Discover it® Reviews

Discover it® Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 25, 2019
Confused About All The Bad Reviews!
Lkjhfd Cardholder

I my Discover card. I've had this card for about 7 month's, I'm rebuilding my credit which is now in the fair range, and yet they gave me a chance. When there was some confusion about my 0% APR I was able to speak with a real person, which goes a long way, and best of all, they give you all the cashback you were promised quarterly when you signed up, as well as the regular monthly cashback. So maybe I haven't been with them long enough to be as screwed over as some of these comments suggest, but from my standpoint they have done nothing but 5 star business with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 04, 2019
Shady terms!
ResponsibleUser Cardholder

I received this card in May of 2018 with an 18 months 0% interest promo.  My credit line was $10,000.  About 4 months after receiving it, I was informed that they reduced my credit line to $9300.  This affected my balance:limit ratio and the moment they decreased my line, it increased the ratio lowering my credit score.  Okay, irritated as can be but I'll get over it.  Not a big deal.  Score will go back up the more I make my payments.  Fast forward 3 months.  I get a 2nd job and can now make significant payments on my card.  I make a $350 payment on what I'm thinking is a 0% interest card and login to find my balance the same as it was prior to the payments.  Why, you may ask?  Because they revoked my 0% interest for absolutely no reason.  I have auto pay so my payments come out on time every month.  I rarely use the card anymore.  There's absolutely NO reason for them to do this.  Now, I got a 2nd job to quickly pay off a card that will take me twice as long since they were shady with their promo interest rate.  The ONLY card I have ever been screwed over by.  It went from being my favorite to hurting me more than any of my other cards.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2019
Won't Transition to Unsecured
sweettreat33 Cardholder

I've had this card for 20 months now.  Yes, nearly 2 years!  I was initially re-building my credit so I put $300 towards this secured card and was told after 7 months they automatically review your account to see if it can be transitioned to unsecured, thereby refunding your initial deposit amount.  I've never missed a payment and always pay more than minimum (I do usually carry over a small balance, but have paid it off several times too).  7 months came and went, no graduation.  After a YEAR I asked them what the hold up was, no helpful response, only a scripted "we automatically review your account each month blah blah."  I thought, ok, maybe give it a little more time.  My credit score has gone up more than 100 points (I'm not at excellent credit, but am in high 600's now) and I've since gotten two other UNSECURED cards.  Capital One automatically gives a CLI after only 5 on-time payments... what is the problem with DIscover??!  At this point I don't even care if they give me an increase, just graduate me already!  If it wouldn't hurt my credit score I would've already closed this card to get my deposit back!  From now on I'm sticking with Capital One; they won't hold me hostage like Discover does, and they offer the same cash back and benefits without this aggravation!

more ...
Aug 24, 2019
Horrible
Briancomer1 Cardholder

Will drop your credit if you pay will drop your credit if you pay it off completely then tell you you have a high debit to credit ratio that they just caused shady low down and dirty stick with American Express card or capital one don't trust this company

more ...
Aug 23, 2019
DO NOT GET THIS CREDIT CARD
SassyBoss Cardholder

Discover card is the absolute worst!!! Oh the commercials are cute and funny but please dont be fooled.  THis company abrubtly closed my account after having NEVER BEING LATE and a $410 balance and a $4000 credi limit had the card for several years.  Then closed my teen son's acount with $0 balnce and my teen daughter after having just approved her for a $750 and sending her the card, she never even used it.  Then when I call, not only zre they rude as heck, but no on know ANYTHING!!  The canned response is to write them with any questions...Write them??????  Who does that???  Good riddance, if you are rebuilding your credit, Capital one, Bank of america and Firs FInancial Bank credit cards are the best trust me I know....IF this affects our credit scores, I would like to begin a class action law suit...anyone intrested?

more ...
Jul 31, 2019
Good card. The bank did me wrong though.

I started out with the secured card. After the allotted time I was offered the un secured, and the my credit line was increased; which was great. What I really did not appreciate was Discover Card siding with a vendor who swindled me, and letting them get away with it. I wont pour out the boring details, it wasn't cool Disvover. $189 worth of not cool. Especially when you verified they have the item, not me.

more ...
Jun 28, 2019
Susannaf Cardholder

If it was possible I would put ZERO stars! Terrible customer service, terrible rules, they closed my account after I didn’t provide a state id, but I was out of the country that time! No Extentions, no other options. Very rude managers!Dont get this card. It is the most terrible experience I ve ever had!

