Citi® / AAdvantage® Platinum Select® World Elite™ Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 30, 2018
Great Card for Miles
krissi924 Cardholder

I applied for this card despite Credit Karma saying my odds were not great. My TU Score was 681 and my Experian was 709, and I was approved with a credit limit of $8,500. I'm disappointed that it does not earn Elite Qualifying Dollars like the Aviator card does, but I am happy with the fact the annual fee is waived the first year and with the 60k bonus miles after the first $3,000 spent. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 16, 2019
Aggressive Interest Rates
Alywren Cardholder

I have 3 cards with Citi: American Airlines, Simplicity, and Costco. The AA card had an $8,000 limit at opening. They cut my limit in half without notice. The Simplicity card, every time I have made a payment in the last 3 months they have reduced my credit limit to just above that new balance. So now on 2 accounts they have WRECKED my credit rating because the debt to available credit ratio is maxed out. They also have THE highest APR of any company I've banked with. 

And their security is crap. I have only had my credit card compromised 3 times in my adult life. Two of the three were on a Citi Bank credit cards. The problem is they locked my card out, then called me from an unrecognized number and left a spam-like message so I assumed it was spam. It wasnt until I later tried to use that card and found out they'd locked the card for fraud. I contacted customer service and spent 20+ minutes on hold just to have them tell me my card has been hacked and they were sending a new one. It took almost 2 weeks to get a replacement card. I called customer service and every time they asked me to give the 16-digit card number and I had to go through the crappy automated menu to talk to a human and repeat over and over that they hadn't sent my new card so I had no idea what the number was. Other banks I had cards with emailed me, texted, and called to alert me of fraud. Who in this age answers the phone anymore anyway? Especially an unknown 1800 number? The other bank alsohad replacement cards sent overnight. Don't waste your time with Citi. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 19, 2019
Looking very forward to the card!
cm1511 Cardholder

I was approved for a $2,400 credit line with my score at 600. I was shocked! I received an offer via mail thinking I would instantly get denied. I'm looking forward to having the card! 

more ...
Feb 16, 2019
Aggressive Interest Rates
Alywren Cardholder

I have 3 cards with Citi: American Airlines, Simplicity, and Costco. The AA card had an $8,000 limit at opening. They cut my limit in half without notice. The Simplicity card, every time I have made a payment in the last 3 months they have reduced my credit limit to just above that new balance. So now on 2 accounts they have WRECKED my credit rating because the debt to available credit ratio is maxed out. They also have THE highest APR of any company I've banked with. 

And their security is crap. I have only had my credit card compromised 3 times in my adult life. Two of the three were on a Citi Bank credit cards. The problem is they locked my card out, then called me from an unrecognized number and left a spam-like message so I assumed it was spam. It wasnt until I later tried to use that card and found out they'd locked the card for fraud. I contacted customer service and spent 20+ minutes on hold just to have them tell me my card has been hacked and they were sending a new one. It took almost 2 weeks to get a replacement card. I called customer service and every time they asked me to give the 16-digit card number and I had to go through the crappy automated menu to talk to a human and repeat over and over that they hadn't sent my new card so I had no idea what the number was. Other banks I had cards with emailed me, texted, and called to alert me of fraud. Who in this age answers the phone anymore anyway? Especially an unknown 1800 number? The other bank alsohad replacement cards sent overnight. Don't waste your time with Citi. 

more ...
Jan 29, 2019
gvilleboy Cardholder

This card is not worth it at all. You don’t even get free checked bag on international flights. Like Mexico. America airlines sucks for this. This card gives you no status with America ether. I will be canceling my card, no reason to keep it. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
I got this card...
stace1992 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a credit score of 700 and I got it. I honestly didn't think I would get accepted but I did. My CL is $8400 with $2600 advance cash back. My father has the Aviator card and he loves it. And since I'm traveling a lot more I thought I would apply for this card. My father has never had a problem with getting his bonus miles. We will see if I have a problem since I already hit my bonus miles spending.

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
What is CITI does? bad service
Bojeckxx Cardholder

1500 limit, 761 pay and security alert. Thats fine. Calling and cannot verify me, have to have another phone, no I don’t. Then tell me it will call me back again for check. ?????????? Never meet this for Chase, Amex, Barclays and 700 stuck with 1500 limit? Come on, you don’t even want me to buy a 800 tickit if I travel international? What is the card? Foody card? 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2019

What?!

 
Oct 11, 2018
Terrible Customer Service!
Padrei Cardholder

I only applied for this card since my group and I are flying american airlines and want to use the special offer after spend $2k you get 40,000 miles back. So they approved my application for exactly 2k CL, to my surprised I expected more with it having a 95$ annual fee. The limit was not even enough to cover for the tickets, which is 300$ short. After calling customer service and explained to them that I am willing to pay the overdraft fee or even put a secured deposit for the whole ticket price, just so I can purchase the tickets and that there's more than enough to cover for for the charged. In the end, all they said is theres nothing they can do. I basically have a card that I cannot use, plus a hard pull on my report. 

more ...
Oct 06, 2018
Citi Bank will ruin your credit
nathanspain86 Cardholder

They have a payment policy that makes it where they can apply your payment to whatever billing cycle they want. I made two separate payments on different days to essentially make an early payment and they applied the payment to only one billing cycle. When I called to try and have this remedied they refused, we're condescending and said, "this is how it's done in America". I'm from California lol

more ...
Feb 26, 2019

This is indeed how credit card payments work. Any payment made during a single payment period is applied to that period. You can't make an early payment and have it count towards a later statement.

 
Mar 20, 2019

Lol really wtf

 
Sep 17, 2018
TERRIBLE COSTUMER SERIVICE FROM CITYBANK
derdan Cardholder

I applied today, Sep 17, 2018, and I closed it the same day.
Costumer service was just terrible, I never got an email with all info of my credit card so, I tried to call costumer service to ask for all the info, after 3 hours and after been tranfered to at least 13 deffirent people, and no getting any response, I closed my account the same day I opened it up. Well I am still waiting for a confirmation email. DO NOT APPLY IF YOU WANT HEADACHE WITH CITY BANK COSTUMER SERVICE.

more ...
Dec 29, 2018

Customer Citibank

 
Feb 20, 2019

Did you ever think that you’re not the only person in the world who applied for this card? It takes a little longer than half a second to receive confirmation. It’s a credit card, not a ****ing hand out.

 
Aug 24, 2018
Great Card
steven1445 Cardholder

I love all of Citi Bank Cards. They simply provide the best service.

more ...
Aug 06, 2018
Great if you're an avid AA flyer
jofus87 Cardholder

I applied and was instantly approved for this card 2 years ago. I use it to accumulate miles on with daily purchases, airline purchases, and the bonus was nice! 60,000 miles will get you a round-trip to Europe from the US in economy class. I used the bonus plus some earned miles for a trip to Australia for 80k miles. Combine this with the Barclay Aviator Red, and you've got a nice chunk of miles for redeeming multiple flights or one really nice trip in business class.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 203
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Citi® / AAdvantage® Platinum Select® World Elite™ Mastercard®