Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

USAA Military Affiliate Cards

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR See Terms*
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR See Terms*
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2016
Very nice card specially for rebuilding.
NOSTRENOCTE Cardholder

It is what it is...it's a good company. Nothing really negative to say. They do help people build and start a new beginning . Specially the ones who served. Thumbs up👍🏼😃

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2016
Don't be misled by your patriotism.
zach1770 Cardholder

I have had numerous accounts with USAA.(all in good standing and never the slightest blemish on my records)  Auto loans, personal loans, an IRA and credit cards. Please do not let their advertising about "serving those who served" fool you. USAA does not have the best rates out there nor do they offer anything better than most other financial institutions. USAA is in business to make money! My advice is to shop around! Recently I contacted USAA to close an account and was routed to their retention group so that they could attempt to keep my business.  It is my firm belief that my call was offshored and handled by what I can only refer to as the most condescending rep that carried a "better than you" attitude. So strong, that after the call, I decided to close EVERYTHING I have with this company.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 30, 2016
Applied for the AMEX USAA
Xinejam Cardholder

I applied for the AMEX USAA card after learning that my COSTCO AMEX was no longer going to be useable.  The process was easy online and approval was quick.  I have an excellent credit rating and was given a line of credit at $16000 at 13.7% APR.  I originally disliked the card due to it not being an actual AMEX card that I thought I was replacing thus not working with the AMEX app.  The flip side is that the USAA app is actually built very well as a one stop app that shows all your accounts when its finally set up.

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
Not the best card to have

In 3 years 7 months I have never missed a payment, and usually pay it off every month (last 2 months the exception). I asked for a credit line increase and was promptly denied. They even called me, and when I explained my overall credit limit was at 30% or less including their card. They told me to keep up the good work and they would contact me when I was eligable for an increase. This was 6 months ago, and they still have no intention of raising my limit. I have 2 other cards that will be going into the shredder later this month, and when USAA is paid off it to will be joining the others. I am happy to have just two cards and do not need the USAA one. I just cancelled my insurance with them and my bank account will be gone soon as well. I only need credit cards for emergencies and now that Chase gave me a card the USAA balance will be transferred and into the shredder. :)

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Been with USAA for over 30 years
SFMedic1 Cardholder

Instantaneous approval for a $10,000 credit card at 6% APR with a 744 FICO.  No complaints here.  No frills, but frills aren't my thing in a card, APR is king in my book.  USAA is rock solid.

more ...
Mar 18, 2016
Very nice card specially for rebuilding.
NOSTRENOCTE Cardholder

It is what it is...it's a good company. Nothing really negative to say. They do help people build and start a new beginning . Specially the ones who served. Thumbs up👍🏼😃

more ...
Feb 07, 2016
Don't be misled by your patriotism.
zach1770 Cardholder

I have had numerous accounts with USAA.(all in good standing and never the slightest blemish on my records)  Auto loans, personal loans, an IRA and credit cards. Please do not let their advertising about "serving those who served" fool you. USAA does not have the best rates out there nor do they offer anything better than most other financial institutions. USAA is in business to make money! My advice is to shop around! Recently I contacted USAA to close an account and was routed to their retention group so that they could attempt to keep my business.  It is my firm belief that my call was offshored and handled by what I can only refer to as the most condescending rep that carried a "better than you" attitude. So strong, that after the call, I decided to close EVERYTHING I have with this company.

more ...
Jan 11, 2016
It's good card with rewards but...
mommie3564 Cardholder

It's a good card with rewards but they are "slow" to give a credit line increase. We havehad the card for 3 years and were just given an credit linbe increase.

And the ioncrease was only $800. Credit score of 753. Ummmm..... We receive a better response from GAP Visa.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

USAA Military Affiliate Cards