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
discover will hurt you in the end
ericbarlow21 Cardholder

credit score was in the 490's, got the secured card for $500, perfect payment history, worked hard to improve credit, discover refunded the $500 deposit, eventually raised the limit to $2000, kept working to improve my score, never had any issues, raised score 160 points in 18 months, then today go to use my card and the transaction is declined. call discover and find out they cut my limit to $500 for no reason, so now it appears my card is nearly maxed out, credit limit usage is now seen as very high, score down nearly 50 points. called customer service and they wouldnt help, talked to a manager, they didnt have any reason, they don't care. dont waste your time... capital one cards have been much better. discover will erase all your work in the end.

more ...
May 25, 2019
Confused About All The Bad Reviews!
Lkjhfd Cardholder

I my Discover card. I've had this card for about 7 month's, I'm rebuilding my credit which is now in the fair range, and yet they gave me a chance. When there was some confusion about my 0% APR I was able to speak with a real person, which goes a long way, and best of all, they give you all the cashback you were promised quarterly when you signed up, as well as the regular monthly cashback. So maybe I haven't been with them long enough to be as screwed over as some of these comments suggest, but from my standpoint they have done nothing but 5 star business with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 30, 2019

When you become a member for years and you put your balance to zero, they’ll close your account and mess up your credit

 
May 11, 2019
No cardholder protection
Dolomite123 Cardholder

In case if you have any disputes with supporting documents you will ALWAYS LOSE! I had bogus charges - they denied my claims even if addresses and names were 1500 miles away from me. Other case was where I returned items and didnt get a refund - they also denied the claim. Cancelled transactions that posted to my account - also denied. Basically it's a very dangerous card. Whoever has a card number they can max it out and you will pay for it. Not recommend at all. Disputes department is usually hanging up the phone when trying to sort out the things.

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Worst company to do credit business
perk54 Cardholder

 I’ve had a credit card with Discover for a little over 3 1/2 years. I recently got hurt was out of work for a year. Discover card did not want to work with me. I paid a perfect monthly for the last three years prior to getting hurt. I recently close the account with a balance did not want to work with me with payment plan and they were very tactical about trying to put a judgment on me. Please if you have any sense do not do business with this company. 

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Great card
Lkjhfd Cardholder

I got a $700 CLI without requesting one in only 3 months. I'm rebuilding my credit and have never been given anything without begging for it. Which of course, is my fault, because I didnt care in the past about what I did to my cedit. So I created a very versatile credit report with loans and credit card accounts. And kept everything in perfect payment. So it feels good that Discover respects that.

more ...
Mar 15, 2019
Ecellent card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card, as I get rewards on evergything. Not the best reward rate, but still is nice to get cash bonuses on things. Every time I asked for a credit increase, it went through with no problem! This then improved my credit score :) Then, when I went through a rough patch when I was umemployed for 4 months, while having many issues with my home (pipe burst, black mold in the basement, needing foundation repair...), I couldn't pay the full balance and had some interest on the card. I called them up and asked if they could do anything to help in light of my past 3 years of never missing a payment. They forgave one out of the 4 months of interest charges for me. That is more than I expected and I am very pleasantly surprised!

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Horrible
Lujo1968 Cardholder

I just had my limit dropped by $1,600 dollars for no reason! They claim I had a late payment hit my credit but this is not true! Do not waste your time with this company! AMEX just gave an upgrade to Platinum.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
They have the worst customer service!!!!
Ink1 Cardholder

Avoid Discover at all cost.

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
It worked out well for me
WGofCarolinas Cardholder

I saw a lot of negative reviews but had a friend that used the card and I decided to try it out.  I had a very good experience.  I've had the card almost two years now.  I usually pay it off at the end of each week just to keep my credit score up.  As you know the more of your available balance that is used on the credit report the lower your score will go. After a year with them, they sent me a check refunding my security deposit and increased my limit to boot.  So far this is the best card I've had with the exception of my Belk store card.

more ...
Feb 20, 2019
Friendly customer service yet lacking.
Rover78 Cardholder

Friendly customer service but does not back the cardholder in disputed charges.

more ...
Feb 08, 2019
Horrible!
neomax Cardholder

I just had my limit dropped by $1,600 dollars for no reason! They claim I had a derogatory mark just hit my credit but this is not true! Do not waste your time with this company!

more ...
Feb 08, 2019
Easy application
mgriff75 Cardholder

I decided to apply for this card, because I kept getting pre-approval letters in the mail, and Capital One keeps denying my request to raise my limits on my 2 cards through them. The online application was easy, but I did have to call the 800# with a reference code that popped up because they needed to verify my address, SS# and birthdate over the phone. Within less than 3  minutes I was approved for $6500. The lady I spoke with was very nice.

