a payment in November 2018 they dropped my limit by 800 some dollers then today Feb 22 2019 they dropped another 150 my score took a massive hit I called them crying my eyes out side I am a good customer never missed anything you know they wouldn't fix it said it was because of a deragatory mark and old power bill for 200 that by the way I just paid I'n full and is know longer even on my credit report and had absolutely nothing to do with them or how I make my payments again never late never missed my wife needs surgery and I can't even apply for the loan for her sugery because of what Amazon done to my score God forgive them

more ...
Jun 28, 2019

Omg that is so sad 😞 god bless you and your heart.

 
Jul 03, 2019

Credit scores do not become lower due to changes in credit limits. They become lower because of the ratio of credit available to credit already used.

 
Jan 25, 2019
Decent while I had it.
Daniel2420 Cardholder

Had this card for roughly 11 months. For some reason they closed my account and wouldnt give me a reason. They said I would receive a letter within 7-10 days with a reason why they cancelled it. I have not received that letter yet. I always kept it paid off. It was never maxed out. I have never missed a payment and if anything i paid double my minimum payment always. Just had it to help out my credit and that was it. I have 5 credit cards and never missed a payment on them either. I keep balances low and make good money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

It would not hurt to have a conversation. Many times there are legitimate issues that affect credit accounts.

 
Jan 16, 2019
Ripoff
Southside025 Cardholder

I got an Amazon Store card a month ago, ordered a couple of items which I had to return.  The return process was flawless; I had my "refund" as soon as item was scanned at the post office.

What angered me (I have canceled the card) is that the refund for those items goes on a gift card.  I had to pay the $100 credit card balance, but will now have to "work off" the credit on the gift card.  I think that's a ripoff.  What if you don't pay the whole balance?  You get charged interest on your balance even though you're received a complete refund for the item.  

I don't know about or care about rewards.  I only got the card for the $10 credit on my first order. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Auto Closed My Account
CPH0826 Cardholder

Received a Credit Karma alert that my account was closed! I had auto payments set up for a year. There was a mix up in my bank transactions. After just 2 NSF in a year, they will close your account! Of course, you know that is in the fine prints. They could've just called to have me take care of it another way, but instead they just close your account. This is just wrong and horrible customer service, as it negatively affects loyal customers. I loved using my store card & my prime membership together. This really sucks, so beware! 

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
Closed account without my knowledge
Julie2018 Cardholder

I called in November 2018 and spoke to a horrible manager his NAME IS CLYDE asked if he can put a credit on my account and in his nasty way seid No and we got into a big fight and he CLOSED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT ME KNOWING ABOUT IT MABE I SEID YES BUT OF I DID IT WAS BECAUSE OF HIM AND I FOUND OUT LATER WHEN I PAYED MY BILL IT WAS CLOSED WITH OUT MY PERMISSION AND I Talked to another manager and he seid he can credit my account for 20 HE SHOULD TAKE CLYDES JOB BECAUSE CLYDE LIED THAT HE COULD NOT HELP ME CLYDE SHOULD GET FIRED IF MY ACCOUNT DOES NOT OPEN BACK UP !!! 

more ...
Jan 14, 2019

Clyde Lied.....I'm dyin' over here! :-))

 
Jan 29, 2019

F**K Amazon and its employees.

 
Dec 14, 2018
Great Card & Convenient Payment Option!
shakiki2 Cardholder

This was one of the first credit accounts I was approved for a few years ago while trying to improve my credit score. I was approved for $500-700 (I forget which) which, during the holiday season, I quickly racked up and paid what I could as quickly as I could. A few months later I checked my credit score again which had an improved rating as Amazon bumped my card limit to ~$1200. It's been about 5 or 6 years now since I've had this Amazon Prime Store Card and my limit is now $5500. I hardly use it but like that the option is available in case I did want to use it for some higher-priced items. I do a lot of online shopping (buying/selling on eBay) and would suggest the Paypal credit option over the Amazon store card option as they have lots of promos (through eBay only) for 24mos 0% APR with Paypal and the balance doesn't show up on your credit score (whereas Amazon does). So far I have had no issues with my Amazon account nor the store card feature. I'm trying to see what other options are out there on what you can use the card on outside of Amazon right now.

more ...
Dec 11, 2018
Two hard pulls!
AlexeySnk Cardholder

These #####s made two hard pulls per one application. Perfect!

Applied by mistake and understand that it was bigger mistake that I originally thought. Hole into credit history instead of normal product.

New InquiryTransUnionDec 11, 2018

DescriptionA potential creditor, lender, or employer reported a pulled copy of your credit file because you applied for credit or services with them.

Next StepsIf you don't recognize this inquiry, contact the account provider listed.

Details

Account: SYNCHRONY, 4125 WINDWARD PLAZ ALPHARETTA,GA 30005

Type: Bank

New InquiryTransUnionDec 9, 2018

DescriptionA potential creditor, lender, or employer reported a pulled copy of your credit file because you applied for credit or services with them.

Next StepsIf you don't recognize this inquiry, contact the account provider listed.

Details

Account: SYNCB/AMAZON, PO BOX 965015 ORLANDO,FL 32896

more ...
Dec 07, 2018
My credit limit went from $150 to $7000
BEBO19772010 Cardholder

My credit went up in from $150 to $7000 in a month, I just keep asking for more. My score is FICO 8 Tu: 702, EXP: 685. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 25, 2019

What did you do to increase your credit limit so high like that?

 
Dec 03, 2018
David201411 Cardholder

Avoid like the plague! I had a payment returned, a minor oversight as I was moving intertstate, and they shut down my account.

Wow, I have never had a card company operator in this manor. Terrible....

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
Hard to get CLIs

I’ve had this card over a year now, I try to pay it off each month, and if not I have always paid on time and never pay the minimum.  I have tried twice to increase my credit limit and was denied both times.  I have other store cards through Synchrony and have received random increases on those, without asking.  Not this one though, and it’s frustrating.  If it wouldn’t hurt my score, I would just close the card and be done with it.  

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
Hard to get CLI.

I’ve had this card for over a year now.  I usually pay my balance off monthly, but even when I do not I always pay more than the minimum.  I have a few other store cards through Synchrony and they have all jumped from $200-$300 to 1k over the last year.  I have attempted twice to get an increase on my Amazon store card and have been denied both times.  I’m about ready to close it.  

more ...
Oct 12, 2018
High Interest and Decrease Credit Line
Gen0107 Cardholder

pay off your balance within a month or you will be hit with a high charge of interests. Also, synchrony bank has a reputation of lowering your credit limit for no good reason which has advere effects on peoples credit score... really think the benefits through if you are thinking about this card. would recommend the amazon card by chase instead. 

more ...
Sep 13, 2018
Horrid
pugbutter Cardholder

Not sure what to say. I was approved a year ago for $1,000. Never got even close to the limit and paid the balance within a few months. Shortly after, they closed the account without notice and my credit score dropped 45 points. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 23, 2018

If you don't use a credit account, especially one specifically for a store at least once every few months you risk having them close the account and terminate the agreement. It shouldn't negatively impact your credit though unless you were late or something. Thats how my first credit card, a Kay's card, was closed out. I was 18 and so confused at what I did wrong, it's that I used it once or twice and payed it off so they weren't making any money. Or so I'm told that's how that works.

 
Aug 26, 2018
Simple to use card
brlovesreub Cardholder

It's a nice, simple card for people that use Amazon a lot. I've had no issues with it at all. Just pay your balance in full or at least don't take the full length of time to pay it off. It's nice that you will get automatically upgraded to the Prime card if you decide to get Prime. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Amazon.com Store Card