HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24%, 20.24% or 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24%, 20.24% or 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 22, 2018
Great card
SunMoon333 Cardholder

After reading the negative reviews, I was a bit hesitant in applying for the card.  The application process was easy and quickly received my card in the mail.  The main reason I applied was for the balance transfer promotional apr.  I was able to transfer two credit card balances without any problems.  I set up the balance transers online.  I agree with some of the reviews that the website and the app are not user friendly.  Once I figured it out, it was easy to set up payments.   I've never contacted customer service. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2018
The Absolute Worst Credit Card
dvs42 Cardholder

I got this as a balance transfer card because of 18 months/no interest. This is the absolute worst experience I have ever had with a credit card, or simply any customer service i have ever dealt with.  i have 'missed' multiple payments due to their incorrect inputting of my info, which has impacted my credit score negatively.  There is not way to make an online payment, and they send no confirmation to you when you tdo make a payment.  I've had to call, spending over a half hour on the phone every time, to make my on time payments, only for them to input info wrong or not process the payment, resulting in my being considered past due and incurring fees. Customer service is a nightmare and is not helpful at all, anything you want to do other than make a payment (which they cant even accomplish succesfully) they will refer you to someone else, who in my experience cant resolve anything either.  I would advise anyone considering applying to stay as far away as possible.  This has been a nightmare without an end in sight, my account is now considered clsoed due to their incompetence and I am powerless in trying to change that.  I am reporting them to consumer affairs and the BBB as they constantly fail to prpovide the service they advertise.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 23, 2019
HORRID

This card is ridiculous, customer service is horrid, payments take forever to post, resulting in late fees, they pretty much set you up to get nailed with late fees. The website it terrible to say the least. There are much better card out there with awesome customer service. DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD. Run!!!! This card and bank and customer service will destroy your credit score by trying to nail you with late fees.  

more ...
Apr 08, 2019
Late to post payments
Weike Cardholder

Application process was easy enough.  Decent limit.  Easy balance transfer which is why I got the card.

Worst time paying bills than with any other card I’ve ever had.  Customer service has not been the friendliest.  I have had issues with my payments posting on time, something I haven’t had to deal with on my other accounts.  No missed payments in 4 years, but with this card they have been knicking me with a late fee every month since I got the card in December 2018.

Customer service told me bill pay can take an extra 7-10 days for it to post to my account, although the funds have already been withdrawn from my bank account and on their side it doesn’t show records of a payment until a week after.

I’m suspiciously mistrustful of this company.  I’ll be happy once the transfer amount is paid off.  I don’t think I’ll ever do business with HSBC again.  Go with Capital One.  They are always straightforward and honest, and easy to understand.

more ...
Apr 05, 2019
Good luck being able to pay it
matteblack13 Cardholder

I logged in from Mexico while I was there for work. It got locked, which I understand. I did the online chat, they told me to call. I did. It went reasonably well. I then tried to go online and pay (I kept getting hit with late fees, which never happens to me) and couldn't find it, so I did online chat again, and was told for some random reason it was turned off. I don't think is the first time it's ahppened. They couldn't tell me WHY I couldn't, just that I couldn't. I literally never use this card anymore. I'll be paying the fee to transfer the balance elsewhere, and staying the heck away from HSBC in the future. 

more ...
Feb 17, 2019
Garbage
Hopefullyhelp Cardholder

Avoid this company like the plaque.

more ...
Apr 10, 2019

Gingivitis.

 
Apr 10, 2019

Why avoid it? More detail please. You posted a worthless review for the rest of us. I thumbs down you, not HSBC.

 
Feb 17, 2019
Horrible customer service
Edward4525 Cardholder

I received this card in the mail yesterday with a $4000 credit line. I immediately activated it and it was subsequently declined both times I tried to use it. I called customer service and there was so much background noise on the line I couldn't understand what they were saying, so I hung up and tried online chat. After explaining the problem in the chat window, the chat person (who didn't seem very familiar with the English language) responded that I was approved for a new MasterCard with a #### limit and I would be receiving it in 7-10 days! What? I'm just trying to use the card they already sent me! It really shouldn't be this difficult!

more ...
Feb 10, 2019
Ronmark911 Cardholder

The bank that involved with Mafia . They are cheating in any field . Don’t make business with them ever ! I will give them 0 stars 

more ...
Feb 04, 2019
Awkward mobile app
Tonyknows Cardholder

While my experience with HSBC has been good overall ( l have both the Gold and Platinum cards) l can't believe that the mobile app doesn't have a way to post payments to your accounts. The only way to make payments to your credit card accounts is to either call customer service or login to the full website. Posted payments don't show up immediately after the posting date, leaving the customer to wonder if there's been any problems in applying the payment to the account.

more ...
Jan 27, 2019
Not The Bad Reviews others Give It!

I have (2) HSBC Cards, Cash Rewards & The Gold Card. Yes The website is a little different to Manage,

but once you get used to it, not that bad. I find Customer Service Good, and Every Time I have Called,

no Long wait times Like lets say Wells Fargo.

Good Security in Place, Cards are Never Declined, Overall Im Happy with HSBC.

Very Cool Looking Cards.

more ...
Jan 27, 2019
Great so far
Tjincolorado Cardholder

Yes, web site is a little overwhelming but I completed 2 balance transfers. Just waiting for them to pay those cc now. I received a large amount of credit to go zero percent and saved hundreds of dollars.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card