Currently my scores are: Transunion 744 Equifax 742 Fico 712 I can't wait to take advantage of the great perks and interest free usage for the next 14 months. Thank you!

more ...
Feb 04, 2019
Shady terms!

I received this card in May of 2018 with an 18 months 0% interest promo.  My credit line was $10,000.  About 4 months after receiving it, I was informed that they reduced my credit line to $9300.  This affected my balance:limit ratio and the moment they decreased my line, it increased the ratio lowering my credit score.  Okay, irritated as can be but I'll get over it.  Not a big deal.  Score will go back up the more I make my payments.  Fast forward 3 months.  I get a 2nd job and can now make significant payments on my card.  I make a $350 payment on what I'm thinking is a 0% interest card and login to find my balance the same as it was prior to the payments.  Why, you may ask?  Because they revoked my 0% interest for absolutely no reason.  I have auto pay so my payments come out on time every month.  I rarely use the card anymore.  There's absolutely NO reason for them to do this.  Now, I got a 2nd job to quickly pay off a card that will take me twice as long since they were shady with their promo interest rate.  The ONLY card I have ever been screwed over by.  It went from being my favorite to hurting me more than any of my other cards.  

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
One card is all I need
RamVajrapu Cardholder

This card amazing benefits including cash back redemption at many merchants for a higher rate.

more ...
Jan 25, 2019
Shady business
Kholcombe Cardholder

Offer 8000 plus credit limit, if you pay it off and don't let them charge interest they will cut your credit limit to 500 bucks. Terrible shady business. Avoid at all costs.

more ...
Jan 15, 2019
HORRIBLE!!

I have been a card member since 2014..Never had late payments or defaults. I go to use my card only to find out my account has been closed due to inactivity and with no so called notification. I bet if I owed they would be calling 24/7 for a payment. Who penalizes someone for paying off a credit card. Customer service was rude and basically said 'they reserve the right to close an account if they see fit' and If I want to reapply they would run my credit again. I dont normally write reviews but this is completely unacceptable!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 19, 2019

if no activity is done on a credit card within a certain amount of time then it can be non useful and an account can be closed

 
Jan 07, 2019
Nothing but the best with this card!
djsouthpaw Cardholder

Make sure you are on time with your payments! I forgot I didn'lt make a payment and they called me the 1st day after my due date wondering why a payment wasn't made. So it seems they will hound you if you are past due. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 10, 2019

You can look at it that way, OR, you can look at it as if they are trying to help you avoid getting a negative mark on your credit report that will last for the better part of 10 years and cause your overall credit profile to be impacted significantly over a small oversight. Had they not called you and allowed it to accumulate more time I'm sure you'd be upset when they reported you late to the credit bureau and then would have complained that, "alls they had to do was call me" No harm, no foul. They did you a favor in my opinion.

 
Dec 08, 2018
Horrible.
Ohmygod7 Cardholder

I opened this card with 2500 of my own money because I was rebuilding my credit.
I used 1500 of it.
I decided that I no longer wanted the card.
Disciver took the refund of my deposite and paid my balance with it.
I feel like I paid twice. Then they would mail me my remaining balance. That never happened.
When I called them and got into a dispute with the manager, i was told I would be recieving my check.
That was in October.
Its now December. No check.
I called them again. They said it will take 13 days to investigate the wherabouts of the check.
Then they will issue a new one.
They are dooming everything they can to keep all of my money.
I would like to hire a lawyer.
I would never recomend this card to any one.
Discover will steal your money and do everything they can to keep what they owe you.

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
Frustrating
rckhnt Cardholder

I have a discover it for 9 months now, 200 CL, whenever i pay the entire balance they put my payment up for review and have to call my bank to verify the payment..if i pay the minimum it goes through with no problem..cmon it's a 200 limit secured.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 19, 2019

all credit card companies have to review payment to make sure funds are available from a bank account to clear and post

 
Dec 04, 2018
Very good customer service.
thesmatfood Cardholder

I talked to a lady by the name of Chery and she was so easy going.

Thanks Louis Eugene Christopher Fullerton.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Reviews

Discover it®