Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.9 out of 5 stars
96 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.74% - 27.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.74% - 27.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 03, 2019
Wells Fargo has changed for the better!
Jgriffith11 Cardholder

Applied for this card, After already getting a personal loan from Wells Fargo a Month ago. This bank used to be very strict only relationship based now they are more lienent. My CK score was 640, and My Experian was 680 that's what they pulled. $3000 CC Approved 0% Balance Transfers. Wells Fargo is amazing coming from a year ago with all of the scandals, They have changed and are working to assist customers and have changed their products for the better. Wells Fargo is Amazing! I have a checking, savings and loans with them now and the customer service has been very helpful, and they are able to assist in all your needs. I recommend this card to anyone wanting a balance transfer. Once in the door with Wells Fargo they are kind to you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 23, 2018
Nitro1211 Cardholder

It’s 2 ways to gain experience..find out for yourself or read through 9 pages of bad reviews..you choose.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 06, 2019
Great for me.
Whelk89 Cardholder

Everyone on here seem like crybabies. I gave 4 stars because i have no complaints but also nothing to compare it to. This is my first credit card and its been great for me. Im already almost up to a "excellent" credit score in one year! After about 5 months they raised my limit. Thanks Wells Fargo! 🇺🇸

more ...
Apr 05, 2019
Almost impossible to pay off this card.
creyes4182 Cardholder

For every 150 I pay on this card maybe 15 goes to the actual balance. God help you if your late they pile on the fees. How have I been paying this card for years 150 a payment and the balance hasn’t moved at all. I haven’t even used the card in 3 years and the balance is exactly the same. Do NOT get this card. My only hope is to pay down my other cards and when I’m done with them just put everything I have into paying off this monstrosity.

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

Try paying your bills on time instead of thinking you can pay whenever it suits you. I have a feeling they like you even less than you like them.

 
Apr 16, 2019

It’s because you are just paying interest. It will take you 20 years to pay it off. You have to pay double than the minimum to get it paid in a couple of years. They do tell you this from the beginning.

 
Apr 17, 2019

If you have several cards with high balances you should probably not have any CCs. Credit conscious individuals know how to live within their means. That means not carrying a balance on any card from month to month. Some people make the CC companies money and some people make money off the CC companies. Which group of people do you want to be in?

 
Apr 21, 2019

So you whine and give the card a one star for being late? If your balance is so high it will take years to pay off, you should not have credit cards. Pay as you go, balances in full every month. CC are no the best tools so you can have the latest new I Phone or other toys.

 
Apr 04, 2019
Ok
SW11D Cardholder

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa Card is just okay. I got this card as a secured credit card to rebuild my credit. After about six months of on time payemnts the card was converted to unsecure and my deposit was refunded to me. It did help build my credit but it does not offer many perks. I will most likely close the account after I clear the balance. APR is also very high so I do not spend much on the card becuase it will take forever to pay back!!

more ...
Mar 31, 2019
Horrible
Tricedallas Cardholder

I’ve had this card for a few years now. I have never missed a payment. Overtime I have had bad customer service. They don’t seem to care about the card holders much. If they do they should change the hiring requirements for this customer service department.

more ...
Mar 21, 2019
High interest rate
DmillsRN Cardholder

Takes forever to pay off, even if paying 4 times the payment 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 31, 2019

Its not meant to use to live off of. 🙄

 
Mar 12, 2019
A basic no-fee card with no benefits
PilotBen Cardholder

I got this card as a secured card with $800. Then about 8 months later they converted it to an unsecured card and refunded my deposit as agreed. The deposit refund only took a day or two. Several months later they upped it from $800 to $1,200.

FICO was 620 or so when I applied and I have had the card for about 2 years now. It's good to have in the wallet to help lower credit utilization, but it is sock drawered. I will use it to buy a stick of gum every few months to keep it active, but there are far better no-fee cards that don't have such strict credit score requirements. It's not a BAD card. It's just not a GOOD card.

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Eh
Lax08 Cardholder

This was my 2nd card (kind of). WF started me out with a student card while I was in college. Once I graduated this is what my student card turned into. I’ve had this card for about 5 years now, and I’ve closed all of my other WF accounts due to all of the headaches, but have kept this open due to it being my oldest account. Save yourself the time and energy and go elsewhere, it’s not worth all the crap you get from WF

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
hits the credit score HARD!

I applied with a 720 credit score to do a balance transfer, got approved but it hit my credit score for 30 points, 30!!!!! I didnt apply for any other credit, this was the only one, so BEWARE!! If you are working hard to get your score up, dont apply!!!

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

ANY hard inquiry would have done the very same thing to your score. Why are you blaming WF?

 
Apr 16, 2019

It's not Wells Fargo's fault you got hit for 30 points...it's the credit bureau's!! Do your research before you blast a creditor!

 
Feb 28, 2019
It's a great card with no rewards
Bradly959 Cardholder

I got this card with FICO 640 eq with a $2500 limit it's a good card hoping it will grow over time

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 19, 2019

With 18 months zero APR?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card