Discover it® Reviews

Discover it® Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
32 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 25, 2019
Confused About All The Bad Reviews!
Lkjhfd Cardholder

I my Discover card. I've had this card for about 7 month's, I'm rebuilding my credit which is now in the fair range, and yet they gave me a chance. When there was some confusion about my 0% APR I was able to speak with a real person, which goes a long way, and best of all, they give you all the cashback you were promised quarterly when you signed up, as well as the regular monthly cashback. So maybe I haven't been with them long enough to be as screwed over as some of these comments suggest, but from my standpoint they have done nothing but 5 star business with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 04, 2019
Shady terms!
ResponsibleUser Cardholder

I received this card in May of 2018 with an 18 months 0% interest promo.  My credit line was $10,000.  About 4 months after receiving it, I was informed that they reduced my credit line to $9300.  This affected my balance:limit ratio and the moment they decreased my line, it increased the ratio lowering my credit score.  Okay, irritated as can be but I'll get over it.  Not a big deal.  Score will go back up the more I make my payments.  Fast forward 3 months.  I get a 2nd job and can now make significant payments on my card.  I make a $350 payment on what I'm thinking is a 0% interest card and login to find my balance the same as it was prior to the payments.  Why, you may ask?  Because they revoked my 0% interest for absolutely no reason.  I have auto pay so my payments come out on time every month.  I rarely use the card anymore.  There's absolutely NO reason for them to do this.  Now, I got a 2nd job to quickly pay off a card that will take me twice as long since they were shady with their promo interest rate.  The ONLY card I have ever been screwed over by.  It went from being my favorite to hurting me more than any of my other cards.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 15, 2019
Ecellent card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card, as I get rewards on evergything. Not the best reward rate, but still is nice to get cash bonuses on things. Every time I asked for a credit increase, it went through with no problem! This then improved my credit score :) Then, when I went through a rough patch when I was umemployed for 4 months, while having many issues with my home (pipe burst, black mold in the basement, needing foundation repair...), I couldn't pay the full balance and had some interest on the card. I called them up and asked if they could do anything to help in light of my past 3 years of never missing a payment. They forgave one out of the 4 months of interest charges for me. That is more than I expected and I am very pleasantly surprised!

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Horrible
Lujo1968 Cardholder

I just had my limit dropped by $1,600 dollars for no reason! They claim I had a late payment hit my credit but this is not true! Do not waste your time with this company! AMEX just gave an upgrade to Platinum.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
They have the worst customer service!!!!
Ink1 Cardholder

Avoid Discover at all cost.

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
It worked out well for me
WGofCarolinas Cardholder

I saw a lot of negative reviews but had a friend that used the card and I decided to try it out.  I had a very good experience.  I've had the card almost two years now.  I usually pay it off at the end of each week just to keep my credit score up.  As you know the more of your available balance that is used on the credit report the lower your score will go. After a year with them, they sent me a check refunding my security deposit and increased my limit to boot.  So far this is the best card I've had with the exception of my Belk store card.

more ...
Feb 20, 2019
Friendly customer service yet lacking.
Rover78 Cardholder

Friendly customer service but does not back the cardholder in disputed charges.

more ...
Feb 08, 2019
Horrible!
neomax Cardholder

I just had my limit dropped by $1,600 dollars for no reason! They claim I had a derogatory mark just hit my credit but this is not true! Do not waste your time with this company!

more ...
Feb 08, 2019
Easy application
mgriff75 Cardholder

I decided to apply for this card, because I kept getting pre-approval letters in the mail, and Capital One keeps denying my request to raise my limits on my 2 cards through them. The online application was easy, but I did have to call the 800# with a reference code that popped up because they needed to verify my address, SS# and birthdate over the phone. Within less than 3  minutes I was approved for $6500. The lady I spoke with was very nice.

Currently my scores are: Transunion 744 Equifax 742 Fico 712 I can't wait to take advantage of the great perks and interest free usage for the next 14 months. Thank you!

more ...
Feb 04, 2019
Shady terms!

I received this card in May of 2018 with an 18 months 0% interest promo.  My credit line was $10,000.  About 4 months after receiving it, I was informed that they reduced my credit line to $9300.  This affected my balance:limit ratio and the moment they decreased my line, it increased the ratio lowering my credit score.  Okay, irritated as can be but I'll get over it.  Not a big deal.  Score will go back up the more I make my payments.  Fast forward 3 months.  I get a 2nd job and can now make significant payments on my card.  I make a $350 payment on what I'm thinking is a 0% interest card and login to find my balance the same as it was prior to the payments.  Why, you may ask?  Because they revoked my 0% interest for absolutely no reason.  I have auto pay so my payments come out on time every month.  I rarely use the card anymore.  There's absolutely NO reason for them to do this.  Now, I got a 2nd job to quickly pay off a card that will take me twice as long since they were shady with their promo interest rate.  The ONLY card I have ever been screwed over by.  It went from being my favorite to hurting me more than any of my other cards.  

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
One card is all I need
RamVajrapu Cardholder

This card amazing benefits including cash back redemption at many merchants for a higher rate.

more ...
Jan 25, 2019
Shady business
Kholcombe Cardholder

Offer 8000 plus credit limit, if you pay it off and don't let them charge interest they will cut your credit limit to 500 bucks. Terrible shady business. Avoid at all costs.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Reviews

Discover it®