HSBC Cash Rewards Mastercard® credit card Reviews

HSBC Cash Rewards Mastercard® credit card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for the first 12 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for the first 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 01, 2019
Simple but picky.
Austin374764 Cardholder

I say picky because they are stingy about paying them exactly on time. I just pay them a day early and be done with it. Haven't dealt with customer service so I can't speak for that. Applied with 750 CS and only 2 years of credit history, and was approved instantly for 2500. The rewards are pretty nice and straightforward. No fees for foreign purchases is a nice detail. I find that the website is pretty easy to navigate.. never had an issue paying on there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2018
Garbage
spiderr Cardholder

The rewards have minimums to pay out, customer service is difficult to get ahold of and their website is clunky and difficult to use. It also takes 40 days after the end of your introductory session to get your introductory rewards. I definitely do not recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 18, 2019
Horrible
130Williams Cardholder

Logging in to pay your bill is an absolute nightmare. Be prepared to spend 30 minutes to an hour on it. The website and mobile app design is horrible. My card often gets frozen after a security prompt makes me send an activation code to my email, but there is no where to put the code, then I have to call customer service to get into my account, then they have to send me codes before they can do anything...absolute nightmare. 

more ...
Sep 07, 2019
Dont apply
Leadfoot961 Cardholder

Made 2 purchases with card and they blocked my card. Call customer service was on hold for 3 hours and they said call back monday thru friday 8 to 5. Call back monday another 3 hours on hold for them to send email to me to verify my identity. Send info call back on hold again for 2 hours at 5 pm they answer and state to call back between 8 and 5. Would not recommend to anybody

more ...
Aug 28, 2019
Great card!
Eskerpie Cardholder

It said Poor approval chances for me to get this card. I applied and got $5,000 CL with a 677 CS. Excellant card so far.

more ...
Sep 08, 2019

Interest rate of 28%?

 
Sep 20, 2019

28%?!? Better not carry a balance!

 
Oct 25, 2019

So you only gave it a good review because you were approved?
Would like to see your review after you interact with the app and customer servise

 
Nov 08, 2019

Is it still a good card?

 
Aug 23, 2019
Worst Bank credit Card
SnoopSnoop2 Cardholder

Please do not get this card unless you ran out op options and you really really need it. It has the worst customer service, not user friendly to make payments or reedem points.

more ...
Aug 23, 2019
Is there a -5 stars review option???
Amy32Sunny Cardholder

The card itself its ok, not the best but ok. Login and security is very bothersome, and not very user friendly, plus you don’t have an option to pay from the App. But talking about the customer service, is the worst I have ever interacted with. Seriously, they do not have an idea of what the customer is saying, it’s like talking to robots, they even provided me with wrong information about the shipping of the card. And other thing against is that you need to reach $50 for cash back (this I knew when I applied for the card but it’s worth mentioning for those of you who are searching for info). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 23, 2019

Forgot to add that when you use your card, they report it to the bureaus right away, but even i you pay when it’s posted on the account, they will take 3 months to report the payment.

 
Aug 10, 2019
rude customer service people - lousy app
jakman9999 Cardholder

They'll approve you initially & then "freeze" your card after you try and activate it. Pass this one up! There are better credit cards out there

more ...
Aug 23, 2019

I agree, its the worst ever

 
Aug 23, 2019

They are literally the worst

 
Aug 01, 2019
Good card
Tinney7980 Cardholder

No problems. Security measures are a bit crazy. Log in takes tooo long and too many steps. Overall the card dies what it says. I haven’t had any interactions with customer service. App could be better. Making payments has not  been a issue. Follow directions and read. It’s essential 😁

more ...
Aug 23, 2019

Hope you don’thave to get an interaction with customer services

 
Aug 23, 2019

Glad it works for you, hopefully you wont change your mind if you have to talk to customer service at one point. ;)

 
Aug 01, 2019
Simple but picky.
Austin374764 Cardholder

I say picky because they are stingy about paying them exactly on time. I just pay them a day early and be done with it. Haven't dealt with customer service so I can't speak for that. Applied with 750 CS and only 2 years of credit history, and was approved instantly for 2500. The rewards are pretty nice and straightforward. No fees for foreign purchases is a nice detail. I find that the website is pretty easy to navigate.. never had an issue paying on there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 23, 2019

I payed mine way before the due day, had no problems with it, only thing is couldn’t be done from the app

 
Jul 20, 2019
TERRIBLE
lgalbas Cardholder

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, TERRIBLE MISTAKES. RIDICULOUS WEBSITE WOULD BE AN UNDERSTATEMENT. DIFFICULT TO CLOSE CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT AND ALSO SAVINGS/CHECKING ACCOUNT. I DO NOT KNOW HOW THEY CAN STAY IN BUSINESS. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 23, 2019

had a similar expirience, its the worst customer service

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
HSBC Cash Rewards Mastercard® credit card Reviews

HSBC Cash Rewards Mastercard® credit card